Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Fforest Fields Caravan & Camping Park

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > UK > Wales > Powys > Site Reviews

Fforest Fields Caravan & Camping Park
Fforest Farm
Hundred House
Builth Wells
Powys   (Browse area)
LD1 5RT   See Map
Tel: 01982 570406
Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast    

Special Offer available to UKCampsite.co.uk visitors - see here
 Featured Site

Pitches: .
Open: March 1st To December 31st

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 335 Reviews
                9/10 from 335 Reviews

Add this Site to your Virtual BrochureSave to Virtual Brochure

Photos (24) and Video

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Adults Only   Club Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   Battery Charging   Gas Refills   Recycling Facilities 
 Kitchen Facilities   Freezer Available   Motorhome Point   Fully Serviced Pitches 
 Shop <5 miles   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant <1 mile   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   TV Room   Games Room   Evening Entertainment 
 Fishing On Site   Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool <5 miles   Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding   Cycle Hire <5 miles   Golf <5 miles   Tennis <5 miles 
 Beach   Watersports   Boat Launch / Mooring 
Other Features
 Sea Views   Working Farm   Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 Waterside Location   Dog Walk   Public Transport 

Reviews:  335 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14   15   16   17   18   19   20   21   22   23   24   25   26   27   28   29   30   31   32   33   34  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: March 2018 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: DaveHoatson 1 review from this member

We booked two nights at Forest Fields having found the site through a Google search. We were looking for somewhere that would be open at this time of year. We arrived just after the 'big snow event' and were kept well informed as to the road conditions and a pitch was cleared of snow ready for our arrival. We got the impression that if these people could go the extra mile they would. The site facilities are second to none and the setting is stunning. There is nothing that I can make a negative comment about. Unfortunately we were booked at another site for the following two nights or we would have stayed longer. We will visit again and will make it a longer stay when we do and as I write this review I am already looking forward to it. Highly recommended, an excellent site. Thanks for having us.

Date of Visit: January 2018 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: Janlou 1 review from this member

A warm and friendly welcome awaits you at this site. We stayed here on a wet and wintery Sunday evening whilst travelling down to South Wales. The site is well laid out and the toilet/shower block warm and very clean. The reception area is left open so you can buy essentials if necessary and an honesty box is there for you to pay for them. This place must look amazing in summer when everything is in full bloom. Thank you too to the owner who took time out to have a chat with us and check everything had been ok during our stay

Date of Visit: September 2017 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Deadly dor 10 reviews from this member

At long last managed to arrange time to stay here.

Stayed from 1st. September, for 3 nights, to trial pitch our new tent. Good value Discount for over 65's. But all ages and dogs on site.

We were lucky to have a grass pitch across the track from all the facilities. Pitches spread out in small areas or in big field.

Swimming/boarding/kyak lake and fishing lake by Yurts.

Reception/shop, (with Honesty Box. Cafe (only opened on weekend during our stay. Friday night was Pizza night. Huge!

Excellent and spotless showers/toilet building. Room with Fridges/ Freezers and Microwave for campers use. Washing-up room, Drying Room.

Families were having great fun in the lake.

Many walks around the hills or about a mile walk to Hundred House Inn, for lovely food.

Although Child friendly N/A, excellent site for families.

Good mobile signal and free Wifi.

Date of Visit: June 2017 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Maxt46 52 reviews from this member

You know when you arrive at this site that it really is something special, very spacious and open and when you find the owner he's so friendly, as are all the staff we met. Unlike some sites do's and don'ts seem to be kept to a minimum, if you need something from the shop or café and nobody about leave money in the HONESTY box. The lake was great as were the FREE kayaks (£20. 00 deposit) although we didn't swim in it the dog loved it. If like us you like nothing better than walking the dog then this is the site for you, when we asked where the dog walk was we were told anywhere on the farm (GREAT). If there is a down side the pub which was very reasonable and welcoming doesn't allow dogs in bar ! not a problem when we went as we were warned and it was VERY warm so the garden was a better choice anyway.

Will we go again? hope so, would've stayed longer but were booked in at another site.

Date of Visit: May 2017 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Egbert 4 reviews from this member

Just got back from our first stay here and we loved it. We were shown onto the Big Field, with loads of space and offered plenty of pitches to choose from - despite their being 'fully booked'. I assume they deliberately keep the peacefulness by limiting bookings - which is perfect. We pitched as far from the facility block as possible - having a toilet in the 'van - and had no neighbours for the entire week.

Within minutes of pulling up we felt relaxed - it just has that aura - and after telling my 7 year old not to go near the lake without us, felt completely at ease letting him off to cycle. It's rare to get this secure feeling on most sites, even when he is out of sight. We loved the thought put into it - with a mown cycle route through the long wild grass on the huge field, lots of circles and space for the kids.

We cycled, walked, and played in the lake - how gorgeous to have a swimming lake without lots of H&S rules - the dogs went in, we went in, there are free to use (donations made to Air ambulance please) kayaks - brilliant. The facilities were also top notch, super clean.

