Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Park Cliffe Camping & Caravan Estate

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > UK > England > North West > Lake District & Cumbria > Site Reviews

Park Cliffe Camping & Caravan Estate
Birks Road
Near Tower Wood
Windermere
Cumbria   (Browse area)
LA23 3PG   See Map                                 Share Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook
Tel: 015395 31344

Facilities:  (Key)
                  

Nearby: (within x miles)
5m  5m  5m  5m   5m  1m  5m 
Featured Site

Pitches: 150
Open: 1st March To 13th November

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 162 Reviews
              9/10 from 162 Reviews


Units accepted:    Tents  Caravans  Motorhomes  Statics for Hire  Statics on Sale  Glamping 

Photos (24)

Reviews:  162 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14   15   16   17  

Submit your own Review for a chance to Win £100!
Win £100Submit a review of this site for your chance to win £100 of Caravan Club vouchers or £100 of Amazon vouchers, courtesy of this month's sponsor, The Caravan Club. Join The Club from just £48 per year to enjoy access to over 2,700 sites, exclusive member benefits and site special offers.

Date of Visit: May 2016 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Sdub 1 review from this member

Went to park cliffe for a weekend and couldn't believe how nice it was so much so we returned the weekend after for the bank holiday. The park is family run, they are so friendly, it was so clean, all the facilities were amazing including disabled bathroom, shower, toilet etc, we eat in the restaurant the food was great. We will definitely return. The Robinson's

Date of Visit: September 2015 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Goldengirl62 4 reviews from this member

Just returned from this site and have to say what a lovely place well kept, very clean, and very friendly helpful staff. We did use the takeaway facility twice and both times it was great very tasty. We used the local taxi service which reception were happy to book for us as we did not want to take the motorhome out we went to Bowness the cost was £11. 00 each way they were happy to take our two dogs. I think it would be a fair walk plus to parking looked pretty limited very busy this was on a Monday so would imagine w. Ends would be worse. All in all this has to be one of the best sites we have visited so far would use again.

Date of Visit: September 2015 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Joolb 4 reviews from this member

Site perfect being a mixture of areas for different units. Unfortunately we were told work was being done on ghyll side so to get ehu we were pitched in with the caravans and motorhomes. Saturday and Sunday the area was busy with families and such who mostly left after Sunday teatime.

As said before, facilities are spotless-we rented a private bathroom which was toasty warm/bath huge/rubbish shower head/toilet rolls and cleaning equipment provided. Hairdryer not very effective so used own in the shower block where there are elec sockets freely available

Used the bar once but a bit soulless as being the end of high season, there was only one other couple in there.

Drive into bowness was fine, but a bit tricky to turn into the road up to the site-had to do reverse manoeuvre a few times!

Very peaceful atmosphere-even the multiple dogs on site were perfectly behaved.

Would not choose to be in caravan area again as there are a large number of seasonal units which gave an air of a ghost town during the week but that obviously contributed to the overall peace and quiet

So much to do in the area-will be back but hopefully in one of the tent fields!

Date of Visit: June 2015 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: WilliamMcBeard 4 reviews from this member

Our second stay at Park Cliffe and every bit as happy as with the first.

We had a spot on the Fell again and when slightly higher up this time. In general this weekend (again, for the Great North Swim) attracts family groups. One thing that struck us this year was that it didn't seem as busy as last year, even though the swim was even busier. Not that we are complaining! The atmosphere was calm and friendly, with the better weather allowing the children to play in the brook.

Spent some time at the park which is great for an hour of energy sapping! All in all we really like this spot. One day we will get a cloudless sky for that sunset!

Date of Visit: May 2015 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Mickncaz 3 reviews from this member

Just returned from weekend here, we stayed on ghyllside and I think we had the best pitch on the whole site, the views were amazing, pitch was nice and flat with water point close by. There was camping pitches on the other side of the lane but I thought the pitches were on a slope.

The toilets and showers were spotless as was the pot washing area.

The pub looked lovely although we never used it, it also did meals and takeaways but again we did not try them, the little shop was handy too.

My kids enjoyed the park, they are 2 and 11 so there was something for all age groups.

The staff were very friendly, they show you to your pitch and where to park.

We had a drive in to bowness which was lovely, took the kids in a little boat trip which they really enjoyed and only cost £20 for the family.

