Log in or Register
Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - The Old Oaks Touring Park (adults Only)

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > UK > England > South West > Somerset > Site Reviews

The Old Oaks Touring Park (adults Only)
Wick Farm
Somerset   (Browse area)
BA6 8JS   See Map                                 Share Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook
Tel: 01458 831 437

Facilities:  (Key)

Nearby: (within x miles)
5m  5m 10m   5m  5m  10m  1m 
Featured Site

Pitches: 97
Open: 2015 - 13th Feb To 22nd Nov

Rating: Average Review Score: 10/10 from 280 Reviews
              10/10 from 280 Reviews

Units accepted:    Tents  Caravans  Motorhomes Caravan Storage Storage 

Special Offer available to UKCampsite.co.uk visitors - see here.

Photos (16) and Video

Reviews:  280 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14   15   16   17   18   19   20   21   22   23   24   25   26   27   28  

Submit your own Review for a chance to Win 100 of Amazon Vouchers
Win 100 of Amazon vouchersSubmit a review of this site for a chance to win. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win 100 of Amazon vouchers!

Date of Visit: October 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Penrith1150 3 reviews from this member

Like all recommendations, you take with a pinch of salt and go and see what it is like. Well I have never been on a site that is so well laid out, clean, and well kept. If you read some of the other reviews there is nothing that can be contradicted. The staff were everything that campsite staff should be, helpful in every way. The new toilet block was in fact better than anything that the Caravan Club or The Camping & Caravanning Club could ever aspire to. Even the old toilet block was kept impeccable, especially the fact that it had a BATH, if they ever upgrade that block they MUST keep the bath. All the pitches were very spacious, some with hedges round them. It's as if the owners have been to all other campsites, looked at the good points and the bad points and said this is what we want for our site, and they have achieved it. The only down point for me was there could have been a chemical emptying point in the Top Oaks field. Being pensioners we didn't use the playground facilities, but everything else was GREAT. Will definitely be going back.

Date of Visit: October 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Rfrayling 2 reviews from this member

What an amazing site! We have just returned from a 3 night stay on pitch B9 and we enjoyed every peaceful minute of it! The whole park is maintained to an extremely high standard and the new amenity block is better than you would find in some 5 star hotels. The shop is well stocked and you can order fresh croissant/pain au chocolat etc for breakfast along with your papers. They also have take-away nights (Chinese - Indian - fish and chip) which is handy if you don't want to cook.

The facilities for dogs are also second to none with a 300 metre long secure walking area with dog bins and bags and even a hot doggy shower! The Tor is only a short walk away if your up for the climb!

Date of Visit: October 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Jimsmisses 15 reviews from this member

We have just returned from a weeks stay at this site and cannot find anything to criticise. It really is as all the previous reviews - simply wonderful in every respect.

We stayed in the Lower Oaks area on a fully serviced pitch. The pitches there are large with ample room for caravan, awning and car and each pitch is segregated from its neighbour by a piece of lawn and a delightfully planted shrub border and these are very individually planted with no two the same which gives the site a really lovely parkland feel. The pitches are also extremely well spaced with lots of room to the side and rear for sitting out in your 'own space'. The gardens, and extensive lawned areas are maintained to a very high standard throughout.

There are plenty of facilities for refuse, all tidily sited within timber fencing and these areas are inspected every day.

We were close to the new facilities block which I can only describe as 6 star hotel ! What a joy to use. Both Ladies & Gentlemens' having three individual unisex shower rooms, each equipped with enclosed corner shower, wc and wash-hand basin. In addition there is the usual Ladies & Gents' shower and loo rooms - all wonderfully warm. The entrance to this building is spacious and warm with inviting seating and although we didn't need to use it, a very well equipped washing up area. There is also an excellent laundry room with all facilities needed.

The one feature we really did like was the car registration recognition to the access and egress barriers.

The whole site gives a feeling of open spaciousness. Reception is excellent and the staff are all extremely friendly.

Just wish this lovely site was a bit closer to our home.

Date of Visit: September 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Elainen 1 review from this member

We only stayed for 4 days but what a stay, what a totally perfect site, we loved it, Outstanding facilities, the toilet and shower block is the best we have ever been in, a well stocked shop with loads of extras you can order plus home made cake daily to enjoy in fantastic on site surroundings. Dark at night, which we like, and so very quiet. From our caravan we were able to walk both to the Tor and into Glastonbury itself which has everything you could need, we only took the car to street and Wells, minibus trips leave from the site which saves trying to find car parking. The site Wardens were very polite and incredibly helpful, they couldn't do enough to help, what a joy.

