Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Golden Square Caravan And Camping Park

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > UK > England > North East > North Yorkshire > Site Reviews

Golden Square Caravan And Camping Park
Oswaldkirk
Helmsley
North Yorkshire   (Browse area)
YO62 5YQ   See Map                                 Share Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook
Tel: 01439 788269

Facilities:  (Key)
                  

Nearby: (within x miles)
1m  1m 1m  10m  5m   1m  5m  5m 
Featured Site

Pitches: 129
Open: March To October

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 212 Reviews
              9/10 from 212 Reviews


Units accepted:    Tents  Caravans  Motorhomes Caravan Storage Storage  Statics on Sale 

Special Offer available to UKCampsite.co.uk visitors - see here.

Photos (12)

Reviews:  212 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14   15   16   17   18   19   20   21   22  

Submit your own Review for a chance to Win £100!
£100 for your reviewEvery month someone who has left a review of any caravan park or campsite will win £100 of Amazon vouchers So, if you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win!

Date of Visit: May 2017 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Hrambler 1 review from this member

We have used this site for many years now and we are never disappointed. Always really clean. Always plenty of piping hot water. Safe place for kids to play. 2 playgrounds - one for younger kids and the other for older ones. Owners very friendly and helpful and they don't put up with any nonsense or bad behaviour. So if you're looking for a family friendly place this is the site for you.

Along with stunning views across the North York moors. Lovely towns and villages her by.

Date of Visit: March 2017 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: BRanger5104 8 reviews from this member

First trip out of the season to shake the cobwebs out of the van and didn't want to travel too far. I had heard about this site from friends and also read the positive reviews on this site.

The site is well situated and there are lots of local attractions. The site is well maintained and the pitches are a good size but you will need to bring a leveller.

The toilet blocks are clean and the free showers are hot. The dog lovers will love the dog shower near the toilet blocks and there is a designated dog walking area. There are a couple of kiddies play areas and a small shop with a few essentials. The staff are friendly and the ANPR system on the barrier ensures security.

The site itself didn't feel too cramped and our pitch was perfect being at the end of the road and when I come again I would definitely try and get the same pitch.

My only gripe, and it isn't all the fault of the site, is that nearly all of the water/grey waste areas are 10/12 foot from the path and you have to cross the grassed areas to get to them.

Unfortunately during our first night it rained for about 8 hours and the grassed areas became a bit like a quagmire and getting fresh water became a very muddy affair.

In fact this is the only reason for my score of 9/10. If the site put some gravel in these areas or hard rubber matting I would score it a 10.

Would recommend it and would come again, , , , , , , , albeit when weather is a bit drier

Date of Visit: August 2016 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Punisher 2 reviews from this member

We returned recently from a long weekend site was supper clean wc a little out dated now but staff were great managed to get upgrade to electric hook up at last min

The only problem we had was the ground or hard-core drainage was so close to the surface I bent nearly every tent pegs

Off to get rock pegs next time and big mallet

Date of Visit: August 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Tobyleeds 15 reviews from this member

We stayed for 3 nights to visit the area. The site is excellent for children as there is a very good playground and games field. Our dog enjoyed the dog field and the walks along the local footpaths. The site was quiet and well maintained. The only disappointments were the pre set push button showers - we are more accustomed to finding these on municipal sites in France where one pays a pittance, not on a site costing nearly £30 a night!

Date of Visit: May 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Sammymac 3 reviews from this member

Stayed here over end of May bank holiday. On the plus side the staff were friendly, especially at reception/shop and the views across the vale are stunning with good TV reception. On the negative side, pitches weren't level and were cramped, roads around the site very tight for caravan and not enough Loo/showers for size of site.

Date of Visit: May 2016 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Alibali65 5 reviews from this member

Tent pitches were nice and spacious, but beware take rock pegs!

Well stocked shop with all the essentials and newspapers that you didn’t need to pre order

Staff very friendly and helpful, a shed opposite reception with plenty of local information

The site is great for Kids as there are 2 play areas, football pitch and a separate dog walking area plus a play barn which was good as it rained a bit! Although there was a fair number of kids at the play areas things over the B/H weekend it quietened down when it turned dark.

Well looked after site and handy for local attractions.

While the toilets are clean they were quite dark at certain times of the day, a few times when entering no lights came on and it wasn’t bright enough. Also It was probably that it was a wet weekend but the toilets seemed to be permamently damp with no chance of the floors and surfaces drying out. The hand drier was so poor so I ended up taking a towel to dry my hands or use the back of my jeans! However these are minor gripes

The showers weren't great when all full and beware of the spay wetting your clothes and shoes

We will return but the toilets feel dated

Date of Visit: March 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Mark26 21 reviews from this member

Stayed here for the Easter Hols. On arrival we found booking-in to be a bit slow but staff were friendly and helpful. We had a hard standing pitch which was big enough for Caravan Awning and Car parked on the grass, not a lot of room to sit out. The site has two play parks which our two loved and crazy golf. This park is designed with children in mind.

