Home

   Log in or Register
   
Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - The Old Oaks Touring Park (adults Only)

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > UK > England > South West > Somerset > Site Reviews

The Old Oaks Touring Park (adults Only)
Wick Farm
Wick
Glastonbury
Somerset   (Browse area)
BA6 8JS   See Map                                 Share Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook
Tel: 01458 831 437

Facilities:  (Key)
                   

Nearby: (within x miles)
5m  5m 10m   5m  5m  10m  1m 
Featured Site

Pitches: 97
Open: 2015 - 13th Feb To 16th Nov

Rating: Average Review Score: 10/10 from 271 Reviews
              10/10 from 271 Reviews


Units accepted:    Tents  Caravans  Motorhomes Caravan Storage Storage 

Special Offer available to UKCampsite.co.uk visitors - see here.

Photos (16) and Video

Reviews:  271 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14   15   16   17   18   19   20   21   22   23   24   25   26   27   28  

Submit your own Review for a chance to Win 100 of Amazon Vouchers
Win 100 of Amazon vouchersSubmit a review of this site for a chance to win. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win 100 of Amazon vouchers!

Date of Visit: August 2015 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Karenn1 1 review from this member

We have visited many campsites but this one certainly comes out on top! Although the old toilet block is somewhat old fashioned it was always clean and warm and I believe it is to be upgraded this year. The new block which was just a little further away from us was fantastic! The separate shower rooms, dish washing facilities and laundry area were like a 5 star hotel! Underfloor heating means no soggy floors and mops available in all rooms if you want them. All staff were so helpful, even leading us to our pitch when we arrived. We were in a tent on the gravel pitch and as long as you have an extra groundsheet it was good, draining well! Pitch was also a good size. TV/information room with pool table is also a great facility. Site is about an hours walking distance from glastonbury via the Tor but is a good uphill walk. Taxi from the town did cost 8. Glastonbury itself is an interesting town with lots of history and great old pubs and some local characters. Although it is a 200 mile drive each way we will definitely go back!

Date of Visit: August 2015 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Bahhumbugessexgirl 1 review from this member

This is a FANTASTIC campsite. We booked following the excellent reviews on here and weren't disappointed.

The staff are all ready friendly and happy to answer any queries. The site is spotlessly clean. One of the toilet/shower blocks looks more like a 5* spa than a campsite loo!

I can't fault this place and am looking forward to going back.

Date of Visit: July 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Scissorbox 3 reviews from this member

Another year, same old. There is nothing to complain about this site at all. Everything is just perfect. Great pitches, great showers and toilets and above all such excellent and friendly staff. Nothing is too much trouble for them. Another plus is the views and exceptional quiet of the whole site. Looking forward to another same old next year.

Date of Visit: July 2015 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Hamecj99 1 review from this member

We spent 5 nights at what must be the best site in the UK. The atmosphere is tranquil and friendly. The facilities are 5*, especially the new block which has been designed and built to the highest Environmental standards (eg corridor lighting uses only 34W of power).

We very much liked the dog exercise area, its associated shower facility; the help yourself herb garden (must be unique - unless anyone knows otherwise?); the home made cakes; the recycling facilities incl batteries and food waste (again must be unique); the friendly staff and owners (some interesting and helpful conversations about hedges and their maintenance); the use of electric strimmer to reduce nuisance noise (this was a problem at our previous Site); the animal friendly area for the farm foul - again our previous Site had a terrible such area (so much so we almost reported it); the fishing lake was a pleasure to walk around, albeit we do not fish; the local service areas for waste, water, etc were well designed, clean (spotless) and well positioned.

We shall definitely be going again, making sure we book well in advance.

The owners and staff can be justifiably proud of what they have created, especially the care and attention given to the design and Environmental impact of the Site. The standard by which other Sites can be judged.

Date of Visit: August 2015 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Chaymondo 1 review from this member

At first site we could see Old Oaks was a well tended touring park. We received a warm welcome and were personally escorted to our pitch.

The facilities are modern and spotless.

We taught ourself how to fish for carp.

We will most definitely be returning and telling all our friends how great it was

What a wonderful 20th wedding anniversary break

Date of Visit: July 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: DandT 18 reviews from this member

We visit this site fairly regularly whenever we want to get away for a break - we live reasonably close in south Devon but our reason for visiting is that it is quite simply the best site we have so far visited anywhere in Britain.

