Home

   Log in or Register
   
Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Royal Umpire Caravan Park

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > UK > England > North West > Lancashire > Site Reviews

Royal Umpire Caravan Park
Southport Road
Croston
Preston
Lancashire   (Browse area)
PR26 9JB   See Map                                 Share Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook
Tel: 01772 600 257

Facilities:  (Key)
                

Nearby:
1m  1m  1m  10m  10m  5m  5m  5m   5m  5m  1m 
Featured Site

Pitches: 180 & Large Rally Fiield + Camping Pods
Open: Open All Year

Rating: Average Review Score: 7/10 from 111 Reviews
              7/10 from 111 Reviews


Units accepted:   No Tents  Caravans  Motorhomes Caravan Storage Storage  Glamping 

Special Offer available to UKCampsite.co.uk visitors - see here.

Photos (6)

Reviews:  111 in total, now showing 1 to 6                 Previous 6          Next 6
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14   15   16   17   18   19  

Date of Visit: October 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Mark and tracy jone 2 reviews from this member

First impression when arriving wasn't too bad (but that was short lived) had to leave a £20 deposit (refundable) for barrier access and key to toilets/showers

Wasn't shown to our pitch, we were given a map which was circled in pen of our pitch number, couldn't find it at first due to the little stakes with pitch numbers on being snapped off! - paid for a hard pitch with grass at the side for the car - thought it was very quiet, well for the first 3 hrs of arriving then car after car turned up! It seems it's more of a residential campsite with every man and his dog (literally) turning up! Kids running all over the place, Dogs barking and the noise continued till well after midnight! One shower block in the centre and one small one near the entrance for the whole of the campsite! really in need of updating. The waste bins was overflowing and rubbish was piling up at the side.

If you want a quiet, relaxing break, then you won't find it here!

Date of Visit: August 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Stevieag 10 reviews from this member

Just made the move to a caravan and wanted a close venue to try out caravanning.

This isnt my first review of this site.

Ive tried three of this owners sites.

Two of them are now for me no nos

The seasonal campers and huge groups let this place down.

They are rowdy until the early hours (2am)

Huge partys of groups on camping site.

This was once the best, could still be if it applied the rules handed to visitors.

Have a good time, but reign it in 12midnight on a friday/saturday.

During the week was fab, quite etc. Friday/sat night too busy.

On plus side the other visitors were all nice, seasonals make you feel like you are imposing upon their site.

If I was the owner id make everybody adhere to the reasonable rules. Section it, busy, quite.

This could be a great site. It has a great kids area, fab loos, and generally great facility and staff.

At to this my pitch was a superior but it stunk of urine all round the fresh water drain and I was next to main drain. The whole area was smelly. I guess that why it was a pitch in between seasonals.

Date of Visit: August 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Watercool 1 review from this member

Set in a nice location, can be used as a base for places like Southport, Blackpool, Preston etc

Dogs are allowed on site but we only saw a few being walked, all on leads with only the odd bark now and again. Plenty of kids, which is ok if you have one but could be annoying if you don't.

The campsite is a friendly place, quite a few resident tourers there which actually makes it more of a community and well kept caravans with little gardens. No issues with water or electric hookup.

The downsides for the campsite are the toilets and showers, they were grubby, no sockets, the toilets did not flush, the cubicles were missing locks/handles etc and the showers were literally a trickle. 4 of them in one of the two blocks, not enough.

Also you are only allowed one car on each pitch, even if you have a small caravan and there's plenty of space. Then the car park for the extra cars was full.

Date of Visit: August 2014 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Yummymummie 1 review from this member

We left 2days earlier than planned due to drunken night parties at nearby tents until gone 2. 30am. The people in these tents sounded young but were in their 50s and were utter scroats! No consideration or moral values! we wereted money leaving early but 3 hours sleep we cannot function on.

It was a shame as ruined our stay as they were so loud and inconsiderate we could not sleep.

Site itself good, park great and toilets clean. Music in toilets was a great touch.

Would we return?. No because these yobs are not told to stop drinking swearing and shouting middle of night we have never stayed at such a load campsite with so many groups.

I booked what I thought was a family tranquil site.

It is such a shame as site great, staff you couldn't fault and toilets and showers clean

Date of Visit: August 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Eccles13 2 reviews from this member

The site has two toilet blocks and fully serviced pitches, available at a great price for Monday to Friday bookings on their website.

However, we were placed on pitch 100, perhaps the worst on the site as it is a gravel pitch leading straight into the toilet block. As the toilets play music, the sites many children congregate here and kick balks around, throw water bombs etc. We didn't feel we could sit out as we do elsewhere.

It is a shame as the site overall is nice enough. The cleaners were lovely people and very effective and despite the many seasonal tourers on site, it is well cared for. We would go back, indeed this was our second visit, but never on pitch 100 again!

Date of Visit: July 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Billdan 2 reviews from this member

Visit July 23rd for 3 nights.

Left after 2 nights

Very noisy even at 1 a. M

Many, many dogs and much barking

Lots of seasonal pitches our pitch No. 131 was amid all seasonal no other tourers.

Toilet facilities inadequate for the number of pitches and camping field and needing T. L. C

The top area of the caravan park is lovely with tarmac roads the lower gravel roads pitches not so good.

We stayed here 10 years ago and it really nice, not any more.

For us its back to Caravan club sites

Previous     111 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 6      Next

Save to Virtual Brochure  Add this Site to your Virtual Brochure                                Share  Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Submit your Review for a chance to Win Prizes!
Sponsored by the Caravan ClubSubmit a review to UKCampsite.co.uk of any caravan park or campsite, for a chance to win a caravan towing course or motorhome manoeuvring course worth up to £145, or £100 of Amazon vouchers, courtesy of The Caravan Club. Join the Club for just £44 per year to enjoy access to a great range of caravan sites, benefits and special offers.

If you've visited this site, then please submit a review for a chance to win.

Try our town listings   -   Other Sites in Lancashire   -   Search for a site

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a Nemesis Ultra Wheel Clamp! from Towsure.com Visit the UKCS shop for exclusive discounts and offers

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Manchester Caravan & Motorhome Show 15 to 18/01/15
Start the season with a trip to the North’s biggest outdoor leisure show. Win 10 pairs of tickets or claim discount entry

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


4543 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend  -  Pensions Auto-enrolment

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2014






0.0469