Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Beech Croft Farm

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > UK > England > Central > Peak District & Derbyshire > Site Reviews

Beech Croft Farm
Blackwell In The Peak
Buxton
Derbyshire   (Browse area)
SK17 9TQ   See Map                                 Share Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook
Tel: 01298 85330

Facilities:  (Key)
                

Nearby: (within x miles)
1m  1m 5m   5m  1m  1m 
Featured Site

Pitches: 60
Open: Open All Year

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 251 Reviews
              9/10 from 251 Reviews


Units accepted:    Tents  Caravans  Motorhomes 

This site has chosen to use the availability calendar. You can check for availability here.

Photos (24) and Video

Reviews:  251 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14   15   16   17   18   19   20   21   22   23   24   25   26  

Submit your own Review for a chance to Win 100!
100 for your reviewEvery month someone who has left a review of any caravan park or campsite will win 100 of Amazon vouchers So, if you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win!

Date of Visit: March 2017 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: STAM0004 1 review from this member

This is the 3rd time we have stayed on this site and it never disappoints! everything is immaculate. Shower block is fanatically clean and fab with underfloor heating. Dog exercise area is great as you can let them run round without fear of them escaping. Will be back again many times I'm sure.

Date of Visit: January 2017 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Ray Clayton 9 reviews from this member

We've just enjoyed a weekend at Beechcroft Farm. The site is very well maintained with large, flat, hard standing pitches, each with it's own water point in addition to power point & tv hook up, & free wi-fi.

The toilet/shower block is clean & warm, appreciated at this time of year.

An excellent site with friendly owners & staff.

Based between Bakewell and Buxton, you are in a great place to go shopping, in town, or walking.

The only downside to this weekend was the weather. Rain which limited us to do things with the grand daughter, apart from that great weekend, and no fault of the site at all.

Date of Visit: January 2017 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Mrskeating 17 reviews from this member

This site is an excellent 10 out of 10, any reviews scoring less have done so due to their own poor planning or other people making too much noise after hours, not the owners fault!

The facilities are spot on

*under floor heating in showers

*unisex toilet/shower units for families

*spotlessly Clean facilities

*large play parks for both younger & Older kids

*cute goats in paddock behind shower block

*Laundry Room (didn't use this facility though)

*large Dog Walking Field, with Pooh bins and a proper path leading up to it.

*wooden Hut with 1 Vending Coffee Machine & Microwave.

*water at Electric Points

*Ideally located for all the sightseeing places in the area.

*Loyalty Card to earn free nights stay

We will definitely be making this site our favourite local weekend getaway for a relaxing weekend. The wardens are friendly, helpful and keep the facilities in Top condition.

Thank You for a great stay, see you very soon

Cath & Phil Grisman

Date of Visit: February 2017 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Homesecure90 1 review from this member

Nice campsite but if you don't like self catering in your motorhome and you like a drink you could have a problem! Two pubs in walking distance the Waterloo (closed) The Queens like somebodys front room and could do with modernising. The campsites facilities are good but I don't understand someone saying that the best ever? The campsite is remote with nothing much in walking distance so walking is about it as good as it gets. I don't like that the site office is not actually on the campsite and for me if you come with a small child you would be bored very quickly. In my opinion this campsite is suitable for adults that are keen walkers only? We wont be returning but only because we found it was not for us.

Date of Visit: January 2017 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: 2yorkies 10 reviews from this member

We've just left Beechcroft Farm after our 3rd visit, this time over the Christmas/New Year holidays. As previously said, the site is very well maintained with large, flat, hard standing pitches, each with it's own water point in addition to power point & tv hook up, & free wi-fi. The toilet/shower block is clean & warm, appreciated at this time of year, & overall better than most 'club' sites, & better value. It's about a 20min walk down to the Monsal Trail, then an enjoyable walk into Bakewell with an hourly bus back, dropping you close to the site by the Trans Peak service. There are a few pubs within walking distance, we enjoy the Church Inn at Chelmorton. Four miles down the A6 into Buxton there is a good Morrisons supermarket & fuel. Regular visitors to Beechcroft get a loyalty card which offers a discount. An excellent site with friendly owners & staff, we'll be back!

Date of Visit: December 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: SamandRose 8 reviews from this member

In normal circumstances I would love the booking and arrival system that this site operates. You book online or by email. You're sent confirmation by email which includes directions to the pitches, the locations of the electric hook ups and drinking water supply and advised to set up on any empty pitch before going to reception at your leisure to advise which pitch you're occupying.

But the circumstances in which we arrived meant it didn't quite work. It was December. It was dark. It was raining. My torch had died. We had got lost on the way and resorted to using the satnav, which got us back onto our routes by using lanes which might have been fine for ox-carts, but were definitely not fine for caravans. In these conditions, which even meant that we failed to see the water tap on the pitch, setting up left us somewhat irritable, and to then discover that the reception had closed early (it was only shortly after 7pm) did not leave us enjoying our first night all that much.

