Home

   Log in or Register
   
Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Park Cliffe Camping & Caravan Estate

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > UK > England > North West > Lake District & Cumbria > Site Reviews

Park Cliffe Camping & Caravan Estate
Birks Road
Near Tower Wood
Windermere
Cumbria   (Browse area)
LA23 3PG   See Map                                 Share Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook
Tel: 015395 31344

Facilities:  (Key)
                  

Nearby:
5m  5m  5m  5m  5m   5m  5m  1m  5m 
Featured Site

Pitches: 150
Open: 1st March To 9th November 2014

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 155 Reviews
              9/10 from 155 Reviews


Units accepted:    Tents  Caravans  Motorhomes  Statics for Hire  Statics on Sale  Glamping 

Photos (6)

Reviews:  155 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14   15   16  

Date of Visit: September 2014 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: Val E 4 reviews from this member

We have just returned from a one night stay at this site, we booked at the last minute and were pleased they had a vacant spot. We arrived, we had a speedy book in, and had a good spot, quite flat, we had a meal at restaurant which was lovely, the site was quiet, our baby was a bit noisy luckily no one complained. We had a nice walk around the site, the play area was great.

All facilities very clean, showers nice and hot. Good washing up area. I would say the whole site is excellent although a tad expensive at £31.

Although I do realise you get a lot good facilities for the money.

Date of Visit: July 2014 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Linda Morrison 4 reviews from this member

Beautiful site kept spotlessly clean!

Booked at last minute for a long weekend trip. Staff could not have been more helpful – from phone booking to assistance to sort out a broken tent pole. There are 2 sets of toilets and showers so no periods when facilities are unavailable due to cleaning and both were opened during busy periods – even came across toilet cleaning at 10. 30pm! Despite a very busy site over the weekend never had to wait for a shower.

Some lovely pitches although the camping area is on a hill with only a few level pitches. Our hook-up pitch was a large pitch in the caravan area and we were given a couple of alternatives when we weren’t too keen on the one allocated.

As a ‘young at heart’ couple the site was larger than we would usually choose with lots of families with young children over the weekend. However on Sunday the masses retreated and the remaining two days were quiet and peaceful.

Didn’t use the bar/restaurant but seemed popular – especially on night of World Cup Final (several German visitors on site) Shop is well stocked with very helpful staff.

Would return to this site …. During the week and outwith school holidays!

Date of Visit: July 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: TheCarrolls 4 reviews from this member

Just arrived home from a wonderful weekend at Park Cliffe. Beautiful well maintained grounds, attentive staff, lovely little shop and watching the children have fun in the stream was great!

The weather was an absolute bonus and if you have the legs, you must take a hike up the big hill to the top as the views are to die for!

Showers/Toilets are well kept, clean and modern.

It's 3 miles into Bowness so wide to take the car as the road into Bowness is narrow and no path to walk.

Date of Visit: July 2014 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Neilap 3 reviews from this member

We spent a Friday & Saturday night here, we being myself and my two sons aged 23 & 16. We chose the site as we've wanted to visit the South Lakes Wildlife Park for a while and this site was ideally placed and seemed to offer the facilities we wanted (highly recommended toilets/showers and a bar). We usually use our large dome tent, a Royal Biarritz 6 but since my wife and pet dog were staying at home this time we decided to give our old faithful, a Coleman Lakeside 4 an airing.

We arrived early Friday afternoon in the rain, and the very nice lady in reception actually walked us around the site showing us where everything is, and then walked us to our pitch. This is a really nice touch and deserves comment and praise because right from the start we felt welcome here. The site has three areas for camping, including one which is mainly for caravans/motor homes.

The main area is called Fellside and you don't have to book a pitch, but it is quite hilly with a few flattish parts which appear to become occupied very quickly. There is no electrical hook-up in this area but apart from the slope it is extremely well looked after with short grass and a tarmac road winding it's way throughout.

The area shared with caravans is called Moor How and is very flat with very large individual pitches. Six or seven pitches are for the use of tents, being grass whereas the tourer pitches are a half gravel half grass combination. The tent pitches are huge, will take the largest tents and have electric hook-up and plenty of water points are scattered around. We loved this site so we will be back in a few weeks time with the big tent in this area if we can get booked.

The third area is called Ghyll Side, it's across the quiet road, and consists of 20 individually marked pitches which have been pretty well flattened and lie between rocky outcrops. It's a lovely area, serviced by hook-up and water points and it seems very well planned and not at all crowded. There are some camping pods in this area which blend in and seem to fit the 'mood' of the place. As we had the smaller tent we opted for this area, and we booked pitch 11 which is the highest point and perfectly big enough for us. Larger tents wouldn't fit over here, the pitches are limited by the rocks and off-pitch slopes but our 5m x 3m fitted perfectly with flat living and sleeping being enjoyed. You have to book on the phone for Ghyll Side because they need to check your tent size to avoid disappointment.

