Home

   Log in or Register

Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Gibraltar Farm Camp Site

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > UK > England > North West > Lancashire > Site Reviews

Gibraltar Farm Camp Site
Gibraltar Farm
Jenny Browns Point
Silverdale
Lancashire   (Browse area)
LA50UA   See Map                                 Share Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook
Tel: 01524 701736

Facilities:  (Key)
           

Nearby:
1m  1m  1m 1m  1m  1m   1m  1m 

Pitches: 50
Open: All Year

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 179 Reviews
              8/10 from 179 Reviews


Units accepted:    Tents  Caravans  Motorhomes 

Reviews:  179 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14   15   16   17   18  

Date of Visit: April 2014 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Elgin1 5 reviews from this member

It is a little bit perturbing when you first drive into the farm passing old equipment, an algae covered caravan etc but you go around the corner and are met with a feast for the eyes: The view over Morecambe bay is spectacular as is this site. The sunsets were brilliant. You must remember this is a working farm.

The wardens are very friendly and helpful pitches are good sized. The shower block is spotless and warm. There are some lovely walks around the site to various bays. Great for dog walking or for children to explore.

There is a bus stop a few minutes walk from the camp entrance and you can get into Silverdale or Arnside Silverdale Station is also on this route giving access to the lake district via Grange, Ulverston, Barrow and beyond.

I will certainly return it is a lovely location and extremely good value for money.

Date of Visit: February 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Mandm1 3 reviews from this member

We have just returned from a great weekend at Gibralter Farm.

The owner was very friendly and helpful.

The site is beautifully positioned overlooking the sea, and the facilities were excellent.

The shower block was the cleanest that we have seen over the last few years, and there were ample showers/toilets and wash basins.

There was also a large clean dish washing area.

Whilst staying at the site we walked to the only pub in the area which is at The Silverdale Hotel. The pub is open until 12midnight on Friday and Saturday nights, and is about 15minutes walk from Gibralter Farm. Ensure you take a torch with you though as the street lights are limited.

We also walked to the train station and caught the train to Carnforth. The walk was about 30 minutes, and the return train fare was only 1. 90pp

All in all a beautiful site, and we will definitely return in the Summer months.

Date of Visit: November 2013 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Rexxie 17 reviews from this member

Fantastic views overlooking Morecambe Bay - the pitches are terraced so guess most units have a great view.

Great location for visiting the RSPB Leighton Moss reserve-just a few minutes drive away.

Silverdale village an easy walk away - appeared to have a popular hotel/bar. Tearoom and art studio/shop just opposite the farm entrance. Also able to walk to the beach at Silverdale across the fields from the site. Wonderful views from the beach and lots of birds - saw a heron, a little egret, lots of oystercatchers and lots more.

Quite a few hardstandings - reached by driving over some grass so a little skiddy if wet.

TV reception erratic - moved just a few yards from 1 pitch with no signal to another with a good signal.

Very nice toilet/showerblock - looks to be fairly new. Felt like it had underfloor heating so the tiled floor easy on the feet!

Nice shower cubicle with a wet room like feel. Water took a while to run warm - not steaming hot but adequate.

Laundry room looks to be a work in progress - sinks but no washing machine or iron as indicated on the sign on the door.

Some leaflets of attractions provided in the dishwashing area - it would have been nice to have a little more local info available eg local walks, nearest shop etc.

Good value rate for off season stay and discount for over 55's.

Would love to return again perhaps nearer summer.

Date of Visit: September 2013 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Maria Clifton 2 reviews from this member

A great weekend at Gibraltar Farm with glorious late September weather. Our first visit here, very impressed with the campsite. The views are exceptional, the facilities block was spotless and of very high quality. Lots of walks through woodland and to the private beach cove. Picked lots of blackberries along the way. The tent field is not level all over, but there was enough space for us this weekend to find a level spot. There were very few tents, but lots of caravans and mobiles. If you are after a local pub, there is quite a walk which we didn't try in the dark. The surrounding area is quite beautiful and feels off the beaten track although there are dozens of walks signposted in the area. Our only issue was the noise this weekend. There was some sort of a rally of the vans and motorhomes and the noise made from their marquis tent was intrusive and spoilt the peaceful nature of the environment. I felt that the rally people did not consider others who were not involved - their marquis was in the tent field and we heard very loud voices into the night. I would come back again because the site is beautiful, but I will check if there are any rallies first.

Date of Visit: August 2013 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Bowler49 1 review from this member

Fantastic place fab views.

Great walks around.

Toilets and showers clean and free.

Great for kids to play and be safe. Also have great wardens who have a great tent set up for shopping.

Will be back.

Busy in school holidays if you want peace and quite.

Steep hill to drive down if you have touring caravan.

Path could do with pot holes filling in.

Silverdale short drive away with shops and pub.