This was a lovely site and I would not hesitate to go back,

Date of Visit: April 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Sleeplessinadderbur 3 reviews from this member

If this had been our first visit we would never return, but we have been before and everything was always fine then. This time we have had children running over our pitch, climbing over rocks behind the van and making a nuisance of themselves. Then a motorhome came in and parked next to us, and I do mean next to us, we couldn't hear the telly for their radio. If they had tried to put their awning up they would have had to tie the guide ropes around our water bottles. Finally to boot at 1045pm! a van arrived and started setting up, they had a dog that was really pleased to be out the car he wanted to shout it to the hills, aaaaargh. Oh I had almost forgot that we met a big wagon on the approach road, as we arrive, he did not thing he should reverse, but the thee cars behind us against him helped.

Having said all that the facilities are fine the grub is fine, and everywhere is clean. We are booked to go back in September and have rung the site and they have changed the pitch number to one against the wall, run around that, ha!

Date of Visit: October 2014 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Nicola Harris 13 reviews from this member

Fantastic site. We found the on site bar/restaurant a real benefit to give us somewhere to get out for the evening particularly as we were staying in a rainy, windy October half tern. Kids were very welcome in the bar and there was a thoughtful cupboard of games and colouring stuff that kept my children (aged 3 & 5) occupied for hours allowing us to enjoy a few glasses of wine and a meal. Meals were huge and pretty good. We found it a handy base to visit the local attractions. Our kids really enjoyed the boat trip form Bowness to Lakeside. (Boats have full facilities including a cafe bar). We visited the aquarium which was much better than I had expected! Then squeezed in Beatrix Potter exhibition before going back to the site (taxi into Bowness cost us £10).

Would recommend following the directions on the sites website to approach the site via Newby Bridge and not Windermere as there is no chance we would have got around the turn into the road the campsite is on!

Would definitely visit again if in the area.

Date of Visit: September 2014 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: Val E 9 reviews from this member

We have just returned from a one night stay at this site, we booked at the last minute and were pleased they had a vacant spot. We arrived, we had a speedy book in, and had a good spot, quite flat, we had a meal at restaurant which was lovely, the site was quiet, our baby was a bit noisy luckily no one complained. We had a nice walk around the site, the play area was great.

All facilities very clean, showers nice and hot. Good washing up area. I would say the whole site is excellent although a tad expensive at £31.

Although I do realise you get a lot good facilities for the money.

Date of Visit: July 2014 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Linda Morrison 7 reviews from this member

Beautiful site kept spotlessly clean!

Booked at last minute for a long weekend trip. Staff could not have been more helpful – from phone booking to assistance to sort out a broken tent pole. There are 2 sets of toilets and showers so no periods when facilities are unavailable due to cleaning and both were opened during busy periods – even came across toilet cleaning at 10. 30pm! Despite a very busy site over the weekend never had to wait for a shower.

Some lovely pitches although the camping area is on a hill with only a few level pitches. Our hook-up pitch was a large pitch in the caravan area and we were given a couple of alternatives when we weren’t too keen on the one allocated.

As a ‘young at heart’ couple the site was larger than we would usually choose with lots of families with young children over the weekend. However on Sunday the masses retreated and the remaining two days were quiet and peaceful.

Didn’t use the bar/restaurant but seemed popular – especially on night of World Cup Final (several German visitors on site) Shop is well stocked with very helpful staff.

Would return to this site …. During the week and outwith school holidays!

Date of Visit: July 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: TheCarrolls 4 reviews from this member

Just arrived home from a wonderful weekend at Park Cliffe. Beautiful well maintained grounds, attentive staff, lovely little shop and watching the children have fun in the stream was great!

The weather was an absolute bonus and if you have the legs, you must take a hike up the big hill to the top as the views are to die for!

Showers/Toilets are well kept, clean and modern.

It's 3 miles into Bowness so wide to take the car as the road into Bowness is narrow and no path to walk.

Previous     162 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Save to Virtual Brochure  Add this Site to your Virtual Brochure                                Share  Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Submit a Review for a chance to Win £100!
Sponsored by the Caravan ClubSubmit a review to UKCampsite.co.uk of any caravan park or campsite for your chance to win your choice of £100 of Caravan Club vouchers or £100 of Amazon vouchers, courtesy of this month's sponsor, The Caravan Club. Join The Club from just £48 per year to enjoy access to over 2,700 sites, exclusive member benefits and site special offers.

If you've visited this site, then please submit a review for a chance to win.

Try our town listings   -   Other Sites in Cumbria   -   Search for a site

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a Festival Starter Package Win a BioLite CampStove and USB Charger!

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Tribfest Festival, East Yorkshire - 18th to 21st August
The world’s biggest tribute band music festival and an amazing fun weekend for all the family. Find out more, claim 10% discount or win tickets

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3872 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend  -  Pensions Auto-enrolment

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2016






0.1260