Home

   Log in or Register
   
Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Rivendale Holiday Park

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > UK > England > Central > Peak District & Derbyshire > Site Reviews

Rivendale Holiday Park
Buxton Rd
Alsop En Le Dale
Ashbourne
Derbyshire   (Browse area)
DE6 1QU   See Map                                 Share Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook
Tel: 01335 310311

Facilities:  (Key)
                     

Nearby: (within x miles)
10m  5m  10m   10m  5m  1m  5m 
Featured Site

Pitches: 120
Open: 1 Feb - 2nd Jan

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 249 Reviews
              8/10 from 249 Reviews


Units accepted:    Tents  Caravans  Motorhomes Caravan Storage Storage  Statics for Hire  Statics on Sale  Glamping 

This site has chosen to use the availability calendar. You can check for availability here.

Photos (18)

Reviews:  249 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14   15   16   17   18   19   20   21   22   23   24   25  

Submit your own Review for a chance to Win 100 of Amazon Vouchers
Win 100 of Amazon vouchersSubmit a review of this site for a chance to win. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win 100 of Amazon vouchers!

Date of Visit: May 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Buzzahole 13 reviews from this member

We've used Rivendale quite a few times over the years and have been reasonably happy until our visit in May 2015. The place really seems to have gone downhill.

The pitches and hedges we're unkempt and lacking in any form of care, they were muddy, waterlogged and lacking in grass! We paid 35 per night; the price and expectation that go with that left us feeling very disappointed! The one way road system around the site was pot holed, again demonstrating a complete lack of investment by the owners.

The facilities such as loos and showers were of the usual high standard but it was not enough to see us return. What a shame, with some proper care this site could be superb.

Date of Visit: May 2015 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Tentman40 1 review from this member

Stayed in Meadow on Bank Holiday weekend. Pleasantly surprised at quality of facilities. Looks like a relatively new shower block has been placed close to the Meadow which had ample hot showers and pot wash. Meadow site was not too busy and no rowdiness. Have to park car in car park then carry kit to meadow about 100m, but site provides wheel barrows. Site name is a play on Rivendell as many parts are themed on lord of the rings - the pub is the prancing pony! Had a meal one night in the pub restaurant which was busy, but good quality. Staff were helpful when we needed a map. Handy for a few walks in the area, though the Tissington trail isn't that interesting as much of it is in a cutting which restricts views. Would recommend this site.

Date of Visit: April 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Daflad 3 reviews from this member

Arrived mid afternoon good friday easy check in staff friendly. Found the pitch easy following the map round the one way system. The pitch was large with water and drainage and hook up. With all the heavy rain our grass area was water logged, so we had to put our awning on the gravel. It does state on their web site that rock pegs should be used. A fair sized area is available for kids to play a decent bar. The shop is ok with most essentials. My wife said that the showers were very good with plenty of hot water. The site is in a lovely area with buxton ashbourne both a short drive. A small disappointment was we went to the on site cafe for breakfast but nearly all the tables had reserved cards on for b&b stayers. It was 10 o clock and not one of these tables had a person sat there. We ended up going into buxton. Look out for the fiveways cafe and laundrette on left going in absolute fab b/fast. All in all a nice place we will be going again.

Date of Visit: December 2014 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Two Terriers 10 reviews from this member

A New Year break without the feelgood factor.

Were really looking forward to this break but unfortunately it was a major disappointment.

It was bitterly cold on arrival, after booking in we asked where we could fill the motorhome with water. With a shrug of the shoulders two members of staff stated that the water points were frozen & they didn't know! They then carried on talking to other people. Surely we could have expected better service than this?

The booking information we received had referred to the fact that you needed 'grippy' footwear & that they didn't grit. Ok but you would never expect to be skidding in a 4 ton motorhome just to try to get on your pitch! It was almost impossible to stand upright. Why can't you grit the roadways? Surely it would avert any potential accidents with the ongoing negative publicity this would cause? An overnight thaw then resulted in a muddy mess.

Facilities looked ok but never expected to see a man cleaning out ladies washroom without a sign up.

Customer service is again completely absent as in over 2 weeks we have yet to get a response to our official complaint.

We will not be returning to Rivendale at any time in the future because of the above reasons. Such a shame because it is certainly in a beautiful area.

Date of Visit: August 2014 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Sunshinecamp 2 reviews from this member

Really enjoyed 4 days at this campsite. It was the quietest site I have ever been to although it was relatively busy. No noise after 9. 30-10pm each night. However the noise from the main road did wake me a couple of mornings. Nice small children's play area and good toilet facilities. Very clean and warm. The tent area is a bit of a walk from the toilet block so set out before you're desperate. The cafe on the site sold excellent cakes. The campsite is right next to the Tissington Trail which was great for family cycling as it's an old railway line so very flat. Carsington Water was also good to cycle round (although a bit hillier)and has an excellent free children's play area.

Date of Visit: September 2014 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Glampingtime 3 reviews from this member

This is a large campsite with a very broad range of facilities and we camped over a long weekend as part of a group. All modes of camping are provided for, from motorhomes to tents, and there's a B&B on site for those who don't want to camp.

Modern toilet, shower and washing blocks are provided and these were clean and well-maintained although there was a fairly strong smell of faeces coming from the manhole covers outside one of the blocks (fortunately well away from the camping areas).

Camping is provided in two fields, both of which are reasonable flat and easy to pitch on. Unfortunately, one of the fields - the one we were in - is also adjacent to a main road which carries quarry traffic, right through the night.