Thanks everyone,

Billy & Elaine

Date of Visit: September 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Bubble1 2 reviews from this member

We stayed at Old Oaks. For 9 nights. The welcome was excellent. Shown to our pitch(L5). Then found I had left my waste water pipe at home. No problem. Was loaned one for the duration. Thank you. All the staff were most helpful and obliging. Being an adult site it was lovely. Quiet and peaceful. Day and night security very good. Cleanliness, general site up-keep. Deserves 10*. If possible. Could go on. But go try it you will not be disappointed. Would recommend. Without hesitation. 'will be back'. Thank You. All at Old Oaks.

Date of Visit: September 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Cheeky-spaniel 1 review from this member

This was our second visit to Old Oaks after being recommended by family. There is absolutely no more they could do to make your experience any better. The site itself is beautiful and kept in pristine condition as are the facilities. The well stocked shop sells local produce and always has a home made 'cake of the day' which, after much testing, I can confirm are amazing! There is a games/information room with not just the usual generic tourist leaflets but details of local restaurants, walks and cycle routes too. The staff are super helpful and friendly, nothing is too much trouble. The site is within easy driving distance of many a place to visit too. I can't recommend highly enough and can't wait to go back for a longer stay next year.

Date of Visit: August 2015 Unit:  Other Rating:
Reviewer: Luckyladies 1 review from this member

Just spent an incredibly restful and relaxing long weekend at Adults only Old Oaks. The facilities are incredible. The new shower and toilet block are the best I have ever seen. The takeaway evenings, Fish and Chips, Chinese and Indian are a very welcome part of the whole experience. Don't know of any other site that offers this. Staff are incredibly friendly and knowledgeable about the local area. There is a mini bus to take campers into Glastonbury to save driving. Dog enclosure is excellent and very well used.

Date of Visit: August 2015 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Karenn1 1 review from this member

We have visited many campsites but this one certainly comes out on top! Although the old toilet block is somewhat old fashioned it was always clean and warm and I believe it is to be upgraded this year. The new block which was just a little further away from us was fantastic! The separate shower rooms, dish washing facilities and laundry area were like a 5 star hotel! Underfloor heating means no soggy floors and mops available in all rooms if you want them. All staff were so helpful, even leading us to our pitch when we arrived. We were in a tent on the gravel pitch and as long as you have an extra groundsheet it was good, draining well! Pitch was also a good size. TV/information room with pool table is also a great facility. Site is about an hours walking distance from glastonbury via the Tor but is a good uphill walk. Taxi from the town did cost 8. Glastonbury itself is an interesting town with lots of history and great old pubs and some local characters. Although it is a 200 mile drive each way we will definitely go back!

Date of Visit: August 2015 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Bahhumbugessexgirl 3 reviews from this member

This is a FANTASTIC campsite. We booked following the excellent reviews on here and weren't disappointed.

The staff are all ready friendly and happy to answer any queries. The site is spotlessly clean. One of the toilet/shower blocks looks more like a 5* spa than a campsite loo!

I can't fault this place and am looking forward to going back.

Date of Visit: July 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Scissorbox 3 reviews from this member

Another year, same old. There is nothing to complain about this site at all. Everything is just perfect. Great pitches, great showers and toilets and above all such excellent and friendly staff. Nothing is too much trouble for them. Another plus is the views and exceptional quiet of the whole site. Looking forward to another same old next year.

Previous     280 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Save to Virtual Brochure  Add this Site to your Virtual Brochure                                Share  Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Submit a Review for a chance to Win 100 of Amazon Vouchers
Win 100 of Amazon vouchersSubmit a review of any caravan park or campsite, for a chance to win. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win 100 of Amazon vouchers!

If you've visited this site, then please submit a review for a chance to win.

Try our town listings   -   Other Sites in Somerset   -   Search for a site

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a Buzz Rack Scorpion 2 Bike Carrier Win a CUBO Breeze Inflatable Campervan Awning!

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Camperex 2016 - Liverpool Exhibition Centre 8 - 10th January
Brand new leisure show for touring caravans, motorhomes, campers and park homes. Win tickets!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions

4778 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend  -  Pensions Auto-enrolment

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2015

Advent Calendar
Advent Calendar
Coming Soon!
Sign up for an email reminder