Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Beech Croft Farm

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > UK > England > Central > Peak District & Derbyshire > Site Reviews

Beech Croft Farm
Blackwell In The Peak
Buxton
Derbyshire   (Browse area)
SK17 9TQ   See Map                                 Share Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook
Tel: 01298 85330

Facilities:  (Key)
                

Nearby: (within x miles)
1m  1m 5m   5m  1m  1m 
Featured Site

Pitches: 60
Open: Open All Year

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 247 Reviews
              9/10 from 247 Reviews


Units accepted:    Tents  Caravans  Motorhomes 

This site has chosen to use the availability calendar. You can check for availability here.

Photos (24) and Video

Reviews:  247 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14   15   16   17   18   19   20   21   22   23   24   25  

Submit your own Review for a chance to Win 100!
Win 100Submit a review of this site for your chance to win 100 of Caravan Club vouchers or 100 of Amazon vouchers, courtesy of this month's sponsor, The Caravan Club. Join The Club from just 48 per year to enjoy access to over 2,700 sites, exclusive member benefits and site special offers.

Date of Visit: January 2017 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: 2yorkies 10 reviews from this member

We've just left Beechcroft Farm after our 3rd visit, this time over the Christmas/New Year holidays. As previously said, the site is very well maintained with large, flat, hard standing pitches, each with it's own water point in addition to power point & tv hook up, & free wi-fi. The toilet/shower block is clean & warm, appreciated at this time of year, & overall better than most 'club' sites, & better value. It's about a 20min walk down to the Monsal Trail, then an enjoyable walk into Bakewell with an hourly bus back, dropping you close to the site by the Trans Peak service. There are a few pubs within walking distance, we enjoy the Church Inn at Chelmorton. Four miles down the A6 into Buxton there is a good Morrisons supermarket & fuel. Regular visitors to Beechcroft get a loyalty card which offers a discount. An excellent site with friendly owners & staff, we'll be back!

Date of Visit: December 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: SamandRose 6 reviews from this member

In normal circumstances I would love the booking and arrival system that this site operates. You book online or by email. You're sent confirmation by email which includes directions to the pitches, the locations of the electric hook ups and drinking water supply and advised to set up on any empty pitch before going to reception at your leisure to advise which pitch you're occupying.

But the circumstances in which we arrived meant it didn't quite work. It was December. It was dark. It was raining. My torch had died. We had got lost on the way and resorted to using the satnav, which got us back onto our routes by using lanes which might have been fine for ox-carts, but were definitely not fine for caravans. In these conditions, which even meant that we failed to see the water tap on the pitch, setting up left us somewhat irritable, and to then discover that the reception had closed early (it was only shortly after 7pm) did not leave us enjoying our first night all that much.

Which was just unfortunate, because everything else about this site is wonderful. Each touring pitch is hardstanding, of a good size and includes electricity, water, TV point and free Wifi, the toilets and showers are good and clean and the views from the site are stunning. A small play area and a pen with three goats in it will keep children happy. There is a wealth of information on a choice of walks and cycle rides from the site, whilst the nearby towns of Buxton and Bakewell are beautiful.

We will definitely return. But we will make sure that we arrive in daylight.

Date of Visit: September 2016 Unit:  Trailer Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Ricky barberan 1 review from this member

Used this Site twice this Summer and really liked it. Great location in between Buxton and Bakewell. Excellent facilities and lovely clean Shower Block. There is a play area for kids two Goats in a small field you can walk up to and a large Dog walking area but if you are looking for a value for money quality Site then this isn't a bad choice with electricity on a prepay card meter we used about 4 in one week and we had interior lighting, 2 fridges and a tv and a Halogen fire which was used a few times at night which begs the question why Sites are charging 3 and 4 pound a night? I would have given this 10/10 but there are a couple of drawbacks one camper reported us to the office because of a low noise policy we weren't playing loud music but on a hot night we were talking out on the grass so it wasn't really our fault everyone went to bed at nine, be aware if you are pitching on the grass we haven't found a flat pitch and found ourselves rolling down the bed.

Date of Visit: August 2016 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: Clipstone Lad 6 reviews from this member

Overall, this may be the best site we've stayed on. A lot of thought has gone into providing excellent facilities. The two touring areas have well-separated hardstandings, each with its own water supply plus hook-up. Behind these are three separate camping areas, some with hook-up (using prepaid card payment. There is a massive (enclosed) dog exercising field, which is separate from a ball game area for the kids. The amenities are spotless: showers and washing up, and a separate camping shelter with a hot drinks machine. The site office has a shop for necessities, and while we were there a visiting mobile tuck shop. There are also good pubs within walking distance (one of which will even pick you up and bring you pack).

As walkers, we appreciated being able to walk straight off the site (the site provides its own excellent walking guides).

There is also lots to do locally, even discount tickets available on site for Chatsworth House. There is free WiFi, and a newspaper service for 10p delivery charge. It is a working farm, but the site is kept separate (apart from two goats which I liked). The owners and site managers are very friendly, there was always someone around to keep things ticking over.

We stayed five nights with our dog; and during our stay did some good walks, as well as relaxing outside our van. With any site the only valid question is, would I want to come back here; and yes, we would love to; so congratulations to the Gregory family and staff: you've more than bettered the club sites; and the icing on the cake - its better value!

