Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Plassey Holiday Park

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > UK > Wales > Wrexham > Site Reviews

Plassey Holiday Park
Eyton
Wrexham
Wrexham   (Browse area)
LL13 0SP   See Map                                 Share Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook
Tel: 01978 780 277

Facilities:  (Key)
                      

Nearby: (within x miles)
5m   1m  5m 
Featured Site

Pitches: 90
Open: 12th February - 6th November

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 172 Reviews
              9/10 from 172 Reviews


Units accepted:    Tents  Caravans  Motorhomes Caravan Storage Storage  Statics for Hire  Statics on Sale 

Special Offer available to UKCampsite.co.uk visitors - see here.

Photos (8) and Video

Reviews:  172 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14   15   16   17   18  

Submit your own Review for a chance to Win £100!
Win £100Submit a review of this site for your chance to win £100 of Caravan Club vouchers or £100 of Amazon vouchers, courtesy of this month's sponsor, The Caravan Club. Join The Club from just £48 per year to enjoy access to over 2,700 sites, exclusive member benefits and site special offers.

Date of Visit: June 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Paulinedodd 2 reviews from this member

Had a great 2 weeks no petty owners toilets an d showers immaculate every body who works here are brilliant a very helpful set of people. The shop well stocked, daily newspapers and an added bonus buses outside gates. We will be back next year for a month.

Date of Visit: May 2016 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: AlHeather 2 reviews from this member

We have just returned from a Whitsun holiday break to the Plassey for 5 nights camping in our tent with EHU.

We booked via the telephone and the lady on the phone gave us great advice about bringing our footprint, carpet and rock pegs as all the pitches are gravel hard standing. We didn't find it too uncomfortable, and we were allowed to pitch our kitchen tent with a breathable g. S. On the grass behind us too.

I thought this site was one of the nicest we have visited - now our son is 7 there was plenty to occupy him with the walks, pond dipping, swimming pool, playground, games and the lovely space we had round our tent as we camped on the 'main field'. It wasn't peaceful, and wouldn't suit everyone, but for us it was great and close to loos, the park etc. A lot of families were on this field which meant all the children played together, which was great.

The shop has all the basics and we ate out in the restaurant once and also had a couple of takeaway sarnies - all very good. My husband played 2 rounds of golf and the club itself was nice for a beer and breakfast too. My husband rated the 'Plassey Ale' which is local.

It was very busy, but the pitches on the main field were well spaced out so we didn't feel on top of one another. I didn't have to wait for the showers, but I was early or we waited till later on in the day. All facilitiies were lovely and clean too.

I would come back here 100% and have been recommending it to my camping/caravanning friends with children ever since!

Date of Visit: May 2016 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Ethelmud 2 reviews from this member

Although we haven't stayed at the Plassey for a while, we do love this site. On visiting this last weekend 13th- 15th may we noticed that a few things had been changed, all good I might add, the lovely play park for the children is a great hit with the kids and very well done. Not charging for the pool is another great advantage. This site is immaculate and the staff are always lovely and friendly. To top it all the weather was lovely too. Thanks again for a lovely stay, we will be back for regular visits again. Christine& john Mather. X

Date of Visit: April 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Coral67 8 reviews from this member

Stayed at Plassey for 4 nights as a Birthday get away, It is a wonderful site with so much to see and do, The Pitches are level and very well looked after, there are standard pitches as well as Deluxe fully serviced pitches, the toilet blocks are very clean and lots of hot water.

There are a number of shops on site which are lovely to have a little walk around although I found it a bit limited with my wheelchair, there is also a 9 hole golf course for the budding golfer, which we didn't use, and a golf club restaurant which looks lovely. There is also a bar The tree tops although I couldn't use this either as there are quite a few steps and no lift.

For the kids, the play park is fantastic, and very well thought out, there is also a games room for when its raining and only 40p for a game of pool, there are badminton courts and also an indoor bouncy castle for the 10's and under, and a small indoor swimming pool which my 2 children also loved but it does get very busy at peak times, would be lovely if there was an outside pool too ( just saying in case anyone in Plassey is reading this lol)

The site is quite pricey so we cant use it as much as we would like to, if it was a little cheaper we would never be away from the place.

My only niggle and is a little niggle is the Speed humps in the caravan site they take up the whole width of the road right round the site so there is no flat bit for a wheel chair user so getting over the humps is a bit of a nightmare or venturing onto the grass which is impossible to move on, |(Hubby had to push me over them all) and in a mobility scooter as they are quite high and scooter only has a 2' clearance. Also the ramp to the disabled toilet on the left is very steep but I went around and used the ramp from the right, which is not as bad but being in a wheelchair everything takes twice as long to do, but as I said only a little niggle.

Overall a wonderful site and would recommend it.

