Home

   Log in or Register
   
Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Beadnell Bay Camping And Caravanning Club Site

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > UK > England > North East > Northumberland > Site Reviews

Beadnell Bay Camping And Caravanning Club Site
Beadnell
Chathill
Northumberland   (Browse area)
NE67 5BX   See Map                                 Share Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook
Tel: 01665 720586

Facilities:  (Key)
          

Nearby:
10m  10m  1m  5m   1m 
Featured Site

Pitches: 150
Open: 01 Apr 2014 - 03 Nov 2014

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 71 Reviews
              8/10 from 71 Reviews


Units accepted:    Tents  Caravans  Motorhomes 

Photos (6) and Video

Reviews:  71 in total, now showing 1 to 6                 Previous 6          Next 6
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12  

Date of Visit: August 2014 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Chestnuts 12 reviews from this member

When we arrived, we had booked in advance asking for electric, but after the warden had taken us to our pitch, no electric hook up. We were told there was none available, but if one came up they would tell us. Within 30 minutes the warden came back to tell us there was one now available. Which was great. We were very impressed, Loved the site we had no problem with noise from road, really didn't notice it. The down side was the showers although kept lovely and clean, the water is far to hot which you can't regulate and they were far to small. A child in the next shower cubicle to mine was crying as the water was so hot. My husband was not impressed when the water didn't seem to go down the waste channel but came back over his shoes. Does the waste channel need unblocking? The surrounding area is lovely Bamburgh castle is well worth a visit also Seahouses where we had the best fish and chips. I would love to stay there again.

Date of Visit: August 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Brumb 6 reviews from this member

Been to this site a few times and always enjoy it. There seems to of been a few changes this year. Firstly, they have a second back field which definitely makes it better as you are away from the road noise so not as many camping on the front field now. On this occasion we had a bit of an issue with how we were pitched. Got the tent up then we were asked to turn in round as we hadn't pitched the right way round. Turned it round, started to peg it out again and the staff asked us to move it across to line up exactly with the pitch boundary, which was about 5 inches across. I thought this was a bit anal, especially given that no one came and pitched next to us whilst we were there. There also seems to be a lot of signs around telling people to 'do this', 'don't do this', 'park here', 'don't park here' etc etc. Overall we had a good time but hope it doesn't start to be run too strictly as that will spoil it.

Date of Visit: July 2014 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Annapi 1 review from this member

This campsite has got a great many things right and just one or two things which need attention. The staff are great - friendly and helpful and made us very welcome. The pitches are level and appear to drain well, and the grass was in good condition even on a very busy weekend in the middle of summer. The location is excellent, with a sandy beach a few minutes' walk away, and the village of Beadnell with two pubs, a fish-and-chip shop and a convenience shop is nearby. Small things, like the availability of a specific 'barbecue bin' and an outside shower to rinse off wetsuits make the site seem very friendly and well-organised. There didn't appear to be any specific facilities for children, but there are large open areas even when the site is fully booked. However, there is only one bin area, which does not have any recycling facilities and was frequently overflowing by the ends of busy days. This is located at the only facilities block, which is a very significant walk from the other end of the site and wasn't quite adequate in busy conditions - this site could definitely do with an additional (smaller?) block. The main thing which proved uncomfortable, however, was the unadjustable temperature of the showers. They were incredibly, painfully hot even for an adult, and on several occasions, children could be heard screaming and crying in pain. This is truly unacceptable on what is an extremely expensive site. This said, the showers, loos and basins were kept clean, even though they felt like a sauna. Other users have commented on the traffic noise - it could certainly be heard, but we didn't find it intrusive. Overall, a good site but with some serious flaws. If they're given attention, I'd highly recommend it for its location and staff.

Date of Visit: July 2014 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Sprintrider1 1 review from this member

Have stayed here many times over the past 20 years camping caravan and now motorhome. The site seems to continue to evolve and expand. In a really good location although close to the road this has never been an issue with us. If the road noise could be an issue book somewhere else.

Due to this being the height of the season and booking at reasonably short notice there were no electric hook up pitches available but this wasn't an issue. (No generators permitted)

Toilet shower block kept really clean and is a credit to the wardens as is the the whole site.

The mens showers are a bit of a problem in that they are small and water does not drain away and leaves the floor awash with water which is a problem when towelling off and getting clothes on again, no adjustment of temperature control is possible and although plenty of hot water they are almost at the point of scalding. The next time a refurb is carried out this problem would be resolved by installation of shower trays and temperature adjustable shower taps.

I know the wardens have a difficult job but a bit of customer relations wouldn't come amiss. The site seems to run with more of an emphasis on DO NOTS ! Witnessed several times people who were resident on the site being confronted with 'have you got a booking we are full !' or arriving slightly before the midday arrival time and being told 'your too early 'and on enquiring if an electric hook up pitch cancellation came available could we be notified the response was 'you and 200 others' a simple 'no that won't be possible' or a 'yes we will see what we can do' might have been more appropriate.

According to one of the wardens 60 Plus new electric hook ups are to be installed for next year. Further improvements could be made by way of a Motorhome waste water drive over point and rubbish recycling as at the moment all rubbish appears to go into the same dumpy bins.

Beadnell village has two good pubs. Recommend the Beadnell Towers Hotel for a meal, book up in advance at busy holiday times, the village shop near bye stocks all essentials and a walk up the coast to Seahouses and Bamburgh or down to Newton by the Sea are highly recommended if walking is part of your itinerary.

Overall a really good site and with a few more tweaks 'excellent' is on the horizon.

Date of Visit: May 2014 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Chriscable 34 reviews from this member

Love this site. Ok bad things - yes toilet black is another year older and really ready for an upgrade and the showers have to be some of the smallest I have ever seen - how does anyone manage to actually dry themselves in there and they do not recycle. However staff tremendous and location unbeatable. Great rocky/sandy beach opposite. Even better one in Beadnell about 3/4 mile away. Walk or bus into Seahouses and this year we bussed into Bamborough and buses not only take dogs but they will pick you up and drop you off outside site. Two good pubs in Beadnell ( one dog friendly) and it is a dog lovers paradise. Will return next year. Just wish club would update facilities

Date of Visit: May 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Special01 19 reviews from this member

Stayed for 3days. Ideal location, beach across road, shop across road. Pub in village Craster arms is dog friendly, can take dog in when having a meal. Ample shower's and toilets. Yep floor in shower's not level. But nice and hot. And clean. Level grass field, good t. V. Signal. It is a 60mph road outside site, but did not notice it that much. Site still being improved. Did not see any children play area. But that may come later. Site wardens very helpful. Yes I would return again, book early. Popular site.

Previous     71 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 6      Next

Save to Virtual Brochure  Add this Site to your Virtual Brochure                                Share  Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Submit your Review for a chance to Win Prizes!
Sponsored by the Caravan ClubSubmit a review to UKCampsite.co.uk of any caravan park or campsite, for a chance to win a caravan towing course or motorhome manoeuvring course worth up to 145, or 100 of Amazon vouchers, courtesy of The Caravan Club. Join the Club for just 44 per year to enjoy access to a great range of caravan sites, benefits and special offers.

If you've visited this site, then please submit a review for a chance to win.

Try our town listings   -   Other Sites in Northumberland   -   Search for a site

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a Vehicle and Personal GPS Tracker from Towsure.com Visit the UKCS shop for exclusive discounts and offers

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Motorhome & Caravan Show 14/10 to 19/10 NEC Birmingham
Back at the NEC Birmingham this autumn - we have 20 pairs of tickets up for grabs

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


570 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend  -  Pensions Auto-enrolment

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2014






0.0352