Home

   Log in or Register
   
Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - The Old Oaks Touring Park (adults Only)

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > UK > England > South West > Somerset > Site Reviews

The Old Oaks Touring Park (adults Only)
Wick Farm
Wick
Glastonbury
Somerset   (Browse area)
BA6 8JS   See Map                                 Share Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook
Tel: 01458 831 437

Facilities:  (Key)
                  

Nearby:
5m  5m 10m   5m  5m  10m  1m 
Featured Site

Pitches: 97
Open: 2015 - 13th Feb To 16th Nov

Rating: Average Review Score: 10/10 from 233 Reviews
              10/10 from 233 Reviews


Units accepted:    Tents  Caravans  Motorhomes Caravan Storage Storage 

Special Offer available to UKCampsite.co.uk visitors - see here.

Photos (16) and Video

Reviews:  233 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14   15   16   17   18   19   20   21   22   23   24  

Date of Visit: October 2014 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Nikko136 15 reviews from this member

The site has generally very large pitches on a number of enclosed greens off the central facilities so, despite the spaciousness of the site, no-one is really far from the facilities. Views from the site are excellent and there are unlimited walking opportunities. Being in a very rural setting it is indeed tranquil, with no major roads within hearing distance. This does mean there are no pubs or shops less than a hike away, but a minibus service is provided at times for those with no car or bike.

The new amenities block has the latest equipment but sadly some practicalities were not adequately taken into account in the design. However, they get so many top-rate reviews from others that we wonder if we expect too much. For example, the showers splash out into the 'dry' area and only some have a seat which you can put shoes on to stop them getting wet. None are provided with duck-boards.

The chemical disposal hut is very basic, lacking anywhere to stand the cassette when adding water and chemical, except the floor. There are no hand-washing facilities at the point.

The fenced-in off-lead dog run is of good size and well-mown so balls and 'No. 2s' can be easily seen. There is a warm-water dog shower at the exit.

Overall we would rate this campsite as 'very good' but with a little bit of thought in the planning it could have been excellent.

Date of Visit: October 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Robert76 3 reviews from this member

By far the best site we have ever visited, the new toilet block is second to none, the pitches are spacious and well spaced out. The grounds are well maintained and are very attractive.

The site is well placed for Wells and Glastonbury, with several National Trust properties a short drive away, and on a wet day the Fleet Air Arm museum at Yeovilton is a must.

Date of Visit: October 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Monkey Socks 1 review from this member

Booked this site last minute looking for a peaceful place to rest for a few days. Well we both feel 'we done good'. The site is located just outside of Glastonbury and is virtually at he foot of the Tor. There is good walking in the area and you could if energetic leave the car and walk into Glastonbury. The site well and truly befits its 5 star rating. We booked by telephone and the receptionist was very helpful even pointing out all the offers available, upon arrival the staff were friendly and smiley, making sure we were made aware of everything and then showing us to our pitch, which included telling us where the shortcut to the dog walk was so we didn't have to go the long way round. The dog walk was enclosed and safe to properly exercise the dog. The facilities were spotless, warm and inviting, the block we used had individual ablution rooms and were in my opinion better than some hotels I've been in. Good little shop fairly priced and the ability to order fresh bread and croissants. The location in the heart of the country side made it very peaceful and in some ways old school with the mooing of cattle and cock a doodle do of the cockerel. A very clean open friendly site. We will be calling again.

Date of Visit: October 2014 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: Bellabongo 1 review from this member

This was my first stay at Old Oaks and although I am fairly new to camping as soon as I entered the site I knew it was special. The space of the pitch was larger than any other site visited and more private, no looking into neighbours van!

The wardens were friendly and helpful but not intrusive, the showers/washing up block was immaculately clean and luxurious. The shop was well stocked, delicious cakes, had slice of cappucino, very moreish.

This is a very dog friendly site, unlike some sites where they are just tolerated.

Lovely walks nearby, walked into Glastonbury. Climbed the Tor, the view from the top is amazing. Visited Wells. Nether Stowey for Coleridge Cottage, Dunster Castle in Minehead has fantastic views across the Bristol channel to Swansea.

Date of Visit: September 2014 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Susiemunro 1 review from this member

Simply the best site we have stayed on in our 5 years of motorhoming

Toilet blocks immaculate and the newest block is up to 5* hotel standards with oak doors, s/s fittings and modern tiled floors. The staff are very friendly and helpful with a good information room as well. Discounts available at some pubs and cafes, plus a mini bus service occasionally into town.

Walks to the tor and Glastonbury from the site.

Shop that is well stocked and lovely homemade cakes!

