Home

   Log in or Register

Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Windermere Camping And Caravanning Club Site

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > UK > England > North West > Lake District & Cumbria > Site Reviews

Windermere Camping And Caravanning Club Site
Ashes Lane
Staveley Windermere
(lake District)
Kendal
Cumbria   (Browse area)
LA8 9JS   See Map                                 Share Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook
Tel: 01539 821119

Facilities:  (Key)
                

Nearby:
1m  1m   10m  5m 
Featured Site

Pitches: 250
Open: 14 Mar 2013 - 14 Jan 2014

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 96 Reviews
              8/10 from 96 Reviews


Units accepted:    Tents  Caravans  Motorhomes Caravan Storage Storage  Statics on Sale 

Special Offer available to UKCampsite.co.uk visitors - see here.

Photos (4)

Reviews:  96 in total, now showing 1 to 6                 Previous 6          Next 6
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14   15   16  

Date of Visit: June 2014 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Sceptical Camper 26 reviews from this member

Windermere C&CC site is situated near Stavely village mid-way between Kendal and Windermere. Often referred to as 'Ashes Lane', this is a large campsite maintained and operated by the Camping And Caravanning Club to the club's usual high standards.

I camped there for several nights in June 2014 on a walking trip to the Lake District and I can recommend the site. For non-members, C&CC sites aren't particularly cheap (but you're paying for reliable standards and peace of mind) while for members the rate is very reasonable.

Like all C&CC sites the staff live on site and they were very friendly and helpful. There is a noise curfew at night and a nice laid-back atmosphere.

The campsite is situated on a lane that runs off the A591 road; it is well signposted and an easy turn-in for towing vehicles.

Nearby, there are pubs and shops in Stavely (a few minutes drive or about thirty minutes walk) and much more extensive services in Kendal and Windermere both of which are several miles away. There is a train service from Stavely to Windermere and Kendal.

I pitched on the tent-camping area near to the reception and shop. The grass was very well-maintained, pegs went in easily and plenty of trees provided shelter from the wind.

There is hard-surfaced car parking conveniently near the tent pitches and a wooden chalet in the camping area which has sinks, water, and rubbish bins.

The campsite is divided into several separate areas and caters to tents, motorhomes, towed caravans and static caravans. Although the site is on undulating ground, most pitches are level and have adequate separation between them.

For dog owners, there are gates from the campsite to a green lane which is ideal for dog-walking. The site also seems very family-friendly and there were lots of children about during my stay.

There are several facilities blocks and the one I used was well-equipped and clean with enough cubicles, showers and washing basins. The showers were convenient to use and there was plenty of hot water during my visit. The laundry room was clean and there were plenty of rubbish bins and water standpipes.

Reception is staffed during arrival and departure times (morning and evening) and includes a shop selling local produce. There is an activity room with television and even an on-site pub which seemed very popular during my stay. The on-site pub serves food during the evening.

In summary, this is a friendly well-maintained site which I will definitely stay at again.

Date of Visit: April 2014 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Cwilkinsonfamily 16 reviews from this member

Quite a big site with excellent facilities, very clean and very well kept. The staff were efficient and friendly and, despite being laughed at when we asked for a quiet spot during the Easter school holidays, we as near as damn it got that so no complaints there. Unfortunately, I do think this site has a bit of a cheek calling itself 'Windermere Camp Site' as it most certainly is not in Windermere - and, if you're dependent on getting there by public transport (once you're hitched up etc you rarely want to move a motorhome), it's not even within shouting distance! To get to Windermere itself, you have to walk 2 miles across fields, over several stiles and across a very busy dual carriageway, to get to the village of Staveley (nice enough but not much there), then take a train for 10 minutes into Windermere. We were lucky because the weather was lovely for walking and there was only the 2 of us but you couldn't do it with young children or if you were in any way disabled - no matter how moderately. Very nice site generally but it's location let it down.

