Home

   Log in or Register
   
Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Fforest Fields Caravan & Camping Park

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > UK > Wales > Powys > Site Reviews

Fforest Fields Caravan & Camping Park
Fforest Farm
Hundred House
Builth Wells
Powys   (Browse area)
LD1 5RT   See Map                                 Share Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook
Tel: 01982 570406

Facilities:  (Key)
             

Nearby: (within x miles)
5m  1m  1m 5m  5m   5m  10m  5m 
Featured Site

Pitches: .
Open: March 1st To December 31st

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 313 Reviews
              9/10 from 313 Reviews


Units accepted:    Tents  Caravans  Motorhomes 

This site has chosen to use the availability calendar. You can check for availability here.

Special Offer available to UKCampsite.co.uk visitors - see here.

Photos (24) and Video

Reviews:  313 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14   15   16   17   18   19   20   21   22   23   24   25   26   27   28   29   30   31   32  

Submit your own Review for a chance to Win £100 of Amazon Vouchers
Win £100 of Amazon vouchersSubmit a review of this site for a chance to win. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win £100 of Amazon vouchers!

Date of Visit: August 2015 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: CampingMwnci 1 review from this member

After looking much searching for a campsite where our family of 5 could have a break away and enjoy some outdoors activities we found Fforest Fields. Even before booking I was sold on the place, the reality was every bit as good as the expectations.

The site was well signposted from Builth Wells and easy to access. On arrival we were given a wonderful welcome. After a chat about what we were looking to do my other half was given a tour of the options and the benefits. We were really looking forward to Mountain Biking and Kayaking so chose a pitch close to the lake. The pitches weren't squashed in together and there was plenty of breathing space.

The facilities were the best we have experienced, plenty of clean hot showers and wash basins to the indoor washing up area. Not to mention the Fridges and Freezers all free to use. With wetsuits and swimming gear the drying room was a godsend too! When you had in a shop with honesty box, cafe serving great food and local produce it just gets better and better. We loved the Wood Fired Pizza oven nights, the Thai caterer.

For us, you couldn't been on site cycle trails including British XC Mountain Bike course leading onto a huge expanse of ridge to ride. The lake was a great hit too. Our days consisted of a couple of hours mountain biking, food, couple of hours kayaking and swimming before more food; a relax and bed. The smiles didn't leave our faces the whole time! On the whole the facilities matched the attitude of the owners, incredibly friendly, genuinely interested in their customers having a great time and not out to squeeze every penny out. It was incredibly refreshing and the reason we have already booked to go for a long weekend in September and are looking at a longer stay next summer.

What speaks volumes is the number of people who have seen out photos of the camping trip and said, 'that' Fforest Fields! Its Awesome there!'

Date of Visit: July 2015 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: Tawnyo 3 reviews from this member

Fantastic site!

A rural location which is what we were looking for.

We really liked this site. The toilet and shower block were immaculate and the site was thoughtfully laid out. The shop was well stocked and open all of the time. There was also a little cafe which we would have used if it had rained and we didn't fancy cooking.

Date of Visit: July 2015 Unit:  Trailer Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Claydoncamper 19 reviews from this member

This is a lovely site, nestled in amongst some stunning scenery and dramatic hills. As you enter the site you can see straight away that it is a site of quality with well-kept pitches amongst lovely landscaping. The welcome on checking in was one of the most – if not the most – friendly check-ins I have ever had at any site and you get the immediate impression that these are people who actually do this because they enjoy it. We were shown to our pitch on the sports field and this was spacious and well kept. Along with the reception, in the same block there are the toilets and showers and a little tea room. We didn’t use the tea room as we didn’t have the time on this visit, but will certainly try it on our next visit. This was a dreadful weekend for weather but the toilets and showers were very well maintained throughout the day. It is possible to hire a fire-pit and you can buy kindling and logs at a reasonable price. This was a highlight for our ten year old son who loved having a fire on the pitch. The reception office also houses a small shop where you can get the essentials at reasonable prices and I cannot recommend the bacon they sell highly enough. One of the selling points for me is that there was no pressure to leave by a certain time on the departure day. All in all, this site lives up to the expectations we had from reading other reviews and we will go back to it time and time again.

Date of Visit: July 2015 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Cassettes 11 reviews from this member

Just returned from our second seven night stay at this beautiful site. Situated in a valley with two large lakes one that can be used for swimming or boating (dogs too), the other for fishing. Amenity block has shop, cafe, laundry, drying room, potwashing, fridges and freezers and of course showers and toilets. All of these are kept spotless at all times

We ate at both Fforest Inn a small pub which serves good food and beers with carvery on Sunday. The Severn Stars at Aberdwe a real local pub with great food and service both within walking distance. Also tried the on site cafe and Thai van on Friday (Research purposes obviously).

Visited the waterfall walks near Neath which are well worth the effort also the Elan Valley resevoirs stunning scenery and engineering in one location with steep drops at the roadside as you hug the hillside and criss cross the resevoirs. Took the mountain road to Aberystwyth whick is not for the faint hearted but very rewarding.