Date of Visit: August 2016 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: SamW11 1 review from this member

We stayed for 5 nights with 1 child and electric hook up. Every pitch has electric hook up available, but you pay the same amount for the pitch, and then pay for the electric separately (in advance, with refunds for any units not used when you leave) - charging two smart phones, two kindles, a tablet and a fitbit, running interior lights and a camping fridge for 5 nights we used 53 pence worth. Definite value for money!

The children's play areas were lovely, but the biggest attraction was the two goats in the field near to the toilet block! Very friendly and our daughter (aged 8) spent a lot of time asking if she could go and see the goats!

Unfortunately, the grass pitches were on quite a pronounced slope, but the toilets and shower block were impeccably maintained, there is also a cabin with a hot drink vending machine and microwave available to use, there's a dog and bike wash and indoor dishwashing and laundry facilities, all of which were very clean every time we went in. There's very little light pollution, so if you want to sit back and look at the stars, even without a telescope, there's plenty visible on a clear night, although there are low lights so you can see getting to and from the loo in the night.

There is a shop at the reception over the road, and it's 8 minutes by car to Brierlow Bar Bookstore (a big draw for us) and about 15 minutes into Buxton. Approximately a mile down the (very steep) Pennine Bridle path from the campsite is the Monsal Trail - it is VERY steep though. And the reception/shop has a number of leaflets available showing a number of walks/cycle routes near to the site mapped out and described, which include lists of pubs in walking distance, rough time to get there and how strenuous the walk is. It's mainly a quiet and peaceful site, we were near(ish) to the under 6 play area, but it never seemed to get loud.

We were very impressed by the amount of information on the welcome brouchure, the way of paying for electric is absolutely fabulous, and the waste recycling policy is definitely a plus point, we would certainly consider visiting again.

Date of Visit: July 2016 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Jtaylor8283 1 review from this member

Really good site for a base location, facilities were excellent, owners were very friendly, only one criticism was the terms and conditions stated a quiet policy after 2200 hours, unfortunately this was not adhered to or enforced by the owners and the site was very loud until midnight

Date of Visit: May 2016 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Id0lsandanchors 2 reviews from this member

This campsite was amazing. On our arrival, we followed the lovely signs and arrived at reception, greeted by their friendly staff which are all family. We made an amendment to our booking (adding a person and a tent to our pitch)very easily. The facilities are fantastic, some of the best I have ever been to, always very clean and usually quiet, even though we were there on a weekend. The washing up facilities were fantastic. There was also a new tea and coffee machine, which we had an issue with and were promptly assisted by the owner of the campsite, who fixed the problem for us. The campsite was well lit at night in order to find your way to the toilet! A nice quiet site in a perfect location for exploring the peak district. Would visit again when in the area.

Date of Visit: June 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Red Mick 28 reviews from this member

What a lovely site. Set in a wooded valley, it's within earshot of the A6, but noise not really noticeable, more than made up for with birdsong from all around.

The toilet and shower block is immaculate, very roomy with plenty of accommodation. Pitches are huge, level and well spread out over several levels of terracing. Each pitch has EHU, water tap and TV aerial point.

Free WiFi around the site is quite adequate, the shop stocks essentials from Rock pegs, fuses and ice cream to tins of meat for that evening stew.

Reasonable rates, we found, mid week in June for 22.

Lots of walks from the site, cycle hire nearby, several pubs within a short drive or a longer walk.

Definitely on to revisit.

Date of Visit: May 2016 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Livi91 2 reviews from this member

We have just returned from a 6 night stay at Beech croft. We loved every minute staying on this site. The owners were friendly and welcoming when checking in and gave lots of useful information about local amenities. Immaculately kept, pristine toilets and facilities and the added touch of the campers cabin with hot drinks machine was fantastic. The owners have clearly thought carefully about this campsite and the added facilities such as electric sockets in the toilets, laundry and dog washing facilities are all brilliant extras.

The campsite has fantastic views and beautiful walks are easily accessible from the site or within a short drive. We enjoyed visiting Edale and Castleton- the site is a great base to explore from.

We had a wonderful time at Beech Croft and would highly recommend it to anyone wanting to explore the Peak District.

We will definitely be returning.

Date of Visit: February 2016 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: Garytdec 1 review from this member

Stayed for one night, can't fault the place. Very pleasant and helpful lady in reception, gave us information on all the local pubs etc. Toilets and showers better than some four star hotels, spotless and very cosy with underfloor heating. Camp kitchen a bonus with microwave and vending machine for hot drinks. We will definitely be back.

Previous     247 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Save to Virtual Brochure  Add this Site to your Virtual Brochure                                Share  Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Submit a Review for a chance to Win 100!
Sponsored by the Caravan ClubSubmit a review to UKCampsite.co.uk of any caravan park or campsite for your chance to win your choice of 100 of Caravan Club vouchers or 100 of Amazon vouchers, courtesy of this month's sponsor, The Caravan Club

If you've visited this site, then please submit a review for a chance to win.

Try our town listings   -   Other Sites in Derbyshire   -   Search for a site

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win an OLPRO Caravan Cover Win a Weeks Holiday at Camping Odmoree in Croatia

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet NEC Caravan Camping & Motorhome Show - 21st to 26th February
Hundreds of caravans, motorhomes, tents, holiday lodges and 1000's of accessories all under one roof! ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


2456 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend  -  Pensions Auto-enrolment

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2016






0.1172