The shop is very good and sells most things you would need and is not over priced. The shower block was clean every time I used it and always had plenty of hot water.

The only bad thing that put me off this site was the lack of rules, or enforcement of them. Most sites I have been to do not allow ball games by the caravans, but here my van was hit 4 time, my car twice and my awning twice and not by children, but by an adult and his young son, for this reason I will not be returning. If the Wardens were a bit more active, this could be a great site

Date of Visit: March 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Coral67 12 reviews from this member

Stayed here for 5 nights over Easter, check in was easy although took a little while they were training a new member of staff, but very helpful and showed us where our pitch was, pitches on the small side we had a hardstanding pitch (not level need ramps) which is caravan, awning, car, but car was on the grass meaning not much room to sit out or BBQ. Toilets were very nice and always clean and closed for an hour at 11am for cleaning. There was a shop in reception which was good sold most things. There were 2 children's play parks which were very good with zipwire and swings and usual stuff one at the top main field and one on lower field (our kids loved it ages 9 and 13), also a small crazy golf, which is £10. 00 deposit and 30p a game for 2 children which I thought the deposit was very steep considering the state of the golf clubs and balls. There is also a dog walk area, a tent field and a rally field. They say there is a indoor play barn but when we looked it was very over grown outside and around it, the kids nicknamed it the most Haunted barn, really needs an overhaul as were just few baby scooters in the out-side part and inside was dark and gloomy with a rusted up football table, a pool table with no balls or cues (maybe you had to ask in reception and pay a deposit), a soft play bit which was filthy inside. Apart from that we had a nice break, would I go again hmmm maybe not but I'm sure the kids would as there were lots of children there.

Date of Visit: August 2015 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: The4wildbears 5 reviews from this member

Good site with good facilities and very child friendly with good play equipment to so there never really bored took my dogs this time first time camping with them dog friendly to good walking fields with access to woods to give them a really good walk around. Facilities had everything to offer microwave, iron washer dryer you name it with clean toilets showers and clean wash up area. A shop on site sells most things required or what you may have forgot. Great staff very pleasant and helpful. And as mentioned 2 good outdoor play areas for kids. Close by pubs and areas to venture out to all in all great place will stay longer next time defo worth a stay!

Date of Visit: August 2015 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Alrm198 1 review from this member

Upon first glance, you are met with stone walls and pretty flowers on either side of the drive-in entrance and are met with post and rail fencing which houses a large camping field to your right. Driving further along, you are met with another pitch, this time with static caravans and then the ANPR (Automatic Number Plate Recognition) barrier which lets you in and out of the main camping area. Once you’re through the gates (having booked online and having provided car registration details) we drove to the reception area which comprises of an on-site shop, toilet blocks and outside dish washing facilities. The area is quaint, with flower baskets and seating areas and the other camping areas feeding from the same road. There is a small shed with visitor information and a microwave oven, and next to the shed is a local pay phone and the recycle and general waste bins.

It was raining on the day we arrived, but this didn’t stop the staff from being welcoming and friendly, asking if the journey went well despite the weather. We were booked in and provided with site details and local attraction information within a matter of minutes. It is also worth noting that there is an on site warden who is available when the reception/shop area is closed, and you are provided with contact details should you require assistance out of office hours.

Finding our pitch was easy, we were on pitch 77, which is a ‘corner pitch’ with a hedgerow and an option to hook up to the electric point (which we didn’t use). The site is very large and has plenty of space for caravan and tent campers alike. There was a large children’s play area on site as well, quite close to our pitch area, which was very well received by our friends and their toddler, who we were holidaying with.

Families and pets will enjoy this site thoroughly. We especially liked the ANPR system at the gate, which adds a little bit more security. Everything was in good working order and the toilet blocks were cleaned and checked regularly during our weekend stay. Check-in is anytime after 1pm and check-out is before 12pm on the last day of your stay. The shop is stocked well; we ran out of milk at one point and were able to buy a 2 pint carton for just £1. 00. Evening conversations reduced massively by 11pm.

The site is in a good location, only a short drive to Helmsley and Reivaulx Abbey. We did the Reivaulx to Helmsley walk which joins to the Cleveland way - absolutely beautiful.

We really enjoyed our first stay and would visit this site again in the future. Thank you for having us.

Previous     212 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Save to Virtual Brochure  Add this Site to your Virtual Brochure                                Share  Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Submit your own Review for a chance to Win £100!
£100 for your reviewEvery month someone who has left a review of any caravan park or campsite will win £100 of Amazon vouchers So, if you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win!

Try our town listings   -   Other Sites in North Yorkshire   -   Search for a site

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a KAMEI Husky L Roof Box worth £225! Win a Coolbox Cool ‘n’ Store Package worth over £235!

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Summer Motorhome & Caravan Show 9 - 11th June
Kent - Hundreds of traders and dealers and weekend camping ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


1225 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend  -  Pensions Auto-enrolment

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2017




0.2813