Log in or Register
Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Woodyhyde Campsite

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > UK > England > South West > Dorset > Site Reviews

Woodyhyde Campsite
Valley Road
Corfe Castle
Dorset   (Browse area)
BH20 5HU   See Map                                 Share Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook
Tel: 01929 480274

Facilities:  (Key)

Nearby: (within x miles)
1m  1m  1m  1m  1m  1m  1m   1m 

Pitches: 160
Open: March - October

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 168 Reviews
              8/10 from 168 Reviews

Units accepted:    Tents  No Caravans  Motorhomes 

Reviews:  168 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14   15   16   17  

Submit your own Review for a chance to Win 100 of Amazon Vouchers
Win 100 of Amazon vouchersSubmit a review of this site for a chance to win. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win 100 of Amazon vouchers!

Date of Visit: August 2015 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Tarango 3 reviews from this member

We visited Woody Hyde during the school holidays. We are a family of three.

The campsite is a mile or so out of Corfe Castle on the way to Swanage.

We arrived just after lunch and the shop/reception was still open. We had read that it was opened at odd times. Check in was ok. The guy who was there used the cctv to see available pitches and where the electric hook ups were (and also shown where not to pitch!).

We decided to head towards field 3. Naturally when we came to pitch the tent it rained and continued to do so throughout our stay.

The site has 2 shower/toilet blocks with washing up sinks outside. An external company cleans these daily. I found the water in the older block hotter than the newer one but my husband found the temperature of the water ok for him in the newer block. Both blocks were clean throughout our stay and seeing as it rained the whole time I am impressed.

The older block shower water covers the whole floor so if using them don't put anything there that shouldn't get wet. The newer showers only get half the floor wet.

The toilet stalls are also quite small so may be a problem if you are on the taller/larger size.

The shop stocks provisions. Good selection of local ciders and not to expensive.

There is no children's playground but enough open space for children to the play around. In field 3 there is also a bridge into a woody area. Which is great for exploring.

There is a lot to do in the local area including Corfe Castle and Swanage. The steam railway goes past the bottom of field 1 which was lovely to see and our son loved to watch it go by.

We liked it here and will definitely be returning.

Date of Visit: August 2015 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Dawn2 4 reviews from this member

We have just returned from a few days away camping at Woody Hyde. Our daughter recommended it to us and we are sure glad she did. This is a pitch anywhere campsite with three fields for non electric hook up. Electric hook up has to be booked. Only suitable for camping and small camper vans, not caravans, the reason being is that as you drive down to the campsite you have to go under a very narrow bridge. The campsite is situated right next to the Swanage Steam Railway line and for those who love steam trains, it's fantastic to hear and see them go past (this goes on all day and in the summer period they run a diesel service until about 23. 15. The campsite is approximately one mile outside Corfe and five miles from Swanage. There are several walks from the campsite which are signposted.

This is a good campsite with two shower blocks, one is a little old but a new one has been built although they are having a few problems with them, which I am assured by the owner will be fixed soon. The new block takes tokens for the showers which are 50p each and lasts for about 4 minutes, showers are not bad but hot water is a little temperamental! There is a shop on site which sell lots of things including camping accessories, food, alcohol, ice creams and it even has a little coffee vending machine. Free Wi Fi accessible using a code, available from the shop and they even provide a phone charging service at 1 a go, you just need your lead.

I would say that if you want somewhere a bit quite then camp in field three away from the train line and the shop. We were by the shop and it got very busy and noisy at times.

You do have to book online as you cannot book over the phone. The phone number on the website is for the shop only. Once form submitted you should receive a confirmation email but if don't, then like us we just turned up and pitched wherever we wanted (there are no marked pitches) and paid at the shop when it was opened.

Date of Visit: June 2015 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Caroline D 2 reviews from this member

We have been coming to this site for 34 years and still really enjoy it. The facilities have definitely improved over the years, but the feeling of the place remains the same. It still seems like a camp site rather than a caravan site (because the site does not take caravans luckily) and there is always a feeling of space. The owner is great and you get the feeling he loves the place. We will keep on coming!

Date of Visit: July 2015 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Dean Kav 2 reviews from this member

We started our first night at herston site swanage, , this site and its value for money scenery to us was a better site all round, ok no bar or club house but then we are on holiday, I can sit in a bar or club house all year round when I'm home so I certainly not going to travel 100s of miles for that. Not a great lover of sites that charge to use showers in this day and age so that's my only grumble. We have rebooked for another week in August.

Date of Visit: June 2015 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: AMG1 8 reviews from this member

Large peaceful site with plenty of hookup choice. We were warned re the low bridge which was narrow but not a problem. Site owner was friendly and helpful with plenty of information on the area. The steam trains passing nearby were not intrusive. We travelled to Swanage by the train which was very nostalgic! There are plenty of walks from the site. The site shop seemed to stock a range of goodies. The shower tokens were fine. My only gripe would be that the toilets and showers were not cleaned out during our stay. Fellow campers kept things tidy. Having said that I think we would return if in the area.

