Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Woodyhyde Campsite

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > UK > England > South West > Dorset > Site Reviews

Woodyhyde Campsite
Valley Road
Corfe Castle
Swanage
Dorset   (Browse area)
BH20 5HU   See Map                                 Share Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook
Tel: 01929 480274

Facilities:  (Key)
      

Nearby: (within x miles)
1m  1m  1m  1m  1m  1m  1m   1m 

Pitches: 160
Open: March - October

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 171 Reviews
              8/10 from 171 Reviews


Units accepted:    Tents  No Caravans  Motorhomes 

Reviews:  171 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14   15   16   17   18  

Submit your own Review for a chance to Win 100!
Win 100Submit a review of this site for your chance to win 100 of Caravan Club vouchers or 100 of Amazon vouchers, courtesy of this month's sponsor, The Caravan Club. Join The Club from just 48 per year to enjoy access to over 2,700 sites, exclusive member benefits and site special offers.

Date of Visit: October 2016 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: Labradorlass 11 reviews from this member

Just spent a few days here. What a lovely site, Just campers or tents so two large blocks of showers and loos. The site is divided into three large spacious fields. Ample room and well designed. What a pleasure to hook up to modern well kept EHU points. These can be a bit suspect on other sites sometimes. Lots to do in area, but won't mention here as most folk google nowadays. The owner Lawrence and his Groundsman come handyman Malc very approachable and friendly. If I had one criticism it would be that there is no one on site at night and as a lone female traveller I felt a bit vulnerable should a catastrophe occur! Never needed help yet but nice to know someone is responsible. A lovely well cared for site with a well stocked shop opening 9-10 and 5-6. Plus free WiFi.

Date of Visit: September 2016 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Speaker12 10 reviews from this member

I decided to have a change from my usual Dorset site and I'm glad I did!

Woodyhyde is in a nice location, especially if you like steam trains. The entrance is located on the brow of a hill, isn't signed in advance and is on a 50mph limit road. So it'd be quite easy to drive past and miss it!

I'd not booked but there was lots of room. I didn't need EHU so it was a case of pitch where you want as long as it's not a EHU pitch. There are three fields, Field 3 is 'no dogs' so I went there. The field is surrounded by a large hedge which provided shelter from the sometimes pretty windy conditions. The whole site was mostly quiet.

Two toilet blocks, the newer one is mainly a shower block with just two loos. Both blocks clean. The site itself was well-kept, grass freshly cut (good news at this time of year with all the dew).

The site shop has plenty of provisions so there's no need to shop elsewhere really. There's a supermarket in Swanage around four miles away if you do.

There are lots of places to visit with some lovely cliff-top walks not far away, Swanage, Corfe Castle etc.

The site cost 8 per person which I thought was very good value. Oh and that included free wifi! Showers are 50p on top of that.

All in all a great site and I'll definitely return.

Date of Visit: August 2016 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Moorepw 2 reviews from this member

We stayed on this site for 5 nights including a rather windy (45mph) weekend! The site is well kept and spread over 3 fields with 2 toilet/shower blocks and washing up areas centrally located between the fields. We stayed on field 3 as previous reviews had said it was quiet and it was. To be honest none of the fields appeared noisy despite fields one and 2 being full for most of the time. Field 3 was almost full but you weren't too close to other tents as can be the case sometimes.

When we arrived, the shop/reception desk was shut but a member of staff who was maintaining the site approached us offering help. We had booked online and he told us to pitch up in whatever field we wanted and showed us on the map where the electric hook up pitches were; and that we could check in at 5pm. The man on reception/shop was friendly and helpful. The shop has to be the best stocked campsite shop I have ever seen!

The showers are token operated and the 5 minutes you get gives plenty of hot water although if you have long hair it wont be quite enough to rinse shampoo & conditioner out.

There are plenty of washing up sinks although they are not sheltered and the temperature of the water is erratic from sink to sink.

In the new shower block, on the women's side, there is only one toilet and a disabled toilet & wet room. There are plenty of toilets in the other older block, all of which were clean but unfortunately not all the locks worked. None of us had to queue for toilets or showers at any time.

