Log in or Register

Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Proctors Stead Caravan And Camping Park

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > UK > England > North East > Northumberland > Site Reviews

Proctors Stead Caravan And Camping Park
Proctors Stead
Northumberland   (Browse area)
NE66 3TF   See Map                                 Share Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook
Tel: 01665 576613

Facilities:  (Key)

Nearby: (within x miles)
5m  1m  1m  5m  5m  1m  5m   1m  10m 
Featured Site

Pitches: 65
Open: 22 March - 31 October

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 151 Reviews
              8/10 from 151 Reviews

Units accepted:    Tents  Caravans  Motorhomes 

This site has chosen to use the availability calendar. You can check for availability here.

Photos (4)

Reviews:  151 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14   15   16  

Submit your own Review for a chance to Win £100!
Win £100Submit a review of this site for your chance to win £100 of Caravan Club vouchers or £100 of Amazon vouchers, courtesy of this month's sponsor, The Caravan Club. Join The Club from just £48 per year to enjoy access to over 2,700 sites, exclusive member benefits and site special offers.

Date of Visit: August 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Bellaruss 5 reviews from this member

Excellent week on this site. Spacious pitches, helpful and friendly owners. You can buy milk and eggs on site, but it's only 6 miles to sainsburys in Alnwick. They sold strawberry milkshake on the site, and one day when it was sold out, the owner gave her son a call, who happens to be the milkman, to bring some more down later in the afternoon!

Lovely location. You can walk from the site to dunstanburgh castle, and there's also a no car cycle path from the site directly to embleton sands beach. Perfect for the kids.

Our only gripe was that the toilet block was extremely well used over the bank holiday weekend and so not as clean and well maintained as would have liked.

Date of Visit: August 2016 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Phil Dunn 1 review from this member

Last minute booking for 1 night only, very helpful over the phone, given price straight away no worries. On arrival we checked in and I asked for electric hook up if possible, again not a problem. Got shown to a great pitch by the an on the electric bike and set up tent, campsite was very busy but not noisy at all, lots of dogs and kids but I loved it. Site is a 5 min walk to the local pub which has a huge beer garden and lots of bats flying around (loved it) will be back as soon as we can

Date of Visit: July 2016 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Julietyran 5 reviews from this member

We found this park by accident and so glad we did. The owners were very helpful and showed you to your area on his bicycle. There were no set pitches which was great. We had a serviced grass area with electricity. Very clean and tidy park, showers and toilets were good even though you had to pay to use the showers which was only 20p, was good value for money overall. Although no shop on site, owners did sell milk, orange juice and yoghurts. We were only going to stay for one night but enjoyed the quiet surroundings so much we stayed for 2 nights on our tour. Would definitely come back. We visited Dunstanburgh castle whilst there and also were able to cycle to Sewhouses on some great roads. Lovely area and lovely park

Date of Visit: July 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: LLCJ 5 reviews from this member

Had a good long weekend break at Proctor's Stead, our first trip up to Northumberland with our new caravan.

The booking was easy (online with Sally who was excellent at getting back to me with any questions). The route directions from the website were perfect and helped us avoid any smaller roads, so I would recommend following these rather than following sat nav.

When we got there the site owner was a little confused and at first said he didn't think we could have hook up despite requesting HU months ago and it clearly written on our booking (which would have been a disaster as we needed it). As we had a continental opening van (again clearly written on the booking) he wasn't sure where to put us but he then had a quick drive round on his motorised bike and found a space in a corner for us with hook up (as we had a very long cable). A proper site plan would probably help with this I think.

Site was very busy (in fact full to brimming) due to a rock on the lawn festival at the local pub and I was told, by a very friendly fellow camper, that this was the busiest weekend of the year as it also coincided with a Coastal Run. Our field wasn't too bad as it was mainly caravans and campers and well spaced, but one of the other fields looked particularly stuffed in and overcrowded. By Sunday this had completely changed as a lot of people left that day, and I got a sense of what this campsite would look like normally.

Facilities are basic but good, and were kept pretty clean but please be aware they are not pristine state of the art loos/ showers. They are straight forward and work absolutely fine though. The showers are 10p for 6 mins but the 6 mins seems long enough to me and you are in your own roomy shower room so no problem to pop out and put another 10p in if you are enjoying your shower and it runs out (no one can see you!). There are lots of bins/recycling and a couple of washing up areas and a laundry room. There is also a wash room with electric points so you can dry your hair here or charge up your phones etc. , (not secure though so I probably wouldn't leave anything valuable charging)

I believe this site to be fairly quiet normally at night but there were some people in one of the other fields who played loud music and talked and basically enjoyed themselves rather more loudly than would have been fair to their fellow campers. They could be heard pretty much over the whole site, but thankfully they did quieten down by midnight. I understand that the owner would ask anyone to leave if they did this too much, which is a good thing to know.

