Log in or Register
Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Advent Calendar

Visitor Reviews - Gibraltar Farm Camp Site

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > UK > England > North West > Lancashire > Site Reviews

Gibraltar Farm Camp Site
Gibraltar Farm
Jenny Browns Point
Lancashire   (Browse area)
LA50UA   See Map                                 Share Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook
Tel: 01524 701736

Facilities:  (Key)

Nearby: (within x miles)
1m  1m  1m 1m  1m  1m   1m  1m 

Pitches: 50
Open: All Year

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 199 Reviews
              8/10 from 199 Reviews

Units accepted:    Tents  Caravans  Motorhomes 

Reviews:  199 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14   15   16   17   18   19   20  

Submit your own Review for a chance to Win 100 of Amazon Vouchers
Win 100 of Amazon vouchersSubmit a review of this site for a chance to win. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win 100 of Amazon vouchers!

Date of Visit: October 2015 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Paulinekezza 5 reviews from this member

Had another lovely weekend at Gib (as we call it). Wardens both welcoming and cheerful as usual. Was very foggy when we arrived so our usual enjoyment of the magnificent views across the Bay had to wait until Saturday. Site was clean and tidy with lots of hot water available for washes, showers and pot washing. Daughter decided to ramble over the fields down to the beach and came back with both wellies full of water! Good job it isn't far. She also played with her new found friend on the rocks and also went exploring round and about the site. Came back with various wildlife siting reports. Went for tea to the Silverdale Hotel. Food was lovely and served quickly despite being fairly busy. We usually make the journey on foot as it is not far but drove this time (dodgey ankle at moment) and parked on their car park. Was less than a couple of minutes by car. Lovely, relaxing weekend enjoyed and got the chance to plug ukcs to a first time (for a long time) caravanning lady.

Date of Visit: August 2015 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Cabravieja 11 reviews from this member

Great location in easy reach of Manchester without the traffic of the Lakes. There's a sea view over the walls but sheltered from the worst of the westerlies at the mouth of the estuary. A safe family site and good walks along the cliff or to a little cove. If you want a sandy beach go to Morecambe, just a short drive. The village has a Co Op, butchers, Indian and bike hire. Only 12 a night, so a bit different to the Lakes, hence it does get busy.

I could never understand why sites won't even allow a fire log on the BBQ but now I do. The owner explained that the policy deters big groups of drunken idiotic people from nearby towns (and Manchester) who think they can re enact Glastonbury. Strict quiet after a certain time and the wardens live on site.

Date of Visit: August 2015 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Landmarker 1 review from this member

Not the welcome we expected as the receptionist told us we were two hours early (we weren't), that she was very busy (August) and hadn't had 'a day off in ages'.

That's the negative bit out of the way.

A fine site with lovely views of Morecambe Bay. Toilet and wash-up facilities are newly built and are superb. This was our first time camping in many a long year.

The village of Silverdale is a 15 minute walk. An food/pub Post Office and Co-op ample for most needs.

Flat camping by a dry stone wall. There is a wooded glade which is quite magical - faux standing stones and a path to the beach. In the centre of the camping field there is a rather magical rocky outcrop, wooded with trees that the camp-site kids seemed to gravitate to. Reasonable fees and a fairly relaxed atmosphere made our two night stay pleasurable.

Lovely sunsets and an expansive view of Morecambe Bay elevate this site to something special in my humble opinion.

Date of Visit: August 2015 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Atkis 1 review from this member

Excellent site. Location IS nothing short of stunning. The rocky area in the in the main camping field more than made up for the lack of child play facilities, in fact was enjoyed far more than any man made facilities by 2 young children.

The only negative I can say is the laundry unit within the facilities block, lacked drying facilities.

The cost was very reasonable.

Date of Visit: June 2015 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Louie Lungbubble 3 reviews from this member

Great site. This was out first time at Gibraltar Farm and we visited in a party of 6 tents with lots of kids in tow.

Other members of the group were initially a bit sceptical due to there not being any play facilities for the little ones but we needn't have worried. That rocky hill which sits in the main camping field provided all the entertainment our kids needed. I climbed up myself a few times. What a view!

The toilets, washing, laundry and chemical disposal facilities are all housed in one block and as others have said, is first class.

The main camping field itself is very large. We positioned ourselves against the back wall so were facing the sea and had that rocky hill just to the side of us. This also meant just a short walk up a path through trees to the toilet block.

This then is a great spot but just be aware, most of this back wall has very mature tree branches overhanging it so there's a slight chance that bits dropping off could hole a tent. Didn't put us off, and nothing happened but there's always that chance.

The little beach cove and the walk to it is stunning. Get to the toilet block and head off to the right through the small motorhome field and you're soon in some beautiful woods on a path which passes through a small circle of standing stones. Beyond this the path takes you over a style and onto the rocky cove. There's also a vast sandy expanse of beach in front of this.

If a camp fire is your thing (why wouldn't it be?) don't bother trying to sneak one in by keeping the barbie going after you've eaten the last burger. Take the 5 minute walk to the cove and have a proper one there.

The site has a strict no fires policy (for good reason) and it is enforced.

If you can't camp without a fire but can't be bothered with a short walk to a beautiful spot for one then it's probably wise to try a different site with different rules.

This place is now one of our favourites. We'll definitely be returning.

