Home

   Log in or Register

Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Fforest Fields Caravan & Camping Park

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > UK > Wales > Powys > Site Reviews

Fforest Fields Caravan & Camping Park
Fforest Farm
Hundred House
Builth Wells
Powys   (Browse area)
LD1 5RT   See Map                                 Share Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook
Tel: 01982 570406

Facilities:  (Key)
             

Nearby:
5m  1m  1m 5m  5m   5m  10m  5m 
Featured Site

Pitches: .
Open: March 1st To December 31st

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 273 Reviews
              9/10 from 273 Reviews


Units accepted:    Tents  Caravans  Motorhomes 

This site has chosen to use the availability calendar. You can check for availability here.

Special Offer available to UKCampsite.co.uk visitors - see here.

Photos (24) and Video

Reviews:  273 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14   15   16   17   18   19   20   21   22   23   24   25   26   27   28  

Date of Visit: April 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Zinzan74 13 reviews from this member

What can I say. Absolutely fabulous!

This site is a real gem and all campsite owners should visit, the owners are great hosts, their attention to detail in relation to everyone relaxing and enjoying their hospitality is great. The best example, has to be when we need some onions, we visited the shop to find there weren't any, so the owner not only went to their home to get us some, they wouldn't take a penny for them!

The toilet block is great, clean warm and a very good standard. The washing Jo fan ileitis are superb, with complementary washing up liquid and cloth. There is a hot room to dry any clothes that get wet and a laundry room if you require.

If you enjoy camping, or you are a first time camper, you'll absolutely love this site!

We will definitely be back!

Date of Visit: March 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Ferretlady 7 reviews from this member

Hi all,

We've just got back from our first trip of the year. As usual, Fforest Fields couldn't of been a better choice. We only could stay for 2 nights, but was much needed.

Facilities fantastic, people fantastic and area fantastic. What more is there to say!

Our 2 puppies came with us, on their first caravan trip. They thoroughly enjoyed all the walks.

Such a shame we couldn't of stayed longer.

We will be back soon!

Date of Visit: September 2013 Unit:  Trailer Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Brigadear 5 reviews from this member

What a find! We asked if we could have a hook up on a grass pitch and have the space to experiment with the combination of our newly purchased micro caravan and awning with the option to link the unit to our tent. All went well and we started to check out the facilities. The owner has thought of everything a camper / caravanner / motorhome user may need, and provided it in a modern building including microwave and electric kettle. The lakes are recently constructed and are establishing well. The walk to the local village pub is well marked as is the footpath onto the hills and beyond [free maps at reception] The site is well positioned for touring the area and we will definitely return.

Date of Visit: September 2013 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Keithd108 1 review from this member

Stayed in Fforest Fields for a week in September after reading all the rave reviews and were not disappointed. A lovely site with all the amenities you need. The shower block is big (so hollow sounding) and very clean with several showers, wash basins and one cubicle. There is a drying room for your damp (or wet) gear. There’s also a room with freezers, microwave and an area for mobile phone charging. The washing up area is inside which is quite nice especially when it rains and/or gets a little cooler.

There are two lakes, which although we went to, didn’t use and would be fun for children on warmer days.

The site works on an honesty policy for the shop and also upon arrival (which is a tad confusing if you’ve not used the site before). In the signing in book we were allocated a plot but when we found it someone was using it so had to go back to the office to phone someone and were told to choose one for ourselves. It was our first time on hard standing and it worked well. The plots all seem to be ample in size.

The site is away from any road traffic and is quiet although the one morning we stayed at the site a little later, there were dogs barking from what seemed to be Kennels but it didn’t happen in the early/mid morning or when we got back in the early evening so not sure about that.

The area is great, lots of places to go and see, mountains to climb, waterfalls, reservoirs, walks and the skies at night are absolutely beautiful, so full of stars.

The only downside, which it seems like countless other camp users had experienced, was the warm welcome and offers of help from friendly campsite staff. We saw absolutely no-one in the week we were there and did need advice on a couple of things but no-one was there to ask. We could have phoned someone but it’s not quite the same, so managed on our own. The site was very quiet and then a lot of campers/caravanners left in our first two days, so I understand why there wasn’t anyone there. In the “freezer room” there is lots of information about the area, but it didn’t say where the nearest supermarket was, the local chippy and information like that – perhaps a little tip for the owners - a little bit more of local information please for newcomers to the site.

Date of Visit: August 2013 Unit:  Trailer Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Mikey1banana 9 reviews from this member

Without doubt, this campsite is one of the best I have ever used. That said, a bit of attention to some minor details would polish the site right off.

The site owners were very nearly always out and about on site and could furnish me with local knowledge. The dog walking potential for this site is endless.

The shower block and pot wash were always clean and tidy with an abundance of hot water. The family shower room was also very good. The fact that this site is out in the sticks makes for excellent bird watching, star gazing and nil traffic noise.

The swimming lake and fishing lake are close enough to walk to but far enough away from the children not to cause any problems. The fire pits were a success with all the family, all week.

I will admit that the honesty box system took some getting used to, but was lovely to see and use.

There is a major Tesco in Llandrindod Wells (approx. 15 mins away) with a co-op/petrol station 10 mins away, but with some careful planning, you should never get stuck. The hardstanding pitch we booked was well appointed, although a little bit of 'housework' on the pitch itself wouldn't have gone amiss.

