Home

   Log in or Register
   
Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - The Old Oaks Touring Park (adults Only)

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > UK > England > South West > Somerset > Site Reviews

The Old Oaks Touring Park (adults Only)
Wick Farm
Wick
Glastonbury
Somerset   (Browse area)
BA6 8JS   See Map                                 Share Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook
Tel: 01458 831 437

Facilities:  (Key)
                   

Nearby: (within x miles)
5m  5m 10m   5m  5m  10m  1m 
Featured Site

Pitches: 97
Open: 2015 - 13th Feb To 16th Nov

Rating: Average Review Score: 10/10 from 258 Reviews
              10/10 from 258 Reviews


Units accepted:    Tents  Caravans  Motorhomes Caravan Storage Storage 

Special Offer available to UKCampsite.co.uk visitors - see here.

Photos (16) and Video

Reviews:  258 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14   15   16   17   18   19   20   21   22   23   24   25   26  

Submit your own Review for a chance to Win £100 of Amazon Vouchers
Win £100 of Amazon vouchersSubmit a review of this site for a chance to win. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win £100 of Amazon vouchers!

Date of Visit: June 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Mrscmb 32 reviews from this member

Spurred on by good reviews we booked a two night stay at the Old Oaks on our way to a holiday in Cornwall with our son and family.

Everything I want to say about this touring site has already been said, time and time again. It is the best site we have stayed at in England and unfortunately we were only there for two nights. I could make a list of all the services provided but it has been done so many times by previous reviewers I donít want to be repetitive.

I was going to summarise with my favourite bits but there are so many I would just end up listing everything but if pushed I would say:

The overall tranquility and beauty of the site, coupled with the slightly private generous sized pitches with open aspect (no overlooking rows of caravans here) and the opulent new facility block. Couple this with a family and staff that make you feel you matter and are helpful and friendly at all times.

Needless to say we are already wondering when we can fit in another visit which will be longer than two nights!

Date of Visit: June 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Bodiddly 4 reviews from this member

Ten stars are not enough for this amazing site.

Booking in was friendly & fast and we were shown to our pitch by the cycling warden. Pitches are large & beautifully landscaped, set around large open lawns, so you never feel overlooked or crowded. The toilet block was fantastic, as well as the usual male & female toilets & showers, there were 6 unisex shower rooms complete with toilets and sinks, everything was immaculate.

The shop has the most yummy home made cake for sale every day, as well as their own meat, sausages, burgers etc. The organic fruit wines just have to be tried! They even arrange for curry or fish & chips to be delivered to site on certain nights.

If you have a dog they will love it here, a huge fenced in paddock where they can run off lead, there are not only poo bins, but also poo bags and hand gel! There is also a hot shower just for dogs and a washing machine for their bedding.

There are lovely walks direct from site, the Tor is well worth the climb for the amazing views, and Glastonbury is quite an experience!

The mini bus trips are excellent, can really recommend Wells, a lovely day out.

This is an excellent site with really friendly helpful staff and we can't recommend it enough.

Date of Visit: June 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: LOOPYLUNAR 6 reviews from this member

My wife and I are lucky enough to holiday in our caravan every month from March through' to October. We have stayed on many sites and mostly they were very good with the occasional blip here and there. The Old Oaks caravan park goes way, way beyond being good. What the owners and wardens offer is 5 star plus. We stayed whilst the Glasto Festival was on although we didn't go to it. If you have never been to Glastonbury, try it. If you can't chill out there then you won't chill out anywhere. This is the 2nd time we've been to Old Oaks and we are planning another for November for the carnival. We have tried other sites near to Glastonbury but, when you've tasted the cream you don't want the skimmed. Wishing our lives away but can't wait for our next stay.

Date of Visit: June 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Lamb chops 4 reviews from this member

Oh, what a delight. Second visit to this beautiful campsite and we enjoyed a week there. If you are looking for an adult only campsite that is situated in a tranquil location within beautiful surroundings (Glastonbury Tor is only 3/4 mile walk directly from the site through picturesque countryside) then this is right up your street. They even have a dedicated dog walking field set slightly away from the main campsite so no annoying pooch playing sounds complete with a dog shower (which was very handy after taking our dog to Berrow beach for the day!)

