Home

   Log in or Register
   
Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Morn Hill Caravan Club Site

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > UK > England > South East > New Forest & Hampshire > Site Reviews

Morn Hill Caravan Club Site
Morn Hill
Winchester
Hampshire   (Browse area)
SO21 1HL   See Map                                 Share Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook
Tel: 01962 869877

Facilities:  (Key)
         

Nearby:
5m  5m 10m  5m  5m  10m   5m  1m 
Featured Site

Pitches: 113
Open: 28/03/2014 To 03/11/2014

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 44 Reviews
              8/10 from 44 Reviews


Units accepted:    Tents  Caravans  Motorhomes 

Photos (6) and Video

Reviews:  44 in total, now showing 1 to 6                 Previous 6          Next 6
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8  

Date of Visit: July 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Jillhomeuk 14 reviews from this member

Nice site.

We were pitched on the lower level site. Right at the bottom. Nice pitch, but a steep climb to the loo's. Not a problem if you are fit and able though.

Facilities were clean, and waste and water very convieniently located.

Very convienient for the Winchester Science Centre, where we spent a whole day. Fabulous.

Only slight gripe was about the fish and chip van. Husband went off to get the tea on Friday. Was away ages, I questioned if they had sent him out to actually catch the fish. When he did return, the fish and chips were not of a very good standard. Might just be me, but can't stand soggy fish and chips.

I rated this site fairly low on child friendliness. No specific facilities for children, but mainly because the split location means to get to the shop etc, they have to navigate the road. Shame there is no path between the lower and upper sections. I guess there are issues with rights of way etc. OK for kids for a weekend though!

Date of Visit: July 2014 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Cazzie62 2 reviews from this member

Fantastic site, wonderful clean facilities. Loads of showers and laundry facilities, the whole site was beautifully maintained and spotless. Small shop and local maps available. Close to winchester with local bus nearby. Staff were very friendly and couldn't do enough to help. Would certainly stay again and highly recommend.

Date of Visit: September 2013 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: Tlck9 29 reviews from this member

We joined the caravan club in order to get the reduced rates, and the nightly rate was only £15, so 4 nights would have got our membership for the 12 months back!

The wardens on duty were very helpful, cant fault their service.

The site is split in two, very bizarre, but has toilet/shower facilities on both halves. Facilities were clean and showers were hot. All within easy access of most of the pitches.

The pitches were mostly level and only needed slight chocking.

Ideally situation for Winchester. We managed to find parking in Winchester for a larger campervan which was ideal but I understood from the wardens that there was a bus route close by.

Sadly the pub that used to be at the entrance is now a kitchen showroom.

Would I stay again. Yes.

Value for money. Yes

Clean/Tidy Yes

Helpful staff - very

Please note I'm very critical, location would only get a 9/10 if it were overlooking some fantastic view and facilities if it were heated floors /ultra modern facilities - so please take my ratings with a pinch of salt.

Date of Visit: September 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: TheMadMonk 2 reviews from this member

A well kept site oddly split into two halves by a private access road that runs down the middle. I stopped in the 'top field' by the reception and shop which is nicely surrounded by flowering baskets. The shop is ideal for last minute (or as in my case panic) buys; Tesco and Sainsbury superstores are not far away. Both fields are accessed via security barriers.

The site is adjacent to the A31 which, in the summer months, must sound very similar to the TT route on the Isle of Man - clearly a popular motorbike area. That said come darkness it does quieter down. Winchester is 'just down the road' and is well worth a walk round. Access on to the motorway network is easy.

The toilet and shower block are adequate, though perhaps in need of an update. When I was there (September 2013) there was a notice to the effect that renovations would be done in the closed season.

The wardens were super - a quick wave and smile and always there to answer questions. I don't think they were locals but their local knowledge was excellent - even down to knowing bus times and costs to get into Winchester.

A fish and chip van comes on a Friday (I hope it does next year!) and these were gorgeous! What a treat and, to top it all, freshly cooked croissants are available on Saturday mornings in the shop. Who mentioned a diet?!

I walked round the 'bottom field' before I left just to get an idea of facilities there. Very similar to the top field - showers, toilets, washing up area etc etc and more flowers - all looked after by a second set of wardens. This is a quieter field, further away from the main road, this field also protected by a security barrier.

Both fields are nicely laid out without adjacent pitches not too close, the nice curves giving a pleasing look to the layout - the result is that one doesn't get the impression of over crowding.

Given that Caravan Club fees make a big difference to the overnight cost, value for money is excellent. I will be back in 2014.

Date of Visit: September 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Tonkarav 4 reviews from this member

Spent 4 nights here early in Sept. Loved the site, very peaceful (dispite the A31). It had the feel of camping years ago, very relaxed and friendly. The Wardens were great, they had made a real effort to make the site look colourful and welcoming with lts of hanging baskets that looked great. Yes, the facilities are dated but they were kept clean and the Wardens did the best they could with them. The bus service to Winchester was very convenient and The Golden Lion pub was very nice with god food and friendly service. Will definitely be paying another visit.

Date of Visit: August 2013 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: HermanHymer 8 reviews from this member

Stayed twice last year en route to and from the Portsmouth ferry. Very clean, well maintained site, wardens efficient, friendly and helpful.

Glad to read from another poster that the older, lower field bathrooms are to be renovated. There had been extensive delays caused, they said, by waiting on approvals from planning. Short walk to bus stop to Winchester - what a lovely city that is and so interesting. Recommend the city walk with tour guide from the Tourist Office (near the bus station). There are a number of options. Don't remember how much the fee was but not pricey. Lovely pub meal at the Golden Lion just down the road. Really convenient for a short drive down to the port.

Previous     44 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 6      Next

Save to Virtual Brochure  Add this Site to your Virtual Brochure                                Share  Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Submit your Review for a chance to Win Prizes!
Sponsored by the Caravan ClubSubmit a review to UKCampsite.co.uk of any caravan park or campsite, for a chance to win a caravan towing course or motorhome manoeuvring course worth up to £145, or £100 of Amazon vouchers, courtesy of The Caravan Club. Join the Club for just £44 per year to enjoy access to a great range of caravan sites, benefits and special offers.

If you've visited this site, then please submit a review for a chance to win.

Try our town listings   -   Other Sites in Hampshire   -   Search for a site

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a Sleepy - The Wearable Sleeping Bag! Visit the UKCS shop for exclusive discounts and offers

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Manchester Caravan & Motorhome Show 15 to 18/01/15
Start the season with a trip to the North’s biggest outdoor leisure show. Win 10 pairs of tickets or claim discount entry

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


4532 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend  -  Pensions Auto-enrolment

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2014






0.1094