Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Gibraltar Farm Camp Site

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > UK > England > North West > Lancashire > Site Reviews

Gibraltar Farm Camp Site
Gibraltar Farm
Jenny Browns Point
Silverdale
Lancashire   (Browse area)
LA50UA   See Map                                 Share Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook
Tel: 01524 701736

Facilities:  (Key)
           

Nearby: (within x miles)
1m  1m  1m 1m  1m  1m   1m  1m 

Pitches: 50
Open: All Year

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 204 Reviews
              8/10 from 204 Reviews


Units accepted:    Tents  Caravans  Motorhomes 

Reviews:  204 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14   15   16   17   18   19   20   21  

Submit your own Review for a chance to Win £100!
Win £100Submit a review of this site for your chance to win £100 of Caravan Club vouchers or £100 of Amazon vouchers, courtesy of this month's sponsor, The Caravan Club. Join The Club from just £48 per year to enjoy access to over 2,700 sites, exclusive member benefits and site special offers.

Date of Visit: July 2016 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: Amber86 7 reviews from this member

Lovely quiet little site with views over the bay. Had a friendly warm welcome even though we arrived unannounced at 7pm on a Sunday. Warden made sure we had a nice pitch with a view tucked away in a quiet corner.

Lovely short walk to the waters edge, via a small stone circle in a clearing in the woods. Lots of other good walks to do, including to Woodwell holy well nearby. Also gallery at the farm entrance, farm sells basic supplies uncluding raw milk & Silverdale village with 2 pubs (didn't have chance to try them) approx 1 mile away. Ideal stopover on way north, good for excursions to lake district etc.

Facilities excellent, toilet block looks brand new, free showers, also hook ups plenty of dog poo bins etc. Oh yes, our pooch gave it the thumbs up too!

Date of Visit: July 2016 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Mickcoleman427 14 reviews from this member

Positives first - good ground, excellent facilities block, lovely and helpful stewards.

Negatives - most of the pitches with views for motorhomes/vans are taken by seasonal bookings - kids climbing over drystone walls and running through pitches. I really am not anti-kid but wish people would understand and respect camping etiquette and be aware of their kids whereabouts and behaviour - they weren't awful just irritating. Not Gib Farms fault though - stewards were very aware and attentive.

Its a lovely site - I was sold by the views on the website however and disappointed not to get one

Date of Visit: May 2016 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Scullyb 3 reviews from this member

Just returned from our fourth weekend at Gibraltar Farm - we love this site because of the views and its proximity to Silverdale etc. I was however concerned on this occasion by the fact that the toilets/ shower block were particularly gruby and could certainly do with a really good scrub rather than a cursory wipe/ mop over ! The ladies toilets in particular didn't look like they had had their seats lifted and wiped under for some time. I know some would say that I'm being picky and it must be difficult to keep on top of the cleaning with so many people coming and going all the time and to be honest it won't stop us going back but just a little more attention to detail would make all the difference.

Date of Visit: May 2016 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: LGriffiths 2 reviews from this member

One of the best campsites I've stayed on in a long time, it was a bank holiday weekend and very busy, but the wardens were very helpful, there was plenty of room for everyone, loads of kids but very well behaved and just a great site for kids, with a stand of trees among some rocks that all of the kids aimed for, some of them called it 'monkey island' we hardly saw our grandson.

There were plenty of toilets, ample wash hand basins and showers, kept very clean. There's a well stocked camp shop. To say there were so many campers it was very quiet at night, I got the impression that the wardens wouldn't stand any nonsense, but were not bossy or tyrannical.

All in all I would highly recommend this site especially if you have kids, the prices are reasonable too.

Date of Visit: April 2016 Unit:  Trailer Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Dazman9 3 reviews from this member

Simply Perfect. Wonderful views, friendly staff (who were on the ball when a group of caravaners got a bit too noisy late evening), top notch toilet and (free) shower facilities and a really clean site. They have two on site shops and sell everything from basic camping spares to lovely home made ice cream.

My 3 kids loved playing in the fields and making new friends. My other half is disabled, and has difficulty walking, but she was very impressed when the site staff very courteously asked if there was anything else they could do to make the site more disabled friendly.

But for me, the best thing about this site is their prices. Not only are they very reasonable (under £70 for a family of 5 and a dog for a 3 day bank holiday weekend with EHU) but they have the same prices all year round. Non of this Doubling the prices just because the kids are off school.

WE'LL DEFINITELY BE BACK.

Date of Visit: October 2015 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Paulinekezza 5 reviews from this member

Had another lovely weekend at Gib (as we call it). Wardens both welcoming and cheerful as usual. Was very foggy when we arrived so our usual enjoyment of the magnificent views across the Bay had to wait until Saturday. Site was clean and tidy with lots of hot water available for washes, showers and pot washing. Daughter decided to ramble over the fields down to the beach and came back with both wellies full of water! Good job it isn't far. She also played with her new found friend on the rocks and also went exploring round and about the site. Came back with various wildlife siting reports. Went for tea to the Silverdale Hotel. Food was lovely and served quickly despite being fairly busy. We usually make the journey on foot as it is not far but drove this time (dodgey ankle at moment) and parked on their car park. Was less than a couple of minutes by car. Lovely, relaxing weekend enjoyed and got the chance to plug ukcs to a first time (for a long time) caravanning lady.