Which was just unfortunate, because everything else about this site is wonderful. Each touring pitch is hardstanding, of a good size and includes electricity, water, TV point and free Wifi, the toilets and showers are good and clean and the views from the site are stunning. A small play area and a pen with three goats in it will keep children happy. There is a wealth of information on a choice of walks and cycle rides from the site, whilst the nearby towns of Buxton and Bakewell are beautiful.

We will definitely return. But we will make sure that we arrive in daylight.

Date of Visit: September 2016 Unit:  Trailer Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Ricky barberan 1 review from this member

Used this Site twice this Summer and really liked it. Great location in between Buxton and Bakewell. Excellent facilities and lovely clean Shower Block. There is a play area for kids two Goats in a small field you can walk up to and a large Dog walking area but if you are looking for a value for money quality Site then this isn't a bad choice with electricity on a prepay card meter we used about 4 in one week and we had interior lighting, 2 fridges and a tv and a Halogen fire which was used a few times at night which begs the question why Sites are charging 3 and 4 pound a night? I would have given this 10/10 but there are a couple of drawbacks one camper reported us to the office because of a low noise policy we weren't playing loud music but on a hot night we were talking out on the grass so it wasn't really our fault everyone went to bed at nine, be aware if you are pitching on the grass we haven't found a flat pitch and found ourselves rolling down the bed.

Date of Visit: August 2016 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: Clipstone Lad 6 reviews from this member

Overall, this may be the best site we've stayed on. A lot of thought has gone into providing excellent facilities. The two touring areas have well-separated hardstandings, each with its own water supply plus hook-up. Behind these are three separate camping areas, some with hook-up (using prepaid card payment. There is a massive (enclosed) dog exercising field, which is separate from a ball game area for the kids. The amenities are spotless: showers and washing up, and a separate camping shelter with a hot drinks machine. The site office has a shop for necessities, and while we were there a visiting mobile tuck shop. There are also good pubs within walking distance (one of which will even pick you up and bring you pack).

As walkers, we appreciated being able to walk straight off the site (the site provides its own excellent walking guides).

There is also lots to do locally, even discount tickets available on site for Chatsworth House. There is free WiFi, and a newspaper service for 10p delivery charge. It is a working farm, but the site is kept separate (apart from two goats which I liked). The owners and site managers are very friendly, there was always someone around to keep things ticking over.

We stayed five nights with our dog; and during our stay did some good walks, as well as relaxing outside our van. With any site the only valid question is, would I want to come back here; and yes, we would love to; so congratulations to the Gregory family and staff: you've more than bettered the club sites; and the icing on the cake - its better value!

Date of Visit: August 2016 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: SamW11 1 review from this member

We stayed for 5 nights with 1 child and electric hook up. Every pitch has electric hook up available, but you pay the same amount for the pitch, and then pay for the electric separately (in advance, with refunds for any units not used when you leave) - charging two smart phones, two kindles, a tablet and a fitbit, running interior lights and a camping fridge for 5 nights we used 53 pence worth. Definite value for money!

The children's play areas were lovely, but the biggest attraction was the two goats in the field near to the toilet block! Very friendly and our daughter (aged 8) spent a lot of time asking if she could go and see the goats!

Unfortunately, the grass pitches were on quite a pronounced slope, but the toilets and shower block were impeccably maintained, there is also a cabin with a hot drink vending machine and microwave available to use, there's a dog and bike wash and indoor dishwashing and laundry facilities, all of which were very clean every time we went in. There's very little light pollution, so if you want to sit back and look at the stars, even without a telescope, there's plenty visible on a clear night, although there are low lights so you can see getting to and from the loo in the night.

There is a shop at the reception over the road, and it's 8 minutes by car to Brierlow Bar Bookstore (a big draw for us) and about 15 minutes into Buxton. Approximately a mile down the (very steep) Pennine Bridle path from the campsite is the Monsal Trail - it is VERY steep though. And the reception/shop has a number of leaflets available showing a number of walks/cycle routes near to the site mapped out and described, which include lists of pubs in walking distance, rough time to get there and how strenuous the walk is. It's mainly a quiet and peaceful site, we were near(ish) to the under 6 play area, but it never seemed to get loud.

We were very impressed by the amount of information on the welcome brouchure, the way of paying for electric is absolutely fabulous, and the waste recycling policy is definitely a plus point, we would certainly consider visiting again.

Date of Visit: July 2016 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Jtaylor8283 1 review from this member

Really good site for a base location, facilities were excellent, owners were very friendly, only one criticism was the terms and conditions stated a quiet policy after 2200 hours, unfortunately this was not adhered to or enforced by the owners and the site was very loud until midnight

Previous     251 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Save to Virtual Brochure  Add this Site to your Virtual Brochure                                Share  Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Submit your own Review for a chance to Win 100!
100 for your reviewEvery month someone who has left a review of any caravan park or campsite will win 100 of Amazon vouchers So, if you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win!

Try our town listings   -   Other Sites in Derbyshire   -   Search for a site

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win an Abberley 2 Lightweight Touring Tent Win a Best of British Holiday worth up to 175!

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Truckfest Peterborough - 22nd to 23rd April
Car crushing Monster Trucks plus much more fun for all the family ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


2759 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend  -  Pensions Auto-enrolment

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2017




0.3066