Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Golden Square Caravan And Camping Park

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > UK > England > North East > North Yorkshire > Site Reviews

Golden Square Caravan And Camping Park
Oswaldkirk
Helmsley
North Yorkshire   (Browse area)
YO62 5YQ   See Map                                 Share Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook
Tel: 01439 788269

Facilities:  (Key)
                  

Nearby: (within x miles)
1m  1m 1m  10m  5m   1m  5m  5m 
Featured Site

Pitches: 129
Open: March To October

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 208 Reviews
              9/10 from 208 Reviews


Units accepted:    Tents  Caravans  Motorhomes Caravan Storage Storage  Statics on Sale 

Special Offer available to UKCampsite.co.uk visitors - see here.

Photos (12)

Reviews:  208 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14   15   16   17   18   19   20   21  

Submit your own Review for a chance to Win £100!
Win £100Submit a review of this site for your chance to win £100 of Caravan Club vouchers or £100 of Amazon vouchers, courtesy of this month's sponsor, The Caravan Club. Join The Club from just £48 per year to enjoy access to over 2,700 sites, exclusive member benefits and site special offers.

Date of Visit: May 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Sammymac 2 reviews from this member

Stayed here over end of May bank holiday. On the plus side the staff were friendly, especially at reception/shop and the views across the vale are stunning with good TV reception. On the negative side, pitches weren't level and were cramped, roads around the site very tight for caravan and not enough Loo/showers for size of site.

Date of Visit: May 2016 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Alibali65 5 reviews from this member

Tent pitches were nice and spacious, but beware take rock pegs!

Well stocked shop with all the essentials and newspapers that you didn’t need to pre order

Staff very friendly and helpful, a shed opposite reception with plenty of local information

The site is great for Kids as there are 2 play areas, football pitch and a separate dog walking area plus a play barn which was good as it rained a bit! Although there was a fair number of kids at the play areas things over the B/H weekend it quietened down when it turned dark.

Well looked after site and handy for local attractions.

While the toilets are clean they were quite dark at certain times of the day, a few times when entering no lights came on and it wasn’t bright enough. Also It was probably that it was a wet weekend but the toilets seemed to be permamently damp with no chance of the floors and surfaces drying out. The hand drier was so poor so I ended up taking a towel to dry my hands or use the back of my jeans! However these are minor gripes

The showers weren't great when all full and beware of the spay wetting your clothes and shoes

We will return but the toilets feel dated

Date of Visit: March 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Mark26 18 reviews from this member

Stayed here for the Easter Hols. On arrival we found booking-in to be a bit slow but staff were friendly and helpful. We had a hard standing pitch which was big enough for Caravan Awning and Car parked on the grass, not a lot of room to sit out. The site has two play parks which our two loved and crazy golf. This park is designed with children in mind.

The shop is very good and sells most things you would need and is not over priced. The shower block was clean every time I used it and always had plenty of hot water.

The only bad thing that put me off this site was the lack of rules, or enforcement of them. Most sites I have been to do not allow ball games by the caravans, but here my van was hit 4 time, my car twice and my awning twice and not by children, but by an adult and his young son, for this reason I will not be returning. If the Wardens were a bit more active, this could be a great site

Date of Visit: March 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Coral67 8 reviews from this member

Stayed here for 5 nights over Easter, check in was easy although took a little while they were training a new member of staff, but very helpful and showed us where our pitch was, pitches on the small side we had a hardstanding pitch (not level need ramps) which is caravan, awning, car, but car was on the grass meaning not much room to sit out or BBQ. Toilets were very nice and always clean and closed for an hour at 11am for cleaning. There was a shop in reception which was good sold most things. There were 2 children's play parks which were very good with zipwire and swings and usual stuff one at the top main field and one on lower field (our kids loved it ages 9 and 13), also a small crazy golf, which is £10. 00 deposit and 30p a game for 2 children which I thought the deposit was very steep considering the state of the golf clubs and balls. There is also a dog walk area, a tent field and a rally field. They say there is a indoor play barn but when we looked it was very over grown outside and around it, the kids nicknamed it the most Haunted barn, really needs an overhaul as were just few baby scooters in the out-side part and inside was dark and gloomy with a rusted up football table, a pool table with no balls or cues (maybe you had to ask in reception and pay a deposit), a soft play bit which was filthy inside. Apart from that we had a nice break, would I go again hmmm maybe not but I'm sure the kids would as there were lots of children there.