Date of Visit: August 2015 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Cabravieja 11 reviews from this member

Great location in easy reach of Manchester without the traffic of the Lakes. There's a sea view over the walls but sheltered from the worst of the westerlies at the mouth of the estuary. A safe family site and good walks along the cliff or to a little cove. If you want a sandy beach go to Morecambe, just a short drive. The village has a Co Op, butchers, Indian and bike hire. Only £12 a night, so a bit different to the Lakes, hence it does get busy.

I could never understand why sites won't even allow a fire log on the BBQ but now I do. The owner explained that the policy deters big groups of drunken idiotic people from nearby towns (and Manchester) who think they can re enact Glastonbury. Strict quiet after a certain time and the wardens live on site.

Date of Visit: August 2015 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Landmarker 1 review from this member

Not the welcome we expected as the receptionist told us we were two hours early (we weren't), that she was very busy (August) and hadn't had 'a day off in ages'.

That's the negative bit out of the way.

A fine site with lovely views of Morecambe Bay. Toilet and wash-up facilities are newly built and are superb. This was our first time camping in many a long year.

The village of Silverdale is a 15 minute walk. An food/pub Post Office and Co-op ample for most needs.

Flat camping by a dry stone wall. There is a wooded glade which is quite magical - faux standing stones and a path to the beach. In the centre of the camping field there is a rather magical rocky outcrop, wooded with trees that the camp-site kids seemed to gravitate to. Reasonable fees and a fairly relaxed atmosphere made our two night stay pleasurable.

Lovely sunsets and an expansive view of Morecambe Bay elevate this site to something special in my humble opinion.

Date of Visit: August 2015 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Atkis 1 review from this member

Excellent site. Location IS nothing short of stunning. The rocky area in the in the main camping field more than made up for the lack of child play facilities, in fact was enjoyed far more than any man made facilities by 2 young children.

The only negative I can say is the laundry unit within the facilities block, lacked drying facilities.

The cost was very reasonable.

Date of Visit: June 2015 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Louie Lungbubble 3 reviews from this member

Great site. This was out first time at Gibraltar Farm and we visited in a party of 6 tents with lots of kids in tow.

Other members of the group were initially a bit sceptical due to there not being any play facilities for the little ones but we needn't have worried. That rocky hill which sits in the main camping field provided all the entertainment our kids needed. I climbed up myself a few times. What a view!

The toilets, washing, laundry and chemical disposal facilities are all housed in one block and as others have said, is first class.

The main camping field itself is very large. We positioned ourselves against the back wall so were facing the sea and had that rocky hill just to the side of us. This also meant just a short walk up a path through trees to the toilet block.

This then is a great spot but just be aware, most of this back wall has very mature tree branches overhanging it so there's a slight chance that bits dropping off could hole a tent. Didn't put us off, and nothing happened but there's always that chance.

The little beach cove and the walk to it is stunning. Get to the toilet block and head off to the right through the small motorhome field and you're soon in some beautiful woods on a path which passes through a small circle of standing stones. Beyond this the path takes you over a style and onto the rocky cove. There's also a vast sandy expanse of beach in front of this.

If a camp fire is your thing (why wouldn't it be?) don't bother trying to sneak one in by keeping the barbie going after you've eaten the last burger. Take the 5 minute walk to the cove and have a proper one there.

The site has a strict no fires policy (for good reason) and it is enforced.

If you can't camp without a fire but can't be bothered with a short walk to a beautiful spot for one then it's probably wise to try a different site with different rules.

This place is now one of our favourites. We'll definitely be returning.

Previous     204 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Save to Virtual Brochure  Add this Site to your Virtual Brochure                                Share  Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Submit a Review for a chance to Win £100!
Sponsored by the Caravan ClubSubmit a review to UKCampsite.co.uk of any caravan park or campsite for your chance to win your choice of £100 of Caravan Club vouchers or £100 of Amazon vouchers, courtesy of this month's sponsor, The Caravan Club. Join The Club from just £48 per year to enjoy access to over 2,700 sites, exclusive member benefits and site special offers.

If you've visited this site, then please submit a review for a chance to win.

Try our town listings   -   Other Sites in Lancashire   -   Search for a site

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a Festival Starter Package Win a BioLite CampStove and USB Charger!

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Tribfest Festival, East Yorkshire - 18th to 21st August
The world’s biggest tribute band music festival and an amazing fun weekend for all the family. Find out more, claim 10% discount or win tickets

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


8252 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend  -  Pensions Auto-enrolment

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2016






0.1484