Home

   Log in or Register

Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Graffham Camping And Caravanning Club Site

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > UK > England > South East > West Sussex > Site Reviews

Graffham Camping And Caravanning Club Site
Great Bury
Graffham
Petworth
West Sussex   (Browse area)
GU28 0QF   See Map                                 Share Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook
Tel: 01798 867476

Facilities:  (Key)
          

Nearby:
1m 
Featured Site

Pitches: 90
Open: 01 Apr 2014 - 03 Nov 2014

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 97 Reviews
              8/10 from 97 Reviews


Units accepted:    Tents  Caravans  Motorhomes Caravan Storage Storage 

Special Offer available to UKCampsite.co.uk visitors - see here.

Photos (6) and Video

Reviews:  97 in total, now showing 1 to 6                 Previous 6          Next 6
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14   15   16   17  

Date of Visit: June 2014 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Pamzee 17 reviews from this member

Absolute bliss, what more can I say. Beautiful peaceful woodland site, nice little enclosed pitches, service block good. Helpful warden helped me out by shortening a tent pole I needed for a repair. Friendly robins come scrounging for tit bits, and one evening a tiny mouse came trotting up. If I lived nearer I would go every weekend! You just need to be careful not to trip over the tree roots - the route to the loos is not named 'The Wright Way' for no reason. Bit out in the sticks so there is quite a bit of driving to get anywhere, but Petworth is nearby and is a charming little town with NT Petworth House also worth visiting. Also I really enjoyed the Weald and Downland Museum which is nearby. Loved it.

Date of Visit: June 2014 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: MOWWD 3 reviews from this member

An unusual site but really quite enjoyably different. The pitches don't get much sunshine as there are so many trees and mature rhododendrons which were in flower on my visit and looked very pretty. As previously mentioned in other reviews no grass just dirt/mud to pitch on which was fine but then again it was dry for the few days I was there, I imagine it is difficult keeping your tent clean if you get a lot of rain. It is a fantastic site if you have your dogs with you, National trust plantation next to site through which you can access further woodland walks but the plantation itself was large. Dogs off lead except beware of cattle grazing. A lot within a short drive. Visited the Wildfowl and Wetland Trust in Arundel (no dogs allowed here), boat trip on lake there to spot water voles which we did. Obviously the Castle there and a nice lake and riverside walk. West Dean Gardens was worth a visit and dogs are allowed for the first time this year. Apart from the lovely gardens which included a sunken garden and a 300ft long pergola there was also a long walk through the arboretum which I imagine would be beautiful come autumn. I should like to return to this site again in the future.

Date of Visit: May 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Timetravellers 3 reviews from this member

This is very much a woodland site. The pitches are set amongst the trees, some are single pitches, others are in twos or threes. Some are very secluded whilst from others you can see several other units. If offered a choice of pitches it would be worth checking out what is available as they do vary. Some pitches are slightly sloping, others were on platforms which would be helpful for campers. Some are quite a way from the facilities and as it is pitch dark at night this might make trips to the toilet block a little challenging. We were glad we had our own loo set up. The facilities were clean and as the site was quiet there were no problems. However, there were only 3 showers for ladies and 3 for gents so at busy times you might need to bear this in mind, especially as they're are closed for cleaning from10. 30 til 12. 00. Other toilets are available at this time. Although we had a grass pitch there was not much grass, mostly bare earth. Children would easily be out of sight here and there is no large area for them to play in but if they are old enough they would love playing here as it is a big natural adventure playground.

The staff who welcomed us were friendly and helpful. The site was easy to find but we are glad we had looked at the streeview on google maps and had come from the A285. The last bit up the track from the lane could do with some repair work but is OK. There is a farm shop on the main road towards Petworth. This was well stocked and the meat and veg we bought there were good quality. Lots of local produce too. We preferred this to the Graffham village shop which also seemed pricier but as Graffham is in walking distance this is very handy. The village pub was not open through the afternoon whilst we were here and this seems common for pubs around here. Walkers might want to phone ahead to pubs they might want to stop off in to avoid disappointment!

Date of Visit: May 2014 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Kimrobinett 3 reviews from this member

This is a lovely site set in woods with beautiful countryside all around it. We visited on a bank holiday weekend and it was very quiet.

Our pitch was near the road but it didn't cause us any concern despite having young children (aged 4 & 5). They enjoyed wondering off to find the rope swings and play with sticks. The faculties were kept very clean and tidy throughout our stay.

