Home

   Log in or Register

Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Beech Croft Farm

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > UK > England > Central > Peak District & Derbyshire > Site Reviews

Beech Croft Farm
Blackwell In The Peak
Buxton
Derbyshire   (Browse area)
SK17 9TQ   See Map                                 Share Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook
Tel: 01298 85330

Facilities:  (Key)
               

Nearby:
1m  1m 5m  5m  5m   5m  10m  10m  1m  1m 
Featured Site

Pitches: 60
Open: All Year Round

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 198 Reviews
              9/10 from 198 Reviews


Units accepted:    Tents  Caravans  Motorhomes 

This site has chosen to use the availability calendar. You can check for availability here.

Photos (13) and Video

Reviews:  198 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14   15   16   17   18   19   20  

Date of Visit: July 2014 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: P+SShaw 5 reviews from this member

Beech Croft Farm is a big campsite with plenty of room, and you can pick where you want to pitch. On arrival the owners gave us loads of useful info and there is a small shop on site that has all the basics (except alcohol). There is a Morrisons only 5 mins drive away. We arrived 3pm on a Friday and had a good choice of the spacious pitches. The site is on a slope (well come on, it is the Peak District!), but the pitches near the top of the field are flatter and the views are spectacular. We are here for 2 weeks, and are so glad we picked this site. The facilities are second to none. The showers are free, water temperature perfect, plenty of hooks for clothes and a seat in each one. Plenty of loos with an abundance of toilet paper (only mentioned that because one site we stayed at had no loo paper!). Plug sockets in the bathrooms next to the mirrors for hairdryers, but no hairdryers. There is a room for washing dishes with 5 sinks and a pot sink for washing clothes. There is a huge washing machine & tumble dryer that you buy tokens for. An iron & ironing board is there too. There is a freezer for ice blocks. All the facilities have heating in, so on a chilly morning it is a pleasure to take a hot shower in a lovely, clean and spacious shower. There is a Campers Shed with board games in and seating. A mobile food van is on site on a weekend doing breakfasts and other food (didn't try any, I'm here with my Chef). All the facilities are kept spotless. It is a kids & dog friendly site, the kids have their own play area (which is huge and well equipped) and there is a dog walking area. Dogs must be kept on a lead and are not allowed in the facilities and neither the dogs nor the kids are allowed to run riot. There are bins and drinking water taps dotted about around the site in purpose built areas and the bins are emptied daily. There is free Wi-Fi for a week. The electric hook up is paid for at reception with a card for the hook up, which can be topped up. We've paid 20 for 2 weeks and will probably get a refund (you get refunded for whatever you don't use). We have an electric fan heater, a fridge, kettle, laptop, electric blanket, charging mobiles etc. And we haven't used too much yet. The site is located just off the A6 between Buxton & Bakewell. We're not sure about local pubs because we prefer eating/drinking at the tent with the lovely views (plus we're a tad antisocial !). We have so many places of interest to visit and loads of lovely walks in this area. The Monsal Trail is great for walking/cycling along. Give this site a try, you won't be disappointed.

Date of Visit: July 2014 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: Dot P 269 reviews from this member

Really can only agree with previous comments, this is a wonderful site. We visited a few years ago and it was in quite a sad state, the owners have ploughed money and hard work in and it really shows.

Although its just off the A6 it is far enough away that there isn't any road noise. On arrival we choose a pitch then popped over to the reception which is literally a few steps over the road at the farm. We found the site to be quiet and peaceful despite being reasonably bus

Facilities are all top standard, the site is beautifully landscaped with shrubs and hedges, there are two wardens on site who keep everything very clean and tidy. We loved the little touches like a 'dog, boot and bike wash' and the coffee machine in the campers hut. Pitches are large hard-standing each with own water tap and ehu. There are a couple of grey water dumps around but we didn't see a motorhome service point for dumping water anywhere.

