Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Exe Valley Caravan Site

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > UK > England > South West > Somerset > Site Reviews

Exe Valley Caravan Site
Mill House
Bridgetown
Exmoor
Dulverton
Somerset   (Browse area)
TA22 9JN   See Map                                 Share Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook
Tel: 01643 851432

Facilities:  (Key)
                  

Nearby: (within x miles)
1m  1m  10m  5m   5m 
Featured Site

Pitches: 50
Open: 12th March To 18th October

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 180 Reviews
              9/10 from 180 Reviews


Units accepted:    Tents  Caravans  Motorhomes 

Photos (11)

Reviews:  180 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14   15   16   17   18  

Write your own Review for a chance to Win 300 of Prizes!
Sponsored by Ordnance SurveyWin a 300 Prize Package including 100 of Amazon vouchers, courtesy of our sponsor Ordnance Survey If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Further info and prize details here

Date of Visit: July 2017 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Mark Palmer 9 reviews from this member

PERFECTION PERSONIFIED.

That's really all I can say about this site.

It was just as advertised. Quiet, friendly, adults only, and spotlessly clean.

A beautiful site located in the grounds of an old water mill, 10 minutes drive from Dulverton.

The pitches are well marked out, and very large. If you're not a fan of all day sunshine, then ask to be located on the river side of the park, likewise, if you want the full sun all day, ask to be located on the mill stream side of the park.

The showers are modern and spotless (and I'm heartened to see that a squeegee was provided, so we could do the continental thing of wiping away any excess water when you've finished), and are free, with plenty of hot water.

The toilets are located separately, and again are modern and spotless.

Dogs are welcome on site, and the dog walk area is almost as big as the site itself. Plenty of areas for our furry friends to explore. If your dogs are anything like ours, and love a good swim (straight from the back of the pitch!, then you'll find an elevated dog shower, with luke warm water. (Also free to use).

The site shop sells basic items (frozen meats and par baked bread, a few tinned goods), and is run by the site wardens. It must be noted that the shop is closed on one day of the week (everyone deserves a day off), but if the wardens are around, they were quite happy to open up for a few minutes. (This was a blessing, as we stayed during the scorching hot period, and ice cream was a necessity!) if the wardens aren't around, then the nearest big shop is in Dulverton (parking is a bit of a nightmare).

WIFI is site wide, (but was only working near the entrance on our visit. There was a fault, and the wardens were waiting for BT to visit to rectify the fault) Due to the number of pitches, they ask that you don't use the WIFI to download films, as the bandwidth is for everyone to use, and streaming/downloading takes up a lot of the bandwidth, therefore stopping others from getting online. If you want to watch films, it's probably best if you download them BEFORE you visit.

I can honestly say that this is the best site that we have visited in the UK. It rates up there with the best of the sites in Germany and Austria (if you've stayed in those places, you'll know what I mean!).

We will definitely be making a return visit, and it's not often that I can say that about a UK site.

One thing that you MUST pack for your visit, is bite cream, and antihistamines. There were a few horse flies around, and midges. Obviously this is due to the site being surrounded by water, and something that is completely out of the control of the site wardens/owners.

Other than that, I still rate this site as being 10/10.

If the wardens and owner read this review, then keep up the stirling effort.

Date of Visit: August 2017 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: SJJohns 6 reviews from this member

This site is excellent. Perfect location for touring Exmour and the North Somerset coast, easy to find and get to, quiet location, good walking from the site, excellent facilities, great wardens, good information hut and on-site shop - the fresh scones, cream and jam are highly recommended.

In terms of nearby facilities the pub across the road is good and out of the site, turn left and left at the next crossroads there is a garage with a 'One Stop Shop'

There are some slight negatives, but these do not outweigh the positives, in my view. Lack of phone signal - but okay if you are on virgin/ EE, no 3G - but this is normal across many remote areas, plus the WIFI was not working on the site when we were there. The only other slight negative is that the toilets and showers are near the entrance and so if you are down the other end of the site you have a little walk, however, they are excellent when you get there.

I can well recommend this site and we will be returning!