Plenty of full serviced pitches and hardstandings

Date of Visit: September 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Fred Moody 1 review from this member

We have just returned from 7 nights at this wonderful site, on arrival at the reception we were greeted by the very friendly staff and shown to our pitch by a warden. The views of the hills and country side from this site are fantastic. The new modern shower and toilet block would put many hotels to shame. We took Max our collie for a walk in the large enclosed dog run, it is very enclosed and he could run off the lead, at the gate to this area there is a dog shower with warm water not that Max could be tempted near it. There is a shop that sells most basic needs and a comfortable information room with a pool table and television. Over all we had a fantastic time at this site and we are looking forward to our next visit.

Date of Visit: September 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: The Admiral 25 reviews from this member

Just returned from a 5 night stay at The Old Oaks. This is by far our favourite campsite and is the one by which all others are judged (and usually found wanting). The staff are very helpful, without being intrusive and nothing is to much trouble. The standard of the facilities particularly the Middle Oaks block is 5* and would put many a hotel to shame. The pitches are very spacious and well screened from one another so you never feel overlooked.

The added extras this site provides are superb, the cakes and pastries are to die for and we also took advantage of their caravan cleaning service and the Friday night fish and chip run - it's these little thoughtful extras that make all the difference.

We will be returning in Easter next year and plan on making many more trips to this wonderful campsite in the years to come.

Date of Visit: August 2014 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Pebanshaw 1 review from this member

We have just returned from 6 nights at Old Oaks, what a wonderful relaxing break away from it all. The amenities block is second to none, lovely modern wash-up and bathrooms, showers that do not turn off every 20 seconds! We had electric hook-up and free Wi-Fi, which was very good with a strong signal, TV reception is very good too. The landscaping around the park is very well kept and the grass cuttings are even collected! The facilities for dogs is very good, with a fenced in area so 'Fido' can run free, poop bags, hand gel and a heated dog shower! The walks on the website, I printed before we left (there are copies of walks in the games room), are easy to follow and can be completed directly from the site, no need to take the car, we saw kestrels hunting and heard small owls at night. Glastonbury is very nearby not an easy walk (steep hill) but not far. Wells is a beautiful place to visit too, where there is a Waitrose. The information board is an excellent idea for things to do and which days the markets are on and where. It also has the cake of the day, my favourite Lemon Cake my husband liked the Cappucino Cake. I must also recommend 'Knights fish & chips' in Glastonbury, wonderful non-greasy chips!

Date of Visit: August 2014 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: Susanjo 8 reviews from this member

Another short stay at this campsite. Excellent as always. A wonderful vibe and great facilities. The washing facilities are second to none, especially the new block. And the washing up area is somewhere you feel you can put your crockery down safely, not something that can be said of all campsites. Always a pleasure. The area is great too, always something to do and see. Magical.

Date of Visit: July 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Spud01795 1 review from this member

This has to be one of the best sites we have ever visited. This was our second time and we stayed for two weeks. The site is very peaceful, clean and the facilities would put some hotels to shame.

The staff are very friendly, helpful and go out of their way to ensure your stay is as pleasant as it can be.

We have two dogs and the facilities are ideal. The dog shower is very useful as we had need on one occasion to use it, fox poo is not good for anyone.

The shop is well stocked from food to alcohol and the daily fresh bread and home made cakes are superb. They also stock useful camping accessories.

The size and layout of the pitches are well thought out and give excellent privacy.

The shower and toilet block near top oaks are 5* and it is easy to forget that you are on a campsite!

The location of the site means a visit to the Tor and Glastonbury are in walking distance, uphill but at 61 it did not present any problems to me.

We will be returning again in the near future.

Previous     233 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Save to Virtual Brochure  Add this Site to your Virtual Brochure                                Share  Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Submit your Review for a chance to Win Prizes!
Sponsored by the Caravan ClubSubmit a review to UKCampsite.co.uk of any caravan park or campsite, for a chance to win a caravan towing course or motorhome manoeuvring course worth up to £145, or £100 of Amazon vouchers, courtesy of The Caravan Club. Join the Club for just £44 per year to enjoy access to a great range of caravan sites, benefits and special offers.

If you've visited this site, then please submit a review for a chance to win.

Try our town listings   -   Other Sites in Somerset   -   Search for a site

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a Nemesis Ultra Wheel Clamp! from Towsure.com Visit the UKCS shop for exclusive discounts and offers

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Manchester Caravan & Motorhome Show 15 to 18/01/15
Start the season with a trip to the North’s biggest outdoor leisure show. Win 10 pairs of tickets or claim discount entry

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


1538 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend  -  Pensions Auto-enrolment

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2014






0.0615