Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - The Old Oaks Touring Park (adults Only)

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > UK > England > South West > Somerset > Site Reviews

The Old Oaks Touring Park (adults Only)
Wick Farm
Wick
Glastonbury
Somerset   (Browse area)
BA6 8JS   See Map                                 Share Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook
Tel: 01458 831 437

Facilities:  (Key)
                   

Nearby: (within x miles)
5m  5m  1m 
Featured Site

Pitches: 97
Open: 01/3 To 20/11

Rating: Average Review Score: 10/10 from 306 Reviews
              10/10 from 306 Reviews


Units accepted:    Tents  Caravans  Motorhomes Caravan Storage Storage 

Special Offer available to UKCampsite.co.uk visitors - see here.

Photos (16) and Video

Reviews:  306 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14   15   16   17   18   19   20   21   22   23   24   25   26   27   28   29   30   31  

Write your own Review for a chance to Win 300 of Prizes!
Sponsored by Ordnance SurveyWin a 300 Prize Package including 100 of Amazon vouchers, courtesy of our sponsor Ordnance Survey If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Further info and prize details here

Date of Visit: September 2017 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Cleocairn 10 reviews from this member

The location of this site is perfect for visiting the many interesting locations in the area. You can walk up Glastonbury Tor from the site and its definitely worth doing on a clear day. The showers and lavatories are the nicest I have seen on a caravan site, and immaculately clean. Particularly the individual shower rooms with wash hand basin, shower, loo, hairdryer and underfloor heating, were fantastic. The site shop is quite well stocked, but there are several supermarkets within easy reach. The information room is also very well done, with TV, easy chairs and pool table as well as laminated cards describing walks, which you can borrow. The staff are very helpful and have the check in process down to a fine art. We stayed on a fully serviced pitch with wonderful views. I wouldn't hesitate to recommend this site with just 1 proviso, the Internet is slow and a bit temperamental. We always managed to get there in the end but it can be frustrating. I haven't knocked off any points because a) it's not the fault of the site but the fact that high speed broadband is not available in the area and b) wifi is free. A fantastic site, beautiful landscaping, views, lots to do. Book now.

Date of Visit: September 2017 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Kaut0Bill 16 reviews from this member

This has got to be as good as it gets. There maybe other sites out there as good as Old Oaks but I doubt if there are likely to be any better. Other reviewers on here have said more or less all there is to say so I won't go into great detail but everything that has been said can't really do full justice as far as this site goes.

I would certainly recommend the home made cakes and also the bread that you can order on as daily basis.

If you are like us and have a motor home that you do not want to drive off site then I would advise that it is about a 45 minute walk into Glastonbury along a footpath and quiet lanes but you will need a reasonable level of fitness as the first parts of the walk both going and on the way back are fairly steep. If you wish to you can walk there and back over the Tor rather than along the lane.

Some people may say the site is somewhat expensive and I guess they may have a point to a certain degree but I would say you do get value for your money.

I would certainly recommend this site 100% and we certainly hope to return there.

Date of Visit: September 2017 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Coopertroopers 14 reviews from this member

Fantastic site ! The pitches are huge and well spaced out with lots of green space around about. The staff were very welcoming and helpful, showing us to our pitch and giving lots of info about the site and the area. There are two facilities blocks on site and both were immaculate and warm - choice of ladies/ gents shower facilities or unisex individual bathrooms with toilet sink and shower.

The dog walk is a long field at the side of the driveway into the site, fully enclosed and large enough to enable our 3 labradors to let off steam. Poo bags are provided and a warm dog shower for those mucky paws.

We walked from the site up the Tor - the walk from site along the road was pretty steep to the foot of the Tor, and then steps up to the top of the Tor for fantastic views all round. We then headed into town for a mooch and back to site - a 4 or 5 mile round trip and thoroughly enjoyable.

The shop on site is well stocked and there are daily fresh cakes and bakery to choose from.

Will definitely return.

Date of Visit: August 2017 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: Gumstabber 5 reviews from this member

First time here. Won't be the last!

Amazing clean, quiet site. Each pitch has its own sort of privacy in the form of bushes planted in between them. The pitches are large and our little campervan looked lost on its huge area of grandstanding - WE could easily have parked sideways had we wanted to.

The park is very professionally run and has a fantastically well stocked shop. They even had a cider and cheeses tasting while we were there. I'm writing this on the WIFI which although not fast is adequate for browsing - they are in the countryside a bit.

