Home

   Log in or Register
   
Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Beech Croft Farm

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > UK > England > Central > Peak District & Derbyshire > Site Reviews

Beech Croft Farm
Blackwell In The Peak
Buxton
Derbyshire   (Browse area)
SK17 9TQ   See Map                                 Share Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook
Tel: 01298 85330

Facilities:  (Key)
               

Nearby:
1m  1m 5m  5m  5m   5m  10m  10m  1m  1m 
Featured Site

Pitches: 60
Open: All Year Round

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 209 Reviews
              9/10 from 209 Reviews


Units accepted:    Tents  Caravans  Motorhomes 

This site has chosen to use the availability calendar. You can check for availability here.

Photos (24) and Video

Reviews:  209 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14   15   16   17   18   19   20   21  

Date of Visit: December 2014 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Tripeaker 18 reviews from this member

We had been recommended this site as a good, open all year site. From the very first contact that we made to enquire about booking for a week over the New Year period, we were impressed by the pleasant and professional way in which our booking was handled. The site was fully booked over New Years Eve which would have meant moving sites or going home that day, neither of which appealed to us. Whilst pondering our options, basically choosing another site, we received a call from the owners advising us of a cancellation and that if we still wanted to book our preferred dates, then that would be no problem.

We arrived at the site around midday after heavy snowfall the previous day. Vacant pitches, and the site roads and walkways had already been cleared of snow which made pitching up easy. Pitches are not allocated and can be chosen on arrival. We stayed on the upper level where we thought the surrounding views were stunning, especially after the snowfall. The pitches are generous and fairly level but levelling blocks were useful. We did not mind the slightly further trip to the facilities. A major bonus to the hard standing pitches in the colder weather is the supply of water, which comes through heated pipes to each pitch. With temperatures as low as -4 degrees we were able to use the taps at the pitch with no problem. EHU and TV point are also supplied to each pitch. Also provided were a children's playground and a dog walking area, neither required or used by us. There is a good and well equipped laundry room with pot washing facilities. The site was quiet at all times and wardens were available if required. Birdlife was abundant amongst the hedgerows and it was good to see that several areas had been left untouched to encourage wildlife to flourish.

Reception was a continuation of the service that we had experienced over the telephone, friendly and informative at all times, excellent really. Due to the season, wine and sweets were on offer which was a nice touch. There was a good selection of local information in the form of maps and guide books and information leaflets. Fresh milk and eggs and some of the basics which may have been forgotten were also on sale here.

We have been using campsites for many years and the toilets and showers at this site are amongst the best we have seen. Spotlessly clean and always warm, a credit to the owners. There are separate men's and ladies toilets and showers plus a unisex section ideal for families.

Another first in our experience was a camper's hut with seating, a microwave, a hot drinks machine, information board and reading material, a great place to socialise and shelter for those travelling light.

The Monsal Trail is close by and offers an interesting, safe walking and cycling experience. The Trail is well signposted and information is readily available on signs and audio devices along its length.

It has to be remembered that Beech Croft Farm is still a working farm, but our opinion is that the owners have worked hard and have succeeded, in making the campsite a top quality site.

Date of Visit: October 2014 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: Bowyer 4 reviews from this member

This site is very good and I've rated it highly! However, I'd just like to recommend that may be something should be done about the slope to the toilet block as it is very steep; may be reroute the path around the goat pen to the left which would lessen the gradient. My gripe over leads me to say this is an excellent site, a little sloping, run by excellent people. We will return, campervan though next time pitched at the site top because it's flatter. This site is 3/4 mile from the end of the Monsal trail and handy for a good cycle route to the great town of Bakewell.

Date of Visit: October 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: DangerousDamian 1 review from this member

Just come back from a very relaxing weekend break (2 night stay) Great on site facilities. Great for both cycling (off road) and walkers. Will definitely be returning before the end of the year with my wife and granddaughter. Friendly helpful staff. Shower block very clean and warm. Great scenery.

Date of Visit: September 2014 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Juliesearle 1 review from this member

Ive just come back from this wonderful campsite, loved it. Beautiful scenery. 1st class showers/toilets, and very warm underfloor heating. Spacious pitches, we had a tent with hook up. And wherever you pitch, you get great views. HOT POTATOES on saturday night are fantastic, with filling. Yum. Owners and especially linda, was very very nice, and welcoming. Coming back next june. Cant wait.

Date of Visit: September 2014 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: J kabigat 1 review from this member

Chose this site for our first camping trip as it's only an hours drive from home and we were only going for two nights so we didn't want to travel too far.

We were really impresed with the sight.

Bookng in was very easy and the owner was really helpful.

It was quiet so we could pitch any where and all the pitches seemed roomy.

We chose to have EHU so were given a meter card which we put credit on and any credit left on the card at the end of our stay was refunded.

There was a play area for the kids and a field for ball games.

The shower and toilet block were spotless as was the pot washing room where there was also a washing machine, tumble drier and iron available for a small charge.

They also have a campers cabin with microwave and hot drink vending machine.

I think we made a great choice for our first trip and will definitely be returning in fhe near future.

Date of Visit: August 2014 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: JamesA60 1 review from this member

The site is one of the best I have been to. The area is kept clean and tidy by very friendly staff who always seem to be happy to help.

There are lots of facilities at the campsite that at most others you wouldn't get or would need to pay for. The toilets and showers are kept clean and are apparently inspected regularly. The showers were large cubicles with hot water all day.

