Home

   Log in or Register
   
Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - The Old Oaks Touring Park (adults Only)

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > UK > England > South West > Somerset > Site Reviews

The Old Oaks Touring Park (adults Only)
Wick Farm
Wick
Glastonbury
Somerset   (Browse area)
BA6 8JS   See Map                                 Share Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook
Tel: 01458 831 437

Facilities:  (Key)
                   

Nearby: (within x miles)
5m  5m 10m   5m  5m  10m  1m 
Featured Site

Pitches: 97
Open: 2015 - 13th Feb To 16th Nov

Rating: Average Review Score: 10/10 from 249 Reviews
              10/10 from 249 Reviews


Units accepted:    Tents  Caravans  Motorhomes Caravan Storage Storage 

Special Offer available to UKCampsite.co.uk visitors - see here.

Photos (16) and Video

Reviews:  249 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14   15   16   17   18   19   20   21   22   23   24   25  

Submit your own Review for a chance to Win £100 of Amazon Vouchers
Win £100 of Amazon vouchersSubmit a review of this site for a chance to win. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win £100 of Amazon vouchers!

Date of Visit: May 2015 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Sampage 1 review from this member

Fantastic site (it is adult only). Have just spent a great 5 days here. Everyone very friendly and helpful. Site immaculate and beautifully laid out. Can walk into Glastonbury (2 miles) and easy access to many attractions in surrounding area. Lots of trips organised from the site. They offer a minibus service to get you out and about. Plus they organised food boxes, takeaways, fresh bread daily, homemade cakes. All sorts of yummy things.

For us one of the most amazing things, as campers, was the fantastic shower/toilet/washing up block, clean, very warm, plenty of hot water. WOW it was brilliant.

Also great facilities for our dog and brilliant walking directly from the site.

Will be returning.

Date of Visit: April 2015 Unit:  Other Rating:
Reviewer: Thewhickers 2 reviews from this member

We stayed at this site for 3 nights in April. This was our first trip with our new (to us) Pennine Folding Camper. The reviews were really good so we hoped the site would live up to expectations! Well, it not only lived up to them – it surpassed them!

All the staff were very friendly and helpful. We were due to arrive at about 4. 30pm on Friday but got held up by traffic. I phoned the site to ask if they would take an order for the fish and chips over the phone – which they did – and what great fish and chips they were! When we arrived just after 5pm, we received a very friendly welcome and were given the opportunity to order bread and/or croissants for the following morning (we had the croissants & pain au chocolat and they were yummy!). Every time I went to the shop there was a friendly face to greet me.

Our pitch was a great size (we were in Walnut Terrace) and the views were lovely. We were right under the tor and could see people walking up to the top but couldn’t see St Michaels tower itself. All the pitches seemed quite private and beautifully landscaped. The whole site was very well cared for.

The facilities were amazing! Under floor heating, spotless washing up sinks and fantastic cubicles – we didn’t want to come home! The only slight issue was when in the showers in the gents section my husband said the direction of the shower could be better as the water sprayed out under the curtain and got everything wet. The older facilities block was good too – far better than some other sites we’ve stayed on. I must admit, one of the best things about both blocks was no push buttons! It’s great to be trusted NOT to flood the building!

Security at the site was good too. We liked the barrier system which meant the site was peaceful at night. When the sky is clear at night, you can see so many stars, many more than in a town.

This may have been our first visit but it definitely won’t be our last!

Date of Visit: April 2015 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Ruggerman 14 reviews from this member

Had this site recommended because of the Adult only & very dog friendly so went for 4 nights over easter this year. The site outdid all of the good things we were told. The newer facilities block has to be seen to be believe but even the other block was of a standard a lot of sites would do well to match. The dog shower and exercise was excellent and the surrounding countryside was made for walking. Visiting the Tor is a must if you can make the top and Glastonbury is worth visiting! We heartily recommend the 100 Monkeys for a morning coffee & cake, very dog friendly. Loved the selection in the shop especially the local cider (a must)cakes & cheeses. All in all looking forward to our next trip in July

Date of Visit: April 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Emma simpson 5 reviews from this member

Stayed for four nights over Easter weekend and have to say that this is the best campsite I have stayed on. Good location for glastonbury and the tors which can be accessed from site. Walk however not suitable for those with walking/mobility problems. Toilet block is luxurious 5 star facilities. Information room has a pool table in it, along with lots of other local information. There are laminated cards that can be borrowed if people wanting to use them to go on different walks. Site itself is absolutely immaculate with plants dotted all over the site. Brilliant recycling facilities and bin areas kept immaculate. This site is adults only and is very tranquil. Really good facilities if you have a dog. Massive dog exercise area which is fenced off so dogs are safe to be let off lead here. Poo bags available in the field. Impressed by the hot/cold dog shower for muddy paws. Shop sells a range of local produce, along with bakery items and newspapers that can be ordered for the following day. Staff very helpful and friendly. Recommend this site to couples 18+.

