Home

   Log in or Register
   
Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Golden Square Caravan And Camping Park

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > UK > England > North East > North Yorkshire > Site Reviews

Golden Square Caravan And Camping Park
Oswaldkirk
Helmsley
North Yorkshire   (Browse area)
YO62 5YQ   See Map                                 Share Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook
Tel: 01439 788269

Facilities:  (Key)
                  

Nearby: (within x miles)
1m  1m 1m  10m  5m   1m  5m  5m 
Featured Site

Pitches: 129
Open: March To October

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 203 Reviews
              9/10 from 203 Reviews


Units accepted:    Tents  Caravans  Motorhomes Caravan Storage Storage  Statics on Sale 

Special Offer available to UKCampsite.co.uk visitors - see here.

Photos (10)

Reviews:  203 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14   15   16   17   18   19   20   21  

Submit your own Review for a chance to Win £100 of Amazon Vouchers
Win £100 of Amazon vouchersSubmit a review of this site for a chance to win. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win £100 of Amazon vouchers!

Date of Visit: August 2015 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Alrm198 1 review from this member

Upon first glance, you are met with stone walls and pretty flowers on either side of the drive-in entrance and are met with post and rail fencing which houses a large camping field to your right. Driving further along, you are met with another pitch, this time with static caravans and then the ANPR (Automatic Number Plate Recognition) barrier which lets you in and out of the main camping area. Once you’re through the gates (having booked online and having provided car registration details) we drove to the reception area which comprises of an on-site shop, toilet blocks and outside dish washing facilities. The area is quaint, with flower baskets and seating areas and the other camping areas feeding from the same road. There is a small shed with visitor information and a microwave oven, and next to the shed is a local pay phone and the recycle and general waste bins.

It was raining on the day we arrived, but this didn’t stop the staff from being welcoming and friendly, asking if the journey went well despite the weather. We were booked in and provided with site details and local attraction information within a matter of minutes. It is also worth noting that there is an on site warden who is available when the reception/shop area is closed, and you are provided with contact details should you require assistance out of office hours.

Finding our pitch was easy, we were on pitch 77, which is a ‘corner pitch’ with a hedgerow and an option to hook up to the electric point (which we didn’t use). The site is very large and has plenty of space for caravan and tent campers alike. There was a large children’s play area on site as well, quite close to our pitch area, which was very well received by our friends and their toddler, who we were holidaying with.

Families and pets will enjoy this site thoroughly. We especially liked the ANPR system at the gate, which adds a little bit more security. Everything was in good working order and the toilet blocks were cleaned and checked regularly during our weekend stay. Check-in is anytime after 1pm and check-out is before 12pm on the last day of your stay. The shop is stocked well; we ran out of milk at one point and were able to buy a 2 pint carton for just £1. 00. Evening conversations reduced massively by 11pm.

The site is in a good location, only a short drive to Helmsley and Reivaulx Abbey. We did the Reivaulx to Helmsley walk which joins to the Cleveland way - absolutely beautiful.

We really enjoyed our first stay and would visit this site again in the future. Thank you for having us.

Date of Visit: May 2015 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Craigsimo157 6 reviews from this member

We have now been to this site a couple of times and both times have been enjoyable. Last year we got there on a very windy day, our pitch was at the top of the bank and we were very exposed. However on arrival the owners told us that if we had any problems they could locate us in another area. Which after snapping a pole we did. Relocated in the Rally field we had a excellent pitch shielded by a hedge row and well away from any roads which meant it was very safe for our 3 children. The local area offers some nice scenery and a trip into Ampleforth was a good day out with some great beer and cider to bring back. The facilities are great with 3 play areas for the children and a football pitch. The toilets and showers were very clean and well looked after. The staff were very helpful. This is a site I have recommended to friends and I will revisit in the near future.