I have one gripe about the site in general, which, in hindsight would in no way stop me from returning. The afternoon before our departure we began some packing away and put our awning away ready for a speedy departure the following morning. Unfortunately, one of the owners saw us packing away and I can only assume, assumed that we were leaving that day. Within a few hours, around 5-6 tents of young-ish couples had set up a semi circle of tents at the bottom of our pitch and had plugged into the hook up of my in-laws. I did challenge the owner chap who rather stumbled and stuttered his way through an explanation.

This site is run very liberally, which in this day is a welcome relief, but, in the future I would ensure my intentions were perfectly clear.

Date of Visit: August 2013 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Grumpysimon 21 reviews from this member

What can I say that hasn't already been said? Third year running we have returned, similar weather - perhaps warmer this year with a little more sunshine hours.

One year on and the toilet/shower block has really bedded down. Still pristine inside and still the best I have encountered.

This has to be the best campsite we have been to in the UK. It is certainly our favourite.

Went on a big long walk through the fields into some villages and over the top and back through the forest. It was one of the suggested routes and was great.

Date of Visit: August 2013 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Jujon03 1 review from this member

We had our first camping trip here after reading the excellent reviews on here & we certainly weren't disappointed, we had a fantastic time & ended up staying an extra night as it was so lovely.

The owners gave us a lovely warm welcome & were very helpful, there was plenty of space & considering it was the bank holiday weekend I'm sure they could have got loads more people in, they don't fill the site up, so it's never overcrowded.

The toilet block is brilliant & beautifully clean, plenty of hot water & no queues for the showers/toilets.

We took bikes & all had a wonderful time cycling & walking around the beautiful countryside.

We've already booked our second trip there & can't wait, the bar has certainly been set very high for any other campsites we visit :)

Date of Visit: August 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Ferretlady 7 reviews from this member

Fantastic site! We have been before, but were camping last time. We have just got back from a weekend away at the site, having a trial run with our new caravan. A huge thankyou to the owner, who couldn't do enough to help us onto our pitch! We met some lovely people, especially a family from Oldbury, who helped us with our awning.

The site as usual is spotlessly clean and well looked after! A special thanks to the owners for their hard work and friendliness. We are going again on Sunday for 4 nights. It can't come soon enough!

Date of Visit: August 2013 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Samtheman 6 reviews from this member

Just got back from 12 nights at our favourite British site. We had not visited since the new toilet block and facilities were built and as everyone else has found, these were superb.

We were there over the Bank Holiday weekend and the site was busy but the owners do not believe in cramming people in so it was not too full and indeed there were spare pitches.

As always there were some parents who did not seem to care what their children were doing, but on the whole kids were doing what kids like to do and if asked to move away or stop breaking off branches for sword fighting they would comply.

The success of the site is entirely down to the owners who between them put in a huge number of hours in what must be a labour of love. The site was 'manned' from early morning 'til late night. Nothing is ever too much bother, no question or request is ever too stupid and it is down to this that people return year on year!

It was good to see the reception had a few more 'essentials' - in particular Will's sausages and burgers, and the wonderful Conti's ice cream - though I will admit I was a tad OTT on discovering they had the Salted Caramel in stock! Sorry, George!

Date of Visit: August 2013 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Iddonl 1 review from this member

Fantastic campsite, one of the best I have been to! Would definitely recommend it to anybody. Beautiful setting, nestled in amongst the lovely Welsh hills with potential for a different walk every day of the week without having to get in your car!

Really friendly helpful staff, brilliant very clean facilities with spacious male and female toilet/shower blocks, family room, kitchen with fridges, freezers, kettle, microwave and phone charging points available to campers for free. Also, great washing up facilities, laundry and drying room. Loved the shop with local produce. And the honesty box for payment, so nice to be trusted.

Fire pits available for a small deposit, so we sat around an open fire toasting marshmallows most nights - heaven! Not to mention the fishing lake and swimming lake on site, and the option to hire canoes.

With a location central to Wales, not much of Wales can't be seen on a day trip. We went to the Brecon Beacons, Devils Bridge, and had a day at the coast. Can't praise it enough & can't wait to return!

Previous     273 Review in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Save to Virtual Brochure  Add this Site to your Virtual Brochure                                Share  Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Submit your Review for a chance to Win Prizes!
Sponsored by the Caravan ClubSubmit a review to UKCampsite.co.uk of any caravan park or campsite, for a chance to win a caravan towing course or motorhome manoeuvring course worth up to £145, or £100 of Amazon vouchers, courtesy of The Caravan Club. Join the Club for just £44 per year to enjoy access to a great range of caravan sites, benefits and special offers.

If you've visited this site, then please submit a review for a chance to win.

Try our town listings   -   Other Sites in Powys   -   Search for a site

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a Clarke IG22000 2.2kW Generator worth £467.98! Visit the UKCS shop for exclusive discounts and offers

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Truckfest Peterborough
Exciting family entertainment, and you can make a full long weekend of them, by camping on site!Plus win tickets!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


472 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend  -  Pensions Auto-enrolment

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews]  [Facebook]

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2014




0.0566