Home

   Log in or Register

Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Sandringham Camping And Caravanning Club Site

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > UK > England > East Anglia > Norfolk > Site Reviews

Sandringham Camping And Caravanning Club Site
The Sandringham Estate
Double Lodges
Sandringham
Norfolk   (Browse area)
PE35 6EA   See Map                                 Share Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook
Tel: 01485 542555

Facilities:  (Key)
             

Nearby:
1m  1m  1m 
Featured Site

Pitches: 275
Open: 13 Feb 2014 - 17 Nov 2014

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 114 Reviews
              8/10 from 114 Reviews


Units accepted:    Tents  Caravans  Motorhomes Caravan Storage Storage 

Photos (4)

Reviews:  114 in total, now showing 1 to 6                 Previous 6          Next 6
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14   15   16   17   18   19  

Date of Visit: October 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Lindilou2013 6 reviews from this member

This really is a wonderfully secluded rural site. Rural means exactly that it says on the tin; you get wild animals and birds all around you! We enjoyed rabbit watching and bird watching (including pigeons!) all from the comfort of our unit.

Our welcome was warm and friendly. We had booked a grass pitch but rain had been heavy that day and more was forecast, so we swapped for hard standing and basically chose out own pitch. Had a couple of queries during our 5 day stay and these were always handled in a friendly and polite manner. The staff worked hard keeping the facilities spotless.

The site is huge but doesn't feel it and it is incredibly quiet and peaceful. I should imagine that even when fully booked that the site would be peaceful and feel spacious as it is laid out so well.

We experienced very heavy rain whilst staying but the site appears well drained and within an hour or so of the rain ceasing, puddles were clearing.

The shop is well stocked but Dersingham is only a couple of miles down the road with two supermarkets and local shops such as a butchers and two pubs.

The fish and chip van had ceased its visits for the winter!

Lots of lovely walks right on the doorstep on the Sandringham Estate and cycling is lovely and flat.

This is a CCC site and it's an expensive one and an expense that is set to increase now that the club's new variable rates have been published for 2014. Whether you think it's value for money is another matter.

We enjoyed the site and our stay and will be returning for autumnal bird watching next year.

Date of Visit: August 2013 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Woodya10 5 reviews from this member

Having read all the positive reviews of the Sandringham site we decided to spend our 10 day summer holiday there. The site itself is huge, the biggest we’ve ever been to and by far the most expensive. Due to the size of our tent we had to opt for a jumbo pitch, which as it turns out are as far away from anything as you can get. We were tucked away in the far corner on a slopping pitch under trees – not ideal for camping. Firstly we had to clear our pitch from hundreds of dropped pine cones. Admittedly, being so far away from anyone meant that our stay was incredibly quite, apart from the incessant sound of the Wood Pigeons. Our pitch was well protected from the wind as we were placed under trees, however the persistent problem of pigeons deciding to use our tent, not only a perch, but as a toilet, was a constant issue. This was the first time that we have had to completely clean our tent when we returned home.

During our 10 day stay not once did we see any members of staff walking round or indeed cleaning any shower/toilet blocks. Indeed our nearest toilet block (furthest away from reception) always had a grubby feel to it. The only other major issue was our close vicinity to the sewage tanks, which always smelt. Fortunately for most of our stay we were upwind of the smell, but a poor couple were actually placed right next to it, which couldn’t have been pleasant.

In summary : a very large, quiet camp site ideally suited to caravans, but not tents, which appears to have grown far too large to be able to be managed well by the staff.

Unfortunately I feel I could not recommend this site to any other campers (tents) when in fairly close proximity is the Thetford Forest site which is a great deal better.

Date of Visit: July 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Marclewis 13 reviews from this member

This is the nearest caravan site to Sandringham House and its a lovely site amongst the forest. The 3 shower & toilet blocks were all very good, but only 2 has an Elsan emptying point, so it can be a long walk for a large site. The wardens were all very friendly and show you to your pitch. One word about some pitches. They are close to septic waste area and it can be smelly.

Other than that a great site that I would go back to again.

Date of Visit: June 2013 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: Teraivyyr 3 reviews from this member

Absolutely and utterly palatial site, but decidedly expensive (we paid extra not being club members. ) Very welcoming and helpful. Toilets spotless (even fresh flowers!) and showers excellent, which was great after a weekend at a wet and muddy festival. There was even a washing line with pegs supplied. We would like to go again and cycle round the woods and park, and are contemplating joining the club.

Date of Visit: June 2013 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Chegre 3 reviews from this member

This is a friendly site - the wardens were really helpful, even offering to get me a bottle of wine when they popped out as the shop didn't stock alcohol! And they were really helpful when selecting a pitch. They didn't seem to mind at all if people wanted to change. It is great for nature lovers with all the woodland walks and the Sandringham estate to enjoy, and wonderful for families. Lots of paths around the site kept my kids really happy on their bikes for hours. The older kids were making dens in the woods and there were two playgrounds as well. We loved watching the bunnies playing around the trees and spotted deer in the woods by the entrance. The facilities are top notch - extremely clean and I do like a shower with a bench and space to hang your clothes and change. Even the wash basins had a curtain for privacy. The shop is small - but it was very well-stocked with local produce and camp basics. This site is of the quality you'd expect from a C&C Club Site - yes, it's more expensive for non-members but it's worth it. The only downside was pollen coming from the trees which coated our tent with yellow powder so bring hayfever tablets!

Date of Visit: June 2013 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Madita 4 reviews from this member

This is a beautiful site, with much space between the pitches. An informal layout, excellent facilities, good play areas, efficient and welcoming staff. Plenty of clean toilets and free showers and really perfect in every way, except the price, which is very steep (over £34. 00 for three of us for one night with caravan club discount. I feel that this is too much despite the excellent facilities and considering that we had paid no more than £22. 00 for every other campsite we visited during the same week throughout East Anglia.

Previous     114 Review in total, now showing 1 to 6      Next

Save to Virtual Brochure  Add this Site to your Virtual Brochure                                Share  Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Submit your Review for a chance to Win Prizes!
Sponsored by the Caravan ClubSubmit a review to UKCampsite.co.uk of any caravan park or campsite, for a chance to win a caravan towing course or motorhome manoeuvring course worth up to £145, or £100 of Amazon vouchers, courtesy of The Caravan Club. Join the Club for just £44 per year to enjoy access to a great range of caravan sites, benefits and special offers.

If you've visited this site, then please submit a review for a chance to win.

Try our town listings   -   Other Sites in Norfolk   -   Search for a site

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a Clarke IG22000 2.2kW Generator worth £467.98! Visit the UKCS shop for exclusive discounts and offers

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Truckfest Peterborough
Exciting family entertainment, and you can make a full long weekend of them, by camping on site!Plus win tickets!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


4058 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend  -  Pensions Auto-enrolment

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews]  [Facebook]

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2014




0.0527