Unfortunately you can only score out of 10 but this site needs 11

Date of Visit: July 2015 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Sheba66 3 reviews from this member

Lovely site with excellent shower block in a good location for travelling around the Brecon beacons and the pitches were pretty level my only disappointment was that there was nobody about to keep an eye on the place during the day also the cafe was not open while we were there otherwise it would have been a 10 out of 10

Date of Visit: June 2015 Unit:  Trailer Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Smartecosse 9 reviews from this member

Stopped here for one night on the way back up to Scotland having collected a trailer tent from down south.

So glad that we did, what a lovely site.

So much to do for the kids and so much space for them to run around.

Facilities were looked new and were spotless, we didn't need them but there was a whole row of fridges and freezers rather than just one.

Only negative is that at £30 a night for two adults and two kids with a hookup its the most expensive site that we have stayed on.

Date of Visit: June 2015 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Geoffprinter 8 reviews from this member

Just had to try this site after reading rave reveiws on here. So after a five hour drive I thought this place had better be good. I have to say the site is nothing short of fantastic. 2 lovely lakes, grass pitches, all weather pitches and hard standings take your pick its all there. We stayed on a all weather pitch for the first time and I liked it, rock pegs went in easy and no damage to footprint. Imaculate showers, only gripe was the push in button on showers lasting only about 20seconds. Fridges and freezers with Microwave and even an electric kettle in their own room. Plenty of sinks and space inside for washing up the list goes on, even a clothes drying room. All in all a great stay. It does have a laundry room which we used once as we were staying for 2 weeks, but boy is it expensive to do a couple of washes and dry them in their machines, which was such a shame as everything else was pretty good value. It was still a fab stay and the scenery from the tent was wonderful. Something for everyone as far as I could tell. Its a family site so expect lots of children at w/ends. We were in the quiet area and yes it was quiet if you have no children with you, so that was good for us. Would we return? Yes!

Date of Visit: June 2015 Unit:  Trailer Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Magmar 8 reviews from this member

First time back at this lovely site for a few years. We used to love it's rustic nature and style. Now we love it's fantastic improvements which must make it THE BEST CAMPSITE IN MID WALES. Such lovely people looking after their campers and caravaners. Everything has been said in previous reviews I can only agree. Fantastic.

Date of Visit: June 2015 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Gem57 2 reviews from this member

How lucky we were finding this lovely site in the beautiful Welsh hills with great facilities (spotlessly clean and modern shower block), a little shop for emergency provisions, plenty of open space to wander and a lake which can be used for kayaking. On top of this, very friendly and helpful staff who will help with any problems you may have.

We were also blessed with beautiful weather which helped to make our short stay even more enjoyable! Would definitely return to enjoy the peaceful surroundings again.

Date of Visit: May 2015 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Yorkshirekaren 4 reviews from this member

Just retuned after a fantastic 8 nights stay, at what can only be described as the best campsite we have visited and what others should aspire to be.

Family run site that is friendly, welcoming and relaxed. With the family who couldn't be any more helpful. The site is well maintained and not too manicured. Also the little touches such as seats around the lakes.

We stayed in the 'quite corner' which was good for us and our dog as literally out of a gate and miles and miles of beautiful walks. The guide we got at reception gave ideas and pubs location. We were at first concerned about pitching on the hard standing but the pebbles are small and don't cause any issues with ground sheet, and comfy under foot.

The facilities -

Toilet and shower block - spotless, warm and very well maintained with free showers that you can have the water as hot or as cold as you like. Showers also are a very good size to dry and change in without every thing getting wet.

Drying room - Fantastic for campers, used when showered at night so not having a wet towel in your tent.

Free fridge & freezers - clean and in a room with the most fab idea for phone charging ever! & local area leaflets for attractions.

Washers and dryers that take £1 coins and we used £2 for a good decent wash and a further one to dry. Also there is a iron & board in there.

The New café - A stroke of genius! Fab Fab Fab! (also sells beer and wine for after a long journey)

Information was always available posted around main area such as pub closure & local plant sale etc.

The lakes - a great place. Although cold as you would expect in mid May I had 3 fantastic swims with my dog. Great Fun!

Well positioned for visiting different areas, we can not fault this place and will definitely return and recommend.

First class Thank you xx

Previous     313 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Save to Virtual Brochure  Add this Site to your Virtual Brochure                                Share  Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Submit a Review for a chance to Win £100 of Amazon Vouchers
Win £100 of Amazon vouchersSubmit a review of any caravan park or campsite, for a chance to win. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win £100 of Amazon vouchers!

If you've visited this site, then please submit a review for a chance to win.

Try our town listings   -   Other Sites in Powys   -   Search for a site

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a Champion 3100 Watt Inverter Petrol Generator Win a Win a One Week Stay at Vauxhall Holiday Park!

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Motorhome & Caravan Show 13 – 18 October
Occupying eleven huge halls of the NEC, it is guaranteed to be an unmissable event. Win tickets!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


8213 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend  -  Pensions Auto-enrolment

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2015






0.0625