Log in or Register

Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Rivendale Holiday Park

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > UK > England > Central > Peak District & Derbyshire > Site Reviews

Rivendale Holiday Park
Buxton Rd
Alsop En Le Dale
Derbyshire   (Browse area)
DE6 1QU   See Map                                 Share Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook
Tel: 01335 310311

Facilities:  (Key)

Nearby: (within x miles)
10m  5m  10m   10m  5m  1m  5m 
Featured Site

Pitches: 120
Open: 1 Feb - 2nd Jan

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 263 Reviews
              8/10 from 263 Reviews

Units accepted:    Tents  Caravans  Motorhomes Caravan Storage Storage  Statics for Hire  Statics on Sale  Glamping 

This site has chosen to use the availability calendar. You can check for availability here.

Photos (18)

Reviews:  263 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14   15   16   17   18   19   20   21   22   23   24   25   26   27  

Submit your own Review for a chance to Win £100!
Win £100Submit a review of this site for your chance to win £100 of Caravan Club vouchers or £100 of Amazon vouchers, courtesy of this month's sponsor, The Caravan Club. Join The Club from just £48 per year to enjoy access to over 2,700 sites, exclusive member benefits and site special offers.

Date of Visit: September 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Rickus 1 review from this member

A mixed experience as others have reported. Staff very friendly and helpful generally. However we also suffered from the odd system for pitch allocation. Just as others reported below, we were given pitch 33 on arrival and told that this was the best available. A small pitch but our caravan is small. There were many larger vacant pitches. After our planned two nights we needed an extra night and were told we had to vacate pitch 33 and move - to a much nicer and much bigger pitch opposite - which had been vacant throughout. Pitch 33 was then occupied - by a large caravan and two cars, completely squashed in! Mystifying. Toilets and showers good, site in a great setting, handy for bike rides, toilet and grey water points difficult to find - despite a plethora of 'dos and don'ts' signs throughout the site. A mixed bag overall. Won't go again, don't need the hassle!

Date of Visit: August 2016 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Pepper_cat 2 reviews from this member

We stayed in the Meadow Field for 4 nights as we wanted to have a fire pit in the evenings and brought our own with us. We had a lovely time and the facilities were more than adequate, everyone who worked there were friendly, polite and cheerfully helpful. Great hot showers available in the small but very clean nearest block next to the fields away from the caravan area. The campsite cafe was very pretty and the food was fabulous, we also had a very enjoyable meal in the pub one evening, really good wholesome food, and the views from our tent were amazing before the rain came over. We also enjoyed a walk along the old railway line directly accessed from the campsite across the road. Our kids were over the moon to have two rope swings to play on in the woods. That's all they needed to have a great time dashing around while we faffed about with the tents etc. Despite the unfortunate weather we had over the weekend we visited Bakewell (very pretty, with lovely shops) and Buxton twice, as well as a nearby pub for an evening meal 20 minutes north of the site. We also visited the Poole canverns, spooky! Didn't make it on to the Heights of Abraham but the town Matlock was great to explore too. Will definitely consider another trip back.

Date of Visit: August 2016 Unit:  Other Rating:
Reviewer: Bypass 1 review from this member

I and my wife stayed at, Rivendale to have a look around as a possible camping site for next year, we were not under impressed with the site easy access to public transport during the week but not so easy at weekends, but over all a good family friendly site.

Date of Visit: July 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Sunncamp owner 8 reviews from this member

Stayed end of july with two kids aged 4 and eight and also with some friend with kids of similar age. First world problems are that phone reception on the site is almost nothing, chances of any internet nil. My tv Ariel which has failed to let my down as of yet really struggled to find a picture of any quality too. Ok so the site itself is quite nice, the reception, café and small pub well presented, food was quickly served and ok for the money. Toilets were very clean and we also hired a hot tub which was a bit of a novelty! some of the pitches in my opinion were awful and had we ended up on them I would have been very unhappy indeed, however the pitches we were on were of a good size with plenty space for the awning, be warned though the hard standing has got to be the hardest thing I have ever tried to peg into! All in all the place had a nice feel to it, the play park seemed nice and safe for the kids and overall we enjoyed our stay but would probably not rush back sorry. I have scored it quite well but had I been on some of the other pitches it would have been very different.

Date of Visit: August 2016 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: Dot P 442 reviews from this member

Just read the previous review and strange we experienced a very similar experience. On arrival given our pitch, which we found to be most shady and small on the site. It was a double pitch - which we were due to share with someone sleeping in their car!

We had paid in advance for the full stay so didn't have the option to go elsewhere. So we we went back to reception and asked to move, they were very pleasant about it and said we could move but that the weekend was so full very few other pitches. We moved to a slightly better pitch, but over the weekend there were numerous pitches empty, all much bigger with plenty of sunshine, no mud, and not stuck in among the empty seasonal vans.

On the plus side, the site is well kept, the loos and showers old but always clean. There were queues in the showers each morning, only 4 showers in the ladies and with many people taking children there wasn't enough showers by a long shot.

We thought the price high at £27. 50 for a pitch with ehu - fully serviced were extra. Even tents were paying the same rate, the convenience of a bar, cafe and shop on site possibly result in the high charge. Wifi is available and charged at £6 per day per device.

The staff were friendly and helpful, people were working constantly to keep everything tidy. After a noisy night with a large party the owners swiftly remove several vans the following morning.

The site is just a few yards away from an access to the Tissington Trail, across a busy road but then over 20 miles of off road cycling which is very family friendly.

For us, they let themselves down allocating one of the worst pitches to us when they had plenty of really good pitches available. Add that to one of the most expensive sites we have used and we wouldn't visit again. That said, many families and groups would probably love the place just not for us.