The only other comment from us relates to access to the Monsal Trail. Yes its only 3/4 mile but its down the Pennine Bridleway. Perfect for walkers but not great for bikes and you would struggle to get a pushchair down there. Once you do get there though its absolutely brilliant, 17 miles round trip and the tunnels are a real experience.

This really is a first class site and would not hesitate to recommend it.

Date of Visit: June 2014 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Tracey86 9 reviews from this member

Just back from an 8 night stay at this gem of a site. We had a wonderful holiday and will most definitely be returning to Beech Croft Farm soon!

The site is easy to find and booking in was swift, the staff on reception were friendly and informative. Reception isn't as well sign posted as the site but it is located in the house across the lane. The site operates on a 'pitch where you like' basis for tents but even though the staff had said they were fully booked for the first weekend of our stay, there was still loads of room for everyone to have a good sized pitch.

You do need to choose your pitch carefully as it is a sloping site. That said, we have a large tent (Kampa Croyde 6) and managed to pitch it well on a fairly flat spot.

Views from the site are amazing- truly amazing and the sunsets. Wow!

Facilities- right, well they're brilliant! Mens, Womens and Unisex; all with loos, sinks and hot, powerful showers. All all very clean and always well stocked with loo paper. A little niggle would be the showers are the standard push button type (which is fine) but they only stay on for about 14 seconds each push, it's not a real problem but it is a bit irritating.

Pot washing room is good with a freezer to use for re-freezing ice blocks. There is also a washing machine, tumble dryer and iron/ironing board to use at a small charge.

In the campers cabin there is a hot drinks machine and a microwave- we didn't use them but we saw others that did.

I should add that all of this is down a very steep path from the tent fields. This path for me is the sites only real flaw- it is slippy when it's wet and akward in flip flops/crocs. Not to mention tricky for the less fit/able bodied campers.

Anyway. On to more good things- the dog walking field. It's fab, mowed around the edges so you can walk easily but all long and wild grasses in the middle for the dogs to run and enjoy themselves. Our pooch loved it.

There are 2 play parks which we thought was a great idea, the one for the younger children is in easy view of the lower tent fieled but the one for the bigger kids is in a separate field with basketball nets and football posts. We loved this (being non-parents) as it meant the older and more boisterous kids were off doing there thing and enjoying themselves without disturbing our peace and quiet. Everybody was happy.

Site wardens were friendly and chatty and. I think that's about all I can say. Oh, just remembered- there is also a couple of little extras. The potato stall on a Saturday evening where you can get lovely jacket potatoes with fillings at a very reasonable 3. 00 from 5. 30pm til 7. 30pm. And also the breakfast van on a Saturday and Sunday mornings from 8am. He does breakfast sandwiches starting from 2, this was great for us on our pack down day as it meant we could still have a tasty cooked breakfast but didn't have to faff about washing pots etc, meaning we could get on with packing up camp quicker. Two great little extra's and shows the site really do go the extra mile.

In a nutshell, it's a great site! Beautiful suroundings, great facillities and we will be returning. Hopefully soon!

Date of Visit: June 2014 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Gixxer11 4 reviews from this member

Where to start? excellent all round ! cheapest electric and showers ever! free dog ! (no they didn't give us a dog). Well maintained, short grass, staff are the best I've met, one in particular went out of his way to help, got some bricks for a bbq, sketched us a map etc, mad as cheese of course! great bloke!(hi p**e if you're reading this!) huge pitches, slightly hilly but its the peaks of course, 70. 00 for 5 nights plus 1. 80 elec. Showers were always consistent temp and powerful, of course the only downside is the low standards of some other campers, can't pull a flush or NOT flood all around the sink ! but generally the toilets and sinks were the cleanest I've used on a campsite. Have given them 10 out of ten, they aren't perfect but are d**n close ! more accurately 95 out of 100 ! other half didn't want to leave. Thanks again - will and dawne x

Date of Visit: June 2014 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Speedyjohn 2 reviews from this member

Second time at this wonderful site this year. The facilities are second to none. Toilets and showers are clean warm and welcoming. The staff are very friendly and informative. The tent pitches are on a slight slope, but get flatter ( is that a real word) the higher up the fields you go. We enjoyed the 'Butty van, for bacon sarnies and the baked spuds on Saturday night (with chicken curry) were good value and nice and tasty. I have 2 Collies, Fudge and Coco who enjoyed the off lead exercise area. There are many good walks close to the site with the Monsal Trail being our favourite (fairly flat walking) All in all a good first run out with our new Kampa Filey 5 air (see review)

Regards Speedy John.

