Home

   Log in or Register

Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - The Old Oaks Touring Park (adults Only)

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > UK > England > South West > Somerset > Site Reviews

The Old Oaks Touring Park (adults Only)
Wick Farm
Wick
Glastonbury
Somerset   (Browse area)
BA6 8JS   See Map                                 Share Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook
Tel: 01458 831 437

Facilities:  (Key)
                  

Nearby:
5m  5m 10m   5m  5m  10m  1m 
Featured Site

Pitches: 97
Open: 2014 - 14th Feb To 16th Nov

Rating: Average Review Score: 10/10 from 206 Reviews
              10/10 from 206 Reviews


Units accepted:    Tents  Caravans  Motorhomes Caravan Storage Storage 

Special Offer available to UKCampsite.co.uk visitors - see here.

Photos (6) and Video

Reviews:  206 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14   15   16   17   18   19   20   21  

Date of Visit: April 2014 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Dajosprite 1 review from this member

Wow! Where do I start? This was my first visit to this adult only, dog friendly campsite and I have to say it is fantastic. Starting with the efficient online booking system encompassed within an accurately informative website, arriving at reception being met by the cheeriest wardens you could wish to meet and not just on arrival but throughout the stay whenever you see them. The facilities are spotlessly clean as is the rest of the site and staff couldn't be more helpful. My visit comes a few days before the minibus and day trips start but even before the season kicks in properly you can pre-order fresh baked bread, newspapers & a new service - the Friday fish & chip run. My only concern……. Will I manage to get a pitch as often as I'd like to visit.

Date of Visit: April 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Prof9 3 reviews from this member

This is one of the best sites we have visited and found the facilities the best we have ever used the unisex suites are an excellent idea and the whole of the block was kept very clean, and the grounds tidy and well kept. Pitches were excellent with plenty of space between, the staff were very pleasant an helpful with an excellent shop and services provided we will definitely be returning and would highly recommend this site.

Date of Visit: April 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Retired teddybear 1 review from this member

Brilliant adult only site. All the staff were very pleasant and could not have been more helpful. Myself and my husband were running a rally for the Bessacarr Owners Club and were made extremely welcome and on request we were allowed to use the information room for our meetings. There was a shop on site which was well stocked and the town of Street within 5 minutes drive away. We also booked a skittle alley at a local pub for our Saturday night get together. We could do with a lot more sites like this one. It was great.

Date of Visit: March 2014 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Baileybus 10 reviews from this member

We arrived to a very warm welcome and a great sense of humour from the wardens. The site was both spacious and immaculately presented. The pitches were all large and it was very peaceful. We could only hear the birds and the owls at night. There are some lovely walks with extensive views across the Mendip Hills. The shower/toilet block was first class with underfloor heating. We asked if we could extend our stay on the Sunday and they were very accommodating, finally leaving the site at 5pm. We could not find fault with anything. Everything had been thought

About. Although we don't live far away, we will definitely return. Thank you very much for a wonderful weekend break.

Date of Visit: March 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Fireydiva 2 reviews from this member

We've had a wonderful time here. The staff were friendly and helpful, and the park and all the visitor areas are tidy, clean and well maintained.

The on site shop and off licence is surprisingly well stocked, with local produce (including local beer, wine and cider) along with those things that you might need but didn't bring (storm straps for example) and essentials like shampoo and washing up liquid. There are also some really nice pieces for sale by local artists - one of those is coming home with me!

There's a good visitor information room with a pool table, information about local attractions and walks of varying length that can be done from the park. The walking routes are on laminated sheets and can either be borrowed and returned, or purchased if you want your own copy.

They're genuinely welcoming to dogs (as opposed to tolerant of dogs) - there's a nice, enclosed exercise area, a warm dog shower in case your fur friend gets grubby, dog laundry facilities for dirty dog towels and beds so the human laundry machines don't get hairy (genius - why don't all 'dog friendly' sites have this!) and secure tie clips outside every building so you can pop in to the shop or facilities block en route back to your van after your walk.

The new facilities block is the nicest I've ever been in - tasteful, clean, modern, warm, welcoming and eco-friendly. There are plenty of private shower rooms, as well as the private cubicles in the communal facilities. Although we're here in March, I wouldn't think there would be a shortage even at high season. The local attractions speak for themselves and the atmosphere is peaceful, tranquil and relaxed.

I've never written a review about the sites we've stayed on before, but this one is superb and completely deserves the 10/10 that I've given it. We will definitely be returning here, I would recommend it to anyone.

