Home

   Log in or Register
   
Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Rivendale Holiday Park

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > UK > England > Central > Peak District & Derbyshire > Site Reviews

Rivendale Holiday Park
Buxton Rd
Alsop En Le Dale
Ashbourne
Derbyshire   (Browse area)
DE6 1QU   See Map                                 Share Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook
Tel: 01335 310311

Facilities:  (Key)
                     

Nearby:
10m  5m  10m   10m  5m  1m  5m 
Featured Site

Pitches: 120
Open: 1 Feb - 2nd Jan

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 244 Reviews
              8/10 from 244 Reviews


Units accepted:    Tents  Caravans  Motorhomes Caravan Storage Storage  Statics for Hire  Statics on Sale  Glamping 

This site has chosen to use the availability calendar. You can check for availability here.

Special Offer available to UKCampsite.co.uk visitors - see here.

Photos (18)

Reviews:  244 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14   15   16   17   18   19   20   21   22   23   24   25  

Date of Visit: August 2014 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Sunshinecamp 2 reviews from this member

Really enjoyed 4 days at this campsite. It was the quietest site I have ever been to although it was relatively busy. No noise after 9. 30-10pm each night. However the noise from the main road did wake me a couple of mornings. Nice small children's play area and good toilet facilities. Very clean and warm. The tent area is a bit of a walk from the toilet block so set out before you're desperate. The cafe on the site sold excellent cakes. The campsite is right next to the Tissington Trail which was great for family cycling as it's an old railway line so very flat. Carsington Water was also good to cycle round (although a bit hillier)and has an excellent free children's play area.

Date of Visit: August 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Timpaul63 1 review from this member

What an excellent friendly site, perfect for exploring Ashbourne, Dovedale and walking the Tissington trail, the dog friendly bar had a lovely welcoming family feel with really friendly staff. The toilet and shower block was really clean as was the washing facilities. The shop is well stocked and reasonably priced. Our only slight criticism was the fine grit on the hard standings was easily carried into the van but the actual pitches were superb with plenty of space and privacy, we are already talking of visiting again before the season ends.

Date of Visit: September 2014 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Littlemissbossy13 2 reviews from this member

Beautiful location this is a great campsite if you are in a multi-use group (as we were) needing tent/caravan camping and B&B facilities. They're a 15 min drive from the nearest town, so sensibly have such things as a shop and bar on site. Toilet block was clean and pleasant. They let you have fire pits and you can hire them for a reasonable price, which is lovely when you are there with a group. The 11pm sound curfew was reasonable and everyone on the campsite seemed to stick to it. Almost all the staff were polite and pleasant.

Had we paid less for camping here we might have overlooked some issues, but at the price per tent per night I'd expect a little better.

1) Tent camping is close to a VERY busy arterial road, there are lorries driving at 50-60pm down it all night.

2) Constant strong smell of sewage around the toilet block and car park.

3) The toilet block and shower facilities were inadequate for a camping site of this size.

4) This sounds like a small thing, but, there was only 1 hook on the back of the shower doors (one of those chunky plasticky things that nothing stays on very well). When you're trying to manage clothes, a toilet bag and a towel it's not enough and honestly, how much does it cost to put a few more hooks on the back of the shower doors? The showers were so tight that there wasn't even enough room for a shelf.

5) The biggest gripe was the way that we were spoken to by a member of staff coming and checking our site at around 9:30pm. Apparently we hadn't put the fire-pit on bricks, which somehow, by telepathy we were supposed to know we should have done, given that it came with neither bricks, nor instructions. When it was politely suggested that this could be a strategy for the future, I was met with a whole load of excuses, none of which sounded at all insurmountable to me. Since some of our group had been delayed on the M1 there were a few people arriving. This was met with a serious telling off about ensuring we didn't make noise past curfew. Now, I'd like to straighten out a few things about our group a) We weren't out on a drunken screaming jolly, in fact almost all of us were around 40. B) Chatting round a fire in a completely separate field to the other campers can hardly be construed as 'making a lot of noise' c) We're not children or stupid - in fact I'd suspect the number of PhDs around the campfire went into double figures. I really do appreciate being spoken to as if I'm a paying customer, especially at those prices.

If they could fix those few things, or reduce the price, I'd say it was worth it.

Date of Visit: July 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: JillyMac 1 review from this member

This site was easy to find and very close to the Tissington Trail. The check in was easy; though it closes at 5pm. The pitch that we were allocated had hook up facilities and room for an awning but only just. We were squeezed between two dividing hedges opposite the quarry face, not a nice outlook.

The toilet block was clean and had plenty of hot water, there was a children's play area which look well kept and the children were enjoying it.

We visited Buxton, Ashbourne and Bakewell while we were there, Bakewell was very busy on the Monday but it did seem to be market day.

There are other caravan sites in the vicinity with far nicer outlooks and bigger pitches, I would not go here again.

Date of Visit: June 2014 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: K-Lynn 1 review from this member

Just returned from our first camping hol in Peak District. Rivendale is a great site. Pitches good size although due to previous rain some pitches very wet. Toilet block super plenty of toilets, showers, and private wash cubicles plenty of hot water. Always very clean. One down side a good walk from Tent pitches. Bit noisy at weekends but if you can go mon to frid great. Shop good with essentials. Coffee shop very good. Plenty of info from reception staff very helpful. Good play area for children. Plenty to do and see in surrounding area. Big supermarkets in Ashbourne for shopping. Will go back again still lots to see. Bike ride the Monsal Trail. Really good

Date of Visit: June 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Andypye 8 reviews from this member

First impressions of this site were good. Efficient check in, nice shop, friendly staff etc.

