Log in or Register
Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Rivendale Holiday Park

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > UK > England > Central > Peak District & Derbyshire > Site Reviews

Rivendale Holiday Park
Buxton Rd
Alsop En Le Dale
Derbyshire   (Browse area)
DE6 1QU   See Map                                 Share Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook
Tel: 01335 310311

Facilities:  (Key)

Nearby: (within x miles)
10m  5m  10m   10m  5m  1m  5m 
Featured Site

Pitches: 120
Open: 1 Feb - 2nd Jan

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 255 Reviews
              8/10 from 255 Reviews

Units accepted:    Tents  Caravans  Motorhomes Caravan Storage Storage  Statics for Hire  Statics on Sale  Glamping 

This site has chosen to use the availability calendar. You can check for availability here.

Photos (18)

Reviews:  255 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14   15   16   17   18   19   20   21   22   23   24   25   26  

Submit your own Review for a chance to Win 100 of Amazon Vouchers
Win 100 of Amazon vouchersSubmit a review of this site for a chance to win. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win 100 of Amazon vouchers!

Date of Visit: August 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Hairywol 28 reviews from this member

Four nights on our second visit to this pleasant site set, unusually, in a former quarry.

Rivendale is easily found and is remote enough to be quiet while being in easy touring distance of main towns and the Peak District.

Reception is housed with a shop for basics, a very nice tea shop (lovely cakes!) and a pub/restaurant upstairs - a very good resource especially if one doesn't wish to venture off site.

The pub is open from early afternoon and has two main rooms: the larger room, entered first, is family-orientated and child-friendly. The second room is adult-only and is accessed at the rear of the main room. In high season the first room is very lively indeed while the second was never less than peaceful while we were there. Real ale is served at the bar, and a bar menu is also available with good hearty food at reasonable prices.

Tents and touring caravans/motorhomes have separate areas of the site. The tent area is large and grassy though sloping, while caravans are located in a series of cosy areas, all hard-standing, with pitches separated by tall hedges and most with a patch of grass for sitting out. Being a quarry, these areas are rather dusty when the wind is blowing.

The site is served by a single toilet block of ample size - we never found it too busy - and well-cleaned. It is very handy for caravans but a fair trek for tenters (the opposite of ideal but I imagine this is due to laying power and water in such hard ground). For whatever reason the block is protected by keypad entry and also CCTV in the toilet/shower areas! (though I assume they don't point where they shouldn't).

Next to the toilet block is a good-sized playground: the owners have considered those with children.

A minor niggle from me is waste water disposal: I couldn't find anywhere to dispose of grey water except along with black waste. This facility is badly designed and consists of the usual drain but enclosed in a box of around 1. 5 metre wide and high. I consider myself fit and relatively young for a 'vanner, but bending over double while holding waste containers at full stretch to empty them is far from ideal.

The site is also not ideal for dog-owners: while they are allowed in the pub there isn't a dog-walking area on the site (except for an overflow camping area so long as there is no overflow) so they need to be leashed at all times. The countryside around, with much livestock, is also problematic: The pleasant staff at reception were unable to suggest any place where a dog might have a run and fetch a ball.

For country-lovers and ramblers there are several excellent walks straight from the campsite (and of course picnic fare can be bought at the shop).

A good site, well located and with good facilities, we would certainly shortlist if returning to the area.

Date of Visit: August 2015 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Sonnybanks 2 reviews from this member

Just spent the weekend at Rivendale and thoroughly enjoyed it. All the staff were extremely friendly and helpful, nothing was too much trouble. The meals in the pub on site on Friday night( it was raining) were great and reasonable.

It was an experience 'wheelbarrowing' the equipment to the pitch as the cars weren't allowed in the meadow, which put us off walking too far to the other end of the field but wouldn't stop us going again.

Plenty of hot water in the showers- always a bonus !

Will return.

Date of Visit: August 2015 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Maxid321 1 review from this member

We have just returned from a weeks break, the pitch was a perfect size for our 6 man tent the only suggestion is make sure you take a lengthy wire for the electric hookup as the plug point is one between 3 pitches and ours wouldn't reach to the correct entry point in the tent so had to improvise with the wire through the front. The site itself is a very peaceful site with nice clean toilet/showers which are free. You can give freezer packs to the shop for them to freeze at no cost. The playground on site is nice size for our 6 and 8 year old. The on site pub is very quaint and nice food also the cafe is the same. The walks close by are excellent and the shop has the info on all the different walks which the staff are only too happy to advise you the best ones. All in all we had great stay the kids didn't want to come home they made loads of friends. We will definitely be visiting again

Date of Visit: July 2015 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Caroline Wynne 1 review from this member

Great site with provision of wheelbarrows to transport your equipment to the meadow. Shame the grass that had been recently cut hadn't been removed. All in all, lovely position, with on site cafe and pub, and small shop. Facilities clean and hot water always available. Kids loved the wooded areas and rope swing.

Date of Visit: August 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Us nmatt 12 reviews from this member

Not impressed and won't be returning.

We paid 66 for 2 nights including 2 dogs. No dog walking area where you could let your dog off the lead (lots of signs saying dogs excluded from these areas though!) the leaflet says they have 10 acres of dog walking area (oh yeah they said but we've rented that out to campers now!)