As with every review there has to be a negative point so after extremely hard thought I have to say that the hand dryer in the men's toilet is a bit weak.

Date of Visit: July 2017 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Cake Man 23 reviews from this member

Absolutely fantastic site, couldn't find anything to complain about. Staff really friendly and are there if you need them.

Toilet blocks and facilities are outstanding water hot enough to clean greasy items.

The pitches are huge so if you want space with privacy then this is it. The care taken over the grass & gardens really show

Great location for local area and if you enjoy walking. About a 35 minute walk into Glastonbury but can be demanding if your not used to it.

We had a six day break here wish it was for longer and will definitely be returning. If fact already planning our next visit.

10 OUT OF 10 FOR THE OLD OAKS

Date of Visit: May 2017 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Pozzle 11 reviews from this member

I wanted to visit here for sometime but also wanted to come when it was quieter. We finally got here for three night in May.

The site is lovely! The welcome was really nice. Lovely little shop with basic requirements catered for

Was a little disappointed that to partake of the specials food nights you have to preorder by 4 pm that day, as we tend to be out during the day and don't always know until later if we will be at the site or not

But that's minor Tasty cakes in every day. Would have like also to be able to buy fresh baked bread without pre order too. The eggs were free range from the sites own hens so even bought some to take home.

The showers/toilets/kitchenette area is luxurious! I'd happily have those at home. Water was lovely and hot and you could actually wash up properly (a lot of campsites it's Luke warm) microwave available free to use as is a small freezer.

Our pitch was great. Nice and level

We walked up to the Tor from the site (it is uphill but not hard) and also into Glastonbury itself so didn't need to drive off site during our visit

Nice secure dog run area too

Would definitely come back here! Lovely ❤️

Have to put a score for child friendliness so put 1 out of 10 but kids are not allowed here

Date of Visit: April 2017 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Archie Bargee 11 reviews from this member

Our second visit to Old Oaks and just as good as the first!

Lovely pitches, not cramped and pretty level. This year the nearest individual shower rooms were under renovation, but the big new-ish shower block is fabulous! No problem with TV reception, but mobile phone reception was intermittent. Wardens very helpful and friendly, nothing is too much trouble.

Glastonbury is the land that time forgot, still in the hippie 1970s and apart from us we didn't see anyone wearing a watch!

Date of Visit: March 2017 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Krispywhite 19 reviews from this member

Just returned from another superb stay at the old oaks caravan site, this site is immaculate throughout, toilets, roads, grass, borders, the lot is spotless in every way, staff very friendly, plenty to explore from the site, the tor, wells, cheddar, Shelton mallet, clarks village are all very close by, this is a adults only caravan park not to be missed great place.

Date of Visit: September 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Swaggy 2 reviews from this member

I write this whilst enjoying the Old Oaks experience. We are here for 3 days and as others have said, its perfect. Facilities are 5* hotel standard, pitches are huge and private, the whole park is immaculate. All the comments of others are not overstated. I'm even using the free wifi to post this. I've been camping for over 30 years and I can't top the Old Oaks. Not cheap but worth every penny.

Date of Visit: September 2016 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: Ian Julie 6 reviews from this member

Absolutely fantastic site, couldn't find anything to complain about.

Toilet blocks and facilities are outstanding.

The pitches are huge so if you want space with privacy then this is it.

Great location for local area and if you enjoy walking. About a 35 minute walk into Glastonbury but can be demanding if your not used to it.

We had a three day break here and will definitely be returning.

Previous     306 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Save to Virtual Brochure  Add this Site to your Virtual Brochure                                Share  Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write your own Review for a chance to Win 300 of Prizes!
Sponsored by Ordnance SurveyWin a 300 Prize Package including 100 of Amazon vouchers, courtesy of our sponsor Ordnance Survey If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Further info and prize details here

Try our town listings   -   Other Sites in Somerset   -   Search for a site

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win 3 AutoSock car snowsock sets worth 49.95+ each Win an OLPRO Caravan Cover in your size

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Manchester Caravan & Motorhome Show 18 to 21 January 2018
Advanced booking discount plus we have 15 pairs of tickets to give away ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


2841 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend  -  Pensions Auto-enrolment

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2017






0.1250
UKCampsite.co.uk
Advent Calendar

Advent Calendar

24 Daily Prizes worth up to 120 and a Christmas Day Star Prize worth 500!
Open Today's Window