Date of Visit: May 2015 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: EricDenise 2 reviews from this member

First visit to Gibraltar Farm and very impressed all round. Efficient booking and arrivals service, as there were just the two of us we were put into the field with fewer kids so a bit quieter which was fine. Shower block is new and the best I've come across in the UK and no charge for showers. Fields flat and good depth of soil for pegs. Picturesque location, views over the bay, nice walk around the coast to Arnside and back across country. The Silverdale Hotel 15 mins walk away serves reasonable food and has a nice garden to sit out in. There is an Indian restaurant in Silverdale that was full at 6:30 on bank holiday Sunday so we didn't wait to try it but it looks promising. They are the only eating places within easy walking distance although another hotel is being refurbished in the village. Altogether a lovely site and area.

Date of Visit: April 2015 Unit:  Trailer Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Smec 6 reviews from this member

On arrival pleasantly surprised with the vastness of the site and were made to feel very welcome by the wardens. We were shown to our pitch and the warden assisted in siting the folding camper to give us the best views. The facilities were spotless with ample toilets and showers with family/disabled units if needed. The washing up area is contained within the utility block with 4 sinks with plenty of hot water. The weather was favourable for our stay and the views overlooking Morecambe Bay by day and the sunsets were stunning. During our 3 night stay we visited Morecambe to do the traditional photo shoot with 'Eric'. We really enjoyed our stay and would highly recommend.

Date of Visit: April 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Colin51 3 reviews from this member

We returned today ( 24th ) from 4 nights away at Gibraltar Farm and what a great time we had, the weather did help.

We were last there 3 years ago.

On the touring pitch we had there was also a water point and 10 amp EHU - and magnificent views.

As pensioners we visited mid week and paid 13 PUN including our porch awning and the EHU.

The positive feedback here from other visitors is well deserved.

The shower block is clean and ( AIRI ) was new 3 years ago.

On site the wardens caravan has a small shop in the awning with the essentials, milk etc and they were very sociable too.

During our midweek stay ( and no children on site ) I am struggling to make any criticisms.

Overall, hard to beat, and we will be back in time.

My child friendliness rating is posted as 5 as we had no children with us.

Date of Visit: August 2014 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Jeets 3 reviews from this member

As others have said this site was a little hard to find, we took a few wrong turns as the entrance looks very much like a working farm, mostly because it is! But go past the farm equipment (and odd roaming sheep) you see the well organised site spread below you on the hill with spectacular views of the bay.

The site is lovely, reasonably priced, and the people are friendly. Loos were clean and look new and smart, plenty of showers and always warm; they turn off quite fast, but if you hold the button down for a bit this is avoided. There is a really lovely ancient woodland with a small cave and a standing stone circle which the dog loved exploring, amazing views and access to the beach to boot! The tent fields were flat, dry and well trimmed, and it looked like there was plenty of hardstanding for camper vans and caravans. There are no fancy things like kids entertainment or pools, just a simple, natural campsite. It was quiet by 11, the odd murmur of voices but nothing unpleasant.

We set up and then had a quite impressive storm come in. We had expected good weather, so had pitched in a very exposed position, and our tent struggled. Most of the site is more sheltered though, and didn't seem to be having much difficulty - but avoid the obviously more exposed of the camping fields if you expect bad weather! Our wooden guy rope tighteners were not up to the wind and our tent was flapping wet canvas everywhere, so in the morning we went to ask the wardens if they knew of a shop we could get better ones, instead they very kindly gave us a role of gaffer tape which we secured the tighteners with, worked like a charm and saved us a few bob, and the massive hassle of fitting new ones in the wind and rain. They were very warm and friendly, and sell hot tea (and other simple basics) very cheaply for those of us who couldn't get their stoves going in the bad weather!

This is probably my favourite site I have been to so far, it's stunningly beautiful, simple whilst having all the basics at a good standard, clean, has woods and beaches, friendly, and the village is a lovely short walk away with some nice pubs and excellent food. Despite the weather we were still really impressed and we plan on making it our regular quick weekend away site.

Date of Visit: August 2014 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Mushed 1 review from this member

Very pretty campsite!

On arriving you'll think you've turned up at the wrong place, there is a sign saying closed, also it looks like a working farm. Luckily the first time we went, there was a guy on a tractor about, he saw us reversing out and shouted that we were actually at the right place and to carry on past the farm machinery and the pile of tyres. Get past this and you end up in a beautiful little campsite.

A group of us actually hired '100 acre wood' for 2 nights, a small field tucked away at the bottom of the site, surrounded by trees, wood walk, caves and when you get to the end. A beach! (you can have a fire on the beach by the way). It doesn't get much prettier than this!

The staff are friendly, you can charge your phone up for a pound, the little shop on site stocks a fair few essentials, and lastly (the bit everyone needs to know) the toilets and shower block were extremely clean. All in all, this site gets a 10 out of 10 from me!

Previous     199 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Save to Virtual Brochure  Add this Site to your Virtual Brochure                                Share  Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Submit a Review for a chance to Win 100 of Amazon Vouchers
Win 100 of Amazon vouchersSubmit a review of any caravan park or campsite, for a chance to win. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win 100 of Amazon vouchers!

If you've visited this site, then please submit a review for a chance to win.

Try our town listings   -   Other Sites in Lancashire   -   Search for a site

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win tickets to Camperex 2016 (Liverpool) in January Win a CUBO Breeze Inflatable Campervan Awning!

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Camperex 2016 - Liverpool Exhibition Centre 8 - 10th January
Brand new leisure show for touring caravans, motorhomes, campers and park homes. Win tickets!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions

4466 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend  -  Pensions Auto-enrolment

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2015

Advent Calendar
Advent Calendar
Coming Soon!
Sign up for an email reminder