We walked to the village both days we were there. Its a lovely walk through fields and so perfect for dogs as plenty of off lead time. There is also a play area in the village which the children enjoyed. The walk took us 50 minutes each way.

The only negative points would be that the shower pressure isn't very good (but is hot) and it would be useful to have more sinks in the toilet block nearest reception (as people were using the washing up sinks to brush their teeth!)

Date of Visit: April 2014 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Markphelan 11 reviews from this member

We visited the site for a weekend whilst attending a course.

Finding the site was the tricky bit, it's a little way outside of Graffham but if you keep going along the road North out of the village you will eventually find a sign pointing down a rough track which takes you there.

The site is very nicely laid out - many of the pitches are hidden away from other campers and you can park right alongside your pitch.

The toilets and showers were kept clean (even over the bank holiday weekend) and there was plenty of hot water for both the showers and the washing up sinks.

The village of Graffham is a short walk back down the road and the Foresters Arms has some great beers and serves good food but it's only open lunch and dinner time. We were disappointed not to be able to sink a cold pint after an afternoon of walking, but it's a great area to explore and the shop seems popular and stocks most essentials.

The staff were helpful, and got us checked in and on our pitch nice and quickly.

It's a pity they won't allow BBQs, though I can understand the reasons given the location. We had rather hoped to be able to use ours which has a lid and is pretty deep (I even packed some bricks to protect the ground!) and there was some confusion when I checked with the C&CC office as they said that it would not be a problem. Thankfully we had packed our gas stove but did have to rethink our dinner plans slightly!

Our dog was very impressed with the site too and had a great time sniffing and exploring (on his lead of course!).

Date of Visit: April 2014 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Cybercamperat 7 reviews from this member

What a marvellous campsite tucked away in the woodland!

Blink and you will miss the entrance! The turning is beside a house called The Potteries and it is marked with a Camping and Caravan Club signpost. The site is up the track that looks like it leads just to fields but don't be put off as it soon reveals itself on your right hand side.

The site wardens were incredibly helpful and personified 'the friendly club'. The reception has a little shop with key supplies and ice cream - unfortunately it wasn't the weather for it!

The pitches are carved out of the woodland and very roomy. They seemed to be mainly sand with some grass (in clearings) and we found our rock pegs worked best. Despite rotten weather - rain and wind we were well sheltered by the woods.

The main facilities are spotlessly cleaned. Ladies had 3 showers which although not the most powerful were warm. There were also loos, sinks and separate washrooms. I am told the gentleman's facilities had a similar set-up. There was also a parent and child room.

The dish washing area was indoors and had some interesting information about the history of the campsite in addition to local attraction leaflets. The laundry had sinks and washer/dryer.

There is a 2nd more traditional block near the site entrance with loo's and sinks plus a dishwash area. Bins and recycle again by the entrance.

There is site wifi but we didn't try it this time. We could get good O2 and EE signal across most of the site but data was a bit hit or miss.

There are nice walks not just around the site but public footpaths right on the doorstep. The site feels safe and our young lad really enjoyed the freedom of being able to play in the woods whilst we could easily keep an eye on him from our pitch.

Don't come here if you are a fan of well manicured, flat, green pitches and lots of on-site facilities. Do come here if you love woodland, birdsong and a spot of indulgent escapism.

Previous     97 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 6      Next

Save to Virtual Brochure  Add this Site to your Virtual Brochure                                Share  Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Submit your Review for a chance to Win Prizes!
Sponsored by the Caravan ClubSubmit a review to UKCampsite.co.uk of any caravan park or campsite, for a chance to win a caravan towing course or motorhome manoeuvring course worth up to 145, or 100 of Amazon vouchers, courtesy of The Caravan Club. Join the Club for just 44 per year to enjoy access to a great range of caravan sites, benefits and special offers.

If you've visited this site, then please submit a review for a chance to win.

Try our town listings   -   Other Sites in West Sussex   -   Search for a site

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a Wisport SilverFox 30L Rucksack Visit the UKCS shop for exclusive discounts and offers

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Tribfest Music Festival 14/08 to 17/08 East Yorkshire
An affordable, fantastic weekend away listening to some great live Top tribute bands. Claim discounted entry!!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


6301 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend  -  Pensions Auto-enrolment

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews]  [Facebook]

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2014






0.0430