Log in or Register
Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Park Cliffe Camping & Caravan Estate

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > UK > England > North West > Lake District & Cumbria > Site Reviews

Park Cliffe Camping & Caravan Estate
Birks Road
Near Tower Wood
Cumbria   (Browse area)
LA23 3PG   See Map                                 Share Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook
Tel: 015395 31344

Facilities:  (Key)

Nearby: (within x miles)
5m  5m  5m  5m  5m   5m  5m  1m  5m 
Featured Site

Pitches: 150
Open: 1st March To 9th November

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 161 Reviews
              9/10 from 161 Reviews

Units accepted:    Tents  Caravans  Motorhomes  Statics for Hire  Statics on Sale  Glamping 

Photos (6)

Reviews:  161 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14   15   16   17  

Submit your own Review for a chance to Win £100 of Amazon Vouchers
Win £100 of Amazon vouchersSubmit a review of this site for a chance to win. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win £100 of Amazon vouchers!

Date of Visit: September 2015 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Goldengirl62 3 reviews from this member

Just returned from this site and have to say what a lovely place well kept, very clean, and very friendly helpful staff. We did use the takeaway facility twice and both times it was great very tasty. We used the local taxi service which reception were happy to book for us as we did not want to take the motorhome out we went to Bowness the cost was £11. 00 each way they were happy to take our two dogs. I think it would be a fair walk plus to parking looked pretty limited very busy this was on a Monday so would imagine w. Ends would be worse. All in all this has to be one of the best sites we have visited so far would use again.

Date of Visit: September 2015 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Joolb 3 reviews from this member

Site perfect being a mixture of areas for different units. Unfortunately we were told work was being done on ghyll side so to get ehu we were pitched in with the caravans and motorhomes. Saturday and Sunday the area was busy with families and such who mostly left after Sunday teatime.

As said before, facilities are spotless-we rented a private bathroom which was toasty warm/bath huge/rubbish shower head/toilet rolls and cleaning equipment provided. Hairdryer not very effective so used own in the shower block where there are elec sockets freely available

Used the bar once but a bit soulless as being the end of high season, there was only one other couple in there.

Drive into bowness was fine, but a bit tricky to turn into the road up to the site-had to do reverse manoeuvre a few times!

Very peaceful atmosphere-even the multiple dogs on site were perfectly behaved.

Would not choose to be in caravan area again as there are a large number of seasonal units which gave an air of a ghost town during the week but that obviously contributed to the overall peace and quiet

So much to do in the area-will be back but hopefully in one of the tent fields!

Date of Visit: June 2015 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: WilliamMcBeard 4 reviews from this member

Our second stay at Park Cliffe and every bit as happy as with the first.

We had a spot on the Fell again and when slightly higher up this time. In general this weekend (again, for the Great North Swim) attracts family groups. One thing that struck us this year was that it didn't seem as busy as last year, even though the swim was even busier. Not that we are complaining! The atmosphere was calm and friendly, with the better weather allowing the children to play in the brook.

Spent some time at the park which is great for an hour of energy sapping! All in all we really like this spot. One day we will get a cloudless sky for that sunset!

Date of Visit: May 2015 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Mickncaz 3 reviews from this member

Just returned from weekend here, we stayed on ghyllside and I think we had the best pitch on the whole site, the views were amazing, pitch was nice and flat with water point close by. There was camping pitches on the other side of the lane but I thought the pitches were on a slope.

The toilets and showers were spotless as was the pot washing area.

The pub looked lovely although we never used it, it also did meals and takeaways but again we did not try them, the little shop was handy too.

My kids enjoyed the park, they are 2 and 11 so there was something for all age groups.

The staff were very friendly, they show you to your pitch and where to park.

We had a drive in to bowness which was lovely, took the kids in a little boat trip which they really enjoyed and only cost £20 for the family.

This was a lovely site and I would not hesitate to go back,

Date of Visit: April 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Sleeplessinadderbur 3 reviews from this member

If this had been our first visit we would never return, but we have been before and everything was always fine then. This time we have had children running over our pitch, climbing over rocks behind the van and making a nuisance of themselves. Then a motorhome came in and parked next to us, and I do mean next to us, we couldn't hear the telly for their radio. If they had tried to put their awning up they would have had to tie the guide ropes around our water bottles. Finally to boot at 1045pm! a van arrived and started setting up, they had a dog that was really pleased to be out the car he wanted to shout it to the hills, aaaaargh. Oh I had almost forgot that we met a big wagon on the approach road, as we arrive, he did not thing he should reverse, but the thee cars behind us against him helped.

