Log in or Register
Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Lucksall Caravan & Camping Park

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > UK > England > Central > Herefordshire > Site Reviews

Lucksall Caravan & Camping Park
Herefordshire   (Browse area)
HR1 4LP   See Map                                 Share Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook
Tel: 01432 870213

Facilities:  (Key)

Nearby: (within x miles)
5m   10m 
Featured Site

Pitches: 145
Open: 1st March - 30th November

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 155 Reviews
              9/10 from 155 Reviews

Units accepted:    Tents  Caravans  Motorhomes  Statics for Hire  Statics on Sale  Glamping 

This site has chosen to use the availability calendar. You can check for availability here.

Special Offer available to UKCampsite.co.uk visitors - see here.

Photos (24)

Reviews:  155 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14   15   16  

Submit your own Review for a chance to Win £100 of Amazon Vouchers
Win £100 of Amazon vouchersSubmit a review of this site for a chance to win. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win £100 of Amazon vouchers!

Date of Visit: August 2015 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Loz1968 1 review from this member

We cannot say enough about this very friendly, very clean and well thought out site. The cleanliness of the park and features were amazing.

All the staff were very friendly and very helpful. The shower blocks and toilet very clean. The on site shop was very well stocked and reasonably priced as was the bar. The food amazing from the cafe (we had takeaway) although probably a bit pricey for some.

Bus stop right outside the site and a lovely walk into the village that has lovely pubs that allows dogs. Right by the river Wye where you could go for a canoe or sit and watch the wildlife. There are even kingfishers to seen.

It is going to be hard to find another site that is going to be at the same level as Lucksall. We were 4 adults and 2 dogs with a motorhome. There was also a play area for the those that have children.

Date of Visit: August 2015 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Sarahandmatt 29 reviews from this member

This is the third time we have stayed here. It is a fantastic site with friendly helpful staff. The pitches are huge and the park is very attractive with flowers and bushes everywhere. Toilets are clean and well looked after. Hereford is nearby and is a lovely cathedral city.

We love this site and have booked again for next year.

Date of Visit: May 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Jim Sutherland 1 review from this member

Earlier this year we had a need to book a campsite near Hereford and Lucksall was chosen without any reference to reviews. And we did not need any reviews to back up our choice because the standards rate above and beyond the reviews we have since read. The culture is all for the visitor - A family run site with the highest standards from all that work there. They get you to your pitch first - money will do later. The grounds are immaculate - grass cut twice a week so that there are no cuttings to be seen. New planters being produced because some had faded a little. An on site café / bar - so good and convenient that we did not eat anywhere else. Facilities all up to the highest standard. Good sized pitches, most of which are level. Not an area we planned to visit but the site is so good we are planning another visit this year. Well done to all that make it so good.

Date of Visit: July 2015 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Helen98 13 reviews from this member

When we arrived the rain was coming down heavily, so it was great that a member of staff came up to the car window to get our details, then went off into the shop to find our booking and then let us follow them to our pitch - all without us getting wet.

We only stayed here for 2 nights - we live fairly close by and it was just a test trip for our new tent really - but we will be back. It is more pricey than other nearby sites, but you get what you pay for. The staff were always helpful and smiling, the site is immaculate, the facilities spotless and the camping field (we were in Long Meadow) was flat, well drained and as neatly mown as a sports pitch.

There are lots of pitches at Lucksall, but there is also a lot of space so you don't feel too crammed in. Being in the non-EHU field also meant it was a bit more spacious I think.

We hired a canoe for an afternoon splash about (£25 for 2 hours including all the kit) which was lovely. If you have your own canoe there are 2 pontoons on the site which I think you can just launch your boat from, so it would be very easy.

The shop had all of the basics and there was a cafe, but we didn't use it so can't really comment. There was a kids play park which our 7 year old loved and enough space for our two older boys to play football without annoying anyone.

There is a bit of road noise at night, but not enough to spoil our stay. All in all a lovely site and it would be a 10/10 if only it was a little bit cheaper.

Date of Visit: July 2015 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Mikede 13 reviews from this member

The site is immaculate with large hardstanding (gravel) pitches. Showers are spotless with reasonably good temperature and pressure. Very well stocked shop with helpful and friendly staff; however.

If you're looking for a quiet site with good walking from the site- then forget it.

Although on a 'B' road, this is very busy and therefore noisy until quite late.

The website suggests river-side walks- which there is one- for about quarter of a mile- very overgrown with no actual access to the river. There are some quite pleasant walks in the wood on the other side of the road but nothing special.

At the time of our visit two or three fields on the site were in use as overnight stops for teenagers on canoe camping trips so with these high numbers the facilities struggled to cope.

The site advertises free WiFi- but this was only available from outside reception office and for some reason only between 10am and noon.

So in summary: a very smart site but expensive and does not meet the promise suggested on the website.

