Home

   Log in or Register

Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Walled Garden Caravan & Camping Park

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > UK > Scotland > Ayrshire > Site Reviews

Walled Garden Caravan & Camping Park
Kilkerran Crosshill
Maybole
Ayrshire   (Browse area)
KA19 7SG   See Map                                 Share Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook
Tel: 01655 740323

Facilities:  (Key)
           

Nearby:
5m  5m 5m  5m   5m 
Featured Site

Pitches: 90
Open: 15/03/13 - 03/11/13

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 60 Reviews
              9/10 from 60 Reviews


Units accepted:    Tents  Caravans  Motorhomes 

Photos (6)

Reviews:  60 in total, now showing 1 to 6                 Previous 6          Next 6
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10  

Date of Visit: August 2013 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: AliceW 1 review from this member

Lovel charming independent site and hospitable with lovely facilities. Quiet, clean and very reasonable. Lovely touch is ordering fresh rolls, milk and bread each day.

Site is very clean. I camped with five yr old. Very safe for children. Not a lot of traffic unlike some larger sites with transport on and off the site. TV rooom, laundry with cooker, fridge etc is great for campers. Stayed mid week so never got to experience the weekend carpet bowls and bingo/music night in the wee hall just outside the garden. Would def return.

Have stayed in many a site from corporate big boys like haven who offered disgusting hovels to stay in to small independents and I much prefer the wee ones. The Walled garden stands up no problem. The estate is also lovely and there are man walks in the immediate area. Highly recommended. Rural location so if you want a Town on your door step get yourself to Haven. Camping on hard standing so make sure you have an airbed or padding. Makes putting our tent down easy and so less muck in poor weather.

Date of Visit: August 2013 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Gez122 1 review from this member

This year was the 3rd year that I have visited the Walled garden and each year I am impressed by its stunning location.

Set in the heart of South Ayrshire, the site is secluded, serene and well looked after. The owner (who runs the park) is always friendly and up for a chat as well as a good source of information on local things to see and do.

There is a small play park on site to keep the kids amused and a community hall which has activities on during weekends. It also has an activities room for those rainy days which has a pool table, table tennis table, table football and tv/dvd player. There is also a small collection of books that can be borrowed, a small donation to the current charity is all that is asked for borrowing books.

The toilet blocks are set in some older buildings along the outside of the wall but only a very short distance from the pitches. Housed along side the toilets is a utilities room which has 2 washing machines, 3 or 4 sinks and 2 tumble driers. There is also an iron/ironing board and a cooker which is available to use (handy if the gas bottle runs out). The toilets and utilities rooms are always kept clean and tidy.

Electricity is paid for by what you use and is easy to work out at 18 pence per unit. This often works out cheaper than paying a standard charge. We stayed for a week and due to weather had the 2000 watt hot air heater on most evenings and mornings (and through the night) and paid only 18 for the whole week.

The pitches (all electric serviced) are of a decent size and well looked after, slightly on a gradient but nothing to sinister that either a tent or caravan would notice that much.

If visiting please make sure and take plenty of change as the utilities all use pound coins and the showers take 20 pence pieces. However this is excellent value for money.

If quiet and secluded are what you are after then the Walled Garden is the place for you. However you are not very far from the large towns of Ayr (nice beaches) and Kilmarnock (good shopping) if you want more to see and do.

We had another great week here and would thoroughly recommend a visit.

Date of Visit: July 2013 Unit:  Static Rating:
Reviewer: Yorkshire lassie 1 review from this member

I would like to point out to readers of this forum that when beachbums visited the site in April it was just after the proprieter had been taken to hospital with a broken pelvis. Relief wardens were soon in place, and the toilets and facilities were always in an immaculate condition. I am also surprised about an earlier comment about noise at 3am, as there is a strict rule when leaving the hall about not making any noise at all to disturb other campers. We have been visiting this site for over seven years and cannot find fault with it at all, the people are friendly, the position is excellent for walking, visiting other areas of Scotland and shopping. Nothing is too much trouble for Jim, Brian, George and others too numerous to mention.

Date of Visit: July 2013 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Oliver10 1 review from this member

Just returned from the Walled Garden Caravan and Camping park in Ayrshire and had to let everyone know about this fantastic wee gem of a place! From the minute you arrive on site, Jim, the owner and Hugh and Linda the park caretakers can't do enough to help you settle in comfortably. We had plenty of room on our pitch for our tent and didn't feel crammed in close to other tents. We were given a tour of all the facilities on site and were impressed with how spotless the toilets and showers were. There is also a laundry room with coin-operated washers and dryers adjacent to a large kitchen area and you can use the fridge and freezer to store your food and you can even use the cooker if you don't fancy cooking in your tent! They really have thought of everything to make your stay memorable and there is a well equipped children's playpark and a games room with television. We had a leak in our tent on the second night and everyone on site helped out to make sure we were wind and watertight and able to enjoy our holiday, so thanks for that guys it really was the most relaxing holiday we hoped for and we have already booked to go back in a few weeks time. Can't recommend this beautiful place enough you really must see it for yourself.

Date of Visit: July 2013 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Chope 1 review from this member

It was a pleasure to holiday at this site. The owner jim is a gem. The wardens are exceptional and the regulars are the salt of the earth(john and Gladys). The toilets and shower block were always immaculate and clean. There is a recreation room with table tennis, pool, table football, books and a television. Children can play in the park and green secure area. Jim was extremely helpful with ideas of places to visit and dine out. We were made to feel part of the community and would return without hesitation.

Do join in with the community get-togethers in the hall, very entertaining and a true taste of scottish hospitality. Visit culzean castle and willie wastle resteraunt.

The Hope family.

Date of Visit: April 2013 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: Beachbums 7 reviews from this member

This is the second time we have visited this site, the last was a couple of years ago. The site seems to have went downhill after our last visit which is a pity. Have to agree with fiferfolk about the toilets, they are still in the same state. According to some of the people we met the site is not open all year now. Not as many visitors either. There are many better sites in the area, Girvan, Barrhill, and culzean castle, cheaper as well so have a look at them. It is a real shame as the site is in a lovely location. We wont be back.

Previous     60 Review in total, now showing 1 to 6      Next

Save to Virtual Brochure  Add this Site to your Virtual Brochure                                Share  Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Submit your Review for a chance to Win Prizes!
Sponsored by the Caravan ClubSubmit a review to UKCampsite.co.uk of any caravan park or campsite, for a chance to win a caravan towing course or motorhome manoeuvring course worth up to 145, or 100 of Amazon vouchers, courtesy of The Caravan Club. Join the Club for just 44 per year to enjoy access to a great range of caravan sites, benefits and special offers.

If you've visited this site, then please submit a review for a chance to win.

Try our town listings   -   Other Sites in Ayrshire   -   Search for a site

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a Clarke IG22000 2.2kW Generator worth 467.98! Visit the UKCS shop for exclusive discounts and offers

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Truckfest Peterborough
Exciting family entertainment, and you can make a full long weekend of them, by camping on site!Plus win tickets!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


5587 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend  -  Pensions Auto-enrolment

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews]  [Facebook]

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2014




0.0625