Home

   Log in or Register
   
Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Beech Croft Farm

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > UK > England > Central > Peak District & Derbyshire > Site Reviews

Beech Croft Farm
Blackwell In The Peak
Buxton
Derbyshire   (Browse area)
SK17 9TQ   See Map                                 Share Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook
Tel: 01298 85330

Facilities:  (Key)
               

Nearby: (within x miles)
1m  1m 5m  5m  5m   5m  10m  10m  1m  1m 
Featured Site

Pitches: 60
Open: All Year Round

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 217 Reviews
              9/10 from 217 Reviews


Units accepted:    Tents  Caravans  Motorhomes 

This site has chosen to use the availability calendar. You can check for availability here.

Photos (24) and Video

Reviews:  217 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14   15   16   17   18   19   20   21   22  

Submit your own Review for a chance to Win 100 of Amazon Vouchers
Win 100 of Amazon vouchersSubmit a review of this site for a chance to win. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win 100 of Amazon vouchers!

Date of Visit: May 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Robin91 11 reviews from this member

Stopped here with van for 5 nights. Quiet. Half full with vans, until Friday, then was full. Only 3 tents though, the rest caravans. Caravans are not allowed to pitch on the grass. Which I found strange! All caravan pitches are hard standing. Facilities were excellent. I only went to the shop/reception on arrival. We have 2 dogs, and the dog walk was good, and a bridleway starts just up the road from entrance. Its about 3 miles to Buxton, and a little further to Bakewell. Nice views.

Date of Visit: May 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Darylljb 2 reviews from this member

Excellent site, will use Beech Croft Farm again!

Situated midway between Bakewell & Buxton the approach road is very narrow so be aware that passing another vehicle & caravan coming in the opposite direction might be tricky!

Well sign posted from the main road with good direction signs inside the site.

Good road surfaces on site so no problems reaching the pitches in any weather.

Three areas for caravans/motorhomes all on different levels. We chose to pitch on the highest, furthest away from toilets, showers & reception. Great views.

Level hard standings but you will need heavy duty pegs if using an awning.

Each pitch has its own 'post' where you plug in for electric, TV & water. TV reception is poor so if plugging into the site TV aerial you'll need a fairly long TV cable for some of the pitches (upto 10metres).

The site is warden controlled, well looked after and maintained. A credit to the wardens and owners!

Toilet and shower facilities are excellent with no extra to pay for 24/7 showers!

Reception closes at 5pm, once we'd set up it was closed so I paid my fees the following morning, they also sell some fresh produce. Walk to reception DON'T drive!

Recycling & waste disposal are close by, clean and well managed.

Camping fields looked good and there's a separate field for walking the dogs plus a small area for children to play.

Ours was a midweek break and cost 20. 50 per night for caravan, car, awning, two adults & 2 dogs which is a fair price providing you're going to be using the facilities on offer.

Date of Visit: April 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Dollchickgb 15 reviews from this member

This is one of the best sites we've been to in the 5 years we've been caravanning. The staff are so friendly and helpful and it's in a stunning location with a 360 degree view of open countryside - amazing!

We were so lucky, as it was lambing season, we got to see the lambs which had only been born 3 hours before. There are goats to see and lots of children seemed to enjoy making friends with them.

The shop is adequately stocked with essentials and very reasonably priced. The showers/toilets are immaculate and spacious and well lit and heated. The dog walk is great and our little pup didn't half enjoy running around in the contained area!

This is the only site we have ever booked there and then to return to in the same year. Can't recommend it enough and there's so many beautiful walks and villages to visit. This really is a site for the owners to be proud of!

Date of Visit: April 2015 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Paul+kate s-o-t 6 reviews from this member

We've just spent a great weekend at beech croft

The whole operation of this site is top class from the moment you check in to when you leave

We pitched in the top camping field and it was a little exposed to wind but a good judgement on how to pitch in windy conditions and using hedges and the car as windbreaks we got pitched

This was the first outing in our new tent the outdoor Rev 6. 0xt so we booked an extra large pitch and there for needed to pay an extra 4 per night not a problem as its our choice to have a large tent and why should campsite owners lose money on extra space that we take up

Anyway it's 16 pn and then 4 extra got there and on booking in at reception and was told as there aren't many tents they wouldn't charge us the extra

Electricity is on a card system which we've never used but again great advice from the owner and it was a doddle

The facilities are fantastic very clean plenty of hot water etc

Dog walk is good

All in all a fantastic site which we will be returning to very soon

Date of Visit: April 2015 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Gini17 3 reviews from this member

We have just got back from Beech Croft farm, after spending six nights there.

