Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Ladram Bay Holiday Park

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > UK > England > South West > Devon (South) > Site Reviews

Ladram Bay Holiday Park
Otterton
Budleigh Salterton
Devon (South)   (Browse area)
EX9 7BX   See Map                                 Share Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook
Tel: 01395 568 398

Facilities:  (Key)
                         

Nearby: (within x miles)
5m   5m  1m  5m 
Featured Site

Pitches: 200
Open: March 16th - November 5th 2018

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 92 Reviews
              8/10 from 92 Reviews


Units accepted:    Tents  Caravans  Motorhomes  Statics for Hire  Statics on Sale  Glamping 

Special Offer available to UKCampsite.co.uk visitors - see here.

Photos (20) and Video

Reviews:  92 in total, now showing 1 to 6                 Previous 6          Next 6
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14   15   16  

Write your own Review for a chance to Win 300 of Prizes!
Sponsored by Ordnance SurveyWin a 300 Prize Package including 100 of Amazon vouchers, courtesy of our sponsor Ordnance Survey If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Further info and prize details here

Date of Visit: September 2017 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Davenic 6 reviews from this member

Went to Ladram Bay for 6 nights in September, camping pitches are on a series of ledges so everyone gets a sea view, pitches are flat with grass and a gravel road in front for car access, all pitches have hook-up and water with a drain. Two sets of toilet blocks less than 3 minutes walk from pitches, 1 which was a modern block, we used both blocks and preferred the older ones due to how powerful the showers were, both blocks have touch screen shower controls with the new block having touch screen heating controls. Both blocks were spotlessly clean all the times we went no matter what time day or night and were both well stocked. Fish & chip shop was only open 5pm-9pm as off peak season but food was excellent quality and reasonably priced. Another plus point is the excellent swimming pool 20-25 metres long by 8-10 metres wide with a separate toddlers area with a small slide, complex also includes a sauna, steam room, jacuzzi and a gym. The site is situated on the South West coastal path and has stunning views of the coast towards Sidmouth (3-4 miles) and Budleigh Salterton (4-5 miles). We didn't use the beach facilities due to the time of the year but again a stunning setting if you get the weather.

Date of Visit: July 2017 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Fran1000 12 reviews from this member

If you want to camp somewhere where you never have to leave the site, this would be perfect for you. It's like a small town: it has a pool, kids' entertainment, (expensive) supermarket, bars, fish & chip shop, restaurant, cabaret and direct access to the beach.

And it is huge. There must be around 150 camping pitches, but most of the site is 'holiday lodges'. They surround the pitches, cascading down the sides of the valley. There had been recent ground clearance works at the top of the site, and a large new building almost completed, which led me to think that the site is being expanded even further (online satellite image appears quite out of date). It felt more like a housing estate than a campsite, campers seemed to keep themselves to themselves.

Staff were pleasant and professional, but in a rather 'corporate' way, reminiscent of a hotel chain (not helped by the fact that they wear uniforms that make them look as though they should be behind the counter of a high street bank!). Motorhome/caravan pitches were all in one section of the site, on hardstanding, and all had EHU, water and waste water drain. The site was terraced, and the shower/toilet block was in the centre of this area. The steepness of the site meant that some campers needed to use their cars to get to/from the facilities.

The shower/toilet facilities were plentiful, free, modern and very clean. However, they were already showing signs of poor maintenance (eg, loose hooks in partitions in showers and mastic peeling away). This was also reflected in the grounds: the grass was clearly cut very regularly, but weeds, including brambles, around the pitch perimeters had been left untended.

For the prices charged, I would expect better attention to routine maintenance. The 28 we paid may not have been expensive for a hardstanding pitch with EHU, but grass and no EHU was not an option. However, two cyclists sharing a small tent were charged 25 for the night, which I felt was very dear.

Date of Visit: September 2016 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Wendywoocam58 1 review from this member

Excellent site with fantastic views over the coast. Toilet facilities were spotless at all hours and in all weathers, in fact the whole site was spotless. The staff in Reception, Restaurant and shop were all polite, friendly and helpful. The staff in the bar were exceptionally friendly and made my Daughter's holiday with their cocktails!

Good spot to visit lots of attractions and the village of Otterton is beautiful. Nearest supermarket in Exmouth but good local shops close by.

The only thing missing for me was a plug in the toilets for hair straighteners. Thanks Ladram we will be back !

