Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Lucksall Caravan & Camping Park

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > UK > England > Central > Herefordshire > Site Reviews

Lucksall Caravan & Camping Park
Mordiford
Hereford
Herefordshire   (Browse area)
HR1 4LP   See Map                                 Share Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook
Tel: 01432 870213

Facilities:  (Key)
                      

Nearby: (within x miles)
5m   10m 
Featured Site

Pitches: 145
Open: 1st March - 30th November

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 173 Reviews
              9/10 from 173 Reviews


Units accepted:    Tents  Caravans  Motorhomes  Statics for Hire  Statics on Sale  Glamping 

This site has chosen to use the availability calendar. You can check for availability here.

Special Offer available to UKCampsite.co.uk visitors - see here.

Photos (24)

Reviews:  173 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14   15   16   17   18  

Write your own Review for a chance to Win £300 of Prizes!
Sponsored by Ordnance SurveyWin a £300 Prize Package including £100 of Amazon vouchers, courtesy of our sponsor Ordnance Survey If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Further info and prize details here

Date of Visit: November 2017 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Dragon56 13 reviews from this member

Just returned home after another break at this lovely site. Considering it's almost time for the site to close for the season everything is looking immaculate. The grass and shrubs were still all looking as if it was still summer. We caught the bus into Hereford for the day from the bus stop right outside the site which is handy if you do not want to move your unit. We travel almost 200 miles to this area and its well worth it. See you soon.

Date of Visit: September 2017 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: David Klyne 196 reviews from this member

To Find Site:- From Hereford take B4224 towards Mordiford, continue past the Moon Pub and the site is about three quarters of a mile further, watch out for the site on the right.

This site is situated about five miles out of Hereford alongside the River Wye. It is a very spacious site and in no sense would you feel crowded here. It also has some lovely landscaping with flowers and shrubs. The downside is that it can be a long walk from some pitches to the site facilities. The site is open from 1st March to the end of November. There is a mix of accommodation on site with a limited number of statics which are neatly placed in their own section. A few camping pods plus some pitches given over to seasonal use. This leaves around 170 pitches for touring purposes of which about 50 are on grass. All pitches are generously sized, on some hardstanding pitches there is room for caravan and awning and enough extra room to park two cars in front, plus a further grass area between pitches. The site also has some separate rally fields in addition to the touring pitches. Electric points are convenient to all pitches and they are rated at 16 amps a use CEE17 blue connectors. The site also has TV hook-up system which is free to use with your own cable. Water and waste water points are dotted around the site. There are three toilet blocks, the oldest block nearest reception and the other two spaced out along the site. They are of a good quality. There are also laundry facilities and covered dishwash areas. There is a good drive over motorhome waste point. For children there is an adventure style playground. Reception has a shop selling essentials and a few camping bits. Next door is a nice bar/café overlooking the river which does breakfasts and evening meals with a special roast selection on Sundays. There is WiFi in this immediate area of the site although they hope to have a site wide system installed over the winter of 2017/18. There seems very little lighting around the site so a torch would be worthwhile for the shorter days. Caravan and Motorhome Club members can claim a small reduction on site fees on production of their membership car.

Whilst I am sure this site will be used by many for a relaxing weekend break it is also very handy for a visit to Hereford. For those not wanting to use their own transport there is a bus service into the City from right outside the campsite gates. Just watch the return bus times. For offsite eating there are many restaurants in Hereford. For shopping there is a Waitrose and a Tesco in the centre and larger Asda on the way into the City.

Date of Visit: August 2017 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Brownsfriend 4 reviews from this member

A good quality site mixing statics, tents, motorhomes and caravans without much of a problem. Friendly staff, on site adequate shop and reasonable toilet/shower facilities. Very large and well mown grass pitches not so keen on the pea gravel beach look of the hard standings. Lots of greenery and flowers. Reasonably priced with a little extra for the riverside pitches (well worth it). Saw ducks, kingfisher, swans, bats, swallows, buzzards, water vole, jumping salmon and of course canoeists - lovely. On site restaurant - did not try but the crowds heading for Sunday fry up and then Sunday lunch obviously think its OK. Looks great for kids, v. Good play area and football area, good bike/scooter riding site roads! Dogs seen in profusion most owners responsible. Right on River Wye and canoe launching area at bottom of site and hiring available.

Only negatives - one idiot a couple of pitches down decides to play with his drone, buzzing over pitches and hovering with camera running - call me old fashioned but the noise and peeping tommery was not appreciated - pitch 9 you know who you are. Riverside pitches just a few feet from the bank of river with no path for those wanting to wander along bank - consequently campsite etiquette continually breeched as folk want to walk over your pitch, cables, chairs etc so they can walk along the river. Note to site owner provide a river viewing area to prevent this annoyance to those who paid extra for the riverside pitch. Apart from that nice feeling to the site with different client groups mixing well.

