Home

   Log in or Register
   
Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Fforest Fields Caravan & Camping Park

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > UK > Wales > Powys > Site Reviews

Fforest Fields Caravan & Camping Park
Fforest Farm
Hundred House
Builth Wells
Powys   (Browse area)
LD1 5RT   See Map                                 Share Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook
Tel: 01982 570406

Facilities:  (Key)
             

Nearby: (within x miles)
5m  1m  1m 5m  5m   5m  10m  5m 
Featured Site

Pitches: .
Open: March 1st To December 31st

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 305 Reviews
              9/10 from 305 Reviews


Units accepted:    Tents  Caravans  Motorhomes 

This site has chosen to use the availability calendar. You can check for availability here.

Special Offer available to UKCampsite.co.uk visitors - see here.

Photos (24) and Video

Reviews:  305 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14   15   16   17   18   19   20   21   22   23   24   25   26   27   28   29   30   31  

Submit your own Review for a chance to Win £100 of Amazon Vouchers
Win £100 of Amazon vouchersSubmit a review of this site for a chance to win. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win £100 of Amazon vouchers!

Date of Visit: June 2015 Unit:  Trailer Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Smartecosse 7 reviews from this member

Stopped here for one night on the way back up to Scotland having collected a trailer tent from down south.

So glad that we did, what a lovely site.

So much to do for the kids and so much space for them to run around.

Facilities were looked new and were spotless, we didn't need them but there was a whole row of fridges and freezers rather than just one.

Only negative is that at £30 a night for two adults and two kids with a hookup its the most expensive site that we have stayed on.

Date of Visit: May 2015 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Yorkshirekaren 4 reviews from this member

Just retuned after a fantastic 8 nights stay, at what can only be described as the best campsite we have visited and what others should aspire to be.

Family run site that is friendly, welcoming and relaxed. With the family who couldn't be any more helpful. The site is well maintained and not too manicured. Also the little touches such as seats around the lakes.

We stayed in the 'quite corner' which was good for us and our dog as literally out of a gate and miles and miles of beautiful walks. The guide we got at reception gave ideas and pubs location. We were at first concerned about pitching on the hard standing but the pebbles are small and don't cause any issues with ground sheet, and comfy under foot.

The facilities -

Toilet and shower block - spotless, warm and very well maintained with free showers that you can have the water as hot or as cold as you like. Showers also are a very good size to dry and change in without every thing getting wet.

Drying room - Fantastic for campers, used when showered at night so not having a wet towel in your tent.

Free fridge & freezers - clean and in a room with the most fab idea for phone charging ever! & local area leaflets for attractions.

Washers and dryers that take £1 coins and we used £2 for a good decent wash and a further one to dry. Also there is a iron & board in there.

The New café - A stroke of genius! Fab Fab Fab! (also sells beer and wine for after a long journey)

Information was always available posted around main area such as pub closure & local plant sale etc.

The lakes - a great place. Although cold as you would expect in mid May I had 3 fantastic swims with my dog. Great Fun!

Well positioned for visiting different areas, we can not fault this place and will definitely return and recommend.

First class Thank you xx

Date of Visit: May 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: 4princesses 6 reviews from this member

We've wanted to stay on this site for a while and eventually we made the time to visit of the Whitsun Bank Holiday, we weren't disappointed, and it was definitely worth waiting for.

The children loved the kayaking and the walks and open space. Not a play area in sight, but the place doesn't need one!

The toilet facilities were immaculate, and it was lovely to have a shelf in the shower area- so many places don't which is a pain - it's the little extras like this that make a difference.

The owners were friendly and helpful, and could even pronounce our surname which is always a bonus!

A wonderful site, that we'll certainly be returning to, the children even asked before we left when we were coming back. That says it all, I think!

Date of Visit: May 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: JaneJordan01 1 review from this member

This is our favourite campsite and we have visited several times. Our children aged 9 & 14 have always loved it. A great place to get away from it all. The owners do a fantastic job and are always very helpful.

The shower block is only a couple of years old and is the best of any campsite we have ever been to. Plenty of room and always lots of hot water.

Date of Visit: May 2014 Unit:  Trailer Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Mjhynan 4 reviews from this member

Fab site. We have returned for the last two years after staying in the cottage the first year. Amazingly clean facilities, good pricing for the pitch and the views and surroundings are beautiful. Great for walking and of you hVe dogs that like to swim as well. We are already booked in for September. Can't wait

Date of Visit: May 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Ferretlady 9 reviews from this member

We were here for a few days over the May day bank holiday. As usual Kate, George and Will have done a fantastic job in keeping the site clean and tidy. Always a warm and friendly welcome! A couple of new things since we last came. Reception has been upgraded and they also have the addition of 2 Bell Tents set up to hire. We did have a peek through the door, looks lovely!

