Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Fforest Fields Caravan & Camping Park

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > UK > Wales > Powys > Site Reviews

Fforest Fields Caravan & Camping Park
Fforest Farm
Hundred House
Builth Wells
Powys   (Browse area)
LD1 5RT   See Map                                 Share Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook
Tel: 01982 570406

Facilities:  (Key)
             

Nearby: (within x miles)
5m  1m  1m 5m  5m   5m  10m  5m 
Featured Site

Pitches: .
Open: March 1st To December 31st

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 322 Reviews
              9/10 from 322 Reviews


Units accepted:    Tents  Caravans  Motorhomes 

This site has chosen to use the availability calendar. You can check for availability here.

Special Offer available to UKCampsite.co.uk visitors - see here.

Photos (24) and Video

Reviews:  322 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14   15   16   17   18   19   20   21   22   23   24   25   26   27   28   29   30   31   32   33  

Submit your own Review for a chance to Win 100!
Win 100Submit a review of this site for your chance to win 100 of Caravan Club vouchers or 100 of Amazon vouchers, courtesy of this month's sponsor, The Caravan Club. Join The Club from just 48 per year to enjoy access to over 2,700 sites, exclusive member benefits and site special offers.

Date of Visit: June 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Clbewi 9 reviews from this member

What can I say, this is our 3rd visit here and it's still as wonderful as ever.

We had a Premier pitch which was fantastic. The private shower rooms complete with their own toilet are still some of the best we've seen.

The site itself is a gardeners paradise. Everything is immaculate, very mature trees and hedging, quite private plots with ample space. Plenty of bins and chemical points around. As someone else said, it's such an immaculate site that if you see a bit of rubbish you tend to pick it up and put it in the bin. Most people around us are here for 3 weeks and they come regularly, so that in itself says something.

There is a small restaurant with a bar, open at different times throughout the season. There is a laundry room with ample machines and dryers and an iron. There is a small games room, and skittles and table tennis outside. A beautiful conservatory which again has fabulous plants in.

There is a fabulous field with a play area for kids and great dog walking facilities with a doggy shower! (We had neither kids or dogs with us so didn't use these).

The reception has a small shop, with food and caravan bits and fresh bread/milk.

The owners work tirelessly and are very friendly, nothing is too much trouble. If you fancy trying this site out book early as its quite hard to get a booking. I would thoroughly recommend this site. Quite central for lots of interesting places to visit and beautiful beaches.

Date of Visit: April 2016 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: Lolandmart 2 reviews from this member

One of the best sites we have stayed in. Immaculate plentiful facilities. Friendly owners who are quite happy to leave the shop open and leave an honesty box. Lovely little cafe open at the weekends selling home-made cake (millionaires shortbread amazing) and real coffees. The drying room is a great place to leave the towels ready for a wonderful shower. Lovely dog walks straight from the site, views like no other, I really can't praise this site enough.

Date of Visit: April 2016 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Snugglycat 3 reviews from this member

Wow, wow, wow - an amazing site. Showers/toilets - immaculate and warm with underfloor heating, large spacious hot showers, a great washing up room with free freezers, fridges and lockable boxes to charge your phones, a drying room for your wet gear (after all it is Wales!), lakes you can kayak on or swim in. A little shop stocking basic items with an honesty box, a little cafe serving teas, coffees etc. An abundance of wildlife - very sociable common newts who like to come and visit. To make it better - not much really - being picky - a couple of coat hooks in the wash up area and longer all weather pitches for larger tents - but as I say I am being picky - would we visit again??? - You bet we would. - Loved it - Thank you FForest Fields.

Date of Visit: March 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: JACRM 11 reviews from this member

Visited fforest fields for one night on a return journey from another site.

Situated well off the main road, stunning location and very quiet for a big site.

Great site layout with little streams through the site.

Spacious level pitches.

Immaculate shower / toilet blocks, washing / drying areas.

Cafe and shop on site if needed.

Will definitely return at some point for a longer stay.

Date of Visit: March 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: EribaAdventurer 3 reviews from this member

I've visited a lot of sites and this is by far one of the best. The welcome was also the friendliest ever, all the staff couldn't help you enough.

Situated 5 miles or so outside Builth Wells on the A481, 1 mile from a hamlet Hundred House which has a pub the Hundred House Inn. A481 is a quiet road, and the site is 1/4 away down farm track. You don't hear any road noise. Skies are also pretty dark at night making it ideal for star gazing.

Site has new, clean toilets and showers.

Cafe which is open usually 9 till 6 at weekends (shorter opening times midweek otside of school holidays) Serves breakfast rolls, paninis, bottled beers, cakes, sausage rolls, coffees etc.

Onsite shop open 24/7 which stocks bare essentials and operates an honesty box.

Plenty of hardstanding, ehu. Chemical disposal, lots of water points.

Fire baskets for hire, logs for sale.

Plenty of walks in and around the site. Loafs of wildlife including frogs and buzzards!

Approach was very easy.

Only downside for us was the fact that the local pub wasn't dog friendly, you had to go the Seven stars at Aberdw or the Fforest Fields Inn both 5 miles away. Having said that there are taxi firms which are dog friendly. All this information is provided on the campsites website.

Will we be back? We sure will!

Date of Visit: September 2015 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Camp-cat 4 reviews from this member

Currently still on site, but worthy of review already. Booked a lovely long weekend, end September. 2 adults, 2 teens and 2 doggies.