Having said all that the facilities are fine the grub is fine, and everywhere is clean. We are booked to go back in September and have rung the site and they have changed the pitch number to one against the wall, run around that, ha!

Date of Visit: October 2014 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Nicola Harris 13 reviews from this member

Fantastic site. We found the on site bar/restaurant a real benefit to give us somewhere to get out for the evening particularly as we were staying in a rainy, windy October half tern. Kids were very welcome in the bar and there was a thoughtful cupboard of games and colouring stuff that kept my children (aged 3 & 5) occupied for hours allowing us to enjoy a few glasses of wine and a meal. Meals were huge and pretty good. We found it a handy base to visit the local attractions. Our kids really enjoyed the boat trip form Bowness to Lakeside. (Boats have full facilities including a cafe bar). We visited the aquarium which was much better than I had expected! Then squeezed in Beatrix Potter exhibition before going back to the site (taxi into Bowness cost us £10).

Would recommend following the directions on the sites website to approach the site via Newby Bridge and not Windermere as there is no chance we would have got around the turn into the road the campsite is on!

Would definitely visit again if in the area.

Date of Visit: September 2014 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: Val E 6 reviews from this member

We have just returned from a one night stay at this site, we booked at the last minute and were pleased they had a vacant spot. We arrived, we had a speedy book in, and had a good spot, quite flat, we had a meal at restaurant which was lovely, the site was quiet, our baby was a bit noisy luckily no one complained. We had a nice walk around the site, the play area was great.

All facilities very clean, showers nice and hot. Good washing up area. I would say the whole site is excellent although a tad expensive at £31.

Although I do realise you get a lot good facilities for the money.

Date of Visit: July 2014 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Linda Morrison 4 reviews from this member

Beautiful site kept spotlessly clean!

Booked at last minute for a long weekend trip. Staff could not have been more helpful – from phone booking to assistance to sort out a broken tent pole. There are 2 sets of toilets and showers so no periods when facilities are unavailable due to cleaning and both were opened during busy periods – even came across toilet cleaning at 10. 30pm! Despite a very busy site over the weekend never had to wait for a shower.

Some lovely pitches although the camping area is on a hill with only a few level pitches. Our hook-up pitch was a large pitch in the caravan area and we were given a couple of alternatives when we weren’t too keen on the one allocated.

As a ‘young at heart’ couple the site was larger than we would usually choose with lots of families with young children over the weekend. However on Sunday the masses retreated and the remaining two days were quiet and peaceful.

Didn’t use the bar/restaurant but seemed popular – especially on night of World Cup Final (several German visitors on site) Shop is well stocked with very helpful staff.

Would return to this site …. During the week and outwith school holidays!

Date of Visit: July 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: TheCarrolls 4 reviews from this member

Just arrived home from a wonderful weekend at Park Cliffe. Beautiful well maintained grounds, attentive staff, lovely little shop and watching the children have fun in the stream was great!

The weather was an absolute bonus and if you have the legs, you must take a hike up the big hill to the top as the views are to die for!

Showers/Toilets are well kept, clean and modern.

It's 3 miles into Bowness so wide to take the car as the road into Bowness is narrow and no path to walk.

Date of Visit: July 2014 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Neilap 3 reviews from this member

We spent a Friday & Saturday night here, we being myself and my two sons aged 23 & 16. We chose the site as we've wanted to visit the South Lakes Wildlife Park for a while and this site was ideally placed and seemed to offer the facilities we wanted (highly recommended toilets/showers and a bar). We usually use our large dome tent, a Royal Biarritz 6 but since my wife and pet dog were staying at home this time we decided to give our old faithful, a Coleman Lakeside 4 an airing.

We arrived early Friday afternoon in the rain, and the very nice lady in reception actually walked us around the site showing us where everything is, and then walked us to our pitch. This is a really nice touch and deserves comment and praise because right from the start we felt welcome here. The site has three areas for camping, including one which is mainly for caravans/motor homes.