The main issue we had was with the customer service which alternated between lazy and actually rude. When we arrived on the site, we struggled to find anyone who could tell us where we were supposed to camp, which resulted in us half-pitching in the 'wrong' location and having to move everything. Then, later on at about 8pm we were sitting around our campfire chatting away and a very rude and self-important warden came over to demand that we put the fire pit up on blocks (not provided). When it was pointed out to him that no blocks or instructions of any kind were provide, we were met with a barrage of excuses.

When paying top notch for a campsite (this is one of the most expensive sites in the Peaks), one expects the service to be at least courteous - sadly this was not our experience at Rivendale. This is a shame, because with all the facilities, it could potentially be a great place to stay. Until they sort out their staffing though, I couldn't recommend it.

Date of Visit: August 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Timpaul63 2 reviews from this member

What an excellent friendly site, perfect for exploring Ashbourne, Dovedale and walking the Tissington trail, the dog friendly bar had a lovely welcoming family feel with really friendly staff. The toilet and shower block was really clean as was the washing facilities. The shop is well stocked and reasonably priced. Our only slight criticism was the fine grit on the hard standings was easily carried into the van but the actual pitches were superb with plenty of space and privacy, we are already talking of visiting again before the season ends.

Date of Visit: September 2014 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Littlemissbossy13 3 reviews from this member

Beautiful location this is a great campsite if you are in a multi-use group (as we were) needing tent/caravan camping and B&B facilities. They're a 15 min drive from the nearest town, so sensibly have such things as a shop and bar on site. Toilet block was clean and pleasant. They let you have fire pits and you can hire them for a reasonable price, which is lovely when you are there with a group. The 11pm sound curfew was reasonable and everyone on the campsite seemed to stick to it. Almost all the staff were polite and pleasant.

Had we paid less for camping here we might have overlooked some issues, but at the price per tent per night I'd expect a little better.

1) Tent camping is close to a VERY busy arterial road, there are lorries driving at 50-60pm down it all night.

2) Constant strong smell of sewage around the toilet block and car park.

3) The toilet block and shower facilities were inadequate for a camping site of this size.

4) This sounds like a small thing, but, there was only 1 hook on the back of the shower doors (one of those chunky plasticky things that nothing stays on very well). When you're trying to manage clothes, a toilet bag and a towel it's not enough and honestly, how much does it cost to put a few more hooks on the back of the shower doors? The showers were so tight that there wasn't even enough room for a shelf.

5) The biggest gripe was the way that we were spoken to by a member of staff coming and checking our site at around 9:30pm. Apparently we hadn't put the fire-pit on bricks, which somehow, by telepathy we were supposed to know we should have done, given that it came with neither bricks, nor instructions. When it was politely suggested that this could be a strategy for the future, I was met with a whole load of excuses, none of which sounded at all insurmountable to me. Since some of our group had been delayed on the M1 there were a few people arriving. This was met with a serious telling off about ensuring we didn't make noise past curfew. Now, I'd like to straighten out a few things about our group a) We weren't out on a drunken screaming jolly, in fact almost all of us were around 40. B) Chatting round a fire in a completely separate field to the other campers can hardly be construed as 'making a lot of noise' c) We're not children or stupid - in fact I'd suspect the number of PhDs around the campfire went into double figures. I really do appreciate being spoken to as if I'm a paying customer, especially at those prices.

If they could fix those few things, or reduce the price, I'd say it was worth it.

Date of Visit: July 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: JillyMac 1 review from this member

This site was easy to find and very close to the Tissington Trail. The check in was easy; though it closes at 5pm. The pitch that we were allocated had hook up facilities and room for an awning but only just. We were squeezed between two dividing hedges opposite the quarry face, not a nice outlook.

The toilet block was clean and had plenty of hot water, there was a children's play area which look well kept and the children were enjoying it.

We visited Buxton, Ashbourne and Bakewell while we were there, Bakewell was very busy on the Monday but it did seem to be market day.

There are other caravan sites in the vicinity with far nicer outlooks and bigger pitches, I would not go here again.

Date of Visit: June 2014 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: K-Lynn 1 review from this member

Just returned from our first camping hol in Peak District. Rivendale is a great site. Pitches good size although due to previous rain some pitches very wet. Toilet block super plenty of toilets, showers, and private wash cubicles plenty of hot water. Always very clean. One down side a good walk from Tent pitches. Bit noisy at weekends but if you can go mon to frid great. Shop good with essentials. Coffee shop very good. Plenty of info from reception staff very helpful. Good play area for children. Plenty to do and see in surrounding area. Big supermarkets in Ashbourne for shopping. Will go back again still lots to see. Bike ride the Monsal Trail. Really good

Previous     249 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Save to Virtual Brochure  Add this Site to your Virtual Brochure                                Share  Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Submit a Review for a chance to Win 100 of Amazon Vouchers
Win 100 of Amazon vouchersSubmit a review of any caravan park or campsite, for a chance to win. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win 100 of Amazon vouchers!

If you've visited this site, then please submit a review for a chance to win.

Try our town listings   -   Other Sites in Derbyshire   -   Search for a site

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a Highlander Aeolus 4 Air Frame Tent Visit the UKCS shop for exclusive discounts and offers

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Elvaston Steam Rally and Camping Weekend 4th to 5th July
HURRY Advanced booking now open - 3 nights camping in any unit, and admission to rally all weekend

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


8054 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend  -  Pensions Auto-enrolment

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2015






0.0547