Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Aberafon Camp Site

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > UK > Wales > Gwynedd > Site Reviews

Aberafon Camp Site
Gyrn Goch
Caernarfon
Gwynedd   (Browse area)
LL54 5PN   See Map                                 Share Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook
Tel: 01286 660295

Facilities:  (Key)
                   

Nearby: (within x miles)
5m  5m 5m   5m  1m  10m 
Featured Site

Pitches: 65
Open: Easter To September

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 155 Reviews
              8/10 from 155 Reviews


Units accepted:    Tents  Caravans  Motorhomes Caravan Storage Storage 

Photos (6)

Reviews:  155 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14   15   16  

Write your own Review for a chance to Win £300 of Prizes!
Sponsored by Ordnance SurveyWin a £300 Prize Package including £100 of Amazon vouchers, courtesy of our sponsor Ordnance Survey If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Further info and prize details here

Date of Visit: August 2017 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Rich March 5 reviews from this member

Location, Location, Location.

That's almost all that is needed to be said. It is beautiful. From the stream that runs through the site and out to sea, to the sea views in one direction and mountain views in the other.

The directions on the sites website are ample and it is easy to find. DO NOT UNDERESTIMATE THE WARNING ON THEIR WEBSITE ABOUT HOW TIGHT THE ENTRANCE IS IF TOWING. IT IS TIGHT. It is also obviously able to be passed as there were caravans on the site but it is not easy. Double check your dimensions with the owners prior to booking would be my suggestion and take advice.

Facilities are reasonably basic, the main shower block being adequate but the other toilet block being far simpler. That said, they were clean, showers were warm and of a good pressure and there was never a queue for the gents ones at least. Females only queued once in 2 weeks. 20p for 3 minutes but you can put in as many 20ps in one go to have a constant flowing, longer shower.

A lovely little play area for children and a wooded area for them to explore, a donkey, a horse and some goats all enjoy a good fuss!

The fields were lush and green with good sized pitches. Nothing in the centre of the fields, just pitches around the edge giving a nice open feel and plenty of room for children to play. It is exposed in places, just make sure you know how to put your kit up properly. When you leave your pitch for a day trip, even in nice weather, plan for the wind picking up whilst you are out.

The beach is very easily accessed from the site. Nearest to the site it is quite stony however we found walking left towards Trefor about 15 mins, half way between the site and Trefor the beach is far sandier with far less stones in the sea. Sunset campfires on the Beach! Unbelievable and lovely.

The owners were very friendly, approachable and helpful.

A great site and our plans for next year are now being reconsidered!

Nearby, within 40 minutes we visited :

Mt Snowdon. Climbed from Llanberis.

Caernaron for food shopping and the Castle.

Aber Falls

Swallow falls.

Y Garn, Glyder Fawr and Tryfan mountains.

Anglesey for Beaumaris Castle and the beach at Llanwddyn.

Porth Ceiriad for the best beach with the clearest sea water I've seen in the UK. So many snorkel'ers.

Date of Visit: August 2017 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Michellebee 1 review from this member

Lovely site, clean and tidy. Easy access to the beach, fires allowed. Very windy when we stayed, our tent stayed up others were not so lucky. Advice to anyone going to stay ask for a sheltered area. Electric hook up is available.

Date of Visit: June 2017 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Sazza42 17 reviews from this member

The main draw for this campsite is the location. The site is made up of 4 or 5 fields arranged right on the beach. You can choose either a seaview pitch or a sheltered pitch. We were super cautious and went for a sheltered pitch and we were very glad we did.

The approach to the site is ‘interesting’. I have no idea how they get caravans down the approach lane as it is very steep and full of bends. Our pitch was in the first field as you come into the site which was lovely and quiet and conveniently placed next to the shower block. The other fields are higher up and more exposed to the wind. However, they have spectacular views. We could just catch a view of the sea through the trees, so if you really want the views you should go for the other fields.

Everyone mentions the wind at this site and it is definitely something to consider. Our first night was very peaceful and the only noise was the stream behind our tent. On the second night the wind picked up a bit. We didn’t have any trouble as we were on the sheltered field; however the noise of the wind going through the trees was immense. In the morning we had a look at the tents on the upper fields and some of them were looking a little worse for wear. Several people spent the morning moving their tents down to the sheltered field. The weather forecast hadn’t shown strong winds so I would always be cautious & book a sheltered pitch whatever the weather.

