Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Woodyhyde Campsite

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > UK > England > South West > Dorset > Site Reviews

Woodyhyde Campsite
Valley Road
Corfe Castle
Dorset   (Browse area)
BH20 5HU   See Map
Tel: 01929 480274
Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast        Visit their website    
 Featured Site

Pitches: 160
Open: 1st March - 31st October

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 178 Reviews
                8/10 from 178 Reviews

Add this Site to your Virtual BrochureSave to Virtual Brochure

Photos (13) and Video

 Tent Pitches   No Caravans   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Adults Only   Club Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 Kitchen Facilities   Freezer Available    Motorhome Point   Fully Serviced Pitches 
 Shop On Site   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant <1 mile   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   TV Room   Games Room   Evening Entertainment 
 Fishing <1 mile   Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool   Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding <1 mile   Cycle Hire   Golf <1 mile   Tennis 
 Beach <1 mile   Watersports <1 mile   Boat Launch / Mooring <5 miles 
Other Features
 Sea Views   Working Farm   Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 Waterside Location   Dog Walk   Public Transport <1 mile 

Reviews:  178 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14   15   16   17   18  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: June 2018 Unit:  Trailer Tent Rating:
Reviewer: VWT4Transporter 7 reviews from this member

If you like steam trains, its great as the steamer goes past several times a day.

BUT

This is a very hilly sloping site so make sure you have levelling blocks. Wifi is very iffy and the shop opening hours are few. Toilets were ok but the site can get noisy with no attempts by staff to police the rules.

I wouldn't go again

Date of Visit: May 2018 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Yessamed 2 reviews from this member

Good points:

Lovely part of the country, with things to see and beaches/ coast to explore a plenty.

Set away from the road in a peaceful countryside location.

Large site which may have lots of room if you're not there at a peak time.

Decent stock in the shop, which stayed open late.

Friendly people and a general good vibe, despite the bad points below.

Bad points:

Paying 50p a time for what were often cold showers - not great when you've got 6 kids to wash.

A combination of push taps (which only spurt out a small amount of water per push) and cold water made washing up a hellish and not very hygienic process.

No escort to find a pitch/ free for all, meaning some over-crowded areas.

No one enforcing any campsite rules - I was happy to flout the no open fires rule with a fire pit (an essential part of my kids camping experience, and my enjoyment) but had to ask others to be a bit considerate when they were still chatting and laughing like they were in a pub at 00:30 while others were trying to sleep.

No communal fridges or freezers.

Nowhere to hang/ dry wetsuits, or to dry towels etc, and no laundry facilities.

No communal hang out for kids to meet other kids, like a park or barn with a few things like a pool table or whatever in.

Toilets often dirty with tissues all over the floor as it was single use tissues rather than a roll.

So some definite room for improvement! If I was camping again in the area I would probably try another site - there are plenty in the area.

Date of Visit: April 2018 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Torry400 1 review from this member

Stayed here for 3 nights from Thursday to Sunday. Camp site is spacious and without specific pitch delineation. We were disappointed to find on arrival that field 3 (which is the only field that is a 'no dogs field') was closed, and the more sheltered level sites around the edge of field 1 and 2 were all fenced off. There were no hook up pitches that had the shelter/seclusion of bordering hedges/trees and therefore the only pitches were right in the centre of field 2.

No attempt was made to enforce the 'dogs must be kept on a lead at all times' policy nor 'no open fires' nor 'noise levels are to be kept to a minimum after 11pm'. We had a group of three camper vans next to us who flouted all of these policies - two dogs freely running round our pitch, loud music and roaring fire (in a raised fire pit) - and it was up to us to appeal for consideration.

There is very little point in having any campsite policies if they are only there to pay lip service to campers who are seeking a peaceful stay, and there is no real intention of enforcing them.

There was no Wi-Fi on our pitch (near the bottom of field 2 opposite the shower block) for the whole of our stay in spite of the website stating that there is 'free wifi available throughout the campsite'.

The shower block was clean enough first thing, but as a result of the grass just having been cut, was quite messy later on. Water temperature was fairly poor particularly in conjunction with the fairly low water pressure - first 15 seconds of the 4 minute token are spent waiting for the water to warm up.

The above observations are a great pity as the campsite has a lovely aspect, has a new shower block, and has the potential to be a lovely campsite with just a little extra attention to the running of it. In spite of some of the criticism above we would still return and give it a second chance.

Date of Visit: July 2017 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Sunnydays08 3 reviews from this member

We camped with two tents with EHU on adjacent grass pitches and we found the site really lovely. The pitches were not marked and you basically pitched on any suitable ground. The staff were all very helpful and friendly. The choice of three fields which were all so different meant we were spoilt for choice as we arrived on Friday and the site was fairly quiet. The site began to fill up through Friday and was very busy by lunch time Saturday.

I felt that the toilet block and shower block could do with cleaning more regularly as each time I went they were not in the best of states, some people/ children can be so disgusting when away from home. The shower block is very modern and the water was lovely and hot and 4 mins for a token was more than enough.

The shop was well stocked with essentials and lovely ice cream.

