Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - The Orchard Camp Site

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > UK > England > East Anglia > Suffolk > Site Reviews

The Orchard Camp Site
Spring Lane
Wickham Market
Suffolk   (Browse area)
IP13 0SJ   See Map                                 Share Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook
Tel: 07818 034729

Facilities:  (Key)
                    

Nearby: (within x miles)
10m  1m  1m   1m  1m  5m 
Featured Site

Pitches: 11 acres plus 20 electric pitches
Open: Will Re-open Easter

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 192 Reviews
              8/10 from 192 Reviews


Units accepted:    Tents  Caravans  Motorhomes  Glamping 

This site has chosen to use the availability calendar. You can check for availability here.

Photos (7)

Reviews:  192 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14   15   16   17   18   19   20  

Write your own Review for a chance to Win 300 of Prizes!
Sponsored by Ordnance SurveyWin a 300 Prize Package including 100 of Amazon vouchers, courtesy of our sponsor Ordnance Survey If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Further info and prize details here

Date of Visit: August 2017 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Kingnezzer 1 review from this member

Just got back from a long weekend stay at this campsite. I'll start off with the positives very large site with the option to pitch in any location (with relaxed rules to pitch up and take down) and have an on the ground fire which was a first for us after visiting many different sites. A very well stocked shop on site which was open late and had the option of pre booking meats and bakery items (which were extremely high quality). Now sadly the negatives - for the three large fields that make up the campsite (which I guess could hold well over 100 people) the facilities which consisted of 5 cubicles, and 6 showers are nowhere near adequate enough, and having to queue for up to 20 mins at a time is unheard of and especially for the money that is charged. Admittedly, it was a bank holiday weekend so was busier than usual but the toilets and showers were not up to standard and we felt sorry for the poor person cleaning them! Shame as we had high hopes for this site.

Date of Visit: July 2017 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Craigys101 5 reviews from this member

Great campsite, kids really enjoyed being out in the open space in a safe environment.

We took 6 dads and 10 kids (aged 4-11) in tents, we were given ample space in which to pitch the tents. Two of us had hookup, which was a bit of a distance from the mains but the shop kindly lent us extension cables.

Loads of space for the kids to play football, cricket, frisbee etc. We ventured out to Aldeburgh for fish and chips on the beach one day, and also lunch and crabbing at Orford the next.

One thing to note is that the showers facilities are not in abundance when it is busy, there are two showers, plus a family bathroom with a bath and separate shower. Apparently there was a couple more in the ladies washroom. Water was always hot. Would be fine if not in the height of the summer holidays. The facilities seemed to be cleaned regularly and the shop was perfect and had all the essentials. The washing up area was also good, plus fridges and freezers to use (although busy).

A positive is that they allow camp fires, sustainable wood is available from the shop and is 20 for a barrow load with kindling and marshmallows. The only bad thing about this is that there is no set place for you to light the fires, it's a bit of a free-for-all, this wasn't great when you are trying to pitch 6 tents together and avoid previous burnt and sunken bits of grass. At least 3 of us had to put our tents over previous fires, if there was set places for the fires it would be a lot better and would improve the look of the fields.

The owners couldn't be more helpful, Saturday night was glow stick night where all the kids gathered and they threw a few hundred glow sticks in the air for the kids to capture!

One not so good thing was parents who let their kids run around, uncontrolled, whilst there some of them decided it was a good idea to jump over the table tennis table and break it in two. This is only the minority!

Other than that we would go back there in the future!

Date of Visit: August 2017 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Joebloggs76 2 reviews from this member

In short I am not sure what the fuss is about. People seem to love this campsite and many people there seemed to be having a great time - but I was left somewhat wanting.

On paper and on the website - this is a cracking site. The reality is slightly different. The 'snug' is just a shed, the 'kitchen' an awning attached to the toilets and the shop isn't quite as billed. Yes there is a good range of booze but you pay for it.

There are not enough showers - and they are dirty. Now I accept that campsite showers are often dirty - the campsite cannot be expect to keep them clean 24/7 when people are in and out trawling in mud and grass. However - there is a deep seated neglect here. There are long standing cobwebs and general grime.

Rather than the warm welcome some reviewers have described, mine was a little lack lustre and curt - bordering on rude. I dunno - it was early and the owner might have just been having a bit of a day of it.

There is litter everywhere. Water bombs/balloons are sold in the shop and there is evidence of their use all over the site. As with glowsticks.

To me there were not nearly enough drinking water taps. Unlike other sites I have been to there were no fire extinguishers in evidence anywhere. This is a small thing and not a requirement but for a site that allows open fires I thought just showed a lack of care.

