Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Rivendale Holiday Park

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > UK > England > Central > Peak District & Derbyshire > Site Reviews

Rivendale Holiday Park
Buxton Rd
Alsop En Le Dale
Ashbourne
Derbyshire   (Browse area)
DE6 1QU   See Map                                 Share Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook
Tel: 01335 310311

Facilities:  (Key)
                     

Nearby: (within x miles)
10m  5m  10m   10m  5m  1m  5m 
Featured Site

Pitches: 120
Open: 1 Feb - 2nd Jan

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 258 Reviews
              8/10 from 258 Reviews


Units accepted:    Tents  Caravans  Motorhomes Caravan Storage Storage  Statics for Hire  Statics on Sale  Glamping 

This site has chosen to use the availability calendar. You can check for availability here.

Photos (18)

Reviews:  258 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14   15   16   17   18   19   20   21   22   23   24   25   26  

Submit your own Review for a chance to Win 100!
Win 100Submit a review of this site for your chance to win 100 of Caravan Club vouchers or 100 of Amazon vouchers, courtesy of this month's sponsor, The Caravan Club. Join The Club from just 48 per year to enjoy access to over 2,700 sites, exclusive member benefits and site special offers.

Date of Visit: June 2016 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Timndelia 2 reviews from this member

Previously visited Rivendale twice before, both times over 10 years ago and thought the site very good. Just back from 3 night stay and things have changed. Still the excellent (probably improved) cycle trails and walks and the site is in an excellent location. However, on arrival we were offered pitch 33 to which we drove. Amazing; the smallest wedge shaped, hard surfaced, gravel type pitch on the site which was probably only 10% full on the touring area. We rang reception and changed to a larger pitch with a small grass area to sit on. Disappointing that the pitch that should probably the last to be allocated was the first! A motorhome arrived just after us and was given the pitch next to 33 which was only very slightly larger. They stayed but had to sit behind their 'van. A Dutch couple in a caravan arrived next; they were given pitch 33. Amazing given the number of lovely unoccupied pitches all around. What a way to welcome our European friends! They had to park the caravan in the wedge, car in front and sit on a tiny patch at the back, obscured from the views!

The facilities are tired but adequate.

We had good weather apart from a short burst of rain the evening before we left. Expecting to empty our waste tank on the way out at 10am we were surprised to find the cover about 6 inches under dirty muddy water; obviously blocked. We drove away with three days of grey water.

Apart from these things we had a good stay. Wouldn't return though as the site doesn't seem as open as 10 years ago with hedges and trees taking over.

Date of Visit: March 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Petengail 15 reviews from this member

Went to Rivendale for a birthday weekend away and was really impressed with the site. The people on reception was very helpful and seemed to be everywhere(bar, shop, reception and around the site). Toilets/showers immaculate and warm. Tissington trail just across road and a great bike ride to Ashbourne would deffo go again.

Date of Visit: February 2016 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Nudger001 2 reviews from this member

A little bit pricey at 25 per night, but lovely quiet site with good access to Buxton, Ashbourne etc. All the facilities were modern and clean. The staff were very friendly. Went to the bar on Friday night with some friends and ate, reasonably priced and good, wholesome food. Would we return, yes.

Date of Visit: August 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Hairywol 29 reviews from this member

Four nights on our second visit to this pleasant site set, unusually, in a former quarry.

Rivendale is easily found and is remote enough to be quiet while being in easy touring distance of main towns and the Peak District.

Reception is housed with a shop for basics, a very nice tea shop (lovely cakes!) and a pub/restaurant upstairs - a very good resource especially if one doesn't wish to venture off site.

The pub is open from early afternoon and has two main rooms: the larger room, entered first, is family-orientated and child-friendly. The second room is adult-only and is accessed at the rear of the main room. In high season the first room is very lively indeed while the second was never less than peaceful while we were there. Real ale is served at the bar, and a bar menu is also available with good hearty food at reasonable prices.

Tents and touring caravans/motorhomes have separate areas of the site. The tent area is large and grassy though sloping, while caravans are located in a series of cosy areas, all hard-standing, with pitches separated by tall hedges and most with a patch of grass for sitting out. Being a quarry, these areas are rather dusty when the wind is blowing.

The site is served by a single toilet block of ample size - we never found it too busy - and well-cleaned. It is very handy for caravans but a fair trek for tenters (the opposite of ideal but I imagine this is due to laying power and water in such hard ground). For whatever reason the block is protected by keypad entry and also CCTV in the toilet/shower areas! (though I assume they don't point where they shouldn't).

Next to the toilet block is a good-sized playground: the owners have considered those with children.

A minor niggle from me is waste water disposal: I couldn't find anywhere to dispose of grey water except along with black waste. This facility is badly designed and consists of the usual drain but enclosed in a box of around 1. 5 metre wide and high. I consider myself fit and relatively young for a 'vanner, but bending over double while holding waste containers at full stretch to empty them is far from ideal.

The site is also not ideal for dog-owners: while they are allowed in the pub there isn't a dog-walking area on the site (except for an overflow camping area so long as there is no overflow) so they need to be leashed at all times. The countryside around, with much livestock, is also problematic: The pleasant staff at reception were unable to suggest any place where a dog might have a run and fetch a ball.

