Log in or Register
Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Advent Calendar

Visitor Reviews - Plassey Holiday Park

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > UK > Wales > Wrexham > Site Reviews

Plassey Holiday Park
Wrexham   (Browse area)
LL13 0SP   See Map                                 Share Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook
Tel: 01978 780 277

Facilities:  (Key)

Nearby: (within x miles)
5m   1m  5m 
Featured Site

Pitches: 90
Open: 14th February - 9th November

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 167 Reviews
              9/10 from 167 Reviews

Units accepted:    Tents  Caravans  Motorhomes Caravan Storage Storage  Statics for Hire  Statics on Sale 

This site has chosen to use the availability calendar. You can check for availability here.

Special Offer available to UKCampsite.co.uk visitors - see here.

Photos (8) and Video

Reviews:  167 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14   15   16   17  

Submit your own Review for a chance to Win £100 of Amazon Vouchers
Win £100 of Amazon vouchersSubmit a review of this site for a chance to win. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win £100 of Amazon vouchers!

Date of Visit: October 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Gally 4 reviews from this member

My husband and myself stayed at the plassey for halloween weekend and what a great time we had can't fault this site at all pitches are very adequate size we also had a lively meal in the restaurant plenty to do for the kids entertainment all day. Toilets and showers spotless although it could do with another shower block they had a spooky walk for the kids pumpkin carving competition and a kids disco can't wait to go back and would highly recommended this site top of the league in my list thank you to all the staff who made it a amazing weekend and to John brookshaw the owner and his wife for getting involved dressing up for the haunted walk and getting to know his guests see you all soon

Date of Visit: October 2015 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Rethomas 5 reviews from this member

Just visited in early October after some family commitments kept us away from the park for longer than we'd like. What a pleasant surprise to see so many changes and wonderful to see so much reinvestment in the park by it's owners. We were greeted by some friendly and welcoming wardens that ensured our check-in was swift and efficient. Normally you'd be escorted to your pitch by a warden who will help you site your outfit if you wish but as we knew the park so well, we went on our own way.

There is a spectacular new (for us to see) play area for the kids that will keep them entertained for hours if not days! The standard touring pitches have all been revamped and are now level with fine gravel bases and have privacy hedges in between which is a really nice touch. The number of these touring pitches is increasing too, meaning more people get to enjoy what the park has to offer.

We were staying on a deluxe pitch at the top of the park in Fairway View which is one of thirty pitches that benefit from full service hook-up including electric, water, grey waste and TV point. Each pitch has a block paved area for your outfit sitting next to a pea gravel section for your awning and a grass section along side, neatly divided by a privacy hedge. We've stayed on many parks in out time but these deluxe pitches rank as some of the best we've ever seen.

The toilet block was always kept immaculately clean and we never had to queue to use any of the facilities. That said, we were visiting out of season so the park was naturally quieter.

The restaurant, coffee shop and little boutique shops are great, meaning you don't have to leave site to catch up on some retail therapy or enjoy a really nice meal. At busy times and weekends, it's always going to be worth booking the restaurant to avoid disappointment.

We never got a chance to use the indoor pool but have to say that it looked very inviting!

If there was one disappointment it would have to be the speed of the broadband service. Over the first weekend when the site was fuller, the speed dropped to a poor 0. 1mbps but during quieter times during the week, it increased to about 0. 5mbps which is still pretty poor. This service is only really offered for people to keep in touch via email etc. And in fairness the wardens did warn us that the service might be quite slow during busy times.

We use the Plassey to explore the whole of North Wales as it has so many attractions and stunning scenery you'll never run out of things to do and see.

Wrexham is just a 5min drive away and has a great shopping centre and lots of pubs and restaurants. Chester is about 20min up the road from the site which is a fantastic city to visit with loads to see and do. There are so many lovely places to visit that are near to the site there's just not enough room to mention them!

All in all, this is one of our favourite sites to visit and we simply can't wait to return.

Date of Visit: September 2015 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Baldrick2 12 reviews from this member

We stayed at this site for 2 nights on a deluxe pitch. We were greeted by the friendly wardens and shown to our pitch. We did not use the pool, golf, restaurant, café etc so cannot comment. The showers were clean and spacious with a `pull-down` stool. Did spot quite a lot of spiders webs in the windows and other areas though. With there being approx. 110 seasonal pitches and approx. 80 touring pitches, there were only 3 showers next to the deluxe field (and seasonal fields) and 3 showers by the entrance next to the other touring and seasonal pitches, which doesn't seem many for the busy times. We did walk on the nature walk which is just over 2 miles and is a very pleasant walk around the edge of the grounds. We asked the wardens about cycling but they did not seem to have any knowledge.

Speed bumps are required by the deluxe pitches, especially around the corner by the toilet block. It is like a race track at times, wardens included on their buggies.