Date of Visit: March 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Martin1010 11 reviews from this member

Have stayed at Plassey on several occasions. Without repeating what has already been said in previous reviews, the site is of an extremely high standard with excellent facilities which really take some beating but the price more than reflects this, certainly at peak time. The on site pool is small and more suitable for kids. We found because of the facilities geared around children, the kids easily made friends and were always out with their new found friends.

Plenty of shops nearby at Wrexham

3/4g is virtually non existent on Vodaphone or O2. We also don't bother with the on site wifi as it is so slow, probably due to the park always being full when we tend to go. Watch the speed bumps coming through Eyton and the approach road to the park and go extremely slowly over them. I ripped my exhaust off in a previous visit and found that I wasn't the only one visiting the garage the next day as a neighbour had also done the same

Overall an excellent place to stay and would recommend

Date of Visit: October 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Gally 4 reviews from this member

My husband and myself stayed at the plassey for halloween weekend and what a great time we had can't fault this site at all pitches are very adequate size we also had a lively meal in the restaurant plenty to do for the kids entertainment all day. Toilets and showers spotless although it could do with another shower block they had a spooky walk for the kids pumpkin carving competition and a kids disco can't wait to go back and would highly recommended this site top of the league in my list thank you to all the staff who made it a amazing weekend and to John brookshaw the owner and his wife for getting involved dressing up for the haunted walk and getting to know his guests see you all soon

Date of Visit: October 2015 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Rethomas 6 reviews from this member

Just visited in early October after some family commitments kept us away from the park for longer than we'd like. What a pleasant surprise to see so many changes and wonderful to see so much reinvestment in the park by it's owners. We were greeted by some friendly and welcoming wardens that ensured our check-in was swift and efficient. Normally you'd be escorted to your pitch by a warden who will help you site your outfit if you wish but as we knew the park so well, we went on our own way.

There is a spectacular new (for us to see) play area for the kids that will keep them entertained for hours if not days! The standard touring pitches have all been revamped and are now level with fine gravel bases and have privacy hedges in between which is a really nice touch. The number of these touring pitches is increasing too, meaning more people get to enjoy what the park has to offer.

We were staying on a deluxe pitch at the top of the park in Fairway View which is one of thirty pitches that benefit from full service hook-up including electric, water, grey waste and TV point. Each pitch has a block paved area for your outfit sitting next to a pea gravel section for your awning and a grass section along side, neatly divided by a privacy hedge. We've stayed on many parks in out time but these deluxe pitches rank as some of the best we've ever seen.

The toilet block was always kept immaculately clean and we never had to queue to use any of the facilities. That said, we were visiting out of season so the park was naturally quieter.

The restaurant, coffee shop and little boutique shops are great, meaning you don't have to leave site to catch up on some retail therapy or enjoy a really nice meal. At busy times and weekends, it's always going to be worth booking the restaurant to avoid disappointment.

We never got a chance to use the indoor pool but have to say that it looked very inviting!

If there was one disappointment it would have to be the speed of the broadband service. Over the first weekend when the site was fuller, the speed dropped to a poor 0. 1mbps but during quieter times during the week, it increased to about 0. 5mbps which is still pretty poor. This service is only really offered for people to keep in touch via email etc. And in fairness the wardens did warn us that the service might be quite slow during busy times.

We use the Plassey to explore the whole of North Wales as it has so many attractions and stunning scenery you'll never run out of things to do and see.

Wrexham is just a 5min drive away and has a great shopping centre and lots of pubs and restaurants. Chester is about 20min up the road from the site which is a fantastic city to visit with loads to see and do. There are so many lovely places to visit that are near to the site there's just not enough room to mention them!

All in all, this is one of our favourite sites to visit and we simply can't wait to return.

Date of Visit: September 2015 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Baldrick2 15 reviews from this member

We stayed at this site for 2 nights on a deluxe pitch. We were greeted by the friendly wardens and shown to our pitch. We did not use the pool, golf, restaurant, café etc so cannot comment. The showers were clean and spacious with a `pull-down` stool. Did spot quite a lot of spiders webs in the windows and other areas though. With there being approx. 110 seasonal pitches and approx. 80 touring pitches, there were only 3 showers next to the deluxe field (and seasonal fields) and 3 showers by the entrance next to the other touring and seasonal pitches, which doesn't seem many for the busy times. We did walk on the nature walk which is just over 2 miles and is a very pleasant walk around the edge of the grounds. We asked the wardens about cycling but they did not seem to have any knowledge.

Speed bumps are required by the deluxe pitches, especially around the corner by the toilet block. It is like a race track at times, wardens included on their buggies.

There is a grassy area in the centre of the deluxe pitches which make it spacious, but we did observe kite flying and frisby throwing down the other end, watched by some nervous caravanners!.

This site is nothing special, do not know why they describe it as luxurious, we shall not be visiting it again.

Date of Visit: August 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Debbie65 25 reviews from this member

We spent 8 nights at Plassey in our tourer, us and our 2 grunts, sorry, I mean our 2 teenage sons. Had booked a deluxe serviced pitch which is at the side of the golf course.

