Log in or Register

Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - The Old Oaks Touring Park (adults Only)

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > UK > England > South West > Somerset > Site Reviews

The Old Oaks Touring Park (adults Only)
Wick Farm
Somerset   (Browse area)
BA6 8JS   See Map                                 Share Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook
Tel: 01458 831 437

Facilities:  (Key)

Nearby: (within x miles)
5m  5m  1m 
Featured Site

Pitches: 97
Open: 01/3 To 20/11

Rating: Average Review Score: 10/10 from 298 Reviews
              10/10 from 298 Reviews

Units accepted:    Tents  Caravans  Motorhomes Caravan Storage Storage 

Special Offer available to UKCampsite.co.uk visitors - see here.

Photos (16) and Video

Reviews:  298 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14   15   16   17   18   19   20   21   22   23   24   25   26   27   28   29   30  

Submit your own Review for a chance to Win 100!
Win 100Submit a review of this site for your chance to win 100 of Caravan Club vouchers or 100 of Amazon vouchers, courtesy of this month's sponsor, The Caravan Club. Join The Club from just 48 per year to enjoy access to over 2,700 sites, exclusive member benefits and site special offers.

Date of Visit: September 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Swaggy 2 reviews from this member

I write this whilst enjoying the Old Oaks experience. We are here for 3 days and as others have said, its perfect. Facilities are 5* hotel standard, pitches are huge and private, the whole park is immaculate. All the comments of others are not overstated. I'm even using the free wifi to post this. I've been camping for over 30 years and I can't top the Old Oaks. Not cheap but worth every penny.

Date of Visit: September 2016 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: Ian Julie 5 reviews from this member

Absolutely fantastic site, couldn't find anything to complain about.

Toilet blocks and facilities are outstanding.

The pitches are huge so if you want space with privacy then this is it.

Great location for local area and if you enjoy walking. About a 35 minute walk into Glastonbury but can be demanding if your not used to it.

We had a three day break here and will definitely be returning.

Date of Visit: August 2016 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Maggieebley 3 reviews from this member

This is a beautiful site that deserves every award it gets and more. The toilet and shower block is fantastic - like being in a hotel. Dog friendly with lots of extras - they've thought of everything. They have a games room, site shop, cake of the day, coffee, fresh bread and papers delivered and take away meals delivered on certain days of the week.

I could go on - we love it and will definitely go back

Date of Visit: July 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Piffy57 34 reviews from this member

Third visit and it just gets better. Tony the Head Warden is the best Warden on the circuit, so pleasant and nothing is too much trouble. The site is maintained seven days a week and is a real FIVE star site. Problem is when you go somewhere else they never reach the same levels in standards. We had some great trips out including Longleat which is just over 25 miles away on good roads. We will be re-booking for 2017 as this is THE site we look forward to visiting and its worth the 230 mile drive.

Date of Visit: July 2016 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Dragon56 8 reviews from this member

Just returned from the Old Oaks and we really did not want to leave. This site has to be one of the best sites we have visited and much much nicer than we expected. The facilities are superb and the staff are very friendly and nothing is too much trouble for them. We had a huge pitch on the terraces and it was spotless. The surrounding countryside is stunning and there are some great walks. This site deserves a 6 star rating and we cannot wait to return.

Date of Visit: July 2016 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Rupaul 4 reviews from this member

Stayed at the Old Oaks with our little Fox Terrier, Reggie, for six nights. Beautiful, well maintained site with fantastic attention to detail. The toilets and shower block was like stepping into a luxury hotel and dish washing up was a pleasure in the designated area. The dog walk was excellent, especially the enclosed dog exercise area with the fabulous dog shower and welcome doggy bins and free poop scoop bags. The walk from the back of the campsite towards the Tor is very steep but the views were amazing and worth the breathlessness. We did the walk on three occasions but had a taxi back to the site (average fare 8). Six nights was probably a little too long to stay as the town is only small and there doesn't seem to be any decent pubs offering food although we did have a late lunch in the 'Who'd a Thought It Inn'. However, the pubs were dog friendly. The market was worth a visit with lots of fabulous food. The shops and churches are worthy of a visit but we felt slightly uncomfortable with the beggars in the town. Back on site, however, the shop sells everything you could wish for and staff are more than friendly. My partner, Paul, fished a couple of times and said it was good. I can say it is a pleasant walk around the pond too. We did make use of the site minibus into Glastonbury on one occasion, which was a bargain. All in all a truly wonderful site but we probably would only for two or three nights as there isn't much within walking distance.

Date of Visit: September 2015 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: M + M 6 reviews from this member

First class facilities.

Excellent & friendly staff.

Thoughtful attention to detail.

Paradise for doggies too.

Lovely walk into Glastonbury, a town from another world.

Carlsberg don't do campsites, but if they did.

Date of Visit: June 2016 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Luckyskip 13 reviews from this member

We have only been lucky enough to stay here for two nights, we have to leave in the morning to continue our tour down to Cornwall. Although the weather has been pretty dreadful, the site is still immaculate. The staff were very friendly & knowledgeable of the local area, there are local walks in the TV lounge to take away & try. We walked straight from the site very easily to Glastonbury Torr (very steep climb to the top but worth it)!

The amenities block is second to none, immaculate & warm in this dreadful weather, just what was needed after our walk.

They arrange 'take always' for you most evenings, we had a curry last night which is a really good service if you do not wish to cook.

All in all, one of the best sites we have visited & we have already rebooked, hopefully we may get some better weather next time.

Date of Visit: May 2016 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Beattie08 22 reviews from this member

Just 1 night here en-route to Cornwall

Will stay longer next time!

This site is excellent all round. Location, 5* facilities, supersize pitches, security, everything!

Friendly helpful wardens

Managed a walk up Glastonbury Tor, amazing views. Walked on into Glastonbury. Not over impressed, seems a bit tired. Plenty of funky hippy shops, didn't find a decent pub, maybe we're getting too fussy!

Taxi back to site 7. 60

Stunning site, will return.

Bonus of free wifi a plus.

Date of Visit: May 2016 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: GrumpyBoaby 58 reviews from this member

Very little to add to the previous reviews, we had a lovely relaxing bank holiday weekend in a quiet part of the site, we were slightly elevated with lovely panoramic views over the countryside and beyond.

As bird watchers we were delighted to see so many different birds on the site and surrounding countryside.

We didn't attempt to climb the TOR this trip as we had sore feet from walking in the New Forest, really well laid out site with really clean showers and W/C, didn't try the new block. Washing machines block was being refurbished at the time.

Really good shop, with daily papers, booze and camping gear, the old shower block although spotless could do with updating in my opinion.

This is a beautiful site in a beautiful part of the country, its a site we always wanted to see, however may not visit again due to the tariffs.

Previous     298 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Save to Virtual Brochure  Add this Site to your Virtual Brochure                                Share  Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Submit a Review for a chance to Win 100!
Sponsored by the Caravan ClubSubmit a review to UKCampsite.co.uk of any caravan park or campsite for your chance to win your choice of 100 of Caravan Club vouchers or 100 of Amazon vouchers, courtesy of this month's sponsor, The Caravan Club

If you've visited this site, then please submit a review for a chance to win.

Try our town listings   -   Other Sites in Somerset   -   Search for a site

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a pair of OLPRO Hush Sleeping Bags worth 48.00 Win a HandiMoova Off-road Foldable Hand Trolley!

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Beat at Tencreek 60s Weekend, Cornwall - 14th to 16th October
A Sounds of the Swinging Sixties long weekend concert with camping on site ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions

5456 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend  -  Pensions Auto-enrolment

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2016