Home

   Log in or Register
   
Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - The Old Oaks Touring Park (adults Only)

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > UK > England > South West > Somerset > Site Reviews

The Old Oaks Touring Park (adults Only)
Wick Farm
Wick
Glastonbury
Somerset   (Browse area)
BA6 8JS   See Map                                 Share Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook
Tel: 01458 831 437

Facilities:  (Key)
                  

Nearby:
5m  5m 10m   5m  5m  10m  1m 
Featured Site

Pitches: 97
Open: 2015 - 13th Feb To 16th Nov

Rating: Average Review Score: 10/10 from 227 Reviews
              10/10 from 227 Reviews


Units accepted:    Tents  Caravans  Motorhomes Caravan Storage Storage 

Special Offer available to UKCampsite.co.uk visitors - see here.

Photos (16) and Video

Reviews:  227 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14   15   16   17   18   19   20   21   22   23  

Date of Visit: September 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: The Admiral 25 reviews from this member

Just returned from a 5 night stay at The Old Oaks. This is by far our favourite campsite and is the one by which all others are judged (and usually found wanting). The staff are very helpful, without being intrusive and nothing is to much trouble. The standard of the facilities particularly the Middle Oaks block is 5* and would put many a hotel to shame. The pitches are very spacious and well screened from one another so you never feel overlooked.

The added extras this site provides are superb, the cakes and pastries are to die for and we also took advantage of their caravan cleaning service and the Friday night fish and chip run - it's these little thoughtful extras that make all the difference.

We will be returning in Easter next year and plan on making many more trips to this wonderful campsite in the years to come.

Date of Visit: August 2014 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Pebanshaw 1 review from this member

We have just returned from 6 nights at Old Oaks, what a wonderful relaxing break away from it all. The amenities block is second to none, lovely modern wash-up and bathrooms, showers that do not turn off every 20 seconds! We had electric hook-up and free Wi-Fi, which was very good with a strong signal, TV reception is very good too. The landscaping around the park is very well kept and the grass cuttings are even collected! The facilities for dogs is very good, with a fenced in area so 'Fido' can run free, poop bags, hand gel and a heated dog shower! The walks on the website, I printed before we left (there are copies of walks in the games room), are easy to follow and can be completed directly from the site, no need to take the car, we saw kestrels hunting and heard small owls at night. Glastonbury is very nearby not an easy walk (steep hill) but not far. Wells is a beautiful place to visit too, where there is a Waitrose. The information board is an excellent idea for things to do and which days the markets are on and where. It also has the cake of the day, my favourite Lemon Cake my husband liked the Cappucino Cake. I must also recommend 'Knights fish & chips' in Glastonbury, wonderful non-greasy chips!

Date of Visit: August 2014 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: Susanjo 8 reviews from this member

Another short stay at this campsite. Excellent as always. A wonderful vibe and great facilities. The washing facilities are second to none, especially the new block. And the washing up area is somewhere you feel you can put your crockery down safely, not something that can be said of all campsites. Always a pleasure. The area is great too, always something to do and see. Magical.

Date of Visit: July 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Spud01795 1 review from this member

This has to be one of the best sites we have ever visited. This was our second time and we stayed for two weeks. The site is very peaceful, clean and the facilities would put some hotels to shame.

The staff are very friendly, helpful and go out of their way to ensure your stay is as pleasant as it can be.

We have two dogs and the facilities are ideal. The dog shower is very useful as we had need on one occasion to use it, fox poo is not good for anyone.

The shop is well stocked from food to alcohol and the daily fresh bread and home made cakes are superb. They also stock useful camping accessories.

The size and layout of the pitches are well thought out and give excellent privacy.

The shower and toilet block near top oaks are 5* and it is easy to forget that you are on a campsite!

The location of the site means a visit to the Tor and Glastonbury are in walking distance, uphill but at 61 it did not present any problems to me.

We will be returning again in the near future.