There is a grassy area in the centre of the deluxe pitches which make it spacious, but we did observe kite flying and frisby throwing down the other end, watched by some nervous caravanners!.

This site is nothing special, do not know why they describe it as luxurious, we shall not be visiting it again.

Date of Visit: August 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Debbie65 25 reviews from this member

We spent 8 nights at Plassey in our tourer, us and our 2 grunts, sorry, I mean our 2 teenage sons. Had booked a deluxe serviced pitch which is at the side of the golf course.

As previous reviewers have mentioned, you are escorted to your pitch by one of the staff and asked if you want anything explained to you. I imagine if you are new to Caravanning this would be quite appreciated. The entrance road to the site itself is long and not quite single track, but just about. There are speed bumps along this road which, if you're not careful, can scrape your jockey wheel. Well signposted from the M6.

Pitches at this end are very generous and well kept. Plenty of room for our van, full awning, and grassy space at the side had we wanted to put up windbreaks or similar, loads of other units having done this. The super deluxe pitches are at the furthest away end of the park and as such are very quiet. Loads of things to do on site. Indoor swimming pool, small but well used, quite heavily chlorinated. One of the barns has been converted into a badminton and pool/indoor hockey area. The boys enjoyed this.

Site is reasonably well kept, but at certain times of the day there is a big build up of rubbish around the bins. Rest of the site is very, very busy, small kids everywhere on their bikes and scooters. The play park looked good for younger kids, but is so far away from all but a few pitches that most of the kids just seemed to play on the road or verges.

There are only 6 male and 6 female showers for the whole site, which is totally inadequate for a site this size. The toilets nearest the deluxe pitches are a bit of a hike away, and if you weren't there before 8 for a shower you had a long wait in the queue. Toilets had a wee bit of an unpleasant smell at times I thought, although generally clean enough.

The little shops on site are quite nice, small shop also selling basics, and a cash machine. We are at the golf club one night, don't really rate it, it was ok nothing more. Coffee shop was nice for a lunch.

I am struggling to find anything too enthusiastic to say about this site, and I know this goes against so many of the other reviews, but it just doesn't live up to the hype for us. In particular the deluxe pitches, apart from the drainage and water, just were not worth the money. They all overlooked a grassy area rather than the golf course, and it was so far away from everything else it meant that there were just loads and loads of kids running about everywhere.

Not a lot for teenagers on site, we did do lots in the surrounding area but wouldn't go back to Plassey, it's a site that, for a reason we just can't put our finger on, just isn't as good as everyone makes out. It's not bad, just ok.

Date of Visit: June 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Jsswalton 3 reviews from this member

Just spent 14 nights at the plassey with my wife and 2 yr old son in our tourer.

We had a 5 hour drive down from ayrshire and were quickly shown to our pitch and helped on.

First impressions are 'wow' what a beautiful site.

Got myself set up easily on a fab pitch-very level and fully serviced.

Tv and satellite connections in service box although my tv tuned in to all freeview chanels without connecting to it no problem.

Found all staff on site very friendly with the wardens being exceptional.

Special thanks to on site shop who organised me a daily scottish newspaper every day on our visit.

Used the pool on a few occasions and it was lovely and warm and spotlessly clean.

Had lunch sitting outside in the garden of coffee shop whilst my son run free in garden and played in the teddy bear house. Fantastic!

Had lovely homemade icecream from the retro sweetie shop that was delicous.

Used the play park with my son although at 2 yr old he was a little too small for this park and at after school hours and at weekends it became busy with the public.

The smaller playpark which was more suitable for my son was rather outdated and had actually been removed to make space for more pitches a couple of days before we left. Rather disappointing !

Ate in the shippon restaurant on one occasion and was rather disappointed with standard of food considering it is quite expensive.

The farm shop 100 yards outside the site is a better option in my opinion. Fantastic quality produce at decent prices.

Toilets/shower rooms were always spotless regardless of time you visited. A huge bonus point for this.

Loved the way all the staff on site were always pleasant and stopped for a chat. They also take great pride in there workplace and this site is tidy and clean from top to bottom. Better than a few club sites we have visited.

Would we come back and recommend this site. Yes 100%

Although it may be in a few years time when my son is a bit older as there is not enough on site for a toddler and we had to travel outwith more than we had intended to and stopped us enjoying this beatiful site as much as we wanted to.

Date of Visit: April 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Mark26 12 reviews from this member

We stayed here for a long weekend, 4 nights. The pitch we had was hard standing for caravan and awning and grass area by the side. The pitch was large enough to park our car across the front of our 25' van, leaving all the grass area to sit out on. The children's play areas were very good and kept our two happy all weekend, and the indoor pool was a bonus, but because of its size, I could see this becoming very busy in school holidays.

The staff were very friendly and helpful. The toilets and showers were very clean and the on site shops were nice to have a look around. There was also a indoor play area for the smaller children, a indoor games room and a covered tennis court.

