Home

   Log in or Register
   
Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Windermere Camping And Caravanning Club Site

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > UK > England > North West > Lake District & Cumbria > Site Reviews

Windermere Camping And Caravanning Club Site
Ashes Lane
Staveley Windermere
(lake District)
Kendal
Cumbria   (Browse area)
LA8 9JS   See Map                                 Share Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook
Tel: 01539 821119

Facilities:  (Key)
                

Nearby:
1m  1m   10m  5m 
Featured Site

Pitches: 250
Open: 14 Mar 2013 - 14 Jan 2014

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 97 Reviews
              8/10 from 97 Reviews


Units accepted:    Tents  Caravans  Motorhomes Caravan Storage Storage  Statics on Sale 

Photos (4)

Reviews:  97 in total, now showing 1 to 6                 Previous 6          Next 6
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14   15   16   17  

Date of Visit: August 2014 Unit:  Trailer Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Alexwood146 2 reviews from this member

Went for three night stay with family members coming along. We used our trailer tent, a Camplet Classic. The others had a large Outwell Nevada and a VW motorhome.

Planning to stay there while there was a weather warning issued for the first two nights was a bit nerve wracking but the site layout allowed for sheltered pitches to keep the worst of the wind at bay.

As a C&CC member I'd booked online and this was an easy and pain free job. My partner is a wheelchair user so a quick email to the C&CC to let them know and a 'pretty please' request about the possibility of us being pitched near one another was sent and quickly acknowledged.

On arrival reception was cheerfully manned(and womaned!) even although there was a number of arrivals as well as we three. We were immediately booked in, paid our balances and issued our barrier fobs in time for a site staff member to show us to our group pitch. We were all together (yeah!) with a well protected area of trees behind us. The warden taking us there was obviously knowledgeable about where would be waterlogged or dry and it was nice to be on a site where we could discuss our best pitching options, considering the expected weather.

Everything went well considering the weather we did get.

The facilities were immaculate. Shower blocks/toilets were warm, spotlessly clean and had room for everyone without having to queue etc. Dishwashing areas had scaldingly hot water available at all times.

The site is big but the really well planned layout, mature trees and plantings, gives it an intimate holiday village kind of feel. Having the nightly 'curfew' at 11. 00pm also means you get a restful sleep with out the constant disturbances of some sites I've been on. The site is far enough away from the dual carriage way that there is no noise apart from the occasional cow or duck to disturb your peace.

The small pub at the site entrance/reception was good. We all ate there on our first night for convenience. This was in the family room so it did have a canteen feel to it. The food was good value for money in my opinion. The portions were large and very tasty. Middle night of our stay we had eaten out during the day and therefore had snacks and 'refreshments' at our place. Final night we went back to 'The Whistling Pig' and were there early enough to get space for seven of us in the small bar area which has a far nicer atmosphere for eating and drinking, ahem.

Trips while there ranged from visiting Keswick, Ambelside and Windermere town, the usual stuff. To visit Windermere town I can recommend the short drive to Haverthwaite and buy the combined rail/steam ticket; £15. 00 return. This means you can take the Haverthwaite & Lakeside Railway steam train to Lakeside and transfer to the Windermere Cruises steamer up the lake to Bowness/Windermere.

Travelling with non C&CC members it was refreshing to hear them say that it was a nice, quality site compared to other, independent sites they'd visited in the past. You really do get what you pay for.

Apart from the weather, what would I change? Next visit I think I would go for a hard standing pitch. With good quality rock pegs I don't think I'd have too much trouble pitching my trailer tent and the extra time it may take would more than make up for pushing a wheel chair over waterlogged grass.

The site is still great (I was there five years ago). The site staff were excellent. A return visit really is a no brainer here.

Date of Visit: June 2014 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Sceptical Camper 28 reviews from this member

Windermere C&CC site is situated near Stavely village mid-way between Kendal and Windermere. Often referred to as 'Ashes Lane', this is a large campsite maintained and operated by the Camping And Caravanning Club to the club's usual high standards.

I camped there for several nights in June 2014 on a walking trip to the Lake District and I can recommend the site. For non-members, C&CC sites aren't particularly cheap (but you're paying for reliable standards and peace of mind) while for members the rate is very reasonable.

Like all C&CC sites the staff live on site and they were very friendly and helpful. There is a noise curfew at night and a nice laid-back atmosphere.

The campsite is situated on a lane that runs off the A591 road; it is well signposted and an easy turn-in for towing vehicles.

Nearby, there are pubs and shops in Stavely (a few minutes drive or about thirty minutes walk) and much more extensive services in Kendal and Windermere both of which are several miles away. There is a train service from Stavely to Windermere and Kendal.

I pitched on the tent-camping area near to the reception and shop. The grass was very well-maintained, pegs went in easily and plenty of trees provided shelter from the wind.

There is hard-surfaced car parking conveniently near the tent pitches and a wooden chalet in the camping area which has sinks, water, and rubbish bins.