Date of Visit: May 2014 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Huddleway 2 reviews from this member

I cannot recommend this site enough. It's fantastic. Let me break it down.

We have a large tent, over large for the four of us (children aged 11 and 9). We camped with electric hook up for 5 nights, starting bank holiday Monday. The weather was rainy and chilly Monday - Friday, thankfully we had the last day of blue sky (as we packed up)!

The staff were very friendly and exceptionally helpful.

The location, between Buxton and Bakewell, is ideal.

The pitches are not marked, so you turn up, book in, and pitch where you fancy.

The electric hook up is by pay as you go, something that might have put me off, but it's much, much cheaper than we thought. You just pop some money on a card when you book in and they refund anything unused. I think our 5 nights cost around 2. 50 in total, which includes kettle for endless cups of tea and hot water bottles, electric fridge on permanently and phone chargers. It will make me think twice about how much EHU pitches usually cost.

The site has stunning views and great walks close by, but most importantly is the cleanest site we have ever used. By midday the toilet and shower block had been cleaned three times! Being constantly wet, the toilet and shower blocks NEVER had dirty floors, the effort the staff put in to keeping them spotless is amazing and appreciated. There are great little touches such as a campers hut with vending machine and free microwave, younger and older kids parks, and free freezer use for ice packs (paying for ice packs to be re frozen is something that bugs me).

Would love to return, the sooner the better. My favourite site.

Date of Visit: May 2014 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Felicity952 10 reviews from this member

This was our second time at this site and since last year they have build a wooden children's play area which the little one loved. On our second night a load of teenagers turned up doing their Duke of Edinburgh and were pitched in a special area just behind our tent. We were really pleased as they were extremely quiet and well behaved as the wardens/owners make sure they behave. We walked down to the Monsal Trail and had a short walk along there. We are going back next year this time taking our bikes. Yet again cannot fault the site.

Date of Visit: May 2014 Unit:  Trailer Tent Rating:
Reviewer: TheKingCat 2 reviews from this member

Well I am sure the weather helped (it was stunning and above 20 degrees C all weekend), but regardless this is one of the nicest sites we have stayed on.

The views and landscape around are beautiful, but so is the site. It is well maintained, clean and, even on a busy weekend such as the one we visited on, very quiet!

The toilet and shower facilities are without doubt the best we have seen anywhere. The little addition of the campers cabin with a microwave and hot drink machine and other info was such a nice little addition.

Now onto the staff. It is either something in the air or the water, because it is not possible to be that nice and helpful all the time surely! Lovely people, with great information and advice on the local area. Even offered to help me put the trailer tent up as the wife was still at work and I was on my own when setting up.

The site is in the High Peak area so you can expect a hilly area, but to be totally honest it wasn't that steep anywhere on the actual pitches. The higher up the camping areas you go the flatter they get.

The electric hookup was provided by a 'top-up' card (5 refundable deposit plus top up), and any unused electric is refunded to you at the end of the weekend. Can't say fairer than that. And we use a lot of electrical items (TV, Satellite box, toaster, hair dryer, straighteners, 2 mobile phones charging, a laptop charging, 2 electric lights, and a fan heater, plus other stuff I have forgotten probably) and we used a total of 1. 36 electric for a 2 night stay (which included 2 very long days as we arrived early and checked out late)! Bargain.