Date of Visit: August 2015 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: The4wildbears 3 reviews from this member

Good site with good facilities and very child friendly with good play equipment to so there never really bored took my dogs this time first time camping with them dog friendly to good walking fields with access to woods to give them a really good walk around. Facilities had everything to offer microwave, iron washer dryer you name it with clean toilets showers and clean wash up area. A shop on site sells most things required or what you may have forgot. Great staff very pleasant and helpful. And as mentioned 2 good outdoor play areas for kids. Close by pubs and areas to venture out to all in all great place will stay longer next time defo worth a stay!

Date of Visit: August 2015 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Alrm198 1 review from this member

Upon first glance, you are met with stone walls and pretty flowers on either side of the drive-in entrance and are met with post and rail fencing which houses a large camping field to your right. Driving further along, you are met with another pitch, this time with static caravans and then the ANPR (Automatic Number Plate Recognition) barrier which lets you in and out of the main camping area. Once you’re through the gates (having booked online and having provided car registration details) we drove to the reception area which comprises of an on-site shop, toilet blocks and outside dish washing facilities. The area is quaint, with flower baskets and seating areas and the other camping areas feeding from the same road. There is a small shed with visitor information and a microwave oven, and next to the shed is a local pay phone and the recycle and general waste bins.

It was raining on the day we arrived, but this didn’t stop the staff from being welcoming and friendly, asking if the journey went well despite the weather. We were booked in and provided with site details and local attraction information within a matter of minutes. It is also worth noting that there is an on site warden who is available when the reception/shop area is closed, and you are provided with contact details should you require assistance out of office hours.

Finding our pitch was easy, we were on pitch 77, which is a ‘corner pitch’ with a hedgerow and an option to hook up to the electric point (which we didn’t use). The site is very large and has plenty of space for caravan and tent campers alike. There was a large children’s play area on site as well, quite close to our pitch area, which was very well received by our friends and their toddler, who we were holidaying with.

Families and pets will enjoy this site thoroughly. We especially liked the ANPR system at the gate, which adds a little bit more security. Everything was in good working order and the toilet blocks were cleaned and checked regularly during our weekend stay. Check-in is anytime after 1pm and check-out is before 12pm on the last day of your stay. The shop is stocked well; we ran out of milk at one point and were able to buy a 2 pint carton for just £1. 00. Evening conversations reduced massively by 11pm.

The site is in a good location, only a short drive to Helmsley and Reivaulx Abbey. We did the Reivaulx to Helmsley walk which joins to the Cleveland way - absolutely beautiful.

We really enjoyed our first stay and would visit this site again in the future. Thank you for having us.

Date of Visit: May 2015 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Craigsimo157 6 reviews from this member

We have now been to this site a couple of times and both times have been enjoyable. Last year we got there on a very windy day, our pitch was at the top of the bank and we were very exposed. However on arrival the owners told us that if we had any problems they could locate us in another area. Which after snapping a pole we did. Relocated in the Rally field we had a excellent pitch shielded by a hedge row and well away from any roads which meant it was very safe for our 3 children. The local area offers some nice scenery and a trip into Ampleforth was a good day out with some great beer and cider to bring back. The facilities are great with 3 play areas for the children and a football pitch. The toilets and showers were very clean and well looked after. The staff were very helpful. This is a site I have recommended to friends and I will revisit in the near future.

