Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Exe Valley Caravan Site

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > UK > England > South West > Somerset > Site Reviews

Exe Valley Caravan Site
Mill House
Bridgetown
Exmoor
Dulverton
Somerset   (Browse area)
TA22 9JN   See Map                                 Share Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook
Tel: 01643 851432

Facilities:  (Key)
                  

Nearby: (within x miles)
1m  1m  10m  5m   5m 
Featured Site

Pitches: 50
Open: 12th March To 18th October

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 176 Reviews
              9/10 from 176 Reviews


Units accepted:    Tents  Caravans  Motorhomes 

Photos (11)

Reviews:  176 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14   15   16   17   18  

Submit your own Review for a chance to Win 100!
100 for your reviewEvery month someone who has left a review of any caravan park or campsite will win 100 of Amazon vouchers So, if you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win!

Date of Visit: May 2017 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Eclectus 25 reviews from this member

What a beautiful site set in the exe valley, Exmoor. Fantastic views and beautiful scenery

Plenty of space on each pitch, with excellent dog walk and the river exe to one side and a pretty mill stream on the other.

Dogs loved playing in the water, dog area could be let off the leads to play.

Adult only - surprising what a difference it makes as the showers and toilets were immaculate at all times.

Very rural location - pub within walking distance. Supermarkets about 20-30 minute drive away. Local convenience shop in nearby fullerton along with an excellent fish and chip shop. Don't rely on sat nav under any circumstances to take you anywhere. Had several nightmare experiences using tom-tom to take us to places and kept routing down impassable roads.

Nearby towns Minehead - nice place but not much other than Butlins. Tesco and Morrisons supermarkets and Lidl. Watchet- very pretty little harbour town. Porlock- Very pretty nice walk to the the beach. Lots of national trust and english heritage places to visit within a short travel.

3G/4g was ok with EE or 3 No Vodafone. Not sure about o2 Free wifi on site but it never worked all the time we were there.

TV reception non existent. Need to use the sites own connection and then you only get 25 basic channels. Unable to locate a signal with satellite dish either due to location of site within a valley.

Wardens very pleasant and helpful- pick your own pitch on arrival

Site access is a little bit of a rollercoaster ride. Took the tiverton road to arrive and depart, glad we did- wouldn't like to take the duster road with a caravan on the back. PLEASE USE SITE DIRECTIONS ON WEBSITE- DON'T USE SAT NAV

Date of Visit: September 2016 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Lucysmum 38 reviews from this member

We had a lovely time here. Nice size pitch. Good size dog walk & off lead opportunity. Nice walking nearby too & dog friendly pub within walking distance. Facilities block very nice & modern, and even has an iron & ironing board to use (free). I really liked the fact that the fresh fish man calls on a Friday. We live 5 miles from a fishing port and we can only get fresh fish from the supermarket here! Ooh and a free welcome cup of tea when you arrive.

We would definitely recommend this site and would happily go back there again.

Date of Visit: May 2016 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: Marcusjp 1 review from this member

Excellent site. Met with a welcome tea or coffee, and shown to a good sized pitch. River on one side, and Mill stream on the other. Toilet block btter than some hotels I have stayed in. Dog walking area great. Pub is a 2 minute walk from the site entrance. We will return. Thankyou

Date of Visit: August 2016 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Sue Paul 37 reviews from this member

Lovely site in a superb location along with the shop and superb helpful wardens. This time we enjoyed lovely new bathrooms ( where did the piped music go) which were a joy.

As ever the site was in lovely order and we had a fine time as usual.

One gripe though the newly installed wifi over the site is pathetic, it works, it doesn't, it partly works, it doesn't it was a nightmare.

Either offer something that works properly or not at all.

Date of Visit: August 2016 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Yogitrish 2 reviews from this member

Stayed here for 2wks, lovely camp site, all facilities very clean although was high season never had to queue for loos or showers. The wardens were lovely and you get a hot drink when you arrive. Only bugbear was the rule is to move your tent after 7days (still on same pitch)to preserve the grass. We camped on the riverside which got sun in morning but was gone by about 4. 30pm; I would recommend you book on the millstream side as this gets the most sun. We found the valley weather was a lot of misty rain and wind but when driving out of area weather improved!Winding roads in either direction for half hour before you get to a main road with lots of pheasants on road to watch out for!(breeding area)The local pub is reached in about 3mins walk, its opening hours can be random, its a bit dingy and I would not recommend sunday roast although other campers had nice other meals there. The dog walk on site up to the weir is beautiful, very dog friendly site. On Sundays at 10am you can have a tour of the mill. Very peaceful site, we seemed to be the only ones sitting around drinking and having a laugh in the evenings(we ranged from 57-64) but most people were older. All in all this is a lovely site for peace and quiet and cleanliness, I would go back for the actual site but not for the weather which was erratic, changing in minutes, we decided not to camp in a valley again!as we like the sun!Having said that I would recommend this site.

