Home

   Log in or Register
   
Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Hillcroft Park

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > UK > England > North West > Lake District & Cumbria > Site Reviews

Hillcroft Park
Roe Head Lane
Pooley Bridge
Penrith
Cumbria   (Browse area)
CA10 2LT   See Map                                 Share Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook
Tel: 01768 486363

Facilities:  (Key)
           

Nearby:
1m  1m 1m  1m  10m  1m  5m   10m  5m  5m  1m  10m 

Pitches: 75
Open: March To October

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 45 Reviews
              9/10 from 45 Reviews


Units accepted:    Tents  Caravans  Motorhomes  Statics for Hire  Statics on Sale  Glamping 

Reviews:  45 in total, now showing 1 to 6                 Previous 6          Next 6
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8  

Date of Visit: May 2014 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Mlou 2 reviews from this member

Just stayed for three nights in the half term holiday. We were in the second field for tents and tourers - much quieter than the main field which contains the pods as well as tents. The site is sloping as mentioned by others - not ideal for those of us in a tent but not enough to be off putting. The surroundings are lovely, lots of animal noises as there is a cow shed and fields of sheep right beside the camping field (manure smells were a bit unpleasant if you were pitched right beside the cattle barn). Yes the animals do wake you up but on the plus side the children loved watching the sheep being sheared. We found the facilities good overall - hot showers always, we never had to queue and the block was heated continuously (rare for end of May but very welcome as colder than expected for the time of year). Only negative was that it was too far from the field we were in, though we wouldn't have wanted to swap fields. It seems daft that the facilities are in amongst the statics, who surely don't need them, but we assume they were built before the site expanded. There were rumours another block is planned beside the field we were in and this would make the site pretty much perfect so lets hope so. Adventure playground great. Pubs in Pooley bridge were good, very short walk away and position in general is great.

Date of Visit: May 2014 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Teekayk 4 reviews from this member

The site is a short walk, a little bit uphill, from the village of Pooley Bridge. The grounds are attractive, well kept and tidy, edged by trees. These trees unfortunately are home to some very noisy crows which acted as my alarm clock about 5 o'clock each morning. There is a large but sloping grassed area next to the playground where children can play.

All the staff were lovely and very helpful, cannot fault them at all.

Out tent pitch was located next to the pods around the edge of the first tent field. Pitch number 17 was slightly sloping but manageable. It was a bit muddy. I would say that the pitches in the centre area of the field were more level and better drained.

Didn't use the shop so cannot comment. Asked about wifi, but you had to pay extra, so didn't bother with it.

The dishwashing sinks are located along the toilet block and drainers are provided. They were fine.

Now for the downside. I place quite a lot of importance on the shower / toilet facilities when judging a site, and these just did not suit me. The toilet blocks need refurbishing. The shower cubicles have a shower curtain separating the wet area from a tiny 'dry' area. Just one hook on the door, no bench. The cubicle is so small you have to stand under the shower before you switch it on and adjust the temperature. The whole place is damp and humid with condensation dripping down the walls onto the floor. At the sinks, the hot water was often too hot, and the cold taps so forceful that you had to be careful not to get soaked just washing your hands. This is such a shame as it is the only thing that let's the site down, but it is enough to put me off returning.

Date of Visit: July 2013 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Durks30 2 reviews from this member

Just back from 5 days here at school holidays with our Outwell family tent & electric hook up. Family of 4 with 2 kids age 6 & 10 & a Labradoodle dog!. One of the best sites we've been on. Perfect location only 5 mins walk from Pooley Bridge centre (although it is up a hill - which is fine for us). Friendly helpful site staff. Everything on the site is cleaned and maintained to a very high standard - toilet block is great & free, powerful, hot showers. A small shop selling the basics & lovely ice cream. A fab kids park which kept my two entertained. A very safe site - so the kids could ride around on their scooters and wander out of sight playing with other children. The pitches on the main camping field which is surrounded by camping pods were spacious & flat ( just on a slight slope - but it wasn;t a problem. So our 7. 5 metre x 8 metre tent wasn;t a problem here. We might even try the camping pods for a no hassle 2 night break on a future trip. A dog friendly site too. Washing up facilities were the best we've ever experienced with drainers & basins too!