Would we go back - no - but not because of the site - mainly because the area is disappointing and roads around Hereford are clogged and potholed.

Date of Visit: July 2017 Unit:  Other Rating:
Reviewer: Radders58 6 reviews from this member

Just back after a 3 day stay the site is excellent we stayed in a pod, the river runs past the site canoeing and fishing are available for a fee. Staff were very helpful, toilets/showers spotless. Lawns well maintained, cafe on site serving breakfasts and evening meals.

Date of Visit: April 2017 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Teeekay 3 reviews from this member

What a great site if you want all the facilities, on the banks of the Severn surrounded with beautiful countryside and an immaculately kept site. The staff were exceptionally helpful and unobtrusively got on and kept the site just right. Good food available from the cafe and licensed bar plus a reasonable selection of essentials available in the shop. Toilet blocks were five star, including piped music! It's a big site but laid out with large pitches and plenty of screening. It was our first time after a 10 year break in camping. It is a dog friendly site and there are walks in the woods and the fields on footpaths. The site belongs to Williams Leisure and they have three other sites, all different. We went from this one to Orelton Rise which was at the other end of the size spectrum. Check our review there!

Date of Visit: March 2017 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: AdrianandHazel 4 reviews from this member

Excellent site, extremely well maintained, with thoughtful touches such as a hand-sanitiser dispenser by the chemical waste disposal. We used shower block 3, which was exemplary, warm and well-appointed, although ideally some pitches could be nearer to a shower block. Nice cafe/bar with a lot of local beers and ciders at reasonable prices. Poor TV reception in the area, but TV aerial plug-in points by the pitches, so you need a fairly long connector cable. Good size level pitches.

Date of Visit: November 2016 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Paulgough 8 reviews from this member

We had not visited Lucksall since the Spring but managed a November visit. Despite the month and the fact that the site closes at the end of November we were met with the same warm welcome and immaculate facilities.

The walks along the banks of the Wye were stunning yielding multiple kingfisher sightings, peregrine and incredibly 26 buzzards on the ground at one time. The mixed woodlands in view from the site were a blaze of colour in the late Autumn sun and the clear night skys sparkled with stars.

Our visit reminded us that this is a great site in a marvellous location.

Date of Visit: September 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Lavjan 10 reviews from this member

What can I add, I agree with all said.

Great site stayed 7 nights, hardstanding pitch by the river, caravan facing the river, nothing better than lying in bed and watching the water flow by. Loads of room around the van for awning and table and chairs outside + one large dog.

Excellent walks for the dog off site across fields and the woods across the road.

Had a great meal at 'The Green Man' Fownhope, local beef.

The 'Moon' at Mordiford is also good as too the 'Bunch of Carrots'. I didn't use the one site Café (too many chips!)

The site is cared for and all staff most helpful, thank you

Date of Visit: September 2016 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Nuevoboy 51 reviews from this member

Well, we booked some time in advance and found ourselves confined to the area of The Birches. Unfortunately, this section is between high trees, especially the ones (approx. 50 feet high) opposite the pitch, giving no view whatsoever.

There are only around a half a dozen here, so we felt really unlucky to be there, given that all other pitches have a lovely open feeling to them. The couple next to us asked to move several times but were told there was no room for several days.

It's a shame, because otherwise we felt the site was really good, well run and clean.

We were told when we were leaving to specify an area if we visited again, so have kept a copy of the site plan!

Date of Visit: September 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Foxy32 3 reviews from this member

Excellent site easy access just off the B4224, excellent location Hereford / Ledbury had a tour of Westons cider farm, also well worth a visit to the Hop Pocket Shopping Village really nice very interesting. Staff at the site were very helpful and pleasant, cafe and restaurant serves great food and drinks, on site shop where you can purchase most anything, sit back and relax watching the canoes on the river Wye, facilities very clean and well maintained, could have done with more than one refuge point, would visit again.

Previous     173 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Save to Virtual Brochure  Add this Site to your Virtual Brochure                                Share  Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write your own Review for a chance to Win £300 of Prizes!
Sponsored by Ordnance SurveyWin a £300 Prize Package including £100 of Amazon vouchers, courtesy of our sponsor Ordnance Survey If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Further info and prize details here

Try our town listings   -   Other Sites in Herefordshire   -   Search for a site

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win 3 AutoSock car snowsock sets worth £49.95+ each Win an OLPRO Caravan Cover in your size

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Manchester Caravan & Motorhome Show 18 to 21 January 2018
Advanced booking discount plus we have 15 pairs of tickets to give away ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


4864 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend  -  Pensions Auto-enrolment

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2017






0.0977
UKCampsite.co.uk
Advent Calendar

Coming Soon!
Advent Calendar

24 Daily Prizes worth up to £100 and a Christmas Day Star Prize worth £500!
Get an Email
Reminder on 1st Dec