Home

   Log in or Register
   
Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Normans Bay Camping And Caravanning Club Site

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > UK > England > South East > East Sussex > Site Reviews

Normans Bay Camping And Caravanning Club Site
Normans Bay
Pevensey
East Sussex   (Browse area)
BN24 6PR   See Map                                 Share Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook
Tel: 01323 761190

Facilities:  (Key)
                 

Nearby: (within x miles)
1m 
Featured Site

Pitches: 200
Open: 26th March - 2nd November 2015

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 113 Reviews
              8/10 from 113 Reviews


Units accepted:    Tents  Caravans  Motorhomes Caravan Storage Storage 

Photos (13) and Video

Reviews:  113 in total, now showing 1 to 6                 Previous 6          Next 6
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14   15   16   17   18   19  

Submit your own Review for a chance to Win £100 of Amazon Vouchers
Win £100 of Amazon vouchersSubmit a review of this site for a chance to win. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win £100 of Amazon vouchers!

Date of Visit: August 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Sussexcoachman 3 reviews from this member

Booked in for Eastbourne air show. Due to late booking had to book two separate pitches. Arrived a little late and the wardens put us on a pitch with electricity so we didn't have to move. Brilliant. Site has been updated since we last visited 2009.

Beach is a 5 min walk and shallow water was quite warm at 9 at night when our girls were splodging!

We would definitely return. Will book air show weekend earlier next year.

Date of Visit: August 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Mike&jen 2 reviews from this member

The weather was superb which always helps. We have been to this site previously (5 years ago) and found that it was just as brilliant location wise but somewhat more relaxing and peaceful. Considering it was almost full there was no unnecessary noise. Facilities were very good, thought the laundry was a little expensive. Staff were excellent - especially at the end of our holiday when we found we had no lights at all after hooking up the van to leave (we were travelling back overnight). They were very helpful in providing phone numbers for the mobile caravan call out company - even thought the office was closed at the time. And they kept on popping along to see how we were faring.

Will definitely go again. Recommended to all.

Date of Visit: July 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Snowball33 17 reviews from this member

We have stayed here many times and were delighted to find that they have finally done up the old shower/toilet block, which is a vast improvement. We did not find the showers that warm though. Our stay was very pleasant. We found the staff friendly and helpful. The beach was great at low tide and the underwater obstacles were not as bad as previous years. Some dog owners are not very good at cleaning up their mess near the entrance to the beach. There are a lot more motorhomes and caravans than there used to be here, but it has made the site a lot quieter than we have found it recently. Generally site was clean and tidy and well situated for exploring the coast. We will go back.

Date of Visit: June 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Mirabelle 25 reviews from this member

Enjoyed a week of glorious sunshine here at the end of June, we were there during the heat wave so it got really hot at times! Having never visited this part of the coast before (we always go west to Dorset/Devon/Cornwall) we thought we'd have a change. We had mixed feelings about the site itself, the road leading up to the site is a bit unusual and has a feeling of 'past it's best' with an assortment of old holiday flats/bungalows and a kiosk(very expensive for an ice cream!)it was quaint though. Upon arrival I was greeted by a member of staff who knew who I was before I said a word (guess they checked out number plate) so that was a nice surprise, staff in reception were very outgoing and we were shown to our pitch.

Facilities were good as you expect from a C & C club site, but once again we felt really hemmed in when another unit was put next door to us on day two and was so close when we sat outside our awning we could practically touch their car. Sadly this has happened to us at a few Camping and Caravanning club sites now (don't think the 6m rule applies anymore?) It's such a shame but I guess they are trying to make the most money out of every square inch. (That combined with a few other factors has made us decide we will probably not renew our membership but that's another story. )

Other than that we loved seeing the little birds feeding their babies in the hedge behind our pitch, it was nice to walk over to the shingle beach now and again, though we didn't see any sand and it was a sharp ledge down on to the beach. We had fish and chips in Roses fish bar in Pevensey one night and have to say they were not that nice. Went to Eastbourne which was ok, loved the old TJ HUGHES store, which brought back memories of a department store I worked in when I was a teenager!

We found Hastings had some nice shops but was a bit 'seedy' and run down in parts, we saw winos and tramps hanging around the beach etc and the public loos. Rye was not what we expected, think we must have missed the harbour and shops? so we carried on in to Kent which was lovely, and I was delighted to go and see the area where Darling Buds Of May was filmed (sadly I couldn't get down to the farmhouse as it's private - will have to book and come back to Kent!). Our favourite area was Battle, gorgeous little atmospheric town with some interesting shops leading up to the imposing Battle Abbey and battle field which we spent a lovely afternoon taking in the history and exploring the battle field etc - had a lovely ploughmans lunch in the café there too(my husband had so much cheese he couldn't eat it all and he LOVES cheese!).

We also found some of the areas here quite built up in places and had to sit in traffic jams a few times. For us it was an ok holiday but not wonderful, glad we tried it but to be honest won't be racing back there in a hurry.

Date of Visit: June 2015 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: MURPHY196 1 review from this member

We stayed on this site for 1 night only meeting friends already staying on the site. The location was great just across the road was the beach which we were able to take our French bulldog onto which he loved. The facilities were very clean and not busy which was nice, a small shop on site which sold camping and amenities items. Friendly staff and we found the site quiet. The pitches were not marked up and were shown to our pitch but we were placed at the end of the site which was lovely. Would definitely be visiting again in the near future.

Date of Visit: June 2015 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: Infinity31 6 reviews from this member

We quite liked this site - nicely positioned on a private road with it's own pebble beach (sand at low tide) and we saw some visitors fishing off the beach.

Reasonable pub (The Star Inn) within 1/2 hours walk and small shop in Pevensey Bay. We were pitched looking out over the reed beds - which cleverly hid a low level dog walk. Beyond the reed beds was the railway line and a regular service (between 5am to 11pm) running close by but not really an annoyance for us.

We cycled to another very good pub at Wartling about 5 miles from site which served excellent food called The Lamb Inn.

Facilities on site all very good - new washrooms and showers including free hairdryers.

Although one of the larger CC&C sites it was quiet (maybe because we were not in school holiday season) and quite roomy.

We would certainly visit this site again.

Previous     113 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 6      Next

Save to Virtual Brochure  Add this Site to your Virtual Brochure                                Share  Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Submit a Review for a chance to Win £100 of Amazon Vouchers
Win £100 of Amazon vouchersSubmit a review of any caravan park or campsite, for a chance to win. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win £100 of Amazon vouchers!

If you've visited this site, then please submit a review for a chance to win.

Try our town listings   -   Other Sites in East Sussex   -   Search for a site

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a Champion 3100 Watt Inverter Petrol Generator Win a Win a One Week Stay at Vauxhall Holiday Park!

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Motorhome & Caravan Show 13 – 18 October
Occupying eleven huge halls of the NEC, it is guaranteed to be an unmissable event. Win tickets!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


7713 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend  -  Pensions Auto-enrolment

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2015






0.0547