Home

   Log in or Register
   
Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Fforest Fields Caravan & Camping Park

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > UK > Wales > Powys > Site Reviews

Fforest Fields Caravan & Camping Park
Fforest Farm
Hundred House
Builth Wells
Powys   (Browse area)
LD1 5RT   See Map                                 Share Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook
Tel: 01982 570406

Facilities:  (Key)
             

Nearby:
5m  1m  1m 5m  5m   5m  10m  5m 
Featured Site

Pitches: .
Open: March 1st To December 31st

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 297 Reviews
              9/10 from 297 Reviews


Units accepted:    Tents  Caravans  Motorhomes 

This site has chosen to use the availability calendar. You can check for availability here.

Special Offer available to UKCampsite.co.uk visitors - see here.

Photos (24) and Video

Reviews:  297 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14   15   16   17   18   19   20   21   22   23   24   25   26   27   28   29   30  

Date of Visit: October 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Youngwelsh 7 reviews from this member

I have been to lots of sites in the past twenty years, this site is one of the best I have been to.

The location is second to none, so peaceful, no road noise, the only noises are from fellow humans using the site and wild life.

The facilities leave Caravan Club sites way behind, the owners are very friendly.

The toilet/shower block is always clean and the shower cubicles are huge!

I can't wait to return in the spring/summer to be able to enjoy the private lakes, one of which is for swimming and small boats the other for fishing.

Date of Visit: September 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Woodspoiler 2 reviews from this member

We have just spent 18 nights in total at this wonderful gem of a site and location. We have stayed here several times in past years often with my sister in law like us in their Eriba Caravan. I can honestly say this is the best site in all the years we have been camping and caravanning we have ever stayed on. George, Katie, Will and family (the owners) are lovely people. The site is perfect not to big in terms of pitches (although there are plenty) but big in space to wonder, walk dogs, explore, hike off up the surrounding hills and woods all from the site, there are two lakes, The new amenity block is state of the art and blends in perfectly. Such a good design. We shall return again and again even though we live on the Isle Of Wight and have to catch an expensive ferry plus 4-5 hour drive. It's our heavenly retreat in Wales.

Date of Visit: September 2014 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Cassettes 10 reviews from this member

Truely a GREAT site in an excellent location. We pitched in a field by ourselves for a few days to be joined later by the Royal Enfield owners club (quite a treat). Great views and walks from the site and surrounding area. New amenity block with underfloor heating was always spotless, the laundry and potwash facilities were also to the same high standard. Fire pits with wood and lighters available to hire as are canoes on the boating lake.

Reception well stocked with the usual essentials with an honesty box for payment, freezers available also phone charging and free Wi-Fi. Friday night saw the arrival of the Thai takeaway van which was well patronised by campers and caravanners alike.

Visited Brecon Beacons visitors centre which was a good source of information for the area. Waterfall walks stunning, a real must. Loved every minute and will definitely return

Only bad point. You cant pronounce the town names

Date of Visit: August 2014 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: SereniaM 2 reviews from this member

Second camp of the holidays, and this one was a real treat. Really family friendly, with lovely on site lake, excellent inclusive facilities and on site shop. Make a note of the mobile food van on tuesday and friday evenings, great food.

A few local pubs, but with Builth and Llandod very nearby (by car or bike 5-7 miles)there is plenty to see and do if your visit is a short one.

Site manager keeps everyone in order, but in a friendly and polite way - good to know that someone is looking out for you.

Date of Visit: August 2014 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Borntoshop 3 reviews from this member

Spent a couple of days here after the August bank holiday. The location was beautiful, the facilities excellent and scrupulously kept (others have mentioned the toilet and shower block, freezer cabinets and small shop, so I won't go into details, except my son says the sausages are brilliant whilst I wish I had had more of the honey ice cream).

There is a lake for fishing, and another for boating/messing about. My son made good use of the latter, which also has benches dotted around so those who don't want to get wet can watch. The lakeside also made for a pleasant walk and the opportunity to sit and enjoy the scenery.

The site was quiet when we visited, sufficiently so for the swallows (?Martins? always get the two confused) to be flying close across the field. There were enjoyable walks up the hill, and at the end of the day the Hundred House pub provided a substantial meal.

Unfortunately, when we arrived we managed to break a tent pole, but the owner was very helpful in letting us have some tape to fix it, so disaster was avoided. When we came to leave, the car wouldn't start. The mobile reception on site is temperamental (at least so far as our network is concerned) so I went to the office to request the use of a landline. When I explained why - no problem, and no need to ring the RAC: 5 minutes later a tractor arrived at our car with jump leads, the engine roared into life and we were safely on our way home again. Huge thanks to those of the team who helped us on those occasions; I can't speak highly enough of the assistance we received.

Definitely want to return.

