Home

   Log in or Register
   
Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Kinloch Camp Site

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > UK > Scotland > Isle Of Skye > Site Reviews

Kinloch Camp Site
Kinloch
Dunvegan
Isle Of Skye   (Browse area)
IV55 8WQ   See Map                                 Share Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook
Tel: 01470 521 210

Facilities:  (Key)
        

Nearby:
1m  1m  1m 
Featured Site

Pitches:
Open: April /october

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 105 Reviews
              9/10 from 105 Reviews


Units accepted:    Tents  Caravans  Motorhomes 

Photos (5)

Reviews:  105 in total, now showing 1 to 6                 Previous 6          Next 6
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14   15   16   17   18  

Date of Visit: October 2014 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Ayrshireman 5 reviews from this member

I had stayed here many years ago when it was still fairly basic, and only came this time after discovering the site I had planned to use (at nearby Edinbane) had closed early. It was most pleasant to discover that the site has been greatly upgraded, with a first class new facility block. There was ample space to find a good spot for my tent, with a fine view down the loch and across to McLeod's Tables. When I arrived there was a good number of visitors, several on return visits, which must tell its own story. The site owners were very welcoming and helpful. The location was first class, with great views as already mentioned, and an easy stroll to Dunvegan village; I thoroughly recommend the fruit scones ( especially the blackcurrant ones!) from 'Skye's Oldest Bakery'. Dunvegan Castle is within easy reach, and the site proved to be a good base for exploring Glendale, and even over to the Quiraing and Staffin. A planned overnight stay stretched to three nights in total. From now on, Kinloch Camp Site will certainly be my campsite of choice in the north of Skye; thoroughly recommended!

Date of Visit: October 2014 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Travellinglouis2014 3 reviews from this member

This was a return visit and we extended our stay by a day as we enjoyed it so much. It is a very relaxed site, the views down the Loch are superb, we had seals playing 30 years from our van at high tide, and saw lots more near Dunvegan Castle, also plenty of bird life, heron, cormorant etc.

The facilities have been updated since our last visit two years ago, and are now excellent.

While the village of Dunvegan is nearby, it does feel as if you are way out in the countryside.

It has everything you need, maybe not for kids as there is no play-area etc, but that suits us old fogies!

The guy who used to run the site, Colin, was a great character but he has sadly passed away and his wife now runs the site, and is very helpful.

Phone signals are not great but wifi is available from Highland Wifi.

Fish and chips in the village were very good, if a little expensive, but were fresh cooked while we waited.

If ever we go back to Skye this is the first site we will book up.

Date of Visit: August 2014 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Steve mitton 2 reviews from this member

Last visited here 5 years ago and thankfully little has changed apart from the facilities block has been refurbished to a high level, that's all the site needed as everything else is perfect. Take care if using the small road from Dunvegan to the site, a car fell of the roadside into the ditch when we were there, thankfully no damage to the car after it was recovered by a local garage. No staff on site when we arrived so as instructed just found an empty pitch after checking the pitch log in the office.

Great views from the site over the loch and there is access onto the rocky beach for dog walking.

Dunvegan village is a short walk from the site and there are a small shop and pubs and restaurants available to dine out. I would suggest people stock up there supplies in Broadford coop on route to the site. I can recommend the Schoolhouse, not cheap but great food. You will need to book in busy periods as its very popular. We were with friends who live on Skye and the owner said they cater for on average 100 diners an evening, a testament to how good the food is.

The only criticism I have is a minor one, no hooks in the shower cubicles so no where to hang your clothes. May seem minor but there is only a small stool to put your clothes, towel and soap etc. They site ask for feedback so I will inform them.

Date of Visit: August 2014 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Pusscat 3 reviews from this member

This is probably the best campsite for facilities that I have ever visited. The amenities block is spotless, at one time I did wonder if anyone used it, it was so clean. The showers are free and hot, on a push-button, and I am surprised a few people have mentioned lack of hooks, that is what the little fold down seat was for-putting your clothes and towels on. Six washing up stainless sinks with drainers, and a laundry room with washer, spinner, dryer, iron and board. This was handy as we were there through hurricane Bertha. All appliances worked on coin-in-the-slot and all prices were very reasonable, including the hairdryer for 20p (2 goes would do long hair)

The reception is open for a long period during the day, and this is where you can freeze cool blocks, and charge small appliances for free. Everyone is very friendly and laid back and happy to share news and weather.

We stayed for 2 weeks, the maximum allowed and booking in the lady seemed surprised we wanted to pay for a full two week period. This was probably because so many people we saw only used the site for 1-3 nights as they were touring. Apart from the hard standings with electric hook ups there are no allocated pitches. This together with the transient nature of a lot of the clients could be a big disadvantage. We had a pitch near the loch-side, and experienced some very rude behaviour by campervans and motor-homes, blocking entrances to tents, even isolating one very small tent so that the owner could not get their car anywhere near it. All this so they could be near the loch, even though there was space elsewhere.

The village of Dunvegan is great, recommend the bakery for rolls, burgers and fish and chips. The village store for practically everything you need on a day to day basis, the fishing shop for emergency air bed repair kit, and the School House for a fabulous meal.

Brilliant site

Date of Visit: July 2014 Unit:  Other Rating:
Reviewer: Hielanwolf 2 reviews from this member

Have been here before a few years ago but was nice to find this site still the same

Nice welcome from owners/staff

Excellent toilet and shower block just recently refurbished

Still charging techy stuff and freezing cool packs

With great views up the loch village only a short distance for bakers and local shop

Weather was not bad but missed out on sunsets

Will just have to go again

Date of Visit: July 2014 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: Dave 418 12 reviews from this member

We stopped here on our way south from the Harris ferry crossing. A lovely site on the loch side with what appears to be fairly new looking toilet blocks. The site owner was very helpful as he had put us on a pitch that still had some ones equipment left on it. He was very apologetic and put us on a pitch by the loch side. The motorhome service point is very good but for a minor point. The water taps at the service point are not drinking water. There is a tap with a hose on it is one road uphill by the armco barrier. I found this the night before so was ready but a few people were looking for the water tap. A minor issue and doesn't spoil a lovely site in a beautiful area.

Previous     105 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 6      Next

Save to Virtual Brochure  Add this Site to your Virtual Brochure                                Share  Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Submit your Review for a chance to Win Prizes!
Sponsored by the Caravan ClubSubmit a review to UKCampsite.co.uk of any caravan park or campsite, for a chance to win a caravan towing course or motorhome manoeuvring course worth up to £145, or £100 of Amazon vouchers, courtesy of The Caravan Club. Join the Club for just £44 per year to enjoy access to a great range of caravan sites, benefits and special offers.

If you've visited this site, then please submit a review for a chance to win.

Try our town listings   -   Other Sites in Isle Of Skye   -   Search for a site

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a Nemesis Ultra Wheel Clamp! from Towsure.com Visit the UKCS shop for exclusive discounts and offers

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Manchester Caravan & Motorhome Show 15 to 18/01/15
Start the season with a trip to the North’s biggest outdoor leisure show. Win 10 pairs of tickets or claim discount entry

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


4907 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend  -  Pensions Auto-enrolment

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2014






0.0547