No water or waste hook-up.

The pitches and hedges we're unkempt and lacking in any form of care, they were muddy, waterlogged and lacking in grass! the road system around the site was pot holed. All the sludge got walked back into the caravan.

No views from caravan. Over hanging cliffs kept any sunshine off our side til midday.

WC facilities OK but hardly 5* the same dead fly remained on the same window sill remained during Fri-Sun!

Bins overflowing (signs said look for an alternative bin if the one's near you were full) try emptying them daily perhaps!

The shop didn't sell Sunday newspapers.

Only positive was the meal was OK in the bar at night. Didn't cost a fortune and tasted OK.

Date of Visit: May 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Buzzahole 13 reviews from this member

We've used Rivendale quite a few times over the years and have been reasonably happy until our visit in May 2015. The place really seems to have gone downhill.

The pitches and hedges we're unkempt and lacking in any form of care, they were muddy, waterlogged and lacking in grass! We paid 35 per night; the price and expectation that go with that left us feeling very disappointed! The one way road system around the site was pot holed, again demonstrating a complete lack of investment by the owners.

The facilities such as loos and showers were of the usual high standard but it was not enough to see us return. What a shame, with some proper care this site could be superb.

Date of Visit: May 2015 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Tentman40 1 review from this member

Stayed in Meadow on Bank Holiday weekend. Pleasantly surprised at quality of facilities. Looks like a relatively new shower block has been placed close to the Meadow which had ample hot showers and pot wash. Meadow site was not too busy and no rowdiness. Have to park car in car park then carry kit to meadow about 100m, but site provides wheel barrows. Site name is a play on Rivendell as many parts are themed on lord of the rings - the pub is the prancing pony! Had a meal one night in the pub restaurant which was busy, but good quality. Staff were helpful when we needed a map. Handy for a few walks in the area, though the Tissington trail isn't that interesting as much of it is in a cutting which restricts views. Would recommend this site.

Date of Visit: April 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Daflad 4 reviews from this member

Arrived mid afternoon good friday easy check in staff friendly. Found the pitch easy following the map round the one way system. The pitch was large with water and drainage and hook up. With all the heavy rain our grass area was water logged, so we had to put our awning on the gravel. It does state on their web site that rock pegs should be used. A fair sized area is available for kids to play a decent bar. The shop is ok with most essentials. My wife said that the showers were very good with plenty of hot water. The site is in a lovely area with buxton ashbourne both a short drive. A small disappointment was we went to the on site cafe for breakfast but nearly all the tables had reserved cards on for b&b stayers. It was 10 o clock and not one of these tables had a person sat there. We ended up going into buxton. Look out for the fiveways cafe and laundrette on left going in absolute fab b/fast. All in all a nice place we will be going again.

Date of Visit: December 2014 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Two Terriers 10 reviews from this member

A New Year break without the feelgood factor.

Were really looking forward to this break but unfortunately it was a major disappointment.

It was bitterly cold on arrival, after booking in we asked where we could fill the motorhome with water. With a shrug of the shoulders two members of staff stated that the water points were frozen & they didn't know! They then carried on talking to other people. Surely we could have expected better service than this?

The booking information we received had referred to the fact that you needed 'grippy' footwear & that they didn't grit. Ok but you would never expect to be skidding in a 4 ton motorhome just to try to get on your pitch! It was almost impossible to stand upright. Why can't you grit the roadways? Surely it would avert any potential accidents with the ongoing negative publicity this would cause? An overnight thaw then resulted in a muddy mess.

Facilities looked ok but never expected to see a man cleaning out ladies washroom without a sign up.

Customer service is again completely absent as in over 2 weeks we have yet to get a response to our official complaint.

We will not be returning to Rivendale at any time in the future because of the above reasons. Such a shame because it is certainly in a beautiful area.

Date of Visit: August 2014 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Sunshinecamp 2 reviews from this member

Really enjoyed 4 days at this campsite. It was the quietest site I have ever been to although it was relatively busy. No noise after 9. 30-10pm each night. However the noise from the main road did wake me a couple of mornings. Nice small children's play area and good toilet facilities. Very clean and warm. The tent area is a bit of a walk from the toilet block so set out before you're desperate. The cafe on the site sold excellent cakes. The campsite is right next to the Tissington Trail which was great for family cycling as it's an old railway line so very flat. Carsington Water was also good to cycle round (although a bit hillier)and has an excellent free children's play area.

Previous     255 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Save to Virtual Brochure  Add this Site to your Virtual Brochure                                Share  Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Submit a Review for a chance to Win 100 of Amazon Vouchers
Win 100 of Amazon vouchersSubmit a review of any caravan park or campsite, for a chance to win. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win 100 of Amazon vouchers!

If you've visited this site, then please submit a review for a chance to win.

Try our town listings   -   Other Sites in Derbyshire   -   Search for a site

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a Champion 3100 Watt Inverter Petrol Generator Win a Win a One Week Stay at Vauxhall Holiday Park!

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Motorhome & Caravan Show 13 18 October
Occupying eleven huge halls of the NEC, it is guaranteed to be an unmissable event. Win tickets!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions

5781 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend  -  Pensions Auto-enrolment

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2015