One of the most unexpected things of the week was finding a microwave and a hot drinks machine under a shelter near the wash block which came in use.

The free wifi was also very useful, but it did become slow at times.

There was also food served some nights which we didn't try, but is a very good idea.

I'd definitely recommend this site.

Date of Visit: August 2014 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: Lexiec 9 reviews from this member

This was our second visit to Beech Croft farm as we have family in the area and it remains one of my favourite campsites. The location is fabulous - we pitched towards the top of the camping field. Yes, this means you're on a bit of a slope but the views more than make up for that.

The facilities are excellent here. No need to wash up outside as there's a utility room with sinks and laundry facilities. Lots of basins and toilets in the ladies, but just 2 showers, which is the only downside of this place as there was a small queue (but as I say this was August). But I think there maybe further showers in the Unisex area? Everything's very well maintained and clean.

Outside, there is a small children's play area and goats to talk to, and the bacon buttie van turned up in the morning (though we didn't use it).

A lovely campsite in a lovely part of the world. Definitely recommended.

Date of Visit: August 2014 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Ddlkc 12 reviews from this member

We chose this site for our annual 7 night break but we ended up staying 9 nights

The site ticks all of our boxes from facilities to location

On arrival owners are very friendly explaining any information regarding site they also sell some really good maps for walks in the area

We were able to choose our pitch as it was midweek we chose one at bottom of first field which was fine

The facilities were spotless at all times a credit to the wardens for all of their hard work

If you don't, have ehu but like your hairdryer/straighteners you can use the facilities in the ladies

The location is ideal for exploring this great area if you don't, want to drive there is bus stops right outside of the site which takes you to various places

The children's areas are split into two one for the young ones and the other for older kids

Overall this is one of the best site/place we have visited

Date of Visit: August 2014 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Lincs1 1 review from this member

Beech Croft is a lovely site, clean and well kept. The wardens and owners available to answer any queries or help with any problems you may have.

The site is on a slope which we found difficult to cope with, when we arrived the site was busy so had to have what was available at the time with hook up. There are some flatter pitches on the top fields but they where taken. (We pitched up the way we should being on a slope)

The toilet and shower block where kept immaculate by the wardens, it is just a shame that people do not treat them with respect, not flushing toilets, giving the sink a quick swill when they have brushed their teeth. The owners ask that children are accompanied to the toilets/showers but this was definitely not happening. On our last night a large group of children entered the toilet block and went along and from the outside locked the doors of 5 or 6 toilets the warden was having to try and open them. This is not the owners/wardens fault but the parents. The showers are push button but only stay on for about 15 seconds but they are hot and powerful. There are two showers in Ladies, two in the gents and two in the unisex, I did have to queue 3 mornings but hey the site was busy. The taps for the sink are a little awkward you have to keep your hand on the top for the water to flow. The pot wash room was clean with a washer/dryer and a freezer for your freezer blocks. There is a steep pathway from the tent fields to the toilet/shower block which I thought might be better if it was steps you need to be careful when walking up or down. There is a sign saying about bikes and scooters not to be ridden down the path but some parents obviously thought the rules didn't apply to their children.

We walked across the peninne way to the start of the monsal trail and hired bikes then biked to Bakewell it was well worth it but be aware the walk has a steep hill to navigate.

I loved the no noise after 10 o'clock rule it was like somebody has flicked a switch as it went quiet at 10 o'clock. The pitches are spacious, you are not right next to your neighbour giving you room to park your car and sit outside your tent comfortably.

If you want electric hook up you pay a five pound deposit for a card then load it up with how much you wish at the end of your break if you don't spend it all you get it refunded.

The site is an ideal base for Bakewell, Buxton, Chatsworth and walking the pennine way.

Date of Visit: July 2014 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Scaryahir 3 reviews from this member

We stayed for a week, 2 adults and 2 children aged 10 and 11. This was our first week to camp and it was lovely. The staff were really friendly and helpful.

We arrived at 2pm and did have to sit and wait for someone to leave so we could pitch up next to an electric hook up which was a bit of a pain.

The showers male, female and unisex were spotlessly clean. This can also be said for the washing up room which also had a washing machine, tumble dryer, iron and freezer for freezer blocks.

The kids liked feeding the goats on the way to the toilets. There was a separate field for dogs to walk.

My 2 loved playing cricket or playing football at the games field.

It is a really lovely place to stay and would recommend to anyone to come here. There is a Morrisons 10 minutes down the road at Buxton and loads of places to visit nearby.

We will definitely be booking again for next year.

Previous     209 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Save to Virtual Brochure  Add this Site to your Virtual Brochure                                Share  Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Submit your Review for a chance to Win Prizes!
Sponsored by the Caravan ClubSubmit a review to UKCampsite.co.uk of any caravan park or campsite, for a chance to win a caravan towing course or motorhome manoeuvring course worth up to 145, or 100 of Amazon vouchers, courtesy of The Caravan Club. Join the Club for just 44 per year to enjoy access to a great range of caravan sites, benefits and special offers.

If you've visited this site, then please submit a review for a chance to win.

Try our town listings   -   Other Sites in Derbyshire   -   Search for a site

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win Weekend Tickets to the UK Spring Motorhome & Caravan Show Visit the UKCS shop for exclusive discounts and offers

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Karsten Inflatable Tent Display 27/02 to 01/03
View the Karsten tent models and various Awning Combinations near the Hertfordshire / Cambridgeshire border

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3920 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend  -  Pensions Auto-enrolment

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2014






0.1094