Home

   Log in or Register

Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Golden Square Caravan And Camping Park

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > UK > England > North East > North Yorkshire > Site Reviews

Golden Square Caravan And Camping Park
Oswaldkirk
Helmsley
North Yorkshire   (Browse area)
YO62 5YQ   See Map                                 Share Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook
Tel: 01439 788269

Facilities:  (Key)
                  

Nearby:
1m  1m 1m  10m  5m   1m  5m  5m 
Featured Site

Pitches: 129
Open: March To October

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 195 Reviews
              9/10 from 195 Reviews


Units accepted:    Tents  Caravans  Motorhomes Caravan Storage Storage  Statics on Sale 

Special Offer available to UKCampsite.co.uk visitors - see here.

Photos (6)

Reviews:  195 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14   15   16   17   18   19   20  

Date of Visit: May 2014 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: John+Brenda 6 reviews from this member

First time at this site spent 3 nights what a gem had a great time.

Whit week the 3 days we where there was nice & sunny.

When we arrived the rally field was water logged so they put us in the field behind with our EHU which reached no bother.

It was our own private field with our Friends 5 tents in all

Toilet Block & showers very clean

2 good play areas for the kids + crazy golf & a barn with stuff for the kids to play in.

The whole site was spotless.

The Gentleman in the land rover I think he is the owner can not do enough for you he is a real GENT.

All I can say is we had a great time and we will be back for a longer period.

Thanks to all the staff at Golden Sq

Date of Visit: May 2014 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Kent4711 12 reviews from this member

We spent 1 night here 20th May in order to visit Nunnington Hall (NT) next day. We found the site pretty empty. The owner told us w/ends, B Hols & school Hols were the busy times. There were 2 well looked after facility blocks with undercover wash up & microwave in info hut. It is a large site with small cul de sacs of hard standing or grass pitches on varying levels. A tent field. Large play area. A separate area of static caravans. The shop is really well stocked. The showers did not have curtains so you have to make sure to hang clothes away from shower spray. There were a lot of well cared for seasonal caravans on site. We did not use any local village amenities but I believe they are close by. On our way to site we did take a look at the National Park Visitor Centre at the top of Sutton Bank there are walks from there. Loos, a café & info on area etc. (no caravans allowed up Sutton Bank Road) We found people on site were very friendly

Date of Visit: May 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Sctait 5 reviews from this member

We arrived early so the barrier didn't recognize our registration number but a quick call on the buzzer & the barrier was raised. The reception was very friendly & although we where over an hour early we were directed to our pitch. The campsite was well maintained & the 2 kids play parks were great. The toilet block was also very clean & although it was a bank holiday weekend it never seemed full. My wife struggled to wash my daughters hair in the showers as the water was cold & the jet went past the dressing area (soaking clothes & the towel) into the middle of the toilet block so she had to come back to the van to complete the job. I did find it strange that although the park was split into about 7 fields there was only 2 rubbish area, s necessitating a reasonable walk to dump your rubbish.

As it was a bank holiday weekend we did expect the campsite to be full and it was. What we did not expect was to be packed in like sardines. The caravan parked on our Offside had his transport (Panel van) parked between his porch awning & our van leaving only just enough room for me to carry out my water & waste jobs & blocking any view we should of had. The van on our Nearside did not give me enough room to erect my porch awning & park my car at the side.

We also found the site noise to carry on well past midnight on both nights.

The site is well placed in the area which has loads to do in close proximity & is within easy reach of the moors or the coast & numerous English Heritage or National Trust sites.

Would we recommend this site? Not in school holidays unless they reduce the number of pitches by at least 1/5 & monitor site noise past 10 o'clock.

Date of Visit: April 2014 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: Keithcdb 2 reviews from this member

Fantastic site, kids play parks are excellent and the site is very well kept. Showers are very clean and plentiful, also the on site shop is very well stocked. We were lucky to have a pitch looking onto the larger park which was great for our little girl, the farmer had brought the sheep and lambs up to the top field so the kids could see the lambs.

The walks are fantastic through the national park land, very dog friendly.

Will be back again this year! 10 out of 10 from me.

Date of Visit: September 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Martin1010 9 reviews from this member

Weekend away booked at short notice. Large enough site so plenty of availability. It is very scenic and nice facilities which are very clean. Really good adventure playground which was a hit with the kids. Excellently stocked shop on site. Nice mixture of hard standings for caravans and tents opposite on the grass.

