Home

   Log in or Register
   
Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Gibraltar Farm Camp Site

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > UK > England > North West > Lancashire > Site Reviews

Gibraltar Farm Camp Site
Gibraltar Farm
Jenny Browns Point
Silverdale
Lancashire   (Browse area)
LA50UA   See Map                                 Share Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook
Tel: 01524 701736

Facilities:  (Key)
           

Nearby: (within x miles)
1m  1m  1m 1m  1m  1m   1m  1m 

Pitches: 50
Open: All Year

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 195 Reviews
              8/10 from 195 Reviews


Units accepted:    Tents  Caravans  Motorhomes 

Reviews:  195 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14   15   16   17   18   19   20  

Submit your own Review for a chance to Win £100 of Amazon Vouchers
Win £100 of Amazon vouchersSubmit a review of this site for a chance to win. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win £100 of Amazon vouchers!

Date of Visit: June 2015 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Louie Lungbubble 3 reviews from this member

Great site. This was out first time at Gibraltar Farm and we visited in a party of 6 tents with lots of kids in tow.

Other members of the group were initially a bit sceptical due to there not being any play facilities for the little ones but we needn't have worried. That rocky hill which sits in the main camping field provided all the entertainment our kids needed. I climbed up myself a few times. What a view!

The toilets, washing, laundry and chemical disposal facilities are all housed in one block and as others have said, is first class.

The main camping field itself is very large. We positioned ourselves against the back wall so were facing the sea and had that rocky hill just to the side of us. This also meant just a short walk up a path through trees to the toilet block.

This then is a great spot but just be aware, most of this back wall has very mature tree branches overhanging it so there's a slight chance that bits dropping off could hole a tent. Didn't put us off, and nothing happened but there's always that chance.

The little beach cove and the walk to it is stunning. Get to the toilet block and head off to the right through the small motorhome field and you're soon in some beautiful woods on a path which passes through a small circle of standing stones. Beyond this the path takes you over a style and onto the rocky cove. There's also a vast sandy expanse of beach in front of this.

If a camp fire is your thing (why wouldn't it be?) don't bother trying to sneak one in by keeping the barbie going after you've eaten the last burger. Take the 5 minute walk to the cove and have a proper one there.

The site has a strict no fires policy (for good reason) and it is enforced.

If you can't camp without a fire but can't be bothered with a short walk to a beautiful spot for one then it's probably wise to try a different site with different rules.

This place is now one of our favourites. We'll definitely be returning.

Date of Visit: May 2015 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: EricDenise 2 reviews from this member

First visit to Gibraltar Farm and very impressed all round. Efficient booking and arrivals service, as there were just the two of us we were put into the field with fewer kids so a bit quieter which was fine. Shower block is new and the best I've come across in the UK and no charge for showers. Fields flat and good depth of soil for pegs. Picturesque location, views over the bay, nice walk around the coast to Arnside and back across country. The Silverdale Hotel 15 mins walk away serves reasonable food and has a nice garden to sit out in. There is an Indian restaurant in Silverdale that was full at 6:30 on bank holiday Sunday so we didn't wait to try it but it looks promising. They are the only eating places within easy walking distance although another hotel is being refurbished in the village. Altogether a lovely site and area.

Date of Visit: April 2015 Unit:  Trailer Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Smec 6 reviews from this member

On arrival pleasantly surprised with the vastness of the site and were made to feel very welcome by the wardens. We were shown to our pitch and the warden assisted in siting the folding camper to give us the best views. The facilities were spotless with ample toilets and showers with family/disabled units if needed. The washing up area is contained within the utility block with 4 sinks with plenty of hot water. The weather was favourable for our stay and the views overlooking Morecambe Bay by day and the sunsets were stunning. During our 3 night stay we visited Morecambe to do the traditional photo shoot with 'Eric'. We really enjoyed our stay and would highly recommend.

Date of Visit: April 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Colin51 3 reviews from this member

We returned today ( 24th ) from 4 nights away at Gibraltar Farm and what a great time we had, the weather did help.

We were last there 3 years ago.

On the touring pitch we had there was also a water point and 10 amp EHU - and magnificent views.

As pensioners we visited mid week and paid £13 PUN including our porch awning and the EHU.

The positive feedback here from other visitors is well deserved.

The shower block is clean and ( AIRI ) was new 3 years ago.

On site the wardens caravan has a small shop in the awning with the essentials, milk etc and they were very sociable too.

During our midweek stay ( and no children on site ) I am struggling to make any criticisms.

Overall, hard to beat, and we will be back in time.

