Log in or Register
Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Windermere Camping And Caravanning Club Site

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > UK > England > North West > Lake District & Cumbria > Site Reviews

Windermere Camping And Caravanning Club Site
Ashes Lane
Staveley Windermere
(lake District)
Cumbria   (Browse area)
LA8 9JS   See Map                                 Share Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook
Tel: 01539 821119

Facilities:  (Key)

Nearby: (within x miles)
1m  1m   10m  5m 
Featured Site

Pitches: 250
Open: 12th March 2015 - 11th January 2016

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 107 Reviews
              9/10 from 107 Reviews

Units accepted:    Tents  Caravans  Motorhomes Caravan Storage Storage  Glamping 

Photos (8)

Reviews:  107 in total, now showing 1 to 6                 Previous 6          Next 6
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14   15   16   17   18  

Submit your own Review for a chance to Win 100 of Amazon Vouchers
Win 100 of Amazon vouchersSubmit a review of this site for a chance to win. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win 100 of Amazon vouchers!

Date of Visit: September 2015 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: LBBK 12 reviews from this member

Beware of the A591 ! It is a fast road with difficult left and right turnings into minor roads including the one for the campsite. Sadly the footpaths that lead from the site into the rather nice village of Staveley also cross the road - be very careful.

The site itself is large with many little subsections so it didn't feel too crowded. Some tent pitches are more sheltered, some are more open to both the sunshine and the wind. I suggest you discuss on arrival with the site team which you would prefer. You pay a 10 cash deposit for the barrier key. There is actually a small pub serving meals on site! We didn't use it so can't comment but others gave positive reviews. The small site shop sells all the basics. The backpackers 'shed' is a rather nice touch giving some indoor space on rainy days. There is also a large discount outdoor shop just up the A591 - walking distance, if you can cope with the traffic.

There is plenty of good walking from the site. We followed the Dales Way to Windermere, well actually Lakeland Plastics, and caught the bus back to Staveley. You could also catch the train. Delightful mixture of field paths and quiet lanes that was well signposted. Staveley is a village with a Spar and Post Office. More exciting to many will be the Hawkshead Brewery and Wilfs Cafe - both on the industrial estate towards the River Kent. There is also a very large cycling shop.

Date of Visit: August 2015 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Gaza32 8 reviews from this member

As a CCC member and never been to a club site I was expecting 5 star everything for the price paid, however it was more around 3 star. Dont let that put you off though.

The staff were extremely friendly and helpful and escort you to your pitch, I was amazed how many pitches there were and it did feel a bit like butlins for campers. We were given a choice which allowed us to be slightly away from the masses.

The site is very clean and well maintained with 2x shower/toilet blocks, washing machines and dryers etc etc. Play areas for the kids and 'Glamping' tents and log huts, wow.

The Whistling pig was great albeit the 'nice' area is restricted to over 18's only, so if you have kids you are in the cheap seats area. The food was good although a bit pricey, 5. 50 for a cheese burger but chips are extra at 2. 00. Drinks were normal bar prices.

The walks are excellent across fields to Staveley which for a small village has plenty to do. Although the site is named as Windermere it is miles away from the Lake, which is around 5 miles away.

Date of Visit: June 2015 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Mikey951r 14 reviews from this member

I had one night here with a bicycle and small backpacking tent on my way from Lands End to John O Groats. I phoned in advance and arrived a little late, but that was no trouble for the warden whatsoever, who even made me a cup of tea. Excellent pitch on a raised area to the side of the site and with spectacular views. Toilets etc all top quality and very clean. Just outside the town so no road noise and only a short ride from Morrisons for supplies. Absoultely first rate and with wardens that actually understand what customer service is all about, plus very good value for money at 6. 35.

Date of Visit: June 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Dukelow 2 reviews from this member

Went to stavely yet again on the 6th of june for eleven days. Had a brill time. Best caravan park around. Staff are so helpful and kind nothing is any trouble for them. As for the whistling pig restaurant just great, the steak meals and gammon meals were just to die for and a very friendly lady, I think her name was margaret and her son runs a very good restaurant, and no late nights or noise from it. Toilets and showers were perfect and very good laundry room. Over all it was perfect and will be back again god willing. Thank you every one involved

Date of Visit: June 2015 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Ric03 3 reviews from this member

This was my third trip in a tent to the Windermere C&CC. It is actually located at Staveley, several miles from Windermere, but it's only a 10 min drive down the A591 and the big bonus is that you're out in the woods and fields, whilst still being close to the heart of the lakes and Kendal.

All the staff I've met have been very friendly, approachable and helpful. There is a good shop--that is open all day and sells all the basics. There is also a bar on the site, which serves hot food (I think from 6-6. 30 onwards). And all the facilities are kept spotless.

In the tent area, there is also a decent sized backpacker cabin (with lockers, tables and sinks--there is also a cooking area but you're only allowed to use a certain type of stove (I cannot remember what it was, you'll need to check with reception prior to leaving if this is something you'd like to do).

There are plenty of nice walks for dog owners (both in the wide stretches of idyllic woodland approaching the site and a dedicated dog walking path that runs through the fields to Staveley).

I've put N/A for 'child friendliness' as I've no kids, but I think there is a playground of some sort--you'll have to check over reviews to see what that's like!

New since I last visited were some nice-looking camping pods.

Shop-wise. You've got a small Kwik Save and Post Office in Staveley (I also went to the chippy there, but wouldn't reccomend it!--perhaps it was a bad time to go in, but the chips were stale and manky and the fish looked so stale and overcooked that I didn't bother!) There is a nice chippy, I found, on the left hand side as you're coming down the hill into Windermere. There are also good supermarkets (Booths in Windermere and a large Morrison's in Kendal) close by.

Overall, I highly recommend it and will definitely be returning.

Date of Visit: May 2015 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Patricia withe 1 review from this member

I visited this campsite the weekend of 8th May 2015. My daughter who has stayed here before recommended that myself and my partner have the weekend with them at this site. My partner who is not a keen camper he prefers Hotels went along with a somewhat reluctant but open mind. What an experience the camp site is beautiful, toilet and shower facilities were excellent and especially extremely clean which pleases my family. The staff were warm, welcoming and extremely helpful. All facilities are excellent, the children enjoyed the play area and were happy to stay in this area. My partner enjoyed it so much we have bought a new and bigger tent and we are looking forward to going back next month.

Previous     107 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 6      Next

Save to Virtual Brochure  Add this Site to your Virtual Brochure                                Share  Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Submit a Review for a chance to Win 100 of Amazon Vouchers
Win 100 of Amazon vouchersSubmit a review of any caravan park or campsite, for a chance to win. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win 100 of Amazon vouchers!

If you've visited this site, then please submit a review for a chance to win.

Try our town listings   -   Other Sites in Cumbria   -   Search for a site

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a Buzz Rack Scorpion 2 Bike Carrier Win a CUBO Breeze Inflatable Campervan Awning!

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Camperex 2016 - Liverpool Exhibition Centre 8 - 10th January
Brand new leisure show for touring caravans, motorhomes, campers and park homes. Win tickets!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions

499 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend  -  Pensions Auto-enrolment

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2015

Advent Calendar
Advent Calendar
Coming Soon!
Sign up for an email reminder