Now my only little complaints (no that's wrong they aren't complaints as they didn't make me unhappy at all, they are merely observations). The path from the camping field to the toilet block is fairly steep (I struggled in flip flops) would possibly be better with steps. And the only other thing was in the welcome information the walk to the Church Inn pub is stated as 30 mins, be warned it is up 2 fairly steep hills and involves walking over grass bridleways, and took us nearer 45 mins. Now we are not the fittest people in the world, but nor are we unfit. It was still an enjoyable walk with lovely views.

We will definitely return to Beech Croft Farm in the future, the sooner the better!

Date of Visit: May 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Garyd5561 2 reviews from this member

One of the best sites we have been on. All the staff we met had something friendly to say and even though we had a lot of rain everyone was cheerful.

I would recommend the hot spuddies on Saturday evening, I had the tuna, red onion and celery, loved it.

A great site, big pitches, clean toilet block and a peaceful surround. We will definitely be returning.

Date of Visit: April 2014 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Stuart1973 3 reviews from this member

We have just returned from our Easter break, on arrival we were greeted by very friendly staff who checked us in quickly and was very informative about the site and area and gave us a leaflet of useful numbers and places to visit,

Our tent pitch was huge and we have an 8 meter tent and canopy, the field was on a slight slope but not really noticeable once in your tent and we had fantastic views,

The showers and toilet blocks were spotless and were always kept that way, the underfloor heating was a bonus especially when it was as cold as it was when we visited, they also had a unisex shower and toilet area which was slightly larger than the normal showers which was good when getting the little ones ready,

They also had a fantastic pot wash room which was enclosed and not outside like some sites, so you were nice and warm whilst washing up especially if someone was using the washer and dryer or the iron,

They also had a campers retreat which was like a large hut which had a microwave in(handy for warming kiddies meals if in a hurry)and also a drinks vending machine and a large selection of leaflets.

The site also over the bank holiday had 2 mobile units, I was serving jacket potatoes during the day and the other served breakfasts, which was nice if you didn't feel like cooking,

There are 2 play areas 1 for under 6 year olds which was fantastic, my little boy loved this especially the small climbing wall, it also had a slide, the other area was a large field with climbing and balance apparatus, a basketball net, and football goals,

The site is also a working farm and we were lucky to be there in lambing season which again my little boy loved and also the goats,

Buxton and Bakewell were only a stones throw away in the car which was handy if you needed supplies or just fancied a day out,

There is also a local pub (the church inn) which is about 30 minutes away walking over the public footpaths, they served home cooked foods and had a good selection of drinks and were very friendly and welcoming, we even got a lift back off the landlords daughter as we couldn't get a taxi,

The site offers electric hook up for tents but its on a top up card, which you purchase when you check in and there is a 5 deposit for the card which you get back when you leave and what ever credit you don't use you get back on departure, we found the costs very reasonable as we were there for 5 days and we had 2 heaters and a fridge plus lighting on most of the time and we only used 5. 40,

The only criticism I have is the path leading to the toilet blocks is very steep but if you take your time its fine, I do feel steps would be better especially in wet weather,

All in all this is a cracking site with fantastic staff and I will visit again soon in the future, especially as its only an hour away

Previous     198 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Save to Virtual Brochure  Add this Site to your Virtual Brochure                                Share  Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Submit your Review for a chance to Win Prizes!
Sponsored by the Caravan ClubSubmit a review to UKCampsite.co.uk of any caravan park or campsite, for a chance to win a caravan towing course or motorhome manoeuvring course worth up to 145, or 100 of Amazon vouchers, courtesy of The Caravan Club. Join the Club for just 44 per year to enjoy access to a great range of caravan sites, benefits and special offers.

If you've visited this site, then please submit a review for a chance to win.

Try our town listings   -   Other Sites in Derbyshire   -   Search for a site

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a Wisport SilverFox 30L Rucksack Visit the UKCS shop for exclusive discounts and offers

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Tribfest Music Festival 14/08 to 17/08 East Yorkshire
An affordable, fantastic weekend away listening to some great live Top tribute bands. Claim discounted entry!!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


8180 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend  -  Pensions Auto-enrolment

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews]  [Facebook]

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2014






0.0508