Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Park Cliffe Camping & Caravan Estate

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > UK > England > North West > Lake District & Cumbria > Site Reviews

Park Cliffe Camping & Caravan Estate
Birks Road
Near Tower Wood
Windermere
Cumbria   (Browse area)
LA23 3PG   See Map                                 Share Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook
Tel: 015395 31344

Facilities:  (Key)
                  

Nearby: (within x miles)
5m  5m  5m  5m   5m  1m  5m 
Featured Site

Pitches: 140
Open: 1st March To 12th November

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 166 Reviews
              9/10 from 166 Reviews


Units accepted:    Tents  Caravans  Motorhomes  Statics for Hire  Statics on Sale  Glamping 

Photos (24)

Reviews:  166 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14   15   16   17  

Submit your own Review for a chance to Win 100!
Win 100Submit a review of this site for your chance to win 100 of Caravan Club vouchers or 100 of Amazon vouchers, courtesy of this month's sponsor, The Caravan Club. Join The Club from just 48 per year to enjoy access to over 2,700 sites, exclusive member benefits and site special offers.

Date of Visit: September 2016 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: GAVLAD 5 reviews from this member

Just spent two nights at Park Cliffe after booking it for a last minute weekend break. The site is located approx 4 miles from Bowness and is very much on a countryside hill.

Check in was smooth and the warden guided us to our pitch.

The site is a mixture of static vans, caravans, Motorhomes and tents. Take levellers as some pitches are not flat.

As we are in a Motorhome, our intention was to walk into Bowness with a pushchair but was disappointed to learn that there's no pavement on the main road into Bowness from the site and that the road is narrow and can be very busy. Taxi it was (12. 50 each way) if you had a car, it would take less than ten minutes.

For ease, I've listed the pros & cons experienced during our stay:

Pros

This is a lovely site, well tended, almost immaculate in fact, well laid out pitch wise, good facilities and friendly staff. The outlook is very nice.

Kids are very well catered for with a very good play area.

Toilet block, bar area and shop are all good.

If you have your own transport, this would be a very good choice of site.

Cons

You're a bit limited staying here without transport as public transport is hit & miss plus the bus stops are miles away.

I'm sure there will be a public footpath via fields and woods but if you've got kids, you'd have to take a taxi - factor in this cost before booking, as it adds up.

The site is noisy at night. We experienced excessive noise from those returning from the bar, plus endured a 3 car party staying in one tent chatting until after 0130hrs which was poor. Even when the heavens opened, the chitter chatter continued as they went inside their tent. (Not the sites fault but the site doesn't uphold their noise policy)

The Motorhome service point is located next door to reception - on a very steep hill. Not ideal for draining your tank.

Plus, the site parked their Land Rover there for the duration of our stay so we couldn't have accessed the grey waste point if we wanted to.

Small things, but when you pay a premium to stay at a decent site, one shouldn't experience such small annoying things.

All in all though, the site is a very nice site to stay at.

Date of Visit: August 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Tony Headlam 28 reviews from this member

Park Cliffe is a lovely little site, all the staff were pleasant and helpful, there is a small shop on site that opened on request between the hours of 9 am to 5 pm a small bar, lounge area that provided meals, can't comment on those as we did not partake but they looked ok, the play area for the children was well maintained and safe for them to play on, all the washing facilities where cleaned to a good standard and kept clean through out our stay. The touring pitches are a good size with plenty of room for your awning and car and still room to sit and relax outside of your awning. The campsite is on a bus route and only a short walk down to the main road, it is also perfectly placed to visit the many and varied attractions the lakes has to offer, walking or towns and villages that are scattered all over the area. There is also a small fell to the rear of the campsite that is worth the walk up to take in the view of Lake Windermere and surrounding area

Date of Visit: August 2016 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Abbey15 2 reviews from this member

Having asked for a 4m x 4m pitch upon booking, we were disappointed to find that the pitch was not able to accommodate our tent. We asked at reception but were told there was nothing else. As the pitch was long and narrow we then tried to configure the rent so that the extension was added to the front. The tent hung over the side of the drop onto the pitch below, so we tried to secure it only to find that the other side was also rocky/ slate incline that we couldn't secure the guy ropes to. I went back to reception asking again for help, either to move pitch or for help securing the tent. I was told there was nobody to help and to go and buy rock pegs. As two females with two children, we struggled with this, but eventually we secured it on the slope by tying the guy ropes to trees. Later that day the two parties camping near us ( with an identical tent to mine and staying longer) told us that when they had arrived after us they had complained about their pitch and had been allocated better pitches.

That evening in the bar a member of the bar staff who we had not met previously or spoken to asked us out if the blue if we'd not thought about the fact in advance that our tent wouldn't fit the pitch. We were a little taken aback.

Whilst the site itself is beautiful and the facilities really well maintained, we have left early as we were unable to sleep due to the bedroom sloping steeply and hanging over the edge of the pitch.

A disappointing experience

Date of Visit: May 2016 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Sdub 1 review from this member

Went to park cliffe for a weekend and couldn't believe how nice it was so much so we returned the weekend after for the bank holiday. The park is family run, they are so friendly, it was so clean, all the facilities were amazing including disabled bathroom, shower, toilet etc, we eat in the restaurant the food was great. We will definitely return. The Robinson's

Date of Visit: April 2016 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: KmarieL 3 reviews from this member

Lovely site with excellent facilities (the best we've been to yet), and perfect for family holidays.

