Home

   Log in or Register
   
Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Gibraltar Farm Camp Site

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > UK > England > North West > Lancashire > Site Reviews

Gibraltar Farm Camp Site
Gibraltar Farm
Jenny Browns Point
Silverdale
Lancashire   (Browse area)
LA50UA   See Map                                 Share Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook
Tel: 01524 701736

Facilities:  (Key)
           

Nearby:
1m  1m  1m 1m  1m  1m   1m  1m 

Pitches: 50
Open: All Year

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 190 Reviews
              8/10 from 190 Reviews


Units accepted:    Tents  Caravans  Motorhomes 

Reviews:  190 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14   15   16   17   18   19  

Date of Visit: August 2014 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Mushed 1 review from this member

Very pretty campsite!

On arriving you'll think you've turned up at the wrong place, there is a sign saying closed, also it looks like a working farm. Luckily the first time we went, there was a guy on a tractor about, he saw us reversing out and shouted that we were actually at the right place and to carry on past the farm machinery and the pile of tyres. Get past this and you end up in a beautiful little campsite.

A group of us actually hired '100 acre wood' for 2 nights, a small field tucked away at the bottom of the site, surrounded by trees, wood walk, caves and when you get to the end. A beach! (you can have a fire on the beach by the way). It doesn't get much prettier than this!

The staff are friendly, you can charge your phone up for a pound, the little shop on site stocks a fair few essentials, and lastly (the bit everyone needs to know) the toilets and shower block were extremely clean. All in all, this site gets a 10 out of 10 from me!

Date of Visit: August 2014 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Richard-Stella 2 reviews from this member

I would like to start by saying the previous weekend we had an horrendous time at a site in Beamish and never slept for three nights followed by a tough time at work so I really needed a chilled weekend with plenty of sleep. We stuck a pin in the map and booked Gibraltar Farm at Silverdale and at £18 a night I was a little sceptical.

We arrived on Friday night after work and our first impressions weren't optimistic, we entered the site via a farm track with rusty machinery and large piles covered with black sheets and used tyres, but when we turned the corner we were greeted by the wonderful view across a well laid out site looking out across Morecambe bay with the lakes to the right and Heysham to the left.

We booked in with the friendly staff and parked on a level pitch with plenty of space and as I had finished work went for a shower. The shower block is quite new and very clean.

We walked via the beach into Silverdale, called into a local pub for a cask ale or two then picked up a takeaway from an Indian restaurant in town before settling down for a quiet night.

All in all a very good weekend. Gibraltar Farm is a very good site in a quiet relaxing location with wonderful views and well worth a visit. We will definitely return.

Date of Visit: September 2014 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: Jaxpix50 6 reviews from this member

The site is in a lovely spot but is very poorly managed. We booked several weeks in advance saying we wanted hook up and needed to be fairly near the toilets as I have arthritis.

When we arrived we were told there had been over bookings and we couldn't have hook up. As we can manage without hu we said we would consider a different pitch as long as it was near the toilets. One of the managers said she would show us the other pitch. As we were walking towards the none hu area I noticed three empty pitches with electric and I asked why we couldn't have one of those. We were told they hadn't realised those were empty as they couldn't seem them from their 'office'.

So we were happy we had hook up and not too far from the toilets. We set up on the pitch with our small campervan, windbreak, table and chairs. At about 5. 30pm on our second day the same manager came back and told us we would have to move as there was a large van coming on. We were told to move to the tent field for one night ( a long walk to the toilets) then they would move us back onto the van field. So a four night stay and they wanted us to have three pitches. We weren't politely asked if we would mind moving we were told we had to move with the wording ' we'll have to move you tonight as a bigger van is coming on'. We all pay the same money and we couldn't work out why we were being asked and not others who had arrived after us except that we had appeared to be flexible on the first day, but that was before we had set up camp.

Not surprisingly we refused to move so the manager tried to show us somewhere else to move but we refused. She said she would have to ask someone else ( didn't catch the name) if we could stay on our pitch (even though we had booked and paid for it. ). She never returned with an answer and we stayed put.

So if you want to go be prepared to be bullied and stand up for yourself. Alternatively go elsewhere. It's supposed to be a holiday isn't it?

Date of Visit: July 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Alcaff 2 reviews from this member

Came here for a weekend in May. Returned in June for 5 days which turned into 12 days. Came home for 3 days and just had to return, initially for 3 weeks but on arrival added another week then later another 2 weeks and still here!