Date of Visit: August 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Tall Bloke 5 reviews from this member

Visited this site for the first time due to all the great reviews on here and we absolutely loved it and can see why others do too.

Although the site was busy it never felt like it, there was plenty of space for everyone & the same at the showers.

We enjoyed lots of walks which you can do straight from the site as well as walks round the beautiful lakes where you can now stop & have a rest on the swing seat which was put in during our stay, a lovely addition in a great spot.

We also enjoyed the takeaway Thai food which was also something new whilst we were there a night off from the BBQ!

We visited the local area including Builth Wells, Llandridod & Hay on Wye but we really enjoyed our days on site just chilling & relaxing & nights sat round the fire pit toasting marshmallows.

It really is a great site in a super location and one we shall definitely be returning to.

Date of Visit: August 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Freedom4us 33 reviews from this member

This is our second visit to Fforest Fields, the first since the new block has been constructed. I agree with the reviewer who said that the minute you get on site there is a feeling of relaxation and tranquility. Although a large site, the way the pitches are laid out it does not feel large and even though there are loads of children it was not noisy, again I think due to the lay out of the pitches. The new shower block is indeed fantastic with plenty of toilets and showers and very clean.

We bought bread, bacon and sausage while we were there - highly recommended, the eggs were not that special.

The TV reception is poor so we have now invested in a satellite dish having spoken to a fellow caravaner who swears by his - fingers crossed it works!

The lakes are fantastic for either swimming, canoeing, throwing the stick in for the dogs or just stroll. There are plenty of walks from the site and plenty in the surrounding area.

All in all a fabulous site. A 9 for location just because it is quite a way from Builth Wells to get a daily paper!

Date of Visit: August 2014 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: SolarPanelPhil 2 reviews from this member

Another stay at Fforest Fields reminds me once again that this is a very special place. This was amply demonstrated by the number of people we met again from last year. Excellent welcome, the best showers and facilities I have ever seen on a campsite, and that rather unique atmosphere that relaxes you almost upon arrival. Quite simply the reference point for all campsites that we visit, and a powerful incentive to motor there from far afield. The owners have lovingly crafted over many seasons a very memorable holiday experience. Long may that continue!

Date of Visit: July 2014 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: TraceyD 14 reviews from this member

Every year we visit Fforest Fields we never imagine anything could improve as we feel it is our perfect site. This year it is only a couple of small cosmetic things, but once again they have been so sympathetically blended into the surroundings you'd think they had always been there. I am referring to two new wooden structures at the long lake, a shelter with picnic table in at the corner of the jetty end which provides shelter from both sun and the occasional shower, and a lovely swinging seat which was completed while we were there halfway down the side of the lake, what better vantage point could you have to watch the evening sunset.

The facilities block is as clean and well presented as it was when first built two years ago and the bacon on sale in the reception is just as good too!

Perfect sized pitches, perfect surroundings with well tended plants and flowers around the site and perfect hosts - Fforest Fields, the perfect site for us!

Date of Visit: July 2014 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Freecamper 3 reviews from this member

Very good site boating lake and lots of good walks the facilities are the best we've found, by far as good as caravan club & caravan & camping club sites, very clean and tidy all the time. Also a washing up indoors and even a drying room. The only down sides not very motorhome friendly no service points and can only pitch in the one part of the site. Tv very poor you need satellite to get any thing. Dogs not on leads and running around the site and messing on other pitches note I have a dog myself and he is always on a lead on site

Management response: Thank you for leaving a review of Fforest Fields.

Regarding your comments "Dogs not on leads and running around the site and messing on other pitches" This is not an accurate statement, we ask that dogs are always on leads while on the site, there is plenty of walking for your dogs directly off the site.

I am sorry that you did not inform us of your concerns at the time but I believe this to be a one off and not a regular occurrence.

Previous     297 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Save to Virtual Brochure  Add this Site to your Virtual Brochure                                Share  Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Submit your Review for a chance to Win Prizes!
Sponsored by the Caravan ClubSubmit a review to UKCampsite.co.uk of any caravan park or campsite, for a chance to win a caravan towing course or motorhome manoeuvring course worth up to £145, or £100 of Amazon vouchers, courtesy of The Caravan Club. Join the Club for just £44 per year to enjoy access to a great range of caravan sites, benefits and special offers.

If you've visited this site, then please submit a review for a chance to win.

Try our town listings   -   Other Sites in Powys   -   Search for a site

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a Sleepy - The Wearable Sleeping Bag! Visit the UKCS shop for exclusive discounts and offers

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Manchester Caravan & Motorhome Show 15 to 18/01/15
Start the season with a trip to the Northís biggest outdoor leisure show. Win 10 pairs of tickets or claim discount entry

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


2776 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend  -  Pensions Auto-enrolment

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2014






0.1210