Home

   Log in or Register
   
Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Carrog Station Camp Site

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > UK > Wales > Denbighshire > Site Reviews

Carrog Station Camp Site
Carrog
Corwen
Denbighshire   (Browse area)
LL21 9BD   See Map                                 Share Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook
Tel: 01490430237  or  07977211046

Facilities:  (Key)
           

Nearby:
5m  1m  1m 5m  5m  10m   5m  1m 
Featured Site

Pitches: 64
Open: All Year Round

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 52 Reviews
              8/10 from 52 Reviews


Units accepted:    Tents  Caravans  Motorhomes  Glamping 

This site has chosen to use the availability calendar. You can check for availability here.

Photos (17)

Reviews:  52 in total, now showing 1 to 6                 Previous 6          Next 6
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9  

Date of Visit: August 2014 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Lesr48 2 reviews from this member

What a fantastic site. The scenery is beautiful, the site is clean, tidy and well organised and as previous reviewers have mentioned, the food at the pub is out of this world. The shower facility looked a new addition and were very clean with plenty of free hot water. We only stayed one night, but will return when we are next in Wales

Date of Visit: August 2014 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Hedgiemum 2 reviews from this member

My family and I loved this site, as there is plenty of room, it's nice and level, quiet and the toilet and shower facilities were great. The toilets were always cleaned and stocked with loo paper, I noticed, and it's in a nice location. We would stay here again, although we'll avoid putting the postcode into the Sat nav as we ended up somewhere else! Probable best to go via Corwen as Carrog is only 3 miles up the road.

Date of Visit: August 2014 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: Singingcavy 16 reviews from this member

Great site in a beautiful place. The owner spends a great deal of time cleaning and clearing and the loos were usually clean and well stocked. Well designed and free showers (lots of hooks) including disabled access, and good enough loos. These are in a huge barn - not separated for men/women. The only small frustration was the lack of basins separate from the loos - so tooth brushing and shaving meant that loos were occupied. This was occasionally a problem on a busy weekend. Shame that the recent refurbishment did not include a few separate sinks as there is lots of room there.

Lovely location, amazing views and proximity to Carrog steam station. We took bikes along a back road - lovely path - and had a delightful time in Llangollen and surrounding Welsh countryside.

Good value, with hard standing and grass option as well as less 'organised' grass pitches, and wooden cabins. Wifi pretty good which was a real bonus.

Date of Visit: July 2014 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Mickey F 1 review from this member

Lovely peaceful location, washing facilities were clean & tidy, the staff were very friendly, and the food in the pub up the road (The Grouse) was very good. Spent a day in Llangollen - the little 'un loved paddling in the river and playing in the children's outdoor play area. Disappointed not to see the inquisitive bullocks in the nearby field (as mentioned by a previous reviewer), but this did not make our stay any less enjoyable. Would whole-heartedly recommend this site to anyone who wants to relax in the fantastic Welsh countryside.

Date of Visit: May 2014 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: DMD40J 15 reviews from this member

I have just read the previous review and wholeheartedly agree with them. A very good site with very good owners who were extremely helpful. Mike is one of the owners who worked on reception at the time we were there. Good luck for the future. A very reasonably priced site at £15 per night including electric.

Date of Visit: May 2014 Unit:  Trailer Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Davep 5 reviews from this member

2nd May to 6th May 2014 [Bank Holiday Weekend. ]

On arrival at the Site, I received a warm and friendly greeting of the young man manning the Reception. Who on booking me in, fully explained where the facilities were.

I was stopping with a mixed party of Tents, Caravans, Motor Home, and my Folding Camper [14 units in total ], we were put in the small field off the Main side of the site. This has a slightly tight turn for caravans, but was easily made.

The field had a slight slope to it, so more awkward for tents, The Main part of the Site, and the huge Rally Field on the other side of the road, being flat.

The web page when we booked, stated no Showers. However 3 New Showers have been added, which are free.

There are 2 toilets with Hot Water, and 2 with just cold water, all toilets kept well supplied with toilet roll and a towel for drying hands. The toilets and showers were kept spotlessly clean, and could not be faulted.

The 2 toilets with just cold water, were huge rooms, plenty of room for a parent and one or more children.

The site itself is kept in immaculate condition.

The group I stayed with, are looking for a Camp Site, able to accommodate 150-200 mixed units.

And after having taken the time to make a inspection of the rally field, this site is high on their list.

The Rally field has a portable toilet block, which is permanently connected into the mains, and again on inspection was found to be immaculate.

The Site backs on to the Llangollen Steam Railway, and the Rally field backs on to Carrog Station. Trains do not run until 10:00 [10am] and finish at 17:00 [5pm] so do not create any disturbance. The Main side, backs on to the Line extension to Corwen, this section of the line is due to open in 2014.

The line is a perfect day out for a family to Llangollen.

We had a young man who was celebrating his 8th birthday. And on the Sunday, due to the special crew on the Late train from Carrog, we managed to not only get him but a number of our party on to the foot plate. A experience they will never forget.

The field we were staying on, was right next to one of the farm field [given that this is a Farm Camping Site] and given that several had dogs with them, we several times, had a audience of young bullocks at the fence line.

There is a pub who serves food, a 2 minute walk in Carrog, and a Tea Room at Carrog station, a 10 second walk away.

Nearest supermarket is in Corwen a couple of minutes drive down the A5.

Llangollen is just 7 miles down the A5 in the other direction.

Overall the only niggle I had with the site, was the difficulty in keeping things dry in the shower, hence the 9/10. Other than that, it is a site, I'm happy to re visit in the future.

Previous     52 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 6      Next

Save to Virtual Brochure  Add this Site to your Virtual Brochure                                Share  Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Submit your Review for a chance to Win Prizes!
Sponsored by the Caravan ClubSubmit a review to UKCampsite.co.uk of any caravan park or campsite, for a chance to win a caravan towing course or motorhome manoeuvring course worth up to £145, or £100 of Amazon vouchers, courtesy of The Caravan Club. Join the Club for just £44 per year to enjoy access to a great range of caravan sites, benefits and special offers.

If you've visited this site, then please submit a review for a chance to win.

Try our town listings   -   Other Sites in Denbighshire   -   Search for a site

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a Nemesis Ultra Wheel Clamp! from Towsure.com Visit the UKCS shop for exclusive discounts and offers

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Manchester Caravan & Motorhome Show 15 to 18/01/15
Start the season with a trip to the North’s biggest outdoor leisure show. Win 10 pairs of tickets or claim discount entry

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


893 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend  -  Pensions Auto-enrolment

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2014






0.0449