Our stay covered a weeknight & a weekend night & it was interesting to see the site change. It was incredibly peaceful on the Thursday night and during the day on the Friday – the fields were full of rabbits and the campsite ducks wandering about. By the Friday night, weekenders were arriving and the site was definitely livelier – although still very quiet – definitely no rowdy visitors (except for the wind). I would definitely visit again – the only thing that would make me stay away is how few showers they have. We had no problem getting a shower cubicle on the Friday morning, but it was a different matter on the Saturday. The site wasn’t anywhere near full for the weekend either. I really wouldn’t want to be camping here on a Bank Holiday. The shower block looked to be pretty new and was very clean and well looked after. There were several small toilets dotted around the other fields as well.

The beach is right next to the site and the sunsets were amazing, we sat on the beach each night before turning in. The stream runs down through the site to the beach and is perfect for children. There were some children playing in the stream when we went down to the beach for the sunset and they were there first thing in their pyjamas the next morning! The beach is perfect for children, a bit of sand, a stream and loads of rock-pools.

Overall, this is a brilliant site which we would definitely visit again, just not at a busy time unless they increased the number of showers.

Date of Visit: June 2017 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Happysouls 1 review from this member

This is the most spectacular camping location and one of the best holidays I ever had. The sea views with mountains in the background give a 360 of uninterrupted beauty. The site is clean, well maintained and unspoiled. The owners are friendly and helpful. Fellow campers seemed similarly peaceful and appreciative of the site and so overall the place has a really relaxed tranquil atmosphere! The close proximity to the sea meant I could hear the waves night and day!

The site is easy to get to turning directly off the A499 main road at Gyrn Goch soon after a small campsite sign. The turning is tricky because of the steep narrow driveway. It’s a beautiful driveway with the river running alongside and lush greenery all around. You pass the shower block and main toilet block on the way down towards reception. There are a couple of spaces to park there and as well as reception/small shop there is a skip for rubbish, a room with pool table, and a room with washer, dryer, freezer for ice blocks, tourist leaflets and books for borrowing. There is Wifi available for a fee at the pool room and benches to sit there. I would like to have seen recycling facilities however I can appreciate that it isn’t always possible.

Each area of the site looks really lovely in it’s own way. It is split between various different camping areas with more open aspect fields overlooking the sea front and more sheltered areas amongst the trees further back. We arrived on a Monday and the site seemed fairly empty for tourers although lots of seasonal caravans which fill a couple of the fields. The friendly lady at reception was really helpful and patient while we discussed where we’d be best to camp! We were offered a choice of pitches for our tent, and spent some time dithering and discussing before heading off clutching the map to check out the choices before committing. We had a choice of the exposed sea view pitches or a more sheltered area. In the end we opted for a sea view pitch which was stunning. The pitches seem a good size and the tent goes on the left of the pitch and car on the right so that there is some consistency and everything is spaced out nicely. The pitches right at the cliff top are very exposed to the wind and it can get quite blowy even if high winds are not in the forecast. We took a low down dome tent with this in mind rather than one of our bigger tents that we know don't stand up well to these conditions. The breeze kept the insects away more than other places so there are always advantages! The fields are very well maintained and the grass well trimmed everywhere. It is clean too, no litter! The pitches seemed pretty flat and we didn’t have to move any sticks or stones before tent pitching.

The washing up facilities (2 covered, 1 open) and 4 toilet cubicles for our area were placed in the corner of the field where the camping areas meet so handy and central for all. These were clean for our entire visit and no queue apart from a few minutes on a busy Sunday morning. Of the 4 toilet cubicles 1 was a mens urinal, 1 was toilet with just a small sink but the other 2 toilets had larger basins so good for a quick wash when it's not too busy. They were all quite nice and private. There is also a drinking water tap, waste water disposal and chemical disposal here and at other points around the site. There is another toilet/washing up block in another field nearer to the beach. The main shower block is a stroll away and also has washing up facilities outside. The ladies has 3 showers with space for hanging clothes and changing, 2 wash basin cubicles with lights for the mirror (handy for checking the sunburn!), and 4 toilet cubicles. Showers 20p for 3 minutes, not adjustable but the temperature was just right. Overall a pretty good set of facilities, better than most! I liked that the radio was on in there! I didn't have to queue showering early morning or late afternoon although I didn't go on Saturday when the site was full.