My only slightly negative is that they charge the kids 30 Pence per player for 30 mins on the table tennis table which I do think is a little OTT but minor in the bigger scheme of things !. Would I return, definitely

Date of Visit: August 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Boobootimmins 2 reviews from this member

What a fantastic campsite you won't be disappointed whether you have kids or not. My husband and I dropped onto this campsite by chance and are very glad we did, beautiful surroundings, plenty to do and see, open and friendly place, facilities are one of the best we've used yet, clean with plenty of space, we have one more night of a four night stay but will definitely be back again. Couldn't recommend enough.

Date of Visit: August 2013 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Chbemjd 2 reviews from this member

Had a fabulous 6 night stay during August bank holiday. The reception staff are very helpful and most welcoming. Beautifully kept site. We were pitched on the upper level overlooking the small children's park. Tip, take strong steel pegs as ground quite hard and stony. There are two parks within a few minutes walk of each other one is for smaller children and the other is for older children with bigger rides etc. Although it was bank holiday the park didn't seem busy at all. Indoor washing up /laundry room with three sinks. Never needed to queue. Plenty of push button showers and wash cubicles again no queues. Cleaned daily. Large family bathroom with bath and sep shower wc and sink. Peaceful location. Ice pack freeze facility 25p per pack. Write your names on them prior. Shop/reception selling newspapers milk sweets bread and small selection of quick cook style food. Site owner makes regular daily patrols in his jeep. Quiet time at park after 9pm or dusk whichever comes soonest. A few stretched this rule but there is site security after dark on foot patrols. Good location for exploring. Great for dog walks. A little gem tucked away. We paid £2 to extend our stay for a further 4 hours to pack up at leisure. We will definitely be returning.

Date of Visit: August 2013 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Louisemac77 1 review from this member

Stayed for two nights with my husband and two children aged 4 and 7. Only second time camping and thoroughly enjoyed it. Site is lovely, very family friendly. Very safe to let the children wander about. Toilet and shower blocks plentiful and clean. Grounds very well maintained. Two play areas, football field, table tennis mini golf. Plenty to keep the children entertained. After reading some reviews we asked if we could be pitched overlooking the play area, which we were. Ideal for keeping an eye on the little ones! We were pitched on c4. Only drawback was the ground was very hard and we struggled with the pegs, but like I said only 2nd time camping so maybe this is normal! It certainly wouldn't put me off going back. Definitely recommend.

Date of Visit: August 2013 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Jmoose3 1 review from this member

Just returned from a 3 night stay at this site with four other families. Couldn't fault it in any way, clean and spacious toilet and shower block, didn't have to queue at all although the site seemed pretty full. Good sized tent pitches, the kids(10 of them in total aged from 7 to 14) loved having the freedom to use both play areas and cycle round the whole site, also enjoyed using the games room.

Well-stocked shop, particularly enjoyed the cream scones. Staff friendly and helpful. Lots to do in the area but also did a couple of walks/bike rides from the site through the woods, nice not to have to get in the car.

We'll definitely be going back.

Date of Visit: July 2013 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Manatee 4 reviews from this member

Spent 3 nights over a weekend at Golden Square, and we were very impressed. We normally go for smaller sites, but although this site must have been close to full, it really didn't feel it. We travel as a couple, but families seemed to be very well catered for while still being nice and relaxing. Very spacious pitches, and the two toilet/shower blocks never felt busy.

The newer toilet block was one of the best we have ever seen, and the one next to the shop/reception was also pretty good, always clean and tidy.

The shop was well stocked, and sold some amazing burgers! As many people have said, one of the sites real assets are the staff, all very friendly and lots of time for guests.

We will be returning!

Previous     195 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Save to Virtual Brochure  Add this Site to your Virtual Brochure                                Share  Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Submit your Review for a chance to Win Prizes!
Sponsored by the Caravan ClubSubmit a review to UKCampsite.co.uk of any caravan park or campsite, for a chance to win a caravan towing course or motorhome manoeuvring course worth up to £145, or £100 of Amazon vouchers, courtesy of The Caravan Club. Join the Club for just £44 per year to enjoy access to a great range of caravan sites, benefits and special offers.

If you've visited this site, then please submit a review for a chance to win.

Try our town listings   -   Other Sites in North Yorkshire   -   Search for a site

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a Wisport SilverFox 30L Rucksack Visit the UKCS shop for exclusive discounts and offers

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Tribfest Music Festival 14/08 to 17/08 East Yorkshire
An affordable, fantastic weekend away listening to some great live Top tribute bands. Claim discounted entry!!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3930 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend  -  Pensions Auto-enrolment

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews]  [Facebook]

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2014






0.0488