Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Waterside House Campsite

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > UK > England > North West > Lake District & Cumbria > Site Reviews

Waterside House Campsite
Waterside House
Howtown
Penrith
Ullswater
Cumbria   (Browse area)
CA10 2NA   See Map                                 Share Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook
Tel: 01768 486332

Facilities:  (Key)
                 

Nearby: (within x miles)
1m  1m  1m  1m 
Featured Site

Pitches: 120
Open: March To October

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 176 Reviews
              8/10 from 176 Reviews


Units accepted:    Tents  No Caravans  Motorhomes  Glamping 

Photos (7)

Reviews:  176 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14   15   16   17   18  

Write your own Review for a chance to Win 300 of Prizes!
Sponsored by Ordnance SurveyWin a 300 Prize Package including 100 of Amazon vouchers, courtesy of our sponsor Ordnance Survey If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Further info and prize details here

Date of Visit: August 2017 Unit:  Other Rating:
Reviewer: Shartley 6 reviews from this member

Stayed in one of the Tipi's here on the side of the lake, great pitch with a fire pit and picnic table and natural divides between pitches. Very relaxing site, play park and small shop giving everything you need. The toilet blocks were clean but do get filled with flies, this is kept on top of and doesn't really impact the site. Great location and footpath along the lake shore to the village which has great choice for food and drinks. Highly recommended and if we go to the Lakes again we will head back here.

Date of Visit: April 2017 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Mamunbabu2001 1 review from this member

Pros :

1. Nice location ( by the lake ).

2. Staffs are really friendly and helpful.

3. Easy access and town nearby

Cons :

1. Has an on site farm and entrance ( where the mina shower block, washing facility, shop, catering is located ) always smells of animal waste. The entrance road is often drity with washed animal waste from the farm.

2. Electric pitches are next to the road and farm. So, you have traffic noise and screaming farm animal at night.

Date of Visit: September 2016 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Pbennett 1 review from this member

Had an amazing time. First time camping. Drove from Peterborough to waterside farm, took hours but once here was made very welcome, even arrived late but still made welcome. Campsite was brill. Everything that you needed was on site anymore. Camp fire with the fire pit was so much fun and the boats were amazing. We will becoming back in a few months with the family this time. Thanks so much for an amazing time xx

Date of Visit: August 2016 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Gwatts1984 1 review from this member

My family and I stayed here a few weeks back, we had only really camped in wales before this as closer to home. On arrival it was a bit wet and windy to say the least. But once pitched we took a stroll around and immediately noticed how friendly the staff was, how clean the site was and what great facilities they had. It brightened up and we had the best long weekend ever. I summited gow barrow fell and was taken away by the views of the lake district. 100% recommend this site. Hoping to stay in the lakes again in October and to summit scafell pike this time.

Date of Visit: July 2016 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: TIM R 2 reviews from this member

Great location. Very friendly and helpful staff.

Exceptionally clean toilets and showers.

Cannot fault the facilities at all.

HOWEVER, when we arrived, we deliberately chose NOT to go into the family field. Nothing against children but we've been there, done that and got the scars.

Pitched up on a Tuesday and were surrounded by couples. Went out on the Friday for a walk to find that the world and his wife and their dogs and children had arrived and instead of using the family field, had pitched up in ours. Meanwhile the family field remained half empty.

There is supposed to be a 3 metre rule about pitching next to other tents but this was ignored as campers pitched anywhere they liked.

Needless to say, the couples around us packed up the next day, as did we and left a day early.

Perhaps some enforcement of the families in family field should be applied (volumes permitting), OR, reserve a field for couples only, after all, outside of school holidays it's couples that keep campsites ticking over.

Date of Visit: June 2016 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Strathearn 3 reviews from this member

Had an enjoyable stay with my dog when walking the Ullswater Way (20-mile circuit of the lake), which goes through the campsite. After two days of walking I stayed a third night so I could just chill out for a day and enjoy the splendid location. Hired a canoe on site for an hour to see the campsite from the water (rowing boats and bikes also available). My dog had a super time too.

The staff were helpful and friendly, but unobtrusive. I wasn't on electric hookup (so had acres of grass to chose where to pitch), but on a couple of dayspaid a 1 and left them with my drained camera batteries and a charger to plug in in the reception while I was away.

The Ullswater Way is a super way marked walk with wonderful views. The Ullswater Steamers that ply the lake and the Stagecoach 508 bus enable walkers to tackle it in sections both can be joined in Pooley Bridge, which is a delightful 1-mile walk away, so no need to move your vehicle and pay a few pounds for parking in a busy car park for the day.

The area suffered badly in the winter floods, especially Storm Desmond, but has recovered quickly. The A592 down the west side of Ullswater has been rebuilt an reopened and Pooley Bridge has a replacement bailey bridge (where the one from the 1700s was swept away).

Date of Visit: August 2015 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: DanBoy 2 reviews from this member

I've read a few and agree with them. The staff, location, views, site, village, Waterside is the complete package. Our 3rd visit and certainly not our last. Very popular site. The toilets and showers are always clean, as are the washing up area's. The shop is well supplied and the burger van is open almost all day. Get booked up!

Danny, Kristy & Vicky

Date of Visit: July 2015 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Magnusspuss 10 reviews from this member

Very lovely setting, though we felt a little too hemmed in by tents and cars. So much so there was no where left around us for the kids to play with a ball or safely away from cars.

It rained a bit, a puddle formed in the tarp shelter.

Kids LOVED the lake and played in it a lot. Nice walks along the lake and to the village. Again a river for kids to play in, paddling with fishnets. We took a boat ride, which was possibly too long for kids.

Toilets fine. Staff nice.

Lovely pub to dry off in and have food.

I would return but not in the busy season.

Date of Visit: September 2014 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Mrse23 2 reviews from this member

Beautiful site right on lake Ullswater. Quite busy when we visited but we still managed to get a good pitch next to the lake and near the toilet block. Toilets clean and tidy if not a bit dated.

Little on site shop which wasn't badly priced. Staff also helpful. They charged my phone for free and for as long as I needed.

Sweet little park for the kids and a sandwich van on the weekends.

Definitely worth a visit and not badly priced either.

Date of Visit: August 2014 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Brendanr2004 407 reviews from this member

We spent a night here as a stopover on a canoe expedition. It's well located on the shores of Ullswater, with excellent access to the water for a range of activities.

It's a large site and it was very busy, but facilities held out well.

Great base for the hills and waterspouts.

Pooley Bridge is a mile away for shops, pubs and cafes.

Previous     176 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Save to Virtual Brochure  Add this Site to your Virtual Brochure                                Share  Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write your own Review for a chance to Win 300 of Prizes!
Sponsored by Ordnance SurveyWin a 300 Prize Package including 100 of Amazon vouchers, courtesy of our sponsor Ordnance Survey If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Further info and prize details here

Try our town listings   -   Other Sites in Cumbria   -   Search for a site

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win 3 AutoSock car snowsock sets worth 49.95+ each Win an OLPRO Caravan Cover in your size

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Manchester Caravan & Motorhome Show 18 to 21 January 2018
Advanced booking discount plus we have 15 pairs of tickets to give away ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


5305 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend  -  Pensions Auto-enrolment

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2017






0.1016
UKCampsite.co.uk
Advent Calendar

Advent Calendar

24 Daily Prizes worth up to 120 and a Christmas Day Star Prize worth 500!
Open Today's Window