Home

   Log in or Register
   
Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Ladram Bay Holiday Park

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > UK > England > South West > Devon (South) > Site Reviews

Ladram Bay Holiday Park
Otterton
Budleigh Salterton
Devon (South)   (Browse area)
EX9 7BX   See Map                                 Share Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook
Tel: 01395 568 398

Facilities:  (Key)
                         

Nearby:
5m  5m   5m  1m  5m 
Featured Site

Pitches: 200
Open: Mid March To Early November

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 82 Reviews
              8/10 from 82 Reviews


Units accepted:    Tents  Caravans  Motorhomes  Statics for Hire  Statics on Sale 

Photos (11) and Video

Reviews:  82 in total, now showing 1 to 6                 Previous 6          Next 6
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14  

Date of Visit: July 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: PercyVolvo 8 reviews from this member

Our second stay at this very nice holiday park. If you have a family, this is a must. However, we do not and this is still a really nice site. The pitches are clean and well tended. The staff helpful and all were very pleasant and helpful. We pitched on the Ridges with spectacular views of the sea. Enjoyed sitting out each evening as the sun went down and the site gradually fell into a tranquil evening darkness. The pool area is newly refurbished and the site has done well. The changing village is clean and has many nice touches. So, what about bad points? To be honest, there are not many. However, I can name three here:

A)we bought wifi for the week and this was expensive and not reliable and only works on one device.

B) There were no hooks outside the shower area for towels so we had to put them in a pile and hope they stayed dry while we showered after swimming.

C) No bins in the touring fields was a little annoying.

Would we go back? Yes, most certainly. We would highly recommend this site.

Date of Visit: July 2014 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Hines79 2 reviews from this member

We were looking forward to staying at this site, with a wonderful beach location and all the facilities, however, was bitterly disappointed.

We stayed in The Ridges which is very steep to enable the views of the sea, but this was actually not much of a view when you have vehicles in front of you and you also have the full view of the main blocks which house the restaurant/ entertainment etc. This is also located next to the main drive which from 6. 30am until late at night has constant traffic, not the tranquillity we expected. I didn't see one caravan site themselves this was always done by the tractor. No local bin sites for your rubbish which was also located at the bottom of the drive.

There is only one main child play area, which is very good for the kids with a zip wire etc. But this is located at the bottom of the main drive out of sight. Very disappointed no smaller parks/playing areas dotted around the touring or caravan park, so your not able to relax around your own residence. Luckily our children were old enough to walk around unsupervised to this area but I felt really sorry for the couples with younger children. Not enough seating around the area for all the families to sit around while watching the kids therefore you had to stand or if you decided to stay by your residence you had bored kids with nothing to do (no bikes/ scooters/ skates allowed) or you were constantly telling them to keep out the road because of the cars if they tried to play.

It is NOT dog friendly. They are not allowed on the beach at all, and there is not a signposted 'dog field'. We had to ask staff where we walk him to be told either across one field into another (which had stingers all over the place and cows on it) or another field which was located at the bottom of the drive and round the back of the facilities, this was the better field to use. Apart from by these fields there were no Dog Poo bins located around the site. Staff explained the nearest Dog Friendly beach was 3 miles away (Budleigh Saltington) around the coastal walk which we decided to do on one day, this turned out to be a 4-5 mile walk, it was tiring for our dog but we made it and had a really good time. Got a taxi back. We then decided to alternate staying on site and going to the beach. The 2nd and 3rd times to the beach we went to Exmouth which is sand and lovely. Loads of motorhomes park on the front and very reasonable charges for the day.

This kids did enjoy themselves as they used the swimming pool, crazy golf, park and arcade, unfortunately we were unable to enjoy these as a family.

On our last day we were at Exmouth Beach and decided not to bother going back to Ladram Bay and went to a little campsite called Pooh Cottage, this was tranquillity and for one night had total peace of mind of being able to see the kids while they played, was able to join in with them and keep an eye on our vehicle and dog at the same time. They could also play on their bikes etc.

Needless to say we will not be going back.

Date of Visit: June 2014 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Tinks35 1 review from this member

Just back from our first camping holiday as a family (2 adults, 2 kids aged 5 and 1). I feel we have possibly been spoilt for our first camping holiday due to the weather was glorious and the site was absolutely fantastic! We we're in the Smugglers campsite side and the pitches are tiered with lovely views over the campsite and sea. Each pitch comes with electric hookup and water tap. The toilet blocks we're not to far to walk to and all modern and I always being kept clean. The hairdryer you do have to pay for which is 50p which I feel could have been free (this may be a standard on all campsites?). The beach area is lovely though is pebbles and you will need crocs/beach shoes for walking on and into the water. We hired a motor boat for £20 (1hour) and had a great time viewing the coastline and general mucking about on the water. You can also hire kayaks. The outside play area for the kids is brilliant, just off the show bar and cafe/restaurant. The views are spectacular form here too. There is lots for the kids to do (however ours didn't want to get involved and was happy playing in the park). We didn't try the swimming pool however judging by all the other facilities we tried I am sure this would be a lovely pool too! The on site shop is well stocked if you need anything. The receptionist was really helpful too. This site is quite big and reminded me a little bit of Haven as very geared up for families but better! Dogs are welcome on this site too. I'm not sure what more I can say is that we would thoroughly recommend this site and are definitely looking forward to going back.