Date of Visit: July 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Wiggy010 1 review from this member

Can't say much more than has already been said, lovely site, mostly flat on the river side with some pitches on the mill side slightly sloping. You have a choice of later sun on the mill side or more shade on the other. Mill visit well worth doing on Sunday. We will return if in the area. One warning if you are travelling to the site north on the A396, the Black Cat junction with the B3227 is more of a right turn than appears on the maps.

Date of Visit: June 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: TomMac 24 reviews from this member

Located right in the Exmoor Forest, although next to a main road (to Dunster, then Minehead) you wouldn't know it as at night it is dead quiet. Adults only site. On the left, the pitches are flat and have a small river behind, on the right the pitches are flat and sloping with a small stream behind. All pitches are grass, apart from a couple. The site is long and the toilets, showers, reception, laundry and dishwashing are all at the entrance and is quite a walk the further away you get. The toilet block is separate; 3 ladies and 2 mens, the showers are next to the laundry/washing and disabled shower/toilet. There are 3 showers and one toilet in the womens, not sure of the mens layout. The Badgers Holt inn is not always open, so be prepared to wait til they are or go elsewhere. We were told about the 'pretty sloping cricket ground' nearby. When we went there, we saw several steel mole traps in the ground with sticks as markers, so they were released! If you happen to go over and see any, please check them and release any trapped moles! I get the feeling these traps aren't checked regularly. Dunster is a short drive away, as is Englands Tallest tree, a small sign on your right says so before you get to Dunster, we also visited Minehead, Westward Ho! The Tarr Steps and had many drives around the moors and quiet lanes. Saw a deer and Exmoor ponies. There is a Co-Op in nearby Dulverton. The shop on site has a lot of good stuff too. On Sunday the site owner gives a talk and shows the mill wheel working.

Date of Visit: June 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Rfrayling 8 reviews from this member

We stayed here for 2 nights last weekend and the site is pure peace! Quiet, well maintained with nice clean modern facilities. At the far end of the park is a beautiful walk with a weir which should not be missed. The free wifi can be a bit hit and miss and there was no phone signal on Vodaphone. If you are on site on Sundays there is a small guided tour and the mill with was interesting. The very local pub (The Badgers Holt - 1 minute walk) serves great home cooked food and is dog friendly. Would certainly recommend and will be back!

Date of Visit: June 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: MrsK29 1 review from this member

Just returned from 7 nights at this picturesque site. We are new to caravanning & this is the furthest we have been with the caravan so far. Well worth the 4 hour journey! On arrival the warden was very helpful. Offering a most welcome cup of tea! We were pitched near the facilities, which are modern and spotless. We were on the side next to the river, which got the sun in the mornings. The dog walk area and the weir are very pretty. I would not have been disappointed on any of the pitches to be honest. The site is kept immaculate. We will definitely return here, and would recommend it to everyone.

Date of Visit: June 2016 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Bertwoody 1 review from this member

This was my third visit to this idyllic site and was pleased to find it as lovely as ever. Well maybe even better with the refurbished shower block. Our pitch was at the very far end, beside the river. I note a previous reviewer suggests more lighting at the top end, I think not! The help yourself herb garden is a great idea and welcome in the camp kitchen. The local area is fabulous for dog walking (take a tick puller with you though). We had a couple of very nice meals at the pub down the road. Thank you for your fantastic (child free!) site

Previous     176 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Save to Virtual Brochure  Add this Site to your Virtual Brochure                                Share  Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Submit your own Review for a chance to Win 100!
100 for your reviewEvery month someone who has left a review of any caravan park or campsite will win 100 of Amazon vouchers So, if you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win!

Try our town listings   -   Other Sites in Somerset   -   Search for a site

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a KAMEI Husky L Roof Box worth 225! Win a Coolbox Cool n Store Package worth over 235!

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Elvaston Steam Rally Camping Weekend 1 - 2 July
Derbyshire - An amazing fun weekend for all the family, camp on site ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


245 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend  -  Pensions Auto-enrolment

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2017




0.0996