Log in or Register
Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Advent Calendar

Visitor Reviews - Linwater Caravan Park

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > UK > Scotland > Lothian > Site Reviews

Linwater Caravan Park
West Clifton
East Calder
Lothian   (Browse area)
EH53 0HT   See Map                                 Share Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook
Tel: 0131 3333326

Facilities:  (Key)

Nearby: (within x miles)
5m  5m  5m 10m  10m   10m  5m 
Featured Site

Pitches: 60
Open: 13th March, 2015 - 3rd November, 2015

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 123 Reviews
              9/10 from 123 Reviews

Units accepted:    Tents  Caravans  Motorhomes  Glamping 

This site has chosen to use the availability calendar. You can check for availability here.

Photos (12)

Reviews:  123 in total, now showing 1 to 6                 Previous 6          Next 6
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14   15   16   17   18   19   20   21  

Submit your own Review for a chance to Win 100 of Amazon Vouchers
Win 100 of Amazon vouchersSubmit a review of this site for a chance to win. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win 100 of Amazon vouchers!

Date of Visit: September 2015 Unit:  Other Rating:
Reviewer: Bernie47 12 reviews from this member

Just returned from another four day break at Linwater Caravan Park, my second visit this year.

Due to the unfavourable weather forecast I left the tent at home and rented one of their timber tents. These are superb for a short break and have a fridge, an electric kettle and a heater which proved to be a blessing for these chilly September evenings.

I use this site regularly as it is one of the best that I have ever come across and there is always a warm welcome from Jean, the site owner. The pitches are all level on nicely tended grass with electric hook-ups and free Wi-Fi.

Although the site is in a very quiet & remote rural setting, local shops and takeaways are only about two and a half miles away and if you wish to travel into Edinburgh city centre it is only 5 - 10 minutes drive to the park and ride.

Five miles away are the Livingston retail park and outlet centre.

The site is only a few minutes walk from the Lin's Mill Aqueduct where the Union Canal crosses above the River Almond, so it is ideal for canoeing etc.

Well behaved dogs are made most welcome and are allowed off-lead. There is an excellent dog walk from the site.

Date of Visit: August 2015 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Camping nutcase 7 reviews from this member

Lovely site. Nothing was too much trouble for the owner Jean.

She was willing to answer questions about how to get go local attractions etc.

When we pitched she said that as it was a distance from the pitches to the central EHU post, she had extentiins, which she duly brought down.

The loos/showers were spotless. Loved the fact that the showers were the type you tend to have at home and not push the button for ten seconds of water.

The reception sold a few sweets and drinks, along with bacon, sausage and haggis. Oh and highly recommended ice cream.

In the reception area there was a 'camping leftovers' box where you could leave bits that you no longer needed, or pick up bits that you had forgotten. Anything from some coffee to a chair.

I picked up pillows and put them back before we left.

The only minus is that it is on the flight path for Edinburgh Airport, so you do get the noise of the planes. However after the first day you get used to this.

Date of Visit: August 2015 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Mucker1884 23 reviews from this member

(Couple - Early 50's - look for peace, quiet and tranquillity, but with a few mod cons).

Stayed 3 nights - Fri 14/8 to Mon 17/8

It was August, and this is Edinburgh, so I didn't expect peace, tranquillity, and masses of open space to ourselves, but d'ya know what, they didn't do bad!

Of course it was busy, and there was the odd little queue at the showers at peak times (which didn't affect me, as I showered at dusk). Some of the tents were maybe a little closer to each other than we'd normally prefer, but as we spent a lot less time on site, it certainly didn't affect our enjoyment. More cosy than uncomfortable. Most pitches however, for the larger tents, and 'vans/MH's etc, were more than adequate. The hard-standings even more so. The grass, throughout the whole site, was immaculate. Lush and cut to the perfect length (and no grass cuttings either). The whole site was beautifully tended too, but still welcoming. As was our hostess, who handled our experience, from an early 'phone call to make our booking 3 months in advance, to giving us directions to Asda as we waved our goodbyes! (Having a 6 hour trip home, we needed provisions for the journey!) No deposit required either, which was a massive surprise, seeing as it's Festival month!

The only time the showers weren't up to their (apparent) usual standards was when certain guests couldn't be bothered to pick up the mop as they left the shower cubicles! Other than that, all was as at should be.

