Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Aberafon Camp Site

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > UK > Wales > Gwynedd > Site Reviews

Aberafon Camp Site
Gyrn Goch
Caernarfon
Gwynedd   (Browse area)
LL54 5PN   See Map                                 Share Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook
Tel: 01286 660295

Facilities:  (Key)
                   

Nearby: (within x miles)
5m  5m 5m   5m  1m  10m 
Featured Site

Pitches: 65
Open: Easter To September

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 152 Reviews
              8/10 from 152 Reviews


Units accepted:    Tents  Caravans  Motorhomes Caravan Storage Storage 

Photos (6)

Reviews:  152 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14   15   16  

Write your own Review for a chance to Win £300 of Prizes!
Sponsored by Ordnance SurveyWin £200 Walkers Camping Kit and Tent AND £100 of Amazon vouchers, courtesy of our sponsor Ordnance Survey If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Further info and prize details here

Date of Visit: June 2017 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Sazza42 16 reviews from this member

The main draw for this campsite is the location. The site is made up of 4 or 5 fields arranged right on the beach. You can choose either a seaview pitch or a sheltered pitch. We were super cautious and went for a sheltered pitch and we were very glad we did.

The approach to the site is ‘interesting’. I have no idea how they get caravans down the approach lane as it is very steep and full of bends. Our pitch was in the first field as you come into the site which was lovely and quiet and conveniently placed next to the shower block. The other fields are higher up and more exposed to the wind. However, they have spectacular views. We could just catch a view of the sea through the trees, so if you really want the views you should go for the other fields.

Everyone mentions the wind at this site and it is definitely something to consider. Our first night was very peaceful and the only noise was the stream behind our tent. On the second night the wind picked up a bit. We didn’t have any trouble as we were on the sheltered field; however the noise of the wind going through the trees was immense. In the morning we had a look at the tents on the upper fields and some of them were looking a little worse for wear. Several people spent the morning moving their tents down to the sheltered field. The weather forecast hadn’t shown strong winds so I would always be cautious & book a sheltered pitch whatever the weather.

Our stay covered a weeknight & a weekend night & it was interesting to see the site change. It was incredibly peaceful on the Thursday night and during the day on the Friday – the fields were full of rabbits and the campsite ducks wandering about. By the Friday night, weekenders were arriving and the site was definitely livelier – although still very quiet – definitely no rowdy visitors (except for the wind). I would definitely visit again – the only thing that would make me stay away is how few showers they have. We had no problem getting a shower cubicle on the Friday morning, but it was a different matter on the Saturday. The site wasn’t anywhere near full for the weekend either. I really wouldn’t want to be camping here on a Bank Holiday. The shower block looked to be pretty new and was very clean and well looked after. There were several small toilets dotted around the other fields as well.

The beach is right next to the site and the sunsets were amazing, we sat on the beach each night before turning in. The stream runs down through the site to the beach and is perfect for children. There were some children playing in the stream when we went down to the beach for the sunset and they were there first thing in their pyjamas the next morning! The beach is perfect for children, a bit of sand, a stream and loads of rock-pools.

Overall, this is a brilliant site which we would definitely visit again, just not at a busy time unless they increased the number of showers.

Date of Visit: June 2017 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Happysouls 1 review from this member

This is the most spectacular camping location and one of the best holidays I ever had. The sea views with mountains in the background give a 360 of uninterrupted beauty. The site is clean, well maintained and unspoiled. The owners are friendly and helpful. Fellow campers seemed similarly peaceful and appreciative of the site and so overall the place has a really relaxed tranquil atmosphere! The close proximity to the sea meant I could hear the waves night and day!

The site is easy to get to turning directly off the A499 main road at Gyrn Goch soon after a small campsite sign. The turning is tricky because of the steep narrow driveway. It’s a beautiful driveway with the river running alongside and lush greenery all around. You pass the shower block and main toilet block on the way down towards reception. There are a couple of spaces to park there and as well as reception/small shop there is a skip for rubbish, a room with pool table, and a room with washer, dryer, freezer for ice blocks, tourist leaflets and books for borrowing. There is Wifi available for a fee at the pool room and benches to sit there. I would like to have seen recycling facilities however I can appreciate that it isn’t always possible.

