Home

   Log in or Register
   
Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Fforest Fields Caravan & Camping Park

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > UK > Wales > Powys > Site Reviews

Fforest Fields Caravan & Camping Park
Fforest Farm
Hundred House
Builth Wells
Powys   (Browse area)
LD1 5RT   See Map                                 Share Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook
Tel: 01982 570406

Facilities:  (Key)
             

Nearby: (within x miles)
5m  1m  1m 5m  5m   5m  10m  5m 
Featured Site

Pitches: .
Open: March 1st To December 31st

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 302 Reviews
              9/10 from 302 Reviews


Units accepted:    Tents  Caravans  Motorhomes 

This site has chosen to use the availability calendar. You can check for availability here.

Special Offer available to UKCampsite.co.uk visitors - see here.

Photos (24) and Video

Reviews:  302 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14   15   16   17   18   19   20   21   22   23   24   25   26   27   28   29   30   31  

Submit your own Review for a chance to Win 100 of Amazon Vouchers
Win 100 of Amazon vouchersSubmit a review of this site for a chance to win. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win 100 of Amazon vouchers!

Date of Visit: May 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: JaneJordan01 1 review from this member

This is our favourite campsite and we have visited several times. Our children aged 9 & 14 have always loved it. A great place to get away from it all. The owners do a fantastic job and are always very helpful.

The shower block is only a couple of years old and is the best of any campsite we have ever been to. Plenty of room and always lots of hot water.

Date of Visit: May 2014 Unit:  Trailer Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Mjhynan 4 reviews from this member

Fab site. We have returned for the last two years after staying in the cottage the first year. Amazingly clean facilities, good pricing for the pitch and the views and surroundings are beautiful. Great for walking and of you hVe dogs that like to swim as well. We are already booked in for September. Can't wait

Date of Visit: May 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Ferretlady 9 reviews from this member

We were here for a few days over the May day bank holiday. As usual Kate, George and Will have done a fantastic job in keeping the site clean and tidy. Always a warm and friendly welcome! A couple of new things since we last came. Reception has been upgraded and they also have the addition of 2 Bell Tents set up to hire. We did have a peek through the door, looks lovely!

We spent our weekend in the 'Quiet Corner'. This suits us as we have excitable young dogs, so nothing to disturb them! Plenty of good walks around the site in beautiful surroundings. Facilitites exceptionally clean and warm.

We love Wills own bacon and sausage, you must try them!

Cannot wait to visit again!

Our only niggle, and this is nothing to do with the site or the owners, is that someone was picking up after their dog, but then left the bag on the floor. Cannot really understand why they bothered to clean it up, and then leave it on the floor.

We always pick up after ours and then just pop it into our bin. Not difficult!

Date of Visit: March 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Welshboy1 2 reviews from this member

We were recommended this site by friends and booked up for the end of the Easter school holidays for a 4 day visit. It's a real back to basics campsite, the fact is there's no kids play area, bar or entertainment. So if that's the kind of site you like this isn't for you.

We had an amazing time, no play area, no problem!. Our kid's 7 and 4 just loved playing in the streams that run through the site with buckets and nets, there's also 2 fantastic lakes, one you can swim in and even our Labrador had the best time ever. You are allowed to hire Kayaks (for a donation to the air ambulance) or take an inflatable in.

The facilities were modern, very clean and well respected by all who use them, mopping the shower out after use. They even had a drying room which as you can imagine with all that water around was a God send. The water is provided by tap from a borehole which tasted far better than any I've ever drank. They have a small honesty shop on site selling the essentials like lovely organic tubs of ice cream and milk, bread etc.

Some great local attractions, our favorite was the Red kite center, it was an incredible site watching 300 - 400 birds swooping down for their food.

Builth Wells was only 5 miles away in case you forget something or fancy a meal out. The views are breath taking in the area and we will be definitely planning another visit soon. The owners and all the staff were very kind and would go out of the way to help you or advise you in local matters. This is a real gem and reasonably priced. 10/10 from us!

Date of Visit: March 2015 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Plader 2 reviews from this member

Lovely site. Always a friendly reception. The hard standing pitches are scattered amongst trees, plus there's a huge field. A group of the hardstandings are reserved as a quiet area so if you don't have kids you might want to request one of these. There's a lake and a large pond in the grounds and several walking routes starting from the site itself. Cycling routes too, but only if you have really low gears on the bike! There's enough hard track and tarmac for the kids to ride their bikes around the site while you relax. The facilities are large, clean, and airy.

Date of Visit: October 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Youngwelsh 7 reviews from this member

I have been to lots of sites in the past twenty years, this site is one of the best I have been to.

