Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Golden Square Caravan And Camping Park

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > UK > England > North East > North Yorkshire > Site Reviews

Golden Square Caravan And Camping Park
Oswaldkirk
Helmsley
North Yorkshire   (Browse area)
YO62 5YQ   See Map                                 Share Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook
Tel: 01439 788269

Facilities:  (Key)
                  

Nearby: (within x miles)
1m  1m 1m  10m  5m   1m  5m  5m 
Featured Site

Pitches: 129
Open: March To October

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 214 Reviews
              9/10 from 214 Reviews


Units accepted:    Tents  Caravans  Motorhomes Caravan Storage Storage  Statics on Sale 

Special Offer available to UKCampsite.co.uk visitors - see here.

Photos (12)

Reviews:  214 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14   15   16   17   18   19   20   21   22  

Write your own Review for a chance to Win £300 of Prizes!
Sponsored by Ordnance SurveyWin £200 Walkers Camping Kit and Tent AND £100 of Amazon vouchers, courtesy of our sponsor Ordnance Survey If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Further info and prize details here

Date of Visit: August 2017 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Rogermooreseyebrow 7 reviews from this member

Just returned from a long weekend at Golden Square. Large, spacious, neat and tidy campsite and a great location/base from which to explore North Yorkshire.

On site, there's a shop, two children's play areas, dish washing/laundry room and it has to be said, some of the damn finest toilets and showers I've ever seen on a campsite.

We went with an electric hook up, which in hindsight, we probably didn't need, but the spot we were in was fantastic; right on the edge of a top terrace, overlooking the site.

My only complaint is the number of people who don't keep their dogs on a lead as per the rule. There were near fisticuffs on one occasion, after a camper had his tent area invaded by the same dogs, not once but twice while he was cooking food. His children were upset by it and the dog owners couldn't have cared less. The same dogs then terrorised another kid while he was playing with his ball, which led to the owners being told off by the lad's dad. I encountered a Doberman that had slipped it's lead and I grabbed it and found it's owner, who said: 'Thank God you found it; if there'd been a shitzu knocking about, it would've killed it!'.

Although it didn't spoil our stay, I do think that the site owners need to adopt a zero tolerance to this before someone gets hurt.

Other than that, I wouldn't hesitate to come back here. It's great.

Date of Visit: April 2017 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Sunncamp owner 13 reviews from this member

Cant fault this site at all! Lots of park facilities for the kids, toilet facilities clean and tidy and generally a high standard of camp site. Follow the route in and you shouldn't have any problems although the small village a couple of miles before site can be tight with parked cars and we did hit a spot of congestion on the way out with caravans coming the other way. Most of the pitches seemed a decent size although I have to admit the one we were on was quite unlevelled but looking around the site this was a minority. Staff helpful and efficient so all in all a good stay. It should be noted that on certain days with notice the white swan inn at ampleforth will collect you and drop you off if you plan on eating with them, there was no charge for this which meant that 4 adults and 4 kids were transported to the pub foc at a time of our needs. Food was very good too! The village of Helmsley was close enough and seemed very quaint.

Date of Visit: May 2017 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Hrambler 1 review from this member

We have used this site for many years now and we are never disappointed. Always really clean. Always plenty of piping hot water. Safe place for kids to play. 2 playgrounds - one for younger kids and the other for older ones. Owners very friendly and helpful and they don't put up with any nonsense or bad behaviour. So if you're looking for a family friendly place this is the site for you.

Along with stunning views across the North York moors. Lovely towns and villages her by.

Date of Visit: March 2017 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: BRanger5104 11 reviews from this member

First trip out of the season to shake the cobwebs out of the van and didn't want to travel too far. I had heard about this site from friends and also read the positive reviews on this site.

The site is well situated and there are lots of local attractions. The site is well maintained and the pitches are a good size but you will need to bring a leveller.

The toilet blocks are clean and the free showers are hot. The dog lovers will love the dog shower near the toilet blocks and there is a designated dog walking area. There are a couple of kiddies play areas and a small shop with a few essentials. The staff are friendly and the ANPR system on the barrier ensures security.

The site itself didn't feel too cramped and our pitch was perfect being at the end of the road and when I come again I would definitely try and get the same pitch.

My only gripe, and it isn't all the fault of the site, is that nearly all of the water/grey waste areas are 10/12 foot from the path and you have to cross the grassed areas to get to them.

Unfortunately during our first night it rained for about 8 hours and the grassed areas became a bit like a quagmire and getting fresh water became a very muddy affair.

In fact this is the only reason for my score of 9/10. If the site put some gravel in these areas or hard rubber matting I would score it a 10.