Date of Visit: March 2014 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: CK+B 25 reviews from this member

Most of this has been said before, BUT this is definitely one of the best sites we have ever stayed on. Lovely surroundings and birdlife, we had Greater Spotted Woodpeckers visiting our bird feeder each day! Great walks from site, perfect for our dog, even though he is getting on a bit! Nice on-site dog walk & doggie shower, which we were glad of after a muddy walk. Plenty of dog bins. Well stocked shop with local goodies, can order papers & fresh bread. First class facilities block. Extras like booking to have your motorhome/caravan cleaned whilst on site or even serviced.

We will most definitely be back and can't wait.

Date of Visit: February 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Julie58 5 reviews from this member

This is the best site we have ever stayed on. Every little details to make a stay special has been thought about and provided. The site is spacious and maintained to an excellent standard. Pitches are large and have beautiful bushes and trees between each pitch. There are no caravans in front of a pitch - just a large green area - no looking at your neighbours across the road here! The facilities would put a 5 star hotel to shame. They are just wonderful. Wardens are very friendly and helpful. Had all the time in the world for us. Going back again soon.

Date of Visit: October 2013 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: PatriciaM 7 reviews from this member

Just returned home from a fabulous weekend at the Old Oaks campsite. What an amazing place. Lovely welcome on arrival. Was given the opening times of reception/shop on our arrival, with a small booklet giving local info. The shop had lovely meat and jams for sale. Also fresh bacon and eggs if you wanted. Could also order our daily newspaper to collect next morning. Shown where we could fill up with water and then to our pitch, which was in 'Top Oaks'. Site was very busy and its easy to see why. Very clean and well maintained. I have never been on site with such fantastic toilet/shower facilities. The building was like walking into a posh hotel. Warm and exceptionally clean and fresh. Even the washing up area was inside and lovely and clean. Lots of local info available in the tourist information building next to reception. Glastonbury itself is within walking distance from the site. We will recommend this site to friends and cant wait to visit again

Date of Visit: September 2013 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Debsroly 3 reviews from this member

Visited for 5 days and I have to say this is my husbands favourite site for good reason.

Pitches are superb, tv reception good, showers and toilets immaculate, dog walk excellent.

The walks to the tor and into Glastonbury from the site are well worth doing with amazing views.

There is even a taxi bus which picks people up from the site on weekdays to go to Glastonbury and Bath at reasonable cost.

Absolutely love this site and the area

Date of Visit: September 2012 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Glamper Wendy 2 reviews from this member

We really enjoyed our stay at this wonderful site. The Owners and wardens were very helpful and friendly. The site is set out so beautifully. Looked immaculate, and the views across Somerset were stunning. As for the facilities. Well the best Ive ever come across. Definitely 5 star. So lovely and warm too. Loved the wet room shower rooms that also had a sink and loo in as well. These facilities were always immaculate whenever you went in there. They also had lovely washing up facilities in the new block as well. So nice to wash up in the lovely and warm on a cold windy day. The only thing I would say could improve the site for us would be electric grass pitches. We had to pitch on hardstanding which isnt very good for the bottom of your tent even with a thick footprint underneath. We had dimply marks on our sewn in groundsheet when we left and it wasn't very comfortable underfoot either as the hardstandings are really big chunky stone. But if they ever decide to have electric grass pitches we would definitely go back to this beautiful site. But think its more geared up for campervans and caravans at the moment. They do have grass pitches but none with electric hookup.

There are some lovely walks from this park. You can walk into Glastonbury or another lovely walk is the Tor which isnt far at all. I loved this park. I'm sure you will too. The only reason Ive given this park a 8 out of 10 overall rating is because no electric grass pitches.

Previous     206 Review in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Save to Virtual Brochure  Add this Site to your Virtual Brochure                                Share  Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Submit your Review for a chance to Win Prizes!
Sponsored by the Caravan ClubSubmit a review to UKCampsite.co.uk of any caravan park or campsite, for a chance to win a caravan towing course or motorhome manoeuvring course worth up to £145, or £100 of Amazon vouchers, courtesy of The Caravan Club. Join the Club for just £44 per year to enjoy access to a great range of caravan sites, benefits and special offers.

If you've visited this site, then please submit a review for a chance to win.

Try our town listings   -   Other Sites in Somerset   -   Search for a site

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a Clarke IG22000 2.2kW Generator worth £467.98! Visit the UKCS shop for exclusive discounts and offers

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Truckfest Peterborough
Exciting family entertainment, and you can make a full long weekend of them, by camping on site!Plus win tickets!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


10570 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend  -  Pensions Auto-enrolment

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews]  [Facebook]

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2014




0.0625