To be honest - that just about sums it up for me - it could be a great site but there is just a general lack of care.

Date of Visit: June 2017 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: LMC81 2 reviews from this member

We stayed at this site as part of a large group booking, there were 6 families in total comprising of 2 tourers and the rest in tents and a ready made tent. We were allocated the top part of the field, luckily so for me as it seemed the only level part of the site as we had a caravan! I cant believe that the access road and entrance to the site is so tight! I can see lots of caravans colliding with that gate post, you'll see what I mean!

The site facilities were excellent with a fantastic little shop on site which sells the essentials. The kids were allowed to roam free and loved the relaxed atmosphere. We fully comply with quiet times however on this occasion there were no pressures to quieten down later on in the evening, if you get what I mean! I thought the price was really good, there was access to good walking routes with dogs and visitors to our group were accepted. Overall, we had a great time, a weekend which we enjoyed and glad we've ticked it off.

Date of Visit: September 2016 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Sonialovett 1 review from this member

A fabulous weekend at Orchard Campsite. Run by really friendly staff, always on hand to help, it's an oasis away from lifes rat race. Everything you would expect at a campsite plus a fridge, microwave and a tv! And a tea machine! Makes camping very easy. The only reason to light a fire (logs available on site) is to sit back, relax and drink an ice cold beer from the shop. :D

Date of Visit: August 2016 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Palexr 1 review from this member

Not sure how to score this one. I don't usually climb into my keyboard to leave reviews, but I do feel a few points need to be made about this campsite.

Above all it seems to be a friendly and decent place to camp.

However, the toilets and washing facilities are not up to scratch. I can only wonder what the toilets are like at anyone who says in these reviews that they are OK. They simply are not. It isn't just that there are not enough of them, they are dirty, smelly and decrepit. The showers are of the push-a-button-and-you-get-10-seconds-of-water variety, either blast you with water that is too hot for children, or dribble at you.

The shop is alright (not worth gushing about though). It has what you might need in an emergency. But it is no supermarket and is on the pricey side.

The camp fire option is a nice idea. Worth noting that on one occasion we paid 15 for the log and kindling. The next time it was 15 for the logs.

The location is OK.

The campsite is OK if you are going for the weekend with friends. Any longer and the groups who turn up with their friends and drink and talk till late will get on your nerves.

Date of Visit: August 2016 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Geegee74 1 review from this member

Just returned from a weekend here. The grounds were lovely. Not too big. Family friendly with a lovely little shop. We had a great time however we were very disappointed with the lack of cleanliness of the shower block. It was disgusting. We wouldn't go back for this reason !

Date of Visit: July 2016 Unit:  Trailer Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Trailing times 1 review from this member

'This was our first family camping experience. The camping area of the site was very clean, with good sized pitches & the staff very helpful.

Unfortunately, the toilets & showers left a lot to be desired. There was often a cleaner on site but they remained very mucky. The showers were ok on day 1 but cold & lacking power on day 2.

On a positive note the barrows of wood that can be purchased for camp fire building really enhanced our visit. '

Date of Visit: May 2016 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Rambling john 1 review from this member

Good friendly site, clean facilities, well stocked shop, reasonable prices, good range of foods drinks and beer. Free use of micro waves, fridges and freezers. Also available wood/logs for camp fires. Friendly and helpful staff Set in lovely location.

Date of Visit: April 2016 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Rikkerz 1 review from this member

Very nice atmosphere. Loved the camp fire's and the owners are very accommodating, nothing was ever too much trouble. Kids loved the outdoor table tennis. The best feature by far is the relaxed informal feel of the whole site, no stuffy rules or curfews, this place is for proper fun camping :)

We will be back (even though your miles away)

Previous     192 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Save to Virtual Brochure  Add this Site to your Virtual Brochure                                Share  Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write your own Review for a chance to Win 300 of Prizes!
Sponsored by Ordnance SurveyWin a 300 Prize Package including 100 of Amazon vouchers, courtesy of our sponsor Ordnance Survey If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Further info and prize details here

Try our town listings   -   Other Sites in Suffolk   -   Search for a site

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win 3 AutoSock car snowsock sets worth 49.95+ each Win an OLPRO Caravan Cover in your size

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet NEC Motorhome and Caravan Show 17th to 22nd October
See all the new-for 2018 products, including caravans, motorhomes, trailer tents and folding caravans plus 1000s of accessories ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


6950 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend  -  Pensions Auto-enrolment

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2017




0.0938