Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Fforest Fields Caravan & Camping Park

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > UK > Wales > Powys > Site Reviews

Fforest Fields Caravan & Camping Park
Fforest Farm
Hundred House
Builth Wells
Powys   (Browse area)
LD1 5RT   See Map                                 Share Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook
Tel: 01982 570406

Facilities:  (Key)
             

Nearby: (within x miles)
5m  1m  1m 5m  5m   5m  10m  5m 
Featured Site

Pitches: .
Open: March 1st To December 31st

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 327 Reviews
              9/10 from 327 Reviews


Units accepted:    Tents  Caravans  Motorhomes 

This site has chosen to use the availability calendar. You can check for availability here.

Special Offer available to UKCampsite.co.uk visitors - see here.

Photos (24) and Video

Reviews:  327 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14   15   16   17   18   19   20   21   22   23   24   25   26   27   28   29   30   31   32   33  

Submit your own Review for a chance to Win £100!
Win £100Submit a review of this site for your chance to win £100 of Caravan Club vouchers or £100 of Amazon vouchers, courtesy of this month's sponsor, The Caravan Club. Join The Club from just £48 per year to enjoy access to over 2,700 sites, exclusive member benefits and site special offers.

Date of Visit: August 2016 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Caz and Haz 1 review from this member

Just stayed here for one night (to attend a dog show at Builth Wells) Very impressed! Plenty of space to choose from, on-site facilities were great and kept spotlessly clean. And also a lovely enclosed field next to the site - perfect for exercising the dog. Will definitely stay here again.

Date of Visit: August 2016 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Mattots 2 reviews from this member

This was our first visit to Fforest Fields, but certainly won't be our last. What a fantastic place - a little piece of heaven in the Welsh countryside!

Arriving at a new campsite, as with any untested holiday destination, there’s always that slight uncertainty, however many positive reviews you’ve read online, about quite what it will be like. But from the moment we drove in the gate at Fforest Fields we knew we’d made a good choice. We'd booked an all weather pitch with EHU and were assigned a huge plot close to the main facility block and backing onto a little stream that runs through the middle of the site.

(We've not had an all weather pitch before but it was essentially a gravel square about 8x8m in the middle of a larger grassy area. The advantage, from the campsite's point of view, is that they don't end up with yellow patches on the grass, and from the campers point of view, there's a nice flat surface with good drainage to pitch your tent on. We used rock pegs although you could probably get away with using normal pegs. With a footprint, sewn-in-groundhseet and carpet, it wasn't too uncomfortable walking around in bare feet in the tent although it was worth the time taken before pitching to remove the larger stones. )

On the evening of our arrival day they were serving up home-made pizzas baked in a wood-fired pizza oven outside the cafe, so we put in our order and a short while later were enjoying tasty home made pizza and local cider in the evening sunlight.

The atmosphere at Fforest Fields is quite different to other campsites we've stayed at. Despite being quite large (the whole site covers about 15 acres), the layout - at least of the main part of the site - with lots of trees, a stream, and a mix of different types of pitches, creates a lovely intimate and laid-back feel. (There's also a large open field which tends to be used by larger groups. ) The owners deliberately leave some spaces empty so the site is never completely full, and pitches are well spaced out with plenty of room for the kids to run/ride about freely. The stream and little pools it forms as it meanders through the site, crossed by numerous bridges, is totally safe even for younger children to paddle and fish in as it's only a few inches deep. There’s plenty of wildlife around too - we saw frogs and newts and heard owls at night. There's absolutely no road noise and the no-noise-after-11pm rule seemed to be observed by (almost) everyone without the need for enforcement, something that has not always been the case on other sites we've visited.

The campsite sits in a secluded valley surrounded by rolling hills so it's pretty sheltered from the wind. The last couple of days of our stay the weather turned unseasonably wet and windy with gusts up to 35mph but thanks to the sheltered location and added protection from the trees we escaped the worst of it.

Immediately adjacent to the campsite are two lakes - one for fishing and one for boating and swimming. Kayaks are free to use for a returnable deposit. There are also plenty of walks starting right from the campsite up through the trees and into the surrounding hills. 5 minutes leisurely stroll from your tent and you feel like you’re a million miles from civilisation.

The facilities are spotless, spacious and warm. We never needed to queue for anything - apart from to order some of the fantastic food and drink served from the little on-site 'cafe bar'. The shop is pretty basic but open 24 hours a day with an honesty box for when it’s unstaffed. As well as the usual camping essentials they stock locally produced sausages, bacon, eggs, bread and ice cream. Barbecues and camp fires are allowed with fire pits available to hire and wood and kindling to buy at very reasonable rates.

