Home

   Log in or Register
   
Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Walled Garden Caravan & Camping Park

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > UK > Scotland > Ayrshire > Site Reviews

Walled Garden Caravan & Camping Park
Kilkerran Crosshill
Maybole
Ayrshire   (Browse area)
KA19 7SG   See Map                                 Share Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook
Tel: 01655 740323

Facilities:  (Key)
           

Nearby:
5m  5m 5m  5m   5m 
Featured Site

Pitches: 90
Open: 15/03/13 - 03/11/13

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 63 Reviews
              9/10 from 63 Reviews


Units accepted:    Tents  Caravans  Motorhomes 

Photos (6)

Reviews:  63 in total, now showing 1 to 6                 Previous 6          Next 6
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11  

Date of Visit: August 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Sunset2 5 reviews from this member

We decided to visit this site again as we enjoyed our last visit. We are pleased to say that it has not changed in any way. The owner is still as helpful in every way as are the regular visitors who spend most weekends there. Site is spotless and very peaceful with some great scenery and wildlife to be seen and heard. The hall is a great place to meet on a Saturday night with bingo and dancing. A great variety of music to suit everyone. A couple of the regulars sang songs at the end of the night which we had never heard of before which was a great way to end another amazing visit to Kilkerran. A big thanks to the owner and all his regulars for making us feel so welcome and making us feel a part of the site. Please never change anything about this wonderful place.

Date of Visit: August 2014 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Clareym 2 reviews from this member

Absolutely spot on! Booked into another site in Barrhill, which was on a main road and unsuitable for young children. Quick call to the owner and bish bash bosh. Spot available for tent. What an absolute gem this site is. Infact so good I don't want to promote it too much, for fear of bringing it to the attention of others! Yes it is hardstanding, but the owner provides pegs (and kindly told us to keep them) so no problems there. Surroundings are beautiful and you are made to feel part of the community the minute you arrive. Regulars offer refreshments, advice and assistance. What more could you ask? The sit is in an old walled garden and this provides protection from the elements. Site is on a slight slope but simply pitch your tent to suit.

There is a spotless laundry unit which encompasses a kitchen and cleaning facilities. So if the weather is bad, there is a cooker indoors to use. There is also a washer and tumble dryer all at a very reasonable cost.

In the games room there is table tennis, pool table and table football. Also sky tv in comfort if the weather is poor. There is also a small pitch n put for the kids (foc).

Activities are also on each night at the club house and these range from bingo night to x-box kinect bowls. There is no liquor licence so take your own bottle.

There is also a safe and secure park for the kids, however 'beware of the pandas' in the bamboo field!

The owner is a real gem. He is there constantly to help or advise. He makes you feel like part of his family.

Other static campers also help out and this is a community effort.

As for other comments about noise on this site, well that is complete and utter bull! It is quiet time between the hours of 11pm and 8am, no movement of vehicles during this period or loud noises. In fact at 11am you could hear a pin drop, and I a surprised the resident owl wasn't evicted due to the noise!

We spent 4 nights here with electrical hook up and only cost us 54p in electricity charges so cannot complain.

We will be back, having had a brilliant but soggy 5 days with two children under the age of 7, who loved every minute.

To the owner, you're an absolute gem, thanks :-) x

Date of Visit: May 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Mischka 28 reviews from this member

Lovely peaceful site run by super helpful owner. There are quite a lot of vans which look like they are on seasonal pitches. The centre of the site is gently sloping and most of the pitches are hard standing. You pay separately for the electricity at 18p per unit. For us in our van that came to c1. 60 for lights/ TV/ chargers/fridge (but no heating) for a weekend.

The toilet block is clean and well lit. In the ladies there are plenty of loos, 2 showers, 5 sinks in privacy cubicles plus one sink for hand washing. The showers take 20p coins, giving c3 minutes per 20p. (Similar for the gents).

There is a good dish washing/ laundry room plus a large games room with a TV, table tennis table etc. We were warmly invited to join in a carpet bowls night and a social night, but we chose not to.

The owner takes orders for papers/ milk/eggs which are delivered to your pitch in the morning.

We had a great time here and would definitely recommend the site.

