Home

   Log in or Register
   
Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Beech Croft Farm

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > UK > England > Central > Peak District & Derbyshire > Site Reviews

Beech Croft Farm
Blackwell In The Peak
Buxton
Derbyshire   (Browse area)
SK17 9TQ   See Map                                 Share Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook
Tel: 01298 85330

Facilities:  (Key)
               

Nearby:
1m  1m 5m  5m  5m   5m  10m  10m  1m  1m 
Featured Site

Pitches: 60
Open: All Year Round

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 208 Reviews
              9/10 from 208 Reviews


Units accepted:    Tents  Caravans  Motorhomes 

This site has chosen to use the availability calendar. You can check for availability here.

Photos (24) and Video

Reviews:  208 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14   15   16   17   18   19   20   21  

Date of Visit: October 2014 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: Bowyer 2 reviews from this member

This site is very good and I've rated it highly! However, I'd just like to recommend that may be something should be done about the slope to the toilet block as it is very steep; may be reroute the path around the goat pen to the left which would lessen the gradient. My gripe over leads me to say this is an excellent site, a little sloping, run by excellent people. We will return, campervan though next time pitched at the site top because it's flatter. This site is 3/4 mile from the end of the Monsal trail and handy for a good cycle route to the great town of Bakewell.

Date of Visit: October 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: DangerousDamian 1 review from this member

Just come back from a very relaxing weekend break (2 night stay) Great on site facilities. Great for both cycling (off road) and walkers. Will definitely be returning before the end of the year with my wife and granddaughter. Friendly helpful staff. Shower block very clean and warm. Great scenery.

Date of Visit: September 2014 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Juliesearle 1 review from this member

Ive just come back from this wonderful campsite, loved it. Beautiful scenery. 1st class showers/toilets, and very warm underfloor heating. Spacious pitches, we had a tent with hook up. And wherever you pitch, you get great views. HOT POTATOES on saturday night are fantastic, with filling. Yum. Owners and especially linda, was very very nice, and welcoming. Coming back next june. Cant wait.

Date of Visit: September 2014 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: J kabigat 1 review from this member

Chose this site for our first camping trip as it's only an hours drive from home and we were only going for two nights so we didn't want to travel too far.

We were really impresed with the sight.

Bookng in was very easy and the owner was really helpful.

It was quiet so we could pitch any where and all the pitches seemed roomy.

We chose to have EHU so were given a meter card which we put credit on and any credit left on the card at the end of our stay was refunded.

There was a play area for the kids and a field for ball games.

The shower and toilet block were spotless as was the pot washing room where there was also a washing machine, tumble drier and iron available for a small charge.

They also have a campers cabin with microwave and hot drink vending machine.

I think we made a great choice for our first trip and will definitely be returning in fhe near future.

Date of Visit: August 2014 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: JamesA60 1 review from this member

The site is one of the best I have been to. The area is kept clean and tidy by very friendly staff who always seem to be happy to help.

There are lots of facilities at the campsite that at most others you wouldn't get or would need to pay for. The toilets and showers are kept clean and are apparently inspected regularly. The showers were large cubicles with hot water all day.

One of the most unexpected things of the week was finding a microwave and a hot drinks machine under a shelter near the wash block which came in use.

The free wifi was also very useful, but it did become slow at times.

There was also food served some nights which we didn't try, but is a very good idea.

I'd definitely recommend this site.

Date of Visit: August 2014 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: Lexiec 9 reviews from this member

This was our second visit to Beech Croft farm as we have family in the area and it remains one of my favourite campsites. The location is fabulous - we pitched towards the top of the camping field. Yes, this means you're on a bit of a slope but the views more than make up for that.

The facilities are excellent here. No need to wash up outside as there's a utility room with sinks and laundry facilities. Lots of basins and toilets in the ladies, but just 2 showers, which is the only downside of this place as there was a small queue (but as I say this was August). But I think there maybe further showers in the Unisex area? Everything's very well maintained and clean.

Outside, there is a small children's play area and goats to talk to, and the bacon buttie van turned up in the morning (though we didn't use it).

A lovely campsite in a lovely part of the world. Definitely recommended.

Date of Visit: August 2014 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Ddlkc 11 reviews from this member

We chose this site for our annual 7 night break but we ended up staying 9 nights

The site ticks all of our boxes from facilities to location

On arrival owners are very friendly explaining any information regarding site they also sell some really good maps for walks in the area

We were able to choose our pitch as it was midweek we chose one at bottom of first field which was fine

The facilities were spotless at all times a credit to the wardens for all of their hard work

If you don't, have ehu but like your hairdryer/straighteners you can use the facilities in the ladies

The location is ideal for exploring this great area if you don't, want to drive there is bus stops right outside of the site which takes you to various places

The children's areas are split into two one for the young ones and the other for older kids

Overall this is one of the best site/place we have visited

Date of Visit: August 2014 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Lincs1 1 review from this member

Beech Croft is a lovely site, clean and well kept. The wardens and owners available to answer any queries or help with any problems you may have.