It was pouring down when we started to get the tent pitched, and as the Coleman is very easy to set up I sent the lads over to the bar to play pool rather than them get in my way getting wet. I had the tent up in half an hour, and it's testament to the pitch that I have never had this tent erected so perfectly, with every panel taut and the whole thing level. This tent doesn't have a sewn-in groundsheet (except in the two sleeping pods) and I was worried about drafts but there was hardly any gap under the tent sides and as this area is so sheltered we were warm all weekend.

We ate in the bar, it isn't cheap but it's a holiday provider who have to make money in the summer months and it wasn't outrageously priced either. £8 or £9 gets you a main course of burger & chips or fish & chips type food, with huge portions which three hungry blokes couldn't finish. They had cheaper options (Pizzas etc) or more expensive steaks, a very good selection of food in fact. A round of two pints of lager and a pint of coke gave a few pennies change from a tenner so I'd say that a visit for a meal and a few drinks is a treat rather than the norm every night, it is on my budget anyway. We watched a World Cup match on the TV both nights, the second night we ate at the tent drinking cheaper cans of beer to save money before wandering over to the bar at 9. 00pm. There is a games room for the kids and the aforementioned pool table, so entertainment facilities are excellent.

They have four private bathrooms to rent, but the general facilities are so good, with spotlessly clean toilets and showers, that I wouldn't feel the need to pay the extra £14/night for them. The whole site is clean and well tended, if I had one complaint it would be that there are no rubbish points around the site. You have to take rubbish to the main facilities building which although this isn't the end of the world, we use plain carrier bags as rubbish bags and they fill quickly and it's a chore and a hike that has to be performed often.

You have to drive if you want to go off-site, there are no pubs or attractions/towns within walking distance but Bowness is only a 10 minute drive and is worth visiting for the shops/pubs/restaurants etc. I like the idea that it's a bit remote, I thought it was a great location and very easy to drive to and find.

The site was quiet at night, it seems to attract families rather than teenagers so we slept very well both nights. Some of the pitches on Ghyll Side enjoy fabulous views of Windermere, unfortunately trees blocked the view to the lake for us but we had a wonderful view across Fell Side to enjoy when we were lounging around. I liked it here very very much, I absolutely recommend this site for lots of reasons and without doubt we'll be back this season and in years to come.

Date of Visit: June 2014 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Booyaa 4 reviews from this member

We spent a weekend here in Mid June and really enjoyed the stay.

We were meeting people who arrived before us and the reception/warden were very helpful in directing us to our pitch and explaining where everything was and rules etc.

The pitch was just perfect for us and during the booking process the warden had went out and measured up the two pitches we wanted to make sure they could accommodate us. A very good touch of customer service.

The toilet block was spotless and the showers were great, the only grip was the lack of other campers cleaning up after themselves.

The wardens seemed to be constantly tidying, cleaning, watering, basically anything that needed doing.

The shop was good and not over priced, as was the bar. The food was good, not gourmet or anything but still very tasty, and the portions were MASSIVE! I struggled to finish mine and that very rarely happens.

The kids playground was very well appointed and spread over a large area so loads of kids could run about and not feel penned in.

At night the warden came round to ensure there was no excessive noise after 11. 30, I did think they should do that in the morning as well though, as it did seem those who got up with the birds could make as much noise as they wanted despite a rule that should be enforced up to 7. 30.

I really don't have any other negatives to say about the place, other than perhaps some of the other campers could have been a bit more considerate.

Overall a wonderful place to camp and spend plenty of time.

Date of Visit: June 2014 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: WilliamMcBeard 3 reviews from this member

The campers were as follows; Wife, Husband and Daughter (6); each was suitably pleased by this trip.

We were staying here in preparation for the husband's participation in the Great North Swim on Windermere. In terms of location, it was superb. (N. B Don't head to Lakeside for the ferry, it's Bowness you need, as we learnt nearly to our detriment. For the swim you need to leave a good 2 hours before your cut off point!).

In terms of the site, the check-in was very professional and quick. We had the option of a marked pitch closer to the facilities, or 'take-your-pick' up on the fell-side. We arrived at around 6:15pm on one of the busiest weekends of the year (due to the swim) and still had a good pick of pitch. There were relatively flat selections to be had in a number of spots; we picked a higher spot for the view and sacrificed a bit of equilibrium, but not a problem really. Certainly we didn't feel any 'midnight roll'!

The ambience was an excellent mix of families and groups, and even with the World Cup game (Eng vs. Ita) there was very little to complain about.

The site is very easy to find, on the main road to Windermere/Bowness. Once there the facilities are superb. Clean, bright, well aired and regularly cleaned. There are showers, separate toilets, baby bathing, laundrete, pot wash and chemical points all around a central complex, as well as recycling/garbage. There are even plenty of pallet style protectors for the BBQ lovers.

This is a lovely site, which even during the highest of usage (our parents-in-law tried to book to join us, but were told it was 100% full) retains a secluded Lake District feel. Absolutely A* and would recommend. Please feel free to PM for any other details.