Date of Visit: May 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Goodalltopaz 1 review from this member

We have recently visited this holiday site for the first time as caravan owners and booked a supersite pitch. I have to say from the time we arrived to the time we left the staff were friendly, warm and welcoming. The gentleman (who I am now led to believe was the owner) who helped us reverse the van into our pitch was amazing! He could not do enough to help us at all and each time we saw him he was smiling. All the staff were great with the children too and never did I see a lack of patience even when the shop was full of little ones! The toilet blocks were amazingly clean and warm at all times and were regularly checked throughout the day. The site shop was well stocked and the prices were really reasonable. In fact I'd say the toys in particular were almost pocket money toys too! When we arrived, we had omitted to bring a hose for our hook up and one of the staff immediately went to see whether they had a spare one for us to borrow. The playgrounds were great too with a bit of something for everyone. Swings, roundabout, zip line, sand pit, football area and lots of grass recreational areas for the children to play games and sports. There was lots of space for the children to ride their bikes and play on their scooters too and the noise was non existent after dark so great for families with young children too. Although we didn't use it, the dog walk area was massive and a great addition to this site. We had a marvellous relaxing 4 nights here at the site and will most certainly be returning in the very near future.

Date of Visit: August 2014 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Daim 1 review from this member

What can I say. ? IMPRESSED! Just returned from a family 4 day stay ( Sun-Thurs)and we will be back! On arrival we were greeted with a friendly, smiley and helpful face. Everything explained about the site and given a little map. Even given a slip with a discount on for the local pub in the village! Then shown to our pitch.

The kids (3&1/2 & 9yrs) loved the outdoor parks(didn't see the indoor play area as the weather was good!).

No queues at the toilets or showers and were kept clean all the time. I'm a bit fussy with showers on campsites and I have to say I was impressed!Temperature of the water was fine and the block itself wasn't draughty either. Plenty of toilet tissue/hand soap and hot water. There was a wait for the family bathroom (£1 fee) but that didn't bother us.

The little shop on site has most things you need. Homemade or locally produced goods as well as the usual canned stuff. Offer a freezer block service @ 25p a block. At the side of the shop is the dishes cleaning area - 4 sinks and draining boards with hot water.

Adjacent to the shop (next to a public phone box) is a gazebo with a microwave (10p fee) in and an ironing board and iron. Also loads of ideas of local or further a field days out with leaflets and notices.

Things quieten down around 2200 but not too quiet. People still enjoyed themselves.

Never saw the warden(as I was in the tent with the kids) but heard them drive by late at night - Which is reassuring to know someone is there if needs be!

During our stay we had a day out at Flamingo land which is about a 25min drive.

A day out on North Yorkshire Moor Railway too.

Anyone staying in a tent NEED strong tent pegs! The ground can be stoney in areas as its old quarry land but apart from that all was great. Plenty of electric hook ups available too!

Date of Visit: July 2014 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Suehoward 1 review from this member

Really clean and tidy campsite. Toilet and shower blocks very clean and perfect shower temperature. Well maintained shop, good security with number plate recognised entry and exit barrier.

The only I would say is missing is a watering hole, i. E. Small pub area. The nearest village is only a couple of miles. But if you are driving out for the day, it might be nice to be able to come back to the site and have a drink so no one has to drive. I realise this may cause concern with drunks etc, but even if it were just open for a couple of hours early evening, would be nice!

Date of Visit: July 2014 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: MatthewsFamily 1 review from this member

Where to begin, well, this is without a doubt the best campsite we have stayed in for children.

Our stay included the quieter weekdays and also the busier weekends and even at full capacity there was still plenty of room for the kids to play ball games and run about.

The parks were fab too, one geared more for older and another one for younger children. We were camped perfectly in the same field as the smaller park, this was ideal as the children had the freedom to go to the park while we could still see them clearly from the tent. They spent many hours playing there and playing games with friends that they made while there. Also crazy golf was so cheap and so entertaining especially for the money. The indoor play area kept the kids entertained on a rainy day, table football, pool and large connect 4.

The shower blocks were ideally situated and were the nicest out of all campsites and an added bonus was you don't pay for showers, yes it's never a lot anyway but it's a nightmare to get to the shower to realise you've forgotten your money to have to go back again. There was also a family bathroom with a bath in each block too.

The shop was more than well equipped with more than see in an average camp shop (even selling ice which to me when want a nice refreshing drink on a hot afternoon was fab) and also wish we'd known before but you can also freeze your own ice packs in the shop freezers.

Also on sale was a variety of barbecue meats and the most delicious home made cream scones.

At this campsite you had a feeling of being safe and that the owners really care. From seeing them drive around collecting litter on a morning and checking all ok to seeing the man having a drive about of an evening you have the feeling of security. This is not a campsite where the owners shut off and are just a name above the door. This campsite is friendly and welcoming, from making the booking to saying goodbye.

