Home

   Log in or Register
   
Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Golden Square Caravan And Camping Park

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > UK > England > North East > North Yorkshire > Site Reviews

Golden Square Caravan And Camping Park
Oswaldkirk
Helmsley
North Yorkshire   (Browse area)
YO62 5YQ   See Map                                 Share Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook
Tel: 01439 788269

Facilities:  (Key)
                  

Nearby:
1m  1m 1m  10m  5m   1m  5m  5m 
Featured Site

Pitches: 129
Open: March To October

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 199 Reviews
              9/10 from 199 Reviews


Units accepted:    Tents  Caravans  Motorhomes Caravan Storage Storage  Statics on Sale 

Special Offer available to UKCampsite.co.uk visitors - see here.

Photos (6)

Reviews:  199 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14   15   16   17   18   19   20  

Date of Visit: August 2014 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Daim 1 review from this member

What can I say. ? IMPRESSED! Just returned from a family 4 day stay ( Sun-Thurs)and we will be back! On arrival we were greeted with a friendly, smiley and helpful face. Everything explained about the site and given a little map. Even given a slip with a discount on for the local pub in the village! Then shown to our pitch.

The kids (3&1/2 & 9yrs) loved the outdoor parks(didn't see the indoor play area as the weather was good!).

No queues at the toilets or showers and were kept clean all the time. I'm a bit fussy with showers on campsites and I have to say I was impressed!Temperature of the water was fine and the block itself wasn't draughty either. Plenty of toilet tissue/hand soap and hot water. There was a wait for the family bathroom (£1 fee) but that didn't bother us.

The little shop on site has most things you need. Homemade or locally produced goods as well as the usual canned stuff. Offer a freezer block service @ 25p a block. At the side of the shop is the dishes cleaning area - 4 sinks and draining boards with hot water.

Adjacent to the shop (next to a public phone box) is a gazebo with a microwave (10p fee) in and an ironing board and iron. Also loads of ideas of local or further a field days out with leaflets and notices.

Things quieten down around 2200 but not too quiet. People still enjoyed themselves.

Never saw the warden(as I was in the tent with the kids) but heard them drive by late at night - Which is reassuring to know someone is there if needs be!

During our stay we had a day out at Flamingo land which is about a 25min drive.

A day out on North Yorkshire Moor Railway too.

Anyone staying in a tent NEED strong tent pegs! The ground can be stoney in areas as its old quarry land but apart from that all was great. Plenty of electric hook ups available too!

Date of Visit: July 2014 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Suehoward 1 review from this member

Really clean and tidy campsite. Toilet and shower blocks very clean and perfect shower temperature. Well maintained shop, good security with number plate recognised entry and exit barrier.

The only I would say is missing is a watering hole, i. E. Small pub area. The nearest village is only a couple of miles. But if you are driving out for the day, it might be nice to be able to come back to the site and have a drink so no one has to drive. I realise this may cause concern with drunks etc, but even if it were just open for a couple of hours early evening, would be nice!

Date of Visit: July 2014 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: MatthewsFamily 1 review from this member

Where to begin, well, this is without a doubt the best campsite we have stayed in for children.

Our stay included the quieter weekdays and also the busier weekends and even at full capacity there was still plenty of room for the kids to play ball games and run about.

The parks were fab too, one geared more for older and another one for younger children. We were camped perfectly in the same field as the smaller park, this was ideal as the children had the freedom to go to the park while we could still see them clearly from the tent. They spent many hours playing there and playing games with friends that they made while there. Also crazy golf was so cheap and so entertaining especially for the money. The indoor play area kept the kids entertained on a rainy day, table football, pool and large connect 4.

The shower blocks were ideally situated and were the nicest out of all campsites and an added bonus was you don't pay for showers, yes it's never a lot anyway but it's a nightmare to get to the shower to realise you've forgotten your money to have to go back again. There was also a family bathroom with a bath in each block too.

The shop was more than well equipped with more than see in an average camp shop (even selling ice which to me when want a nice refreshing drink on a hot afternoon was fab) and also wish we'd known before but you can also freeze your own ice packs in the shop freezers.

Also on sale was a variety of barbecue meats and the most delicious home made cream scones.

At this campsite you had a feeling of being safe and that the owners really care. From seeing them drive around collecting litter on a morning and checking all ok to seeing the man having a drive about of an evening you have the feeling of security. This is not a campsite where the owners shut off and are just a name above the door. This campsite is friendly and welcoming, from making the booking to saying goodbye.

Date of Visit: May 2014 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: John+Brenda 6 reviews from this member

First time at this site spent 3 nights what a gem had a great time.

Whit week the 3 days we where there was nice & sunny.

When we arrived the rally field was water logged so they put us in the field behind with our EHU which reached no bother.

It was our own private field with our Friends 5 tents in all

Toilet Block & showers very clean

2 good play areas for the kids + crazy golf & a barn with stuff for the kids to play in.

The whole site was spotless.

The Gentleman in the land rover I think he is the owner can not do enough for you he is a real GENT.

All I can say is we had a great time and we will be back for a longer period.