My child friendliness rating is posted as 5 as we had no children with us.

Date of Visit: August 2014 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Jeets 2 reviews from this member

As others have said this site was a little hard to find, we took a few wrong turns as the entrance looks very much like a working farm, mostly because it is! But go past the farm equipment (and odd roaming sheep) you see the well organised site spread below you on the hill with spectacular views of the bay.

The site is lovely, reasonably priced, and the people are friendly. Loos were clean and look new and smart, plenty of showers and always warm; they turn off quite fast, but if you hold the button down for a bit this is avoided. There is a really lovely ancient woodland with a small cave and a standing stone circle which the dog loved exploring, amazing views and access to the beach to boot! The tent fields were flat, dry and well trimmed, and it looked like there was plenty of hardstanding for camper vans and caravans. There are no fancy things like kids entertainment or pools, just a simple, natural campsite. It was quiet by 11, the odd murmur of voices but nothing unpleasant.

We set up and then had a quite impressive storm come in. We had expected good weather, so had pitched in a very exposed position, and our tent struggled. Most of the site is more sheltered though, and didn't seem to be having much difficulty - but avoid the obviously more exposed of the camping fields if you expect bad weather! Our wooden guy rope tighteners were not up to the wind and our tent was flapping wet canvas everywhere, so in the morning we went to ask the wardens if they knew of a shop we could get better ones, instead they very kindly gave us a role of gaffer tape which we secured the tighteners with, worked like a charm and saved us a few bob, and the massive hassle of fitting new ones in the wind and rain. They were very warm and friendly, and sell hot tea (and other simple basics) very cheaply for those of us who couldn't get their stoves going in the bad weather!

This is probably my favourite site I have been to so far, it's stunningly beautiful, simple whilst having all the basics at a good standard, clean, has woods and beaches, friendly, and the village is a lovely short walk away with some nice pubs and excellent food. Despite the weather we were still really impressed and we plan on making it our regular quick weekend away site.

Date of Visit: August 2014 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Mushed 1 review from this member

Very pretty campsite!

On arriving you'll think you've turned up at the wrong place, there is a sign saying closed, also it looks like a working farm. Luckily the first time we went, there was a guy on a tractor about, he saw us reversing out and shouted that we were actually at the right place and to carry on past the farm machinery and the pile of tyres. Get past this and you end up in a beautiful little campsite.

A group of us actually hired '100 acre wood' for 2 nights, a small field tucked away at the bottom of the site, surrounded by trees, wood walk, caves and when you get to the end. A beach! (you can have a fire on the beach by the way). It doesn't get much prettier than this!

The staff are friendly, you can charge your phone up for a pound, the little shop on site stocks a fair few essentials, and lastly (the bit everyone needs to know) the toilets and shower block were extremely clean. All in all, this site gets a 10 out of 10 from me!

Date of Visit: August 2014 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Richard-Stella 2 reviews from this member

I would like to start by saying the previous weekend we had an horrendous time at a site in Beamish and never slept for three nights followed by a tough time at work so I really needed a chilled weekend with plenty of sleep. We stuck a pin in the map and booked Gibraltar Farm at Silverdale and at £18 a night I was a little sceptical.

We arrived on Friday night after work and our first impressions weren't optimistic, we entered the site via a farm track with rusty machinery and large piles covered with black sheets and used tyres, but when we turned the corner we were greeted by the wonderful view across a well laid out site looking out across Morecambe bay with the lakes to the right and Heysham to the left.

We booked in with the friendly staff and parked on a level pitch with plenty of space and as I had finished work went for a shower. The shower block is quite new and very clean.

We walked via the beach into Silverdale, called into a local pub for a cask ale or two then picked up a takeaway from an Indian restaurant in town before settling down for a quiet night.

All in all a very good weekend. Gibraltar Farm is a very good site in a quiet relaxing location with wonderful views and well worth a visit. We will definitely return.

Date of Visit: September 2014 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: Jaxpix50 7 reviews from this member

The site is in a lovely spot but is very poorly managed. We booked several weeks in advance saying we wanted hook up and needed to be fairly near the toilets as I have arthritis.

When we arrived we were told there had been over bookings and we couldn't have hook up. As we can manage without hu we said we would consider a different pitch as long as it was near the toilets. One of the managers said she would show us the other pitch. As we were walking towards the none hu area I noticed three empty pitches with electric and I asked why we couldn't have one of those. We were told they hadn't realised those were empty as they couldn't seem them from their 'office'.