Each area of the site looks really lovely in it’s own way. It is split between various different camping areas with more open aspect fields overlooking the sea front and more sheltered areas amongst the trees further back. We arrived on a Monday and the site seemed fairly empty for tourers although lots of seasonal caravans which fill a couple of the fields. The friendly lady at reception was really helpful and patient while we discussed where we’d be best to camp! We were offered a choice of pitches for our tent, and spent some time dithering and discussing before heading off clutching the map to check out the choices before committing. We had a choice of the exposed sea view pitches or a more sheltered area. In the end we opted for a sea view pitch which was stunning. The pitches seem a good size and the tent goes on the left of the pitch and car on the right so that there is some consistency and everything is spaced out nicely. The pitches right at the cliff top are very exposed to the wind and it can get quite blowy even if high winds are not in the forecast. We took a low down dome tent with this in mind rather than one of our bigger tents that we know don't stand up well to these conditions. The breeze kept the insects away more than other places so there are always advantages! The fields are very well maintained and the grass well trimmed everywhere. It is clean too, no litter! The pitches seemed pretty flat and we didn’t have to move any sticks or stones before tent pitching.

The washing up facilities (2 covered, 1 open) and 4 toilet cubicles for our area were placed in the corner of the field where the camping areas meet so handy and central for all. These were clean for our entire visit and no queue apart from a few minutes on a busy Sunday morning. Of the 4 toilet cubicles 1 was a mens urinal, 1 was toilet with just a small sink but the other 2 toilets had larger basins so good for a quick wash when it's not too busy. They were all quite nice and private. There is also a drinking water tap, waste water disposal and chemical disposal here and at other points around the site. There is another toilet/washing up block in another field nearer to the beach. The main shower block is a stroll away and also has washing up facilities outside. The ladies has 3 showers with space for hanging clothes and changing, 2 wash basin cubicles with lights for the mirror (handy for checking the sunburn!), and 4 toilet cubicles. Showers 20p for 3 minutes, not adjustable but the temperature was just right. Overall a pretty good set of facilities, better than most! I liked that the radio was on in there! I didn't have to queue showering early morning or late afternoon although I didn't go on Saturday when the site was full.

It’s a beautiful site to stroll around with rabbits everywhere and a pony, donkey and goats in the field to say hello to! We saw poiposes in the sea on our last night which was amazing and lots of sea birds to watch! There is a little play area for children in the corner of the field. The mostly stone beach is lovely with the river flowing out onto it and the gathering of people on Saturday night watching the sun go down and having bonfires was a really amazing atmosphere. If you cross the river the stroll along the beach to Trefor is good with Sand Martins nesting in holes in the cliffs and swooping over the sand around you. Trefor has a little harbour and car park with clean toilets.

We booked in for 2 days initially and ended up staying for 9! The place filled up at the weekend particularly Saturday night so would advise booking for weekend trips to make sure you get the type of pitch you need.

The sea front pitches are more suited to smaller tents or camper vans I think as it was very windy on a couple of the nights and larger tents are maybe better further back in more sheltered spots. Some of the camping area nearer to the shower block looked really nice and far more sheltered so I think there is something for everyone. I wouldn’t hesitate to book the same pitch again, I just think you need to be prepared! I loved this place and I will definitely be going back here!

Date of Visit: August 2016 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Falcorob 2 reviews from this member

This was our second visit, both in tents, to this beautiful little campsite. We were greeted warmly by the owner on both occasions and directed to our generous pitches. The second time we had a sea view on the top field which meant the pitch was very large, with plenty of space for kids to run amok and enjoy themselves without causing a disturbance to the elder campers.

The site has a small shop, a pool table and wifi room, should you need it, ample clean toilets and wash rooms, washing machine, freezer access, and great access to the beach. The only negative is the lack of showers for the number of guests which can mean a lengthy wait at times, unless you are prepared to get a shower at dawn.

There is a main road at the end of the sites drive which gives easy access to local amenities, but which is almost inaudible from the site itself, even during busy periods. Obviously, if you come from a city a busy period in Wales will seem like a quiet Sunday morning.

We will be returning to the site soon.