Thanks to all the staff at Golden Sq

Date of Visit: May 2014 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Kent4711 12 reviews from this member

We spent 1 night here 20th May in order to visit Nunnington Hall (NT) next day. We found the site pretty empty. The owner told us w/ends, B Hols & school Hols were the busy times. There were 2 well looked after facility blocks with undercover wash up & microwave in info hut. It is a large site with small cul de sacs of hard standing or grass pitches on varying levels. A tent field. Large play area. A separate area of static caravans. The shop is really well stocked. The showers did not have curtains so you have to make sure to hang clothes away from shower spray. There were a lot of well cared for seasonal caravans on site. We did not use any local village amenities but I believe they are close by. On our way to site we did take a look at the National Park Visitor Centre at the top of Sutton Bank there are walks from there. Loos, a café & info on area etc. (no caravans allowed up Sutton Bank Road) We found people on site were very friendly

Date of Visit: May 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Sctait 5 reviews from this member

We arrived early so the barrier didn't recognize our registration number but a quick call on the buzzer & the barrier was raised. The reception was very friendly & although we where over an hour early we were directed to our pitch. The campsite was well maintained & the 2 kids play parks were great. The toilet block was also very clean & although it was a bank holiday weekend it never seemed full. My wife struggled to wash my daughters hair in the showers as the water was cold & the jet went past the dressing area (soaking clothes & the towel) into the middle of the toilet block so she had to come back to the van to complete the job. I did find it strange that although the park was split into about 7 fields there was only 2 rubbish area, s necessitating a reasonable walk to dump your rubbish.

As it was a bank holiday weekend we did expect the campsite to be full and it was. What we did not expect was to be packed in like sardines. The caravan parked on our Offside had his transport (Panel van) parked between his porch awning & our van leaving only just enough room for me to carry out my water & waste jobs & blocking any view we should of had. The van on our Nearside did not give me enough room to erect my porch awning & park my car at the side.

We also found the site noise to carry on well past midnight on both nights.

The site is well placed in the area which has loads to do in close proximity & is within easy reach of the moors or the coast & numerous English Heritage or National Trust sites.

Would we recommend this site? Not in school holidays unless they reduce the number of pitches by at least 1/5 & monitor site noise past 10 o'clock.

Date of Visit: April 2014 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: Keithcdb 2 reviews from this member

Fantastic site, kids play parks are excellent and the site is very well kept. Showers are very clean and plentiful, also the on site shop is very well stocked. We were lucky to have a pitch looking onto the larger park which was great for our little girl, the farmer had brought the sheep and lambs up to the top field so the kids could see the lambs.

The walks are fantastic through the national park land, very dog friendly.

Will be back again this year! 10 out of 10 from me.

Date of Visit: September 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Martin1010 9 reviews from this member

Weekend away booked at short notice. Large enough site so plenty of availability. It is very scenic and nice facilities which are very clean. Really good adventure playground which was a hit with the kids. Excellently stocked shop on site. Nice mixture of hard standings for caravans and tents opposite on the grass.

My only slightly negative is that they charge the kids 30 Pence per player for 30 mins on the table tennis table which I do think is a little OTT but minor in the bigger scheme of things !. Would I return, definitely

Date of Visit: August 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Boobootimmins 2 reviews from this member

What a fantastic campsite you won't be disappointed whether you have kids or not. My husband and I dropped onto this campsite by chance and are very glad we did, beautiful surroundings, plenty to do and see, open and friendly place, facilities are one of the best we've used yet, clean with plenty of space, we have one more night of a four night stay but will definitely be back again. Couldn't recommend enough.

Date of Visit: August 2013 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Chbemjd 2 reviews from this member

Had a fabulous 6 night stay during August bank holiday. The reception staff are very helpful and most welcoming. Beautifully kept site. We were pitched on the upper level overlooking the small children's park. Tip, take strong steel pegs as ground quite hard and stony. There are two parks within a few minutes walk of each other one is for smaller children and the other is for older children with bigger rides etc. Although it was bank holiday the park didn't seem busy at all. Indoor washing up /laundry room with three sinks. Never needed to queue. Plenty of push button showers and wash cubicles again no queues. Cleaned daily. Large family bathroom with bath and sep shower wc and sink. Peaceful location. Ice pack freeze facility 25p per pack. Write your names on them prior. Shop/reception selling newspapers milk sweets bread and small selection of quick cook style food. Site owner makes regular daily patrols in his jeep. Quiet time at park after 9pm or dusk whichever comes soonest. A few stretched this rule but there is site security after dark on foot patrols. Good location for exploring. Great for dog walks. A little gem tucked away. We paid £2 to extend our stay for a further 4 hours to pack up at leisure. We will definitely be returning.

Previous     199 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Save to Virtual Brochure  Add this Site to your Virtual Brochure                                Share  Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Submit your Review for a chance to Win Prizes!
Sponsored by the Caravan ClubSubmit a review to UKCampsite.co.uk of any caravan park or campsite, for a chance to win a caravan towing course or motorhome manoeuvring course worth up to £145, or £100 of Amazon vouchers, courtesy of The Caravan Club. Join the Club for just £44 per year to enjoy access to a great range of caravan sites, benefits and special offers.

If you've visited this site, then please submit a review for a chance to win.

Try our town listings   -   Other Sites in North Yorkshire   -   Search for a site

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a Nemesis Ultra Wheel Clamp! from Towsure.com Visit the UKCS shop for exclusive discounts and offers

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Manchester Caravan & Motorhome Show 15 to 18/01/15
Start the season with a trip to the North’s biggest outdoor leisure show. Win 10 pairs of tickets or claim discount entry

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3002 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend  -  Pensions Auto-enrolment

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2014






0.0586