The 2 key things that would make this a perfect site would be to sort out the locks on the toilet doors and water temperature for washing up. The only other disappointment was that I had to pay adult rate for my teenage daughter which increased the cost quite significantly from a family ticket.

The site is ideally located for Corfe castle, Studland Bay and Swanage.

Date of Visit: August 2015 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Tarango 3 reviews from this member

We visited Woody Hyde during the school holidays. We are a family of three.

The campsite is a mile or so out of Corfe Castle on the way to Swanage.

We arrived just after lunch and the shop/reception was still open. We had read that it was opened at odd times. Check in was ok. The guy who was there used the cctv to see available pitches and where the electric hook ups were (and also shown where not to pitch!).

We decided to head towards field 3. Naturally when we came to pitch the tent it rained and continued to do so throughout our stay.

The site has 2 shower/toilet blocks with washing up sinks outside. An external company cleans these daily. I found the water in the older block hotter than the newer one but my husband found the temperature of the water ok for him in the newer block. Both blocks were clean throughout our stay and seeing as it rained the whole time I am impressed.

The older block shower water covers the whole floor so if using them don't put anything there that shouldn't get wet. The newer showers only get half the floor wet.

The toilet stalls are also quite small so may be a problem if you are on the taller/larger size.

The shop stocks provisions. Good selection of local ciders and not to expensive.

There is no children's playground but enough open space for children to the play around. In field 3 there is also a bridge into a woody area. Which is great for exploring.

There is a lot to do in the local area including Corfe Castle and Swanage. The steam railway goes past the bottom of field 1 which was lovely to see and our son loved to watch it go by.

We liked it here and will definitely be returning.

Date of Visit: August 2015 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Dawn2 6 reviews from this member

We have just returned from a few days away camping at Woody Hyde. Our daughter recommended it to us and we are sure glad she did. This is a pitch anywhere campsite with three fields for non electric hook up. Electric hook up has to be booked. Only suitable for camping and small camper vans, not caravans, the reason being is that as you drive down to the campsite you have to go under a very narrow bridge. The campsite is situated right next to the Swanage Steam Railway line and for those who love steam trains, it's fantastic to hear and see them go past (this goes on all day and in the summer period they run a diesel service until about 23. 15. The campsite is approximately one mile outside Corfe and five miles from Swanage. There are several walks from the campsite which are signposted.

This is a good campsite with two shower blocks, one is a little old but a new one has been built although they are having a few problems with them, which I am assured by the owner will be fixed soon. The new block takes tokens for the showers which are 50p each and lasts for about 4 minutes, showers are not bad but hot water is a little temperamental! There is a shop on site which sell lots of things including camping accessories, food, alcohol, ice creams and it even has a little coffee vending machine. Free Wi Fi accessible using a code, available from the shop and they even provide a phone charging service at 1 a go, you just need your lead.

I would say that if you want somewhere a bit quite then camp in field three away from the train line and the shop. We were by the shop and it got very busy and noisy at times.

You do have to book online as you cannot book over the phone. The phone number on the website is for the shop only. Once form submitted you should receive a confirmation email but if don't, then like us we just turned up and pitched wherever we wanted (there are no marked pitches) and paid at the shop when it was opened.

Date of Visit: June 2015 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Caroline D 2 reviews from this member

We have been coming to this site for 34 years and still really enjoy it. The facilities have definitely improved over the years, but the feeling of the place remains the same. It still seems like a camp site rather than a caravan site (because the site does not take caravans luckily) and there is always a feeling of space. The owner is great and you get the feeling he loves the place. We will keep on coming!

Date of Visit: July 2015 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Dean Kav 2 reviews from this member

We started our first night at herston site swanage, , this site and its value for money scenery to us was a better site all round, ok no bar or club house but then we are on holiday, I can sit in a bar or club house all year round when I'm home so I certainly not going to travel 100s of miles for that. Not a great lover of sites that charge to use showers in this day and age so that's my only grumble. We have rebooked for another week in August.

