Home

   Log in or Register

Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Fforest Fields Caravan & Camping Park

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > UK > Wales > Powys > Site Reviews

Fforest Fields Caravan & Camping Park
Fforest Farm
Hundred House
Builth Wells
Powys   (Browse area)
LD1 5RT   See Map                                 Share Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook
Tel: 01982 570406

Facilities:  (Key)
             

Nearby:
5m  1m  1m 5m  5m   5m  10m  5m 
Featured Site

Pitches: .
Open: March 1st To December 31st

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 292 Reviews
              9/10 from 292 Reviews


Units accepted:    Tents  Caravans  Motorhomes 

This site has chosen to use the availability calendar. You can check for availability here.

Special Offer available to UKCampsite.co.uk visitors - see here.

Photos (24) and Video

Reviews:  292 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14   15   16   17   18   19   20   21   22   23   24   25   26   27   28   29   30  

Date of Visit: August 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Tall Bloke 4 reviews from this member

Visited this site for the first time due to all the great reviews on here and we absolutely loved it and can see why others do too.

Although the site was busy it never felt like it, there was plenty of space for everyone & the same at the showers.

We enjoyed lots of walks which you can do straight from the site as well as walks round the beautiful lakes where you can now stop & have a rest on the swing seat which was put in during our stay, a lovely addition in a great spot.

We also enjoyed the takeaway Thai food which was also something new whilst we were there a night off from the BBQ!

We visited the local area including Builth Wells, Llandridod & Hay on Wye but we really enjoyed our days on site just chilling & relaxing & nights sat round the fire pit toasting marshmallows.

It really is a great site in a super location and one we shall definitely be returning to.

Date of Visit: August 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Freedom4us 32 reviews from this member

This is our second visit to Fforest Fields, the first since the new block has been constructed. I agree with the reviewer who said that the minute you get on site there is a feeling of relaxation and tranquility. Although a large site, the way the pitches are laid out it does not feel large and even though there are loads of children it was not noisy, again I think due to the lay out of the pitches. The new shower block is indeed fantastic with plenty of toilets and showers and very clean.

We bought bread, bacon and sausage while we were there - highly recommended, the eggs were not that special.

The TV reception is poor so we have now invested in a satellite dish having spoken to a fellow caravaner who swears by his - fingers crossed it works!

The lakes are fantastic for either swimming, canoeing, throwing the stick in for the dogs or just stroll. There are plenty of walks from the site and plenty in the surrounding area.

All in all a fabulous site. A 9 for location just because it is quite a way from Builth Wells to get a daily paper!

Date of Visit: August 2014 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: SolarPanelPhil 2 reviews from this member

Another stay at Fforest Fields reminds me once again that this is a very special place. This was amply demonstrated by the number of people we met again from last year. Excellent welcome, the best showers and facilities I have ever seen on a campsite, and that rather unique atmosphere that relaxes you almost upon arrival. Quite simply the reference point for all campsites that we visit, and a powerful incentive to motor there from far afield. The owners have lovingly crafted over many seasons a very memorable holiday experience. Long may that continue!

Date of Visit: July 2014 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: TraceyD 14 reviews from this member

Every year we visit Fforest Fields we never imagine anything could improve as we feel it is our perfect site. This year it is only a couple of small cosmetic things, but once again they have been so sympathetically blended into the surroundings you'd think they had always been there. I am referring to two new wooden structures at the long lake, a shelter with picnic table in at the corner of the jetty end which provides shelter from both sun and the occasional shower, and a lovely swinging seat which was completed while we were there halfway down the side of the lake, what better vantage point could you have to watch the evening sunset.

The facilities block is as clean and well presented as it was when first built two years ago and the bacon on sale in the reception is just as good too!

Perfect sized pitches, perfect surroundings with well tended plants and flowers around the site and perfect hosts - Fforest Fields, the perfect site for us!

Date of Visit: July 2014 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Freecamper 2 reviews from this member

Very good site boating lake and lots of good walks the facilities are the best we've found, by far as good as caravan club & caravan & camping club sites, very clean and tidy all the time. Also a washing up indoors and even a drying room. The only down sides not very motorhome friendly no service points and can only pitch in the one part of the site. Tv very poor you need satellite to get any thing. Dogs not on leads and running around the site and messing on other pitches note I have a dog myself and he is always on a lead on site

Management response: Thank you for leaving a review of Fforest Fields.