So we were happy we had hook up and not too far from the toilets. We set up on the pitch with our small campervan, windbreak, table and chairs. At about 5. 30pm on our second day the same manager came back and told us we would have to move as there was a large van coming on. We were told to move to the tent field for one night ( a long walk to the toilets) then they would move us back onto the van field. So a four night stay and they wanted us to have three pitches. We weren't politely asked if we would mind moving we were told we had to move with the wording ' we'll have to move you tonight as a bigger van is coming on'. We all pay the same money and we couldn't work out why we were being asked and not others who had arrived after us except that we had appeared to be flexible on the first day, but that was before we had set up camp.

Not surprisingly we refused to move so the manager tried to show us somewhere else to move but we refused. She said she would have to ask someone else ( didn't catch the name) if we could stay on our pitch (even though we had booked and paid for it. ). She never returned with an answer and we stayed put.

So if you want to go be prepared to be bullied and stand up for yourself. Alternatively go elsewhere. It's supposed to be a holiday isn't it?

Date of Visit: July 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Alcaff 2 reviews from this member

Came here for a weekend in May. Returned in June for 5 days which turned into 12 days. Came home for 3 days and just had to return, initially for 3 weeks but on arrival added another week then later another 2 weeks and still here!

The view over Morecombe bay on arrival is beautiful and those sunsets of an evening are the same.

The shower block is new, very clean and free hot showers. Our pitch was level with a hardstanding.

The site

Access to 3 areas of sheltered beach, woodland walks which include an old stone circle and a cave, loads of climbing areas, ie boulders for the kids and walks along the coastal path and woodlands around the area

This is a family site as explained by the wonderful Wardens, so no numpties spoiling it for everyone or else they are asked to leave the next morning which was nice to see.

They regularly do their rounds and late at night so we can all get some kip and are extremely helpful.

They have a little shop on site. With normal prices, ie. 60p for an ice cream lolly. Now our kids have grown up and left so bin there, done that, sites we went to usually overcharge for this type of thing because they know they have you.

My wife and I would definitely recommend this site to anyone, families and all who want to be out in the countryside and let their kids be kids, without the expense of arcades, clubhouses etc.

If there is a downside to Gibralter Farm its maybe the steep short road down to the pitches. But I wouldn, t let that stop me from ever coming here. My car is only a 1400cc petrol model and it easily pulled our caravan up and down it.

It gets better. If you are over 55 its only £12 per night inc EHU Monday to Thursday and excluding school holidays. It is by far the best value for money site we, ve been to considering its beautiful location

Date of Visit: July 2014 Unit:  Trailer Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Smartecosse 9 reviews from this member

Looking for a quick three day getaway and the site we normally go to was fully booked…. Having read a few comments about Gibraltar Farm on here decided to go there. Very glad we did….

Booking was very easy, and finding the site wasn’t a problem. I think that a little effort could be made by the owners to smooth out the access road “hill” as trying to maintain a sensible speed up it whilst avoiding all the holes is a little tricky.

However, that is the only issue we had. The toilet block during our three days there was spotless, water was always hot and the shower cubicles had a bench seat in them as well so no hopping on one foot getting dressed. With two young children we particularly liked the fact that there was a “family” shower cubicle in both the gents and the ladies.

The two site wardens were extremely hellpful and welcoming and their little shop in their awning isn’t that little! It has most things that you would run out of and need in a hurry as well as a very good selection of very well priced sweets and ice creams for the children.

We had an ehu pitch for our trailer tent and for two adults and two children was £18 a night which we thought was good value, I believe without the ehu it would only have been £13.

No play area for the kids, but huge amounts of open space and a little hillock with rocks that they enjoyed clambering on. Access to the beach was easy, via a nice 3 or 4 minute walk though the woods.

Plenty to see and do in the area, with a lot of National Trust and English Heritage properties within 30 minutes drive. Plus of course you have easy access for the Lake District.

I am sure we will be back at some point.

Previous     195 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Save to Virtual Brochure  Add this Site to your Virtual Brochure                                Share  Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Submit a Review for a chance to Win £100 of Amazon Vouchers
Win £100 of Amazon vouchersSubmit a review of any caravan park or campsite, for a chance to win. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win £100 of Amazon vouchers!

If you've visited this site, then please submit a review for a chance to win.

Try our town listings   -   Other Sites in Lancashire   -   Search for a site

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a bundle of VARTA camping essentials worth over £100! Win a Festival Starter Pack, worth over £100!

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Tribfest Festival 20th – 23rd August
The world’s biggest tribute band music festival in East Yorkshire - PLUS exclusive 10% discount on tickets!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


7324 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend  -  Pensions Auto-enrolment

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2015






0.0586