Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Beech Croft Farm

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > UK > England > Central > Peak District & Derbyshire > Site Reviews

Beech Croft Farm
Blackwell In The Peak
Buxton
Derbyshire   (Browse area)
SK17 9TQ   See Map                                 Share Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook
Tel: 01298 85330

Facilities:  (Key)
                

Nearby: (within x miles)
1m  1m 5m   5m  1m  1m 
Featured Site

Pitches: 60
Open: Open All Year

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 244 Reviews
              9/10 from 244 Reviews


Units accepted:    Tents  Caravans  Motorhomes 

This site has chosen to use the availability calendar. You can check for availability here.

Photos (24) and Video

Reviews:  244 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14   15   16   17   18   19   20   21   22   23   24   25  

Submit your own Review for a chance to Win 100!
Win 100Submit a review of this site for your chance to win 100 of Caravan Club vouchers or 100 of Amazon vouchers, courtesy of this month's sponsor, The Caravan Club. Join The Club from just 48 per year to enjoy access to over 2,700 sites, exclusive member benefits and site special offers.

Date of Visit: August 2016 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: Clipstone Lad 6 reviews from this member

Overall, this may be the best site we've stayed on. A lot of thought has gone into providing excellent facilities. The two touring areas have well-separated hardstandings, each with its own water supply plus hook-up. Behind these are three separate camping areas, some with hook-up (using prepaid card payment. There is a massive (enclosed) dog exercising field, which is separate from a ball game area for the kids. The amenities are spotless: showers and washing up, and a separate camping shelter with a hot drinks machine. The site office has a shop for necessities, and while we were there a visiting mobile tuck shop. There are also good pubs within walking distance (one of which will even pick you up and bring you pack).

As walkers, we appreciated being able to walk straight off the site (the site provides its own excellent walking guides).

There is also lots to do locally, even discount tickets available on site for Chatsworth House. There is free WiFi, and a newspaper service for 10p delivery charge. It is a working farm, but the site is kept separate (apart from two goats which I liked). The owners and site managers are very friendly, there was always someone around to keep things ticking over.

We stayed five nights with our dog; and during our stay did some good walks, as well as relaxing outside our van. With any site the only valid question is, would I want to come back here; and yes, we would love to; so congratulations to the Gregory family and staff: you've more than bettered the club sites; and the icing on the cake - its better value!

Date of Visit: August 2016 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: SamW11 1 review from this member

We stayed for 5 nights with 1 child and electric hook up. Every pitch has electric hook up available, but you pay the same amount for the pitch, and then pay for the electric separately (in advance, with refunds for any units not used when you leave) - charging two smart phones, two kindles, a tablet and a fitbit, running interior lights and a camping fridge for 5 nights we used 53 pence worth. Definite value for money!

The children's play areas were lovely, but the biggest attraction was the two goats in the field near to the toilet block! Very friendly and our daughter (aged 8) spent a lot of time asking if she could go and see the goats!

Unfortunately, the grass pitches were on quite a pronounced slope, but the toilets and shower block were impeccably maintained, there is also a cabin with a hot drink vending machine and microwave available to use, there's a dog and bike wash and indoor dishwashing and laundry facilities, all of which were very clean every time we went in. There's very little light pollution, so if you want to sit back and look at the stars, even without a telescope, there's plenty visible on a clear night, although there are low lights so you can see getting to and from the loo in the night.

There is a shop at the reception over the road, and it's 8 minutes by car to Brierlow Bar Bookstore (a big draw for us) and about 15 minutes into Buxton. Approximately a mile down the (very steep) Pennine Bridle path from the campsite is the Monsal Trail - it is VERY steep though. And the reception/shop has a number of leaflets available showing a number of walks/cycle routes near to the site mapped out and described, which include lists of pubs in walking distance, rough time to get there and how strenuous the walk is. It's mainly a quiet and peaceful site, we were near(ish) to the under 6 play area, but it never seemed to get loud.

We were very impressed by the amount of information on the welcome brouchure, the way of paying for electric is absolutely fabulous, and the waste recycling policy is definitely a plus point, we would certainly consider visiting again.

Date of Visit: July 2016 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Jtaylor8283 1 review from this member

Really good site for a base location, facilities were excellent, owners were very friendly, only one criticism was the terms and conditions stated a quiet policy after 2200 hours, unfortunately this was not adhered to or enforced by the owners and the site was very loud until midnight

Date of Visit: May 2016 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Id0lsandanchors 2 reviews from this member

This campsite was amazing. On our arrival, we followed the lovely signs and arrived at reception, greeted by their friendly staff which are all family. We made an amendment to our booking (adding a person and a tent to our pitch)very easily. The facilities are fantastic, some of the best I have ever been to, always very clean and usually quiet, even though we were there on a weekend. The washing up facilities were fantastic. There was also a new tea and coffee machine, which we had an issue with and were promptly assisted by the owner of the campsite, who fixed the problem for us. The campsite was well lit at night in order to find your way to the toilet! A nice quiet site in a perfect location for exploring the peak district. Would visit again when in the area.

Date of Visit: June 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Red Mick 26 reviews from this member

What a lovely site. Set in a wooded valley, it's within earshot of the A6, but noise not really noticeable, more than made up for with birdsong from all around.

The toilet and shower block is immaculate, very roomy with plenty of accommodation. Pitches are huge, level and well spread out over several levels of terracing. Each pitch has EHU, water tap and TV aerial point.