Regarding your comments "Dogs not on leads and running around the site and messing on other pitches" This is not an accurate statement, we ask that dogs are always on leads while on the site, there is plenty of walking for your dogs directly off the site.

I am sorry that you did not inform us of your concerns at the time but I believe this to be a one off and not a regular occurrence.

Date of Visit: July 2014 Unit:  Trailer Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Marie1605 3 reviews from this member

Stayed here at the end of July. What can I say about this site? Other than it was a haven of tranquility.

On arrival, I was walked to an area and chose our pitch.

Facilities on site were great, showers & toilet blocks were pristine! We used the family bathroom as it made life easier with the little'un!

We are returning in September for another weekend - we can't wait!

Date of Visit: July 2014 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: SammyA 4 reviews from this member

This must have been one of the best campsite we stayed in, really well laid out, even though there were quite a few people on the campsite it never really felt as if it was crowded (mostly due to the number of trees and bushes that were all over the site).

The toilet and showers were clean and of really good standard.

The fishing pond really made our sons day as he got to have a go with him birthday present (and he even caught a fish!) the pond was so peaceful and it was lovely to just sit in the morning sun and watch the dragonflies.

It was a little strange to not see anyone from the campsite the entire time we were there, no one in the office or anywhere to be seen when we first arrived (so we just followed the directions on the desk) and there never seemed to be anyone there whenever any of us walked past (apart from once when when our son was walking past and asked about fishing - but they were gone again by the time I got there). There was a mobile number so I'm guessing I could have got hold of someone if we had needed to though, and the information in and around the office was pretty comprehensive.

Date of Visit: June 2014 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Lady of the lakes 5 reviews from this member

This was our second visit to Fforest Fields and it did not disappoint. We had a really warm welcome from the owner and were soon sited in our favourite pitch near to the lake. The facilities continue to be as spacious and clean as we remember them, the showers are wonderful, and the bacon and orange juice from the shop is worth a visit alone! We came here because our border collie had such a good time last year, and this year was even better. We found loads of new trails around the site and I really wish we could have stayed longer. There is a lot of new planting of cherry and rowan trees on the lower slopes of the hills, which will bring in even more assorted birds when they start to fruit - though there was no shortage of wildlife this time, and we were pleased to see again the red kite, buzzard and redstarts which we saw for the first time last year. If you are a dog owner/walker/nature photographer, look no further - this is the site for you.

Date of Visit: June 2014 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: VWAdventure 3 reviews from this member

Well, how do I leave a good review. I would have to list hundreds of good points on this site with no negatives. So the best way to leave a review is to say that this is the best camp site I have ever stayed on. Clean, plenty off room, spotless showers/ toilets and on top of that very friendly owners. How to sum it up '' Perfect''

Ivan Cotterill

Date of Visit: June 2014 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Oldwolf 5 reviews from this member

Having read the reviews on here and the daughter at an event at the royal welsh show ground, had to give it a go.

Expectations were high, the welcome we received was warm and welcoming. A pitch was selected for us and to be honest could not have asked for better. Take note they do not accept credit card payment.

Facilities were first rate and the camper well catered for with nice little touches to make your holiday special.

If I have to find fault with anything, it would have been nice to have a children's play area with swings and slide, if only as a communicable area for kids to meet up and play.

Bottom line would I go back - in a heartbeat, but more for a long weekend rather than a longer family holiday.

Previous     292 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Save to Virtual Brochure  Add this Site to your Virtual Brochure                                Share  Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Submit your Review for a chance to Win Prizes!
Sponsored by the Caravan ClubSubmit a review to UKCampsite.co.uk of any caravan park or campsite, for a chance to win a caravan towing course or motorhome manoeuvring course worth up to 145, or 100 of Amazon vouchers, courtesy of The Caravan Club. Join the Club for just 44 per year to enjoy access to a great range of caravan sites, benefits and special offers.

If you've visited this site, then please submit a review for a chance to win.

Try our town listings   -   Other Sites in Powys   -   Search for a site

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a Coleman Event Shelter from Towsure.com Visit the UKCS shop for exclusive discounts and offers

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Somerset Motorhome Show 12/09 to 14/09 Shepton Mallet
All the latest Motorhomes and a host of accessories. Win Tickets or buy Discounted Day Ticket Offer!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


9599 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend  -  Pensions Auto-enrolment

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews]  [Facebook]

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2014






0.0547