Date of Visit: August 2014 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Iggyg 4 reviews from this member

This is our second stay here - however both times this site was booked by family members rather than us. We would not ever stay on a campsite like this - it is awful! Noisy, lots of pitches all packed in together. The park is horrible - lots of terrible screaming and badly behaved children with no adult supervision from their parents (probably drinking at their tent/caravans)

On a positive the facilities - showers/toilets are excellent and well kept. If you like noisy sites and being packed together with everyone else come here. If like us you like a shower a toilet and a peaceful relaxing field - this is not the site for you.

Date of Visit: May 2014 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: John+Brenda 7 reviews from this member

First time at this site spent 3 nights what a gem had a great time.

Whit week the 3 days we where there was nice & sunny.

When we arrived the rally field was water logged so they put us in the field behind with our EHU which reached no bother.

It was our own private field with our Friends 5 tents in all

Toilet Block & showers very clean

2 good play areas for the kids + crazy golf & a barn with stuff for the kids to play in.

The whole site was spotless.

The Gentleman in the land rover I think he is the owner can not do enough for you he is a real GENT.

All I can say is we had a great time and we will be back for a longer period.

Thanks to all the staff at Golden Sq

Date of Visit: May 2014 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Kent4711 18 reviews from this member

We spent 1 night here 20th May in order to visit Nunnington Hall (NT) next day. We found the site pretty empty. The owner told us w/ends, B Hols & school Hols were the busy times. There were 2 well looked after facility blocks with undercover wash up & microwave in info hut. It is a large site with small cul de sacs of hard standing or grass pitches on varying levels. A tent field. Large play area. A separate area of static caravans. The shop is really well stocked. The showers did not have curtains so you have to make sure to hang clothes away from shower spray. There were a lot of well cared for seasonal caravans on site. We did not use any local village amenities but I believe they are close by. On our way to site we did take a look at the National Park Visitor Centre at the top of Sutton Bank there are walks from there. Loos, a café & info on area etc. (no caravans allowed up Sutton Bank Road) We found people on site were very friendly

Date of Visit: May 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Sctait 5 reviews from this member

We arrived early so the barrier didn't recognize our registration number but a quick call on the buzzer & the barrier was raised. The reception was very friendly & although we where over an hour early we were directed to our pitch. The campsite was well maintained & the 2 kids play parks were great. The toilet block was also very clean & although it was a bank holiday weekend it never seemed full. My wife struggled to wash my daughters hair in the showers as the water was cold & the jet went past the dressing area (soaking clothes & the towel) into the middle of the toilet block so she had to come back to the van to complete the job. I did find it strange that although the park was split into about 7 fields there was only 2 rubbish area, s necessitating a reasonable walk to dump your rubbish.

As it was a bank holiday weekend we did expect the campsite to be full and it was. What we did not expect was to be packed in like sardines. The caravan parked on our Offside had his transport (Panel van) parked between his porch awning & our van leaving only just enough room for me to carry out my water & waste jobs & blocking any view we should of had. The van on our Nearside did not give me enough room to erect my porch awning & park my car at the side.

We also found the site noise to carry on well past midnight on both nights.

The site is well placed in the area which has loads to do in close proximity & is within easy reach of the moors or the coast & numerous English Heritage or National Trust sites.

Would we recommend this site? Not in school holidays unless they reduce the number of pitches by at least 1/5 & monitor site noise past 10 o'clock.

Previous     203 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Save to Virtual Brochure  Add this Site to your Virtual Brochure                                Share  Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Submit a Review for a chance to Win £100 of Amazon Vouchers
Win £100 of Amazon vouchersSubmit a review of any caravan park or campsite, for a chance to win. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win £100 of Amazon vouchers!

If you've visited this site, then please submit a review for a chance to win.

Try our town listings   -   Other Sites in North Yorkshire   -   Search for a site

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a BUZZ RACK Buffalo 4 Bike Tilting Carrier Win a HandiMoova Off-road Foldable Hand Trolley

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Benington Chilli Festival, Hertfordshire 29 – 31st August
Celebrate all things chilli in the hidden gem of a garden at historic Benington Lordship.

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


5708 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend  -  Pensions Auto-enrolment

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2015






0.0635