The first night even though there were lots of people arriving throughout the day and evening it was a lovely peaceful evening and we sat out just watching the world go by. On the Saturday night though in Field three where we were, there was a large group camping in what I would call the central island, surrounding them were campers with young and very young children, once this group started partying they carried on until 3am which meant the rest of us did not enjoy a good night’s sleep and was not good for the young children. This did become a little bit confrontational on Sunday morning with some parents and the group.

The steam train runs through the site which was a great sight to see. Corfe Castle is about 1 mile away and is a very quaint little village. Swanage is only around 4 miles away and the beach was lovely. You can get a return ticket from Swanage to Corfe Castle or do what we did, I was happy to have a coffee whilst the family boarded the train for a one way trip to Corfe Castle which takes about 20 minutes, I had a lovely drive and picked them up at Corfe.

We will definitely be visiting WoodyHyde again

Date of Visit: May 2017 Unit:  Trailer Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Parky15 8 reviews from this member

Spend half term here, in our folding camper.

We arrived at about 2pm and the shop/office was closed till 4 (don't remember being told that when we booked), but there was a very helpful man mowing the grass who told us we could pitch up anywhere (accept for the hard standings - reserved for campervans), and as we had booked EHU he told us which pitches had those, and then we should check in when the office opened.

Pitches are all slightly sloping, but nothing our levelling ramps couldn't cope with. Water taps were plentiful, although only one grey/chemical toilet point requiring us to drag the containers across rough gravel uphill (but helped ensure we were sparing on filling them up). I did see one lovely campervan owner just dumping their grey water onto their hardstandings (lovely manners).

Pitches were spacious enough and the EHU pitches had faint while lines showing the boundary, although things seemed a bit more fluid for the non EHU areas.

New shower block was nice, mainly showers and 2 toilets. Rest of toilets and some showers were in the older toilet block. Washing up areas were all outside. As there are no Caravans there, with it mostly being tents, the facilities got very busy - I was glad we were self contained.

Showers needed a token (50p) which we were told lasted 4 mins - I think it lasted longer - actually too long as you could not turn the shower off, and there was not much room to try and dry while the shower was still spraying. A bit wasteful really - be good to have a 'stop' button.

They were normally warm enough, but at peak times they were getting a bit cold - but it was half term busy.

Free wifi seemed OK near the shop, but didn't really need it as both our Three and EE network phone had 4G coverage.

Shop was well stocked, had most things you would need, including chilled wine and beer and fresh meat. And a coffee machine. And the staff were very friendly and chatty.

Great location, we camped in field 1 near the railway (on the demand of our 6 year old) but all the fields were much the same (one dog free). Even in half term, the site was pretty much silent by 10:30-11.

Only down side for young families is no playground, but there were some ad-hoc rope swings in the woods. But kids were happy playing with balls, riding bikes etc.

A great base for exploring the area and you can walk to Harmans Cross station for the steam railway (buy tickets in the camp shop - cheaper) and ask for directions as it feels you are missing the station, but it does work.

Date of Visit: May 2017 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Drdeath 5 reviews from this member

Spread over three fields this site has plenty of space and didn't feel over crowded even when busy. There are two toilet/shower blocks which were both different layouts as I assume one is newer. The water flow was poor in one block and the showers were only ever luke warm in both. The water from the taps was the same. Poor flow and barely warm. The cleanliness seemed ok but you had to pay extra for shower tokens (50p each). The shop was ok but only open at certain times. There is no children's play area but there is plenty to do in Swanage or the surrounding area. There is a mixture of electric and non electric pitches and you could pitch where you like. One thing we found annoying was there are no general waste or recycling bins around the site. They are a long distance away near the main entrance. This increased the food waste in the washing up sinks which was unpleasant. The site is quite open so you would get some sun if there is any unless positioned back along the hedgerows which were quite high.

This site is very basic and could do with some improvements but we would likely return some time.

Date of Visit: March 2017 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: MrsFeynmansBongos 1 review from this member

HEADLINES since our one night, very early season (late March):

++ beautiful site, newish/clean utility blocks, hookups work fine

-- showers were TEPID, they say they have now tested/adjusted them

Booked online for last weekend of March, on a lovely forecast. Nestling in hilly Purbeck farmland, with trees round the edges and Swanage steam railway alongside one field, this is a beautiful site.

Very early season, so understandably the shop/office was not open, but we drove on and looked at 'edge' pitches by the stream. Presently the proprietor appeared in his 4x4, advised us to move as some pitches were still very wet after recent rain (so we might struggle to get out) also sold us 2x 50p shower tokens, that would each give 4 minutes. All very friendly, as novices we appreciated the advice.

We settled on a hard pitch quite close to the utility blocks. We could see a handful of other vans/tents. Being our anniversary, I was relieved when my wife inspected the shower and toilet blocks, reporting them newish, nice and clean. TOP requirement satisfied :)

But the following morning, after being not-quite snug enough in our tent roof, she was looking forward to a nice HOT shower. She took both tokens at about 08:45, while I tidied-up/lowered roof etc. But she came back some 15-20 minutes later, rather glum as it had been TEPID. So unfortunately our 2nd-top requirement NOT SATISFIED :(

While our fan heater warmed her up, I asked another guest returning from the block, who said they had also found them hardly warm. As we made ready to go out, I left messages on campsite number but no-one appeared. We had a lovely day out, during which I sent an email of remonstrance. We were booked in elsewhere for 2nd night.

