Home

   Log in or Register

Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Beech Croft Farm

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > UK > England > Central > Peak District & Derbyshire > Site Reviews

Beech Croft Farm
Blackwell In The Peak
Buxton
Derbyshire   (Browse area)
SK17 9TQ   See Map                                 Share Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook
Tel: 01298 85330

Facilities:  (Key)
               

Nearby:
1m  1m 5m  5m  5m   5m  10m  10m  1m  1m 
Featured Site

Pitches: 60
Open: All Year Round

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 201 Reviews
              9/10 from 201 Reviews


Units accepted:    Tents  Caravans  Motorhomes 

This site has chosen to use the availability calendar. You can check for availability here.

Photos (24) and Video

Reviews:  201 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14   15   16   17   18   19   20   21  

Date of Visit: August 2014 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Lincs1 1 review from this member

Beech Croft is a lovely site, clean and well kept. The wardens and owners available to answer any queries or help with any problems you may have.

The site is on a slope which we found difficult to cope with, when we arrived the site was busy so had to have what was available at the time with hook up. There are some flatter pitches on the top fields but they where taken. (We pitched up the way we should being on a slope)

The toilet and shower block where kept immaculate by the wardens, it is just a shame that people do not treat them with respect, not flushing toilets, giving the sink a quick swill when they have brushed their teeth. The owners ask that children are accompanied to the toilets/showers but this was definitely not happening. On our last night a large group of children entered the toilet block and went along and from the outside locked the doors of 5 or 6 toilets the warden was having to try and open them. This is not the owners/wardens fault but the parents. The showers are push button but only stay on for about 15 seconds but they are hot and powerful. There are two showers in Ladies, two in the gents and two in the unisex, I did have to queue 3 mornings but hey the site was busy. The taps for the sink are a little awkward you have to keep your hand on the top for the water to flow. The pot wash room was clean with a washer/dryer and a freezer for your freezer blocks. There is a steep pathway from the tent fields to the toilet/shower block which I thought might be better if it was steps you need to be careful when walking up or down. There is a sign saying about bikes and scooters not to be ridden down the path but some parents obviously thought the rules didn't apply to their children.

We walked across the peninne way to the start of the monsal trail and hired bikes then biked to Bakewell it was well worth it but be aware the walk has a steep hill to navigate.

I loved the no noise after 10 o'clock rule it was like somebody has flicked a switch as it went quiet at 10 o'clock. The pitches are spacious, you are not right next to your neighbour giving you room to park your car and sit outside your tent comfortably.

If you want electric hook up you pay a five pound deposit for a card then load it up with how much you wish at the end of your break if you don't spend it all you get it refunded.

The site is an ideal base for Bakewell, Buxton, Chatsworth and walking the pennine way.

Date of Visit: July 2014 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Scaryahir 1 review from this member

We stayed for a week, 2 adults and 2 children aged 10 and 11. This was our first week to camp and it was lovely. The staff were really friendly and helpful.

We arrived at 2pm and did have to sit and wait for someone to leave so we could pitch up next to an electric hook up which was a bit of a pain.

The showers male, female and unisex were spotlessly clean. This can also be said for the washing up room which also had a washing machine, tumble dryer, iron and freezer for freezer blocks.

The kids liked feeding the goats on the way to the toilets. There was a separate field for dogs to walk.

My 2 loved playing cricket or playing football at the games field.

It is a really lovely place to stay and would recommend to anyone to come here. There is a Morrisons 10 minutes down the road at Buxton and loads of places to visit nearby.

We will definitely be booking again for next year.

Date of Visit: July 2014 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: BigRedAnt 3 reviews from this member

Cannot recommend this place enough. The facilities are excellent; hot showers, spotless bathrooms, a large washing up room that includes a washer and dryer. There are male, female and unisex showers and toilets (the unisex showers being larger so you can clean the kids!)

There are only two showers in the male and female washrooms, but there was very little queuing as there are 3 showers in the unisex washroom.