Date of Visit: August 2015 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Asjp 4 reviews from this member

What a fabulous site. We stayed for a week, and if we hadn't had to come back to work we would've loved to stay longer.

A variety of pitches, some nestled amongst the trees nice and sheltered from the elements, others overlooking the sea and cliffs, rather exposed to the wind especially but still lovely pitches. A good mix of tents, tourers, and seasonal caravan pitches. A small, but lovely, play area for children, and the river running through the site made for lovely paddling. The beach is mostly pebbles, but there are a few patches of sand for the all-important castle-building!

Camp fires on the beach at sunset, absolutely magnificent!

For pitching the tent, the ground is quite hard and rocky, so appropriate pegs are necessary. I broke our mallet on one particular rock under the tent!

The owners are lovely. A warm welcome when we arrived, and just the right balance of approachability and visibility around the site, as well as staying out of the way so as not to intrude.

Only criticism would be the facilities. They were generally clean, but quite basic, and certain parts of the site are a long way from the showers. There are toilets located more conveniently around the site though, so it's not a massive issue.

Very little within walking distance. There's a Londis shop just over a mile away with good provision for food, and Caernarfon has the bigger supermarkets. We were also pleasantly surprised with Pwllheli, a nice selection of little independent shops to browse around.

Date of Visit: June 2015 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: Gringers 2 reviews from this member

The obvious draw for this campsite is the great location, with it's own access to a nice cobbly beach, and great views.

Care is needed driving down steep and winding access track.

The owner is very friendly and helped us to choose a pitch to stay out of the wind. The facilities are fairly basic, but clean. There are a few toilets dotted around the edges of the 4 different fields, and it is a bit of a walk down to the shower block, but we don't mind that at all.

The reception shop sells a few basic things like tins and wood for making a small fire amongst the rocks on the beach (which is popular), but we found the Londis shop at the garage about a mile down the road was handy for essentials like fresh milk and meat. The site has spare ice blocks in the freezer that you can borrow, which is a nice touch whilst ours were re-freezing.

My only gripe would be that there were no recycling facilities, just a big skip to put your rubbish in when you leave.

Date of Visit: June 2015 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Susan-J 5 reviews from this member

Fab place! We had a seaview pitch for two nights in mid June - cost £32. The owner was lovely and friendly and welcoming. As we arrived she was cheerfully outlining food buying options to the couple before us, then gave us comprehensive directions to our pitch, a wee map of the site and a copy of the not very restrictive rules. The pitch was very well sized, we didn't at all feel like we were camping on our neighbours and the view was, as hoped for, utterly, utterly glorious; cliffs and hills and sea and beach. Facilities were excellent and clean - 20p buys you three minutes in the shower and we were offered (and gratefully accepted) the chance to change money on arrival. Showers were hot and cubicles had a good amount of space. Extra bonuses for us were the aloof llama in the next field along, a glorious, glorious sunset on the Saturday night and bunnies frolicking at twilight on the way to the showers. Was also a lovely and quiet site. Did think the jetski trailing about in our seaview was a bit of a noisy irritant but its owner made up for this by getting his Landrover beached on the beach and therefore providing a good half hour entertainment watching him try and get it out. :)

Date of Visit: April 2015 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Fab2k 1 review from this member

This is a perfect getaway from all the hustle and bustle of a city.

A small narrow entrance leads to the campsite.

We were offered either sheltered or sea view pitches and opted for sheltered. Would recommend this for any campers as the sea view area is very exposed.

Our 3 kids loved the campsite as it has a stream they could play in, a small play area and the beach. The beach is pebbled.

The owners were friendly and helpful. Our only negative comment about this is that we were quoted one price for pitch fees and paid a deposit based on this. On arrival we were advised that the price was different and that the website prices were out of date. It was 50p per person per night. With a family of 5 staying for 7 nights couldn't be bothered to argue but did feel a bit miffed so double check before booking!

Date of Visit: September 2014 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Neil camper piper 17 reviews from this member

First time me and my girlfriend have been. Its a great site for peace and quiet. The private lane from the main road is narrow so be careful with caravans.

