Home

   Log in or Register

Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Gibraltar Farm Camp Site

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > UK > England > North West > Lancashire > Site Reviews

Gibraltar Farm Camp Site
Gibraltar Farm
Jenny Browns Point
Silverdale
Lancashire   (Browse area)
LA50UA   See Map                                 Share Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook
Tel: 01524 701736

Facilities:  (Key)
           

Nearby:
1m  1m  1m 1m  1m  1m   1m  1m 

Pitches: 50
Open: All Year

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 184 Reviews
              8/10 from 184 Reviews


Units accepted:    Tents  Caravans  Motorhomes 

Reviews:  184 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14   15   16   17   18   19  

Date of Visit: June 2014 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: Walkers41 8 reviews from this member

Called at this site for one night on our way to the Lakes but stayed for two as we loved it so much. The site has beautiful views and a wonderful sunset.

The toilet block is modern and clean with excellent facilities. There is plenty of room around each pitch and some have electric and water at the pitch.

It is a short walk into Silverdale and there are some lovely walks along the coast path. The dog loved walking in the woods.

The wardens are friendly and helpful. We will certainly be returning in September.

Date of Visit: June 2014 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: K17Shaw 4 reviews from this member

I was here for 1 night with a trip for DofE.

The campsite was a friendly place and there is a wood near by so you can walk your dogs there. The toilet facilities were clean and modern.

I saw a shop but I wasn't allowed in as we couldn't shop on DofE. Looked like a basic shop and there are many water taps around the site.

A very nice destination next to a beach. Now I hate views but it was the nicest thing I have seen in my life with a beautiful sunset.

I would recommend for a few nights

Date of Visit: May 2014 Unit:  Trailer Tent Rating:
Reviewer: JaxG 8 reviews from this member

Arrived over the Bank Holiday weekend and was offered a choice of pitches for our Trailer Tent, we settled for a fabulous pitch in the overflow area that gave us a massive amount of room with EHU overlooking the Bay.

The campsite has a few facilities, a brand new heated shower block that also had Elsan and pot washing facilities, always lots of hot water and always spotlessly clean.

100 yards passed the toilet block and you go through the gate into the woods which is great for letting the dogs off the lead.

The stewards were extremely friendly and their unit also doubled up as a small shop selling some fresh meat produce and chocolate/drinks.

Had a fabulous walk from the site to Arnside via Arnside Knott that was absolutely superb.

Very well recommended and would stay again.

Date of Visit: May 2014 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Judergn 2 reviews from this member

Just spent 2 nights here - fantastic site - we will definitely return! Scenery spectacular - clean, well maintained facilities - ideal if you want a quiet break away with beautiful countryside and sea views.

Within easy walking distance of Silverdale with a lovely hotel serving food and good beer. Only 10 mins drive from M6 - handy for the Lakes - would highly recommend!

Date of Visit: May 2014 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Lizbeths 1 review from this member

Visited last minute for one night which was well worth it not only for the spectacular views over The Bay, the immaculate shower and toilet block, the friendly staff, the delicious ice cream.

Lovely walks in the surrounding areas especially over the cliffs by the beach where we lit a camp fire and toasted marshmallows!

We walked to Silverdale Hotel for a quick drink which was about 15 mins away.

I felt confident to let the children roam around the camp-site and woods. I will definitely be visiting again.

Date of Visit: April 2014 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Elgin1 5 reviews from this member

It is a little bit perturbing when you first drive into the farm passing old equipment, an algae covered caravan etc but you go around the corner and are met with a feast for the eyes: The view over Morecambe bay is spectacular as is this site. The sunsets were brilliant. You must remember this is a working farm.

The wardens are very friendly and helpful pitches are good sized. The shower block is spotless and warm. There are some lovely walks around the site to various bays. Great for dog walking or for children to explore.

There is a bus stop a few minutes walk from the camp entrance and you can get into Silverdale or Arnside Silverdale Station is also on this route giving access to the lake district via Grange, Ulverston, Barrow and beyond.

I will certainly return it is a lovely location and extremely good value for money.

Date of Visit: February 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Mandm1 3 reviews from this member

We have just returned from a great weekend at Gibralter Farm.

The owner was very friendly and helpful.

The site is beautifully positioned overlooking the sea, and the facilities were excellent.

