Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Searles Leisure Resort

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > UK > England > East Anglia > Norfolk > Site Reviews

Searles Leisure Resort
South Beach Road
Hunstanton
Norfolk   (Browse area)
PE36 5BB   See Map                                 Share Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook
Tel: 01485 534211

Facilities:  (Key)
                            

Nearby: (within x miles)
1m  1m  1m   5m  1m 
Featured Site

Pitches: 328
Open: Touring Now Open All Year

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 182 Reviews
              8/10 from 182 Reviews


Units accepted:    Tents  Caravans  Motorhomes  Statics for Hire  Statics on Sale 

Photos (20) and Video

Reviews:  182 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14   15   16   17   18   19  

Write your own Review for a chance to Win £300 of Prizes!
Sponsored by Ordnance SurveyWin a £300 Prize Package including £100 of Amazon vouchers, courtesy of our sponsor Ordnance Survey If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Further info and prize details here

Date of Visit: August 2017 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Hmgvs 12 reviews from this member

Took our grandchildren (4 & 2) here for 5 days mon-fri in August 2017. It was good that there was a lot for them to do – especially as the weather was so bad!

Just a few disappointing bits – the adult indoor pool looked extremely ‘murky’ and green, couldn’t even see the bottom, think it needs a good clean – didn’t even want to chance it!

On the other hand the new indoor splash pool for the littles’ is just right.

We never ate in the restaurants as they were always booked up. It would be good to give arriving guests a heads up that if they want to eat at any of them during their stay they need to book on the first night.

Entertainment staff lacked a bit of warmth and were a bit lack lustre apart from Sarah who was excellent. Was a bit disappointed that we only saw 2 characters – Cherry & Sidney – when 3 are advertised. This is peak season so they should all be around. Would also have been nice to see them around the campsite or even just in the Plazza without having to go to a show.

Shop is good but VERY expensive, staff can’t be bothered & very lack lustre – Tesco down the road!

Needed to hire a buggy as son forgot to pack it but was pleased to find one available on site and only £2 a day so not ripped off there.

Be aware that the camping area is right at the back of the site and it quite a trek for little people’s legs and those with mobility problems. It would be really excellent if there was some sort of transport running on a loop to take people back to their sites. There is a train but doesn’t run regular enough round the site as it goes into town and you have to pay for every trip.

There is a path to the beach near the camping area with a gate that’s locked at night but if you are coming from the beach area and didn’t use it to go out of the camp (i. E. You got the train into town & walked back along the prom) you will never find it! Luckily we saw some people walking up the path & asked them if they had just come from Searles and they had and showed us where the path was.

Overall we had a good time despite the weather but at £227 for 4 nights camping I think it was a bit expensive.

Date of Visit: September 2016 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: RIMMER 163 reviews from this member

Don't usually use these type of sites but now it was out of season and had a 3 for 2 mid-week deal thought we'd give it a go. Generally a nice, pleasant stay-had a fully serviced pitch near the toilets. Quiet at night though heard some traffic noise in the morning, ducks didn't bother us and only added to the experience. Fantastic location near the beach and easy walking to Hunstanton or further to Heacham. Tesco and a Marstons pub just outside the site. Bus stop nearby to afar as Kings Lynn which we did once and another time caught the bus to the Norfolk lavender farm. Toilets/showers a touch basic but clean and functional, didn't use any of the facilities on site which would have been free.

Date of Visit: August 2016 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: Dmurray1 3 reviews from this member

The weather was against us but we always had something to do here. The super pitch had ample space for our campervan and large awning. These were also separated by hedges, adding to your privacy. Large grass areas for the kids to run around and play football. The toilets/showers were very clean but the water pressure wasn't so good. The ladies block had useful plug sockets and large mirrors in separate cubicles. The pool areas were clean and even though we had drizzle we still went in the outdoor pools which were nice and warm and suitable for babies to adults. The soft play is decent and the entertainment was ok. More importantly, the chippy is very nice and actually reasonably priced. The beach is 5 minutes easy walk through the site with plenty of rides, crazy golf etc.

Date of Visit: May 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Little ann 5 reviews from this member

Just visited Searles Leisure Resort at Hunstanton for 3nights.