Date of Visit: July 2017 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: GMJ1 3 reviews from this member

What a wonderful site and a wonderful welcome!

The wardens - Steve and Debbie - couldn't have been more helpful or welcoming for the 4 nights we stayed on this site.

Set in a beautiful location between a river and a mill stream, there are a choice of grass or hard standing pitches available. The grass is immaculately kept as is the whole site.

All caravan/motorhome pitches have electric hook up and fresh water is not far from any of them. The site has FREE wifi which is a bonus plus we managed to pick up a satellite signal for the TV although if you can't, each pitch has a digital TV plug in so you can get freeview TV via that.

The toilet and shower blocks were kept immaculately whilst we were there with ample supplies of hand soap, paper towels and loo roll. The showers are proper non push button ones as well and the water was ample and warm enough.

There is a small shop on site for some basic provisions (plus fantastic local ice cream!) and the local pub serves good food and beer (closed on Weds!).

The site provides oodles of local information including several well thought out local walks, with detailed guidance on each of them.

All in all one of the nicest sites we have ever visited. I am loathed to write this review in case it gets too popular and we can't get in next time we want to visit!

It's a shame we can't give 11 out of 10!

Date of Visit: July 2017 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Lucasdog 2 reviews from this member

This is still a lovely site but has gone down hill this year. The grass is left far too long so on even the hottest days it never dries off. Consequently your feet and your unit be it a caravan or tent are always in the damp grass. The previous managers used to cut it much shorter and it was much better and much tidier. The bin area often was a mess and the showers and toilets were not as clean at all. The wifi did not work and we were told that it was just one of those things! Another lady was told that the reason it was free is because it never works! Then why advertise that the site has free wifi?? Utterly ridiculous! The wardens/ managers were not very friendly and need a lesson in customer service!

The upkeep of everything is poor in comparison to previous visits such a shame really! The whole site needs some tlc. Top whack prices charged for a now inferior site and facilities just not good enough!

Management response: I think your review is more than a little unfair, indeed none of the matters about which you have complained is true. We have employed wardens for the past 7 years and we are lucky in that they have all been very good. Nothing has changed and your review is not supported at all by the comments we, the owners, receive, nor is it supported by the high level of good comments on the review sites.

To suggest that the Wifi never works is nonsense. It works for over 95% of the time but occasionally we have to reboot it, and we have had to call out an engineer 3 times. The wardens rely on it because we get about 60% of our bookings online. It is better this year because we have a fibre optics connection which is much faster.

Furthermore we have added a dog wash facility and a defibrillator whilst keeping all general maintenance to our usual standards.

Having so many complaints, I am disappointed that you did not mention any of them to me when you were here. There must have been plenty of opportunity, particularly when we show the water mill to campers, and have it running every Sunday morning.

Paul, campsite owner

Date of Visit: May 2017 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Eclectus 26 reviews from this member

What a beautiful site set in the exe valley, Exmoor. Fantastic views and beautiful scenery

Plenty of space on each pitch, with excellent dog walk and the river exe to one side and a pretty mill stream on the other.

Dogs loved playing in the water, dog area could be let off the leads to play.

Adult only - surprising what a difference it makes as the showers and toilets were immaculate at all times.

Very rural location - pub within walking distance. Supermarkets about 20-30 minute drive away. Local convenience shop in nearby fullerton along with an excellent fish and chip shop. Don't rely on sat nav under any circumstances to take you anywhere. Had several nightmare experiences using tom-tom to take us to places and kept routing down impassable roads.

Nearby towns Minehead - nice place but not much other than Butlins. Tesco and Morrisons supermarkets and Lidl. Watchet- very pretty little harbour town. Porlock- Very pretty nice walk to the the beach. Lots of national trust and english heritage places to visit within a short travel.

3G/4g was ok with EE or 3 No Vodafone. Not sure about o2 Free wifi on site but it never worked all the time we were there.

TV reception non existent. Need to use the sites own connection and then you only get 25 basic channels. Unable to locate a signal with satellite dish either due to location of site within a valley.

