Home

   Log in or Register
   
Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Murmur Yr Afon Touring Caravan & Camping Park

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > UK > Wales > Gwynedd > Site Reviews

Murmur Yr Afon Touring Caravan & Camping Park
Murmur Yr Afon
Dyffryn Ardudwy
Gwynedd   (Browse area)
LL44 2BE   See Map                                 Share Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook
Tel: 01341 247353

Facilities:  (Key)
            

Nearby:
1m  1m  1m  1m  1m  1m  1m  5m   5m  10m  1m  5m 
Featured Site

Pitches:
Open: March To October

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 29 Reviews
              9/10 from 29 Reviews


Units accepted:    Tents  Caravans  Motorhomes Caravan Storage Storage 

Photos (4)

Reviews:  29 in total, now showing 1 to 6                 Previous 6          Next 6
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5  

Date of Visit: April 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Kylen78 1 review from this member

We stayed here over the bank holiday weekend and what a lovely friendly site this is. The site is nice and quiet with a small stream running along side. The location is lovely and safe for the kids to play out and a lovely sun trap when the sunshine is out, very clean and tidy facility's all round all you could want for a small site, the play area was well maintained as were all the pitches hard standing and grass alike, the owners are very friendly and couldn't have been anymore accommodating. Big Thank you to Nicholas for a lovely stay and warm welcome. Our son had a lovely birthday weekend. The Vic pub nearby was a must for food although this was a 10min drive by car it's well worth the visit! An ideal site if you want to be situated not to far from Shell Island and Barmouth. We will definitely be returning again soon!

Date of Visit: August 2013 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Djc1 2 reviews from this member

Stayed on this site over the august bank holiday and found it be a lovely site. The site is set on different levels with plenty of room although the pitch I was given on the upper level had a lot of stones just below surface which bent a few pegs.

The welcome was warm and unlike other reviews I found the steward easy to find as he made regular drives around the site.

The facilities had everything we needed and were very clean( strong smell of bleach in the mornings). The showers were fine, the tokens were long enough to wash one person but had to use more than one for the kids which you have to go out of the shower to do.

The beach is a bit of a walk away especially with kids, more like 30mins.

All in all a good site for the money

Date of Visit: July 2013 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Pat2604 1 review from this member

I paid a fleeting, one night visit to this site during the heat wave of July 2013 and came away pretty impressed. The site has a quiet location, level enough pitches and is about 20 minutes walk from the beach and 2 minutes from a pleasant pub which did decent bar food. A stream runs through the camp site so you go to sleep to the sound of a babbling brook.

If I had any criticism it would be with the showers. While they are clean enough and boast central heating radiators and piped music you need tokens to operate them at 40p a go. Make sure you get some when you check in (I didn’t and then had to modge about finding mine host). Also they are on a timer and cut off with no warning – just the job when you have a hair full of shampoo. Make sure you have a spare token with you. I also found the shower floor very slippery and could have done with a grab handle. Take care……

However, these are relatively minor criticisms and I would certainly visit this site again.

Date of Visit: May 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Martin3520 8 reviews from this member

Good points

Easy access and easy to find, very friendly owner, the site is flat and very well maintained. Shops are a 10 minute walk away. Showers and toilets were always clean and there is a nice stream flowing through the site and a park. The price I thought was quite reasonable. There are quite a few seasonals here but they all seemed friendly as were their kid.

Bad point

Shower block a bit dated and you have to get undressed then come outside the cubicle to put the tokens in. Also there is a toilet in the shower cubicle which I did not like. The park is too far away from the touring field and next to a busy main road. Behind the site they were chain sawing from 7. 30am. No sea views.

Date of Visit: July 2012 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Maggy4 3 reviews from this member

Beautiful, quite and very well kept site, with good size pitches and nice location. Handy for both Harlech and Barmouth. We were greeted by Nick the owner, who was both helpful and very friendly. We will definitely go back.

The only down point were the showers, they were clean but a little tired and bearing in mind the site fees, I thought they were a little expensive. You also had to get undressed and go outside the cubical to put your token in the meter, as the water starts immediately.

There is a Spar supermarket in the village and a nice restaurant/pub next door.

Date of Visit: June 2012 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Olls294 1 review from this member

This is a nice, reasonably quiet site a short way from Barmouth, there are a few local shops for essentials in the village.

It was easy to find, and we were welcomed warmly. The playground is in great condition, our only negative for this is that it is right by the entrance, so wouldn't let the kids go alone.

Everything was clean, despite the rain, we often got a warm hello each evening from the lady cleaning the facilities.

Our main criticism for the site would be the showers - it was quite odd to find a toilet and sink in with the shower, so when the shower was on the loo got soaked as well, the loo isnt needed as there are 3 opposite! The water wasn't always very warm and tokens didn't last long when trying to shower a child as well. Every time I turned round I bumped into the loo or sink as there is limited positioning of the shower head. Take the loo out and it would be ideal!

Having a dishwashing sink open next to a chemical waste disposal point wasn't great - I think they should be separated a bit more.

All in all I liked the site as it was sheltered and had a lovely stream running alongside, it was also quite sheltered, which was a bonus when the weather was bad

Previous     29 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 6      Next

Save to Virtual Brochure  Add this Site to your Virtual Brochure                                Share  Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Submit your Review for a chance to Win Prizes!
Sponsored by the Caravan ClubSubmit a review to UKCampsite.co.uk of any caravan park or campsite, for a chance to win a caravan towing course or motorhome manoeuvring course worth up to £145, or £100 of Amazon vouchers, courtesy of The Caravan Club. Join the Club for just £44 per year to enjoy access to a great range of caravan sites, benefits and special offers.

If you've visited this site, then please submit a review for a chance to win.

Try our town listings   -   Other Sites in Gwynedd   -   Search for a site

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a Nemesis Ultra Wheel Clamp! from Towsure.com Visit the UKCS shop for exclusive discounts and offers

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Manchester Caravan & Motorhome Show 15 to 18/01/15
Start the season with a trip to the North’s biggest outdoor leisure show. Win 10 pairs of tickets or claim discount entry

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


618 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend  -  Pensions Auto-enrolment

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2014






0.0547