Date of Visit: March 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Bordercollies 3 reviews from this member

This site has an excellent on-site pub which serves some good food in the evening and the chance to have a few drinks. Facilities on site are excellent with plenty of toilets, wash basins and showers. Shop on site has very limited provisions but the nearby town of Kendal means you shouldn't want for anything. Only criticism is that there can be varied access to TV and Internet dependant on where you are placed on the site - our last pitch was our least favourable.

Don't let the size of the site put you off as you never feel, even at peak times, that it is that big.

Date of Visit: October 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: BASIAM 1 review from this member

First time at this site and loved it, can't wait to return.

Good location in between Windermere and Kendal.

Site well laid out with spacious level pitches both grassed and hard standing. Glad we chose hard standing as it never stopped raining the whole week we were there!

Site facilities immaculate at all times and staff friendly.

Nice little bar on site serving food. There are a couple of other pubs near by, the Watermill at Ings and the Eagle & Child at Staveley that both serve excellent food.

Shop on site very limited but there is a Spar in Staveley and a wonderful Booths in Winderemere.

Date of Visit: August 2013 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Richard-Samantha 6 reviews from this member

This is by far the biggest and better facilitated site that we have stayed on so far. A fabulous site with all amenities and facilities you’d expect from a larger site. Including friendly pub serving bar food and traditional ale, small shop, wifi available at a cost and laundrette.

A well favoured family site, so if you’re looking for peace and quiet then the middle of the school holidays may not be the time to visit. Overall standards, service etc very satisfactory.

Situated just off the main road between Kendal and Windermere, nearest town is Stavely, accessible across country for a lovely walk along the stream but bear in mind there are plenty of stiles to tackle and some of the route is a little rough under foot, but a relaxing walk of about 2-3 miles. The Hawkshead brewery is now in the centre of Stavely and offers regular tours plus its own bar with food, offering all their current ales – so definitely worth a visit! Great food can be had at the Eagle and Child too, along with The Watermill in the other direction toward Windermere. A perfect base for walkers, cyclists and sightsee-ers alike.

Date of Visit: July 2013 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Chris4652009 1 review from this member

This is my second visit to this site (Had a pleasurable stay last time too).

Booking online was very quick and easy.

Checking-in was a pleasure, then was shown to our well kept (and level) pitch by a friendly warden.

The pub on site was welcoming, friendly staff, good food and always a great atmosphere.

Breakfast in the family room was good and well priced.

Showers and toilet block were ALWAYS faultlessly clean, showers were nice and warm no matter what time of day you got to them.

The backpacker's hut was very handy next to the camping area.

I Can't comment on the children's play area as we don't have children so didn't use it.

The site shop could have done with being better stocked, nearby Stavely Village is just down the road with a couple of bigger shops so no real issue.

All in all the site was very good, Well worth the 600mile round trip.

We will be visiting again that is for sure.

Previous     96 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 6      Next

Save to Virtual Brochure  Add this Site to your Virtual Brochure                                Share  Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Submit your Review for a chance to Win Prizes!
Sponsored by the Caravan ClubSubmit a review to UKCampsite.co.uk of any caravan park or campsite, for a chance to win a caravan towing course or motorhome manoeuvring course worth up to £145, or £100 of Amazon vouchers, courtesy of The Caravan Club. Join the Club for just £44 per year to enjoy access to a great range of caravan sites, benefits and special offers.

If you've visited this site, then please submit a review for a chance to win.

Try our town listings   -   Other Sites in Cumbria   -   Search for a site

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a Wisport SilverFox 30L Rucksack Visit the UKCS shop for exclusive discounts and offers

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Tribfest Music Festival 14/08 to 17/08 East Yorkshire
An affordable, fantastic weekend away listening to some great live Top tribute bands. Claim discounted entry!!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


4174 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend  -  Pensions Auto-enrolment

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews]  [Facebook]

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2014






0.0469