Wardens very pleasant and helpful- pick your own pitch on arrival

Site access is a little bit of a rollercoaster ride. Took the tiverton road to arrive and depart, glad we did- wouldn't like to take the duster road with a caravan on the back. PLEASE USE SITE DIRECTIONS ON WEBSITE- DON'T USE SAT NAV

Date of Visit: September 2016 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Lucysmum 38 reviews from this member

We had a lovely time here. Nice size pitch. Good size dog walk & off lead opportunity. Nice walking nearby too & dog friendly pub within walking distance. Facilities block very nice & modern, and even has an iron & ironing board to use (free). I really liked the fact that the fresh fish man calls on a Friday. We live 5 miles from a fishing port and we can only get fresh fish from the supermarket here! Ooh and a free welcome cup of tea when you arrive.

We would definitely recommend this site and would happily go back there again.

Date of Visit: May 2016 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: Marcusjp 2 reviews from this member

Excellent site. Met with a welcome tea or coffee, and shown to a good sized pitch. River on one side, and Mill stream on the other. Toilet block btter than some hotels I have stayed in. Dog walking area great. Pub is a 2 minute walk from the site entrance. We will return. Thankyou

Date of Visit: August 2016 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Sue Paul 41 reviews from this member

Lovely site in a superb location along with the shop and superb helpful wardens. This time we enjoyed lovely new bathrooms ( where did the piped music go) which were a joy.

As ever the site was in lovely order and we had a fine time as usual.

One gripe though the newly installed wifi over the site is pathetic, it works, it doesn't, it partly works, it doesn't it was a nightmare.

Either offer something that works properly or not at all.

Date of Visit: August 2016 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Yogitrish 3 reviews from this member

Stayed here for 2wks, lovely camp site, all facilities very clean although was high season never had to queue for loos or showers. The wardens were lovely and you get a hot drink when you arrive. Only bugbear was the rule is to move your tent after 7days (still on same pitch)to preserve the grass. We camped on the riverside which got sun in morning but was gone by about 4. 30pm; I would recommend you book on the millstream side as this gets the most sun. We found the valley weather was a lot of misty rain and wind but when driving out of area weather improved!Winding roads in either direction for half hour before you get to a main road with lots of pheasants on road to watch out for!(breeding area)The local pub is reached in about 3mins walk, its opening hours can be random, its a bit dingy and I would not recommend sunday roast although other campers had nice other meals there. The dog walk on site up to the weir is beautiful, very dog friendly site. On Sundays at 10am you can have a tour of the mill. Very peaceful site, we seemed to be the only ones sitting around drinking and having a laugh in the evenings(we ranged from 57-64) but most people were older. All in all this is a lovely site for peace and quiet and cleanliness, I would go back for the actual site but not for the weather which was erratic, changing in minutes, we decided not to camp in a valley again!as we like the sun!Having said that I would recommend this site.

Date of Visit: July 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Wiggy010 1 review from this member

Can't say much more than has already been said, lovely site, mostly flat on the river side with some pitches on the mill side slightly sloping. You have a choice of later sun on the mill side or more shade on the other. Mill visit well worth doing on Sunday. We will return if in the area. One warning if you are travelling to the site north on the A396, the Black Cat junction with the B3227 is more of a right turn than appears on the maps.

Previous     180 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Save to Virtual Brochure  Add this Site to your Virtual Brochure                                Share  Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write your own Review for a chance to Win 300 of Prizes!
Sponsored by Ordnance SurveyWin a 300 Prize Package including 100 of Amazon vouchers, courtesy of our sponsor Ordnance Survey If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Further info and prize details here

Try our town listings   -   Other Sites in Somerset   -   Search for a site

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win 3 AutoSock car snowsock sets worth 49.95+ each Win an OLPRO Caravan Cover in your size

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Manchester Caravan & Motorhome Show 18 to 21 January 2018
Advanced booking discount plus we have 15 pairs of tickets to give away ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3102 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend  -  Pensions Auto-enrolment

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2017






0.0938
UKCampsite.co.uk
Advent Calendar

Advent Calendar

24 Daily Prizes worth up to 120 and a Christmas Day Star Prize worth 500!
Open Today's Window