Home

   Log in or Register

Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Grafham Water Caravan Club Site

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > UK > England > East Anglia > Cambridgeshire > Site Reviews

Grafham Water Caravan Club Site
Church Road
Grafham
Huntingdon
Cambridgeshire   (Browse area)
PE28 0BB   See Map                                 Share Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook
Tel: 01480 810264

Facilities:  (Key)
              

Nearby:
5m  1m  5m  5m  
Featured Site

Pitches: 68
Open: 28/03/2014 To 03/11/2014

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 53 Reviews
              8/10 from 53 Reviews


Units accepted:   No Tents  Caravans  Motorhomes 

Special Offer available to UKCampsite.co.uk visitors - see here.

Photos (9) and Video

Reviews:  53 in total, now showing 1 to 6                 Previous 6          Next 6
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9  

Date of Visit: March 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Nosha 26 reviews from this member

We used to stay here when it was a small private site called Manor Farm. Then we stayed when the national was cancelled a couple of years ago - We were put in the overflow 'paddock' and suffered FOURTEEN power cuts, plus the main site septic tank pumps failed and we gave up and went home a day early. This time it was PERFECT, the wardens if the same seemed a lot more friendly (possibly not under the same stress as before!) No power cuts, no problems and some great photos of the 'resident' owl! We'll be back more often now!

Date of Visit: October 2012 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Poppy77 4 reviews from this member

Have just spent 3 nights here, very very disappointed that we were unable to have a grass pitch due to them being reseeded for next year, had we been aware of this we would have gone elsewhere as we have been on club sites this time of year before on grass! The hardstandings are so close together we felt we were in a goldfish bowl, plus the lack of space to hitch up, we would have prevented other users getting by if they needed! The wardens were friendly and helpful.

We visited huntingdon and hoped to be able to walk round more of the lake but were unable to. The very best day out was a visit to the Raptor Foundation with so many birds and displays and a lovely cafe, worth every penny of the 5. 50! We felt the site has tried to cram too many pitches in for its size and although we took advantage of a part mid week discount we were disappointed and probably won't return.

Date of Visit: August 2012 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Jaqugra 28 reviews from this member

It only took 3 caravans arriving at the same time to block the entrance as the approach is quite narrow, but as the booking in was efficient by the friendly wardens, this wasn't a problem. There was a choice of hard-standing and grass pitches well sheltered by trees.

I found the people staying on site very friendly and chatty (could be just chance or a reflection that the pitches are quite close compared to some other sites.

We didn't use the swimming pool but it seemed very popular, as was the small children's play area and although you could hear children whooping and screaming on the swings, it was all quiet by dusk.

I agree with the previous comment about being given one key for the toilets which didn't particularly cause a problem for us.

We used the site as a base to visit Watford and Cambridge so didn't see much of the immediate area but a lot of people had their bikes to cycle around the water.

The nearest pubs were The Mermaid in Ellington ( 2 miles away) and The Wheatsheath in East Perry ( about 4 1/2 miles away).

All in all a nice site and would recommend.

Date of Visit: August 2012 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Sampayne 1 review from this member

My 7 year old son and I have just returned from a weekend at this site and we had a fabulous time.

This is the first time we have been away without my husband (he had to work this weekend) and the staff on the site were extremely helpful with setting us up on our pitch.

We camped under some trees out of the sun and saw the resident owl several times.

The site is not too large and the swimming pool was perfect.

Our dog enjoyed his walks in the adjacent fields. Everyone was happy and we will definitely visit here again.

Date of Visit: July 2012 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Michaelangela 13 reviews from this member

Nice site for a CS with nice wardens. But not my cup of tea with the layout, it is quite a small plot of land for the 'boasted' 69 pitches, and we found it quite tight manoeuvring on and off our pitch with the units that were opposite us, we felt like we were in a goldfish bowl being surrounded by the others, but that is our opinion as we do prefer the 5 van sites.

All said though, if larger sites are for you, then this one is very nice, with a small swimming pool (sorry, but they were so over protective of the use of the pool) bit of a park for kids (no ball games) and everyone gets a key to the loo/showers for some strange reason. Not good when I come out of the showers to find the wife hopping up & down outside the ladies as I had the key & she didn't, what's wrong with a keycode if they really need to keep the doors locked?

One excellent thing was, the resident long eared owl living wild in the trees.

One other problem, single track road from the village to the site, when leaving at 11am kept having to reverse back to let new arrivals down the half mile lane ! seems no one cared about arrival times too much here.

So, not for us but others will enjoy the site

Date of Visit: June 2012 Unit:  Trailer Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Richardcook326 4 reviews from this member

Have just returned from a weeks stay at Grafham Water.

The site itself is wonderful. Very quiet and well maintained.

Its only a 10 minute walk to Grafham Water across the fields, where there is a cafe, children's play area and walks.

We did have an issue with our pitch flooding, as we were on the corner of the downhill slop, but I do feel this was mainly due to the vast amount of rainfall in a short space of time, so if wet conditions are predicted, avoid pitch 14!

The fish & chip van comes each Friday and we found the portions to be a little on the small side and at 5 each a little pricey.

The road on the approach to the site is quite narrow, which isn't a problem unless you arrive early and vans are leaving at the same time. But its only a few hundred yards long.

Previous     53 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 6      Next

Save to Virtual Brochure  Add this Site to your Virtual Brochure                                Share  Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Submit your Review for a chance to Win Prizes!
Sponsored by the Caravan ClubSubmit a review to UKCampsite.co.uk of any caravan park or campsite, for a chance to win a caravan towing course or motorhome manoeuvring course worth up to 145, or 100 of Amazon vouchers, courtesy of The Caravan Club. Join the Club for just 44 per year to enjoy access to a great range of caravan sites, benefits and special offers.

If you've visited this site, then please submit a review for a chance to win.

Try our town listings   -   Other Sites in Cambridgeshire   -   Search for a site

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a Vehicle and Personal GPS Tracker from Towsure.com Visit the UKCS shop for exclusive discounts and offers

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Motorhome & Caravan Show 14/10 to 19/10 NEC Birmingham
Back at the NEC Birmingham this autumn - we have 20 pairs of tickets up for grabs

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3852 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend  -  Pensions Auto-enrolment

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews]  [Facebook]

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2014




0.0547