Only things to mention -

- read the instructions to get there on the website before you leave. I checked it on my phone when we were close - and because the KEY info is at the bottom below the map, I missed it. Don't follow the sat nav or you end up in the farm yard of a rather irate lady. The entrance is directly off the road - look for signs that say Fforest Fields before turning off.

- there is a £20 deposit for the kayaks - have cash on hand

- the local pub does decent food, don't be put off by the dated decor.

- the campsite is perfect, but getting there is not. The windy roads are hard going when towing - and we had 2 incidents of car sickness from the kids with very few laybys. Be prepared.

We would love to go again- and will - but for nothing less that 5 days, just due to the distance to get there.

Date of Visit: April 2017 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: Timag 1 review from this member

A great site for walking and exploring the area.

This is a relaxed but very well laid out and organised. The facilities are superb with a very spacious and clean shower block. The site is surrounded by rolling green hills and every pitch has great views.

What we really loved about the site was the friendly and trusting attitude of owners. Sometimes the shop was unstaffed so you were required use honesty box. Good value at £18 a night. We were also a leading to stay all next day at no cost.

We also found all of the locals warm a day friendly and local pub landlady even drove us home after excellent meal at pubk. There is no pavement to walk on though there is rural route which is rambling and a bit damp in April.

Only possible negatives might be if you have children which as we did not see that there is no play area though there is ample space to play in field

Date of Visit: October 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Seagreen 1 review from this member

Fforest Fields is, simply, a 6 star example of what a campsite should be. They've done their homework and they've managed to create a luxury site without it feeling cliquey and chlostrophobic. George is a very warm and welcoming host and you can see a lot of love has gone into making this a great place to be. Sometimes the reception is unmanned, instructions are in the reception area, as well as George's mobile phone number.

The pitches are all pretty much level, yes, they really are and the views are to die for. Also, there's a humongous field behind the main site which has yet more all weather pitches - that's pretty phenomenal.

PLEASE BE AWARE: check your pitch VERY carefully. Don't get me wrong, I love tents, in fact I own several, but some of these hard standing electric pitches have a grass pitch in between on both sides, this means a caravan will park next to you (with tonnes of room, that's why it's a great site!) but they can whip out a separate tent on day 2 for visitors, which ends up right next to your pitch and you can hear everything. If that tent wasn't there, the space between hard standing is fantastic and if the neighbouring caravan was anti social, it wouldn't bother you because of the space - just bare this on mind folks. ALSO, CHECK THE ONLINE DIARY for RWAS, in Builth Wells - there are major events all year, not just the big summer show - it can make a difference to how busy the site will be.

The public areas (toilets, washing up etc) are immaculate. They are immaculate because the type of people who stay here have standards and clean up after themselves - which is a total blessing! The staff keep it clean too which, in itself, creates this desire by both camper and staff to keep it clean.

Remember, the Cafe on site is closed after Summer, which is a shame as it gets a good review!

MOBILE PHONES: I am on EE mobile, I've got a clear 4G data signal, 3 bars for the phone signal and the 4G was constant on my walks above the campsite, which is pretty good!

WIFI: It's great when there are very few campers, but we noticed on Saturday the wifi was unstable when there were twice as many people here. To be fair to the campsite, this fact is made very clear on their website and as 4G on EE is perfect, you won't have problems. (Vodafone is rubbish here, don't even try).

The walks from the campsite are fabulous, you may never need to get in that car. The walk to the pub and back is 4 miles and takes you on very level, wide flat paths until you hit the wood - then it's lovely magical woodland trails to the main road.

The walk up to the hill is easy because lower gradient wide paths have been made, winding up the hill - I saw a woman with an off road children's buggy - keen! If you like it sharp and short, take the path to the far right of the field and up. You can walk for miles up on the top, it's pretty spectacular. The walks around the campsite and the lakes are beautiful, you should visit them at least once whilst you're here, you may even seen some paragliders before they land !

We're definitely coming back.

Date of Visit: September 2016 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: MaffH 3 reviews from this member

This is undoubtedly a very good campsite with excellent facilities and plenty of space. We would definitely like to return as it may be one of the best sites for providing what campers need in a beautiful part of Wales. However, there is one thing letting it down - local footpaths and bridleways. Despite there being legal footpaths leading from opposite the site to allow a safe route to Hundred House, the paths are all blocked with fences or hedges and have clearly not been maintained by the local landowners and Council. What a shame as many people must visit to walk the surrounding area but will be disappointed to find that they will need to walk busy roads if they want to walk to the nearby village. (hence the lower location rating). Perhaps the Campsite could arrange for the paths to be opened up by local landowners to improve the options for visitors to the area. NB some paths leading south may be usable but we didn't get a chance to try them and were keen on walking to the nearest village.