The staff are very friendly and helpful (with the shop being open up to 7. 30pm when we were there), the grounds are immaculate and the pitches spacious with a feeling of privacy as there are hedges between all of them.

The grounds are immaculate with large, open grassed areas thus avoiding any feelings of crowding. There is a newly installed security barrier which works on number plate recognition and so there is no need for a card or punching in a number.

The old toilet and shower block is of the highest quality and is better than the vast majority of others we have encountered. We were staggered to find, however, that a site in Dorset was boasting an award of loo of the year; while it is good ( we visited there recently ) it is no better than the old block here. The new block is even better and by a very long way the best we have ever seen. There are seven unisex toilet/shower/wash basin rooms with slate floors, solid tiled walls and even mirrors with touch pad illumination. The male or female general shower and toilet areas are immaculate.

It is adults only and so very tranquil, being set in farmland on the edge of Glastonbury beneath the Tor.

They have a regular minibus service to nearby towns for market days and the like and also now have Indian, Chinese and fish and chip nights where takeaway meals can be ordered in from local restaurants.

The dog walk is relatively small, an enclosed grassed area about 300 by 15 yards, but it even has a warm dog shower at the exit if needed although we have never known it to get muddy. There is a gate from the site on to public footpaths under the Tor and into Glastonbury for longer walks.

In short, the owners have tried to think of everything to meet the needs of their customers. They have even created a small, help yourself herb garden to add flavour to your cooking!

All in all, an excellent site.

Date of Visit: July 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Piffy57 30 reviews from this member

Second visit and it is quite simply the best site we have ever visited. From the warm welcome to leaving its a great experience. Head Warden Tony and his wife are outstanding ambassadors for the site and nothing is too much trouble. The site is kept in an immaculate condition.

The only thing that could be improved is the wifi. Personally I would be prepared to pay for a better signal but in no way did it affect the holiday.

We will be back in 2016

Date of Visit: July 2015 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Ruggerman 17 reviews from this member

2nd visit this year and will be back next year. We can understand why so many people we've met come back year after year (and why you have to book early!) The site has everything you want for a relaxing stay and they try to add to it such as the start of a woodland walk just right for a gentle stroll after dinner, the weather was a lot better making the walks more enjoyable and our dog Poppy met many more friends in the exercise area. As always the facilities are immaculate with plenty of hot water whether for dishes or yourself and the daily choice of homemade cakes seemed even better. Only downside is Glastonbury once you've been there you don't need to return!

Date of Visit: July 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Minster 1 review from this member

Our party of four stayed at The Old Oaks touring park during July. We could not fault any aspect of the park or members of staff at all. The pitch was large and neat providing a fully serviced facility. The new toilet and shower block is a 5* facility, the best we have ever used. The laundry even has a washing machine designated to washing dog blankets and also a drier. Also a shower for your dog, how much better can it get. There is a mini bus service providing some trips locally. The park is very well laid out and feels very spacious, even the dog walk is well manicured. You can place orders at reception for hot food to be delivered on the days

When this service is offered, Chinese night, Curry night and of course Friday night fish and chips etc. We cant wait to return. Many thanks Old Oaks for a great time.

Date of Visit: July 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Dandylyon 7 reviews from this member

Just returned home from a 2 week stay at Old Oaks. Yet again we had an absolutely fantastic stay, from the minute we arrived the wardens greeted us with a cheery smile and lots of useful information. We have visited this site before and as ever we had a fantastic stay, helped by some glorious weather! Everything about this site, facilities, location, wardens etc are of the highest standard that you could ever want. We had to travel 5 1/2 hours to get there, but it was worth every minute and we cant wait to go back! Thanks everyone for a wonderful holiday.

Previous     271 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Save to Virtual Brochure  Add this Site to your Virtual Brochure                                Share  Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Submit a Review for a chance to Win 100 of Amazon Vouchers
Win 100 of Amazon vouchersSubmit a review of any caravan park or campsite, for a chance to win. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win 100 of Amazon vouchers!

If you've visited this site, then please submit a review for a chance to win.

Try our town listings   -   Other Sites in Somerset   -   Search for a site

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a BUZZ RACK Buffalo 4 Bike Tilting Carrier Win a HandiMoova Off-road Foldable Hand Trolley

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Benington Chilli Festival, Hertfordshire 29 31st August
Celebrate all things chilli in the hidden gem of a garden at historic Benington Lordship.

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


1634 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend  -  Pensions Auto-enrolment

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2015






0.0547