The site is set at the bottom of a steep hill - when on a dry day is definitely worth a climb as the views are amazing.

The site we pitched our tent on was a little boggy due to the previous weeks bad weather - but the local staff found us pallets to use from our tent to the path to stop us bringing in the mud.

The shower / toilet / washing area / laundry facilities are excellent. They were spotless on each visit.

The site is clearly very well managed, from the reception team to the chap who shows you exactly where to pitch. Its a no nonsense sight which means everyone was very courteous - no loud noise or music.

Its an excellent site for families with young children - with amazing play facilities, and the stream which all the children waded in (under supervision) at some point during their stay.

The location is good, we found it central to all the places we wanted to visit.

Date of Visit: September 2015 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Goldengirl62 4 reviews from this member

Just returned from this site and have to say what a lovely place well kept, very clean, and very friendly helpful staff. We did use the takeaway facility twice and both times it was great very tasty. We used the local taxi service which reception were happy to book for us as we did not want to take the motorhome out we went to Bowness the cost was 11. 00 each way they were happy to take our two dogs. I think it would be a fair walk plus to parking looked pretty limited very busy this was on a Monday so would imagine w. Ends would be worse. All in all this has to be one of the best sites we have visited so far would use again.

Date of Visit: September 2015 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Joolb 6 reviews from this member

Site perfect being a mixture of areas for different units. Unfortunately we were told work was being done on ghyll side so to get ehu we were pitched in with the caravans and motorhomes. Saturday and Sunday the area was busy with families and such who mostly left after Sunday teatime.

As said before, facilities are spotless-we rented a private bathroom which was toasty warm/bath huge/rubbish shower head/toilet rolls and cleaning equipment provided. Hairdryer not very effective so used own in the shower block where there are elec sockets freely available

Used the bar once but a bit soulless as being the end of high season, there was only one other couple in there.

Drive into bowness was fine, but a bit tricky to turn into the road up to the site-had to do reverse manoeuvre a few times!

Very peaceful atmosphere-even the multiple dogs on site were perfectly behaved.

Would not choose to be in caravan area again as there are a large number of seasonal units which gave an air of a ghost town during the week but that obviously contributed to the overall peace and quiet

So much to do in the area-will be back but hopefully in one of the tent fields!

Date of Visit: June 2015 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: WilliamMcBeard 4 reviews from this member

Our second stay at Park Cliffe and every bit as happy as with the first.

We had a spot on the Fell again and when slightly higher up this time. In general this weekend (again, for the Great North Swim) attracts family groups. One thing that struck us this year was that it didn't seem as busy as last year, even though the swim was even busier. Not that we are complaining! The atmosphere was calm and friendly, with the better weather allowing the children to play in the brook.

Spent some time at the park which is great for an hour of energy sapping! All in all we really like this spot. One day we will get a cloudless sky for that sunset!

Date of Visit: May 2015 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Mickncaz 3 reviews from this member

Just returned from weekend here, we stayed on ghyllside and I think we had the best pitch on the whole site, the views were amazing, pitch was nice and flat with water point close by. There was camping pitches on the other side of the lane but I thought the pitches were on a slope.

The toilets and showers were spotless as was the pot washing area.

The pub looked lovely although we never used it, it also did meals and takeaways but again we did not try them, the little shop was handy too.

My kids enjoyed the park, they are 2 and 11 so there was something for all age groups.

The staff were very friendly, they show you to your pitch and where to park.

We had a drive in to bowness which was lovely, took the kids in a little boat trip which they really enjoyed and only cost 20 for the family.

This was a lovely site and I would not hesitate to go back,

Date of Visit: April 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Sleeplessinadderbur 3 reviews from this member

If this had been our first visit we would never return, but we have been before and everything was always fine then. This time we have had children running over our pitch, climbing over rocks behind the van and making a nuisance of themselves. Then a motorhome came in and parked next to us, and I do mean next to us, we couldn't hear the telly for their radio. If they had tried to put their awning up they would have had to tie the guide ropes around our water bottles. Finally to boot at 1045pm! a van arrived and started setting up, they had a dog that was really pleased to be out the car he wanted to shout it to the hills, aaaaargh. Oh I had almost forgot that we met a big wagon on the approach road, as we arrive, he did not thing he should reverse, but the thee cars behind us against him helped.

Having said all that the facilities are fine the grub is fine, and everywhere is clean. We are booked to go back in September and have rung the site and they have changed the pitch number to one against the wall, run around that, ha!

Previous     166 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Save to Virtual Brochure  Add this Site to your Virtual Brochure                                Share  Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Submit a Review for a chance to Win 100!
Sponsored by the Caravan ClubSubmit a review to UKCampsite.co.uk of any caravan park or campsite for your chance to win your choice of 100 of Caravan Club vouchers or 100 of Amazon vouchers, courtesy of this month's sponsor, The Caravan Club

If you've visited this site, then please submit a review for a chance to win.

Try our town listings   -   Other Sites in Cumbria   -   Search for a site

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win tickets to the Manchester Caravan & Motorhome Show 2017 3 sets of AutoSock car snow socks to be won

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Manchester Caravan & Motorhome Show 2017 - 19th to 22nd January
A huge choice of the latest model caravans, motorhomes and holiday homes on display from over 200 exhibitors ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


5103 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend  -  Pensions Auto-enrolment

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2016




UKCampsite.co.uk
Advent Calendar
Advent Calendar
24 Daily Prizes and a Christmas Day Star Prize worth 289.99!
Open Today's Window!





0.1250