The facilities are spacious, modern and luxiourious - underfloor heating in the shower/toilet area with a choice of roomy individual shower cubicles or unisex all in one rooms complete with shower cubicle, toilet and washbasin. Never any queues to use these, despite the site being full.

The pitches are very well laid out and are roomy with shrubbery inbetween which affords a bit of privacy from your neighbours. We used a fully serviced pitch this time (16 amp hook up) and found everything very straight forward. You are personally shown to your pitch by a cycling warden, personal service with a smile!

Within the toilet/ shower block building is the laundry and dish wash area; the washing machines here are pay as you go laundering facilities with a dedicated washer & drier for your dog bedding too, no hairy washing from pooch togs! These are very easy to use with change available from reception (£3. 00 for the washer, £1. 50 for the drier) there is also an ironing board and iron available. The dish wash area is situated next to this area (indoors - not like a lot of places where you're relegated to the outside to wash your dishes!)

Adjacent to this area is a chest freezer and a microwave which I didn't use this visit, but speaking to other guests they found them very convenient.

The on site shop is well stocked with food, camping and caravanning items, there are also items that can be hired and the wardens are so helpful and accommodating. You can order fresh bread and pastries to be delivered each morning along with a newspaper.

There is a mini bus service run from the site offering various trips, we didn't partake but believe the outings offered are great value for money. The wardens can provide you with details of where to eat, places of interest and even dog friendly eateries and dog friendly beaches within Somerset; there are also free maps of walks of the local vicinity that you can borrow.

One of the nice touches was discovering there are take away nights where the food is ordered and paid for prior then delivered at a set time, you just pop to reception to collect - marvellous! Saved cooking, Weds is curry night and we thoroughly enjoyed it. Fri night is chip shop night and from Sat 4th July they are offering a Chinese take away night too so less cooking on your hols, can't be bad!

Clarkes shopping outlet is close by as is Glastonbury town both are well worth a visit. Great bargains to be found at Clarkes and lots of quirky little shops in Glastonbury. A walk up to the Tor is a must if you are able, fantastic views from the top on a clear day.

Overall this site gets top marks from me - other guests at the site were equally delighted with the place as well as very friendly, the herb garden is a brilliant thought too - you can select your own herbs to cook with - so many thoughtful touches around the site and such lovely staff we will be back again! You won't be disappointed if you visit.

Date of Visit: June 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Daisy Doo 1 review from this member

I came across this site when searching for a caravan park within Somerset. After looking at the 5 star reviews and the professional website I called the office direct and made a booking. I spoke to a pleasant and helpful member of staff who did help me select a pitch for my required needs.

I received a comprehensive E-mail with all documentation including helpful road directions into the park. When using the directions it advises to follow the road for 1. 5 miles, this is a rural road but is well organised due to the departure and arrivals times of caravans to avoid congestion.

Well what can I say, as soon as I drove up the large well maintained entrance I knew I was going to fall in love with this site. We checked in at reception and was greeted by friendly staff. We were then directed to our pitch by a member of staff. We stayed in Walnut Circle which is a fully serviced pitch. The pitch was amazing it was large and even had our own lawn. The facilities were fantastic especially the new block it was like a 5 star hotel. You have dish washing, laundry and showering facilities.

This site is large but unlike others you feel like you are staying in a small intimate park due to the excellent design and layout.

Within the caravan park there is also a large dog walking area that even had a hot shower for the dog. A fishing pond and animal area which has chickens, sheep etc.

The park also has some special touches like order your curry and have it delivered to the park on a Wednesday night and fish and chips delivered to the park on a Friday night. Special orders for fresh bread and croissants could also be taken for delivery in the mornings.

All I can say is amazing and will definitely be back.