The disappointment came when we got to our alloted pitch. Overgrown shrubs, overgrown grass and litter were the first things we noticed. Pitches are also quite tight.

Facilities block was decent enough, always fairly clean.

Couldn't recommend eating on site I'm afraid, wasn't great and way overpriced.

Wouldn't return, quite disappointing.

Date of Visit: May 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Mastiffgy 1 review from this member

Easy to find site with a good and easy check in system. The staff are friendly and helpful even printing some dog friendly website pages for me.

The toilet and shower facilities are very good and clean, however, depending on where you are pitched they could be quite a long walk. Only really a problem after a few pints around the BBQ!

Our pitch, in the Willowbottom area, was quite narrow, only just room for the caravan and awning. This meant that the next unit was just a couple of foot away past the dividing hedge. The pitch was level with hardstanding for the caravan and with the addition of a grass area for the awning made it easier to peg down. The view was a little disappointing with what appeared to be 3 units stored opposite our pitch with overgrown weeds and they were in need of a good clean.

If you have children there is a nice play area, if like us you don't but you do have a dog there are no designated exercise areas just places they are not allowed.

The pub, being a place we could take the dog, was busy (weather was bad) so we had to wait a while for food, however, the food was very good when it did arrive.

The was some noise that continued past midnight from large groups and do be aware of children running and riding around blind corners. Our stay was hampered by bad weather but not one for us in the furture.

Date of Visit: April 2014 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Art red 4 reviews from this member

A large site set in the heart of the Peak District. Lots of choice, tents, caravans, motorhomes, camping pods, yurts.

Great, warm and clean shower and toilet facilities. I especially like the chairs in the shower area. Great space to put clothes / sit down to put on socks etc.

The site has a good well stocked shop. An excellent cafe, great breakfasts, afternoon tea. There is also a small pub on site which does good meals in the evening.

On site play area for the children.

The surrounding area is so beautiful with great walks, lovely villages. The site is right on the Tissington cycle trail. The Manifold trail is also nearby.

The local town of Ashbourne is only 10 mins away (or a couple of hours cycle down the Tissington trail) all the shops you would need and some lovely little cafés.

Date of Visit: May 2014 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Ljamfam 6 reviews from this member

Ideal location if you enjoy walking or cycling. You could not ask for a better area, with the Tissington Trail right on your doorstep and plenty of different 'Dales' to walk through it's just right for folks who like being out in the countryside.

Confused us a bit when after pitching up we noticed an area right next to us which said strictly no dogs but we had a dog. This meant we were supposed to go the other way each time we left our unit to take the dog for a walk. Could not see any point in it and most people ignored the sign.

They do like signs at Rivendale - they are everywhere. The point is that there are so many that you give up reading them.

We were lucky enough to have some good weather which meant the road around the site dried out to a fine white dusty powder. This could be very annoying during a hot summer as it makes sitting outside a bit uncomfortable.

Very nice shower and toilet block but just a bit uncomfortable with CCTV being inside the toilet/shower area. Is that really necessary? I can understand it being on the outside looking at the entry door but inside just seems rather wrong.

Small well stocked shop and very nice cafe but watch out and be careful using your 30 min free wifi. It does not role over if you have unused minutes, you loose them once disconnected.

Would we visit again - yes but mainly due to its location

Date of Visit: April 2014 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Noisydog 2 reviews from this member

Stayed at Rivendale over the Easter Break. The staff where friendly and helpful, and showed me to my pitch. It was a good size, but there was no grass.

The facilities where nice, and kept clean but did get very busy at times.

It is in a easy to access location, close to the high peak trail, Buxton and Ashbourne. It is a nice part of the peak district.

Not very dog friendly however.

Management response: I would like to correct some misapprehensions about dogs at Rivendale.

Dogs that are under control and not dangerous are welcome at Rivendale THROUGHOUT THE PARK except for just 8 pitches at the end of one area - reserved for people who do not like pets.

There is an area for dog walking on the eastern hillside, on the southern field and on footpaths from the site.

Dogs are not allowed in toilet facilities or the children's play area for obvious reasons. They are allowed in the pub and in the café during the day.

We do have dog waste bins - but are installing more.

Previous     244 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Save to Virtual Brochure  Add this Site to your Virtual Brochure                                Share  Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Submit your Review for a chance to Win Prizes!
Sponsored by the Caravan ClubSubmit a review to UKCampsite.co.uk of any caravan park or campsite, for a chance to win a caravan towing course or motorhome manoeuvring course worth up to £145, or £100 of Amazon vouchers, courtesy of The Caravan Club. Join the Club for just £44 per year to enjoy access to a great range of caravan sites, benefits and special offers.

If you've visited this site, then please submit a review for a chance to win.

Try our town listings   -   Other Sites in Derbyshire   -   Search for a site

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a Vehicle and Personal GPS Tracker from Towsure.com Visit the UKCS shop for exclusive discounts and offers

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Motorhome & Caravan Show 14/10 to 19/10 NEC Birmingham
Back at the NEC Birmingham this autumn - we have 20 pairs of tickets up for grabs

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


597 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend  -  Pensions Auto-enrolment

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews


Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2014




0.0537