Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - The Old Oaks Touring Park (adults Only)

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > UK > England > South West > Somerset > Site Reviews

The Old Oaks Touring Park (adults Only)
Wick Farm
Wick
Glastonbury
Somerset   (Browse area)
BA6 8JS   See Map
Tel: 01458 831 437
Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast        Visit their website    

Special Offer available to UKCampsite.co.uk visitors - see here
 Featured Site

Pitches: 97
Open: 01/3 To 18/11

Rating: Average Review Score: 10/10 from 311 Reviews
                10/10 from 311 Reviews

Add this Site to your Virtual BrochureSave to Virtual Brochure

Photos (24) and Video

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches  Caravan Storage Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Adults Only   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Adults Only   Club Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 Kitchen Facilities   Freezer Available    Motorhome Point   Fully Serviced Pitches 
 Shop On Site   Bar <5 miles   Restaurant <5 miles   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   TV Room   Games Room   Evening Entertainment 
 Fishing On Site   Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool   Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding   Cycle Hire <5 miles   Golf   Tennis 
 Beach   Watersports   Boat Launch / Mooring 
Other Features
 Sea Views   Working Farm   Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 Waterside Location   Dog Walk On Site   Public Transport <1 mile 

Reviews:  311 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14   15   16   17   18   19   20   21   22   23   24   25   26   27   28   29   30   31   32  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: June 2018 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Coopertroopers 21 reviews from this member

This was our second visit to the Old Oaks site and it was as amazing as we remembered. The staff are very friendly and helpful. The pitches are huge and there is a feeling of space all around. We stayed on the Lower Oaks section of the site as we wanted to be close to the dog walk. The facilities are like something out of a hotel and always clean and warm.

The walk up to the Tor is challenging but certainly worth it for the views.

The shop is very well stocked, with fantastic cakes on sales each day and if you don't fancy cooking, there are takeaway nights most days of the week - just fill in a form and hand in to reception.

A most relaxing and peaceful site which made us feel truly spoiled.

Date of Visit: May 2018 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Scilly Boy 9 reviews from this member

We visited this adult only site in May 2018. Check in was easy and simple and we were guided to our pitch. This is a big site but it is well laid out and pitches are large enough and well spaced. There are large areas of open grass to the various areas giving the site an airy feel. The facilities are very modern and constantly kept clean. These are very probably the best facilities we have seen on any site.

There is a well stocked shop at reception. The shop has daily visits from the local bakery and local fresh meat is provided from the siteís farm. Orders for these must be placed the day before.

The shop has a large range of everyday grocery items and there is a small camping shop on site too.

The site is visited each evening by a variety of take-aways such as Indian, Chinese, chip shop, pizza and kebab, and a wood fired pizza which we can recommend.

The site is within walking distance of Glastonbury Tor and the town centre. Taxi fare back from Glastonbury is £7.

This is a very smart site which is both quiet and peaceful.

The wardens could not be more friendly and helpful.

Keep an eye out for the freshly made cake of the day.

Date of Visit: April 2018 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Exlincolngirl 4 reviews from this member

This is our top site to stay in. It really feels like a 'proper' holiday now that they have delicious food deliveries almost every day. The latest addition is the Pizza evening, which is on a Thursday, & simply delicious with a lot of choice (& we are not regular pizza eaters!) I appreciate the lovely dog walk, but in over a decade, have never used the doggy showers provided, so when booking for 2019, (yes, already) I'm disappointed to find that the daily dog rate has gone up to £2. 10 per night, so a week with 2 dogs, like us, is well over £240 now (you only get Senior £1 per night discount at certain times). We went three times in 2017, but maybe will have to cut that down! It will still be a treat to go there, the grounds are immaculate, the shop is well stocked, there is a cake of the day with a reasonable charge for a slice, & within easy reach, Street, Wells, & Glastonbury.

Date of Visit: April 2018 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Woodspoiler 4 reviews from this member

We are currently staying here at the moment for the first time here and I have to say I never thought Iíd find the perfect site, but I think this is it thereís a saying ďthat you get what you pay forĒ and this place sums it up. Everything said on these reviews is true I canít add more but have to say we are just loving it here so relaxing and facilities and detail Iíve never seen before, like a five star hotel! Or better!

They do deserve 10 out of 10 on the reviews. We will return.

John and Val Roberts.