Date of Visit: June 2015 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: Marina kaplais 1 review from this member

Wow!This has to be THE nicest campsite EVER!From the moment I drove up I knew I had chosen well. The site is set in beautiful, quiet countryside with well sign-posted walks, even providing maps and suggestions of routes in the well stocked information room. This also had a good selection of books, puzzles and a few dvds to borrow or swap if you should find yourself in need of something to do.

The facilities were top rate. Beautifully clean showers and loos and a large dish-washing area, also laundry facilities. An on site freezer was another lovely touch.

The staff were helpful and friendly.

We ordered fresh bakery products for the morning and these were some of the best we had ever had. Easily as good as when we went to France. A lovely breakfast treat.

Wi-Fi was not the best.

Good hook-up provision, very spacious pitches with loads of turning room, not one of those 'cram em in!'sites.

We will be back :-)

Date of Visit: June 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: BarbaraSp 1 review from this member

Excellent site for adults only. Immaculate in every area from shower block to grounds to food shop. Well done the owners and wardens. We were recommended this site from someone in southport so we looked it up and after 7 weeks touring fromscotland to Devon we found a little bit of paradise at the old oaks. The staff were all so friendly

Date of Visit: May 2015 Unit:  Other Rating:
Reviewer: Bobandjoy 5 reviews from this member

Returned for a second visit in our folding camper, pitch good size for camper, awning and car side by side plus grassed area to sit on - as before friendly and helpful wardens. The facilities are excellent, the cleaners do a very good job in keeping both toilet blocks, laundries and dish washing areas very clean despite the site being full. We took our own bird feeder this time and just bought the seed (you can borrow one from the site) and had a lovely week enjoying all the birds (chaffinch, blue tit, robin, blackbird etc) visiting our pitch, also had visit from a squirrel.

Fishing was enjoyable. Also joined in with Indian night (enjoyed mine, husband not so keen but that might have been meal choice) and the fish and chip evening (very nice). Did not use the mini bus but it is a good idea. Hope the ladies we met do end up with a folding camper (wish we had exchanged emails so we could find out)

Date of Visit: May 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Maxxi 3 reviews from this member

Well what can we say, what a gem of a site. First class facilities, better than some 5 start hotels. Well cared for grounds with large pitches, we stopped on a super with water and drainage which was great. Dog walk area perfect with dog shower and poo bags and hand gel. Shop sells basic items but more than enough for your daily essentials. Staff first class, really helpful and polite. Yes this is an expensive site but you pay for what you get and you get a lot. We would stop again without doubt. You won't find many sites on a par with this. Well done to the owners and staff of the old oaks.

Date of Visit: May 2015 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Sampage 1 review from this member

Fantastic site (it is adult only). Have just spent a great 5 days here. Everyone very friendly and helpful. Site immaculate and beautifully laid out. Can walk into Glastonbury (2 miles) and easy access to many attractions in surrounding area. Lots of trips organised from the site. They offer a minibus service to get you out and about. Plus they organised food boxes, takeaways, fresh bread daily, homemade cakes. All sorts of yummy things.

For us one of the most amazing things, as campers, was the fantastic shower/toilet/washing up block, clean, very warm, plenty of hot water. WOW it was brilliant.

Also great facilities for our dog and brilliant walking directly from the site.

Will be returning.

Previous     258 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Save to Virtual Brochure  Add this Site to your Virtual Brochure                                Share  Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Submit a Review for a chance to Win £100 of Amazon Vouchers
Win £100 of Amazon vouchersSubmit a review of any caravan park or campsite, for a chance to win. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win £100 of Amazon vouchers!

If you've visited this site, then please submit a review for a chance to win.

Try our town listings   -   Other Sites in Somerset   -   Search for a site

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a Highlander Aeolus 4 Air Frame Tent Visit the UKCS shop for exclusive discounts and offers

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Elvaston Steam Rally and Camping Weekend 4th to 5th July
HURRY Advanced booking now open - 3 nights camping in any unit, and admission to rally all weekend

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


11798 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend  -  Pensions Auto-enrolment

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2015






0.0547