Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Higher Trevaskis Caravan And Camping Park

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > UK > England > South West > Cornwall (West) > Site Reviews

Higher Trevaskis Caravan And Camping Park
Gwinear Road
Connor Downs
Hayle
Cornwall (West)   (Browse area)
TR27 5JQ   See Map                                 Share Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook
Tel: 01209 831736

Facilities:  (Key)
          

Nearby: (within x miles)
1m  1m  5m  5m   5m  1m  5m 
Featured Site

Pitches: 82
Open: April To October

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 43 Reviews
              9/10 from 43 Reviews


Units accepted:    Tents  Caravans  Motorhomes 

Photos (21) and Video

Reviews:  43 in total, now showing 1 to 6                 Previous 6          Next 6
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8  

Write your own Review for a chance to Win £300 of Prizes!
Sponsored by Ordnance SurveyWin a £300 Prize Package including £100 of Amazon vouchers, courtesy of our sponsor Ordnance Survey If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Further info and prize details here

Date of Visit: September 2017 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Stanley5572 4 reviews from this member

Another yearly visit to Trevaskis, this time with the new owners Marie & her family, well ! What wonderful people, we were given a warm welcome.

Nothing was too much trouble & they were always willing to help if needed, with a cheery attitude. As with all new ventures it is a learning curve but they were never found lacking in anyway.

We look forward to our next visit next year, and will be interested to see how things progress for them. Cant rate them highly enough !

Date of Visit: September 2017 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Tidburyboy 10 reviews from this member

As new tin tenters, we choose this site as it meant no narrow lanes to worry about. It's not far off the A30 and was a breeze to find, just beware the post code is not 100% accurate, use Google earth. The location is really good for access to both coasts and not too far from The Lizard.

The welcome was both warm and helpful as we were shown to our pitch and given the low down on the facilities. These, although a bit old, were spotless and well managed, like the rest of the site. I should say that we have been to some sites where the showers and facilities are up to show home standard, so whilst this place is perfectly good, I can't score it 10 for facilities.

As for the pitches, there open spaces and some lovely little enclosed areas, some with hook up's and others without. Pitches are a good size. A lot of the pitches are level but some are a bit sloped. So possibly best to ask if you need a level pitch (most are level)

There's a little shop on site and a designated area for ball games, which seems a good idea. There's also a mobile chippy that comes around, which makes a nice change. All in all, this is a quiet, low key kind of site ie no bar or kids play area etc. So it suited us very well and we will certainly go again.

Date of Visit: July 2017 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Didier01 4 reviews from this member

This was quite simply the best Caravan experience ever. Please read on if you have the time to read this much information.

We picked this site as the reviews were all 10/10 back in 2015 -2016. When I booked the site back in May I spoke to Marie who told me that her family were in-fact the new owners and had taken over the site about 12 months prior. Marie was very helpful just over the phone and gave me lots of info on the area and that was before we even got there.

We decided to travel the nine and half hour journey through the night from Lancashire eventually arriving at 9am on Sunday 23/07/2017. Despite being an hour too soon to go straight on pitch Marie and her family team made us extremely welcome and allowed us to plug our van electrics into another vacant pitch just so our fridge remained powered whilst we waited for our pitch to be vacated. In the end we got on our pitch at about 11:30am. This was not the fault of the Campsite owners though but of the previous pitch occupants not abiding by the terms of booking.

During the time we waited though, Marie and family looked after us very well indeed and made the best cream coffee ever as well as providing us with loads of local info. Contrary to the previous post, it became clear that Marie and her brother at least, had both worked on Caravan Camp Sites prior to buying this business so both knew exactly how to run a site like this and as you read on, are very dedicated to their work. We took a look around the site on foot. The site is very pretty indeed to look at and is very well landscaped. As you drive up the track to the site from Gwinear Road there is and open playing field on the right for kids to play football etc and at one end there are swings, a seesaw and a table tennis set-up as well as some picnic benches and chairs On your left at this point is the reception office and a small shop which sells everything from sweets, ice cream and essential food provisions to newspapers and even some Caravan and Camping parts and equipment. They also supply gas and there are loads of pamphlets and brochures available too. As we walked around there were well spaced out Caravans, Motorhomes and Tents mixed together, tenters are not segregated off down the bottom of some far flung field but everyone is intermingled but none too close to one another. The site then descends downhill and left and right of the hardcore track are ¼ acre (guessing) paddocks with raised hedges around the perimeters rather like you see in Wales or the Boscages in France so it has a very private feel to which-ever paddock you stay in. Despite the descent, the actual paddocks are almost completely level. We only needed three planks under one side of our twin axle van to make it completely level N, S, E & W but take levelling kit just in-case. As far as I could see, all pitches are grass only. We arrived in sunshine so the ground was particularly firm but if it was drenched you would need to just consider the best way to get on your pitch once you leave the hardcore track I suspect.