There is a large freezer for your iceblocks, free wifi, a camping cabin with a vending machine and microwave, and a shop that sells the basics (and camping gear and walking maps).

A small play area will keep the little ones entertained, along with a larger games field for the older ones that includes a play frame, football goals and a basketball net.

Four pygmy goats seem to get a lot of attention from the little ones (they can be fed by hand), and a large field has been set aside for dog walking.

We stayed in a tent at the top of the hill. Even when full the camp didn't seem overcrowded, and there are plenty of bins, recycle points and fresh drinking water taps dotted around. There is an electric hookup point close by no matter where you camp. It requires topping up by card, which has a 5 returnable deposit. In a week we ran a fridge and charged our phones constantly, costing us a grand total of 1. 05.

On Friday nights there is a jacket potato van, if you can't be bothered to cook, and on Saturday morning a breakfast van - very convenient if you are packing up to go home.

Note that there is a no noise policy after 10pm - so you won't have to suffer from music and niosy neighbours.

As for the location - you can cycle down the Monsal Trail (Bikes can be hired), or just walk down the trail, in the vales or along the Pennine Bridleway.

Date of Visit: July 2014 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: P+SShaw 5 reviews from this member

Beech Croft Farm is a big campsite with plenty of room, and you can pick where you want to pitch. On arrival the owners gave us loads of useful info and there is a small shop on site that has all the basics (except alcohol). There is a Morrisons only 5 mins drive away. We arrived 3pm on a Friday and had a good choice of the spacious pitches. The site is on a slope (well come on, it is the Peak District!), but the pitches near the top of the field are flatter and the views are spectacular. We are here for 2 weeks, and are so glad we picked this site. The facilities are second to none. The showers are free, water temperature perfect, plenty of hooks for clothes and a seat in each one. Plenty of loos with an abundance of toilet paper (only mentioned that because one site we stayed at had no loo paper!). Plug sockets in the bathrooms next to the mirrors for hairdryers, but no hairdryers. There is a room for washing dishes with 5 sinks and a pot sink for washing clothes. There is a huge washing machine & tumble dryer that you buy tokens for. An iron & ironing board is there too. There is a freezer for ice blocks. All the facilities have heating in, so on a chilly morning it is a pleasure to take a hot shower in a lovely, clean and spacious shower. There is a Campers Shed with board games in and seating. A mobile food van is on site on a weekend doing breakfasts and other food (didn't try any, I'm here with my Chef). All the facilities are kept spotless. It is a kids & dog friendly site, the kids have their own play area (which is huge and well equipped) and there is a dog walking area. Dogs must be kept on a lead and are not allowed in the facilities and neither the dogs nor the kids are allowed to run riot. There are bins and drinking water taps dotted about around the site in purpose built areas and the bins are emptied daily. There is free Wi-Fi for a week. The electric hook up is paid for at reception with a card for the hook up, which can be topped up. We've paid 20 for 2 weeks and will probably get a refund (you get refunded for whatever you don't use). We have an electric fan heater, a fridge, kettle, laptop, electric blanket, charging mobiles etc. And we haven't used too much yet. The site is located just off the A6 between Buxton & Bakewell. We're not sure about local pubs because we prefer eating/drinking at the tent with the lovely views (plus we're a tad antisocial !). We have so many places of interest to visit and loads of lovely walks in this area. The Monsal Trail is great for walking/cycling along. Give this site a try, you won't be disappointed.

Date of Visit: July 2014 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: Dot P 271 reviews from this member

Really can only agree with previous comments, this is a wonderful site. We visited a few years ago and it was in quite a sad state, the owners have ploughed money and hard work in and it really shows.