The location is second to none, so peaceful, no road noise, the only noises are from fellow humans using the site and wild life.

The facilities leave Caravan Club sites way behind, the owners are very friendly.

The toilet/shower block is always clean and the shower cubicles are huge!

I can't wait to return in the spring/summer to be able to enjoy the private lakes, one of which is for swimming and small boats the other for fishing.

Date of Visit: September 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Woodspoiler 2 reviews from this member

We have just spent 18 nights in total at this wonderful gem of a site and location. We have stayed here several times in past years often with my sister in law like us in their Eriba Caravan. I can honestly say this is the best site in all the years we have been camping and caravanning we have ever stayed on. George, Katie, Will and family (the owners) are lovely people. The site is perfect not to big in terms of pitches (although there are plenty) but big in space to wonder, walk dogs, explore, hike off up the surrounding hills and woods all from the site, there are two lakes, The new amenity block is state of the art and blends in perfectly. Such a good design. We shall return again and again even though we live on the Isle Of Wight and have to catch an expensive ferry plus 4-5 hour drive. It's our heavenly retreat in Wales.

Date of Visit: September 2014 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Cassettes 10 reviews from this member

Truely a GREAT site in an excellent location. We pitched in a field by ourselves for a few days to be joined later by the Royal Enfield owners club (quite a treat). Great views and walks from the site and surrounding area. New amenity block with underfloor heating was always spotless, the laundry and potwash facilities were also to the same high standard. Fire pits with wood and lighters available to hire as are canoes on the boating lake.

Reception well stocked with the usual essentials with an honesty box for payment, freezers available also phone charging and free Wi-Fi. Friday night saw the arrival of the Thai takeaway van which was well patronised by campers and caravanners alike.

Visited Brecon Beacons visitors centre which was a good source of information for the area. Waterfall walks stunning, a real must. Loved every minute and will definitely return

Only bad point. You cant pronounce the town names

Date of Visit: August 2014 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: SereniaM 2 reviews from this member

Second camp of the holidays, and this one was a real treat. Really family friendly, with lovely on site lake, excellent inclusive facilities and on site shop. Make a note of the mobile food van on tuesday and friday evenings, great food.

A few local pubs, but with Builth and Llandod very nearby (by car or bike 5-7 miles)there is plenty to see and do if your visit is a short one.

Site manager keeps everyone in order, but in a friendly and polite way - good to know that someone is looking out for you.

Date of Visit: August 2014 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Borntoshop 3 reviews from this member

Spent a couple of days here after the August bank holiday. The location was beautiful, the facilities excellent and scrupulously kept (others have mentioned the toilet and shower block, freezer cabinets and small shop, so I won't go into details, except my son says the sausages are brilliant whilst I wish I had had more of the honey ice cream).

There is a lake for fishing, and another for boating/messing about. My son made good use of the latter, which also has benches dotted around so those who don't want to get wet can watch. The lakeside also made for a pleasant walk and the opportunity to sit and enjoy the scenery.

The site was quiet when we visited, sufficiently so for the swallows (?Martins? always get the two confused) to be flying close across the field. There were enjoyable walks up the hill, and at the end of the day the Hundred House pub provided a substantial meal.

Unfortunately, when we arrived we managed to break a tent pole, but the owner was very helpful in letting us have some tape to fix it, so disaster was avoided. When we came to leave, the car wouldn't start. The mobile reception on site is temperamental (at least so far as our network is concerned) so I went to the office to request the use of a landline. When I explained why - no problem, and no need to ring the RAC: 5 minutes later a tractor arrived at our car with jump leads, the engine roared into life and we were safely on our way home again. Huge thanks to those of the team who helped us on those occasions; I can't speak highly enough of the assistance we received.

Definitely want to return.

Previous     302 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Save to Virtual Brochure  Add this Site to your Virtual Brochure                                Share  Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Submit a Review for a chance to Win 100 of Amazon Vouchers
Win 100 of Amazon vouchersSubmit a review of any caravan park or campsite, for a chance to win. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win 100 of Amazon vouchers!

If you've visited this site, then please submit a review for a chance to win.

Try our town listings   -   Other Sites in Powys   -   Search for a site

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a Holiday at Woolacombe Bay Holiday Parks Visit the UKCS shop for exclusive discounts and offers

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Camping Exhibition, Codicote, Hertfordshire 02/05 to 31/05
A massive range of tents, trailer tents and accessories on display to wander around

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


1365 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend  -  Pensions Auto-enrolment

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2015






0.0586