Date of Visit: April 2018 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Harris965 1 review from this member

Well what can we say apart from amazing. Our first visit (staying for three nights) and definitely not the last! Canít wait to book another weekend break ☺️

From the minute you arrive you will be impressed by the site and not forgetting the staff. Stunning location peaceful and quiet canít wait until we come back! you must book a trip to the Old Oaks

Date of Visit: September 2017 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Cleocairn 11 reviews from this member

The location of this site is perfect for visiting the many interesting locations in the area. You can walk up Glastonbury Tor from the site and its definitely worth doing on a clear day. The showers and lavatories are the nicest I have seen on a caravan site, and immaculately clean. Particularly the individual shower rooms with wash hand basin, shower, loo, hairdryer and underfloor heating, were fantastic. The site shop is quite well stocked, but there are several supermarkets within easy reach. The information room is also very well done, with TV, easy chairs and pool table as well as laminated cards describing walks, which you can borrow. The staff are very helpful and have the check in process down to a fine art. We stayed on a fully serviced pitch with wonderful views. I wouldn't hesitate to recommend this site with just 1 proviso, the Internet is slow and a bit temperamental. We always managed to get there in the end but it can be frustrating. I haven't knocked off any points because a) it's not the fault of the site but the fact that high speed broadband is not available in the area and b) wifi is free. A fantastic site, beautiful landscaping, views, lots to do. Book now.

Date of Visit: September 2017 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Kaut0Bill 16 reviews from this member

This has got to be as good as it gets. There maybe other sites out there as good as Old Oaks but I doubt if there are likely to be any better. Other reviewers on here have said more or less all there is to say so I won't go into great detail but everything that has been said can't really do full justice as far as this site goes.

I would certainly recommend the home made cakes and also the bread that you can order on as daily basis.

If you are like us and have a motor home that you do not want to drive off site then I would advise that it is about a 45 minute walk into Glastonbury along a footpath and quiet lanes but you will need a reasonable level of fitness as the first parts of the walk both going and on the way back are fairly steep. If you wish to you can walk there and back over the Tor rather than along the lane.

Some people may say the site is somewhat expensive and I guess they may have a point to a certain degree but I would say you do get value for your money.

I would certainly recommend this site 100% and we certainly hope to return there.

Date of Visit: September 2017 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Coopertroopers 21 reviews from this member

Fantastic site ! The pitches are huge and well spaced out with lots of green space around about. The staff were very welcoming and helpful, showing us to our pitch and giving lots of info about the site and the area. There are two facilities blocks on site and both were immaculate and warm - choice of ladies/ gents shower facilities or unisex individual bathrooms with toilet sink and shower.

The dog walk is a long field at the side of the driveway into the site, fully enclosed and large enough to enable our 3 labradors to let off steam. Poo bags are provided and a warm dog shower for those mucky paws.

We walked from the site up the Tor - the walk from site along the road was pretty steep to the foot of the Tor, and then steps up to the top of the Tor for fantastic views all round. We then headed into town for a mooch and back to site - a 4 or 5 mile round trip and thoroughly enjoyable.

The shop on site is well stocked and there are daily fresh cakes and bakery to choose from.

Will definitely return.

Date of Visit: August 2017 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: Gumstabber 5 reviews from this member

First time here. Won't be the last!

Amazing clean, quiet site. Each pitch has its own sort of privacy in the form of bushes planted in between them. The pitches are large and our little campervan looked lost on its huge area of grandstanding - WE could easily have parked sideways had we wanted to.

The park is very professionally run and has a fantastically well stocked shop. They even had a cider and cheeses tasting while we were there. I'm writing this on the WIFI which although not fast is adequate for browsing - they are in the countryside a bit.

As with every review there has to be a negative point so after extremely hard thought I have to say that the hand dryer in the men's toilet is a bit weak.

Date of Visit: July 2017 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Cake Man 23 reviews from this member

Absolutely fantastic site, couldn't find anything to complain about. Staff really friendly and are there if you need them.

Toilet blocks and facilities are outstanding water hot enough to clean greasy items.

The pitches are huge so if you want space with privacy then this is it. The care taken over the grass & gardens really show

Great location for local area and if you enjoy walking. About a 35 minute walk into Glastonbury but can be demanding if your not used to it.

We had a six day break here wish it was for longer and will definitely be returning. If fact already planning our next visit.

10 OUT OF 10 FOR THE OLD OAKS

Previous     311 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Save to Virtual Brochure  Add this Site to your Virtual Brochure                                Share  Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Try our town listings   -   Other Sites in Somerset   -   Search for a site

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win an Outwell Barbecue Package worth £249 Win a Clarke IG2000B 1.8kW Suitcase Generator worth £299

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Elvaston Steam Rally 7th to 7th July, Derbyshire
Brilliant weekend, Book by 23rd June for discounted camping tickets ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


9825 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2017




0.1343