The shower block was the cleanest that we have seen over the last few years, and there were ample showers/toilets and wash basins.

There was also a large clean dish washing area.

Whilst staying at the site we walked to the only pub in the area which is at The Silverdale Hotel. The pub is open until 12midnight on Friday and Saturday nights, and is about 15minutes walk from Gibralter Farm. Ensure you take a torch with you though as the street lights are limited.

We also walked to the train station and caught the train to Carnforth. The walk was about 30 minutes, and the return train fare was only 1. 90pp

All in all a beautiful site, and we will definitely return in the Summer months.

Date of Visit: November 2013 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Rexxie 19 reviews from this member

Fantastic views overlooking Morecambe Bay - the pitches are terraced so guess most units have a great view.

Great location for visiting the RSPB Leighton Moss reserve-just a few minutes drive away.

Silverdale village an easy walk away - appeared to have a popular hotel/bar. Tearoom and art studio/shop just opposite the farm entrance. Also able to walk to the beach at Silverdale across the fields from the site. Wonderful views from the beach and lots of birds - saw a heron, a little egret, lots of oystercatchers and lots more.

Quite a few hardstandings - reached by driving over some grass so a little skiddy if wet.

TV reception erratic - moved just a few yards from 1 pitch with no signal to another with a good signal.

Very nice toilet/showerblock - looks to be fairly new. Felt like it had underfloor heating so the tiled floor easy on the feet!

Nice shower cubicle with a wet room like feel. Water took a while to run warm - not steaming hot but adequate.

Laundry room looks to be a work in progress - sinks but no washing machine or iron as indicated on the sign on the door.

Some leaflets of attractions provided in the dishwashing area - it would have been nice to have a little more local info available eg local walks, nearest shop etc.

Good value rate for off season stay and discount for over 55's.

Would love to return again perhaps nearer summer.

Date of Visit: September 2013 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Maria Clifton 2 reviews from this member

A great weekend at Gibraltar Farm with glorious late September weather. Our first visit here, very impressed with the campsite. The views are exceptional, the facilities block was spotless and of very high quality. Lots of walks through woodland and to the private beach cove. Picked lots of blackberries along the way. The tent field is not level all over, but there was enough space for us this weekend to find a level spot. There were very few tents, but lots of caravans and mobiles. If you are after a local pub, there is quite a walk which we didn't try in the dark. The surrounding area is quite beautiful and feels off the beaten track although there are dozens of walks signposted in the area. Our only issue was the noise this weekend. There was some sort of a rally of the vans and motorhomes and the noise made from their marquis tent was intrusive and spoilt the peaceful nature of the environment. I felt that the rally people did not consider others who were not involved - their marquis was in the tent field and we heard very loud voices into the night. I would come back again because the site is beautiful, but I will check if there are any rallies first.

Date of Visit: August 2013 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Bowler49 1 review from this member

Fantastic place fab views.

Great walks around.

Toilets and showers clean and free.

Great for kids to play and be safe. Also have great wardens who have a great tent set up for shopping.

Will be back.

Busy in school holidays if you want peace and quite.

Steep hill to drive down if you have touring caravan.

Path could do with pot holes filling in.

Silverdale short drive away with shops and pub.

ArnSide 20 min drive away with nice pub with good meals 10 pounds for a 2 courses meal before 7 but need to book it gets busy

Previous     184 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Save to Virtual Brochure  Add this Site to your Virtual Brochure                                Share  Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Submit your Review for a chance to Win Prizes!
Sponsored by the Caravan ClubSubmit a review to UKCampsite.co.uk of any caravan park or campsite, for a chance to win a caravan towing course or motorhome manoeuvring course worth up to 145, or 100 of Amazon vouchers, courtesy of The Caravan Club. Join the Club for just 44 per year to enjoy access to a great range of caravan sites, benefits and special offers.

If you've visited this site, then please submit a review for a chance to win.

Try our town listings   -   Other Sites in Lancashire   -   Search for a site

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a Wisport SilverFox 30L Rucksack Visit the UKCS shop for exclusive discounts and offers

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Tribfest Music Festival 14/08 to 17/08 East Yorkshire
An affordable, fantastic weekend away listening to some great live Top tribute bands. Claim discounted entry!!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


2117 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend  -  Pensions Auto-enrolment

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews]  [Facebook]

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2014






0.0430