It’s a beautiful site to stroll around with rabbits everywhere and a pony, donkey and goats in the field to say hello to! We saw poiposes in the sea on our last night which was amazing and lots of sea birds to watch! There is a little play area for children in the corner of the field. The mostly stone beach is lovely with the river flowing out onto it and the gathering of people on Saturday night watching the sun go down and having bonfires was a really amazing atmosphere. If you cross the river the stroll along the beach to Trefor is good with Sand Martins nesting in holes in the cliffs and swooping over the sand around you. Trefor has a little harbour and car park with clean toilets.

We booked in for 2 days initially and ended up staying for 9! The place filled up at the weekend particularly Saturday night so would advise booking for weekend trips to make sure you get the type of pitch you need.

The sea front pitches are more suited to smaller tents or camper vans I think as it was very windy on a couple of the nights and larger tents are maybe better further back in more sheltered spots. Some of the camping area nearer to the shower block looked really nice and far more sheltered so I think there is something for everyone. I wouldn’t hesitate to book the same pitch again, I just think you need to be prepared! I loved this place and I will definitely be going back here!

Date of Visit: May 2017 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Grumpycamperman 3 reviews from this member

A variety of fields to choose from, some exposed (with a good view), some tucked away up the valley near the shower block. We stayed right at the south east corner with a sea view, which was beautiful. You are allocated well marked pitches (around the edges of the fields only) with just about enough room for a large tent plus car. Plenty of toilets and washing up stations dotted around, all absolutely fine and clean. The main shower block is quite a trek right back past reception to the entrance lane, and this is the only real gripe - a bit of a pain if if you need to escort a cohort of small kids for showers as we do - and there are not many showers either.

Grass is kept short and the site is very well kept. One main attraction is the beach access down at the bottom end, with some pitches tucked nicely in the sheltered area near a stream - a very cool spot if you can get it. Some campers were launching their own boats from the site's slipway. Lots of people headed to the beach to BBQ in the evening.

Small playground for little kids, plus a wood the bigger ones can muck about in. Also a basic games room in the barn for the teenagers to play pool and hang about.

Entrance off the road is very tight and the winding lane has only a few inches to spare on the side of a VW van, so taking a caravan down there will test your skills.

Definitely a good spot this. Just make sure you tie your tent down well !

Date of Visit: August 2016 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Falcorob 2 reviews from this member

This was our second visit, both in tents, to this beautiful little campsite. We were greeted warmly by the owner on both occasions and directed to our generous pitches. The second time we had a sea view on the top field which meant the pitch was very large, with plenty of space for kids to run amok and enjoy themselves without causing a disturbance to the elder campers.

The site has a small shop, a pool table and wifi room, should you need it, ample clean toilets and wash rooms, washing machine, freezer access, and great access to the beach. The only negative is the lack of showers for the number of guests which can mean a lengthy wait at times, unless you are prepared to get a shower at dawn.

There is a main road at the end of the sites drive which gives easy access to local amenities, but which is almost inaudible from the site itself, even during busy periods. Obviously, if you come from a city a busy period in Wales will seem like a quiet Sunday morning.

We will be returning to the site soon.

Date of Visit: August 2015 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Asjp 4 reviews from this member

What a fabulous site. We stayed for a week, and if we hadn't had to come back to work we would've loved to stay longer.

A variety of pitches, some nestled amongst the trees nice and sheltered from the elements, others overlooking the sea and cliffs, rather exposed to the wind especially but still lovely pitches. A good mix of tents, tourers, and seasonal caravan pitches. A small, but lovely, play area for children, and the river running through the site made for lovely paddling. The beach is mostly pebbles, but there are a few patches of sand for the all-important castle-building!

Camp fires on the beach at sunset, absolutely magnificent!