First impressions were wonderful, given option to pitch where we wanted, but really hard to decide as all pitches are spacious and pretty. We opted to pitch in the unmarked area by the stream. Wouldn't have done this if we had been forecast rain, lol. Lovely spacious and relaxing pitch with the sound of babbling water - bliss. Site not busy at all.

Showers/loos are spotless, modern and warm. Best I have seen tbh.

Shop/reception is often unmanned but they operate an honesty box. If you have queries I would leave a note on desk.

Customer service is excellent. We came away and realised we had forgotten saucepans and cutlery. We went to reception to ask details of local supermarket and were offered loan of missing items. So kind and saved us a fortune.

There are lots of other dog families on the site but everyone is respectful and keeps them on leads. Ours like bed the amazing walks from site and also the swimming in the lake. It's wonderful to have happy tired doggies at the end of each day :-) as for the teenagers - they were delighted with the free wifi. Signal was fab where we were pitched. They have even said they would like to stay here again.

We will definitely be back - as soon as we can. Reasons why:

1. Service/friendliness of owners and staff

2. Peace and quiet

3. Stunning location

4. Wonderful walks

5. Fantastic modern facilities.

Thank you Fforest Fields :-)

Date of Visit: August 2015 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Rfrayling 3 reviews from this member

What an amazing site! Wonderful showers and toilets, freezer/fridge room with charging points for phones etc and washing up and laundry rooms. All spotless, modern and warm! A little shop and a cafe selling lovely wine and ciders along with coffees/teas and toasties/pastries etc. On certain evenings they have fresh cooked foods in the courtyard, Thia or woodfired pizza oven. Friendly helpful owners how couldn't do enough. Beautiful surroundings and a lake with various canoe/supboarding activities. Looking forward to returning next year with our new caravan!

Date of Visit: August 2015 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Manglemender 4 reviews from this member

We spend august bank holiday at this wonderful site; it came highly recommended and we weren't disappointed. Even though our visit was near the end of the season, there was still ample lush grass to pitch on rather than muddy patches that are often encountered at the end of the season.

The facilities at this site are the best we have experienced in the UK. While the site was busy there was still plenty of space, tents were not crammed together and there remained large open spaces for children to play in.

The ability to have a campfire is always a welcome addition to any camping trip and we often like to cook on a wood fire. Fires and barbecues must be off the ground and an ample supply of bricks is available to aid this.

We enjoyed some canoeing down the river Wye but with so much more to do, we will definitely return.

Date of Visit: August 2015 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: CampingMwnci 1 review from this member

After looking much searching for a campsite where our family of 5 could have a break away and enjoy some outdoors activities we found Fforest Fields. Even before booking I was sold on the place, the reality was every bit as good as the expectations.

The site was well signposted from Builth Wells and easy to access. On arrival we were given a wonderful welcome. After a chat about what we were looking to do my other half was given a tour of the options and the benefits. We were really looking forward to Mountain Biking and Kayaking so chose a pitch close to the lake. The pitches weren't squashed in together and there was plenty of breathing space.

The facilities were the best we have experienced, plenty of clean hot showers and wash basins to the indoor washing up area. Not to mention the Fridges and Freezers all free to use. With wetsuits and swimming gear the drying room was a godsend too! When you had in a shop with honesty box, cafe serving great food and local produce it just gets better and better. We loved the Wood Fired Pizza oven nights, the Thai caterer.

For us, you couldn't been on site cycle trails including British XC Mountain Bike course leading onto a huge expanse of ridge to ride. The lake was a great hit too. Our days consisted of a couple of hours mountain biking, food, couple of hours kayaking and swimming before more food; a relax and bed. The smiles didn't leave our faces the whole time! On the whole the facilities matched the attitude of the owners, incredibly friendly, genuinely interested in their customers having a great time and not out to squeeze every penny out. It was incredibly refreshing and the reason we have already booked to go for a long weekend in September and are looking at a longer stay next summer.

What speaks volumes is the number of people who have seen out photos of the camping trip and said, 'that' Fforest Fields! Its Awesome there!'

Date of Visit: July 2015 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: Tawnyo 3 reviews from this member

Fantastic site!

A rural location which is what we were looking for.

We really liked this site. The toilet and shower block were immaculate and the site was thoughtfully laid out. The shop was well stocked and open all of the time. There was also a little cafe which we would have used if it had rained and we didn't fancy cooking.

Previous     322 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Save to Virtual Brochure  Add this Site to your Virtual Brochure                                Share  Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Submit a Review for a chance to Win 100!
Sponsored by the Caravan ClubSubmit a review to UKCampsite.co.uk of any caravan park or campsite for your chance to win your choice of 100 of Caravan Club vouchers or 100 of Amazon vouchers, courtesy of this month's sponsor, The Caravan Club. Join The Club from just 48 per year to enjoy access to over 2,700 sites, exclusive member benefits and site special offers.

If you've visited this site, then please submit a review for a chance to win.

Try our town listings   -   Other Sites in Powys   -   Search for a site

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win an Outwell Mains Package Win a HandiMoova Off-road Foldable Hand Trolley

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Elvaston Steam Rally in Derbyshire - 1st to 4th July
An amazing fun weekend for all the family. Plus you can camp on site from Friday to Monday. Find out more and download the booking form

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


7865 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend  -  Pensions Auto-enrolment

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2016






0.2031