Date of Visit: August 2013 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: AliceW 1 review from this member

Lovel charming independent site and hospitable with lovely facilities. Quiet, clean and very reasonable. Lovely touch is ordering fresh rolls, milk and bread each day.

Site is very clean. I camped with five yr old. Very safe for children. Not a lot of traffic unlike some larger sites with transport on and off the site. TV rooom, laundry with cooker, fridge etc is great for campers. Stayed mid week so never got to experience the weekend carpet bowls and bingo/music night in the wee hall just outside the garden. Would def return.

Have stayed in many a site from corporate big boys like haven who offered disgusting hovels to stay in to small independents and I much prefer the wee ones. The Walled garden stands up no problem. The estate is also lovely and there are man walks in the immediate area. Highly recommended. Rural location so if you want a Town on your door step get yourself to Haven. Camping on hard standing so make sure you have an airbed or padding. Makes putting our tent down easy and so less muck in poor weather.

Date of Visit: August 2013 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Gez122 1 review from this member

This year was the 3rd year that I have visited the Walled garden and each year I am impressed by its stunning location.

Set in the heart of South Ayrshire, the site is secluded, serene and well looked after. The owner (who runs the park) is always friendly and up for a chat as well as a good source of information on local things to see and do.

There is a small play park on site to keep the kids amused and a community hall which has activities on during weekends. It also has an activities room for those rainy days which has a pool table, table tennis table, table football and tv/dvd player. There is also a small collection of books that can be borrowed, a small donation to the current charity is all that is asked for borrowing books.

The toilet blocks are set in some older buildings along the outside of the wall but only a very short distance from the pitches. Housed along side the toilets is a utilities room which has 2 washing machines, 3 or 4 sinks and 2 tumble driers. There is also an iron/ironing board and a cooker which is available to use (handy if the gas bottle runs out). The toilets and utilities rooms are always kept clean and tidy.

Electricity is paid for by what you use and is easy to work out at 18 pence per unit. This often works out cheaper than paying a standard charge. We stayed for a week and due to weather had the 2000 watt hot air heater on most evenings and mornings (and through the night) and paid only 18 for the whole week.

The pitches (all electric serviced) are of a decent size and well looked after, slightly on a gradient but nothing to sinister that either a tent or caravan would notice that much.

If visiting please make sure and take plenty of change as the utilities all use pound coins and the showers take 20 pence pieces. However this is excellent value for money.

If quiet and secluded are what you are after then the Walled Garden is the place for you. However you are not very far from the large towns of Ayr (nice beaches) and Kilmarnock (good shopping) if you want more to see and do.

We had another great week here and would thoroughly recommend a visit.

Date of Visit: July 2013 Unit:  Static Rating:
Reviewer: Yorkshire lassie 1 review from this member

I would like to point out to readers of this forum that when beachbums visited the site in April it was just after the proprieter had been taken to hospital with a broken pelvis. Relief wardens were soon in place, and the toilets and facilities were always in an immaculate condition. I am also surprised about an earlier comment about noise at 3am, as there is a strict rule when leaving the hall about not making any noise at all to disturb other campers. We have been visiting this site for over seven years and cannot find fault with it at all, the people are friendly, the position is excellent for walking, visiting other areas of Scotland and shopping. Nothing is too much trouble for the owners and others too numerous to mention.

Previous     63 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 6      Next

Save to Virtual Brochure  Add this Site to your Virtual Brochure                                Share  Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Submit your Review for a chance to Win Prizes!
Sponsored by the Caravan ClubSubmit a review to UKCampsite.co.uk of any caravan park or campsite, for a chance to win a caravan towing course or motorhome manoeuvring course worth up to 145, or 100 of Amazon vouchers, courtesy of The Caravan Club. Join the Club for just 44 per year to enjoy access to a great range of caravan sites, benefits and special offers.

If you've visited this site, then please submit a review for a chance to win.

Try our town listings   -   Other Sites in Ayrshire   -   Search for a site

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a Vehicle and Personal GPS Tracker from Towsure.com Visit the UKCS shop for exclusive discounts and offers

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Motorhome & Caravan Show 14/10 to 19/10 NEC Birmingham
Back at the NEC Birmingham this autumn - we have 20 pairs of tickets up for grabs

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3826 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend  -  Pensions Auto-enrolment

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2014






0.0508