Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - The Old Oaks Touring Park (adults Only)

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > UK > England > South West > Somerset > Site Reviews

The Old Oaks Touring Park (adults Only)
Wick Farm
Wick
Glastonbury
Somerset   (Browse area)
BA6 8JS   See Map                                 Share Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook
Tel: 01458 831 437

Facilities:  (Key)
                   

Nearby: (within x miles)
5m  5m 10m   5m  5m  10m  1m 
Featured Site

Pitches: 97
Open: 2015 - 13th Feb To 22nd Nov

Rating: Average Review Score: 10/10 from 288 Reviews
              10/10 from 288 Reviews


Units accepted:    Tents  Caravans  Motorhomes Caravan Storage Storage 

Special Offer available to UKCampsite.co.uk visitors - see here.

Photos (16) and Video

Reviews:  288 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14   15   16   17   18   19   20   21   22   23   24   25   26   27   28   29  

Submit your own Review for a chance to Win 100!
Win 100Submit a review of this site for your chance to win 100 of Caravan Club vouchers or 100 of Amazon vouchers, courtesy of this month's sponsor, The Caravan Club. Join The Club from just 48 per year to enjoy access to over 2,700 sites, exclusive member benefits and site special offers.

Date of Visit: May 2016 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: Lolandmart 2 reviews from this member

We found this site by chance and what a find. This must be the Rolls Royce of caravan sites. Lovely friendly staff, a well stocked shop, excellent facilities. Etc etc. We couldn't find anything to fault.

They are totally geared up for dogs too (which really appeals to us). There is a great secure exercise area where dogs can romp and socialise with other canine visitors, free poop bags and plenty of dog waste bins.

It is a relatively easy walk up to the Tor straight from the site. This is a must if only for the views. We will definitely be back. A well-looked after site that sits well within its' environment.

Date of Visit: May 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Eclectus 19 reviews from this member

This will be my second visit to the old oaks, the previous one being many years ago. I was very interested to see how the site has developed over the years.

I wasn't disappointed. The new toilet block was just an idea the last time I visited and now complete. Well what can I say other than 5 star excellence. It was like walking into a 5 star hotel. You have to see it to truly admire the thought and effort which goes into this site.

The approach to the site is down a single lane road. The instructions from the site advise you to go via the mendip hospital to avoid speed bumps. I don't know if they have been removed recently but we went home via Glastonbury and never came across the speed bumps. So at this time access could be made by either route from the north or the south of Glastonbury.

Access to the site once checked in was by number plate recognition and electric barriers. This is a brilliant idea, no codes to remember or cards to scan or getting out opening gates then closing again. Well impressed!

Everything is catered for espeicially our 4 legged friends of which we took two. An excellent exercise field, doggy showers, free poop bags and lots of poo bins scattered around the park. Excellent walks both on and off the park. We took them up Glastonbury tor whilst there, a bot of a trek but well worth it. The stunning views which greeted us each morning were spectacular.

The site is located within a short drive from Glastonbury (wells is not too much further afield) local shops in Glastonbury include a Morrison's and a Tesco. If your a Morrison's fan then use the one at wells (a much better store which only discovered on our last day sadly)

We enjoyed days out in Brean (National Trust), Wells, Glastonbury, Montacute House (National Trust), Street Shopping Village, Stonehenge (National Trust and English Heritage -nearly 20 each if your not members -not worth it if you have to pay- put puts another tick in a box if you like that sort of thing- would have been very disappointed if we had paid). Cheddar gorge was spectacular.

Lots of other activities in the area also, too numerous to mention but the site has very detailed information in their information centre.

The site is very well laid out into different sections. We were allocated the walnut circle and were tucked away very nicely in a very private corner. Plenty of bins and water and waste points if needed. The site has a reception and a small shop. Newspapers can be ordered as can bread and other items. The landscaping and gardens are excellent. A small fishing pond is on site and a very pleasant walk around it if you just fancy a stroll with the dog.