There is a golf course on site or next door with bar and restaurant, but did not use and also on site a tree top bar which looked a nice place to have a drink, but again, didn't get round to it, maybe next time, and yes there will be a next time.

Very nice site.

Date of Visit: March 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Wonda 1 review from this member

We've been coming to Plassey for quite a few years now and always enjoy our visits. It is an hour and a half from home so is an ideal site for a weekend break and has lots of great amenities.

The wardens always give us a warm welcome even though we arrive late Friday evening owing to work commitments. We particularly enjoy the badminton court as we both play at home and the table tennis is great fun!

We enjoy drinks in the Tree Tops bar each evening where the staff are really friendly. The toilet and shower facilities are superb and amongst the best we've encountered.

We have recently introduced the site to our neighbours as they are also keen caravanners and they have visited a few times and enjoy it as much as we do.

Date of Visit: March 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Hevnste 6 reviews from this member

This is the second visit to plassey and wont be our last. The first time we were on the grass pitches which are a little sloping but we didn't have a problem with it. This time we stayed on the all serviced deluxe pitches which we were really impressed with. There was loads of space and the pitch even had connection for the satellite box, saving the need for our dish. The site is really well kept and the toilet / shower blocks where always kept clean. There is a big modern play area and a smaller one nearer the caravans to keep the young ones busy. We went swimming on both visits which is included in the price. The water was warm and the little one had a great time. In busier periods I believe they use a wristband system to avoid high waiting times. Overall we cant fault the site in anyway and will definitely be returning at some point

Date of Visit: February 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Sunbeam03 24 reviews from this member

Site is signposted with brown signs so easy to find, it is accessed via a long narrow driveway with speed bumps (care must be taken when going over these as looking at the grooves you can scrape the jockey wheel!)

Deluxe pitches (fully serviced) are very good and well worth the additional money (there are a lot of seasonal pitches in the other areas so the site looks busier than what it actually is)

Swimming pool air temp is too cold (lifeguard wore a puffa jacket??) so not suitable for very young children also the changing rooms are cold with a doorway onto the poolside so care needs to be taken when getting changed.

Site very dark at night with a lot of the lights not working - so take a torch if out after dark.

No hand sanitisation next to elsan points

Restaurant - excellent food

Golf club - good for breakfast, also do evening meals staff very accommodating

Tree tops bar - access via wooden steps - may cause issues as no lift

Kids play areas x 2 very good - also a games room and table tennis area.

Site is isolated so you do need to drive to go anywhere.

Retail park ok

There is a nature walk which we didn't go round due to weather but would of been good for the dog.

Poor mobile phone signal (ee) and patchy (O2)

New toilets/showers Very good - old ones near reception need upgrading and don't seem to be heated

Staff friendly and helpful

Overall - a nice site to stay at but for the high price was quite disappointing and overpriced

Date of Visit: October 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Bobobs 6 reviews from this member

What a wonderful site with top class facilities. Booked over the Halloween weekend & upon arrival was escorted to the pitch which was concrete and perfectly level across the axle. Stayed on main field area which gave us a good view across to the 1st children's play area. Pitch was large enough for a full awning although only used a porch awning. Not too far to showers and toilets or water point. Waste water point was right by the main field pitches. Reception staff very helpful during the stay, great showers/shower room with temperature controls with a 2nd block close to the full serviced pitches. Fantastic indoor swimming pool (free) which we used a couple of times. Slight walk to dog walk area but site roads were good and bins provided in the enclosed dog walk area were you could let your dog off the lead. Site maintained to a very high standard, tidy, well lit and so quiet at night. Had meals at the Shippon restaurant which were really nice and allowed dogs in to part of the restaurant. Wise to book especially over weekend. Great 2nd children's play area by the restaurant with zip wire. Other facilities on site which we did not use include a covered badminton court & table tennis tables, games room, shop, bar and covered dishwashing facilities & a laundrette. Only disappoinment was that the shop did not have lottery machine. Would happily stay here again as its one of the best sites we have stayed at and extremely popular judging by the number of seasonal caravans on site.

Previous     167 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Save to Virtual Brochure  Add this Site to your Virtual Brochure                                Share  Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Submit a Review for a chance to Win £100 of Amazon Vouchers
Win £100 of Amazon vouchersSubmit a review of any caravan park or campsite, for a chance to win. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win £100 of Amazon vouchers!

If you've visited this site, then please submit a review for a chance to win.

Try our town listings   -   Other Sites in Wrexham   -   Search for a site

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win tickets to Camperex 2016 (Liverpool) in January Win a CUBO Breeze Inflatable Campervan Awning!

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Camperex 2016 - Liverpool Exhibition Centre 8 - 10th January
Brand new leisure show for touring caravans, motorhomes, campers and park homes. Win tickets!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions

5315 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend  -  Pensions Auto-enrolment

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2015

Advent Calendar
Advent Calendar
Coming Soon!
Sign up for an email reminder