We explored the toilet/shower block whilst we waited. They were immaculately clean and presentable. The gents had clean urinals and about five WC cubicles and two showers and I believe the ladies were a similar setup. Then there was a unisex shower block which had a further three shower cubicles. I know some people get the hump with push button showers needing to be pressed every few seconds and this site is no exception to that but this is a business and the water costs must be very high indeed. The water is comfortably hot and I did not experience any major losses of pressure even when all showers were in use at the same time. There were benches and coat pegs in abundance in all the toilet / shower blocks. There was a Laundry room incorporated too. This had one industrial washing machine which cost £4. 00 a wash which takes about 25 minutes to complete, an industrial spin dryer if you wanted to hand wash in the two or three sinks provided, this cost I think 50p a spin and there were two tumble dryers which took 50p’s for about 25 minutes each. A nice touch in the laundry room was the fact that there was a mini library available to pass your time whilst waiting for your stuff to finish. Around one side of this all inclusive toilet / shower block was an array of about 8 sinks for washing up in. All were under cover and the hot water was very hot if you wanted it. Each sink was provided with its own plastic drainers for standing your washed plates and pots to dry. Next to this was a large communal freezer for freezer blocks etc and then next to that were two outside warm showers dog washing and wetsuit rinsing which was invaluable. Yes, this is a dog friendly site although we didn’t take ours due to the length of the journey there. Around the back of the toilet blocks was the crowning jewel of hygiene. This site has the cleanest and easiest to use Elsan point I have ever seen. It is basically a waste high toilet set in a central sloping apron. It hand flushes and has a mini hose attached to the wall. The whole thing is set in an opening closet type affair and then there is a soap dispenser for you to wash your hands when you’re done. I should mention at this point that all toilet blocks have liquid soap, paper towels and toilet paper all provided and not once was I caught short in the two weeks we stayed. The entire toilet / shower / wash-up area is deep cleaned twice a day by Marie and family between 12pm-1pm and 9pm – 10pm as well as maintained if necessary in-between. This is a dedicated family run business all of which are a credit to themselves and their site. All the above is included in the price by the way except the washers and dryers which I have explained.

Anyway, eventually we got onto our pitch and got set up. Marie’s brother even offered to help us set-up which I have never experienced before but we declined the offer as we knew that awning putting up and all the rest usually involves some bad language on our part. It’s worthy of note that you have a long EHU Cable as depending on just which pitch you have, you may need an extension as-well. We didn’t need this but again the site said they could provide an extension if required. Our paddock had I think 7 or 8 pitches available but we had it to ourselves for the first day. There was one water tap offside midfield which is where you pour your grey waste too. We had been told that this was the case when we booked so I bought a second hand aqua roll in addition to the one we already had thinking it would be a pain otherwise. It wasn’t necessary really but made life a bit easier I guess. One van was pitched close enough to the tap that he could use his grey water extension pipe directly into the drain. We experienced very good weather most of the time but also some reasonably heavy rain during two nights in particular. Despite this, we found our pitch drained quite quickly and our awning was not floating around. We did notice that down where we were near the bottom of the site, we were particularly well protected from strong winds which those at the top of the field felt much harder than we did so this pleased us greatly too. Of note, we were in a paddock adjacent to one side of the toilet block. This was very “convenient” too for us and it should be mentioned that if you have a pitch near the reception and playing field area, you have a little bit of a trek to the facilities.

