Home

   Log in or Register

Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Penrhyn Bay Camping And Caravanning Park

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > UK > Wales > Isle of Anglesey > Site Reviews

Penrhyn Bay Camping And Caravanning Park
Llanfwrog
Llanfwrog
Isle of Anglesey   (Browse area)
LL65 4YG   See Map                                 Share Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook
Tel: 01407 730496 730411

Facilities:  (Key)
                      

Nearby:
5m 

Pitches: 150
Open: March To October

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 44 Reviews
              8/10 from 44 Reviews


Units accepted:    Tents  Caravans  Motorhomes Caravan Storage Storage 

Reviews:  44 in total, now showing 1 to 6                 Previous 6          Next 6
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8  

Date of Visit: April 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Towbarjim 20 reviews from this member

We travelled 3. 5 hrs to Penrhyn Bay and enjoyed every minute of our 4 night stay. It is a large site, but extremely well managed. With 2 small children, the swimming pool was a great on-site distraction. The broad expanse of sandy beach was enough to charm any small child. The welcome was very genuine. Table tennis, outdoor tennis and a good play area for the young. The sanitation appeared newish and the whole area was spotless.

Recommended.

Date of Visit: September 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Jan + Don + Molly 27 reviews from this member

Lovely site. Fabulous views (seats required please. Own beach with lots of rock pools which our grandsons loved. Dogs are allowed on the beaches so our two loved it. Some doggy bins or even rubbish bins would be welcome near the beach. The site is well kept and facilities are good. There is a small shop and a larger shop on the next site. We didn't have great weather as it was very windy so the indoor pool was very welcome. It is a decent size but at 4'6' all over there isn't a shallow end. The only thing that lets this site down is the numerous seasonal pitches for touring caravans. We felt like a bit of an after thought. There is a good shop in the nearest village and a super café in nearby Church Bay. It is a shame this site isn't somewhere else as Anglesey in September is very dreary and mostly closed! If we went back it would be in good weather and in July!

Date of Visit: August 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: ANDO51 1 review from this member

Fantastic lovely clean site clean toilets and showers the whole place spotless and it was a busy bank holiday weekend. People next to us left during our stay five mins after leaving and grass was cut on pitch ready for next guest class! Did not leave site much weather was great so plenty to do on site lovely beach and park and on the saturday there was a sports day for the kids they loved it and slept well double bonus. Locally plenty of food shops not more than ten mins drive, two or three pubs as close site only ten mins from a55 nice easy drive. The best i can say the kids loved it we have booked two weeks for next summer!

Date of Visit: July 2012 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Sarahx 1 review from this member

I've just come back from Penrhyn Bay campsite and I loved it. I went with my friend, parents and her little brother. If you are visiting this camp site with children, its brilliant.

Also I would recommend it for middle age and over. There is a beautiful over look of the Penrhyn beach. Parents be aware there are multiple opportunities for your child/ren to be 'adventurous' and climb rocks and visit the sandy beach on their own.

SWIMMING POOL- the pool is a decent size but has way to much chlorine in.

TOILET BLOCK - I was very impressed with the toilet facilities. They where very clean. However you did have to pay for the hairdryer. 50p isnt that bad!

THE PARK- this was the best area because there are plenty of equipment for children to play on. Also opposite the park there was a tennis court.

No issues for me, definitely recommended

Date of Visit: June 2012 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Busterpot33 42 reviews from this member

We visited this site about 3 years ago and well done to the site owners there have been vast improvements, although it was a good site 3 years ago!

The toilets were exceptionally clean, always an important factor, showers were hot and powerful, although lack of a mop, if it was muddy outside there would be no way of freshening the shower floor for the next person.

I have two other small gripes, sorry but for an already superb site - the added bonus of a few benches to sit and appreciate the views would be lovely. At our age our legs were very tired and it would have been nice to sit awhile.

Also there were no dog litter bins, it is a long walk to the bin area just to pop the bag in, that could be why there were so many dog bags strewn on the beach. People are very lazy.

Other than that a beautiful position, we had a hard standing but you could pitch your tent right on the edge overlooking the rocky beach.

Date of Visit: April 2012 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Steveb50 5 reviews from this member

Just spent Easter at Penrhyn Bay and had a great time.

First impressions upon arriving are that this is quite a big site, mainly caravans, but there were plenty of tents too and the odd motorhome. It is in an excellent spot, right on the beach, about 15 mins drive from A55/A5. It's great to zip the tent up and be walking on the beach in 2 minutes!

There are 4 main areas, with pitches around the circumference and nice open grass in the middle giving the feeling of lots of space in front of our tent. We had electric hook up, but you could pitch your tent right next to the beach if you didn't need the hook up.

The site is very clean and tidy, one toilet block in the middle with Ladies/Gents toilets + showers (6 showers in the gents, no coins or token required, nice and hot) quite new, very clean, not too busy for the size of the site and the fact that the site was full. There is another set of toilets next to the reception area.

There is a children's play area, and an indoor swimming pool, for a modest cost of £1 per child/£1. 50 per adult.

Washing machines and tumble driers available too.

Even though we were in the centre area, near the toilets and children's play area it wasn't noisy at all.

There is a quite comprehensively stocked shop on site with newspapers, food etc. Open 0900 to 1700.

As this was our first time on Anglesey we drove around quite a bit - there didn't seem to be anywhere to eat within walking distance (if you ignore the Chip van, on site most weekends)

Food wise, I would recommend the White Eagle pub at Rhoscolyn, it is extremely child friendly, with excellent views over the bay. Large menu, and good range of children's food. Lots of toys to play with while you're waiting for your food to come.

Spend the afternoon at the beach there then go for a nice meal afterwards. It's not the cheapest, but the food is good. It's about 25 minutes drive from Penrhyn Bay.

I would definitely recommend a stay here, and would love to return when the weather was a bit warmer.

Previous     44 Review in total, now showing 1 to 6      Next

Save to Virtual Brochure  Add this Site to your Virtual Brochure                                Share  Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Submit your Review for a chance to Win Prizes!
Sponsored by the Caravan ClubSubmit a review to UKCampsite.co.uk of any caravan park or campsite, for a chance to win a caravan towing course or motorhome manoeuvring course worth up to £145, or £100 of Amazon vouchers, courtesy of The Caravan Club. Join the Club for just £44 per year to enjoy access to a great range of caravan sites, benefits and special offers.

If you've visited this site, then please submit a review for a chance to win.

Try our town listings   -   Other Sites in Isle of Anglesey   -   Search for a site

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a Clarke IG22000 2.2kW Generator worth £467.98! Visit the UKCS shop for exclusive discounts and offers

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Truckfest Peterborough
Exciting family entertainment, and you can make a full long weekend of them, by camping on site!Plus win tickets!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


4786 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend  -  Pensions Auto-enrolment

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews]  [Facebook]

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2014




0.0488