For country-lovers and ramblers there are several excellent walks straight from the campsite (and of course picnic fare can be bought at the shop).

A good site, well located and with good facilities, we would certainly shortlist if returning to the area.

Date of Visit: August 2015 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Sonnybanks 2 reviews from this member

Just spent the weekend at Rivendale and thoroughly enjoyed it. All the staff were extremely friendly and helpful, nothing was too much trouble. The meals in the pub on site on Friday night( it was raining) were great and reasonable.

It was an experience 'wheelbarrowing' the equipment to the pitch as the cars weren't allowed in the meadow, which put us off walking too far to the other end of the field but wouldn't stop us going again.

Plenty of hot water in the showers- always a bonus !

Will return.

Date of Visit: August 2015 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Maxid321 1 review from this member

We have just returned from a weeks break, the pitch was a perfect size for our 6 man tent the only suggestion is make sure you take a lengthy wire for the electric hookup as the plug point is one between 3 pitches and ours wouldn't reach to the correct entry point in the tent so had to improvise with the wire through the front. The site itself is a very peaceful site with nice clean toilet/showers which are free. You can give freezer packs to the shop for them to freeze at no cost. The playground on site is nice size for our 6 and 8 year old. The on site pub is very quaint and nice food also the cafe is the same. The walks close by are excellent and the shop has the info on all the different walks which the staff are only too happy to advise you the best ones. All in all we had great stay the kids didn't want to come home they made loads of friends. We will definitely be visiting again

Date of Visit: July 2015 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Caroline Wynne 1 review from this member

Great site with provision of wheelbarrows to transport your equipment to the meadow. Shame the grass that had been recently cut hadn't been removed. All in all, lovely position, with on site cafe and pub, and small shop. Facilities clean and hot water always available. Kids loved the wooded areas and rope swing.

Date of Visit: August 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Us nmatt 12 reviews from this member

Not impressed and won't be returning.

We paid 66 for 2 nights including 2 dogs. No dog walking area where you could let your dog off the lead (lots of signs saying dogs excluded from these areas though!) the leaflet says they have 10 acres of dog walking area (oh yeah they said but we've rented that out to campers now!)

No water or waste hook-up.

The pitches and hedges we're unkempt and lacking in any form of care, they were muddy, waterlogged and lacking in grass! the road system around the site was pot holed. All the sludge got walked back into the caravan.

No views from caravan. Over hanging cliffs kept any sunshine off our side til midday.

WC facilities OK but hardly 5* the same dead fly remained on the same window sill remained during Fri-Sun!

Bins overflowing (signs said look for an alternative bin if the one's near you were full) try emptying them daily perhaps!

The shop didn't sell Sunday newspapers.

Only positive was the meal was OK in the bar at night. Didn't cost a fortune and tasted OK.

Date of Visit: May 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Buzzahole 13 reviews from this member

We've used Rivendale quite a few times over the years and have been reasonably happy until our visit in May 2015. The place really seems to have gone downhill.

The pitches and hedges we're unkempt and lacking in any form of care, they were muddy, waterlogged and lacking in grass! We paid 35 per night; the price and expectation that go with that left us feeling very disappointed! The one way road system around the site was pot holed, again demonstrating a complete lack of investment by the owners.

The facilities such as loos and showers were of the usual high standard but it was not enough to see us return. What a shame, with some proper care this site could be superb.

Date of Visit: May 2015 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Tentman40 1 review from this member

Stayed in Meadow on Bank Holiday weekend. Pleasantly surprised at quality of facilities. Looks like a relatively new shower block has been placed close to the Meadow which had ample hot showers and pot wash. Meadow site was not too busy and no rowdiness. Have to park car in car park then carry kit to meadow about 100m, but site provides wheel barrows. Site name is a play on Rivendell as many parts are themed on lord of the rings - the pub is the prancing pony! Had a meal one night in the pub restaurant which was busy, but good quality. Staff were helpful when we needed a map. Handy for a few walks in the area, though the Tissington trail isn't that interesting as much of it is in a cutting which restricts views. Would recommend this site.

Previous     258 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Save to Virtual Brochure  Add this Site to your Virtual Brochure                                Share  Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Submit a Review for a chance to Win 100!
Sponsored by the Caravan ClubSubmit a review to UKCampsite.co.uk of any caravan park or campsite for your chance to win your choice of 100 of Caravan Club vouchers or 100 of Amazon vouchers, courtesy of this month's sponsor, The Caravan Club. Join The Club from just 48 per year to enjoy access to over 2,700 sites, exclusive member benefits and site special offers.

If you've visited this site, then please submit a review for a chance to win.

Try our town listings   -   Other Sites in Derbyshire   -   Search for a site

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win an Outwell Mains Package Win a HandiMoova Off-road Foldable Hand Trolley

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Elvaston Steam Rally in Derbyshire - 1st to 4th July
An amazing fun weekend for all the family. Plus you can camp on site from Friday to Monday. Find out more and download the booking form

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


1228 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend  -  Pensions Auto-enrolment

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2016






0.1094