Lovely clean site, great location easy walking distance into town and beach!Only problem we found was that we asked for a quiet area/pitch when booking over the phone?The lady at Searles assured me that all pitches where quiet? so when we arrived well we were put near the main park road to the toilet block and next to a caravan with 2 great big dogs? being a busy site you could hear all the maintenance traffic in a morning and throughout the day. The toilet block was clean, however why the constant music station playing away inside 24/7? pretty loud as well strange?

We found The fountain sports bar expensive for drinks, and in all fairness a bit of a disappointment, (tired looking and unfinished outside)nice location though. Would visit again now we know the site pitch layouts and can see pitch price sizes?

Date of Visit: April 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Shapcott6 2 reviews from this member

We've just had a brilliant time at Searle's campsite in Hunstanton, they periodically do special deals and included in the offer is the use of the leisure facilities, swimming and sauna. They also provide an information booklet and vouchers for breakfast, two for £10 on your first arrival day and a voucher for a free drink at a golf club bar. Their facilities are heated and clean and roomy with the radio playing throughout. The pitches are very good, hard standing with serviced pitches, security is good, and an exceptional rate considering they are next to the sea as well. The only downside is the amount of ducks that are quite aggressive if you happen to encourage them with food. We just ignore them and they leave us alone.

Date of Visit: April 2016 Unit:  Static Rating:
Reviewer: Matt94 26 reviews from this member

We stayed at seals on Friday 15th April for 3 nights in a Static caravan, we normally use our 2014 tourer all year but went away with our daughter and granddaughter on the sun news paper offer £9. 50 special that worked out at £80 for the holiday, but the static caravan we stayed in was top of the range and easily worth the £80, while we were there we looked around the touring site, and we both agreed it was one of the best we have looked at (we normally use caravan club sites) The entertainment in the club was the usual family entertainment, not my cup of tea but our granddaughter love it, the staff and entertainment crew were all professional and polite.

We were disappointed with the “Sun restaurant” that is on site, the prices were on the high side and the meals were small, my daughter order a meal that came with piri piri sauce she tasted the meal but it had barbeque sauce on it, she complained to the manager, who in formed us that the kitchen had run out of piri piri sauce, she did offer my daughter another meal free of charge.

There is a pub called “the honey stones” that is just over the road from the site near Tesco’s and most meals were buy one get the second free, with a big selection to choose from, we eat their the other 2 nights.

The indoor swimming pool was lovely and warm.

Outside the site a small walk along the sea front is a small fair with rides for children and further along is a small town.

We don’t normally holiday in Norfolk, but if we do go to that part of the country we would use this site again

Date of Visit: March 2016 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Nikko136 42 reviews from this member

This was a short stay to visit relatives who have a lodge on the same site, so our use of the facilities was limited. The pitch sizes are very specific, as defined in the tariff, so what they offer is what you get. Make sure you allow for your car, awning, etc. When specifying your pitch. Roadways are reasonably wide, so with the hedge separation you don't feel too crowded despite this being a relatively high density site.

The site is separated from the beach by a row of housing, with access paths between some of these, so it's convenient for a beach holiday.

Toilets and showers were warm and clean, but spacing inside the cubicles was rather compact, with nowhere to adequately place dry clothing, shoes and towels etc when under the shower or getting dressed - the shower heads face outward, so water sprayed out under the curtain.

We didn't use the restaurant or bar areas as we had a dog with us but they looked OK. Outside the Fish & Chips and Chinese take-away were both closed during our stay.

There are no specific dog-walking or exercise areas - just walk the roads and verges round the site or the beach area parallel to the site.

Personnel were OK but somehow lacked the warmth and hospitality we have felt at the Premier and BoB sites we usually use. Our value-for-money rating is based on normal tariffs. We used a very special pre-season rate due to a number of the facilities not being available.

Hunstanton was a much better resort than we had imagined. We had dinner at The Lodge in Old Hunstanton, which is dog-friendly despite being a very good restaurant! Would recommend this, as the food is good and the menu interesting.

Note that Sandringham doesn't allow dogs anywhere other than in the Country Park (woods), so don't go there with your dog if you want to see the gardens.

