Home

   Log in or Register

Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - The Old Oaks Touring Park (adults Only)

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > UK > England > South West > Somerset > Site Reviews

The Old Oaks Touring Park (adults Only)
Wick Farm
Wick
Glastonbury
Somerset   (Browse area)
BA6 8JS   See Map                                 Share Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook
Tel: 01458 831 437

Facilities:  (Key)
                  

Nearby:
5m  5m 10m   5m  5m  10m  1m 
Featured Site

Pitches: 97
Open: 2015 - 13th Feb To 16th Nov

Rating: Average Review Score: 10/10 from 225 Reviews
              10/10 from 225 Reviews


Units accepted:    Tents  Caravans  Motorhomes Caravan Storage Storage 

Special Offer available to UKCampsite.co.uk visitors - see here.

Photos (16) and Video

Reviews:  225 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14   15   16   17   18   19   20   21   22   23  

Date of Visit: August 2014 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: Susanjo 8 reviews from this member

Another short stay at this campsite. Excellent as always. A wonderful vibe and great facilities. The washing facilities are second to none, especially the new block. And the washing up area is somewhere you feel you can put your crockery down safely, not something that can be said of all campsites. Always a pleasure. The area is great too, always something to do and see. Magical.

Date of Visit: July 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Spud01795 1 review from this member

This has to be one of the best sites we have ever visited. This was our second time and we stayed for two weeks. The site is very peaceful, clean and the facilities would put some hotels to shame.

The staff are very friendly, helpful and go out of their way to ensure your stay is as pleasant as it can be.

We have two dogs and the facilities are ideal. The dog shower is very useful as we had need on one occasion to use it, fox poo is not good for anyone.

The shop is well stocked from food to alcohol and the daily fresh bread and home made cakes are superb. They also stock useful camping accessories.

The size and layout of the pitches are well thought out and give excellent privacy.

The shower and toilet block near top oaks are 5* and it is easy to forget that you are on a campsite!

The location of the site means a visit to the Tor and Glastonbury are in walking distance, uphill but at 61 it did not present any problems to me.

We will be returning again in the near future.

Date of Visit: July 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Libbydowns 1 review from this member

Lovely site, clean very well kept throughout. Booked in April, disappointed with pitch size and site full so no choice. Small units were on large pitches, even one nighters had a bigger pitch than ours. We paid £200+ for 8 nights, not cheap but was high season after all. Not impressed as brochure stated 'large landscaped pitches'. Not true. Some were too close for comfort, approach roads were narrow when manoeuvring onto the pitch.

Date of Visit: July 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Piffy57 28 reviews from this member

Had a fabulous week at The Old Oaks, it’s the best site we have ever visited in five years of caravanning. The trip down from Lancashire was a long one due to M5 traffic but once we left J23 we were soon at the site. I use a Snooper Sat Nav and it took me down the A361 and a left into Wick Lane. You can go the other way. Either way the lane is narrow in parts but passable.

The drive up to the site is very impressive and from the point you go to reception you know the place is something special. The warden leads you to your pitch and we were set up in no time at all.

The shower block is very impressive and all the facilities including dish washing and laundry are spotless 24/7. The dog walk is one of the best on the circuit and even has a shower for the dog!

You can walk around the site and there are plenty of benches to sit on and absorb where you are, at the foot of the Tor.

Reception and the Shop are well run and the daily cake is excellent. They run mini bus trips daily too although we didn’t use them as we had the car and little dog.

The amount of investment that has gone into the site must be staggering but the place was full and so it should be.

228 miles from home but worth the M5 traffic and tiring journey.

The only downside was the A39 was closed going into Wells whilst they did some repairs on a 40 metres stretch of road which meant a de-tour via Shepton Mallet, but that wasn’t the site’s fault just an observation on why councils choose to do these things in peak summer holidays!

Will I go again……………. Too right maybe next year, if not definitely the year after.

Date of Visit: July 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Hobsyandsue 1 review from this member

We checked the reviews before we booked, they were all correct. This is the best site we have ever stayed at and we have already booked for next year. The only issue was a yapping dog, this was about four pitches away and was the only noise. I did complain to the staff and the problem was dealt with. How a dog owner can let their dog yap incessantly is beyond me. There were many dogs on the site that didn't make any noise. That was the only issue. Ticks all the boxes and the mini bus service was great. The only way this site could be improved was if they had a swimming pool and a free bar ! Excellent site, recommend it to anyone.

Date of Visit: July 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: FNot 12 reviews from this member

Absolutely brilliant site. Wonderful set up. Great dog walk. The toilet block is the best we have ever Really like all the things that make a difference - fresh croissants, good shop, home baking, sociable information room which can be utilised for different things. Minibus each day so no need to use car if you don't want to. Large Tv was well used as World Cup final when we there. So nice to see people gathering to watch it. This site has a warm friendly feeling & fully deserves it's 5 star rating. Only negative thing I can say - and it's not the fault of the site- is that despite great dog walk & shower with free doggy bags there were still a number of people who still think it's acceptable not to pick up after their dogs! This site is immaculate & a lot if care goes into keeping it this way. Fellow dog owners please pick up!