There was no pub, entertainment or pool on site - but our kids just loved this place & preferred it to many other campsites. We loved the walk to the 3 local pubs in the village only 5 mins away where the kids played in the river (more fun than a swimming pool!). Pooley Bridge is a great little place & very dog friendly too. Can't wait to go back again

Date of Visit: July 2013 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Hebcamp4 2 reviews from this member

Visited this site based on the positive reviews and personal recommendations. We were not disappointed, the positive feedback was truly deserved.

The camp site is very well kept and is surprisingly quiet for a reasonably large site. The trees and spaces between the areas really help you to feel like it is a much smaller more intimate site.

The people that own/run the site could not have been nicer, friendlier and more accommodating. On arrival we were escorted to our pitch and told where everything was. The pitch was plenty big enough for our tent (which is a large 8 sleeper with porch. )The ground was well kept.

The showers/toilets were kept immaculately clean by the very friendly cleaner. One of my usual gripes is the shower block cleanliness, but these are spotless and obviously regularly checked.

The shop is well stocked with all basic needs for camping and is not too expensive either. A bonus was the ice bags for our wine buckets!

The site has a lovely park area for children, which was well used by mine. There is also an expanse of grass near park for playing etc.

A short wander into the village will bring you to a charming village with riverside pubs and gift shops. The village does not have an ATM so be advised to have cash!

Over all a lovely campsite with friendly and helpful staff.

Only possible thing to bare in mind is that some of the pitches are on a slope so you may need to prop up table legs etc. But you are in the glorious lake district with hills and mountains, so what else can you expect.

Lovely experience, will return!

Date of Visit: May 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Steve mitton 2 reviews from this member

Booked 2 nights as we had to leave the caravan and camping troutbeck site due to a booking error on our behalf.

We had used this site as our main base during visits to the lakes until approx 8 years ago as it is ideally situated close to Pooley Bridge, Ullswater and Penrith. 'We had a nightmare 2 night break due to being near a group of 3 families who arrived with dogs, generators, floodlights and loud music into the early hours ! We informed the warden who basically failed to manage the situation, this was our last visit.

We arrived Sunday 5th May and were put into the farthest field from the facilities, this we expected due to the bank holiday.

We were on grass and the field is on a hill side, using breeze blocks etc we managed to level the caravan. We had a wonderful view of Ullswater and Monday pm we were on our own as everyone left the site.

In places the site resembles a building site, it recently changed hands and the new owners are in the process of updating the fields and facilities. The toilet block nearest the 2 camping fields hasn't changed since we last visited but is adequate and the owners are planning to modernise this year. The second toilet block which is situated in amongst the static caravans is currently closed and in the process of updating. This will include washing and drying machines etc.

The children's play area is excellent, our grandson spent most of Monday here under our watchful eye.

To summarise, when all the modernisation / updating is complete this will be a premier site in an ideal location. The management appear to be extremely family friendly and will not tolerate any noise or bad behaviour. One final note, if arriving with a caravan ask for hard standing. There is approx 10 available. Avoid the top field if possible due to the slope which can make levelling your caravan difficult.

Date of Visit: August 2012 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Baileys80 4 reviews from this member

Very nice campsite,

Clean and well run with ok toilets and good washing up area,

Nice surroundings,

Basic overpriced shop, helpful staff,

Very good play area,

We enjoyed our stay and would probably go back.

Previous     45 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 6      Next

Save to Virtual Brochure  Add this Site to your Virtual Brochure                                Share  Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Submit your Review for a chance to Win Prizes!
Sponsored by the Caravan ClubSubmit a review to UKCampsite.co.uk of any caravan park or campsite, for a chance to win a caravan towing course or motorhome manoeuvring course worth up to £145, or £100 of Amazon vouchers, courtesy of The Caravan Club. Join the Club for just £44 per year to enjoy access to a great range of caravan sites, benefits and special offers.

If you've visited this site, then please submit a review for a chance to win.

Try our town listings   -   Other Sites in Cumbria   -   Search for a site

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a Nemesis Ultra Wheel Clamp! from Towsure.com Visit the UKCS shop for exclusive discounts and offers

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Manchester Caravan & Motorhome Show 15 to 18/01/15
Start the season with a trip to the North’s biggest outdoor leisure show. Win 10 pairs of tickets or claim discount entry

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


4256 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend  -  Pensions Auto-enrolment

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2014






0.0508