Home

   Log in or Register

Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Linwater Caravan Park

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > UK > Scotland > Lothian > Site Reviews

Linwater Caravan Park
West Clifton
Edinburgh
East Calder
Lothian   (Browse area)
EH53 0HT   See Map                                 Share Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook
Tel: 0131 3333326

Facilities:  (Key)
             

Nearby:
5m  5m  5m 10m  10m   10m  5m 
Featured Site

Pitches: 60
Open: 14th March, 2014 - 3rd November, 2014

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 111 Reviews
              9/10 from 111 Reviews


Units accepted:    Tents  Caravans  Motorhomes  Glamping 

This site has chosen to use the availability calendar. You can check for availability here.

Photos (6)

Reviews:  111 in total, now showing 1 to 6                 Previous 6          Next 6
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14   15   16   17   18   19  

Date of Visit: June 2014 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Yappieannie 5 reviews from this member

This is a great site, remote enough to provide a peaceful quiet weekend away but close enough to Edinburgh to enjoy all the capital has to offer. With the new tram service, a 10 minute drive takes you to the tram stop with free parking all day.

The site it's self is spotless and despite being full the weekend we stayed the site never felt busy. The showers were spotless and again there were no queues at the times I visited the showers.

Jean, the owner was more than helpful, the reception area full of useful information.

All in all a great site, great location and great price!

Date of Visit: May 2014 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Coastcamper 14 reviews from this member

Lovely setting by Union canal and quite close to park and ride into Edinburgh. We stayed overnight here on our way north but will definitely be back. Planning to cycle into Edinburgh along the canal path.

Site was quiet on the Sunday night. First taste of Scottish morning rolls the following morning, ordered together with milk when we booked in and collected from reception in the morning - just leave the money on the desk. Sizeable pitches, easy access motorhome service point, very well kept site. But best of all were the facilities which were second to none. This was my 82 year old mother's first camping trip and she found everything to her satisfaction! Only time she had a proper shower cubicle. Set the standard very high for the rest of our tour!

Date of Visit: May 2014 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Bernie47 10 reviews from this member

Just returned from another visit to Linwater.

As usual the facilities on this dog friendly site were impeccable, far superior to many club sites, and the usual warm welcome and attention from Jean the site owner.

Prices are very reasonable with no extra charges for dogs or Wi-Fi.

Whilst the site is nice ad remote, it is only 10 minutes walk from the Union Canal and 5 minutes drive from the Rathay Park carvery that also serves take away meals. There is a small supermarket and post office about 2 miles away at East Calder.

Date of Visit: March 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Wilbur 2 reviews from this member

Stayed at this wonderful caravan site whilst attending a wedding nearby. Park is very easy to find and is well sign posted. Facilities are spotless and showers have plenty free hot water. When first making this booking, I was greeted by a very cheerful person at the end of the phone. Good to meet her in person, and she clearly delights in looking after her guests. Even allowed us a very late check-out on our last day. Much appreciated. We felt very much at home during our stay. Park is not huge but well laid out with sizeable hard standings & 16A hook-ups. We were able to get free access to Wi-Fi during our stay though it was at times intermittent. Park & Ride at Hermiston is just a short distance from the site. No need to take the car into the city. Plenty tourist information available from the site's office. Only down-side, and completely out of the park's control, is the noise from aircraft taking off from early morning to late at night. Advice - Take some earplugs. Would love to visit again. Suspect it would be well used during the Edinburgh Festival, Tattoo and Royal Highland Show dates!

Date of Visit: September 2013 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: SeanMatthews 3 reviews from this member

First impressions obviously count and as every first impression at Linwater Caravan Park scored a 10/10 with me, this shows just how much attention to detail the owner and her team apply to their site.

Upon arrival, we turned in to a well kept gravel drive and parked outside the spotless reception hut. We were met by the owner who gave us a very warm welcome and then furnished us with various leaflets and a map of the area, which she then highlighted to some essential amenities and popular attractions. She informed us that all of the local restaurants and take-aways deliver to the site and showed us a selection of menus in reception should you fancy a night off cooking. You can also order eggs, bacon, bread etc. From reception, which will be ready to collect on site the following day!

The owner then showed us two areas to pitch our tent, acknowledging the high wind on the day, something which she seemed to be genuinely concerned about.

We pitched on a spotless, flat recently mowed area behind a trimmed hedge and next to one of the many top lit 4 port EHU's (some of which also have a water stand pipe on the back!) and were allowed to park on the grass next to our tent.

We then decided to use the facilities and I have to say that they are by far the cleanest, best kept and best looking that I have ever seen by a mile! My partner also told me that they put fresh flowers in the ladies every day; a lovely extra touch.

The park and ride is 6. 5 miles from the site and for 3. 50, you can park all day for free and get the bus in to Edinburgh centre and back. There is a pub and a small supermarket 2 miles in one direction and a fuel station and fast food place in the other. The site is far enough away to get away from it all but close enough to never be caught short.

In summary; although this site is relatively small by comparison, its manageable size makes you feel that you are a personal guest of the owner and her team. You feel that you are getting an awful lot for your money and their attention to detail is outstanding. The site is absolutely immaculate.

My partner and I are very much looking forward to returning to Linwater next year.

Well done to the owner and the team.

P. S. The female cleaner's taste in music is truly awesome! Dio and Hendrix rule! :-)

Date of Visit: August 2013 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Alix76 2 reviews from this member

We stayed at this site for a week including the bank holiday weekend in August.

Jean is the most welcoming person you could meet, the location and surroundings are picture perfect, the facilities including shower block and dish washing are spotless.

The site has a lovely friendly atmosphere and we made use of the pre-order service of morning rolls, sausage and milk which helps greatly with two little ones who loved the sandpit and made lots of little friends.

The river area along past the dog walk offers breathtaking views as well as the canal walks.

My four year old daughter commented that Jean should be called JEANIUS as nothing is too much trouble and only a genius can run a site this well.

Thanks for making a good holiday great we shall see you soon.

Previous     111 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 6      Next

Save to Virtual Brochure  Add this Site to your Virtual Brochure                                Share  Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Submit your Review for a chance to Win Prizes!
Sponsored by the Caravan ClubSubmit a review to UKCampsite.co.uk of any caravan park or campsite, for a chance to win a caravan towing course or motorhome manoeuvring course worth up to 145, or 100 of Amazon vouchers, courtesy of The Caravan Club. Join the Club for just 44 per year to enjoy access to a great range of caravan sites, benefits and special offers.

If you've visited this site, then please submit a review for a chance to win.

Try our town listings   -   Other Sites in Lothian   -   Search for a site

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a Wisport SilverFox 30L Rucksack Visit the UKCS shop for exclusive discounts and offers

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Tribfest Music Festival 14/08 to 17/08 East Yorkshire
An affordable, fantastic weekend away listening to some great live Top tribute bands. Claim discounted entry!!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


8129 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend  -  Pensions Auto-enrolment

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews]  [Facebook]

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2014






0.0352