Date of Visit: August 2016 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Caz and Haz 1 review from this member

Just stayed here for one night (to attend a dog show at Builth Wells) Very impressed! Plenty of space to choose from, on-site facilities were great and kept spotlessly clean. And also a lovely enclosed field next to the site - perfect for exercising the dog. Will definitely stay here again.

Date of Visit: August 2016 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Mattots 2 reviews from this member

This was our first visit to Fforest Fields, but certainly won't be our last. What a fantastic place - a little piece of heaven in the Welsh countryside!

Arriving at a new campsite, as with any untested holiday destination, there’s always that slight uncertainty, however many positive reviews you’ve read online, about quite what it will be like. But from the moment we drove in the gate at Fforest Fields we knew we’d made a good choice. We'd booked an all weather pitch with EHU and were assigned a huge plot close to the main facility block and backing onto a little stream that runs through the middle of the site.

(We've not had an all weather pitch before but it was essentially a gravel square about 8x8m in the middle of a larger grassy area. The advantage, from the campsite's point of view, is that they don't end up with yellow patches on the grass, and from the campers point of view, there's a nice flat surface with good drainage to pitch your tent on. We used rock pegs although you could probably get away with using normal pegs. With a footprint, sewn-in-groundhseet and carpet, it wasn't too uncomfortable walking around in bare feet in the tent although it was worth the time taken before pitching to remove the larger stones. )

On the evening of our arrival day they were serving up home-made pizzas baked in a wood-fired pizza oven outside the cafe, so we put in our order and a short while later were enjoying tasty home made pizza and local cider in the evening sunlight.

The atmosphere at Fforest Fields is quite different to other campsites we've stayed at. Despite being quite large (the whole site covers about 15 acres), the layout - at least of the main part of the site - with lots of trees, a stream, and a mix of different types of pitches, creates a lovely intimate and laid-back feel. (There's also a large open field which tends to be used by larger groups. ) The owners deliberately leave some spaces empty so the site is never completely full, and pitches are well spaced out with plenty of room for the kids to run/ride about freely. The stream and little pools it forms as it meanders through the site, crossed by numerous bridges, is totally safe even for younger children to paddle and fish in as it's only a few inches deep. There’s plenty of wildlife around too - we saw frogs and newts and heard owls at night. There's absolutely no road noise and the no-noise-after-11pm rule seemed to be observed by (almost) everyone without the need for enforcement, something that has not always been the case on other sites we've visited.

The campsite sits in a secluded valley surrounded by rolling hills so it's pretty sheltered from the wind. The last couple of days of our stay the weather turned unseasonably wet and windy with gusts up to 35mph but thanks to the sheltered location and added protection from the trees we escaped the worst of it.

Immediately adjacent to the campsite are two lakes - one for fishing and one for boating and swimming. Kayaks are free to use for a returnable deposit. There are also plenty of walks starting right from the campsite up through the trees and into the surrounding hills. 5 minutes leisurely stroll from your tent and you feel like you’re a million miles from civilisation.

The facilities are spotless, spacious and warm. We never needed to queue for anything - apart from to order some of the fantastic food and drink served from the little on-site 'cafe bar'. The shop is pretty basic but open 24 hours a day with an honesty box for when it’s unstaffed. As well as the usual camping essentials they stock locally produced sausages, bacon, eggs, bread and ice cream. Barbecues and camp fires are allowed with fire pits available to hire and wood and kindling to buy at very reasonable rates.

Showers are free, push-button style (it would be nice if you didn't have to push the button literally every 5 seconds!) and were always warm and clean. There is a mop on hand to mop out the cubicles when finished. The washing-up room has 7 or 8 large sinks, again push-button taps, but plugs and proper draining boards and plenty of space. There are also a whole row of double-height freezers for storing food or freezing ice blocks, each of which is labelled as to which day of the week it is cleaned out. There's a microwave too.

We had a number of days out, including a trip on the atmospheric Welshpool & Llanfair Light Railway, a day at Cantref Farm and Adventure Park near Brecon - which the kids loved, a visit to the National Trust's Croft Castle just over the border near Leominster, and a day at the spectacular National Showcaves Centre for Wales in the Brecon Beacons national park. None of these is 'on the doorstep' - you do need to travel a bit (thanks to the windy Welsh roads!) to get to most places. However, if walking, biking, boating, swimming and fishing are your activities of choice you could probably quite happily spend a week at Fforest Fields without ever leaving the campsite.

Definitely the best campsite we've been to, and one we will certainly be returning to.

Previous     335 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Save to Virtual Brochure  Add this Site to your Virtual Brochure                                Share  Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Try our town listings   -   Other Sites in Powys   -   Search for a site

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a Colibri Lux Sleeping Bag and Sim Bundle worth over £270 Win East Anglian Game & Country Fair Camping Weekend Tickets!

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet East Anglian Game and Country Fair 28 to 29 April
Thetford. Weekend Camping available. Plus win tickets in our competition ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


4081 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend  -  Pensions Auto-enrolment

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2017




0.2344