Date of Visit: June 2014 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: The Baness 2 reviews from this member

The Old Oaks is a beautifully maintained site, with excellent, spotless facilities, in a superlative location. We only stayed for two nights, but it felt like longer thanks to the peace (no children policy), and the ease of doing everything - water and recycling points dotted about, lovely shower blocks, really good shop. The freezer was also really useful to freeze plastic bottles of water, to help keep food cool, as we were blessed with glorious weather.

We hadn't realised that The Old Oaks is actually halfway up Glastonbury Tor, which was a real treat on arriving. The walking route from the campsite is well signed, and the direct route is steep but exhilarating. We also didn't plan the visit and were lucky to experience the Summer Solstice here. Another review mentioned security concerns due to the appearance of the locals, but I would like to reassure folk that the local hippies are a gentle, fun-loving bunch! There must have been a dozen dogs among the people watching the sunset ahead of longest day, and not one even barked while they were happily catching up with each other. It was a very memorable experience.

We also used the fishing lake, which is a lovely place to pass the time even if you don't fish. The lake is well-stocked, with flourishing lily plants - they looked ready to flower the next month (July) and must be a spectacular sight.

The standard is so high that most small talk amongst us happy campers was about how great the place was! Highly recommended!

Date of Visit: June 2014 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Ellybrown1 3 reviews from this member

We are a couple with 2 small Scottie dogs and always look for dog friendly sites. We have not looked at this site before as the prices are a little more than we would usually pay, however after having some personal contact with the site via Twitter and reading the website it looked amazing. We booked a grass pitch (no electric) as they do not do grass pitches with electric which we thought may be an issue (due to charging all the latest gadgets required!), however the site catered for tents with no electric. They provide a large fridge and separate chest freezer in the amenities block for campers to use, they also have a TV and pool room with plugs if you wished to charge your phone while you watch TV or play pool (we spent a large amount of time in here purely for the dogs as it was somewhere cool for them to sit as the weather was too hot for them) or alternatively you could leave your mobile phones charging safely behind the reception desk. The TV and Pool room also head a large display of local activities, tourist information and a book borrow/exchange.

The staff could not have been friendlier or helpful. They all seemed very knowledgeable of the local area, particularly dog friendly activities, and were keen to advise. The site is within close walking distance to The Tor (3/4 mile to the base of The Tor), and Glastonbury Town itself (1. 8 miles). These walks are both mostly off road, great for off lead walkies. The dog facilities were also good. They provide several safe 'parking stations' for the dogs while you go into reception or to use the amenities, water bowls, dog shower (with hot water) and an adequately sized enclosed dog exercise area with doggy bags provided and hand sanitizer for the end of the exercise. The only indoor place the dogs can go is the TV and Pool room.

The site provided a mini bus service to the local towns (between £2-3 each way per person) which left the site at 10:30am and picked up at 2:30pm. This was great for people in motorhomes who do not wish to keep moving the van, and for those who just don't want to do much driving on holiday. You are allowed to take dogs on the mini bus, however the mini bus owner stipulates that the dogs must sit on the owners lap, so it is not appropriate for the larger breed dogs. This was very popular so you needed to book and pay for a few days in advance.

The shop sold a variety of items, including camping equipment (some of which could be hired for a small charge), food, drink (alcoholic and non alcoholic) and did provide a couple of different home baked cakes on a daily basis (all of which were amazing), and they bake fresh croissants and pan au chocolat on Sunday (which you need to pre-order). They have also arranged a fish and chip delivery on a friday night, which is ordered before 5pm on friday and delivered around 6:30pm.

The showers/toilets were amazing. I have never seen toilets and showers so well presented in our 20+ years camping. There were toilet/shower blocks, but also a few unisex shower rooms and also a bathroom where hot water could be purchased for a small charge however we did not use this. There are also disabled toilets which can be accessed with a radar key (can be loaned from reception if you don't own your own).

Overall this site is in a lovely location with easy access to the local community. The site is very well run and the way in which it is presented represents a very intimate and tranquil setting, we couldn't believe how many pitches were full as the lay out of the site really didn't make you feel overcrowded.

I would highly recommend this site and we found it well worth the extra that we would normally pay. We shall be sure to return next time we wish to come to Somerset!

Date of Visit: June 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Lamb chops 2 reviews from this member

What a treat this site is!

The site is in a rural location and situated at the foot of Glastonbury Tor. I chose this site for my husbands birthday and he/we were not disappointed.