We found general digital TV reception very good, but satellite reception was poor (i think mainly due to our location on the site) - maybe something to add to pitches where there is no signal is to add a satellite point. Mobile phone reception was really good considering how rural the site was. 3g/4g speeds on both three and EE. Free wifi is included in the price but very unreliable sadly. (this is not a fault of the site owners)

This is a very beautiful part of the country and would suit a variety of interests and tastes. If you have never been before then try it. You will not be disappointed. Certainly in all my years caravanning this is the best of the best of the best EVER!

Will I return?? most definitely, it is a 4 hour drive from home so not somewhere I can go for a weekend but some lucky people who live closer can certainly enjoy this site as often as they like.

Overall excellent and thank you for a lovely week.

Date of Visit: May 2016 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Pillbowd 2 reviews from this member

This site is superb, if only every site owner could visit this site to see how its run and its excellent amenities as it would show what modern camping is about.

The toilet block is the cleanest we have ever seen in the UK, there is fishing on site excellent landscaped gardens a small shop free WiFi and very friendly staff.

We have visited many sites in the UK, France and Spain but keep returning to this site time and time again because of its amenities.

You can walk into Glastonbury from the site or there is a minibus laid on the site is also very close to the Clarks outlet village in Street and the Cathedral city of Wells.

Date of Visit: April 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Jeannie51 1 review from this member

Picked up our tourer from Devon and towed (first timers) to this beautiful site. We had a lovely reception and were shown to our pitch, which had hedges on either side for complete privacy. The shower block is the best I've ever seen and were immaculately clean. Even though we live 220 miles away, we will definitely be returning here.

Glastonbury town is about 5 mins away by car with plenty of shops and places to eat. The site offers a taxi service to this town and various other places with return fares costing between 4-8pp depending on where you travel to. A great idea if you fancy a night out eating and drinking and not worry about having to drive.

A must is the walk from the site to the Tor, the view at the top is spectacular.

The only fault we had was the weak wifi connection, other than that, I would fully recommend this site, it's my top site and we've been campers for more than 20 years.

Date of Visit: April 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Mjjones17 13 reviews from this member

Simply Outstanding.

From the moment you arrive to time you leave you will struggle to find a a more cleaner, quieter peaceful site than this one.

The site is not on a bus route and about 2 mile walk into town along very bust road or if weather is fine you can use the public footpath.

That said they do have a minibus that does trips around local area on first come first serve basis or it's ideally placed if you have own car.

There is path leading from site that is easy walk to and then up the Tor.

The pitches are perfect be it the basic EHU or the Premier pitches. Basic is just EHU but room for caravan, awning and car with room to spare and each pitch has a hedge or picket fence separating them so not over looked.

Super pitch has water and waste plus TV connection on pitch and then the Premier pitch has its own picnic bench, chimera and bird table.

The facilities are simply out of this world and would not look out of place in high end hotels.

Then there are things like cake of the day and fresh croissants or on certain days they take your food orders for either Pizza, Indian, Chinese and Fish and Chips and arrange delivery to site.

The information room has communal TV and a pool table with countless leaflets and info on local things to do and even have a book borrowing exchange service.

Cant recommend this site highly enough if its peace and quite you are after then look no further

Date of Visit: March 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: NellyPS 8 reviews from this member

We stayed here several years ago in our tent but have since moved on to a caravan (although still dip our toes into camping when the mood takes us) and one of the main draws was the serviced pitches which we booked online but then received a call to say there weren't any left so we ended up with a premier pitch. Still fully serviced but with the addition of a chiminea, picnic table and bird table.

When the weather is fine then you would take full advantage of these additional extras but sadly it was raining and windy almost constantly over the Easter weekend so we couldn't use these facilities, however they are a nice addition to the pitch.

The site itself has changed since our last visit by only for the better. The new facility block is beautiful and warm, with plenty of space. They even have a separate washer and drier for dog bedding. It's clean and well thought out with everything you could want from a top class site.

Sadly with the storm brewing in the Atlantic we chose to leave early but have rebooked for May and look forward to returning.