Date of Visit: September 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Chis5 3 reviews from this member

We just got back from our holiday to Ladram bay Holiday park and well it was fantastic! Everyone there we so lovely and polite and very helpful from the minute we arrived they towed our tiny freedom Jetstream caravan up to the pitch with a tractor as steep going up to pitch but DON'T let this put you off as it not as bad as you may think. The site had its own beach which was amazing! The shop was full of everything and very good prices was cheaper than our local shop at home (NEWCASTLE)! The fish and chip shop was very nice as it was only 2 minutes walk from beach so could have fish and chips on beach. The caravan site itself as on a hill and the caravans where on dropped levels and quite a steep walk up to caravans and toilets but worth it for the beautiful sea view. Toilet block we had to use as we where on the Ridges where very modern, immaculate and clean, constant hot water, didn't have to touch taps or shower as all done my had motion sensor, they never ran out of toilet paper as that is my pet hate.

There was plenty for children too, lovely big park near the bar and restaurant so parents can sit and have a cold on one on the huge balcony while they watch the kids in park.

Large swimming pool, amusements, pool or snooker table they both look the same to me, bowling alley just small with 2 lanes. Most the small kids loved the rock pooling nets, buckets, rods, dingy's etc available to buy at the shop on the beach. You can even hire a boat and other sea worthy devices.

Beautiful chocolate box villages all around and lots of beaches and gift shops.

Would go again in a heart beat! 10/10

Date of Visit: September 2016 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Bodiddly 26 reviews from this member

We booked two nights at this site but only stayed one. The website gives no indication of how steep this site is, yes we expected terraces but not the sheer scale of the site. Check in was very abrupt with no info at all on the site, just told to wait in the car park to be sited. If you have a caravan you have to have it towed to the pitch by their tractor, in a motorhome you just follow the tractor. We were allocated a pitch at the very top of the site, nice view, but still obstructed by the van in front and trees, the toilets and showers were two tiers down the hill, very modern and lovely but quite a trek down the very steep hill, we were also right next to the entrance road which was very busy all day. The worst bit was there are no bins anywhere on site except down at the bottom of the hill in the car park, so you had to keep the rubbish in the motorhome or walk to the bottom of the hill to bin it, they said this was due to seagulls, but many other sites use gull proof bins with no problems.

Our main gripe with this site is it claims to be dog friendly, it is not, they obviously don't really want dogs at all. There are no dog bins until you get to the coastal path, there is no proper dog walking area, (as we left site I saw a small sign saying Dog Walk in a field which was full of parked cars up by the site entrance, hardly a safe environment). There are signs everywhere saying no dogs, no dogs on the beach, OK I get that, but that also includes the beach bar terrace on the slipway down towards it, there was also one on the path up to the main bar terrace, but most people seemed to ignore that.

If you are staying in one of their properties at the bottom of the hill, and don't have a dog I'm sure you will find this site brilliant, but it was definitely not for us.

Date of Visit: June 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: PaulD and Family 2 reviews from this member

What a great site this is. At first I was thinking this could be a difficult site to actually drive to, however, on the final approach there is a steep decline down to the Security and reception area. We were greeted by a very happy Security man who directed us to park up and unhitch the caravan, and a tractor will come along and take the caravan to the pitch. The family went and checked us in and 2 minutes later we are following the tractor to our pitch. It was amazing, the view from the pitch was superb, the pitch was clean and fully serviced as per the advertisement. In reality we could have stayed on the site all week without having to leave for anything. We had a really stress free stay and thoroughly enjoyed it. Entertainment was good, the beach and facilities fantastic and the bars and food in the restaurant was again very good indeed. We will book again. We tried to book for the summer but the weeks we wanted were booked. Shame.

Previous     92 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 6      Next

Save to Virtual Brochure  Add this Site to your Virtual Brochure                                Share  Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write your own Review for a chance to Win 300 of Prizes!
Sponsored by Ordnance SurveyWin a 300 Prize Package including 100 of Amazon vouchers, courtesy of our sponsor Ordnance Survey If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Further info and prize details here

Try our town listings   -   Other Sites in Devon (South)   -   Search for a site

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win 3 AutoSock car snowsock sets worth 49.95+ each Win an OLPRO Caravan Cover in your size

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Manchester Caravan & Motorhome Show 18 to 21 January 2018
Advanced booking discount plus we have 15 pairs of tickets to give away ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


820 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend  -  Pensions Auto-enrolment

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2017






0.0859
UKCampsite.co.uk
Advent Calendar

Advent Calendar

24 Daily Prizes worth up to 120 and a Christmas Day Star Prize worth 500!
Open Today's Window