Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Highfield Tourer Park

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > UK > Scotland > Argyll > Site Reviews

Highfield Tourer Park
3 Kiel Croft
Benderloch
Oban
Argyll   (Browse area)
PA37 1QS   See Map                                 Share Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook
Tel: 01631 720262

Facilities:  (Key)
       

Nearby: (within x miles)
1m  5m  1m  1m  1m   1m 

Pitches:
Open: Open All Year

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 16 Reviews
              9/10 from 16 Reviews


Units accepted:   No Tents  Caravans  Motorhomes  Glamping 

Reviews:  16 in total, now showing 1 to 6                 Previous 6          Next 6
Jump to Page   1   2   3  

Write your own Review for a chance to Win £300 of Prizes!
Sponsored by Ordnance SurveyWin £200 Walkers Camping Kit and Tent AND £100 of Amazon vouchers, courtesy of our sponsor Ordnance Survey If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Further info and prize details here

Date of Visit: September 2017 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Plinsky 15 reviews from this member

Stopped here for a one night stay. On arrival, Kevin (the warden) came to introduce himself and was exceptionally friendly and helpful.

We stayed in of the CL pitches with water, electrics and TV areal. Plenty of room with each pitch having its own garden bench / table. Lovely walk to the beach, perfect for our dog. This was a superb one night stop for us. Plans for expansion have been granted so next year will grow to 50 pitches with shower and toilets facilities.

Date of Visit: May 2017 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: PilgrimPhil 66 reviews from this member

We stopped off here again in May 2017 [Sept 2014 was our first visit] as we were due to head from Oban to Barra as the first part of our Outer Hebrides trip.

The actual site was exactly as before with hardstandings, power & water at each pitch. There was also a TV point which we didn’t get to use as we managed to get a signal with the van aerial.

The site is no longer a Certificated Location under the Caravan & Motorhome Club banner so they have six pitches rather than the regulation five. There appears to be an upgrade programme in place involving Camping Pods & a Rally Field.

Site fees were £16 per night, which we thought was fair.

The site manager was very efficient and came down to welcome us and hand us an information pack about what to do in the area.

We only expected to stay the one night but the Calmac ferry from Oban to Castlebay [Barra] was cancelled, so we needed to stay on an extra night. Thankfully this was no problem.

The Tralee Fish & Chip shop was still there & we were disappointed that they weren’t open on the Tuesday that we were there. But, as we had to stay over an extra night, we found that they were open on the Wednesday. Thus a plus point was that CalMac paid for our fish & chip supper as par

Date of Visit: January 2016 Unit:  Other
Reviewer: Webmaster

Please note that as of the 2016 season, this site is under new ownership, and is no longer a Caravan Club Certificated Location.

Date of Visit: September 2014 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: PilgrimPhil 66 reviews from this member

We only stayed here one night to break the journey from the north east of Skye to catch the next day mid afternoon Islay ferry from Kennacraig. Although we had mobile signal issues on Skye when trying to contact the site, Elaine responded promptly to our emergency by leaving a voice mail message stating that she had a pitch for the night in question.

The site is easy to find, just off the A828 at Benderloch a few miles north of Oban, and the CL is actually called “Highfield 1” and is first on the left as you enter the driveway. It is all hardstanding with a dedicated EHU, water & TV aerial. When checking in you are given a detailed information pack for the area and there is also a note on the fence by your pitch confirming who each is one is allocated to – both are nice touches & not something that you come across very often.

Supper was instantly sorted out when it was discovered that there was a fish & ship shop about 200 yards along the road that was attached to the Tralee Bay Holidays caravan site. We would thoroughly recommend a visit!

Directly across the road from the site driveway is a track down to the wide expanse of sandy beach [approx. 400m] which was ideal for a quick dog walk before heading off.

There is another all grass caravan site [Highfield 2] further down the track adjacent to the owner’s house as well as a rally field adjacent to the CL but neither interfered with our brief stay.

As other reviews have said, this is a “good ‘un” and it is everything that we think a CL should be.

Date of Visit: September 2013 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Terrylynn+flynn 20 reviews from this member

Stayed recently for one night whilst travelling back home from Outer Hebrides.

Arrived to find our pitch marked with our name so parked up and owner visited later to welcome us. Very friendly owner gave us info pack on surrounding area and pointed out where everything was. Pitches very spacious hardstanding with electric, fresh water tap and TV aerial connection.

As only stayed one night can't comment on area but did walk to beach approx 400m with the dog. Would have liked to stay longer and would definitely stay again if in the area. Would recommend to anyone prepared to use van's own facilities.

Good value at £12 per night.

Date of Visit: July 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: JuliePooley 8 reviews from this member

We have recently returned from a fantastic stay at this beautifully laid out CL. All the pitches are hard standing and have their own electric and fresh water supply. You can park facing anyway on the pitch - we went on forwards to enjoy the view of the Benderloch Hills. You park your car opposite your pitch which is great. The owner is extremely friendly, greeting us on our arrival with a welcome pack full of information on things to do in the local area. We were fortunate to have great weather and there was nothing nicer than sitting outside the van first thing in the morning in the sun with a brew! A short walk takes you to the beach and a 15 minute walk into Benderloch to the local shop. There was a fantastic four mile circular walk/run from the site (shown in the cycle leaflet given to us). The views are fantastic and most of the route is on the quiet country lane or cycle path. A short drive into Oban for the large supermarket which was also very scenic over the Connel Bridge and along the coast. Oban is a beautiful town and you must sample the seafood from the 'shack' located on the pier near to the ferry terminal. We had a sharing platter which was excellent value for money and packed with seafood. I also had my first try of an oyster - think it may be my last too - I'll stick to prawns! We went on a trip on a RIB Boat to see the whirlpools at Corryvreckan (brochure in information pack) - WOW - this was fantastic - as the weather was nice for us the whirlpools weren't very big however I could imagine in windier conditions they would be amazing. Would recommend this site and hope to go back again ourselves.

Previous     16 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 6      Next

Save to Virtual Brochure  Add this Site to your Virtual Brochure                                Share  Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write your own Review for a chance to Win £300 of Prizes!
Sponsored by Ordnance SurveyWin £200 Walkers Camping Kit and Tent AND £100 of Amazon vouchers, courtesy of our sponsor Ordnance Survey If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Further info and prize details here

Try our town listings   -   Other Sites in Argyll   -   Search for a site

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a HandiRack and HandiHoldall Combo Pack Win an OLPRO Abberley XL 4 Berth Tent

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Truckfest North West 16th to 17th September
Cheshire Showground. Celebrity guests, car crushing Monster Trucks, trade stands plus much more ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


6226 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend  -  Pensions Auto-enrolment

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2017




0.0859