Home

   Log in or Register
   
Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Linwater Caravan Park

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > UK > Scotland > Lothian > Site Reviews

Linwater Caravan Park
West Clifton
Edinburgh
East Calder
Lothian   (Browse area)
EH53 0HT   See Map                                 Share Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook
Tel: 0131 3333326

Facilities:  (Key)
             

Nearby: (within x miles)
5m  5m  5m 10m  10m   10m  5m 
Featured Site

Pitches: 60
Open: 13th March, 2015 - 3rd November, 2015

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 119 Reviews
              9/10 from 119 Reviews


Units accepted:    Tents  Caravans  Motorhomes  Glamping 

This site has chosen to use the availability calendar. You can check for availability here.

Photos (12)

Reviews:  119 in total, now showing 1 to 6                 Previous 6          Next 6
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14   15   16   17   18   19   20  

Submit your own Review for a chance to Win £100 of Amazon Vouchers
Win £100 of Amazon vouchersSubmit a review of this site for a chance to win. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win £100 of Amazon vouchers!

Date of Visit: June 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Bea27 10 reviews from this member

Once again a wonderful stay at Linwater Caravan Park. Jean is an absolute 'gem' and cannot do enough for you and we can only re-iterate all the other lovely comments on previous Reviews. We use this site regularly to visit our daughter who currently lives in Edinburgh. However, she is due to move to Dunfermline, and having looked around that area for a suitable alternative site we have come to the conclusion that we can't do better than Linwater! So, Jean, in the words of Arnie. 'We will be back'. Keep up the good work and here's to our next visit.

Date of Visit: July 2015 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Mighty-mondo 2 reviews from this member

We are just back from a stay at Linwater, what a brilliant site it is! It is well laid out and very neat & tidy. We had an electric hook up grass pitch which was massive with plenty of space and lovely and flat.

Toilets and showers are kept spotless and are cleaned very regularly, I agree with all the other reviews that Jean & family are so very friendly and helpful.

The large sand pit was brilliant for amusing our wee boy, there is also a good area for dog walking.

We will definitely be back!

Date of Visit: March 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Mamajeannie 9 reviews from this member

I can only reiterate the previous reviews; spotless facilities, very friendly accommodating owner, spacious pitches, very near park and ride service. The pitches are quite open to the weather, but we were ok despite gale force winds (I was very scared at one point). Jean sells farm eggs, so delious we brought some home. I believe there are some good walks from the site, but the weather was not walking weather so didn't explore too much. Although the site is very near to the airport, the planes didn't pose a problem for us.

We went into Edinburgh using the new tram system, free parking and an all day pass was £3. 50, excellent value. The site is also very close to the International Climbing Centre, we passed an hour or so watching climbers manoeuvre vary rock faces, lovely cafe and several shops. We ate at the Black Bull in Middle Calder, good food and good value. Oh and it is an ACSI site, although we didn't have our card with us Jean still gave us a discount off her normal rate.

We would thoroughly recommend this site and hope to return next year.

Date of Visit: August 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Paul S Conway 1 review from this member

We broke down on our first visit to Linwater Caravan Park. We ran to explain we would be late, but little did we know how late! We finally arrived with the car on the back of a recovery truck and the caravan on tow at 23:30. Jean and Alastair were still up to greet us and towed our caravan down to the allotted pitch for us while the car was left near reception. The next day I set off to walk to the nearby garage to arrange for the car to be repaired, and Alistair kindly gave me a lift down. The site itself was immaculate and the facilities very clean and tidy. I would recommend this site to anyone and we will definitely be staying here again on our next visit, but hopefully arriving at a more civilised time!. A big thank you to both Jean and Alastair for helping to make sure out holiday was not a total disaster.

Date of Visit: July 2014 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Scotfree 1 review from this member

Linwater Park, West Clifton, near East Calder is the best run and most friendly camping and campervan/motorhome site I have ever been to and stayed at. The owner, Jean Guinan and her son, Alistair and all her team are on site all day, often till 9p. M. , keeping the place in order efficiently and are always accessible and helpful.

I have stayed at Linwater Park for many nights on several stays from early July to early September whilst touring various regions in Scotland and cannot recommend this friendly and excellently run place too highly.

The entire place is kept spotless - so much so that users of the washrooms, showers and laundry, and the waste disposal areas also, are always inspired to clean up after them - with rare exceptions - to leave things as perfect as they were found. There are also separate washbasin cubicles for those who like extra privacy. The lawns and gardens are kept immaculately well trimmed and planted.

Nothing is too much trouble - Jean takes orders daily for bread rolls, milk and papers etc which she drives to collect and are available for collection from 8a. M. Onwards at cost price. There is always change available for the laundry machines and soap on sale if required. She will chill ice-blocks and even put excess food into her chillers for temporary storage if needed, for no charge.

If arriving later or earlier than expected arrivals are always able to either park up in the long wide access drive - or even drive to an unconed empty pitch, if available and relocate when the office is open if necessary.

As for location, Linwater Park is located on a small working farm with many trees and hedges and very pleasantly landscape garden areas. It lies on level but high free-draining ground. It is not a large park - so ideal for those with dogs and small children.

It is ideally situated near Edinburgh airport with excellent access to the Scottish highway/ motorway network and good minor road access elsewhere. There are regular flights into and out of the airport but all aircraft are small and quiet: there is a long period overnight, even in summer, when there are no or very few flights.

There is the nearby Park&Ride site at Ingleston, very close to the airport: the only one of 4 around Edinburgh which allows high vehicles to park. This P&R site is served by the new City Tram and also day and night buses. Further access right into Edinburgh centre 12miles away can be made by fit cyclists along the tow path of the nearby Union Canal or by a 6mile ride to the Hermiston P&R site. There is an excellent gastro pub, the Bridge Inn, located about 4miles along this canal at Ratho.

Apart from hard pitches and some grassed ones, almost all of which have electric power, there are many grassed areas for camping and also many small wooden A-frame chalets, each with seats and tables and one large wooden family or large group bunkhouse, with all round fenced veranda and BBQ - perhaps the first of several - in a separate field.

Jean has an office information centre with wall maps, brochures and leaflets for events and places all over Scotland and also a small area where unwanted items can be left for others to adopt.

Storage facilities are available at reasonable rates also, for those who need to break their motorhome travels.

Date of Visit: July 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Ljm18706 14 reviews from this member

Stayed at this site whilst visiting Edinburgh and also the Commonwealth Games in Glasgow. Access to motorway not far from site.

The park is clean and tidy with big pitches and Jean is fantastic.

Lack of kids play park was not an issue for my 4 kids as they had the freedom to run around and play with the other children. A good safe site.

Would recommend this park 100% as a base for the many attractions nearby.

Previous     119 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 6      Next

Save to Virtual Brochure  Add this Site to your Virtual Brochure                                Share  Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Submit a Review for a chance to Win £100 of Amazon Vouchers
Win £100 of Amazon vouchersSubmit a review of any caravan park or campsite, for a chance to win. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win £100 of Amazon vouchers!

If you've visited this site, then please submit a review for a chance to win.

Try our town listings   -   Other Sites in Lothian   -   Search for a site

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a bundle of VARTA camping essentials worth over £100! Win a Festival Starter Pack, worth over £100!

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Tribfest Festival 20th – 23rd August
The world’s biggest tribute band music festival in East Yorkshire - PLUS exclusive 10% discount on tickets!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


6835 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend  -  Pensions Auto-enrolment

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2015






0.0781