Showers are free, push-button style (it would be nice if you didn't have to push the button literally every 5 seconds!) and were always warm and clean. There is a mop on hand to mop out the cubicles when finished. The washing-up room has 7 or 8 large sinks, again push-button taps, but plugs and proper draining boards and plenty of space. There are also a whole row of double-height freezers for storing food or freezing ice blocks, each of which is labelled as to which day of the week it is cleaned out. There's a microwave too.

We had a number of days out, including a trip on the atmospheric Welshpool & Llanfair Light Railway, a day at Cantref Farm and Adventure Park near Brecon - which the kids loved, a visit to the National Trust's Croft Castle just over the border near Leominster, and a day at the spectacular National Showcaves Centre for Wales in the Brecon Beacons national park. None of these is 'on the doorstep' - you do need to travel a bit (thanks to the windy Welsh roads!) to get to most places. However, if walking, biking, boating, swimming and fishing are your activities of choice you could probably quite happily spend a week at Fforest Fields without ever leaving the campsite.

Definitely the best campsite we've been to, and one we will certainly be returning to.

Date of Visit: August 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Acampingwewillgo 8 reviews from this member

We stayed here for 16 nights after reading all the positive reviews and we were not disappointed. We received a lovely warm welcome from Katie and we were shown a couple of pitches to chose from. The way the campsite is laid out gives you a lovely relaxed feel, you don't have people constantly walking past and all ball games tend to be played in the big field.

The facilities were fantastic, lovely big showers, laundry room, fire pits for hire, drying room for wet suits and towels, small shop selling essentials and a fabulous cafe. The big hit with the kids is the (one of two) lake which is used for kayaks, dinghies, kids, dogs etc. The other lake is for fishing. Whilst we were there the kids and hubby had a couple of sub-board sessions with an instructor - I was on dog sitting/photographer duties with my camera on sports mode to capture them falling in!

The walks from the site are pretty amazing, hilly - yes, but so worth it as the panoramic views are awesome. We walked to the Seven Stars pub from the campsite which is 5 1/2 miles there and the shorter 4 1/2 miles back. The food was out of this world - the Sunday roasts are amazing! The walk home was a bit slower as we were so full! We had a wonderful time at Fforest Fields and will certainly be returning.

Date of Visit: August 2016 Unit:  Other Rating:
Reviewer: Thewhickers 6 reviews from this member

We had a lovely holiday at Fforest Fields, 3rd to 13th August. The site is great with lots of walks and close to lots of places to visit. The Elan Valley Reservoirs & Dams are well worth the trip.

They have some brilliant dark skies on the site – when the weather is being nice, that is! We managed just one clear night in the 10 days we were there – but what a night! You could see the Milky Way easily.

The honesty shop had a good range of goods, just make sure you take some change with you.

The café /bar does very nice food – sausage & onions in a roll was just over £4 (there were at least 2 local sausages in it). Their coleslaw was yummy! We didn’t try the Thai night or the Pizza night so don’t know about prices for them but I expect it all tasted good.

Showers and toilets were fine. Plenty of hot water. Laundry room was useful. Washing machines and tumble dryers take £1 and 20p coins – £1 gets 30 minutes, 20p 6 minutes. If you use the washing machines, I would strongly suggest you make sure you are there just before your money runs out – the machines just stop when the money stops! If you aren’t there, you don’t know how far through the cycle you are so have no way of judging how much more to put in!

All the staff were friendly and very helpful.

We had Sunday lunch at Fforest Inn. Great food, friendly atmosphere and good prices. If you want to go, you would have to book as they cook for the number of bookings. When we were there we saw people being turned away as they don’t do their usual menu on Sundays. Don’t miss out!

We really enjoyed out stay. The only thing we would change next time we visit is where we pitch. Next time, we’d rather be along the hedgerow in the big field. The all-weather pitches in the centre of the field were just a little too crowded for us, especially when the children (and adults) played football and rugby in amongst the tents. We also weren’t expecting tents to be pitched between the all-weather standings. In fact, we came home two days early as we had tents pitched to the left of us, behind us then just a couple of meters in front of us. I don’t think they have a minimum distance between tents (if they do, nobody was sticking to it).

