Home

   Log in or Register
   
Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Salisbury Hillside Caravan Club Site ( Hillside )

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > UK > England > South West > Wiltshire > Site Reviews

Salisbury Hillside Caravan Club Site ( Hillside )
Andover Road
Lopcombe
Salisbury
Wiltshire   (Browse area)
SP5 1BY   See Map                                 Share Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook
Tel: 01980 862527

Facilities:  (Key)
           

Nearby:
5m  5m  1m 
Featured Site

Pitches: 46
Open: 04/04/2014 To 06/10/2014

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 12 Reviews
              8/10 from 12 Reviews


Units accepted:   No Tents  Caravans  Motorhomes 

Photos (4) and Video

Reviews:  12 in total, now showing 1 to 6                 Previous 6          Next 6
Jump to Page   1   2  

Date of Visit: July 2014 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Alphapets 4 reviews from this member

Chose this site as it is listed as dog friendly. I would chose to say it is dog tolerant only. It is well patrolled by the 4 x wardens, who on one occasion asked me to tether my dog who was fast asleep. On one other occasion our indiscretion was because a warden did not like my dog urinating near a flower bed.

On the flip side children are allowed to cycle and skateboard against the one way system. On previous sites this has resulted in one child being knocked down. Dogs can be walked down a very narrow path.

The site is lovely in itself, with isolated pitches surrounded by overhanging trees. The toilets are spotless and clean. An ideal site for families with children. Not far from the main road behind a car dealership and garage.

Date of Visit: July 2013 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Jfa110n 14 reviews from this member

It's a Caravan Club Site so you know its going to be well kept and clean! located on the side of a hill so a bit steep up to the showers and toilets especially if you are at the bottom of the hill as we were. Our pitch was almost level and the rest looked pretty level too. Some pitches were delightfully secluded and private. A bit out of Salisbury (about 6 miles) so you will need a car or plenty of energy to get there but they have a good park and ride system - although we drove into the centre and parked in the large central car park with no problem. Salisbury is a Lovely place which reminded us of York. We would probably try to get in the Caravan and camping Club site if we went again because it is much nearer.

Date of Visit: May 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: FreddyBB 2 reviews from this member

Having passed Salisbury on numerous occasions we decided to make the city our first visit this year.

The Hillside Caravan Club site was a delight and even when full to capacity we did not feel crowded in any way. The facilities were a joy and the staff went out of their way to make us feel welcome.

On our way into the city we had noticed the Park & Ride facilities and decided to use the bus. What a good move. Armed with our Senior Citizen Bus Passes we had a free ride and no parking charges. Salisbury is a delightful market town and the river side walks were delightful. So many places to see in the area, good shops in Salisbury and a host of good places to eat.

Without doubt we shall be returning to Salisbury and the Hillside Club site soon.

Date of Visit: September 2011 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Malc1 7 reviews from this member

A very well kept fairly smallish site. New amenities block kept n immaculate order as expected for caravan club.

The pitches are spread around a hilly area in small glades and are very secluded.

The roadway (one way) is narrow and needs care.

The wardens are very helpful and outgoing and obviously enjoy their tenure.

No children's facilities and the nearest shops are in Salisbury some 6 miles away.

The army air museum is a little way along the road towards Andover (Middle Wallop).

We visited in the 'value season' and found £51 for 3 nights a tad expensive for mid September.

The motorhome point is on the 'wrong side' for continental vans, a turn around and reverse operation is required for n/s mounted drain taps.

Date of Visit: April 2011 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Louish 5 reviews from this member

Booked this site late for the Easter Bank holiday break and stayed 4 nights.

This is a lovely small site with mostly groups of 4 to 5 vans in small alcoves (there are also a few areas with more vans). Most pitches have slight slopes but I didn't need any sort of levelling device.

We stayed near the bottom of the site (pitch 41) and it really is a very short walk (if you're able) up to the toilet block which was very well maintained. The size of the pitch was fine with our two berthed van, awning and kids awning annex. We had plenty of space to sit out in the evening and for the obligatory bbq.

There are lovely views of the rolling country side.

The dog walk was adjacent to the site and fine for our two dogs - you can walk down what seems like a footpath for a mile or so and there are a few open fields also.

In terms of location, we were about 6 miles from Salisbury and it felt like miles from anywhere. The shop sells only very basic items so you'll need to make sure that you're well stocked.

Salisbury traffic was terrible so avoid it if at all possible - we sat for 1/2 hour twice (admittedly on the Thursday afternoon before Easter and again on Easter Monday).

A word of warning, we drove to the site from Salisbury and missed the turning as it's just after the brow of a hill and sailed straight past it as it's not sign-posted until your at the site. It's about 2 miles down the road before you can turn.

Nothing on the site for kids but given that the New Forest is a short drive away it's not a problem. Mine are 12 & 8 and we had no problems keeping them occupied.

We visited Ober water (twice as it was so beautiful!) and Old Wardour castle (NT) where there are beautiful grounds for a picnic.

All in all, a site that I would recommend and return to.

Date of Visit: April 2011 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Rees MJ 12 reviews from this member

This is a very nice site as it states, on the side of a hill. It is particularly nice because it offers small areas of 3 or 4 pitches rather than one big site. Previous reviews have stated that it is a fair hike to the shower block. I do not agree but then I like walking. If you are older and prefer not to walk then you will need a pitch on the green at the top of the hill.

This site for me is one that we will visit for a long weekend maximum. We only live 1hr away so it was a nice break for us, but I wouldn't like to stay there much longer due to having to travel to see POI's.

There is a dog walk to the side of the site, which I can imagine will get quite overgrown in the summer months.

A nice dog walk is at Danebury hill fort about 10 mins down the road.

All in all a great little site and we will definitely be going back. I can't judge the toilet blocks etc as we use our own.

Previous     12 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 6      Next

Save to Virtual Brochure  Add this Site to your Virtual Brochure                                Share  Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Submit your Review for a chance to Win Prizes!
Sponsored by the Caravan ClubSubmit a review to UKCampsite.co.uk of any caravan park or campsite, for a chance to win a caravan towing course or motorhome manoeuvring course worth up to £145, or £100 of Amazon vouchers, courtesy of The Caravan Club. Join the Club for just £44 per year to enjoy access to a great range of caravan sites, benefits and special offers.

If you've visited this site, then please submit a review for a chance to win.

Try our town listings   -   Other Sites in Wiltshire   -   Search for a site

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a Sleepy - The Wearable Sleeping Bag! Visit the UKCS shop for exclusive discounts and offers

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Manchester Caravan & Motorhome Show 15 to 18/01/15
Start the season with a trip to the North’s biggest outdoor leisure show. Win 10 pairs of tickets or claim discount entry

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


1995 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend  -  Pensions Auto-enrolment

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2014






0.1016