Woodyhyde rang me back 5-6pm on a hilltop, so I asked them to email. I asked for a gesture, relating my wife's disappointment and my frustration given she is a bit of a camping-sceptic. After initially offering 2 free shower tokens for a future trip, £1 was refunded to my Credit Card. From their emails:

'The showers are pre-mixed at a set temperature, which is safe for children and adults. We are running twin 75kw boilers which are feeding twin 500 litre tanks with 40mm / 16mm pipes and a hot water re-circulating pump. The temperature is set the same all year round and the showers are set to run for 4 minutes per token. When installing the system, plans were approved by Wessex water to ensure our system conformed with all regulations and the prevention of legionnaires disease. ' then next day.

'We have spent the morning testing the showers and have adjusted the temperature. '

Ok so hopefully showers will now be HOT, eg in case of a chilly Easter!

Maybe such things can go 'out of adjustment' over winter?

I hope we have done our fellow campers a service.

Date of Visit: October 2016 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: Labradorlass 11 reviews from this member

Just spent a few days here. What a lovely site, Just campers or tents so two large blocks of showers and loos. The site is divided into three large spacious fields. Ample room and well designed. What a pleasure to hook up to modern well kept EHU points. These can be a bit suspect on other sites sometimes. Lots to do in area, but won't mention here as most folk google nowadays. The owner Lawrence and his Groundsman come handyman Malc very approachable and friendly. If I had one criticism it would be that there is no one on site at night and as a lone female traveller I felt a bit vulnerable should a catastrophe occur! Never needed help yet but nice to know someone is responsible. A lovely well cared for site with a well stocked shop opening 9-10 and 5-6. Plus free WiFi.

Date of Visit: September 2016 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Speaker12 11 reviews from this member

I decided to have a change from my usual Dorset site and I'm glad I did!

Woodyhyde is in a nice location, especially if you like steam trains. The entrance is located on the brow of a hill, isn't signed in advance and is on a 50mph limit road. So it'd be quite easy to drive past and miss it!

I'd not booked but there was lots of room. I didn't need EHU so it was a case of pitch where you want as long as it's not a EHU pitch. There are three fields, Field 3 is 'no dogs' so I went there. The field is surrounded by a large hedge which provided shelter from the sometimes pretty windy conditions. The whole site was mostly quiet.

Two toilet blocks, the newer one is mainly a shower block with just two loos. Both blocks clean. The site itself was well-kept, grass freshly cut (good news at this time of year with all the dew).

The site shop has plenty of provisions so there's no need to shop elsewhere really. There's a supermarket in Swanage around four miles away if you do.

There are lots of places to visit with some lovely cliff-top walks not far away, Swanage, Corfe Castle etc.

The site cost £8 per person which I thought was very good value. Oh and that included free wifi! Showers are 50p on top of that.

All in all a great site and I'll definitely return.

Date of Visit: August 2016 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Moorepw 4 reviews from this member

We stayed on this site for 5 nights including a rather windy (45mph) weekend! The site is well kept and spread over 3 fields with 2 toilet/shower blocks and washing up areas centrally located between the fields. We stayed on field 3 as previous reviews had said it was quiet and it was. To be honest none of the fields appeared noisy despite fields one and 2 being full for most of the time. Field 3 was almost full but you weren't too close to other tents as can be the case sometimes.

When we arrived, the shop/reception desk was shut but a member of staff who was maintaining the site approached us offering help. We had booked online and he told us to pitch up in whatever field we wanted and showed us on the map where the electric hook up pitches were; and that we could check in at 5pm. The man on reception/shop was friendly and helpful. The shop has to be the best stocked campsite shop I have ever seen!

The showers are token operated and the 5 minutes you get gives plenty of hot water although if you have long hair it wont be quite enough to rinse shampoo & conditioner out.

There are plenty of washing up sinks although they are not sheltered and the temperature of the water is erratic from sink to sink.

In the new shower block, on the women's side, there is only one toilet and a disabled toilet & wet room. There are plenty of toilets in the other older block, all of which were clean but unfortunately not all the locks worked. None of us had to queue for toilets or showers at any time.

The 2 key things that would make this a perfect site would be to sort out the locks on the toilet doors and water temperature for washing up. The only other disappointment was that I had to pay adult rate for my teenage daughter which increased the cost quite significantly from a family ticket.

The site is ideally located for Corfe castle, Studland Bay and Swanage.

Previous     178 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Save to Virtual Brochure  Add this Site to your Virtual Brochure                                Share  Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Try our town listings   -   Other Sites in Dorset   -   Search for a site

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win an Outwell Barbecue Package worth £249 Win a Clarke IG2000B 1.8kW Suitcase Generator worth £299

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Elvaston Steam Rally 7th to 7th July, Derbyshire
Brilliant weekend, Book by 23rd June for discounted camping tickets ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


5851 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2017




0.1016