Would recommend it and would come again, , , , , , , , albeit when weather is a bit drier

Date of Visit: August 2016 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Punisher 2 reviews from this member

We returned recently from a long weekend site was supper clean wc a little out dated now but staff were great managed to get upgrade to electric hook up at last min

The only problem we had was the ground or hard-core drainage was so close to the surface I bent nearly every tent pegs

Off to get rock pegs next time and big mallet

Date of Visit: August 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Tobyleeds 15 reviews from this member

We stayed for 3 nights to visit the area. The site is excellent for children as there is a very good playground and games field. Our dog enjoyed the dog field and the walks along the local footpaths. The site was quiet and well maintained. The only disappointments were the pre set push button showers - we are more accustomed to finding these on municipal sites in France where one pays a pittance, not on a site costing nearly £30 a night!

Date of Visit: May 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Sammymac 3 reviews from this member

Stayed here over end of May bank holiday. On the plus side the staff were friendly, especially at reception/shop and the views across the vale are stunning with good TV reception. On the negative side, pitches weren't level and were cramped, roads around the site very tight for caravan and not enough Loo/showers for size of site.

Date of Visit: May 2016 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Alibali65 5 reviews from this member

Tent pitches were nice and spacious, but beware take rock pegs!

Well stocked shop with all the essentials and newspapers that you didnít need to pre order

Staff very friendly and helpful, a shed opposite reception with plenty of local information

The site is great for Kids as there are 2 play areas, football pitch and a separate dog walking area plus a play barn which was good as it rained a bit! Although there was a fair number of kids at the play areas things over the B/H weekend it quietened down when it turned dark.

Well looked after site and handy for local attractions.

While the toilets are clean they were quite dark at certain times of the day, a few times when entering no lights came on and it wasnít bright enough. Also It was probably that it was a wet weekend but the toilets seemed to be permamently damp with no chance of the floors and surfaces drying out. The hand drier was so poor so I ended up taking a towel to dry my hands or use the back of my jeans! However these are minor gripes

The showers weren't great when all full and beware of the spay wetting your clothes and shoes

We will return but the toilets feel dated

Date of Visit: March 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Mark26 21 reviews from this member

Stayed here for the Easter Hols. On arrival we found booking-in to be a bit slow but staff were friendly and helpful. We had a hard standing pitch which was big enough for Caravan Awning and Car parked on the grass, not a lot of room to sit out. The site has two play parks which our two loved and crazy golf. This park is designed with children in mind.

The shop is very good and sells most things you would need and is not over priced. The shower block was clean every time I used it and always had plenty of hot water.

The only bad thing that put me off this site was the lack of rules, or enforcement of them. Most sites I have been to do not allow ball games by the caravans, but here my van was hit 4 time, my car twice and my awning twice and not by children, but by an adult and his young son, for this reason I will not be returning. If the Wardens were a bit more active, this could be a great site

Date of Visit: March 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Coral67 12 reviews from this member

Stayed here for 5 nights over Easter, check in was easy although took a little while they were training a new member of staff, but very helpful and showed us where our pitch was, pitches on the small side we had a hardstanding pitch (not level need ramps) which is caravan, awning, car, but car was on the grass meaning not much room to sit out or BBQ. Toilets were very nice and always clean and closed for an hour at 11am for cleaning. There was a shop in reception which was good sold most things. There were 2 children's play parks which were very good with zipwire and swings and usual stuff one at the top main field and one on lower field (our kids loved it ages 9 and 13), also a small crazy golf, which is £10. 00 deposit and 30p a game for 2 children which I thought the deposit was very steep considering the state of the golf clubs and balls. There is also a dog walk area, a tent field and a rally field. They say there is a indoor play barn but when we looked it was very over grown outside and around it, the kids nicknamed it the most Haunted barn, really needs an overhaul as were just few baby scooters in the out-side part and inside was dark and gloomy with a rusted up football table, a pool table with no balls or cues (maybe you had to ask in reception and pay a deposit), a soft play bit which was filthy inside. Apart from that we had a nice break, would I go again hmmm maybe not but I'm sure the kids would as there were lots of children there.

Previous     214 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Save to Virtual Brochure  Add this Site to your Virtual Brochure                                Share  Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write your own Review for a chance to Win £300 of Prizes!
Sponsored by Ordnance SurveyWin £200 Walkers Camping Kit and Tent AND £100 of Amazon vouchers, courtesy of our sponsor Ordnance Survey If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Further info and prize details here

Try our town listings   -   Other Sites in North Yorkshire   -   Search for a site

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a HandiRack and HandiHoldall Combo Pack Win an OLPRO Abberley XL 4 Berth Tent

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet NEC Motorhome and Caravan Show 17th to 22nd October
See all the new-for 2018 products, including caravans, motorhomes, trailer tents and folding caravans Ė plus 1000s of accessories ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3570 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend  -  Pensions Auto-enrolment

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2017




0.0977