Home

   Log in or Register
   
Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Linwater Caravan Park

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > UK > Scotland > Lothian > Site Reviews

Linwater Caravan Park
West Clifton
Edinburgh
East Calder
Lothian   (Browse area)
EH53 0HT   See Map                                 Share Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook
Tel: 0131 3333326

Facilities:  (Key)
             

Nearby:
5m  5m  5m 10m  10m   10m  5m 
Featured Site

Pitches: 60
Open: 14th March, 2014 - 3rd November, 2014

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 116 Reviews
              9/10 from 116 Reviews


Units accepted:    Tents  Caravans  Motorhomes  Glamping 

This site has chosen to use the availability calendar. You can check for availability here.

Photos (12)

Reviews:  116 in total, now showing 1 to 6                 Previous 6          Next 6
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14   15   16   17   18   19   20  

Date of Visit: August 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Paul S Conway 1 review from this member

We broke down on our first visit to Linwater Caravan Park. We ran to explain we would be late, but little did we know how late! We finally arrived with the car on the back of a recovery truck and the caravan on tow at 23:30. Jean and Alastair were still up to greet us and towed our caravan down to the allotted pitch for us while the car was left near reception. The next day I set off to walk to the nearby garage to arrange for the car to be repaired, and Alistair kindly gave me a lift down. The site itself was immaculate and the facilities very clean and tidy. I would recommend this site to anyone and we will definitely be staying here again on our next visit, but hopefully arriving at a more civilised time!. A big thank you to both Jean and Alastair for helping to make sure out holiday was not a total disaster.

Date of Visit: July 2014 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Scotfree 1 review from this member

Linwater Park, West Clifton, near East Calder is the best run and most friendly camping and campervan/motorhome site I have ever been to and stayed at. The owner, Jean Guinan and her son, Alistair and all her team are on site all day, often till 9p. M. , keeping the place in order efficiently and are always accessible and helpful.

I have stayed at Linwater Park for many nights on several stays from early July to early September whilst touring various regions in Scotland and cannot recommend this friendly and excellently run place too highly.

The entire place is kept spotless - so much so that users of the washrooms, showers and laundry, and the waste disposal areas also, are always inspired to clean up after them - with rare exceptions - to leave things as perfect as they were found. There are also separate washbasin cubicles for those who like extra privacy. The lawns and gardens are kept immaculately well trimmed and planted.

Nothing is too much trouble - Jean takes orders daily for bread rolls, milk and papers etc which she drives to collect and are available for collection from 8a. M. Onwards at cost price. There is always change available for the laundry machines and soap on sale if required. She will chill ice-blocks and even put excess food into her chillers for temporary storage if needed, for no charge.

If arriving later or earlier than expected arrivals are always able to either park up in the long wide access drive - or even drive to an unconed empty pitch, if available and relocate when the office is open if necessary.

As for location, Linwater Park is located on a small working farm with many trees and hedges and very pleasantly landscape garden areas. It lies on level but high free-draining ground. It is not a large park - so ideal for those with dogs and small children.

It is ideally situated near Edinburgh airport with excellent access to the Scottish highway/ motorway network and good minor road access elsewhere. There are regular flights into and out of the airport but all aircraft are small and quiet: there is a long period overnight, even in summer, when there are no or very few flights.

There is the nearby Park&Ride site at Ingleston, very close to the airport: the only one of 4 around Edinburgh which allows high vehicles to park. This P&R site is served by the new City Tram and also day and night buses. Further access right into Edinburgh centre 12miles away can be made by fit cyclists along the tow path of the nearby Union Canal or by a 6mile ride to the Hermiston P&R site. There is an excellent gastro pub, the Bridge Inn, located about 4miles along this canal at Ratho.

Apart from hard pitches and some grassed ones, almost all of which have electric power, there are many grassed areas for camping and also many small wooden A-frame chalets, each with seats and tables and one large wooden family or large group bunkhouse, with all round fenced veranda and BBQ - perhaps the first of several - in a separate field.

Jean has an office information centre with wall maps, brochures and leaflets for events and places all over Scotland and also a small area where unwanted items can be left for others to adopt.

Storage facilities are available at reasonable rates also, for those who need to break their motorhome travels.

Date of Visit: July 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Ljm18706 12 reviews from this member

Stayed at this site whilst visiting Edinburgh and also the Commonwealth Games in Glasgow. Access to motorway not far from site.

The park is clean and tidy with big pitches and Jean is fantastic.

Lack of kids play park was not an issue for my 4 kids as they had the freedom to run around and play with the other children. A good safe site.

Would recommend this park 100% as a base for the many attractions nearby.

Date of Visit: July 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Ayrstu 3 reviews from this member

What a great site. Friendly, spotlessly clean facilities generous size pitches only minor detail that lets site down is lack of playpark for kids although there is a large sandpit which does go some way to make up for that. Jean is a great woman very friendly helpful and cheery. We'll definitely be using this site again. Ideal for long walks along the union canal, and not too far away from livingston and edinburgh.

Date of Visit: June 2014 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Yappieannie 8 reviews from this member

This is a great site, remote enough to provide a peaceful quiet weekend away but close enough to Edinburgh to enjoy all the capital has to offer. With the new tram service, a 10 minute drive takes you to the tram stop with free parking all day.

The site it's self is spotless and despite being full the weekend we stayed the site never felt busy. The showers were spotless and again there were no queues at the times I visited the showers.

Jean, the owner was more than helpful, the reception area full of useful information.

All in all a great site, great location and great price!

Date of Visit: June 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Maggieme 1 review from this member

Lovely small quiet site, I'd stay here again. The grounds are well kept and most of the pitches are hard standing.

The toilet block is spotlessly clean and warm, I loved the fresh flowers

The reception has loads of information and the owner is lovely, cheery, and helpful. You can order papers, rolls milk etc for the following morning and there is a freezer with bacon etc

It might be a bit boring for children although safe, the adjoining field contained sheep this week

Free and easily accessible wi fi

Short drive to park and ride to edinburgh and would be easy to get the train to glasgow,

No pub or shops in walking distance but a number a short drive away. Take aways can be ordered

Previous     116 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 6      Next

Save to Virtual Brochure  Add this Site to your Virtual Brochure                                Share  Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Submit your Review for a chance to Win Prizes!
Sponsored by the Caravan ClubSubmit a review to UKCampsite.co.uk of any caravan park or campsite, for a chance to win a caravan towing course or motorhome manoeuvring course worth up to £145, or £100 of Amazon vouchers, courtesy of The Caravan Club. Join the Club for just £44 per year to enjoy access to a great range of caravan sites, benefits and special offers.

If you've visited this site, then please submit a review for a chance to win.

Try our town listings   -   Other Sites in Lothian   -   Search for a site

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a Sleepy - The Wearable Sleeping Bag! Visit the UKCS shop for exclusive discounts and offers

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Manchester Caravan & Motorhome Show 15 to 18/01/15
Start the season with a trip to the North’s biggest outdoor leisure show. Win 10 pairs of tickets or claim discount entry

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


5437 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend  -  Pensions Auto-enrolment

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2014






0.1133