It's adults only on this site, dog friendly and peaceful, in a lovely location. Other campers were very friendly and we noted there were a lot of campers from all over Europe on the site too.

The shop was well stocked with the option of ordering bread and pastries for the next morning fresh from the bakers. There are numerous trips organised with a site minibus to local attractions if you wish to partake. There is a fish & chip van on a Friday evening if you don't fancy cooking.

The wardens were all very knowledgeable about the local area and friendly, advising of a walk we could take from the campsite leading up to the Tor which we chose to do to watch the sunset the evening we arrived.

The toilet and shower facilities are luxurious - there are also laundry facilities and washing machines for dog bedding. There is an ironing board and iron available. They even have a dog wash on site which we used to cool the dog down one hot day. There are numerous places to walk your dog on the site on the lead and a dedicated off lead secure area, with dog waste bins dotted around the site, even places to attach your dogs lead to if you need to pop to the shop or loo! Recycling facilities are also available.

The pitches are a good size and are all individual pitches so you aren't on top of other campers. The water and waste facilities were all easily accessible and close by.

There are lots of walks from the site across rural landscapes and Glastonbury is close by. We were provided with a list of dog friendly beaches, cafés and pubs which came in very handy.

We can't wait to go back and hope to stay for a week this time instead of 4 nights.

Date of Visit: June 2014 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: VillaMan 4 reviews from this member

I had the pleasure of a two night stay at this site recently and it is difficult to praise it too highly. It is hard to describe how good it is as from the moment you arrive quality oozes from everything they do at The Old Oaks. It’s as if the owners sat down with a blank sheet of paper, listed all the niggles, disappointments, shortcomings and oversights found at other sites and said right what can we do to make sure that this does not happen at The Old Oaks. This site sets the bar very high. I am a fully paid up (and very satisfied) member of the Caravan Club but this site takes quality and customer satisfaction to new heights. For example upon entering the shower block you feel as if you are in a hotel or at an up market leisure club, it is that good. And there is none of this nonsense of closing the shower block for cleaning, a continuing source of irritation with Caravan Club sites, for my wife and I. As you enter the shower block, to the left are the ladies facilities and to the right the men’s. To the left and right there is also a row of unisex privacy cubicles with a loo, wash basin and shower, effectively your own en-suite. Everything is to a very high standard and everything is spotlessly clean. There is even a seating area with comfy chairs and magazines if you were waiting for your partner to finish off. It really is a nice space to be in witnessed by the fact that I was in no hurry to leave the facilities. So often I soggily leg it back to the van asap to flee the skanky mess that is typical of many commercial sites.

There is a range of services offered by the owners and the site including a freezer to freeze your ice packs, a microwave and lots of other food niceties. And you get the feeling that if the service wasn’t on offer if you had a word with the wardens they would somehow manage to satisfy your request.

I asked one of the wardens about the best route to cycle into Glastonbury. I knew he was a cyclist himself because he rode his bike as we followed him to our spacious, level, hardstanding pitch. He was very helpful and we went into the visitor information building to look at some maps. Nothing too unusual about that so far except to say that when we got into the room, not only did it have all the usual literature about local attractions, it also had laminated maps for suggested walks around the area which were, of course, free to borrow. Also in there, there was a lounge with a bookcase containing a good selection of books, which again you’re free to borrow, a huge flat screen television, a pool table and comfy seats to relax in. I was amazed at the attention to detail and the quality of what was on offer. The warden said that people are welcome to sit and watch TV, read, play pool or just socialise and if you did want to bring a drink with you then go ahead and enjoy a drink in there. In short this adults only site treats its customers… well, like adults !

I could wax lyrical about this site for ages but I think I’ve got my point across – it is a very very good site and you will enjoy your stay there. Unbeatable value at £25 per night.

Previous     225 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Save to Virtual Brochure  Add this Site to your Virtual Brochure                                Share  Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Submit your Review for a chance to Win Prizes!
Sponsored by the Caravan ClubSubmit a review to UKCampsite.co.uk of any caravan park or campsite, for a chance to win a caravan towing course or motorhome manoeuvring course worth up to £145, or £100 of Amazon vouchers, courtesy of The Caravan Club. Join the Club for just £44 per year to enjoy access to a great range of caravan sites, benefits and special offers.

If you've visited this site, then please submit a review for a chance to win.

Try our town listings   -   Other Sites in Somerset   -   Search for a site

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a Dining Package, worth £124.98 from Yeomans Visit the UKCS shop for exclusive discounts and offers

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Somerset Motorhome Show 12/09 to 14/09 Shepton Mallet
All the latest Motorhomes and a host of accessories. Win Tickets or buy Discounted Day Ticket Offer!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


5951 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend  -  Pensions Auto-enrolment

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews]  [Facebook]

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2014






0.0547