The site is on a slope which we found difficult to cope with, when we arrived the site was busy so had to have what was available at the time with hook up. There are some flatter pitches on the top fields but they where taken. (We pitched up the way we should being on a slope)

The toilet and shower block where kept immaculate by the wardens, it is just a shame that people do not treat them with respect, not flushing toilets, giving the sink a quick swill when they have brushed their teeth. The owners ask that children are accompanied to the toilets/showers but this was definitely not happening. On our last night a large group of children entered the toilet block and went along and from the outside locked the doors of 5 or 6 toilets the warden was having to try and open them. This is not the owners/wardens fault but the parents. The showers are push button but only stay on for about 15 seconds but they are hot and powerful. There are two showers in Ladies, two in the gents and two in the unisex, I did have to queue 3 mornings but hey the site was busy. The taps for the sink are a little awkward you have to keep your hand on the top for the water to flow. The pot wash room was clean with a washer/dryer and a freezer for your freezer blocks. There is a steep pathway from the tent fields to the toilet/shower block which I thought might be better if it was steps you need to be careful when walking up or down. There is a sign saying about bikes and scooters not to be ridden down the path but some parents obviously thought the rules didn't apply to their children.

We walked across the peninne way to the start of the monsal trail and hired bikes then biked to Bakewell it was well worth it but be aware the walk has a steep hill to navigate.

I loved the no noise after 10 o'clock rule it was like somebody has flicked a switch as it went quiet at 10 o'clock. The pitches are spacious, you are not right next to your neighbour giving you room to park your car and sit outside your tent comfortably.

If you want electric hook up you pay a five pound deposit for a card then load it up with how much you wish at the end of your break if you don't spend it all you get it refunded.

The site is an ideal base for Bakewell, Buxton, Chatsworth and walking the pennine way.

Date of Visit: July 2014 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Scaryahir 3 reviews from this member

We stayed for a week, 2 adults and 2 children aged 10 and 11. This was our first week to camp and it was lovely. The staff were really friendly and helpful.

We arrived at 2pm and did have to sit and wait for someone to leave so we could pitch up next to an electric hook up which was a bit of a pain.

The showers male, female and unisex were spotlessly clean. This can also be said for the washing up room which also had a washing machine, tumble dryer, iron and freezer for freezer blocks.

The kids liked feeding the goats on the way to the toilets. There was a separate field for dogs to walk.

My 2 loved playing cricket or playing football at the games field.

It is a really lovely place to stay and would recommend to anyone to come here. There is a Morrisons 10 minutes down the road at Buxton and loads of places to visit nearby.

We will definitely be booking again for next year.

Date of Visit: July 2014 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: BigRedAnt 3 reviews from this member

Cannot recommend this place enough. The facilities are excellent; hot showers, spotless bathrooms, a large washing up room that includes a washer and dryer. There are male, female and unisex showers and toilets (the unisex showers being larger so you can clean the kids!)

There are only two showers in the male and female washrooms, but there was very little queuing as there are 3 showers in the unisex washroom.

There is a large freezer for your iceblocks, free wifi, a camping cabin with a vending machine and microwave, and a shop that sells the basics (and camping gear and walking maps).

A small play area will keep the little ones entertained, along with a larger games field for the older ones that includes a play frame, football goals and a basketball net.

Four pygmy goats seem to get a lot of attention from the little ones (they can be fed by hand), and a large field has been set aside for dog walking.

We stayed in a tent at the top of the hill. Even when full the camp didn't seem overcrowded, and there are plenty of bins, recycle points and fresh drinking water taps dotted around. There is an electric hookup point close by no matter where you camp. It requires topping up by card, which has a £5 returnable deposit. In a week we ran a fridge and charged our phones constantly, costing us a grand total of £1. 05.

On Friday nights there is a jacket potato van, if you can't be bothered to cook, and on Saturday morning a breakfast van - very convenient if you are packing up to go home.

Note that there is a no noise policy after 10pm - so you won't have to suffer from music and niosy neighbours.

As for the location - you can cycle down the Monsal Trail (Bikes can be hired), or just walk down the trail, in the vales or along the Pennine Bridleway.

Previous     208 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Save to Virtual Brochure  Add this Site to your Virtual Brochure                                Share  Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Submit your Review for a chance to Win Prizes!
Sponsored by the Caravan ClubSubmit a review to UKCampsite.co.uk of any caravan park or campsite, for a chance to win a caravan towing course or motorhome manoeuvring course worth up to £145, or £100 of Amazon vouchers, courtesy of The Caravan Club. Join the Club for just £44 per year to enjoy access to a great range of caravan sites, benefits and special offers.

If you've visited this site, then please submit a review for a chance to win.

Try our town listings   -   Other Sites in Derbyshire   -   Search for a site

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a Nemesis Ultra Wheel Clamp! from Towsure.com Visit the UKCS shop for exclusive discounts and offers

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Manchester Caravan & Motorhome Show 15 to 18/01/15
Start the season with a trip to the North’s biggest outdoor leisure show. Win 10 pairs of tickets or claim discount entry

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


2618 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend  -  Pensions Auto-enrolment

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2014






0.0859