Date of Visit: May 2014 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: SandraScot1 23 reviews from this member

Just returned from 2 nights at Ladram Bay. We normally opt for smaller quieter sites but this site is ideally situated on the Devon coastal path so if you like walking the location is perfect. The site itself is huge with lots of mobile homes. It obviously attracts lots of families and there is a pool, bar and restaurant and an entertainment complex. We didn't use any of these but had a drink at the bar on the terrace which overlooks the sea with great views of the private beach. We have a dog so could only use the Terrace area - however that's fine. There are a couple of dog walking areas but note that dogs are not allowed on the beach. There is a well stocked small supermarket on site.

The facilities for caravans and motorhomes are very good. We were situated on No 126 which is the new section. Immediately on the left as you come into the holiday park. Terraced, hard standing, with electric and water. Wonderful views out to sea. The toilet block is obviously brand new and was immaculate. Large showers, lots of hot water and hair dryers available in the ladies loos - there is a charge for these. This section also has Chemical loo facility and the laundry area.

Staff were friendly and polite and check in was quick and efficient. They also take the ACSI card at Ladram Bay which means in the low season you can save about £10 for the 2 nights which makes it very good value for money.

The Coastal path walks are accessible from the site. Sidmouth is about 2 miles but be warned this is a fairly steep route so wouldn't be classed as an easy walk.

The other route is to Budleigh Salterton and this is about 3. 5 to 4 miles from the site. Fairly flat, easy going and only a couple of sections with a little bit of a climb. Good views and you will also come across Brandy Bay WWII observation post used in the second world war. Behind the observation post was the cannon/ammunition testing range for Spitfires and Lancasters who used this range to check their weapons were calibrated when taking delivery of their new aircraft.

It's a decent walk and well worth doing.

When you leave the holiday park on this path, about 1/2 mile from the site there is a public footpath to Otterton. This brings you out at the Otterton Football club and you take a right to go into the village. The Kings Arms does a decent lunch and dogs are permitted in the bar area. If you walk further down into the village past the pub there is another café and shop selling crafts and local produce.

So we were pleasantly surprised by our stay here. Although they cater more for families staying in the mobile homes and lodges, it's a very well organised site, immaculately clean and tidy and well situated. We will visit this one again.

Date of Visit: October 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: EmmaLadd 3 reviews from this member

Had a lovely stay at Ladram Bay last October. We were towed onto and off our pitch by tractor as the site is quite steep. We were right at the top and the views of the sea were fabulous. The toilet block was a short walk away and very warm, modern and clean. The children loved the kids club twice a day and all the staff were very friendly and helpful. It was fairly quiet, which was perfect for us, and although it got busier toward the weekend there was still no evening noise. There is a lot to do on site: indoor and outdoor play areas for the kids and some good walks over the cliffs for the dog. Dogs aren't allowed in any of the buildings, which is a shame, but not really a problem if you visit in the summer. The campsite has a private beach, but again no dogs allowed. We bought pool passes for the kids, a pity this isn't included in the price, but well worth it for a few hours entertainment. We are returning this summer as the kids had such a great time.

Date of Visit: September 2013 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: TEENAR 4 reviews from this member

Well what can I say. We have definitely been spoilt this time. At only £16 or night for a fully serviced pitch, and that's just for starters. Staff are very friendly and helpful. You get views that are spectacular and are available from all pitches, as the site is tiered. The toilets/shower block are brand new and superb and spacious.

It is a big site but not to be compared to Butlins / Pontins / Haven. This site has been improved over time. Its family run and is just about to celebrate its 70th Birthday. It is an extremely well thought out site and I say site but it is like a little village. Pitches are spacious. Views tremendous. There's a large recycling/refuse area. A play area for the kids. There is a shop which sells just about everything and isn't overpriced. A cafe which does snacks and beverages to eat in and take out. A restaurant/bar with great views of the sea. There is free WIFI at bars and eating establishments.

I had a big surprise as they have their own private beach. We were on the top tier and it took us less than 5 minutes to get to beach. It's a pebble beach, you can hire deck chairs. There are kayaks and fishing boats that can be rented for a reasonable price. The sea is an inviting gradual slope so good for kids. All in all a brilliant site and the best holiday park that I have ever been to.

Previous     82 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 6      Next

Save to Virtual Brochure  Add this Site to your Virtual Brochure                                Share  Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Submit your Review for a chance to Win Prizes!
Sponsored by the Caravan ClubSubmit a review to UKCampsite.co.uk of any caravan park or campsite, for a chance to win a caravan towing course or motorhome manoeuvring course worth up to £145, or £100 of Amazon vouchers, courtesy of The Caravan Club. Join the Club for just £44 per year to enjoy access to a great range of caravan sites, benefits and special offers.

If you've visited this site, then please submit a review for a chance to win.

Try our town listings   -   Other Sites in Devon (South)   -   Search for a site

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a Vehicle and Personal GPS Tracker from Towsure.com Visit the UKCS shop for exclusive discounts and offers

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Motorhome & Caravan Show 14/10 to 19/10 NEC Birmingham
Back at the NEC Birmingham this autumn - we have 20 pairs of tickets up for grabs

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


4242 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend  -  Pensions Auto-enrolment

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews


Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2014




0.0820