Date of Visit: June 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Cazbix 5 reviews from this member

What a lovely site. Showers/toilets are immaculate and warm with under floor heating, large spacious hot showers and toilets, a great washing up room with free freezers and fridges, There are two lakes one for fishing and the other for kayaks or swimming. A little shop stocking basic items with an honesty box, a little cafe serving teas, coffees etc this was only open at the weekend

An abundance of wildlife a little beck that runs through the site along with more small ponds, A very large dog walking area, The pub that is only a mile away was closed for refurbishment but does not accept dogs, There are a few pubs in Builth Wells that do accepts dogs,

Date of Visit: June 2016 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Twynholmblack 6 reviews from this member

We have just arrived today from this site (there were 5 adults and 1 teenager and 1 dog). This was our first time here and we stayed for four nights. The site is so clean and a pleasure to walk around and use the facilities! The owners were so friendly and helpful. There were a number of fridges and freezers and a microwave free of charge to be used. The mobile phone charger facility was a winner for my teenager and again free of charge. The showers and loos were cleaned regularly and the water was always powerful and hot for my showers! The drying room is a great idea and addition to the facilities! Our dog loved her walks and there are plenty of places where your dog can run free straight from the site!

One thing I would change. I would put taps in the washing up area that stay on for at least 20 seconds before turning itself off!

Overall, we would LOVE to come back!

Date of Visit: April 2016 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: Lolandmart 2 reviews from this member

One of the best sites we have stayed in. Immaculate plentiful facilities. Friendly owners who are quite happy to leave the shop open and leave an honesty box. Lovely little cafe open at the weekends selling home-made cake (millionaires shortbread amazing) and real coffees. The drying room is a great place to leave the towels ready for a wonderful shower. Lovely dog walks straight from the site, views like no other, I really can't praise this site enough.

Date of Visit: April 2016 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Snugglycat 3 reviews from this member

Wow, wow, wow - an amazing site. Showers/toilets - immaculate and warm with underfloor heating, large spacious hot showers, a great washing up room with free freezers, fridges and lockable boxes to charge your phones, a drying room for your wet gear (after all it is Wales!), lakes you can kayak on or swim in. A little shop stocking basic items with an honesty box, a little cafe serving teas, coffees etc. An abundance of wildlife - very sociable common newts who like to come and visit. To make it better - not much really - being picky - a couple of coat hooks in the wash up area and longer all weather pitches for larger tents - but as I say I am being picky - would we visit again??? - You bet we would. - Loved it - Thank you FForest Fields.

Date of Visit: March 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: JACRM 17 reviews from this member

Visited fforest fields for one night on a return journey from another site.

Situated well off the main road, stunning location and very quiet for a big site.

Great site layout with little streams through the site.

Spacious level pitches.

Immaculate shower / toilet blocks, washing / drying areas.

Cafe and shop on site if needed.

Will definitely return at some point for a longer stay.

Date of Visit: March 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: EribaAdventurer 3 reviews from this member

I've visited a lot of sites and this is by far one of the best. The welcome was also the friendliest ever, all the staff couldn't help you enough.

Situated 5 miles or so outside Builth Wells on the A481, 1 mile from a hamlet Hundred House which has a pub the Hundred House Inn. A481 is a quiet road, and the site is 1/4 away down farm track. You don't hear any road noise. Skies are also pretty dark at night making it ideal for star gazing.

Site has new, clean toilets and showers.

Cafe which is open usually 9 till 6 at weekends (shorter opening times midweek otside of school holidays) Serves breakfast rolls, paninis, bottled beers, cakes, sausage rolls, coffees etc.

Onsite shop open 24/7 which stocks bare essentials and operates an honesty box.

Plenty of hardstanding, ehu. Chemical disposal, lots of water points.

Fire baskets for hire, logs for sale.

Plenty of walks in and around the site. Loafs of wildlife including frogs and buzzards!

Approach was very easy.

Only downside for us was the fact that the local pub wasn't dog friendly, you had to go the Seven stars at Aberdw or the Fforest Fields Inn both 5 miles away. Having said that there are taxi firms which are dog friendly. All this information is provided on the campsites website.

Will we be back? We sure will!

Previous     327 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Save to Virtual Brochure  Add this Site to your Virtual Brochure                                Share  Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Submit a Review for a chance to Win £100!
Sponsored by the Caravan ClubSubmit a review to UKCampsite.co.uk of any caravan park or campsite for your chance to win your choice of £100 of Caravan Club vouchers or £100 of Amazon vouchers, courtesy of this month's sponsor, The Caravan Club. Join The Club from just £48 per year to enjoy access to over 2,700 sites, exclusive member benefits and site special offers.

If you've visited this site, then please submit a review for a chance to win.

Try our town listings   -   Other Sites in Powys   -   Search for a site

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
50 Tickets for the NEC Oct Motorhome & Caravan Show Win a Clarke IG2000 2kW Generator

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Beat at Tencreek 60s Weekend, Cornwall - 14th to 16th October
A Sounds of the Swinging Sixties long weekend concert with camping on site ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


5997 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend  -  Pensions Auto-enrolment

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2016






0.1328