Home

   Log in or Register
   
Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Ladram Bay Holiday Park

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > UK > England > South West > Devon (South) > Site Reviews

Ladram Bay Holiday Park
Otterton
Budleigh Salterton
Devon (South)   (Browse area)
EX9 7BX   See Map                                 Share Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook
Tel: 01395 568 398

Facilities:  (Key)
                         

Nearby: (within x miles)
5m  5m   5m  1m  5m 
Featured Site

Pitches: 200
Open: Mid March To Early November

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 85 Reviews
              8/10 from 85 Reviews


Units accepted:    Tents  Caravans  Motorhomes  Statics for Hire  Statics on Sale 

Photos (13) and Video

Reviews:  85 in total, now showing 1 to 6                 Previous 6          Next 6
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14   15  

Submit your own Review for a chance to Win 100 of Amazon Vouchers
Win 100 of Amazon vouchersSubmit a review of this site for a chance to win. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win 100 of Amazon vouchers!

Date of Visit: July 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Sv246 20 reviews from this member

Stayed for a week in the school holidays as a group of 3 tourers. Arrived via some very narrow lanes with steep hills! Caravans are pitched for you as the site is very steep. Toilet block exceptional. Huge on site shop at reasonable prices. Takeaway is the usual fare but service is slow. Entertainment is the standard stuff including bingo. Bar a bit pricey. We ate in the Pebbles restaurant and as a group of 13 we booked our table and pre ordered our food. The food was good but the service was shocking. This was made worse as one pitch in our group had received a voucher for the restaurant as they had to constantly complain about a poorly fitting drain cover in the middle of there awning which smelt awful in the heat.

The beach is only a couple of minutes walk from the pitch. It is a pebble beach with nothing for kids to do unless you hire a kayak or motor boat. We drove to Exmouth which has a lovely sandy beach. Kids are banned from bikes/ scooters and skateboards due to the steepness of the roadways. They can us them but only in the play area which is nowhere near the pitches. This park is predominately for static owners with boats.

No shops or pubs near by and supermarket shopping is in Exmouth, however we had Tesco deliver direct to the pitch. Very poor phone and Internet. One of our party paid for wifi and that wasn't too good either.

Date of Visit: July 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Sam h 2 reviews from this member

Just left this site pitches on a hill but staff take your caravan too pitch which is excellent and the views are superb. Toilet block and laundrette best we have had in a long time, plenty hot water and very clean, was only here for two nights an can honestly say the noise of the seagulls from 4 o'clock in the morning onwards was horrendous for that reason wouldn't return which is a pity as a nice site

Date of Visit: July 2015 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Wendy12miller 7 reviews from this member

This is the first time we had visted this site which is in a lovely beautiful part of devon - we had a pitch on smugglers which i booked only after lots of research to ensure that our tent would fit as tent pitches advertised are rather small, however after a couple of phone calls was assured by jamie that we had been allocated their second largest pitch 173 and this would be more than adequate for our tent

On arrival and after being shown to our pitch by groundsman - we had been allocated pitch no 154 which was only approx 10m x 7m, there had been a mix up in the office and someone had changed our booking - as they were now fully booked we couldn't change !

We couldn't pitch the extention to our outwell tent so my husband and i slept in the living quarters for our holiday

The seagulls are a complete nuisance - they raid your bbq and steal food, poo over everything !

They wake you up at 4. 30am in the morning by screaching and fighting on the roof of tents and caravans

The family next door to us had food stolen from them while eating on the terrace of pebbles restaurant.

While at your tent your are constantly watched/stalked by the seagulls looking for opportunities to steal food

However, there are many nice things about this campsite/holiday park

- great swimming pool

- the showers and toilets block are lovely and modern and always kept very clean

- views of the sea from your pitch are great

- you can buy fresh lobster and crab caught from the bay from the crab shack on the beach at a very reasonable price

- staff are very friendly and helpful

However i doubt we will go back due to the seagulls and the ridiculously small tent pitches

Date of Visit: July 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: PercyVolvo 10 reviews from this member

Our second stay at this very nice holiday park. If you have a family, this is a must. However, we do not and this is still a really nice site. The pitches are clean and well tended. The staff helpful and all were very pleasant and helpful. We pitched on the Ridges with spectacular views of the sea. Enjoyed sitting out each evening as the sun went down and the site gradually fell into a tranquil evening darkness. The pool area is newly refurbished and the site has done well. The changing village is clean and has many nice touches. So, what about bad points? To be honest, there are not many. However, I can name three here:

A)we bought wifi for the week and this was expensive and not reliable and only works on one device.

B) There were no hooks outside the shower area for towels so we had to put them in a pile and hope they stayed dry while we showered after swimming.