Although its just off the A6 it is far enough away that there isn't any road noise. On arrival we choose a pitch then popped over to the reception which is literally a few steps over the road at the farm. We found the site to be quiet and peaceful despite being reasonably bus

Facilities are all top standard, the site is beautifully landscaped with shrubs and hedges, there are two wardens on site who keep everything very clean and tidy. We loved the little touches like a 'dog, boot and bike wash' and the coffee machine in the campers hut. Pitches are large hard-standing each with own water tap and ehu. There are a couple of grey water dumps around but we didn't see a motorhome service point for dumping water anywhere.

The only other comment from us relates to access to the Monsal Trail. Yes its only 3/4 mile but its down the Pennine Bridleway. Perfect for walkers but not great for bikes and you would struggle to get a pushchair down there. Once you do get there though its absolutely brilliant, 17 miles round trip and the tunnels are a real experience.

This really is a first class site and would not hesitate to recommend it.

Date of Visit: June 2014 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Tracey86 9 reviews from this member

Just back from an 8 night stay at this gem of a site. We had a wonderful holiday and will most definitely be returning to Beech Croft Farm soon!

The site is easy to find and booking in was swift, the staff on reception were friendly and informative. Reception isn't as well sign posted as the site but it is located in the house across the lane. The site operates on a 'pitch where you like' basis for tents but even though the staff had said they were fully booked for the first weekend of our stay, there was still loads of room for everyone to have a good sized pitch.

You do need to choose your pitch carefully as it is a sloping site. That said, we have a large tent (Kampa Croyde 6) and managed to pitch it well on a fairly flat spot.

Views from the site are amazing- truly amazing and the sunsets. Wow!

Facilities- right, well they're brilliant! Mens, Womens and Unisex; all with loos, sinks and hot, powerful showers. All all very clean and always well stocked with loo paper. A little niggle would be the showers are the standard push button type (which is fine) but they only stay on for about 14 seconds each push, it's not a real problem but it is a bit irritating.

Pot washing room is good with a freezer to use for re-freezing ice blocks. There is also a washing machine, tumble dryer and iron/ironing board to use at a small charge.

In the campers cabin there is a hot drinks machine and a microwave- we didn't use them but we saw others that did.

I should add that all of this is down a very steep path from the tent fields. This path for me is the sites only real flaw- it is slippy when it's wet and akward in flip flops/crocs. Not to mention tricky for the less fit/able bodied campers.

Anyway. On to more good things- the dog walking field. It's fab, mowed around the edges so you can walk easily but all long and wild grasses in the middle for the dogs to run and enjoy themselves. Our pooch loved it.

There are 2 play parks which we thought was a great idea, the one for the younger children is in easy view of the lower tent fieled but the one for the bigger kids is in a separate field with basketball nets and football posts. We loved this (being non-parents) as it meant the older and more boisterous kids were off doing there thing and enjoying themselves without disturbing our peace and quiet. Everybody was happy.

Site wardens were friendly and chatty and. I think that's about all I can say. Oh, just remembered- there is also a couple of little extras. The potato stall on a Saturday evening where you can get lovely jacket potatoes with fillings at a very reasonable 3. 00 from 5. 30pm til 7. 30pm. And also the breakfast van on a Saturday and Sunday mornings from 8am. He does breakfast sandwiches starting from 2, this was great for us on our pack down day as it meant we could still have a tasty cooked breakfast but didn't have to faff about washing pots etc, meaning we could get on with packing up camp quicker. Two great little extra's and shows the site really do go the extra mile.

In a nutshell, it's a great site! Beautiful suroundings, great facillities and we will be returning. Hopefully soon!