Location is absolutely bob on. Lovely views of the fields, sea and the castle from the site entrance. To get to Embleton, either get in the car and drive two minutes into town and park up and straight on to the dunes, or to walk, come out of the campsite to the left. Follow little quiet road for about 2 mins and then turn right down the tarmac farm road. About 20 - 30 mins later after walking straight down to the bottom of Embleton Village, through fields and the farm, you will come to the beach. From there you can turn left and walk to Lower Newton (Ship Inn for much needed drink and butty) or turn right and walk to Dunstanburgh Castle and then on to Craster (Jolly Fisherman for refreshments). A short 1 mile walk up from Craster brings you back to the campsite - a cracking walk with the dogs.

Dogs are very welcome at this campsite but there is no particular dog walk and no dog poo bins. However, there are plenty of bins in the main facilities at the entrance so use those, or walk along the little road outside and opposite the farm entrance is a dog poo bin.

The owners were quiet, but industrious, certainly at 6am in the morning they were busy cleaning the loo's and shower areas. There is an honesty box at the entrance to the reception with milk, eggs etc.

I probably wouldn't recommend it to families who want ready made site entertainment/activities for kids. There isn't any, other than beautiful quiet pristine beaches and endless walks.

For a local lunch/evening meal we went to Jolly Fisherman in Craster (1 mile walk down the hill), as their views over the sea are absolutely amazing. The prices are a bit on the high side though. Next time we shall try the Cottage Inn in the village when it isn't as busy. Having said that its only a few miles from Alnwick, Alnmouth etc. , so a trip out for the day is simple, and there seemed to be a bus that pulled up at the end of the campsite road near Craster so that might also be a possibility.

I would definitely stay here again without doubt and happily recommend it to anyone.

My only suggestions to make this better would be to have a proper allocated site plan with acceptable pitch sizes, so you (and the owner) knew who you were and what your pitch was. There were tents with their guide ropes crossing in one of the fields, almost on top of each other, and it seemed to be a case of 'there's a space, go in there' rather than properly spaced out

Date of Visit: August 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Robert2104 1 review from this member

Bit disappointed after reading all the good reviews. There are signs all over the park saying 'no ball games' after having our van and car hit by a group of kids I asked them to move to another part of the field, only to be informed by the kids that their parents had told them to play there as it wouldn't annoy them! The owner runs around the park on his electric bike and even spoke to the families with the kids while they were playing football. If your not going to enforce the signs just take them down so everyone knows it's ok for the kids to play. I have emailed the owner as it got so bad we left our pitch a day early, his daughter responded saying she would let him know. Two weeks later still no reply. It's a lovely site but if your looking for peace and quiet maybe look somewhere else.

Date of Visit: June 2015 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Procjc 14 reviews from this member

We camped in a tent for 10 days in June, and were in the grass non-electric field at the bottom right end. Friendly owner who shows you to your pitch on his bicycle. No set pitches in the small field we were in, just a “pitch in that general area”. Facilities clean and tidy. Ample hot water, but you need coins to operate the showers. Indoor washing up area and laundrette facilities. Ice pack freezing facility in the Information Room (donations to local charities). No EE phone signal, but payphone on site. Short walk to village pub “The Cottage Inn” – which had average food and was OK if it was raining and you didn’t want to venture far. We preferred “The Jolly Fisherman” in Craster which was a bit more upmarket (didn’t eat here but it had a nice garden overlooking the sea) which is a longer walk/short cycle ride downhill, and also the “Greys Inn” in Embleton – great food, friendly welcome and a flat walk/cycle ride from the campsite. You can walk via footpaths/across fields to Dunstanburgh Castle from the campsite and I recommend continuing north along the beach to “The Ship Inn” at Low Newton – real ales. Would also recommend the boat trip from Seahouses out to the Farne Islands (even if you aren’t a birdwatcher) and a visit to Lindisfarne Castle. Great location for exploring the Northumberland coastline and right on the Coast & Castles Cycleway. This really is a lovely area of the UK, great coastline walks, beautiful beaches with dunes and rockpools - the scenery was very like Norfolk but with castles! This was the ideal campsite for us, it had everything we needed, good facilities but a relaxed atmosphere with few rules – another area of the UK we need to return to!