The view over Morecombe bay on arrival is beautiful and those sunsets of an evening are the same.

The shower block is new, very clean and free hot showers. Our pitch was level with a hardstanding.

The site

Access to 3 areas of sheltered beach, woodland walks which include an old stone circle and a cave, loads of climbing areas, ie boulders for the kids and walks along the coastal path and woodlands around the area

This is a family site as explained by the wonderful Wardens, so no numpties spoiling it for everyone or else they are asked to leave the next morning which was nice to see.

They regularly do their rounds and late at night so we can all get some kip and are extremely helpful.

They have a little shop on site. With normal prices, ie. 60p for an ice cream lolly. Now our kids have grown up and left so bin there, done that, sites we went to usually overcharge for this type of thing because they know they have you.

My wife and I would definitely recommend this site to anyone, families and all who want to be out in the countryside and let their kids be kids, without the expense of arcades, clubhouses etc.

If there is a downside to Gibralter Farm its maybe the steep short road down to the pitches. But I wouldn, t let that stop me from ever coming here. My car is only a 1400cc petrol model and it easily pulled our caravan up and down it.

It gets better. If you are over 55 its only £12 per night inc EHU Monday to Thursday and excluding school holidays. It is by far the best value for money site we, ve been to considering its beautiful location

Date of Visit: July 2014 Unit:  Trailer Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Smartecosse 5 reviews from this member

Looking for a quick three day getaway and the site we normally go to was fully booked…. Having read a few comments about Gibraltar Farm on here decided to go there. Very glad we did….

Booking was very easy, and finding the site wasn’t a problem. I think that a little effort could be made by the owners to smooth out the access road “hill” as trying to maintain a sensible speed up it whilst avoiding all the holes is a little tricky.

However, that is the only issue we had. The toilet block during our three days there was spotless, water was always hot and the shower cubicles had a bench seat in them as well so no hopping on one foot getting dressed. With two young children we particularly liked the fact that there was a “family” shower cubicle in both the gents and the ladies.

The two site wardens were extremely hellpful and welcoming and their little shop in their awning isn’t that little! It has most things that you would run out of and need in a hurry as well as a very good selection of very well priced sweets and ice creams for the children.

We had an ehu pitch for our trailer tent and for two adults and two children was £18 a night which we thought was good value, I believe without the ehu it would only have been £13.

No play area for the kids, but huge amounts of open space and a little hillock with rocks that they enjoyed clambering on. Access to the beach was easy, via a nice 3 or 4 minute walk though the woods.

Plenty to see and do in the area, with a lot of National Trust and English Heritage properties within 30 minutes drive. Plus of course you have easy access for the Lake District.

I am sure we will be back at some point.

Date of Visit: July 2014 Unit:  Trailer Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Pnefan 3 reviews from this member

Spent two days on this site during the spell of beautiful weather we had over the July Period. The views were exceptional over Morecambe bay and visiting the site just for the sunsets is to be recommended as the site is on the sea shore. However the site itself is of a high standard. The camping fields are accessed down a short winding road that whilst a little bumpy due to an uneven road surface is accessible to most vehicles. (we saw a 1300cc Clio pull a small 2 berth caravan back up it) There is a field at the far end of the site for tents and small camper vans (which didn't appear to have individual EHU or electric hook up), a large grass field laid out with individual water and electric hook up for Caravans Motorhomes and Folding Campers/trailer tents and a section on hard standing. All surrounded by dry stone walls and wooded areas. There is also a small woodland camping area. It is a fairly flat site. Something for all camping preferences.

The facilities are of a high standard and to us appeared to have been recently built. There are the usual separate individual showers with timed push showers together with family and disabled shower rooms. At busy times there can be queues. Sinks have large spaces in between so there is plenty of space for towels wash bags etc. Of course there are also toilets! The only useful facility which I personally didn't see in the Ladies section was a Hairdryer or an electric socket to use your own with. Not a problem if you are on EHU but could be a nuisance if not. It may be possible to use a socket in the Laundry room but I didn't check. All the facilities in the shower block were kept in a clean condition and the toilets kept supplied with toilet roll. The soap dispensers near the sinks were kept topped up negating the need to take soap for washing hands after using the toilet.

There are facilities for pot washing, laundry and also a portable toilet disposal point within the block.