The campsite is divided into several separate areas and caters to tents, motorhomes, towed caravans and static caravans. Although the site is on undulating ground, most pitches are level and have adequate separation between them.

For dog owners, there are gates from the campsite to a green lane which is ideal for dog-walking. The site also seems very family-friendly and there were lots of children about during my stay.

There are several facilities blocks and the one I used was well-equipped and clean with enough cubicles, showers and washing basins. The showers were convenient to use and there was plenty of hot water during my visit. The laundry room was clean and there were plenty of rubbish bins and water standpipes.

Reception is staffed during arrival and departure times (morning and evening) and includes a shop selling local produce. There is an activity room with television and even an on-site pub which seemed very popular during my stay. The on-site pub serves food during the evening.

In summary, this is a friendly well-maintained site which I will definitely stay at again.

Date of Visit: April 2014 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Cwilkinsonfamily 21 reviews from this member

Quite a big site with excellent facilities, very clean and very well kept. The staff were efficient and friendly and, despite being laughed at when we asked for a quiet spot during the Easter school holidays, we as near as damn it got that so no complaints there. Unfortunately, I do think this site has a bit of a cheek calling itself 'Windermere Camp Site' as it most certainly is not in Windermere - and, if you're dependent on getting there by public transport (once you're hitched up etc you rarely want to move a motorhome), it's not even within shouting distance! To get to Windermere itself, you have to walk 2 miles across fields, over several stiles and across a very busy dual carriageway, to get to the village of Staveley (nice enough but not much there), then take a train for 10 minutes into Windermere. We were lucky because the weather was lovely for walking and there was only the 2 of us but you couldn't do it with young children or if you were in any way disabled - no matter how moderately. Very nice site generally but it's location let it down.

Date of Visit: March 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Bordercollies 3 reviews from this member

This site has an excellent on-site pub which serves some good food in the evening and the chance to have a few drinks. Facilities on site are excellent with plenty of toilets, wash basins and showers. Shop on site has very limited provisions but the nearby town of Kendal means you shouldn't want for anything. Only criticism is that there can be varied access to TV and Internet dependant on where you are placed on the site - our last pitch was our least favourable.

Don't let the size of the site put you off as you never feel, even at peak times, that it is that big.

Date of Visit: October 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: BASIAM 1 review from this member

First time at this site and loved it, can't wait to return.

Good location in between Windermere and Kendal.

Site well laid out with spacious level pitches both grassed and hard standing. Glad we chose hard standing as it never stopped raining the whole week we were there!

Site facilities immaculate at all times and staff friendly.

Nice little bar on site serving food. There are a couple of other pubs near by, the Watermill at Ings and the Eagle & Child at Staveley that both serve excellent food.

Shop on site very limited but there is a Spar in Staveley and a wonderful Booths in Winderemere.

Date of Visit: August 2013 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Richard-Samantha 6 reviews from this member

This is by far the biggest and better facilitated site that we have stayed on so far. A fabulous site with all amenities and facilities you’d expect from a larger site. Including friendly pub serving bar food and traditional ale, small shop, wifi available at a cost and laundrette.

A well favoured family site, so if you’re looking for peace and quiet then the middle of the school holidays may not be the time to visit. Overall standards, service etc very satisfactory.

Situated just off the main road between Kendal and Windermere, nearest town is Stavely, accessible across country for a lovely walk along the stream but bear in mind there are plenty of stiles to tackle and some of the route is a little rough under foot, but a relaxing walk of about 2-3 miles. The Hawkshead brewery is now in the centre of Stavely and offers regular tours plus its own bar with food, offering all their current ales – so definitely worth a visit! Great food can be had at the Eagle and Child too, along with The Watermill in the other direction toward Windermere. A perfect base for walkers, cyclists and sightsee-ers alike.

Previous     97 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 6      Next

Save to Virtual Brochure  Add this Site to your Virtual Brochure                                Share  Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Submit your Review for a chance to Win Prizes!
Sponsored by the Caravan ClubSubmit a review to UKCampsite.co.uk of any caravan park or campsite, for a chance to win a caravan towing course or motorhome manoeuvring course worth up to £145, or £100 of Amazon vouchers, courtesy of The Caravan Club. Join the Club for just £44 per year to enjoy access to a great range of caravan sites, benefits and special offers.

If you've visited this site, then please submit a review for a chance to win.

Try our town listings   -   Other Sites in Cumbria   -   Search for a site

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a Sleepy - The Wearable Sleeping Bag! Visit the UKCS shop for exclusive discounts and offers

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Manchester Caravan & Motorhome Show 15 to 18/01/15
Start the season with a trip to the North’s biggest outdoor leisure show. Win 10 pairs of tickets or claim discount entry

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3018 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend  -  Pensions Auto-enrolment

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2014




UKCampsite.co.uk Advent Calendar

Prizes Every Day til Christmas! Open Today's Window




0.1055