Date of Visit: July 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Libbydowns 1 review from this member

Lovely site, clean very well kept throughout. Booked in April, disappointed with pitch size and site full so no choice. Small units were on large pitches, even one nighters had a bigger pitch than ours. We paid £200+ for 8 nights, not cheap but was high season after all. Not impressed as brochure stated 'large landscaped pitches'. Not true. Some were too close for comfort, approach roads were narrow when manoeuvring onto the pitch.

Date of Visit: July 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Piffy57 28 reviews from this member

Had a fabulous week at The Old Oaks, it’s the best site we have ever visited in five years of caravanning. The trip down from Lancashire was a long one due to M5 traffic but once we left J23 we were soon at the site. I use a Snooper Sat Nav and it took me down the A361 and a left into Wick Lane. You can go the other way. Either way the lane is narrow in parts but passable.

The drive up to the site is very impressive and from the point you go to reception you know the place is something special. The warden leads you to your pitch and we were set up in no time at all.

The shower block is very impressive and all the facilities including dish washing and laundry are spotless 24/7. The dog walk is one of the best on the circuit and even has a shower for the dog!

You can walk around the site and there are plenty of benches to sit on and absorb where you are, at the foot of the Tor.

Reception and the Shop are well run and the daily cake is excellent. They run mini bus trips daily too although we didn’t use them as we had the car and little dog.

The amount of investment that has gone into the site must be staggering but the place was full and so it should be.

228 miles from home but worth the M5 traffic and tiring journey.

The only downside was the A39 was closed going into Wells whilst they did some repairs on a 40 metres stretch of road which meant a de-tour via Shepton Mallet, but that wasn’t the site’s fault just an observation on why councils choose to do these things in peak summer holidays!

Will I go again……………. Too right maybe next year, if not definitely the year after.

Date of Visit: July 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Hobsyandsue 2 reviews from this member

We checked the reviews before we booked, they were all correct. This is the best site we have ever stayed at and we have already booked for next year. The only issue was a yapping dog, this was about four pitches away and was the only noise. I did complain to the staff and the problem was dealt with. How a dog owner can let their dog yap incessantly is beyond me. There were many dogs on the site that didn't make any noise. That was the only issue. Ticks all the boxes and the mini bus service was great. The only way this site could be improved was if they had a swimming pool and a free bar ! Excellent site, recommend it to anyone.

Date of Visit: July 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: FNot 12 reviews from this member

Absolutely brilliant site. Wonderful set up. Great dog walk. The toilet block is the best we have ever Really like all the things that make a difference - fresh croissants, good shop, home baking, sociable information room which can be utilised for different things. Minibus each day so no need to use car if you don't want to. Large Tv was well used as World Cup final when we there. So nice to see people gathering to watch it. This site has a warm friendly feeling & fully deserves it's 5 star rating. Only negative thing I can say - and it's not the fault of the site- is that despite great dog walk & shower with free doggy bags there were still a number of people who still think it's acceptable not to pick up after their dogs! This site is immaculate & a lot if care goes into keeping it this way. Fellow dog owners please pick up!

Date of Visit: June 2014 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: The Baness 2 reviews from this member

The Old Oaks is a beautifully maintained site, with excellent, spotless facilities, in a superlative location. We only stayed for two nights, but it felt like longer thanks to the peace (no children policy), and the ease of doing everything - water and recycling points dotted about, lovely shower blocks, really good shop. The freezer was also really useful to freeze plastic bottles of water, to help keep food cool, as we were blessed with glorious weather.

We hadn't realised that The Old Oaks is actually halfway up Glastonbury Tor, which was a real treat on arriving. The walking route from the campsite is well signed, and the direct route is steep but exhilarating. We also didn't plan the visit and were lucky to experience the Summer Solstice here. Another review mentioned security concerns due to the appearance of the locals, but I would like to reassure folk that the local hippies are a gentle, fun-loving bunch! There must have been a dozen dogs among the people watching the sunset ahead of longest day, and not one even barked while they were happily catching up with each other. It was a very memorable experience.

We also used the fishing lake, which is a lovely place to pass the time even if you don't fish. The lake is well-stocked, with flourishing lily plants - they looked ready to flower the next month (July) and must be a spectacular sight.