We spent our weekend in the 'Quiet Corner'. This suits us as we have excitable young dogs, so nothing to disturb them! Plenty of good walks around the site in beautiful surroundings. Facilitites exceptionally clean and warm.

We love Wills own bacon and sausage, you must try them!

Cannot wait to visit again!

Our only niggle, and this is nothing to do with the site or the owners, is that someone was picking up after their dog, but then left the bag on the floor. Cannot really understand why they bothered to clean it up, and then leave it on the floor.

We always pick up after ours and then just pop it into our bin. Not difficult!

Date of Visit: March 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Welshboy1 3 reviews from this member

We were recommended this site by friends and booked up for the end of the Easter school holidays for a 4 day visit. It's a real back to basics campsite, the fact is there's no kids play area, bar or entertainment. So if that's the kind of site you like this isn't for you.

We had an amazing time, no play area, no problem!. Our kid's 7 and 4 just loved playing in the streams that run through the site with buckets and nets, there's also 2 fantastic lakes, one you can swim in and even our Labrador had the best time ever. You are allowed to hire Kayaks (for a donation to the air ambulance) or take an inflatable in.

The facilities were modern, very clean and well respected by all who use them, mopping the shower out after use. They even had a drying room which as you can imagine with all that water around was a God send. The water is provided by tap from a borehole which tasted far better than any I've ever drank. They have a small honesty shop on site selling the essentials like lovely organic tubs of ice cream and milk, bread etc.

Some great local attractions, our favorite was the Red kite center, it was an incredible site watching 300 - 400 birds swooping down for their food.

Builth Wells was only 5 miles away in case you forget something or fancy a meal out. The views are breath taking in the area and we will be definitely planning another visit soon. The owners and all the staff were very kind and would go out of the way to help you or advise you in local matters. This is a real gem and reasonably priced. 10/10 from us!

Date of Visit: March 2015 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Plader 2 reviews from this member

Lovely site. Always a friendly reception. The hard standing pitches are scattered amongst trees, plus there's a huge field. A group of the hardstandings are reserved as a quiet area so if you don't have kids you might want to request one of these. There's a lake and a large pond in the grounds and several walking routes starting from the site itself. Cycling routes too, but only if you have really low gears on the bike! There's enough hard track and tarmac for the kids to ride their bikes around the site while you relax. The facilities are large, clean, and airy.

Date of Visit: October 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Youngwelsh 7 reviews from this member

I have been to lots of sites in the past twenty years, this site is one of the best I have been to.

The location is second to none, so peaceful, no road noise, the only noises are from fellow humans using the site and wild life.

The facilities leave Caravan Club sites way behind, the owners are very friendly.

The toilet/shower block is always clean and the shower cubicles are huge!

I can't wait to return in the spring/summer to be able to enjoy the private lakes, one of which is for swimming and small boats the other for fishing.

Date of Visit: September 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Woodspoiler 2 reviews from this member

We have just spent 18 nights in total at this wonderful gem of a site and location. We have stayed here several times in past years often with my sister in law like us in their Eriba Caravan. I can honestly say this is the best site in all the years we have been camping and caravanning we have ever stayed on. George, Katie, Will and family (the owners) are lovely people. The site is perfect not to big in terms of pitches (although there are plenty) but big in space to wonder, walk dogs, explore, hike off up the surrounding hills and woods all from the site, there are two lakes, The new amenity block is state of the art and blends in perfectly. Such a good design. We shall return again and again even though we live on the Isle Of Wight and have to catch an expensive ferry plus 4-5 hour drive. It's our heavenly retreat in Wales.

Previous     305 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Save to Virtual Brochure  Add this Site to your Virtual Brochure                                Share  Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Submit a Review for a chance to Win £100 of Amazon Vouchers
Win £100 of Amazon vouchersSubmit a review of any caravan park or campsite, for a chance to win. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win £100 of Amazon vouchers!

If you've visited this site, then please submit a review for a chance to win.

Try our town listings   -   Other Sites in Powys   -   Search for a site

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a bundle of VARTA camping essentials worth over £100! Win a Festival Starter Pack, worth over £100!

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Tribfest Festival 20th – 23rd August
The world’s biggest tribute band music festival in East Yorkshire - PLUS exclusive 10% discount on tickets!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


9189 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend  -  Pensions Auto-enrolment

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2015






0.1016