Date of Visit: June 2014 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Gixxer11 4 reviews from this member

Where to start? excellent all round ! cheapest electric and showers ever! free dog ! (no they didn't give us a dog). Well maintained, short grass, staff are the best I've met, one in particular went out of his way to help, got some bricks for a bbq, sketched us a map etc, mad as cheese of course! great bloke!(hi p**e if you're reading this!) huge pitches, slightly hilly but its the peaks of course, 70. 00 for 5 nights plus 1. 80 elec. Showers were always consistent temp and powerful, of course the only downside is the low standards of some other campers, can't pull a flush or NOT flood all around the sink ! but generally the toilets and sinks were the cleanest I've used on a campsite. Have given them 10 out of ten, they aren't perfect but are d**n close ! more accurately 95 out of 100 ! other half didn't want to leave. Thanks again - will and dawne x

Date of Visit: June 2014 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Speedyjohn 2 reviews from this member

Second time at this wonderful site this year. The facilities are second to none. Toilets and showers are clean warm and welcoming. The staff are very friendly and informative. The tent pitches are on a slight slope, but get flatter ( is that a real word) the higher up the fields you go. We enjoyed the 'Butty van, for bacon sarnies and the baked spuds on Saturday night (with chicken curry) were good value and nice and tasty. I have 2 Collies, Fudge and Coco who enjoyed the off lead exercise area. There are many good walks close to the site with the Monsal Trail being our favourite (fairly flat walking) All in all a good first run out with our new Kampa Filey 5 air (see review)

Regards Speedy John.

Date of Visit: May 2014 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Huddleway 2 reviews from this member

I cannot recommend this site enough. It's fantastic. Let me break it down.

We have a large tent, over large for the four of us (children aged 11 and 9). We camped with electric hook up for 5 nights, starting bank holiday Monday. The weather was rainy and chilly Monday - Friday, thankfully we had the last day of blue sky (as we packed up)!

The staff were very friendly and exceptionally helpful.

The location, between Buxton and Bakewell, is ideal.

The pitches are not marked, so you turn up, book in, and pitch where you fancy.

The electric hook up is by pay as you go, something that might have put me off, but it's much, much cheaper than we thought. You just pop some money on a card when you book in and they refund anything unused. I think our 5 nights cost around 2. 50 in total, which includes kettle for endless cups of tea and hot water bottles, electric fridge on permanently and phone chargers. It will make me think twice about how much EHU pitches usually cost.

The site has stunning views and great walks close by, but most importantly is the cleanest site we have ever used. By midday the toilet and shower block had been cleaned three times! Being constantly wet, the toilet and shower blocks NEVER had dirty floors, the effort the staff put in to keeping them spotless is amazing and appreciated. There are great little touches such as a campers hut with vending machine and free microwave, younger and older kids parks, and free freezer use for ice packs (paying for ice packs to be re frozen is something that bugs me).

Would love to return, the sooner the better. My favourite site.

Date of Visit: May 2014 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Felicity952 10 reviews from this member

This was our second time at this site and since last year they have build a wooden children's play area which the little one loved. On our second night a load of teenagers turned up doing their Duke of Edinburgh and were pitched in a special area just behind our tent. We were really pleased as they were extremely quiet and well behaved as the wardens/owners make sure they behave. We walked down to the Monsal Trail and had a short walk along there. We are going back next year this time taking our bikes. Yet again cannot fault the site.

Previous     201 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Save to Virtual Brochure  Add this Site to your Virtual Brochure                                Share  Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Submit your Review for a chance to Win Prizes!
Sponsored by the Caravan ClubSubmit a review to UKCampsite.co.uk of any caravan park or campsite, for a chance to win a caravan towing course or motorhome manoeuvring course worth up to 145, or 100 of Amazon vouchers, courtesy of The Caravan Club. Join the Club for just 44 per year to enjoy access to a great range of caravan sites, benefits and special offers.

If you've visited this site, then please submit a review for a chance to win.

Try our town listings   -   Other Sites in Derbyshire   -   Search for a site

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a Coleman Event Shelter from Towsure.com Visit the UKCS shop for exclusive discounts and offers

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Somerset Motorhome Show 12/09 to 14/09 Shepton Mallet
All the latest Motorhomes and a host of accessories. Win Tickets or buy Discounted Day Ticket Offer!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3981 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend  -  Pensions Auto-enrolment

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews]  [Facebook]

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2014






0.0518