Please be aware that the Wardens are keen to do there job and children are NOT allowed to climb on the dry stones walls. There is however plenty of rocky wooded areas visible from the camping areas accessible for children to climb and have fun on whilst under the supervision of parents. We did see one party warned twice about the children climbing on the walls and they were told in no uncertain terms that next time they would be made to leave. Dogs must be on leads at all times and music is not allowed at anytime. Barbeques have to be at least 10 inches off the grass and must be extinguished by 10pm. Fire pits are also not allowed. If you like this type of activity whilst camping be warned don't go to this site.

The wardens are in the middle of the site in a caravan and have a small shop area in the awning that supplies basic food items and treats and ice pops for the children.

It takes about 11 minutes at a normal walking space to get to Silverdale itself and there are a few shops and Pubs providing the usual services. Across the road from the site entrance there is a craft center which I understand has a small cafe but I cannot comment on it as we didn't use it.

Overall its a well run peaceful site in a beautiful setting which is convenient for visiting the Lakes and also the Lancaster area. Whilst we were there children also loved playing in the woods and climbing on the rocks, giving them the chance to enjoy the outdoor adventures.

Date of Visit: June 2014 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: Walkers41 8 reviews from this member

Called at this site for one night on our way to the Lakes but stayed for two as we loved it so much. The site has beautiful views and a wonderful sunset.

The toilet block is modern and clean with excellent facilities. There is plenty of room around each pitch and some have electric and water at the pitch.

It is a short walk into Silverdale and there are some lovely walks along the coast path. The dog loved walking in the woods.

The wardens are friendly and helpful. We will certainly be returning in September.

Date of Visit: June 2014 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: K17Shaw 4 reviews from this member

I was here for 1 night with a trip for DofE.

The campsite was a friendly place and there is a wood near by so you can walk your dogs there. The toilet facilities were clean and modern.

I saw a shop but I wasn't allowed in as we couldn't shop on DofE. Looked like a basic shop and there are many water taps around the site.

A very nice destination next to a beach. Now I hate views but it was the nicest thing I have seen in my life with a beautiful sunset.

I would recommend for a few nights

Date of Visit: May 2014 Unit:  Trailer Tent Rating:
Reviewer: JaxG 9 reviews from this member

Arrived over the Bank Holiday weekend and was offered a choice of pitches for our Trailer Tent, we settled for a fabulous pitch in the overflow area that gave us a massive amount of room with EHU overlooking the Bay.

The campsite has a few facilities, a brand new heated shower block that also had Elsan and pot washing facilities, always lots of hot water and always spotlessly clean.

100 yards passed the toilet block and you go through the gate into the woods which is great for letting the dogs off the lead.

The stewards were extremely friendly and their unit also doubled up as a small shop selling some fresh meat produce and chocolate/drinks.

Had a fabulous walk from the site to Arnside via Arnside Knott that was absolutely superb.

Very well recommended and would stay again.

Date of Visit: May 2014 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Judergn 2 reviews from this member

Just spent 2 nights here - fantastic site - we will definitely return! Scenery spectacular - clean, well maintained facilities - ideal if you want a quiet break away with beautiful countryside and sea views.

Within easy walking distance of Silverdale with a lovely hotel serving food and good beer. Only 10 mins drive from M6 - handy for the Lakes - would highly recommend!

Previous     190 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Save to Virtual Brochure  Add this Site to your Virtual Brochure                                Share  Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Submit your Review for a chance to Win Prizes!
Sponsored by the Caravan ClubSubmit a review to UKCampsite.co.uk of any caravan park or campsite, for a chance to win a caravan towing course or motorhome manoeuvring course worth up to £145, or £100 of Amazon vouchers, courtesy of The Caravan Club. Join the Club for just £44 per year to enjoy access to a great range of caravan sites, benefits and special offers.

If you've visited this site, then please submit a review for a chance to win.

Try our town listings   -   Other Sites in Lancashire   -   Search for a site

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a Vehicle and Personal GPS Tracker from Towsure.com Visit the UKCS shop for exclusive discounts and offers

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Motorhome & Caravan Show 14/10 to 19/10 NEC Birmingham
Back at the NEC Birmingham this autumn - we have 20 pairs of tickets up for grabs

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


4193 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend  -  Pensions Auto-enrolment

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews


Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2014




0.0586