Date of Visit: July 2015 Unit:  Other Rating:
Reviewer: Kaffee 8 reviews from this member

Stopped for one night in the 'Pavilion' - a large shed with kettle, TV, electric lights (inside & out) and decking. The pavillion was great, there's a double bed, bunks & a single bed (which staff moved for us, so we could get our travel cot in) This was my second stop on Lucksall (previously in my parents caravan). It's a fab site. This time it was a weekend in summer, so nearly fully booked, but at no point did it feel overcrowded. The shower / toilet block is the best I've used, so immaculate. The dish washing block has constant hot water and lots of sinks. We used the cafe for breakfast as we were trying to travel light and the food was good and well priced. Would totally recommend this site and we may be back with our tent when our son is a little older!

Date of Visit: June 2015 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Daffodil1941 43 reviews from this member

This is a largish pleasant site by the river there are a lot of statics but pleasant tourist pitches set in small hedged areas there are two or three toilet blocks which are clean I did not use the showers but they seemed ok. Close to our pitch was a wash up area three sinks under cover but not inside a laundry and recycle waste disposal area. There is a well stocked shop and a bar bistro with tables at the side of the river with lovely flower beds. They open for breakfast and do lunches and evening meals. The food was lovely would suggest booking on Sunday lunch specials and evening meals. There is canoe hire on the river and lots of fishing. Outside entrance is a bus stop but no buses on a Sunday. There are narrow roads to the site but plenty of passing places. Staff were very helpful and pleasant.

Date of Visit: June 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Kays caravan sites 2 reviews from this member

This is a fabulous site and so well maintained, the grass is cut to an inch of it`s life. The flower beds are beautiful with some species we have rarely seen. The staff are great and are ready to meet you as you arrive and direct you to your pitch. Don`t worry about paying your balance until you are settled in, they tell you. The toilet block at the back of the site is new and fantastic. Our only gripe is that the only bins are in the re cycling centre in the middle of the park. They could put more of them about but don`t and when we asked, no one seemed to know why.

Date of Visit: June 2015 Unit:  Other Rating:
Reviewer: Tinkerbell1980 7 reviews from this member

We visited this wonderful site from 5th-7th June 2015 as a stopover weekend on the way home to the North West from Devon. We arrived & pulled over into a little layby (as directed by the clear signage) we were greeted, the keys were brought to us & we were shown straight to the pavilion without even having to leave the car! A map of the park was provided & everything was pointed out to us. An absolutely 1st class welcome!

We rented the 5 berth pavilion in the long meadow. It was well equipped with kettle, heater, TV, picnic bench & parasol. It had one double, one single & bunk beds. I'd highly recommend it. It was well insulated so we didn't need to use the heater but it was good to know it was there, just in case the good old English weather wasn't favourable.

My parents rented the beach hut for 2 people & equally enjoyed it.

We are seasoned campers and found the site to be well maintained with immaculate, well marked pitches. The toilet/shower blocks were spotless, nice & warm, hot showers & well stocked. There was a hairdryer in the ladies (coin operated - 20p) and Dyson hand dryers.

The shop was well stocked with everything you may have forgotten & reasonably priced.

We ate in the café on our arrival day, the meals were excellent quality & fair prices. The & children's lasagne was a huge hit, delicious! They serve food until about 9pm and offer a takeaway option too. They have a licenced bar & serve drinks until 11pm, a great range of local ciders & very reasonable prices. We also enjoyed breakfast here this morning before our departure, sitting outside overlooking the river, basking in the sunshine - bliss! I had the meat free breakfast, delicious & filling at £4. 50, the others had yummy bacon sandwiches (£2. 90) and toast served with butter & jam (£1. 90) all washed down with a lovely pot of tea.

Date of Visit: June 2015 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Happycamper41 1 review from this member

We booked by telephone, and found them to be very helpful. Upon arrival we were met by staff who directed us to our pitch.

We later asked to be moved near to the river and this was all ok-no questions asked or fuss made.

The site itself is immaculate, with plenty of space for each of us.

Toilets etc were also immaculate(a rarity when it comes to camping).

The only 'bad' thing we encountered was when we visited the shop for a bag of sugar and were stared at by several staff members who were obviously bored. -They talked us into buying a map of the local area which we didn't really want.

Overall, we really enjoyed our stay and would go again for a short break.

We have already recommended it to other people as a good weekender!

Previous     155 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Save to Virtual Brochure  Add this Site to your Virtual Brochure                                Share  Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Submit a Review for a chance to Win £100 of Amazon Vouchers
Win £100 of Amazon vouchersSubmit a review of any caravan park or campsite, for a chance to win. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win £100 of Amazon vouchers!

If you've visited this site, then please submit a review for a chance to win.

Try our town listings   -   Other Sites in Herefordshire   -   Search for a site

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a Champion 3100 Watt Inverter Petrol Generator Win a Win a One Week Stay at Vauxhall Holiday Park!

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Motorhome & Caravan Show 13 – 18 October
Occupying eleven huge halls of the NEC, it is guaranteed to be an unmissable event. Win tickets!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions

6367 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend  -  Pensions Auto-enrolment

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2015