Date of Visit: February 2016 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Johnandann 12 reviews from this member

A three night stay to try out our new van. Informed on booking of limited facilities at this time of year but the trip was more important than clubhouse's and bars. First impressions were very favourable, fully serviced pitch a few yards from washrooms. These facilities are among the best we have used (the Orchards on the Isle of White being top), they were warm, spacious and very clean. The site is a short walk from Hunstanton, and has a really large touring area. We saw two other washroom blocks, one similar to the one we used and another over on the camping area the looked a bit tired.

Staff were all busy getting ready for opening, but all were friendly and polite. Just outside the camp is a large Tesco and just down the road in Hunstanton is a brilliant caravan/motorhome camping accessories store.

Really enjoyed our stay, nice site with good playgrounds for kids and short walks to beach. Saw the whale blowing out at sea the afternoon before it beached, such a shame to see it next day stuck ashore.

Only gripe is being charged £3. 50 per day for our dog.

Date of Visit: November 2015 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Briarose 11 reviews from this member

This is a very hard review to post. I lost my Husband this Summer. In a quest to carry on with the life we enjoyed ie motorhoming, I bought myself a smaller motorhome and drove it to several places and have been welcomed on all the sites I have visited. Until Searles and I want to warn other single campers of their policy on site of no single people in their own tourer/motorhome.

I was travelling with Friends, in their own motorhome and me in mine. On the morning in question we phoned Searles and were advised that there were two touring pitches available side by side. At no time were we asked how many people in each unit. Just quoted a price for the pitch.

So we arrived in the middle of the afternoon on a November Sunday. My Friends Husband said he would go in and pay the pitch prices, after some time he came out of the reception and said that I wasn't allowed on site. Surely he had it wrong ! So my Friend went in and was advised the same. We couldn't believe it to be honest, and she exclaimed what on earth did they think I was going to do, she explained I had been recently Widowed and we were travelling together. But no I wasn't allowed ! In the end as it was getting late we had to say my Son would join me. Then I was allowed on.

It seems Searles do not welcome anyone single ! No matter what age etc and keep quoting their T&C which we hadn't even seen due to only phoning that morning. Even if I had seen them to be honest I would have thought they referred to their own statics etc as they refer to unit allocated, not touring caravan or motorhome.

Such a shame as it is a nice location within walking distance to the town etc. It would appear someone at sometime has made this rule. Without really thinking it out. Please if you are single check this out before going these. I would hate anyone else or be placed in the position of being turned away.

Date of Visit: November 2015 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Dragon04 16 reviews from this member

We have never been to this type of resort before, we were very surprised by this site.

A good sized shop on site and a tesco's just outside the main gate. An easy walk to the beach and along the promenade to Hunstanton were there is a small fun fair.

Clean and well kept, well laid out, we had a hard standing fully serviced pitch 8x12, had hedging on 3 sides making it private.

Toilet blocks were clean and warm. There seemed to be plenty of hot water and plenty of showers and toilets.

We ate at Smokey Joes we were very surprised at how good the food was dinner for 2 was £24. 00 and extremely nice. Bar was not over priced either.

Entertainment was good and varied. Staff we friendly without being over the top.

All in all we had a very good 3 days and we will return

Previous     182 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Save to Virtual Brochure  Add this Site to your Virtual Brochure                                Share  Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write your own Review for a chance to Win £300 of Prizes!
Sponsored by Ordnance SurveyWin a £300 Prize Package including £100 of Amazon vouchers, courtesy of our sponsor Ordnance Survey If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Further info and prize details here

Try our town listings   -   Other Sites in Norfolk   -   Search for a site

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win 3 AutoSock car snowsock sets worth £49.95+ each Win an OLPRO Caravan Cover in your size

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Manchester Caravan & Motorhome Show 18 to 21 January 2018
Advanced booking discount plus we have 15 pairs of tickets to give away ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


5936 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend  -  Pensions Auto-enrolment

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2017






0.0938
UKCampsite.co.uk
Advent Calendar

Advent Calendar

24 Daily Prizes worth up to £120 and a Christmas Day Star Prize worth £500!
Open Today's Window