I didn't want to leave a review as I don't want to advertise this beautiful site so that it doesn't become too popular but that is selfish of me and after trying to book for May bank holiday to find they are fully booked goes to show that they don't need to advertise.

So here goes.

Firstly I rang to bring our trip forward by two nights and they accommodated us no problem and no fuss or extra deposit. Upon arriving we got booked in very easily and was shown a map of the site with the points you need to know when camping, eg showers, bins water point etc. Also you buy a card if you are camping EHU, which we have never experienced this system before, but we were really impressed. When you book on some of these sites they can ask for an extra 10 per night for EHU. We purchased a 20 card leaving a 5 deposit. You get all monies back plus deposit that is not used and we only used 16. 80 which was amazing because we had the heater on all night for the little one as its cold in April at night. So those sites that charge for every night are basically ripping the customer off.

Once on the field we pitched while enjoying the beautiful views. We chose to pitch in the top ehu field close enough to the play park but not right next to it. Our five year old spent most of her free time playing in the park meeting some lovely friends. The fields closer to the park had a slight slope but not enough to create problems. There was also a bigger play space for the older children with plenty of ball game space.

The showers are push button but hey who cares they are free and hot water at all times of the day, so to gripe about that is just being fussy. The shower block consists of female with two showers and plenty of toilets and as many wash basins, men's the same, but in the middle is the unisex block with three showers two wash rooms and a toilet. We found the unisex ones to be the best as they were bigger and accommodated all three of us with ease, on a plus point they have underfloor heating which was nice on the feet. Outside the block was a basin with a hose pipe for washing bike, dogs and walking boots. There is also a cabin with a microwave and drinks machine which came in very handy on the last day after packing all away and stopping in to get a hot drink for the journey home.

There is also a laundry room with four sinks to do pot washing. A washing machine, a tumble dryer and an iron with board all at a small cost by getting tokens from reception but this is all well signed for you.

Throughout the site are water points and bins (all bins marked telling you which is for what waste).

We took our mountain bikes along with us and on the second day drove to Monsal Head to park and then cycle, you can join the Monsal trail at various points as we found and did. Reception staff are very helpful and if you ask they can advise. After a couple of days we decided to do the Treasure Hunt that the camp site has arranged. All you do is pay 2 for the map and clues, take plenty of water or juice and some fruit but there are two public houses on route for further refreshments. It's not for the faint hearted but are daughter loved it not particular the walking but trying to solve the clues and the play park at one of the public houses. Hasten to add she slept well that night.

The clue is in the title Beech Croft Farm, so there are animals and you can visit them and feed them another joy for our little one and if they are happy let's face it parents then we are happy.

We feel that the owners and all staff have done a fabulous job and for us we found no fault with the site and cannot wait to visit again asap. If you like everything a two minuite walk down the road this is not the site for you but saying that you are not in the back of beyond. We like to walk and cycle and use the car as little as possible which is what we did. Beech Croft Farm has breath taking views and I don't think some people realise what beauty is on there own doorstep.

So well done guys we really enjoyed it and it went too fast so see you again soon.

Date of Visit: April 2015 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Dugsy72 2 reviews from this member

Just returned from a 3 night stay with wife and 5 year old daughter. Site is well positioned off A6, 5 miles from buxton. Busy road though and traffic noise is audible. Morrisons supermarket on edge of buxton. Excellent pub(church inn) 5 minutes drive. We arrived at beech croft early Thursday afternoon. Quick check-in and told to pitch where we liked on tent fields. Which are sloping! Be warned this is not a flat site. We found a decent spot half way up and faced opposite hillside. Then on Friday the wind came! Our outwell whitecove 6 took a real battering for next 2 days to point where we thought it was going to collapse. 40 mph gusts easily. Then Sunday morning wind changed direction and lifted one side of tent up. Had to hold tent down while family and dog got out! It's only with the help of a fellow camper and my father answering our sos that we got the gear out and tent down at all. Point is the tents are exposed on hill and the weather is very changeable there. The site is sloping but facilities are first rate. Toilets and showers spotless. Spacious and constant hotwater. Daughter made friends and liked the new but small playground. The dog walk is a fenced in field, a good size but steep not just sloping. The staff and warden all really friendly and helpful. We had ehu and ran a fridge constantly for the stay and charged phones, lantern, etc. We put 5 on prepay card and it lasted for duration. All in all its a good site but the sloping pitches and the exposure to the elements means we probably would'nt go back.