Date of Visit: May 2015 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: DKS75 2 reviews from this member

This was the first time we visited Woodyhyde and we were not disappointed. We were a little apprehensive about the owner after reading the reviews, however, we felt he was very helpful and was actually quite funny. He just said what needed to be said and was to the point.

We arrived on Friday afternoon of the May Bank Holiday and pitched in field 3. There was a lot of space in the field when we arrived, and even though the campsite was full by Saturday evening, there was still plenty of space in the field.

The shower facilities were good. The new block was kept very clean and tidy and even though it was a bit dated, the older block was still kept well. The shower tokens cost 50p each, and each shower lasted approximately 5 minutes, so plenty of time to get showered. The shop was open pretty much all day during our visit, and was well stocked at all times.

The Swanage Railway which ran right past the site was great and the kids loved it as it went passed. This just added to the nice atmosphere of the campsite.

Great campsite and location. We are looking forward to staying here again soon.

Date of Visit: May 2015 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Zippyioa 1 review from this member

I just finished a 3 night stay at Woodyhyde with my 5 year old boy.

The site was split into 3 fields, 2 allowing dogs and the third, at the top right of the site being dog free. That's where we camped. It was a good size field with freedom to pitch where you like, other than electric hook up pitches which you have to pay extra for if required.

Our field had a lot of young families, which was great for my boy as he made lots of friends during our stay.

Friends of ours pitched their motor home in field 2 (as it had hard standing pitches) they were equally as happy with the site.

The site has good facilities, a clean shower block (which was cleaned every morning by an external company). It has lots of individual cubicles split separately across two halves of a building for male and female. The showers were operated by a token purchased from the shop for 50p which gave 4 mins of piping hot water (it's worth getting these in advance as the shop opens at odd hours!).

There is also an older toilet block which wasn't as nice, but was cleaned daily.

There are plenty of washing up sinks, although we did find that the ones near the showers ran short of hot water several times, not an issue at the ones near the older toilet block though.

The shop was well stocked and priced fairly too. It has toys, food (including veggie), alcohol, cooking fuel, most things you need, so great if you've forgotten anything! They also sell local Purbeck ice cream which is delicious!

Woodyhyde is situated close to Corfe Castle and was only a short drive to Lulworth Cove and Studland beach (we visited both during our stay and were amazed by the views)

Overall a well priced and accommodating site with a lot of local places well worth visiting.

Many reviewers have commented about the owner who is quite a character. Initially he seemed unfriendly, but he is VERY chatty once he warms to you (he spends a lot of time playing Clash of Clans on his iPad, so that's a great conversation starter!). He's certainly full of local knowledge and keen to share it if you ask.

We'll definitely visit here again :)

Date of Visit: September 2014 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Jfdiyes 9 reviews from this member

Frequent visitors to this site as it's in my favourite part of the UK.

Pitched on the first field this time, back row, up against the hedge. Nicely sheltered from the breeze & wonderful views of the Steam Train going past.

Plenty of space, nice & quiet with acceptable facilities (50p Shower tokens).

We will return.

Date of Visit: September 2014 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Qvz192 1 review from this member

Terrific site location for walkers, footpaths close by Woodyhyde camp fields. Without need to use the public highway. Purchase of O/S map advisable. Toilet & shower facilities cleaned regularly. 50p token required for showers, purchased from shop. Albeit owner has laid back approach to opening hours, tad inconvenient when one requires a shower. Grr. My only gripe. Summary: Reasonably priced site, value for money.

Date of Visit: August 2014 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: AdenG1 6 reviews from this member

Just back from a 3 week stay at Woodyhyde. I'm a creature of habit and on the last 3 visits I have pitched in more or less the same location - always in field 1 and always in the second row.

Excellent location - the railway bridge means that there is a limitation on the size of vehicles on site but that just adds to the charm of it. Its far enough from the road that there is very little traffic noise and at night it actually gets dark. I live in a city so I am used to dark having an orange tinge but not here. At night you actually see a sky fullof stars.

The only traffic noise is the sound of the Swanage Railway which passes right next to the site but this doesn't seem like noise - its charming and you find yourself waving at the train.

Facilities on the site are good - for showers and toilets the new block is better than the old one but there is a shortage of toilet cubicles in the new block (certainly on the gents side!). The shop on site is well stocked.

As far as value for money is concerned I think Woodyhyde is unbeatable - as a solo camper it only costs GBP8 per night with GBP5 for electric. This is really difficult to beat.

Previous     168 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Save to Virtual Brochure  Add this Site to your Virtual Brochure                                Share  Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Submit a Review for a chance to Win 100 of Amazon Vouchers
Win 100 of Amazon vouchersSubmit a review of any caravan park or campsite, for a chance to win. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win 100 of Amazon vouchers!

If you've visited this site, then please submit a review for a chance to win.

Try our town listings   -   Other Sites in Dorset   -   Search for a site

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a Champion 3100 Watt Inverter Petrol Generator Win a Win a One Week Stay at Vauxhall Holiday Park!

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Motorhome & Caravan Show 13 18 October
Occupying eleven huge halls of the NEC, it is guaranteed to be an unmissable event. Win tickets!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions

5544 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend  -  Pensions Auto-enrolment

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2015