For pitching the tent, the ground is quite hard and rocky, so appropriate pegs are necessary. I broke our mallet on one particular rock under the tent!

The owners are lovely. A warm welcome when we arrived, and just the right balance of approachability and visibility around the site, as well as staying out of the way so as not to intrude.

Only criticism would be the facilities. They were generally clean, but quite basic, and certain parts of the site are a long way from the showers. There are toilets located more conveniently around the site though, so it's not a massive issue.

Very little within walking distance. There's a Londis shop just over a mile away with good provision for food, and Caernarfon has the bigger supermarkets. We were also pleasantly surprised with Pwllheli, a nice selection of little independent shops to browse around.

Date of Visit: June 2015 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: Gringers 2 reviews from this member

The obvious draw for this campsite is the great location, with it's own access to a nice cobbly beach, and great views.

Care is needed driving down steep and winding access track.

The owner is very friendly and helped us to choose a pitch to stay out of the wind. The facilities are fairly basic, but clean. There are a few toilets dotted around the edges of the 4 different fields, and it is a bit of a walk down to the shower block, but we don't mind that at all.

The reception shop sells a few basic things like tins and wood for making a small fire amongst the rocks on the beach (which is popular), but we found the Londis shop at the garage about a mile down the road was handy for essentials like fresh milk and meat. The site has spare ice blocks in the freezer that you can borrow, which is a nice touch whilst ours were re-freezing.

My only gripe would be that there were no recycling facilities, just a big skip to put your rubbish in when you leave.

Date of Visit: June 2015 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Susan-J 5 reviews from this member

Fab place! We had a seaview pitch for two nights in mid June - cost £32. The owner was lovely and friendly and welcoming. As we arrived she was cheerfully outlining food buying options to the couple before us, then gave us comprehensive directions to our pitch, a wee map of the site and a copy of the not very restrictive rules. The pitch was very well sized, we didn't at all feel like we were camping on our neighbours and the view was, as hoped for, utterly, utterly glorious; cliffs and hills and sea and beach. Facilities were excellent and clean - 20p buys you three minutes in the shower and we were offered (and gratefully accepted) the chance to change money on arrival. Showers were hot and cubicles had a good amount of space. Extra bonuses for us were the aloof llama in the next field along, a glorious, glorious sunset on the Saturday night and bunnies frolicking at twilight on the way to the showers. Was also a lovely and quiet site. Did think the jetski trailing about in our seaview was a bit of a noisy irritant but its owner made up for this by getting his Landrover beached on the beach and therefore providing a good half hour entertainment watching him try and get it out. :)

Date of Visit: April 2015 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Fab2k 1 review from this member

This is a perfect getaway from all the hustle and bustle of a city.

A small narrow entrance leads to the campsite.

We were offered either sheltered or sea view pitches and opted for sheltered. Would recommend this for any campers as the sea view area is very exposed.

Our 3 kids loved the campsite as it has a stream they could play in, a small play area and the beach. The beach is pebbled.

The owners were friendly and helpful. Our only negative comment about this is that we were quoted one price for pitch fees and paid a deposit based on this. On arrival we were advised that the price was different and that the website prices were out of date. It was 50p per person per night. With a family of 5 staying for 7 nights couldn't be bothered to argue but did feel a bit miffed so double check before booking!

Previous     155 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Save to Virtual Brochure  Add this Site to your Virtual Brochure                                Share  Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write your own Review for a chance to Win £300 of Prizes!
Sponsored by Ordnance SurveyWin a £300 Prize Package including £100 of Amazon vouchers, courtesy of our sponsor Ordnance Survey If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Further info and prize details here

Try our town listings   -   Other Sites in Gwynedd   -   Search for a site

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win 3 AutoSock car snowsock sets worth £49.95+ each Win an OLPRO Caravan Cover in your size

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Manchester Caravan & Motorhome Show 18 to 21 January 2018
Advanced booking discount plus we have 15 pairs of tickets to give away ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


7102 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend  -  Pensions Auto-enrolment

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2017






0.0938
UKCampsite.co.uk
Advent Calendar

Coming Soon!
Advent Calendar

24 Daily Prizes worth up to £100 and a Christmas Day Star Prize worth £500!
Get an Email
Reminder on 1st Dec