As previous reviewers have mentioned, you are escorted to your pitch by one of the staff and asked if you want anything explained to you. I imagine if you are new to Caravanning this would be quite appreciated. The entrance road to the site itself is long and not quite single track, but just about. There are speed bumps along this road which, if you're not careful, can scrape your jockey wheel. Well signposted from the M6.

Pitches at this end are very generous and well kept. Plenty of room for our van, full awning, and grassy space at the side had we wanted to put up windbreaks or similar, loads of other units having done this. The super deluxe pitches are at the furthest away end of the park and as such are very quiet. Loads of things to do on site. Indoor swimming pool, small but well used, quite heavily chlorinated. One of the barns has been converted into a badminton and pool/indoor hockey area. The boys enjoyed this.

Site is reasonably well kept, but at certain times of the day there is a big build up of rubbish around the bins. Rest of the site is very, very busy, small kids everywhere on their bikes and scooters. The play park looked good for younger kids, but is so far away from all but a few pitches that most of the kids just seemed to play on the road or verges.

There are only 6 male and 6 female showers for the whole site, which is totally inadequate for a site this size. The toilets nearest the deluxe pitches are a bit of a hike away, and if you weren't there before 8 for a shower you had a long wait in the queue. Toilets had a wee bit of an unpleasant smell at times I thought, although generally clean enough.

The little shops on site are quite nice, small shop also selling basics, and a cash machine. We are at the golf club one night, don't really rate it, it was ok nothing more. Coffee shop was nice for a lunch.

I am struggling to find anything too enthusiastic to say about this site, and I know this goes against so many of the other reviews, but it just doesn't live up to the hype for us. In particular the deluxe pitches, apart from the drainage and water, just were not worth the money. They all overlooked a grassy area rather than the golf course, and it was so far away from everything else it meant that there were just loads and loads of kids running about everywhere.

Not a lot for teenagers on site, we did do lots in the surrounding area but wouldn't go back to Plassey, it's a site that, for a reason we just can't put our finger on, just isn't as good as everyone makes out. It's not bad, just ok.

Date of Visit: June 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Jsswalton 3 reviews from this member

Just spent 14 nights at the plassey with my wife and 2 yr old son in our tourer.

We had a 5 hour drive down from ayrshire and were quickly shown to our pitch and helped on.

First impressions are 'wow' what a beautiful site.

Got myself set up easily on a fab pitch-very level and fully serviced.

Tv and satellite connections in service box although my tv tuned in to all freeview chanels without connecting to it no problem.

Found all staff on site very friendly with the wardens being exceptional.

Special thanks to on site shop who organised me a daily scottish newspaper every day on our visit.

Used the pool on a few occasions and it was lovely and warm and spotlessly clean.

Had lunch sitting outside in the garden of coffee shop whilst my son run free in garden and played in the teddy bear house. Fantastic!

Had lovely homemade icecream from the retro sweetie shop that was delicous.

Used the play park with my son although at 2 yr old he was a little too small for this park and at after school hours and at weekends it became busy with the public.

The smaller playpark which was more suitable for my son was rather outdated and had actually been removed to make space for more pitches a couple of days before we left. Rather disappointing !

Ate in the shippon restaurant on one occasion and was rather disappointed with standard of food considering it is quite expensive.

The farm shop 100 yards outside the site is a better option in my opinion. Fantastic quality produce at decent prices.

Toilets/shower rooms were always spotless regardless of time you visited. A huge bonus point for this.

Loved the way all the staff on site were always pleasant and stopped for a chat. They also take great pride in there workplace and this site is tidy and clean from top to bottom. Better than a few club sites we have visited.

Would we come back and recommend this site. Yes 100%

Although it may be in a few years time when my son is a bit older as there is not enough on site for a toddler and we had to travel outwith more than we had intended to and stopped us enjoying this beatiful site as much as we wanted to.

Previous     172 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Save to Virtual Brochure  Add this Site to your Virtual Brochure                                Share  Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Submit a Review for a chance to Win £100!
Sponsored by the Caravan ClubSubmit a review to UKCampsite.co.uk of any caravan park or campsite for your chance to win your choice of £100 of Caravan Club vouchers or £100 of Amazon vouchers, courtesy of this month's sponsor, The Caravan Club. Join The Club from just £48 per year to enjoy access to over 2,700 sites, exclusive member benefits and site special offers.

If you've visited this site, then please submit a review for a chance to win.

Try our town listings   -   Other Sites in Wrexham   -   Search for a site

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win an OLPRO 'POP' Quick Erect 2 Berth Tent Win a Dog Bag Pop Up Fabric Kennel

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Autumn Motorhome & Caravan Show, Newark - 2nd to 4th September
Weekend Campers and day visitors will see a huge range of motorhomes, caravans, as well as accessories and consumables

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


4080 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend  -  Pensions Auto-enrolment

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2016






0.1230