There was a rather cosmopolitan feel to the site, with English, Welsh, French, German, Dutch, and Scottish of course, all being noticed, as well as a couple of other 'unidentified' nationalities. Made it feel like a 'proper' holiday! Oh, and the sunshine helped too!

Other than those mop-averse-camper moments, there was a definite air of conviviality about the whole site.

Naturally, we spent the majority of our 3 night stay in the City itself, with the highlight being the Saturday night Tattoo at the Castle. The two full day's were spent ambling around the city, soaking up the atmosphere of the world famous festival. Not for the first time, and hopefully not the last! And all easily reached by car/P&R and Tram/Night bus.

Had a great 11 mile cycle ride from the camp site to the City on the Sunday. 97. 5% of that is canal-side, and flat, of course. The 2. 5% nearest to the site is on very quiet, nigh on traffic-free, country lanes.

Unfortunately it's the same 11 miles to get back, but you can't have it all!

Yes it was a busy weekend, and no, perhaps it wasn't the most romantic of our 19 wedding anniversaries, but all in all, we had a wonderful weekend, close enough to a wonderful city, at the most wonderful time to experience it, and having stayed here just put the icing on the cake.

Didn't even think 'wish we were on that', when the holiday planes took off from a few miles away, so that's a good sign!

We'd love to do it all again some time, and if we're still campers when we do, we will almost certainly stay here again.

Ooh, actually, it doesn't matter if we are or not, as not only do they have a few cosy looking pods, they also have what looks like a superb, luxurious timber lodge, so yes, I'm sure we will return at some stage!

Thanks for having us.

Date of Visit: July 2015 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Angef 28 reviews from this member

We stayed here for a few days in a tent with electric hook up. From the moment we arrived, nothing was too much trouble and we were made to feel very welcome. The grass was a bit waterlogged so Jean put is in between 2 pitches and blocked them off so we weren't rammed in with other tents, and lent us an extension cable to reach the hook up point. The facilities are spotless and the site well laid out and flat. The whole site has a feeling of being laid back which is what you want when on holiday. There are plastic patio tables and chairs you can borrow which is perfect when you are in a tent and it'd be great if other sites did the same thing.

My kids enjoyed watching the planes and they weren't an intrusion at all.

We used the Ingliston park and ride, using the tram, which cost 8. 50 for a family day return ticket giving unlimited travel - very well worth it, and the trams are clean and every 10 minutes.

There is a retail park a few miles away which we used, including an Asda for essentials and the usual fast food outlets as well as decent shops etc.

I would have no hesitation in visiting again, in fact ive already recommended this site to others, and we will definitely return next time we are visiting Edinburgh.

Date of Visit: June 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Bea27 10 reviews from this member

Once again a wonderful stay at Linwater Caravan Park. Jean is an absolute 'gem' and cannot do enough for you and we can only re-iterate all the other lovely comments on previous Reviews. We use this site regularly to visit our daughter who currently lives in Edinburgh. However, she is due to move to Dunfermline, and having looked around that area for a suitable alternative site we have come to the conclusion that we can't do better than Linwater! So, Jean, in the words of Arnie. 'We will be back'. Keep up the good work and here's to our next visit.

Date of Visit: July 2015 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Mighty-mondo 3 reviews from this member

We are just back from a stay at Linwater, what a brilliant site it is! It is well laid out and very neat & tidy. We had an electric hook up grass pitch which was massive with plenty of space and lovely and flat.

Toilets and showers are kept spotless and are cleaned very regularly, I agree with all the other reviews that Jean & family are so very friendly and helpful.

The large sand pit was brilliant for amusing our wee boy, there is also a good area for dog walking.

We will definitely be back!

Previous     123 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 6      Next

Save to Virtual Brochure  Add this Site to your Virtual Brochure                                Share  Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Submit a Review for a chance to Win 100 of Amazon Vouchers
Win 100 of Amazon vouchersSubmit a review of any caravan park or campsite, for a chance to win. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win 100 of Amazon vouchers!

If you've visited this site, then please submit a review for a chance to win.

Try our town listings   -   Other Sites in Lothian   -   Search for a site

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win tickets to Camperex 2016 (Liverpool) in January Win a CUBO Breeze Inflatable Campervan Awning!

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Camperex 2016 - Liverpool Exhibition Centre 8 - 10th January
Brand new leisure show for touring caravans, motorhomes, campers and park homes. Win tickets!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions

4979 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend  -  Pensions Auto-enrolment

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2015

Advent Calendar
Advent Calendar
Open Today's Window!