Date of Visit: March 2016 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Dep1 5 reviews from this member

Stayed here several times previously and every time it just gets better. When we go next time I expect the improvements to the old toilet block will have been completed. The only improvement that needs to be made is for the motorhome service point waste hatch to be replaced with a grid.

Date of Visit: October 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Penrith1150 3 reviews from this member

Like all recommendations, you take with a pinch of salt and go and see what it is like. Well I have never been on a site that is so well laid out, clean, and well kept. If you read some of the other reviews there is nothing that can be contradicted. The staff were everything that campsite staff should be, helpful in every way. The new toilet block was in fact better than anything that the Caravan Club or The Camping & Caravanning Club could ever aspire to. Even the old toilet block was kept impeccable, especially the fact that it had a BATH, if they ever upgrade that block they MUST keep the bath. All the pitches were very spacious, some with hedges round them. It's as if the owners have been to all other campsites, looked at the good points and the bad points and said this is what we want for our site, and they have achieved it. The only down point for me was there could have been a chemical emptying point in the Top Oaks field. Being pensioners we didn't use the playground facilities, but everything else was GREAT. Will definitely be going back.

Date of Visit: October 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Rfrayling 3 reviews from this member

What an amazing site! We have just returned from a 3 night stay on pitch B9 and we enjoyed every peaceful minute of it! The whole park is maintained to an extremely high standard and the new amenity block is better than you would find in some 5 star hotels. The shop is well stocked and you can order fresh croissant/pain au chocolat etc for breakfast along with your papers. They also have take-away nights (Chinese - Indian - fish and chip) which is handy if you don't want to cook.

The facilities for dogs are also second to none with a 300 metre long secure walking area with dog bins and bags and even a hot doggy shower! The Tor is only a short walk away if your up for the climb!

Date of Visit: October 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Jimsmisses 15 reviews from this member

We have just returned from a weeks stay at this site and cannot find anything to criticise. It really is as all the previous reviews - simply wonderful in every respect.

We stayed in the Lower Oaks area on a fully serviced pitch. The pitches there are large with ample room for caravan, awning and car and each pitch is segregated from its neighbour by a piece of lawn and a delightfully planted shrub border and these are very individually planted with no two the same which gives the site a really lovely parkland feel. The pitches are also extremely well spaced with lots of room to the side and rear for sitting out in your 'own space'. The gardens, and extensive lawned areas are maintained to a very high standard throughout.

There are plenty of facilities for refuse, all tidily sited within timber fencing and these areas are inspected every day.

We were close to the new facilities block which I can only describe as 6 star hotel ! What a joy to use. Both Ladies & Gentlemens' having three individual unisex shower rooms, each equipped with enclosed corner shower, wc and wash-hand basin. In addition there is the usual Ladies & Gents' shower and loo rooms - all wonderfully warm. The entrance to this building is spacious and warm with inviting seating and although we didn't need to use it, a very well equipped washing up area. There is also an excellent laundry room with all facilities needed.

The one feature we really did like was the car registration recognition to the access and egress barriers.

The whole site gives a feeling of open spaciousness. Reception is excellent and the staff are all extremely friendly.

Just wish this lovely site was a bit closer to our home.

Previous     288 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Save to Virtual Brochure  Add this Site to your Virtual Brochure                                Share  Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Submit a Review for a chance to Win 100!
Sponsored by the Caravan ClubSubmit a review to UKCampsite.co.uk of any caravan park or campsite for your chance to win your choice of 100 of Caravan Club vouchers or 100 of Amazon vouchers, courtesy of this month's sponsor, The Caravan Club. Join The Club from just 48 per year to enjoy access to over 2,700 sites, exclusive member benefits and site special offers.

If you've visited this site, then please submit a review for a chance to win.

Try our town listings   -   Other Sites in Somerset   -   Search for a site

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a Week Camping Holiday at Woolacombe Bay Holiday Parks! Win a pair of Outwell Chairs and Table

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet UK Summer Motorhome & Caravan Show 4-5th June
The summer spectacular takes place at the Kent Event Centre. Buy discounted weekend tickets, or enter our competition to win some!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


10002 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend  -  Pensions Auto-enrolment

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2016






0.1875