Home

   Log in or Register

Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Rivendale Holiday Park

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > UK > England > Central > Peak District & Derbyshire > Site Reviews

Rivendale Holiday Park
Buxton Rd
Alsop En Le Dale
Ashbourne
Derbyshire   (Browse area)
DE6 1QU   See Map                                 Share Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook
Tel: 01335 310311

Facilities:  (Key)
                     

Nearby:
10m  5m  10m   10m  5m  1m  5m 
Featured Site

Pitches: 120
Open: 1 Feb - 2nd Jan

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 241 Reviews
              8/10 from 241 Reviews


Units accepted:    Tents  Caravans  Motorhomes Caravan Storage Storage  Statics for Hire  Statics on Sale  Glamping 

This site has chosen to use the availability calendar. You can check for availability here.

Special Offer available to UKCampsite.co.uk visitors - see here.

Photos (18)

Reviews:  241 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14   15   16   17   18   19   20   21   22   23   24   25  

Date of Visit: August 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Timpaul63 1 review from this member

What an excellent friendly site, perfect for exploring Ashbourne, Dovedale and walking the Tissington trail, the dog friendly bar had a lovely welcoming family feel with really friendly staff. The toilet and shower block was really clean as was the washing facilities. The shop is well stocked and reasonably priced. Our only slight criticism was the fine grit on the hard standings was easily carried into the van but the actual pitches were superb with plenty of space and privacy, we are already talking of visiting again before the season ends.

Date of Visit: July 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: JillyMac 1 review from this member

This site was easy to find and very close to the Tissington Trail. The check in was easy; though it closes at 5pm. The pitch that we were allocated had hook up facilities and room for an awning but only just. We were squeezed between two dividing hedges opposite the quarry face, not a nice outlook.

The toilet block was clean and had plenty of hot water, there was a children's play area which look well kept and the children were enjoying it.

We visited Buxton, Ashbourne and Bakewell while we were there, Bakewell was very busy on the Monday but it did seem to be market day.

There are other caravan sites in the vicinity with far nicer outlooks and bigger pitches, I would not go here again.

Date of Visit: June 2014 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: K-Lynn 1 review from this member

Just returned from our first camping hol in Peak District. Rivendale is a great site. Pitches good size although due to previous rain some pitches very wet. Toilet block super plenty of toilets, showers, and private wash cubicles plenty of hot water. Always very clean. One down side a good walk from Tent pitches. Bit noisy at weekends but if you can go mon to frid great. Shop good with essentials. Coffee shop very good. Plenty of info from reception staff very helpful. Good play area for children. Plenty to do and see in surrounding area. Big supermarkets in Ashbourne for shopping. Will go back again still lots to see. Bike ride the Monsal Trail. Really good

Date of Visit: May 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Mastiffgy 1 review from this member

Easy to find site with a good and easy check in system. The staff are friendly and helpful even printing some dog friendly website pages for me.

The toilet and shower facilities are very good and clean, however, depending on where you are pitched they could be quite a long walk. Only really a problem after a few pints around the BBQ!

Our pitch, in the Willowbottom area, was quite narrow, only just room for the caravan and awning. This meant that the next unit was just a couple of foot away past the dividing hedge. The pitch was level with hardstanding for the caravan and with the addition of a grass area for the awning made it easier to peg down. The view was a little disappointing with what appeared to be 3 units stored opposite our pitch with overgrown weeds and they were in need of a good clean.

If you have children there is a nice play area, if like us you don't but you do have a dog there are no designated exercise areas just places they are not allowed.

The pub, being a place we could take the dog, was busy (weather was bad) so we had to wait a while for food, however, the food was very good when it did arrive.

The was some noise that continued past midnight from large groups and do be aware of children running and riding around blind corners. Our stay was hampered by bad weather but not one for us in the furture.

Date of Visit: April 2014 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Art red 4 reviews from this member

A large site set in the heart of the Peak District. Lots of choice, tents, caravans, motorhomes, camping pods, yurts.

Great, warm and clean shower and toilet facilities. I especially like the chairs in the shower area. Great space to put clothes / sit down to put on socks etc.

The site has a good well stocked shop. An excellent cafe, great breakfasts, afternoon tea. There is also a small pub on site which does good meals in the evening.

On site play area for the children.

The surrounding area is so beautiful with great walks, lovely villages. The site is right on the Tissington cycle trail. The Manifold trail is also nearby.

The local town of Ashbourne is only 10 mins away (or a couple of hours cycle down the Tissington trail) all the shops you would need and some lovely little cafés.

Date of Visit: May 2014 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Ljamfam 5 reviews from this member

Ideal location if you enjoy walking or cycling. You could not ask for a better area, with the Tissington Trail right on your doorstep and plenty of different 'Dales' to walk through it's just right for folks who like being out in the countryside.

Confused us a bit when after pitching up we noticed an area right next to us which said strictly no dogs but we had a dog. This meant we were supposed to go the other way each time we left our unit to take the dog for a walk. Could not see any point in it and most people ignored the sign.

They do like signs at Rivendale - they are everywhere. The point is that there are so many that you give up reading them.

We were lucky enough to have some good weather which meant the road around the site dried out to a fine white dusty powder. This could be very annoying during a hot summer as it makes sitting outside a bit uncomfortable.

Very nice shower and toilet block but just a bit uncomfortable with CCTV being inside the toilet/shower area. Is that really necessary? I can understand it being on the outside looking at the entry door but inside just seems rather wrong.

Small well stocked shop and very nice cafe but watch out and be careful using your 30 min free wifi. It does not role over if you have unused minutes, you loose them once disconnected.