Date of Visit: March 2015 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Dave 418 13 reviews from this member

We couldn't fault this site from booking in at reception to leaving. We phoned the morning we left home and were told to find a pitch and come across to the farm to book in. The free chocolates on the counter were a nice touch. Not a very large shop but it would be ok for those forgotten things rather than going into town. The toilet blocks and laundry were very good. The drive over grey water drain is a new and very welcome feature. There appears to be a lot of work done to this site recently so it proves the owners care.

Lots of local information regarding walks and things to see and do. The information leaflet about the local area and were to eat was very useful.

We walked from the site to the Monsal trail and to Bakewell. As advised we then caught the bus back to the end of the lane.

A lovely site in a great location even in early March.

Date of Visit: December 2014 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Tripeaker 20 reviews from this member

We had been recommended this site as a good, open all year site. From the very first contact that we made to enquire about booking for a week over the New Year period, we were impressed by the pleasant and professional way in which our booking was handled. The site was fully booked over New Years Eve which would have meant moving sites or going home that day, neither of which appealed to us. Whilst pondering our options, basically choosing another site, we received a call from the owners advising us of a cancellation and that if we still wanted to book our preferred dates, then that would be no problem.

We arrived at the site around midday after heavy snowfall the previous day. Vacant pitches, and the site roads and walkways had already been cleared of snow which made pitching up easy. Pitches are not allocated and can be chosen on arrival. We stayed on the upper level where we thought the surrounding views were stunning, especially after the snowfall. The pitches are generous and fairly level but levelling blocks were useful. We did not mind the slightly further trip to the facilities. A major bonus to the hard standing pitches in the colder weather is the supply of water, which comes through heated pipes to each pitch. With temperatures as low as -4 degrees we were able to use the taps at the pitch with no problem. EHU and TV point are also supplied to each pitch. Also provided were a children's playground and a dog walking area, neither required or used by us. There is a good and well equipped laundry room with pot washing facilities. The site was quiet at all times and wardens were available if required. Birdlife was abundant amongst the hedgerows and it was good to see that several areas had been left untouched to encourage wildlife to flourish.

Reception was a continuation of the service that we had experienced over the telephone, friendly and informative at all times, excellent really. Due to the season, wine and sweets were on offer which was a nice touch. There was a good selection of local information in the form of maps and guide books and information leaflets. Fresh milk and eggs and some of the basics which may have been forgotten were also on sale here.

We have been using campsites for many years and the toilets and showers at this site are amongst the best we have seen. Spotlessly clean and always warm, a credit to the owners. There are separate men's and ladies toilets and showers plus a unisex section ideal for families.

Another first in our experience was a camper's hut with seating, a microwave, a hot drinks machine, information board and reading material, a great place to socialise and shelter for those travelling light.

The Monsal Trail is close by and offers an interesting, safe walking and cycling experience. The Trail is well signposted and information is readily available on signs and audio devices along its length.

It has to be remembered that Beech Croft Farm is still a working farm, but our opinion is that the owners have worked hard and have succeeded, in making the campsite a top quality site.

Date of Visit: October 2014 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: Bowyer 6 reviews from this member

This site is very good and I've rated it highly! However, I'd just like to recommend that may be something should be done about the slope to the toilet block as it is very steep; may be reroute the path around the goat pen to the left which would lessen the gradient. My gripe over leads me to say this is an excellent site, a little sloping, run by excellent people. We will return, campervan though next time pitched at the site top because it's flatter. This site is 3/4 mile from the end of the Monsal trail and handy for a good cycle route to the great town of Bakewell.

Date of Visit: October 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: DangerousDamian 1 review from this member

Just come back from a very relaxing weekend break (2 night stay) Great on site facilities. Great for both cycling (off road) and walkers. Will definitely be returning before the end of the year with my wife and granddaughter. Friendly helpful staff. Shower block very clean and warm. Great scenery.

Previous     217 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Save to Virtual Brochure  Add this Site to your Virtual Brochure                                Share  Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Submit a Review for a chance to Win 100 of Amazon Vouchers
Win 100 of Amazon vouchersSubmit a review of any caravan park or campsite, for a chance to win. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win 100 of Amazon vouchers!

If you've visited this site, then please submit a review for a chance to win.

Try our town listings   -   Other Sites in Derbyshire   -   Search for a site

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a Holiday at Woolacombe Bay Holiday Parks Visit the UKCS shop for exclusive discounts and offers

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Camping Exhibition, Codicote, Hertfordshire 02/05 to 31/05
A massive range of tents, trailer tents and accessories on display to wander around

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


2109 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend  -  Pensions Auto-enrolment

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2015






0.0566