Date of Visit: May 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Goodalltopaz 1 review from this member

We have recently visited this holiday site for the first time as caravan owners and booked a supersite pitch. I have to say from the time we arrived to the time we left the staff were friendly, warm and welcoming. The gentleman (who I am now led to believe was the owner) who helped us reverse the van into our pitch was amazing! He could not do enough to help us at all and each time we saw him he was smiling. All the staff were great with the children too and never did I see a lack of patience even when the shop was full of little ones! The toilet blocks were amazingly clean and warm at all times and were regularly checked throughout the day. The site shop was well stocked and the prices were really reasonable. In fact I'd say the toys in particular were almost pocket money toys too! When we arrived, we had omitted to bring a hose for our hook up and one of the staff immediately went to see whether they had a spare one for us to borrow. The playgrounds were great too with a bit of something for everyone. Swings, roundabout, zip line, sand pit, football area and lots of grass recreational areas for the children to play games and sports. There was lots of space for the children to ride their bikes and play on their scooters too and the noise was non existent after dark so great for families with young children too. Although we didn't use it, the dog walk area was massive and a great addition to this site. We had a marvellous relaxing 4 nights here at the site and will most certainly be returning in the very near future.

Date of Visit: August 2014 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Daim 1 review from this member

What can I say. ? IMPRESSED! Just returned from a family 4 day stay ( Sun-Thurs)and we will be back! On arrival we were greeted with a friendly, smiley and helpful face. Everything explained about the site and given a little map. Even given a slip with a discount on for the local pub in the village! Then shown to our pitch.

The kids (3&1/2 & 9yrs) loved the outdoor parks(didn't see the indoor play area as the weather was good!).

No queues at the toilets or showers and were kept clean all the time. I'm a bit fussy with showers on campsites and I have to say I was impressed!Temperature of the water was fine and the block itself wasn't draughty either. Plenty of toilet tissue/hand soap and hot water. There was a wait for the family bathroom (£1 fee) but that didn't bother us.

The little shop on site has most things you need. Homemade or locally produced goods as well as the usual canned stuff. Offer a freezer block service @ 25p a block. At the side of the shop is the dishes cleaning area - 4 sinks and draining boards with hot water.

Adjacent to the shop (next to a public phone box) is a gazebo with a microwave (10p fee) in and an ironing board and iron. Also loads of ideas of local or further a field days out with leaflets and notices.

Things quieten down around 2200 but not too quiet. People still enjoyed themselves.

Never saw the warden(as I was in the tent with the kids) but heard them drive by late at night - Which is reassuring to know someone is there if needs be!

During our stay we had a day out at Flamingo land which is about a 25min drive.

A day out on North Yorkshire Moor Railway too.

Anyone staying in a tent NEED strong tent pegs! The ground can be stoney in areas as its old quarry land but apart from that all was great. Plenty of electric hook ups available too!

Date of Visit: July 2014 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Suehoward 1 review from this member

Really clean and tidy campsite. Toilet and shower blocks very clean and perfect shower temperature. Well maintained shop, good security with number plate recognised entry and exit barrier.

The only I would say is missing is a watering hole, i. E. Small pub area. The nearest village is only a couple of miles. But if you are driving out for the day, it might be nice to be able to come back to the site and have a drink so no one has to drive. I realise this may cause concern with drunks etc, but even if it were just open for a couple of hours early evening, would be nice!

Previous     208 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Save to Virtual Brochure  Add this Site to your Virtual Brochure                                Share  Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Submit a Review for a chance to Win £100!
Sponsored by the Caravan ClubSubmit a review to UKCampsite.co.uk of any caravan park or campsite for your chance to win your choice of £100 of Caravan Club vouchers or £100 of Amazon vouchers, courtesy of this month's sponsor, The Caravan Club. Join The Club from just £48 per year to enjoy access to over 2,700 sites, exclusive member benefits and site special offers.

If you've visited this site, then please submit a review for a chance to win.

Try our town listings   -   Other Sites in North Yorkshire   -   Search for a site

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win an Outwell Mains Package Win a HandiMoova Off-road Foldable Hand Trolley

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Elvaston Steam Rally in Derbyshire - 1st to 4th July
An amazing fun weekend for all the family. Plus you can camp on site from Friday to Monday. Find out more and download the booking form

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


4246 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend  -  Pensions Auto-enrolment

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2016






0.1279