Home

   Log in or Register

Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Fforest Fields Caravan & Camping Park

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > UK > Wales > Powys > Site Reviews

Fforest Fields Caravan & Camping Park
Fforest Farm
Hundred House
Builth Wells
Powys   (Browse area)
LD1 5RT   See Map                                 Share Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook
Tel: 01982 570406

Facilities:  (Key)
             

Nearby:
5m  1m  1m 5m  5m   5m  10m  5m 
Featured Site

Pitches: .
Open: March 1st To December 31st

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 286 Reviews
              9/10 from 286 Reviews


Units accepted:    Tents  Caravans  Motorhomes 

This site has chosen to use the availability calendar. You can check for availability here.

Special Offer available to UKCampsite.co.uk visitors - see here.

Photos (24) and Video

Reviews:  286 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14   15   16   17   18   19   20   21   22   23   24   25   26   27   28   29  

Date of Visit: July 2014 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: SammyA 4 reviews from this member

This must have been one of the best campsite we stayed in, really well laid out, even though there were quite a few people on the campsite it never really felt as if it was crowded (mostly due to the number of trees and bushes that were all over the site).

The toilet and showers were clean and of really good standard.

The fishing pond really made our sons day as he got to have a go with him birthday present (and he even caught a fish!) the pond was so peaceful and it was lovely to just sit in the morning sun and watch the dragonflies.

It was a little strange to not see anyone from the campsite the entire time we were there, no one in the office or anywhere to be seen when we first arrived (so we just followed the directions on the desk) and there never seemed to be anyone there whenever any of us walked past (apart from once when when our son was walking past and asked about fishing - but they were gone again by the time I got there). There was a mobile number so I'm guessing I could have got hold of someone if we had needed to though, and the information in and around the office was pretty comprehensive.

Date of Visit: June 2014 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Lady of the lakes 5 reviews from this member

This was our second visit to Fforest Fields and it did not disappoint. We had a really warm welcome from the owner and were soon sited in our favourite pitch near to the lake. The facilities continue to be as spacious and clean as we remember them, the showers are wonderful, and the bacon and orange juice from the shop is worth a visit alone! We came here because our border collie had such a good time last year, and this year was even better. We found loads of new trails around the site and I really wish we could have stayed longer. There is a lot of new planting of cherry and rowan trees on the lower slopes of the hills, which will bring in even more assorted birds when they start to fruit - though there was no shortage of wildlife this time, and we were pleased to see again the red kite, buzzard and redstarts which we saw for the first time last year. If you are a dog owner/walker/nature photographer, look no further - this is the site for you.

Date of Visit: June 2014 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: VWAdventure 3 reviews from this member

Well, how do I leave a good review. I would have to list hundreds of good points on this site with no negatives. So the best way to leave a review is to say that this is the best camp site I have ever stayed on. Clean, plenty off room, spotless showers/ toilets and on top of that very friendly owners. How to sum it up '' Perfect''

Ivan Cotterill

Date of Visit: June 2014 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Oldwolf 4 reviews from this member

Having read the reviews on here and the daughter at an event at the royal welsh show ground, had to give it a go.

Expectations were high, the welcome we received was warm and welcoming. A pitch was selected for us and to be honest could not have asked for better. Take note they do not accept credit card payment.

Facilities were first rate and the camper well catered for with nice little touches to make your holiday special.

If I have to find fault with anything, it would have been nice to have a children's play area with swings and slide, if only as a communicable area for kids to meet up and play.

Bottom line would I go back - in a heartbeat, but more for a long weekend rather than a longer family holiday.

Date of Visit: June 2014 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Mjdb 6 reviews from this member

Well another great time spent at Fforest Fields.

This is the 1st time we have been since having the new toilet/showers/ washing drying block, wonderfully clean & the best we have used.

The showers were fantastic plenty of room, plenty of hooks for hanging of clothes, hot water & a mop available to clean up after yourself.

Also available free of charge are fridges, freezers, kettle, microwave & plenty of info of the surrounding area.

We had a lovely pitch in 1 of the corners which backed onto the fields by the boating/swimming lake. It was a large pitch which allowed us to have our tent & have a wind break/tarp set up for sitting under in the evening with a camp fire. Roasting marshmallows

Just being built is a sun shelter for sitting under by the lake.

As before everyone was friendly, the site was clean & tidy & nothing was too much bother.