Date of Visit: May 2014 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: KerryNewt 1 review from this member

We have just returned from a 3 night stay at Park Cliffe, the facilities were excellent. The toilets and showers were kept spotlessly clean, whilst one block was closed for cleaning another was made available so there was never a problem and the push button showers provided bucket fulls of much needed hot water (this is the first time I have entered a campsite shower without my flip flops!)

We noticed the majority of employees around the site were of a more mature age and I can only say that they did a fantastic job, were courteous, polite and friendly and gave us some great advice. We used the takeaway service once for some yummy chips to go with our bbq, the kids enjoyed the games room with table tennis and air hockey as well as the stream.

Whilst the site was hilly we were able to set up on a good pitch with only a slight incline. Don't know if this would be possible if the site were any busier though.

Overall I would highly recommend this site for its location, views, facilities and laid back atmosphere, we will definitely be going back.

Date of Visit: May 2014 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Katmarieberry 1 review from this member

Myself and my fiancé visited Park Cliffe for the first time over May bank holiday, we stayed 3nights on the fell side tents. From when we first arrived and check in the staff were friendly and more than helpful showed us where everything was and the way to the camping part of the park. You can set up where you like, we choose to pitch at the top of the site, there were many slopes and quite a few flat spots too. The views were amazing and the site and the facilities are outstanding. We spend the afternoon of arrival exploring the area and visited the on site shop which stocks all the basic needs of camping with every member of staff more than happy to help. We couldn't find a single thing wrong during our stay, the toilet and shower blocks were clean and tidy, they are cleaned every night around 10, the showers were hot and just what you need after a cold evening.

BBQ are allowed on site as long as you have a stand and if you run out of gas, the site stocks a supply for the to purchase at a great price. I recommend that you visit the on site bar and restaurant which the food is great and offers a takeaway service. During our stay we need to freeze our freezer packs for our cooler and the reception were more than happy to freeze them for us and they offered to supply us with spares to last us until ours were frozen.

I would recommend park cliffe to anyone who is looking for a excellent camp or caravan site.

Date of Visit: September 2013 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Sparry63 19 reviews from this member

Just spent 8 nights at this wonderful site.

A few miles south of Bowness on Windermere, on a hillside with great views of the surrounding area.

The site was spotless,

The wardens seem to be around continually but are not intrusive in any way. There is a club house on site for those who are sited but we were welcomed into the Saturday night quiz, there is a well stocked shop which opens more or less on request if the bar is open.

Toilets were some of the best we've been too, plenty of hot water in the showers which use the push button system.

There is a great laundry room with three washers and dryers that was priced very reasonably.

The surrounding area has many great attractions and there is plenty of walking just off the site. There is plenty of birdlife and wildlife to see if that's your cup of tea with rabbits aplenty and deer in the next field who were clearly very at ease.

The bar does a good meal we felt reasonably priced, the Sunday dinner was stunning and will set you up for the whole day. They do take away as well but we didn't try those.

There is a good children's park on site and clearly they have made their streams easily accessible and safe for kids to play in. Our grandchildren would have loved it

I would highly recommend a visit to the hole in 't wall pub in Bowness, its cracking for atmosphere drinks and an excellent meal.

The only down side to this site was from our perspective was the dog walk not being enclosed, be aware if your dog likes rabbits you wont see him for a while if he gets off the lead.

Be aware of the directions and do not follow a sat nav if you come onto the site from Bowness there is a tight left hand turn up quite a hill. The road shows there have been plenty of groundings. Come in from Newby bridge and you will have no problems.

Its a great site, we felt reasonably priced for the quality of facilities on offer, we would recommend and would return.

Date of Visit: August 2013 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Carolyne80 2 reviews from this member

This site was nice and the toilets showers and play areas were good. However it was very expensive at £35 night for a family tent considering there was not one flat pitch on the camping field. We spent the whole weekend rolling down our air ends and tripping over the potholes under our ground sheet. We couldn't leave anything on a table as it rolled off and our car got stuck on the steep hills. The food in the bar was nice however over £7 for a breakfast was a bit much. I cannot fault the staff who were nice and helpful but would not stay again based on the unsuitability of the pitches.

Previous     155 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Save to Virtual Brochure  Add this Site to your Virtual Brochure                                Share  Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Submit your Review for a chance to Win Prizes!
Sponsored by the Caravan ClubSubmit a review to UKCampsite.co.uk of any caravan park or campsite, for a chance to win a caravan towing course or motorhome manoeuvring course worth up to £145, or £100 of Amazon vouchers, courtesy of The Caravan Club. Join the Club for just £44 per year to enjoy access to a great range of caravan sites, benefits and special offers.

If you've visited this site, then please submit a review for a chance to win.

Try our town listings   -   Other Sites in Cumbria   -   Search for a site

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a Nemesis Ultra Wheel Clamp! from Towsure.com Visit the UKCS shop for exclusive discounts and offers

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Manchester Caravan & Motorhome Show 15 to 18/01/15
Start the season with a trip to the North’s biggest outdoor leisure show. Win 10 pairs of tickets or claim discount entry

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3000 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend  -  Pensions Auto-enrolment

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2014






0.0540