ArnSide 20 min drive away with nice pub with good meals 10 pounds for a 2 courses meal before 7 but need to book it gets busy

Date of Visit: August 2013 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: BridieandDave 1 review from this member

Just returned from a three week stay at Gibraltar farm, having been a regular visitor for over fifteen year I can only say the site has never been as clean, friendly or organised. The stewards could not do enough to make our stay more pleasurable, nothing was to much for them. The site is located in a fabulous area with great scenery with local walks all around and is a very family orientated campsite.

Date of Visit: August 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Happy camper 01 8 reviews from this member

After a couple of lovely weekends spent here we decided to book again for a weeks stay. We booked and requested hard standing as personally we feel the grass pitches are to close together and no room if you have a larger caravan. When we got there we booked in with the warden and there was a hard standing pitch available which he said we could have to find once I had come out of the wardens caravan someone had drove in the spot and decided to wait there until their caravan which was being towed by someone else had arrived which then meant we were directed to one of the tightest smallest grass pitches on the field. The weather wasn't great either the day we arrived so the grass was very soft and muddy.

I personally felt abandoned and just squashed in just to fit us in there was no room to get the car on to straighten up or get level but we were promised a hard standing pitch the following morning so we just shut the curtains and got cosy in the caravan. The following day we had a choice of hard standing but the problem was there was no room to get the car in front to hitch the caravan on we manoeuvred the caravan on a angle and my husband tried to reverse it off but the spot was so close to other vans plus the grass was so muddy we now have the added cost of a new clutch. Thankfully a lovely couple came to the rescue who was a HGV driver and managed to get us to the other pitch but it was a tight squeeze and I certainly would not recommend a grass pitch with an awning if you have a 5 or 6 berth caravan as we had no room for the awning.

This did put a dampener on my break here this time. But once we got on the hard standing pitch we had originally asked for it was fine these pitches are level roomy hard to get a tv reception but this doesn't bother us. Great views has its own little beach cove plus a nice stroll across the cliff tops. Some nice little country walks and not far to travel to the lakes.

Our kids love it here having adventures in the woods and by the beach but high season there is a lot of kids many cycling around and playing around your van I had to tell a few to politely move but the wardens are on the ball and keeps things in order. I am sure we will be back though this trip has put me off slightly but I think if we do we will come not so late in the season.

The new wardens do a good job with a lovely little shop in their awning which is very handy. Toilet blocks very clean and lovely warm showers

Date of Visit: July 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: RobertoDM 1 review from this member

My family and friends stayed at this wonderful camp site for 8 weeks, we all enjoyed the exceptional views, the very clean shower block and site. There is no playground there is wood land, my grand children explored and made their own fun with friends they made on site. The Campsite personnel were always extremely helpful throughout our stay.

In my opinion best campsite in North West and definitely going back.

Date of Visit: July 2013 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Roliash 1 review from this member

Fantastic site, great for everyone, we stayed for the weekend and the weather was lovely. Kids (age 6&8) had a fantastic time, plenty of fun on the rocks and even though it was very busy, there was still plenty of room for them to play football and cricket. Beautiful views over morecambe bay. You can walk into Silverdale in approx 10-15mins. There is an little ice cream shed at the top of the farm which I believe is only open at weekends but was delicious. Site is very clean, fabulous toilet shower block, warm showers all though you may have to queue, so time it right. The stewards are very friendly and helpful, They are strict on no music and no fires too, they walk around and make sure everyone is behaving. They allow you to freeze ice blocks too which is a bonus in warm weather. Little shop set up in their awning selling crisps, snacks, sweets, tins etc. Will definitely be returning soon.

Date of Visit: July 2013 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Lee67 3 reviews from this member

Great family site. Level pitches, amazing views over Morecambe bay. Good toilet facilities, small shop in wardens tent. Friendly, but strict on site warden means no late night noise. Woods for children to play in, access to shore line, but be aware it is Morecambe bay and a lot of people get stuck in sinking sand every year.

Area is stunning, peaceful and unspoilt.

Great value at only 12 for a family tent

Previous     179 Review in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Save to Virtual Brochure  Add this Site to your Virtual Brochure                                Share  Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Submit your Review for a chance to Win Prizes!
Sponsored by the Caravan ClubSubmit a review to UKCampsite.co.uk of any caravan park or campsite, for a chance to win a caravan towing course or motorhome manoeuvring course worth up to 145, or 100 of Amazon vouchers, courtesy of The Caravan Club. Join the Club for just 44 per year to enjoy access to a great range of caravan sites, benefits and special offers.

If you've visited this site, then please submit a review for a chance to win.

Try our town listings   -   Other Sites in Lancashire   -   Search for a site

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a Clarke IG22000 2.2kW Generator worth 467.98! Visit the UKCS shop for exclusive discounts and offers

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Truckfest Peterborough
Exciting family entertainment, and you can make a full long weekend of them, by camping on site!Plus win tickets!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


7850 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend  -  Pensions Auto-enrolment

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews]  [Facebook]

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2014




0.0547