Campsite is set in amongst beautiful surroundings. No play park but all the kiddies had a great time. Its a wonderful place to relax & chill & feel like you have and a break & not somewhere you feel the need to be busy all the time.

Date of Visit: May 2014 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Jujon03 2 reviews from this member

This was our 3rd visit to the fantastic Fforest Fields and once again it was brilliant.

The weather definitely wasn't in our favour, but we had a wonderful time, the kids didn't mind playing out in the rain & loved cycling and going for walks in the beautiful countryside, we walked to the pub in Hundred House for lunch on one day.

The facilities were always lovely & clean and although it was a bank holiday weekend there was never a wait to use the showers. The shop is well stocked & the sausages are really tasty!

The owners & family are so welcoming and helpful.

We're already looking forward to our next visit!

Date of Visit: May 2014 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Paul+kate s-o-t 4 reviews from this member

Well what can we say about fforest fields that hasn't already been said

What a fantastic site very well cared for. Pitches were quite large in size on the sports field and the grass was kept at a good length for comfort

The facilities are the best we've encountered by far kept spotless all the time even though we had constant rain for 2 days

Great washing up area indoors and even a drying room

The shop is stocked with a few bits and bobs and operates under a honesty box policy and the door is open 24/7

George and Katie and family are on hand to help with anything

Will definitely return and can't wait to do so

Date of Visit: May 2014 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Kernow Camper 116 reviews from this member

First time at Fforest Fields and booked it because of all the great reviews on UKCS.

We only stayed one night and the weather wasn't fantastic so maybe that's why we're not raving about the place as many others seem to be????

You book yourself in (when the owners are not around), sign into the register and put your payment in an honesty box. No problems with that at all. We chose a nice big hardstanding pitch near the facilities. The central washroom area was large and very clean, as the whole of the site was. The walks around the fishing lake and boating lake were lovely, even in the rain. We attempted to walk to the 'local' pub through the land belonging to the site but it was extremely muddy, partly caused by the weather but mainly by mountain bikes who'd been there the week before! We didn't get to the pub so cannot comment on it sadly! However, we took a different (drier!) path upwards and the views surrounding the site were fantastic.

As a site, it's probably perfect for caravanners with cars and lots of kids who'd certainly be kept entertained for hours on end, but not really for us motorhomers.

Date of Visit: May 2014 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Bechoe 4 reviews from this member

From the moment you drive in you can tell you're onto something a little special.

Even with heavy rains all weekend the place was clean and tidy, staff friendly and everything thought out from the well stocked honesty shop to the dry room which was heavily used!

Even when fully booked the the facilities were never over crowded, plenty of space for the kids to play and freedom to pitch how you wanted.

All in all a little cracker!

Date of Visit: May 2014 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Sue Paul 26 reviews from this member

Well what a great site !

Lovely and clean, lovely owners, spacious pitches and walks to die for. As Dog owners we had so much choice it was wonderful, swimming to as ponds nearby plus more to be found on walks.

Nearest Pub is about a mile away, Dogs not allowed in at all but is just a local and a bit tired but the Landlord was ok. The other pub about 5 miles away we were advised was superb, next visit we will visit there for sure.

The site is a good size and not to big but the owner has 550 acres so everywhere you walk in the woods etc is all his and is very well sign posted so you would struggle to get lost. Possibly our best site to date, can't say more than that.

We WILL return for sure.

Previous     286 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Save to Virtual Brochure  Add this Site to your Virtual Brochure                                Share  Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Submit your Review for a chance to Win Prizes!
Sponsored by the Caravan ClubSubmit a review to UKCampsite.co.uk of any caravan park or campsite, for a chance to win a caravan towing course or motorhome manoeuvring course worth up to 145, or 100 of Amazon vouchers, courtesy of The Caravan Club. Join the Club for just 44 per year to enjoy access to a great range of caravan sites, benefits and special offers.

If you've visited this site, then please submit a review for a chance to win.

Try our town listings   -   Other Sites in Powys   -   Search for a site

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a Wisport SilverFox 30L Rucksack Visit the UKCS shop for exclusive discounts and offers

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Tribfest Music Festival 14/08 to 17/08 East Yorkshire
An affordable, fantastic weekend away listening to some great live Top tribute bands. Claim discounted entry!!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


6102 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend  -  Pensions Auto-enrolment

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews]  [Facebook]

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2014






0.0547