Would we visit again - yes but mainly due to its location

Date of Visit: April 2014 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Noisydog 2 reviews from this member

Stayed at Rivendale over the Easter Break. The staff where friendly and helpful, and showed me to my pitch. It was a good size, but there was no grass.

The facilities where nice, and kept clean but did get very busy at times.

It is in a easy to access location, close to the high peak trail, Buxton and Ashbourne. It is a nice part of the peak district.

Not very dog friendly however.

Management response: I would like to correct some misapprehensions about dogs at Rivendale.

Dogs that are under control and not dangerous are welcome at Rivendale THROUGHOUT THE PARK except for just 8 pitches at the end of one area - reserved for people who do not like pets.

There is an area for dog walking on the eastern hillside, on the southern field and on footpaths from the site.

Dogs are not allowed in toilet facilities or the children's play area for obvious reasons. They are allowed in the pub and in the café during the day.

We do have dog waste bins - but are installing more.

Date of Visit: May 2014 Unit:  Other Rating:
Reviewer: DEBBIE HUGHES 5 reviews from this member

I'm going to bullet point my review cause it will be easier! We stayed in one of the yurts,

First the positives

. We were given a full refund!

. The main wash room had underfloor heating

. If you want to stay in a caravan (static) this site is aimed at you!

. Bag of logs supplied

Negatives

. Yurt dirty, shabby

. Access very bad to yurt, had to park along way off and carry heavy camping equipment up a hill on a unfinished area

. It rained in and wet our beds, clothes, shoes etc

. No kindling, fire lighters, paper, fire tools or ash emptying vessel

. Facilities too far away, we quickly decided not to use any pots because carrying a heavy bowl of dirty pots to the wash area would have been a nightmare! And fortunately we took our kamping kazi with us!

. No view

Even if the weather had been good, the position and shabbyness of our immediate area and yurt still made us want to leave early, the site owners seriously need to review the term ' Glamping'! :-(

Date of Visit: April 2014 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Elizahigham 13 reviews from this member

Easy to find site, easy access and a pleasant welcome. We were directed to our pitch, and were instantly bombarded with 'dogs not permitted here' notices everywhere! We don't have a dog, but was off putting for our friends who do have a dog! Considering that they charge extra for dogs there was no designated dog area and no dog waste bins. Lovely walks off the site, but across a very fast road which you wouldn't want to cross at night!

Our pitch had no grass and was extremely dusty as the site is in a disused quarry. Every time anyone drove past we were engulfed in dust. Unfortunately it was very windy and dry during our stay and the dust made it very unpleasant to sit out. Some pitches were quite spacious, but ours was very narrow and despite the hedge between each pitch felt very close to our neighbours!

Overall the toilet/shower block was clean and warm. Only five showers in the ladies and unless you got there early queues quickly formed. The water temperature ranged from warm to luke warm.

The chemical disposal point closest to our pitch was disgusting. It was extremely difficult to use. There is a gate across the opening and an awkward step. The flush is right at the back and no one in there right mind is going to lean over this foul pit to reach the handle. This pit is also for the disposal of grey water and again it is extremely difficult to get your, often quite heavy, grey water carrier over the step without getting it covered in unmentionable 'waste'! I met up with several fellow campers who were all of the same mind.

We didn't use the bar or the restaurant but found the cafe very pleasant.

Would I go there again? No, which is a shame as it was a brilliant location for exploring the Peak District.

Management response: I would like to correct some misapprehensions about dogs at Rivendale.

Dogs that are under control and not dangerous are welcome at Rivendale THROUGHOUT THE PARK except for just 8 pitches at the end of one area - reserved for people who do not like pets.

There is an area for dog walking on the eastern hillside, on the southern field and on footpaths from the site.

Dogs are not allowed in toilet facilities or the children's play area for obvious reasons. They are allowed in the pub and in the café during the day.

We do have dog waste bins - but are installing more.

Date of Visit: February 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Sparrowlegs77 14 reviews from this member

The park is very easy to find from Ashbourne with plenty of signs in advance. The check-in process was nice and slick, advised of our pitch on the map and sent off to find it.

The pitch was pretty much pan flat, long and thin so car was parked in front of caravan. Everything on the site is close to hand including plenty of waste water emptying points etc. The toilet block was kept very warm and very clean. Showers were push button and were very warm. The restaurant was not open so cannot comment on that. The shop was well stocked and sells the biodegradable toilet flush which is needed for the site.

The site is very convenient for the Tissington Trail, Ashbourne, Tissington Hall, Carsington Water.

We would definitely stay here again. It was the first weekend of the site being open this year when we went and it was very quiet.

If you come to this site, definitely try the Bluebell inn, its approx. 2 miles down the A515 towards Ashbourne. We ate here both nights and cannot fault it.

Previous     241 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Save to Virtual Brochure  Add this Site to your Virtual Brochure                                Share  Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Submit your Review for a chance to Win Prizes!
Sponsored by the Caravan ClubSubmit a review to UKCampsite.co.uk of any caravan park or campsite, for a chance to win a caravan towing course or motorhome manoeuvring course worth up to £145, or £100 of Amazon vouchers, courtesy of The Caravan Club. Join the Club for just £44 per year to enjoy access to a great range of caravan sites, benefits and special offers.

If you've visited this site, then please submit a review for a chance to win.

Try our town listings   -   Other Sites in Derbyshire   -   Search for a site

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a Coleman Event Shelter from Towsure.com Visit the UKCS shop for exclusive discounts and offers

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Somerset Motorhome Show 12/09 to 14/09 Shepton Mallet
All the latest Motorhomes and a host of accessories. Win Tickets or buy Discounted Day Ticket Offer!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


2145 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend  -  Pensions Auto-enrolment

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews]  [Facebook]

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2014






0.0566