Home

   Log in or Register

Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Golden Square Caravan And Camping Park

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > UK > England > North East > North Yorkshire > Site Reviews

Golden Square Caravan And Camping Park
Oswaldkirk
Helmsley
North Yorkshire   (Browse area)
YO62 5YQ   See Map                                 Share Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook
Tel: 01439 788269

Facilities:  (Key)
                  

Nearby:
1m  1m 1m  10m  5m   1m  5m  5m 
Featured Site

Pitches: 129
Open: March To October

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 191 Reviews
              9/10 from 191 Reviews


Units accepted:    Tents  Caravans  Motorhomes Caravan Storage Storage  Statics for Hire  Statics on Sale 

Special Offer available to UKCampsite.co.uk visitors - see here.

Photos (6)

Reviews:  191 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14   15   16   17   18   19   20  

Date of Visit: September 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Martin1010 7 reviews from this member

Weekend away booked at short notice. Large enough site so plenty of availability. It is very scenic and nice facilities which are very clean. Really good adventure playground which was a hit with the kids. Excellently stocked shop on site. Nice mixture of hard standings for caravans and tents opposite on the grass.

My only slightly negative is that they charge the kids 30 Pence per player for 30 mins on the table tennis table which I do think is a little OTT but minor in the bigger scheme of things !. Would I return, definitely

Date of Visit: August 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Boobootimmins 2 reviews from this member

What a fantastic campsite you won't be disappointed whether you have kids or not. My husband and I dropped onto this campsite by chance and are very glad we did, beautiful surroundings, plenty to do and see, open and friendly place, facilities are one of the best we've used yet, clean with plenty of space, we have one more night of a four night stay but will definitely be back again. Couldn't recommend enough.

Date of Visit: August 2013 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Chbemjd 2 reviews from this member

Had a fabulous 6 night stay during August bank holiday. The reception staff are very helpful and most welcoming. Beautifully kept site. We were pitched on the upper level overlooking the small children's park. Tip, take strong steel pegs as ground quite hard and stony. There are two parks within a few minutes walk of each other one is for smaller children and the other is for older children with bigger rides etc. Although it was bank holiday the park didn't seem busy at all. Indoor washing up /laundry room with three sinks. Never needed to queue. Plenty of push button showers and wash cubicles again no queues. Cleaned daily. Large family bathroom with bath and sep shower wc and sink. Peaceful location. Ice pack freeze facility 25p per pack. Write your names on them prior. Shop/reception selling newspapers milk sweets bread and small selection of quick cook style food. Site owner makes regular daily patrols in his jeep. Quiet time at park after 9pm or dusk whichever comes soonest. A few stretched this rule but there is site security after dark on foot patrols. Good location for exploring. Great for dog walks. A little gem tucked away. We paid 2 to extend our stay for a further 4 hours to pack up at leisure. We will definitely be returning.

Date of Visit: August 2013 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Louisemac77 1 review from this member

Stayed for two nights with my husband and two children aged 4 and 7. Only second time camping and thoroughly enjoyed it. Site is lovely, very family friendly. Very safe to let the children wander about. Toilet and shower blocks plentiful and clean. Grounds very well maintained. Two play areas, football field, table tennis mini golf. Plenty to keep the children entertained. After reading some reviews we asked if we could be pitched overlooking the play area, which we were. Ideal for keeping an eye on the little ones! We were pitched on c4. Only drawback was the ground was very hard and we struggled with the pegs, but like I said only 2nd time camping so maybe this is normal! It certainly wouldn't put me off going back. Definitely recommend.

Date of Visit: August 2013 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Jmoose3 1 review from this member

Just returned from a 3 night stay at this site with four other families. Couldn't fault it in any way, clean and spacious toilet and shower block, didn't have to queue at all although the site seemed pretty full. Good sized tent pitches, the kids(10 of them in total aged from 7 to 14) loved having the freedom to use both play areas and cycle round the whole site, also enjoyed using the games room.

Well-stocked shop, particularly enjoyed the cream scones. Staff friendly and helpful. Lots to do in the area but also did a couple of walks/bike rides from the site through the woods, nice not to have to get in the car.

We'll definitely be going back.

Date of Visit: July 2013 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Manatee 4 reviews from this member

Spent 3 nights over a weekend at Golden Square, and we were very impressed. We normally go for smaller sites, but although this site must have been close to full, it really didn't feel it. We travel as a couple, but families seemed to be very well catered for while still being nice and relaxing. Very spacious pitches, and the two toilet/shower blocks never felt busy.

The newer toilet block was one of the best we have ever seen, and the one next to the shop/reception was also pretty good, always clean and tidy.

The shop was well stocked, and sold some amazing burgers! As many people have said, one of the sites real assets are the staff, all very friendly and lots of time for guests.

We will be returning!

Date of Visit: July 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Ian brown 13 reviews from this member

As many reviews have said previous to this one, Golden Square caravan & camping park is just an outstanding site for people of all ages, the site boast two great play parks of which keeps the kids entertained all day long, The top park has a zip wire, slide, climbing frame, swings and an old grey fergy tractor for the kids to sit on and play pretend farmers, The bottom park near to bottom tenting area has swings, roundabout, rocky horse and log to crawl over onto the platform and then slide down the fireman pole.