Free WiFi around the site is quite adequate, the shop stocks essentials from Rock pegs, fuses and ice cream to tins of meat for that evening stew.

Reasonable rates, we found, mid week in June for 22.

Lots of walks from the site, cycle hire nearby, several pubs within a short drive or a longer walk.

Definitely on to revisit.

Date of Visit: May 2016 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Livi91 2 reviews from this member

We have just returned from a 6 night stay at Beech croft. We loved every minute staying on this site. The owners were friendly and welcoming when checking in and gave lots of useful information about local amenities. Immaculately kept, pristine toilets and facilities and the added touch of the campers cabin with hot drinks machine was fantastic. The owners have clearly thought carefully about this campsite and the added facilities such as electric sockets in the toilets, laundry and dog washing facilities are all brilliant extras.

The campsite has fantastic views and beautiful walks are easily accessible from the site or within a short drive. We enjoyed visiting Edale and Castleton- the site is a great base to explore from.

We had a wonderful time at Beech Croft and would highly recommend it to anyone wanting to explore the Peak District.

We will definitely be returning.

Date of Visit: February 2016 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: Garytdec 1 review from this member

Stayed for one night, can't fault the place. Very pleasant and helpful lady in reception, gave us information on all the local pubs etc. Toilets and showers better than some four star hotels, spotless and very cosy with underfloor heating. Camp kitchen a bonus with microwave and vending machine for hot drinks. We will definitely be back.

Date of Visit: February 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Mrskeating 15 reviews from this member

WOW, just returned from a weekend at this site.

The Caravan Pitches are fully hard standing & very generous, water taps on electric hook-up post.

Clean and warm facilities, as stated in previous reviews, 2 large showers in ladies, with lovely hot, fast flow showers, under floor heating, which at the time of year is amazing!

There is a unisex shower and toilet block, which I imagine will be very welcoming for families with young children.

The site owners are very friendly and helpful.

If you are visiting with children, there looks to be 2 play areas, with a toddler park, and space for older children with wooden pay equipment, and football.

If you are a dog owner, you will find a large exercise field at the top end near the football field, with handy pooh bins.

No Extra Chargers for Dogs here either :)

We had a walk round and found 2 large areas for camping which also have EHU, these pitches and several hard standing caravan pitches have lovely views.

There is a separate laundry room, with everything you would expect, washer, dryer, Iron etc.

Also a cabin with coffee machine etc.

There are a few good pubs within walking/short drive away, all serving food.

We found the Waterloo pub up the road to be friendly and welcoming.

There is lots to do in the area, Bakewell and Buxton are both equally lovely shopping towns.

We visited The Blue John mines, and really enjoyed it.

The village down the road 'Tideswell' has a lovely pub called horse & Jockey, where they serve the best home made steak and ale pie we have ever had!

We will definitely be returning soon, and have already recommended to friends & family.

Date of Visit: January 2016 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Slimming1 2 reviews from this member

This is a great site to stay all year round, excellent facilities the best I have seen in 20 years of visiting campsites, large hard-standings and views to die for.

If your in a motorhome visit bakewell and you can easily park in the cattle-market carpark. The staff are friendly and willing to help if necessary.

Date of Visit: December 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Doggies On Tour 28 reviews from this member

We have stayed here several times now as it is such a nice site and well positioned within the Peaks. The facilities are amazing, underfloor heating, loads of toilets, 2 showers in each male and female block, but there is also a unisex/family block with 3 more in there. There is a nice sized dog walking field which is on a slight slope so playing ball was great fun and wore the dogs out quicker! We use this field on rainy days when we don't want to go for a long trek, so grabbing ten minutes in the weather we were after a quick way to wear them out! There are indoor washing facilities and a laundry room which requires tokens from the reception/shop which stocks all the necessities and a bit more! All the pitches are hard standing and all have a water tap which doesn't freeze in the winter, which is an added bonus! There are several walks direct from the site, many leading to local pubs, which you are given the directions to on your information leaflet. The Monsai Trail is on the doorstep and there is a lovely pub the Anglers Rest along there. We like to climb Kinder Scout and Mam Tor and all are within a short drive away. There are some local shops in the small villages and the bigger Morrissons in Buxton, just up the road. There is a lovely camping and walking shop near Brough, by the garden centre and they usually have a sale on! There is a children's play area which looked fun, but we don't have children so can't rate it really. I can't rate this site highly enough. The wardens are lovely and so are the owners and we will be back again soon.

Previous     244 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Save to Virtual Brochure  Add this Site to your Virtual Brochure                                Share  Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Submit a Review for a chance to Win 100!
Sponsored by the Caravan ClubSubmit a review to UKCampsite.co.uk of any caravan park or campsite for your chance to win your choice of 100 of Caravan Club vouchers or 100 of Amazon vouchers, courtesy of this month's sponsor, The Caravan Club. Join The Club from just 48 per year to enjoy access to over 2,700 sites, exclusive member benefits and site special offers.

If you've visited this site, then please submit a review for a chance to win.

Try our town listings   -   Other Sites in Derbyshire   -   Search for a site

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
50 Tickets for the NEC Oct Motorhome & Caravan Show Win a Clarke IG2000 2kW Generator

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Beat at Tencreek 60s Weekend, Cornwall - 14th to 16th October
A Sounds of the Swinging Sixties long weekend concert with camping on site ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3825 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend  -  Pensions Auto-enrolment

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2016






0.1191