The main area is called Fellside and you don't have to book a pitch, but it is quite hilly with a few flattish parts which appear to become occupied very quickly. There is no electrical hook-up in this area but apart from the slope it is extremely well looked after with short grass and a tarmac road winding it's way throughout.

The area shared with caravans is called Moor How and is very flat with very large individual pitches. Six or seven pitches are for the use of tents, being grass whereas the tourer pitches are a half gravel half grass combination. The tent pitches are huge, will take the largest tents and have electric hook-up and plenty of water points are scattered around. We loved this site so we will be back in a few weeks time with the big tent in this area if we can get booked.

The third area is called Ghyll Side, it's across the quiet road, and consists of 20 individually marked pitches which have been pretty well flattened and lie between rocky outcrops. It's a lovely area, serviced by hook-up and water points and it seems very well planned and not at all crowded. There are some camping pods in this area which blend in and seem to fit the 'mood' of the place. As we had the smaller tent we opted for this area, and we booked pitch 11 which is the highest point and perfectly big enough for us. Larger tents wouldn't fit over here, the pitches are limited by the rocks and off-pitch slopes but our 5m x 3m fitted perfectly with flat living and sleeping being enjoyed. You have to book on the phone for Ghyll Side because they need to check your tent size to avoid disappointment.

It was pouring down when we started to get the tent pitched, and as the Coleman is very easy to set up I sent the lads over to the bar to play pool rather than them get in my way getting wet. I had the tent up in half an hour, and it's testament to the pitch that I have never had this tent erected so perfectly, with every panel taut and the whole thing level. This tent doesn't have a sewn-in groundsheet (except in the two sleeping pods) and I was worried about drafts but there was hardly any gap under the tent sides and as this area is so sheltered we were warm all weekend.

We ate in the bar, it isn't cheap but it's a holiday provider who have to make money in the summer months and it wasn't outrageously priced either. £8 or £9 gets you a main course of burger & chips or fish & chips type food, with huge portions which three hungry blokes couldn't finish. They had cheaper options (Pizzas etc) or more expensive steaks, a very good selection of food in fact. A round of two pints of lager and a pint of coke gave a few pennies change from a tenner so I'd say that a visit for a meal and a few drinks is a treat rather than the norm every night, it is on my budget anyway. We watched a World Cup match on the TV both nights, the second night we ate at the tent drinking cheaper cans of beer to save money before wandering over to the bar at 9. 00pm. There is a games room for the kids and the aforementioned pool table, so entertainment facilities are excellent.

They have four private bathrooms to rent, but the general facilities are so good, with spotlessly clean toilets and showers, that I wouldn't feel the need to pay the extra £14/night for them. The whole site is clean and well tended, if I had one complaint it would be that there are no rubbish points around the site. You have to take rubbish to the main facilities building which although this isn't the end of the world, we use plain carrier bags as rubbish bags and they fill quickly and it's a chore and a hike that has to be performed often.

You have to drive if you want to go off-site, there are no pubs or attractions/towns within walking distance but Bowness is only a 10 minute drive and is worth visiting for the shops/pubs/restaurants etc. I like the idea that it's a bit remote, I thought it was a great location and very easy to drive to and find.

The site was quiet at night, it seems to attract families rather than teenagers so we slept very well both nights. Some of the pitches on Ghyll Side enjoy fabulous views of Windermere, unfortunately trees blocked the view to the lake for us but we had a wonderful view across Fell Side to enjoy when we were lounging around. I liked it here very very much, I absolutely recommend this site for lots of reasons and without doubt we'll be back this season and in years to come.

Previous     161 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Save to Virtual Brochure  Add this Site to your Virtual Brochure                                Share  Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Submit a Review for a chance to Win £100 of Amazon Vouchers
Win £100 of Amazon vouchersSubmit a review of any caravan park or campsite, for a chance to win. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win £100 of Amazon vouchers!

If you've visited this site, then please submit a review for a chance to win.

Try our town listings   -   Other Sites in Cumbria   -   Search for a site

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a Champion 3100 Watt Inverter Petrol Generator Win a Win a One Week Stay at Vauxhall Holiday Park!

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Motorhome & Caravan Show 13 – 18 October
Occupying eleven huge halls of the NEC, it is guaranteed to be an unmissable event. Win tickets!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions

5000 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend  -  Pensions Auto-enrolment

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2015