The standard is so high that most small talk amongst us happy campers was about how great the place was! Highly recommended!

Date of Visit: June 2014 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Ellybrown1 3 reviews from this member

We are a couple with 2 small Scottie dogs and always look for dog friendly sites. We have not looked at this site before as the prices are a little more than we would usually pay, however after having some personal contact with the site via Twitter and reading the website it looked amazing. We booked a grass pitch (no electric) as they do not do grass pitches with electric which we thought may be an issue (due to charging all the latest gadgets required!), however the site catered for tents with no electric. They provide a large fridge and separate chest freezer in the amenities block for campers to use, they also have a TV and pool room with plugs if you wished to charge your phone while you watch TV or play pool (we spent a large amount of time in here purely for the dogs as it was somewhere cool for them to sit as the weather was too hot for them) or alternatively you could leave your mobile phones charging safely behind the reception desk. The TV and Pool room also head a large display of local activities, tourist information and a book borrow/exchange.

The staff could not have been friendlier or helpful. They all seemed very knowledgeable of the local area, particularly dog friendly activities, and were keen to advise. The site is within close walking distance to The Tor (3/4 mile to the base of The Tor), and Glastonbury Town itself (1. 8 miles). These walks are both mostly off road, great for off lead walkies. The dog facilities were also good. They provide several safe 'parking stations' for the dogs while you go into reception or to use the amenities, water bowls, dog shower (with hot water) and an adequately sized enclosed dog exercise area with doggy bags provided and hand sanitizer for the end of the exercise. The only indoor place the dogs can go is the TV and Pool room.

The site provided a mini bus service to the local towns (between £2-3 each way per person) which left the site at 10:30am and picked up at 2:30pm. This was great for people in motorhomes who do not wish to keep moving the van, and for those who just don't want to do much driving on holiday. You are allowed to take dogs on the mini bus, however the mini bus owner stipulates that the dogs must sit on the owners lap, so it is not appropriate for the larger breed dogs. This was very popular so you needed to book and pay for a few days in advance.

The shop sold a variety of items, including camping equipment (some of which could be hired for a small charge), food, drink (alcoholic and non alcoholic) and did provide a couple of different home baked cakes on a daily basis (all of which were amazing), and they bake fresh croissants and pan au chocolat on Sunday (which you need to pre-order). They have also arranged a fish and chip delivery on a friday night, which is ordered before 5pm on friday and delivered around 6:30pm.

The showers/toilets were amazing. I have never seen toilets and showers so well presented in our 20+ years camping. There were toilet/shower blocks, but also a few unisex shower rooms and also a bathroom where hot water could be purchased for a small charge however we did not use this. There are also disabled toilets which can be accessed with a radar key (can be loaned from reception if you don't own your own).

Overall this site is in a lovely location with easy access to the local community. The site is very well run and the way in which it is presented represents a very intimate and tranquil setting, we couldn't believe how many pitches were full as the lay out of the site really didn't make you feel overcrowded.

I would highly recommend this site and we found it well worth the extra that we would normally pay. We shall be sure to return next time we wish to come to Somerset!

Previous     227 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Save to Virtual Brochure  Add this Site to your Virtual Brochure                                Share  Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Submit your Review for a chance to Win Prizes!
Sponsored by the Caravan ClubSubmit a review to UKCampsite.co.uk of any caravan park or campsite, for a chance to win a caravan towing course or motorhome manoeuvring course worth up to £145, or £100 of Amazon vouchers, courtesy of The Caravan Club. Join the Club for just £44 per year to enjoy access to a great range of caravan sites, benefits and special offers.

If you've visited this site, then please submit a review for a chance to win.

Try our town listings   -   Other Sites in Somerset   -   Search for a site

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a Vehicle and Personal GPS Tracker from Towsure.com Visit the UKCS shop for exclusive discounts and offers

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Motorhome & Caravan Show 14/10 to 19/10 NEC Birmingham
Back at the NEC Birmingham this autumn - we have 20 pairs of tickets up for grabs

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


4207 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend  -  Pensions Auto-enrolment

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews


Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2014




0.0469