Date of Visit: April 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Lynm 41 reviews from this member

Another visit to our favourite site. What can I add to what has already been said? This site shows others how it should be done! It's not just the facilities, or the lovely wide pitches, or the wonderful views it is also the ethos & wonderful service from the staff. I emailed about a cake & sure enough there it was ready for me on Easter Monday for my husbands birthday. The staff are always smiling and you can just tell they are as proud of the park as anyone could be. Yes the fee is a little more than most but I don't mind paying it as every time we visit something else had been added. This year it was a whole new barrier entry & exit system with number plate recognition. There is so much to see & do around the area, from the beautiful sights of Wells to wandering through Glastonbury with it's last vestige of hippie culture to lovely little shops, the Abbey, Chalice Well and of the course the walk up the Tor. The Tor is easily reached from the pathway from the site. We availed ourselves of the fish 7 chip delivery service on Friday night too. If you want a peaceful, beautifully cared for and friendly place to stay go to The Old Oaks you won't want to leave. We never do.

Date of Visit: March 2015 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Rowsy 1 review from this member

What a fantastic little site! Our first visit here and we took advantage of the first night free for new customers which is a great way of getting people to visit and see what they think. Well we weren't disappointed. Fish and chips delivered on the first night, a great off lead dog walking area, lovely clean warm facilities and smashing staff. We went home with a smile on our face, a dozen fresh farm eggs and an intention to return.

Date of Visit: March 2015 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Kernow Camper 124 reviews from this member

This was our third visit to Old Oaks (adults only), but we'd not been since 2008! All I can say is that if it was 5* before then it's 10* now. Stunning. Everything about it was brilliant. From the online booking system (and out of season offers) to the welcome on arrival. Lovely friendly staff and owners explained everything.

We were tucked away in Lower Oaks on an all service pitch (free upgrade in March!), not far from the new, beautiful toilet/shower block which housed individual wet rooms (shower, toilet, sink), ladies and gents showers and toilets, laundry and washing up area. I'm not sure any other facilities will ever compare to it!

Plenty of bins all with recycling and water points for those that didn't have water on their individual pitch.

Great little shop with everything you could need. Daily papers can be ordered (no delivery charge) and collected from the shop the next day. Daily home-made cakes were on offer too. I managed to resist but OH couldn't resist the jar of local pickled eggs! The site also has take-away deliveries twice a week (fish & chips and now Indian this year) that you have to pre-order. Sadly we were there on the wrong days!

Nice walk directly from the site, either along a small lane or across fields on a public footpath, up to Glastonbury Tor (it's a trek but well worth it). Further on is Glastonbury town. Worth a visit but we bussed into Clarks Village, Street from the town (£3 return each adult).

Thank you for 2 great nights Old Oaks (although next time we stay if you could cancel the gale force winds please!). I have no doubts we'll be back and we would have no hesitation in recommending you stunning site to one and all.

Date of Visit: March 2015 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: Chris Hume 17 reviews from this member

Well what can we say.

I found this campsite on line And it was saying they run a bus to the Glastonbury carnival (November 21st) for a small charge of £4. 75. I read all the reviews and they were excellent.

Well we couldn't believe what we saw. Yes everything was excellent. The shower block was excellent. In the same building was the laundry and washing up area.

The staff were excellent. It is an adult only site which made a change.

We booked to go back in November, Just one problem couldn't stay for one night only as it is a minimum of 2 nights nov 21st. Oh dear what a shame we have to stay an extra night. HA HA HA

Date of Visit: February 2015 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: ChasConnal 1 review from this member

Excellent offers, excellent site, excellent helpful and friendly staff, have been before and will go again. We are experienced Motorhomers enjoying 70+ nights away every year and The Old Oaks have really got it right. Our compliments to them, long may it remain. The proximity to good towns and attractions is also good.

Date of Visit: March 2015 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Peter + Chris 1 review from this member

One of the best sites we have used since we started touring in 2004. Very thoughtful planning of the site providing attractive landscaped areas with excellent shower & other facilities.

The location is lovely with stunning views of the surrounding Somerset countryside. Welcoming reception and very good shop stocked with all the essentials plus enticing cakes and other foods. Fish & chip delivery on Frdays plus soon to be introduced Indian takeaway delivery.

Excellent dog walking area with warm shower. So helpful for muddy dogs!

Lovely walks around the site although not for the faint-hearted. Great walk into Glastonbury past the Tor, which is well worth ascending for the stunning views. 1. 5 - 2 miles to the center of the town with steep incline to start. Glastonbury Abbey is lovely & dog-friendly. Lunch in the Who'd Have Thought It pub was great &, again, dog friendly

Lots to do in the area so will return with a car to see more of it.

Previous     249 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Save to Virtual Brochure  Add this Site to your Virtual Brochure                                Share  Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Submit a Review for a chance to Win £100 of Amazon Vouchers
Win £100 of Amazon vouchersSubmit a review of any caravan park or campsite, for a chance to win. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win £100 of Amazon vouchers!

If you've visited this site, then please submit a review for a chance to win.

Try our town listings   -   Other Sites in Somerset   -   Search for a site

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a KAMEI Husky L Roof Box Visit the UKCS shop for exclusive discounts and offers

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Elvaston Steam Rally and Camping Weekend 4th to 5th July
HURRY Advanced booking now open - 3 nights camping in any unit, and admission to rally all weekend

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


6298 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend  -  Pensions Auto-enrolment

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2015






0.0610