Date of Visit: June 2016 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Timndelia 2 reviews from this member

Previously visited Rivendale twice before, both times over 10 years ago and thought the site very good. Just back from 3 night stay and things have changed. Still the excellent (probably improved) cycle trails and walks and the site is in an excellent location. However, on arrival we were offered pitch 33 to which we drove. Amazing; the smallest wedge shaped, hard surfaced, gravel type pitch on the site which was probably only 10% full on the touring area. We rang reception and changed to a larger pitch with a small grass area to sit on. Disappointing that the pitch that should probably the last to be allocated was the first! A motorhome arrived just after us and was given the pitch next to 33 which was only very slightly larger. They stayed but had to sit behind their 'van. A Dutch couple in a caravan arrived next; they were given pitch 33. Amazing given the number of lovely unoccupied pitches all around. What a way to welcome our European friends! They had to park the caravan in the wedge, car in front and sit on a tiny patch at the back, obscured from the views!

The facilities are tired but adequate.

We had good weather apart from a short burst of rain the evening before we left. Expecting to empty our waste tank on the way out at 10am we were surprised to find the cover about 6 inches under dirty muddy water; obviously blocked. We drove away with three days of grey water.

Apart from these things we had a good stay. Wouldn't return though as the site doesn't seem as open as 10 years ago with hedges and trees taking over.

Date of Visit: March 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Petengail 15 reviews from this member

Went to Rivendale for a birthday weekend away and was really impressed with the site. The people on reception was very helpful and seemed to be everywhere(bar, shop, reception and around the site). Toilets/showers immaculate and warm. Tissington trail just across road and a great bike ride to Ashbourne would deffo go again.

Date of Visit: February 2016 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Nudger001 2 reviews from this member

A little bit pricey at £25 per night, but lovely quiet site with good access to Buxton, Ashbourne etc. All the facilities were modern and clean. The staff were very friendly. Went to the bar on Friday night with some friends and ate, reasonably priced and good, wholesome food. Would we return, yes.

Date of Visit: August 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Hairywol 29 reviews from this member

Four nights on our second visit to this pleasant site set, unusually, in a former quarry.

Rivendale is easily found and is remote enough to be quiet while being in easy touring distance of main towns and the Peak District.

Reception is housed with a shop for basics, a very nice tea shop (lovely cakes!) and a pub/restaurant upstairs - a very good resource especially if one doesn't wish to venture off site.

The pub is open from early afternoon and has two main rooms: the larger room, entered first, is family-orientated and child-friendly. The second room is adult-only and is accessed at the rear of the main room. In high season the first room is very lively indeed while the second was never less than peaceful while we were there. Real ale is served at the bar, and a bar menu is also available with good hearty food at reasonable prices.

Tents and touring caravans/motorhomes have separate areas of the site. The tent area is large and grassy though sloping, while caravans are located in a series of cosy areas, all hard-standing, with pitches separated by tall hedges and most with a patch of grass for sitting out. Being a quarry, these areas are rather dusty when the wind is blowing.

The site is served by a single toilet block of ample size - we never found it too busy - and well-cleaned. It is very handy for caravans but a fair trek for tenters (the opposite of ideal but I imagine this is due to laying power and water in such hard ground). For whatever reason the block is protected by keypad entry and also CCTV in the toilet/shower areas! (though I assume they don't point where they shouldn't).

Next to the toilet block is a good-sized playground: the owners have considered those with children.

A minor niggle from me is waste water disposal: I couldn't find anywhere to dispose of grey water except along with black waste. This facility is badly designed and consists of the usual drain but enclosed in a box of around 1. 5 metre wide and high. I consider myself fit and relatively young for a 'vanner, but bending over double while holding waste containers at full stretch to empty them is far from ideal.

The site is also not ideal for dog-owners: while they are allowed in the pub there isn't a dog-walking area on the site (except for an overflow camping area so long as there is no overflow) so they need to be leashed at all times. The countryside around, with much livestock, is also problematic: The pleasant staff at reception were unable to suggest any place where a dog might have a run and fetch a ball.

For country-lovers and ramblers there are several excellent walks straight from the campsite (and of course picnic fare can be bought at the shop).

A good site, well located and with good facilities, we would certainly shortlist if returning to the area.

Date of Visit: August 2015 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Sonnybanks 2 reviews from this member

Just spent the weekend at Rivendale and thoroughly enjoyed it. All the staff were extremely friendly and helpful, nothing was too much trouble. The meals in the pub on site on Friday night( it was raining) were great and reasonable.

It was an experience 'wheelbarrowing' the equipment to the pitch as the cars weren't allowed in the meadow, which put us off walking too far to the other end of the field but wouldn't stop us going again.

Plenty of hot water in the showers- always a bonus !

Will return.

Previous     263 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Save to Virtual Brochure  Add this Site to your Virtual Brochure                                Share  Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Submit a Review for a chance to Win £100!
Sponsored by the Caravan ClubSubmit a review to UKCampsite.co.uk of any caravan park or campsite for your chance to win your choice of £100 of Caravan Club vouchers or £100 of Amazon vouchers, courtesy of this month's sponsor, The Caravan Club

If you've visited this site, then please submit a review for a chance to win.

Try our town listings   -   Other Sites in Derbyshire   -   Search for a site

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a pair of OLPRO Hush Sleeping Bags worth £48.00 Win a HandiMoova Off-road Foldable Hand Trolley!

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Beat at Tencreek 60s Weekend, Cornwall - 14th to 16th October
A Sounds of the Swinging Sixties long weekend concert with camping on site ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions

6206 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend  -  Pensions Auto-enrolment

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2016