Home

   Log in or Register

Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Woodhall Spa Camping And Caravanning Club Site

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > UK > England > East Anglia > Lincolnshire > Site Reviews

Woodhall Spa Camping And Caravanning Club Site
Wellsyke Lane
Kirkby On Bain
Woodhall Spa
Lincolnshire   (Browse area)
LN10 6YU   See Map                                 Share Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook
Tel: 01526 352911

Facilities:  (Key)
           

Nearby:
1m  1m  1m 
Featured Site

Pitches: 90
Open: 01 Apr 2014 - 03 Nov 2014

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 66 Reviews
              8/10 from 66 Reviews


Units accepted:    Tents  Caravans  Motorhomes 

Photos (6)

Reviews:  66 in total, now showing 1 to 6                 Previous 6          Next 6
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11  

Date of Visit: September 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Tom Thumb 29 reviews from this member

We nearly did not stay on this site after reading some reviews, GLAD we did, wardens are so friendly and full of advice on what is worth visiting, one recommended a knitting wool shop to my wife and then let her borrow needles to knit the wool she bought.

Toilets and showers are old but clean and showers adjustable without push buttons.

Lots to see and do, I would recommend Woodhall Spa, Tattershall Castle and church which is home to 600 bats, but the best visit is East Kirby airfield where on some days you can watch a ww2 Lancaster bomber taxi along the runway, so much more to see and a lovely cafe, visit the chapel and see if you can leave without shedding a tear for the 850 aircrew from that airfield who died in the 2 years it was open. We will return.

Date of Visit: August 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Bob the dog 4 reviews from this member

Nice, tidy, clean and pretty site. Wardens friendly and helpful. Spacious pitches with plenty of room. Reception has some supplies such as milk, eggs, ice creams, etc. Mobile butcher comes to site twice a week. Play area for kids good, fairly new. Pond on site with ducks and other wildlife. Showers and toilets very clean. The site was peaceful all day when we were there and it was about two-thirds full. Would highly recommend. We will return.

Date of Visit: August 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Les and Jenny 8 reviews from this member

Our first time at this site and it won't be the last. Pitches are placed intelligently where no caravan directly impinges on its neighbours. A beautifully maintained site with a pretty lake with families of ducks (quiet versions). We chose hard standing for the 'van in quiet woodland although an open field site was on offer. We experienced a friendly atmosphere within superb facilities for our visit during the '40s weekend.

Date of Visit: May 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: NLMS 11 reviews from this member

Stayed here for the May half term break. A fairly typical Camping and Caravanning Club site in terms of its feel. The wash blocks are the weakest part of the site. In spite of cleaning they get grass and muck in them very easily, and they are starting to look well used. When the site is full there aren't enough showers which only contributes to the over use.

Some great cycling around, including an off road cycle route from Boston to Lincoln which passes a couple of miles away.

Overall we had a good week there and would have no hesitation in returning.

Date of Visit: September 2012 Unit:  Other Rating:
Reviewer: Sungal 2 reviews from this member

The last outing for our Conway Cruiser folding camper as we have had enough of chilly September holidays & this one was a bit breezy - upgraded to caravan within a month!

Lovely site with excellent clean facilities - bought wifi but it was a bit dodgy at our pitch (in far corner)- some great walks nearby for nature reserves & good access by car to Bomber country (our reason for going). Woodhall Spa village a bit of a hike so you'll need transport if you want to pop into it for shopping. Excellent baker and butchers selling great Lincolnshire produce. Butcher also came to the campsite.

Excellent pub nearby serving very good food.

Date of Visit: September 2012 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Madhouse007 6 reviews from this member

We booked this site as we had heard so much about Woodhall Spa, and this appeared to be the closest site.

We pre-selected our pitch online which is a great feature and we were absolutely delighted. The wardens were very friendly, lending us a wrench to change our gas as I'd left ours at home and checking back that we were happily pitched.

There are a couple of fantastic dog walks on site, which are well thought out and we were able to let ours off lead as there was no-one else around.

The pitches are enormous, if this site was in France, they'd manage to squeeze at least 3 units onto each pitch! All seem to have water / waste / electricity.

The toilet/shower facilities are immaculately clean however the water is very hot, my youngest (11) refused a shower on the last morning, preferring to wait until he got home.

The football field was well received by our boys but there are areas of open water - if your child can't swim then you will need to supervise. There's also a small shop on site which stocked most basics (but no bread on Sunday).

The walk into Woodhall Spa is very pleasant and I disagree with a previous review that there isn't a footpath. If you exit the site at the front gate, there is a path which runs behind the hedge, away from the road for around half a mile. It isn't paved and you would struggle with a pushchair but it does offer some shelter from what is a very fast, if not very busy road. From then it is footpath all the way.

There's a lovely pub right outside the site which does close on Saturday afternoon, the only other pub was the one in the village which was very busy and not particularly pleasant.

If you want a site which is closer to the village, there is a very busy one behind Jubilee Park, but be warned, I think every pitch was full and lots and lots of kids when we had a wander - great if you've got young ones, not if you haven't.

However, this means that this site is peaceful and has fantastic open skies, if rather a lot of midgies!

Is on our 'return to' list for sure.

Previous     66 Review in total, now showing 1 to 6      Next

Save to Virtual Brochure  Add this Site to your Virtual Brochure                                Share  Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Submit your Review for a chance to Win Prizes!
Sponsored by the Caravan ClubSubmit a review to UKCampsite.co.uk of any caravan park or campsite, for a chance to win a caravan towing course or motorhome manoeuvring course worth up to 145, or 100 of Amazon vouchers, courtesy of The Caravan Club. Join the Club for just 44 per year to enjoy access to a great range of caravan sites, benefits and special offers.

If you've visited this site, then please submit a review for a chance to win.

Try our town listings   -   Other Sites in Lincolnshire   -   Search for a site

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a Clarke IG22000 2.2kW Generator worth 467.98! Visit the UKCS shop for exclusive discounts and offers

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Truckfest Peterborough
Exciting family entertainment, and you can make a full long weekend of them, by camping on site!Plus win tickets!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


5481 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend  -  Pensions Auto-enrolment

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews]  [Facebook]

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2014




0.0498