Other things that make this an excellent choice of site include the fact that on the Tuesday evening the site allows a mobile stone baked pizza van on site which was excellent and on the Wednesday evening a mobile fish ‘n’ chip van was on site which was also excellent after a hard day body boarding and drowning at the many beaches in the area. The site also allows mobile caravan and auto repairers on site should you need it and we saw a windscreen replacement taking place on site too.

There are four beaches at Hayle alone and dozens to choose from both North and South of the SW Peninsula. We were pleasantly surprised at how many Supermarkets and Shops that are on hand in the area including a new Asda in Hayle, an Aldi at Camborne and shops and stores in the local villages like Helston and Leedstown

We found the whole ambience of this site perfect for us. It was visually pleasant and a very tranquil site. All the other campers were very nice people too and along with the exceptional staff we had the best Caravan Holiday to date so far. We can’t wait till we next go down there and would recommend this site to anyone. Lastly, Maria and the team told us that they have plans to upgrade and improve the site if that is at all possible over time so we look forward to that too.

Date of Visit: July 2017 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Cleanerlady1 6 reviews from this member

Lovely site clean and friendly but if you are in a tent it is very windy at times. We visited 2 years ago and it is under new ownership, I think the new owners are inexperienced. We had a lot of rain one night and the shower block had a of of puddles around it so the new owners put a channel in the stones for the water to run away, unfortunately it then ran straight to our tent causing a huge puddle (even though there was no one pitched to one side of field where they could have ran the water to). Due to the area we were in being so wet we needed to allow time for the inside of our canopy to dry as the condensation had built up, we emptied the tent and opened it up to dry while we popped down to the local farm for a breakfast, on our return we were informed that we should have been off our pitch by 10am, I have checked the terms and conditions and this is indeed the case. I have looked at other sites and they ask that you are off by 12, for this reason I would not return to this site as it is too early for packing tent and allowing time to dry out condensation.

Management response: Thank you for your review. It is stated in your review that we as the campsite owners dug a channel from the Shower block location to run the excess rain water away, which resulted in a large puddle at your tent. I can assure you that NO such channel was dug, it was, in fact the storm itself. The channel was found the following morning and 'filled in'. We were unaware that a puddle had formed by your tent!

I am sorry you feel disgruntled about being notified of your late departure. It was unfortunate for you that the pitch you were staying on had been booked specifically and the new family were waiting for you to vacate. Had you spoke to us about your tent being damp we could of helped to move you to another pitch to dry out.

Arrival/Departure times are clearly stated in our terms and conditions. It is regretful that you find these times unacceptable.

Date of Visit: July 2017 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Chalkie W 1 review from this member

A lovely campsite ideally located to access all that Cornwall has to offer. We travelled to all parts of the county from our base. Quiet setting but not too far to travel to find something to do. The family run park is very well kept and toilet/shower block was immaculate, cleaned twice daily. Free showers too. The guys on site are very knowledgeable of the local surrounding area, and keen to advise where to go. We had a couple of dogs with us and the park owners were able to tell us where the dog friendly beaches were. We managed to do a lot in our week in Cornwall and will be back again to explore more.

Date of Visit: June 2017 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Taffyfree 1 review from this member

Been going to this site for 23 years, I was wary about new owners when I arrived but to be honest they were fantastic, hope to be going for another 23 years that will make me 88. Hope you liked the spuds marle

Previous     43 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 6      Next

Save to Virtual Brochure  Add this Site to your Virtual Brochure                                Share  Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write your own Review for a chance to Win £300 of Prizes!
Sponsored by Ordnance SurveyWin a £300 Prize Package including £100 of Amazon vouchers, courtesy of our sponsor Ordnance Survey If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Further info and prize details here

Try our town listings   -   Other Sites in Cornwall (West)   -   Search for a site

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win 3 AutoSock car snowsock sets worth £49.95+ each Win an OLPRO Caravan Cover in your size

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Manchester Caravan & Motorhome Show 18 to 21 January 2018
Advanced booking discount plus we have 15 pairs of tickets to give away ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


2541 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend  -  Pensions Auto-enrolment

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2017






0.0923
UKCampsite.co.uk
Advent Calendar

Coming Soon!
Advent Calendar

Get an Email
Reminder on 1st Dec