The site owner was very friendly and helpful. There is also a shop at the main house selling bits and pieces. Its also where the refuse bins are located. There was a freezer for your ice packs as well. The shower block is located near the main entrance to the site and was very clean and looked brand new. It cost 20p for a shower which we didn't mind paying. Found it easier to go for a shower on our way out for the day as it was a fair trek from the tent fields.

We picked a sheltered spot rather than the sea view that was offered, pitches are allocated so I'd advise you book your spot. I'm really glad we picked the sheltered spot on the field closest to the sea as the sea view spots are very exposed. The wind seams to funnel through the valley so other tents looked like they were having a tough time.

There were clean toilets and placed in each field with a sink for washing up. Washing up was a joy as you got to enjoy a fantastic sea view.

Fires were not permitted on site but were on the pebble beach, fire wood is sold on site too. The sunsets were great from the beach. There was also a hidden gem further down the coast in the neighbouring village which is in walking distance when the tide is out. It has a sandy deserted beach with an old harbour wall. A great place for crab fishing with loads of rock pools to go exploring in. We saw about 10 people all day, which was mainly locals walking their dogs, It has a car park and very clean toilet block.

Really looking forward to going back again this year. A great well priced site

Date of Visit: August 2014 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: Thesmiths44 8 reviews from this member

Easy find with sat nav.

Good set up.

Plenty of space on allocated pitches.

Refuse and shop at main house.

Showers a bit far from top field but is camping after all.

Views amazing. Beach great. Bit rocky under foot, entry to water easy with craft.

Toilets dotted about the site.

Hook ups available.

BBQ allowed off ground. No wood fires on pitches. But ok on beach front.

Very good and we will return soon.

Date of Visit: August 2014 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: EmRobo 8 reviews from this member

Was really looking forward to this trip, camping near the beach, but a little anxious with how the winds would be.

The entrance is tight as described on the website, you could almost miss it if you didn't read directions properly. As I pulled in a car was coming out so I had to reverse on the main road. The single track goes down for a fair bit and is hilly at sections.

When we got to reception it was busy and no where to park, but people had soon checked in and we off to their pitch. On check in you are given a map to show which field you are in and which pitch number. We asked for a sheltered pitch being on the beach and we had paid for EHU.

The pitches are quite small, I think she said 5m x 5m, but as we had 3 pitches they gave us the corner plot which worked well as one of the party with us only has a one man tent.

We pitched up after we got our electric back ( a campervan decided to use our electric while no one was pitched there!)

We thought pitching the back to the hedges/sea would have been better as that would be where any wind would come from but we were wrong! (more on that later)

Once pitched we took a wonder to the beach, which was a lovely little walk ( no more than 10 mins) and the beach is stoney - no sand. The views were amazing! The kids had fun in the water and it was nice to have a fresh water stream coming into the sea too.

We were quite close to the main toilet facilities which were lovely and clean and had a radio playing. There were 4 showers, 2 private cubicles for washing and 4 toilets. Plug sockets in the wash cubicles.

There is a site shop, but we took a drive to the Tesco in Caernarfon, as I forgot all my veggie food (still in the freezer at home!)

There is a pool room and a place to freeze your freezer blocks free of charge too.

You aren't allowed campfires on site but can have them on the beach and it is an amazing experience. It is also amazing to sit on the beach and watch the sun go down with a glass of wine.

We had a lovely time here despite the winds, gusts and rain on the last night which meant we had to take the extension down as the wind was hitting it hard from the front.

I would recommend and would go back

Previous     152 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Save to Virtual Brochure  Add this Site to your Virtual Brochure                                Share  Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write your own Review for a chance to Win £300 of Prizes!
Sponsored by Ordnance SurveyWin £200 Walkers Camping Kit and Tent AND £100 of Amazon vouchers, courtesy of our sponsor Ordnance Survey If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Further info and prize details here

Try our town listings   -   Other Sites in Gwynedd   -   Search for a site

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a Inflatable HandiRack Roof Rack and Waterproof HandiHoldall Win a Superb Outwell Picnic Package

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Truckfest Original15 - 16 July 2017
Newark & Notts Showground - exciting family entertainment with weekend camping ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


5414 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend  -  Pensions Auto-enrolment

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2017




0.1055