Date of Visit: June 2016 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: Seafarer 2 reviews from this member

We chose Proctor Stead as it was situated perfectly for our visit requirements, to Alnwick Castle, Bamborough Castle and Seahouses (Farne Islands boat trips),

Welcomed and given cheerful assistance by site owner (who zooms around on electric bike). Only grass pitch available and did come with electric. No pitch too far from main facilities block. TV reception very good, so was able to use onboard TV aerial.

Shower block/toilets were very clean. The 6 mins hot water for 10 pence was more than enough for a shower.

WiFi availabllity was very questionable. Could only receive signal when really close to transmitter. I could receive by shower block (20 yards), but nothing at pitch (150 yards).

Date of Visit: August 2015 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Curly16 3 reviews from this member

Stayed at this lovely site the first week in August. We booked a couple of weeks in advance and even made a special request that was accommodated on arrival.

Owner was lovely and helpful. He will show you to some suggested pitches but leaves the final choice up to you. Pitches in our field were spacious but walking through the next field of primarily caravans and motorhomes en-route to the toilets, I did notice it seemed very crowded. It was much better a couple of days later though as people left.

Site was very nice, tidy and well looked after. Facilities were very good, cleaned a couple of times a day. Showers are 10p for 6 minutes. There is no timer on them so if you think you'll need longer, don't put two 10p's in at once as it will still run cold after the six minutes. Pot wash area (two, one at each end of the toilet block) has two sinks and there was always hot water. The same can be said for the water in the washrooms. There is a laundry and recycling facilities on site too.

There are no children's facilities on the site but that's why we chose it to be honest.

Site sells the basics; milk, eggs, orange juice, yoghurts and water at reception via an honesty box.

Good location for accessing Craster, Dunstanburgh Castle, Embleton, Newton by the Sea all on foot. We also walked to Alnmouth.

Couple of pubs within walking distance; The Cottage Inn is two minutes away, does nice food and is dog friendly. The Jolly Fisherman is a little bit further in Craster. The Shoreline coffee shop, also in Craster, does a lovely crab sandwich that we can highly recommend.

Shop and post office a couple of miles away in Embleton (closes at 7pm in the summer) or there is a Spar in Longhoughton about 5 miles away (closes at 9pm).

Lovely site, lovely owners, will definitely return.

Date of Visit: July 2015 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: Run Lola run 5 reviews from this member

We turned up late needing an unexpected stop off not knowing the area, intending a quick over night stay then moving on but loved it so much we kept going back and stayed 3 nights. The showers are 10p with the owners having a ready supply for you, one 10p was easy enough. The site was full but still quiet and peaceful with lovely walks to the coast and a castle, we saw deer in the fields on the way to the castle. They have recycling bins in a farm building so it keeps the site looking tidy and a handy laundry room, the showers/toilets and wash room were clean and tidy, there is a pay phone in a sentry box near the entrance and lots of birds singing in the hedges. Owners were always smiling and helpful, it's a site I will be returning to and it has A good pub a couple of minutes walk away with a lovely beer garden behind.

Date of Visit: June 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Bask 2 reviews from this member

Just returned from two night weekend at this site. Well spaced pitches and given the choice of pitch. Toilet/shower block clean, few cobwebs, could do with clean. Grass and hard standing pitches, nice flat sight.

Lovely pub Cottage Inn, Dunstan just 1/4 mile from site. Lovely food and friendly staff, dog friendly.

Previous     151 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Save to Virtual Brochure  Add this Site to your Virtual Brochure                                Share  Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Submit a Review for a chance to Win £100!
Sponsored by the Caravan ClubSubmit a review to UKCampsite.co.uk of any caravan park or campsite for your chance to win your choice of £100 of Caravan Club vouchers or £100 of Amazon vouchers, courtesy of this month's sponsor, The Caravan Club

If you've visited this site, then please submit a review for a chance to win.

Try our town listings   -   Other Sites in Northumberland   -   Search for a site

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a pair of OLPRO Hush Sleeping Bags worth £48.00 Win a HandiMoova Off-road Foldable Hand Trolley!

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Beat at Tencreek 60s Weekend, Cornwall - 14th to 16th October
A Sounds of the Swinging Sixties long weekend concert with camping on site ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions

4989 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend  -  Pensions Auto-enrolment

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2016