Date of Visit: June 2015 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: AMG1 10 reviews from this member

Large peaceful site with plenty of hookup choice. We were warned re the low bridge which was narrow but not a problem. Site owner was friendly and helpful with plenty of information on the area. The steam trains passing nearby were not intrusive. We travelled to Swanage by the train which was very nostalgic! There are plenty of walks from the site. The site shop seemed to stock a range of goodies. The shower tokens were fine. My only gripe would be that the toilets and showers were not cleaned out during our stay. Fellow campers kept things tidy. Having said that I think we would return if in the area.

Date of Visit: May 2015 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: DKS75 3 reviews from this member

This was the first time we visited Woodyhyde and we were not disappointed. We were a little apprehensive about the owner after reading the reviews, however, we felt he was very helpful and was actually quite funny. He just said what needed to be said and was to the point.

We arrived on Friday afternoon of the May Bank Holiday and pitched in field 3. There was a lot of space in the field when we arrived, and even though the campsite was full by Saturday evening, there was still plenty of space in the field.

The shower facilities were good. The new block was kept very clean and tidy and even though it was a bit dated, the older block was still kept well. The shower tokens cost 50p each, and each shower lasted approximately 5 minutes, so plenty of time to get showered. The shop was open pretty much all day during our visit, and was well stocked at all times.

The Swanage Railway which ran right past the site was great and the kids loved it as it went passed. This just added to the nice atmosphere of the campsite.

Great campsite and location. We are looking forward to staying here again soon.

Date of Visit: May 2015 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Zippyioa 1 review from this member

I just finished a 3 night stay at Woodyhyde with my 5 year old boy.

The site was split into 3 fields, 2 allowing dogs and the third, at the top right of the site being dog free. That's where we camped. It was a good size field with freedom to pitch where you like, other than electric hook up pitches which you have to pay extra for if required.

Our field had a lot of young families, which was great for my boy as he made lots of friends during our stay.

Friends of ours pitched their motor home in field 2 (as it had hard standing pitches) they were equally as happy with the site.

The site has good facilities, a clean shower block (which was cleaned every morning by an external company). It has lots of individual cubicles split separately across two halves of a building for male and female. The showers were operated by a token purchased from the shop for 50p which gave 4 mins of piping hot water (it's worth getting these in advance as the shop opens at odd hours!).

There is also an older toilet block which wasn't as nice, but was cleaned daily.

There are plenty of washing up sinks, although we did find that the ones near the showers ran short of hot water several times, not an issue at the ones near the older toilet block though.

The shop was well stocked and priced fairly too. It has toys, food (including veggie), alcohol, cooking fuel, most things you need, so great if you've forgotten anything! They also sell local Purbeck ice cream which is delicious!

Woodyhyde is situated close to Corfe Castle and was only a short drive to Lulworth Cove and Studland beach (we visited both during our stay and were amazed by the views)

Overall a well priced and accommodating site with a lot of local places well worth visiting.

Many reviewers have commented about the owner who is quite a character. Initially he seemed unfriendly, but he is VERY chatty once he warms to you (he spends a lot of time playing Clash of Clans on his iPad, so that's a great conversation starter!). He's certainly full of local knowledge and keen to share it if you ask.

We'll definitely visit here again :)

Previous     171 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Save to Virtual Brochure  Add this Site to your Virtual Brochure                                Share  Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Submit a Review for a chance to Win 100!
Sponsored by the Caravan ClubSubmit a review to UKCampsite.co.uk of any caravan park or campsite for your chance to win your choice of 100 of Caravan Club vouchers or 100 of Amazon vouchers, courtesy of this month's sponsor, The Caravan Club

If you've visited this site, then please submit a review for a chance to win.

Try our town listings   -   Other Sites in Dorset   -   Search for a site

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a OLPRO Caravan Cover 3 sets of AutoSock car snow socks to be won

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Manchester Caravan & Motorhome Show 2017 - 19th to 22nd January
A huge choice of the latest model caravans, motorhomes and holiday homes on display from over 200 exhibitors ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


4052 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend  -  Pensions Auto-enrolment

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2016




UKCampsite.co.uk
Advent Calendar
Advent Calendar
24 Daily Prizes and a Christmas Day Star Prize worth 289.99!
Open Today's Window!





0.1270