Home

   Log in or Register

Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Windermere Camping And Caravanning Club Site

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > UK > England > North West > Lake District & Cumbria > Site Reviews

Windermere Camping And Caravanning Club Site
Ashes Lane
Staveley Windermere
(lake District)
Kendal
Cumbria   (Browse area)
LA8 9JS   See Map                                 Share Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook
Tel: 01539 821119

Facilities:  (Key)
                

Nearby:
1m  1m   10m  5m 
Featured Site

Pitches: 250
Open: 14 Mar 2013 - 14 Jan 2014

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 93 Reviews
              8/10 from 93 Reviews


Units accepted:    Tents  Caravans  Motorhomes Caravan Storage Storage  Statics on Sale 

Photos (4)

Reviews:  93 in total, now showing 1 to 6                 Previous 6          Next 6
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14   15   16  

Date of Visit: October 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: BASIAM 1 review from this member

First time at this site and loved it, can't wait to return.

Good location in between Windermere and Kendal.

Site well laid out with spacious level pitches both grassed and hard standing. Glad we chose hard standing as it never stopped raining the whole week we were there!

Site facilities immaculate at all times and staff friendly.

Nice little bar on site serving food. There are a couple of other pubs near by, the Watermill at Ings and the Eagle & Child at Staveley that both serve excellent food.

Shop on site very limited but there is a Spar in Staveley and a wonderful Booths in Winderemere.

Date of Visit: August 2013 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Richard-Samantha 6 reviews from this member

This is by far the biggest and better facilitated site that we have stayed on so far. A fabulous site with all amenities and facilities you’d expect from a larger site. Including friendly pub serving bar food and traditional ale, small shop, wifi available at a cost and laundrette.

A well favoured family site, so if you’re looking for peace and quiet then the middle of the school holidays may not be the time to visit. Overall standards, service etc very satisfactory.

Situated just off the main road between Kendal and Windermere, nearest town is Stavely, accessible across country for a lovely walk along the stream but bear in mind there are plenty of stiles to tackle and some of the route is a little rough under foot, but a relaxing walk of about 2-3 miles. The Hawkshead brewery is now in the centre of Stavely and offers regular tours plus its own bar with food, offering all their current ales – so definitely worth a visit! Great food can be had at the Eagle and Child too, along with The Watermill in the other direction toward Windermere. A perfect base for walkers, cyclists and sightsee-ers alike.

Date of Visit: July 2013 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Chris4652009 1 review from this member

This is my second visit to this site (Had a pleasurable stay last time too).

Booking online was very quick and easy.

Checking-in was a pleasure, then was shown to our well kept (and level) pitch by a friendly warden.

The pub on site was welcoming, friendly staff, good food and always a great atmosphere.

Breakfast in the family room was good and well priced.

Showers and toilet block were ALWAYS faultlessly clean, showers were nice and warm no matter what time of day you got to them.

The backpacker's hut was very handy next to the camping area.

I Can't comment on the children's play area as we don't have children so didn't use it.

The site shop could have done with being better stocked, nearby Stavely Village is just down the road with a couple of bigger shops so no real issue.

All in all the site was very good, Well worth the 600mile round trip.

We will be visiting again that is for sure.

Date of Visit: July 2013 Unit:  Trailer Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Jmg44 6 reviews from this member

We have stayed before at this lovely site as my daughter and grandson swam the great north swim in june. It is one of the friendliest site we have been to the staff are first class, nothing to much trouble we took my grandaughter with us and spent many a hour measuring the rabbit hole with her hole measurer as she called it. The facilities are keep to a very high standard, we will be going again, hopefully this year and surprise surprise we had wonderful weather

Date of Visit: June 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Sappersk 4 reviews from this member

First time in lake district and loved it. Site was first class clean tidy and well laid out. Good dog walk area outside club. Nice pub and good food. Close to Windermere and Kendal alike. Would I return yes and to this site. Yes there was kids on bikes etc but never a problem my kids did the same years ago funny how you change as you get older. Pitches hard standing and level. 2 shower and toilet blocks.

Date of Visit: June 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Creativedecker 2 reviews from this member

Easy to find site directions very clear. Upon arrival at reception were met by very friendly and accommodating staff. Site very well laid out and beautifully landscaped. Lovely small bar and restaurant on site that cater for breakfasts and evening meals. We tried both and would recommend highly. Although we don't really use site facilities very much any services that we did use were immaculately clean, tidy and obviously kept to a high standard. There is plenty to see and do in the surrounding area and we will definitely return to this site in the near future.

Previous     93 Review in total, now showing 1 to 6      Next

Save to Virtual Brochure  Add this Site to your Virtual Brochure                                Share  Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Submit your Review for a chance to Win Prizes!
Sponsored by the Caravan ClubSubmit a review to UKCampsite.co.uk of any caravan park or campsite, for a chance to win a caravan towing course or motorhome manoeuvring course worth up to £145, or £100 of Amazon vouchers, courtesy of The Caravan Club. Join the Club for just £44 per year to enjoy access to a great range of caravan sites, benefits and special offers.

If you've visited this site, then please submit a review for a chance to win.

Try our town listings   -   Other Sites in Cumbria   -   Search for a site

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a Clarke IG22000 2.2kW Generator worth £467.98! Visit the UKCS shop for exclusive discounts and offers

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Truckfest Peterborough
Exciting family entertainment, and you can make a full long weekend of them, by camping on site!Plus win tickets!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


1015 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend  -  Pensions Auto-enrolment

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews]  [Facebook]

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2014




0.0430