As this site was a former quarry in its earlier days means the ground is quick drying after any rain, but its also tough enough to bend pegs, so rock pegs are a must for all. As the caravan park is up on the top of the North Yorkshire moors you get stunning views of the countryside, you also get a lot of good weather, As being on the top of the moors it can like most places get a little bit windy, and if your a true caravanner or tenter then you will be prepared for whatever weather you get.

We have been visiting Golden Square for many years now, and never tire of doing so as its simply the best.

As caravanners we always check the weather forecast before we set off and many times now, the weather forecast has predicted rain, and on nearly all occasions it has never rained so again don't be put off if the weatherman says its going to rain as I'm sure its all a ploy as to get people off the road.

If you haven't been to Golden Square yet, then your missing out on a wonderful site.

I cant recommend Golden Square enough as their is so much to do on and offsite, and for all and for dog owners, their is a lovely forest walk where you can chillout and listen to the trees swaying in the wind in the peace and quiet in the forest as it is a circular walk from site.

Date of Visit: July 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Fergy93 1 review from this member

For our maiden voyage in our new to us caravan, wanted to go somewhere relatively local, and at an hours drive this site seemed perfect.

The weekend was fabulous, the weather hot, and the site was fantatic, great play areas for the kids (we never saw them until they were hungry), and the site felt really safe. Plenty to do on the site, and the lovely town of Helmsley a short five minute drive away. We recommend the outdoor pool in Helmsley (weather permitting).

Overall a great site, everyone really friendly, and will definitely be returning.

Date of Visit: June 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: MCavan75 11 reviews from this member

We have just spent a wonderful weekend at this site which luckily for us is less than an hour from home, needless to say this will become a regular weekend getaway for us particularly as for just 2 you can delay your departure until 4pm giving you 2 full days. This is a real 'family' site with 2 great parks for children, it feels really safe. There are wonderful walks across a very large dog walking field which lead into open fields and woodland, in the shop they sell a book of 8 circular walks starting from the site, with a bus calling at the site taking you into Helmsley you could easily not use your car for a few days.

The facilities are clean with hot powerful showers and the shop is the best we have come across with very reasonable prices. There were quite a few groups on the site when we stayed but the noise stopped bang on 11pm or earlier. The owner is very present circling the site at intervals to check all is well and at night the play park is formally closed. This did not feel intrusive but actually reassuring, I am confident if there had been a problem with noise or antisocial behaviour it would have been dealt with. As it was we just got the sense that those around us were there to spend quality time with their families which was lovely to see. The staff were consistently helpful and I am actually struggling to find any faults with this site. Great facilities, beautiful views and walks and all in a lovely area with plenty to do. Highly recommended, particularly for young families!

Date of Visit: May 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: ADSmith 3 reviews from this member

We wanted a weekend break about an hour from home and chose Golden Square. I made an e-mail enquiry followed by a 'phone call to pay the deposit. All very efficient. On arrival I was very impressed by the number plate recognition system that operates the entrance barriers. No problems throughout our stay and is obviously designed to keep undesirables off the site. Overnight Friday there was heavy rain but the site coped well and drainage was fine. We had a hardstanding which was a decent size for car, caravan and awning.

The shop provided most basic items, newspapers and magazines. The toilet block was cleaned three times each day and there were no problems with that, the chem disposal point or washing up area. An adjacent info point also contained a microwave oven and an ironing board - thoughtful. Road access is excellent, just use the caravan route from the A1 as caravans are prohibited on Sutton Bank.

Lots to do in the area. We did the North Yorks Moor railway on the Saturday and had an excellent meal and the Fox & Rabbit Inn north of Pickering. I paid a small extra amount to stay on site until 3pm on Sunday which made the weekend relaxing and meant everything was taken down dry. I'm sure we will return in the future.

There's a play area for children with zip wire, swings etc. And a games room with pool and table tennis but we didn't try the latter as we were out all day Saturday and the weather was excellent on the Sunday. Car, caravan, awning, 2 adults, 3 children, post-noon supplement all came to 49 which is comparable with other sites we've stayed at.

Previous     191 Review in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Save to Virtual Brochure  Add this Site to your Virtual Brochure                                Share  Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Submit your Review for a chance to Win Prizes!
Sponsored by the Caravan ClubSubmit a review to UKCampsite.co.uk of any caravan park or campsite, for a chance to win a caravan towing course or motorhome manoeuvring course worth up to 145, or 100 of Amazon vouchers, courtesy of The Caravan Club. Join the Club for just 44 per year to enjoy access to a great range of caravan sites, benefits and special offers.

If you've visited this site, then please submit a review for a chance to win.

Try our town listings   -   Other Sites in North Yorkshire   -   Search for a site

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a Clarke IG22000 2.2kW Generator worth 467.98! Visit the UKCS shop for exclusive discounts and offers

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Truckfest Peterborough
Exciting family entertainment, and you can make a full long weekend of them, by camping on site!Plus win tickets!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


8064 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend  -  Pensions Auto-enrolment

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews]  [Facebook]

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2014




0.0547