C) No bins in the touring fields was a little annoying.

Would we go back? Yes, most certainly. We would highly recommend this site.

Date of Visit: July 2014 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Hines79 2 reviews from this member

We were looking forward to staying at this site, with a wonderful beach location and all the facilities, however, was bitterly disappointed.

We stayed in The Ridges which is very steep to enable the views of the sea, but this was actually not much of a view when you have vehicles in front of you and you also have the full view of the main blocks which house the restaurant/ entertainment etc. This is also located next to the main drive which from 6. 30am until late at night has constant traffic, not the tranquillity we expected. I didn't see one caravan site themselves this was always done by the tractor. No local bin sites for your rubbish which was also located at the bottom of the drive.

There is only one main child play area, which is very good for the kids with a zip wire etc. But this is located at the bottom of the main drive out of sight. Very disappointed no smaller parks/playing areas dotted around the touring or caravan park, so your not able to relax around your own residence. Luckily our children were old enough to walk around unsupervised to this area but I felt really sorry for the couples with younger children. Not enough seating around the area for all the families to sit around while watching the kids therefore you had to stand or if you decided to stay by your residence you had bored kids with nothing to do (no bikes/ scooters/ skates allowed) or you were constantly telling them to keep out the road because of the cars if they tried to play.

It is NOT dog friendly. They are not allowed on the beach at all, and there is not a signposted 'dog field'. We had to ask staff where we walk him to be told either across one field into another (which had stingers all over the place and cows on it) or another field which was located at the bottom of the drive and round the back of the facilities, this was the better field to use. Apart from by these fields there were no Dog Poo bins located around the site. Staff explained the nearest Dog Friendly beach was 3 miles away (Budleigh Saltington) around the coastal walk which we decided to do on one day, this turned out to be a 4-5 mile walk, it was tiring for our dog but we made it and had a really good time. Got a taxi back. We then decided to alternate staying on site and going to the beach. The 2nd and 3rd times to the beach we went to Exmouth which is sand and lovely. Loads of motorhomes park on the front and very reasonable charges for the day.

This kids did enjoy themselves as they used the swimming pool, crazy golf, park and arcade, unfortunately we were unable to enjoy these as a family.

On our last day we were at Exmouth Beach and decided not to bother going back to Ladram Bay and went to a little campsite called Pooh Cottage, this was tranquillity and for one night had total peace of mind of being able to see the kids while they played, was able to join in with them and keep an eye on our vehicle and dog at the same time. They could also play on their bikes etc.

Needless to say we will not be going back.

Date of Visit: June 2014 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Tinks35 1 review from this member

Just back from our first camping holiday as a family (2 adults, 2 kids aged 5 and 1). I feel we have possibly been spoilt for our first camping holiday due to the weather was glorious and the site was absolutely fantastic! We we're in the Smugglers campsite side and the pitches are tiered with lovely views over the campsite and sea. Each pitch comes with electric hookup and water tap. The toilet blocks we're not to far to walk to and all modern and I always being kept clean. The hairdryer you do have to pay for which is 50p which I feel could have been free (this may be a standard on all campsites?). The beach area is lovely though is pebbles and you will need crocs/beach shoes for walking on and into the water. We hired a motor boat for 20 (1hour) and had a great time viewing the coastline and general mucking about on the water. You can also hire kayaks. The outside play area for the kids is brilliant, just off the show bar and cafe/restaurant. The views are spectacular form here too. There is lots for the kids to do (however ours didn't want to get involved and was happy playing in the park). We didn't try the swimming pool however judging by all the other facilities we tried I am sure this would be a lovely pool too! The on site shop is well stocked if you need anything. The receptionist was really helpful too. This site is quite big and reminded me a little bit of Haven as very geared up for families but better! Dogs are welcome on this site too. I'm not sure what more I can say is that we would thoroughly recommend this site and are definitely looking forward to going back.

Previous     85 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 6      Next

Save to Virtual Brochure  Add this Site to your Virtual Brochure                                Share  Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Submit a Review for a chance to Win 100 of Amazon Vouchers
Win 100 of Amazon vouchersSubmit a review of any caravan park or campsite, for a chance to win. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win 100 of Amazon vouchers!

If you've visited this site, then please submit a review for a chance to win.

Try our town listings   -   Other Sites in Devon (South)   -   Search for a site

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a Champion 3100 Watt Inverter Petrol Generator Win a Win a One Week Stay at Vauxhall Holiday Park!

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Motorhome & Caravan Show 13 18 October
Occupying eleven huge halls of the NEC, it is guaranteed to be an unmissable event. Win tickets!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


521 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend  -  Pensions Auto-enrolment

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2015






0.0620