Home

   Log in or Register
   
Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Cofton Country Holidays

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > UK > England > South West > Devon (South) > Site Reviews

Cofton Country Holidays
Starcross
Dawlish
Devon (South)   (Browse area)
EX6 8RP   See Map                                 Share Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook
Tel: 0800 0858649  or  01626 890111

Facilities:  (Key)
                         

Nearby:
5m  5m  5m  5m  1m   10m  1m  5m 
Featured Site

Pitches: 450
Open: All Year Round

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 190 Reviews
              9/10 from 190 Reviews


Units accepted:    Tents  Caravans  Motorhomes Caravan Storage Storage  Statics for Hire  Statics on Sale 

This site has chosen to use the availability calendar. You can check for availability here.

Special Offer available to UKCampsite.co.uk visitors - see here.

Photos (19)

Reviews:  190 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14   15   16   17   18   19  

Date of Visit: September 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Sue warner 4 reviews from this member

This has been our second visit this year and have been lucky with the weather on both visits. We returned as it has everything we look for in a site, very clean toilet/showers, very good indoor pool/outdoor pool fantastic food including the carvery on Friday nights and Sunday in Amelia's pantry and warrens retreat. The reception staff were extremely helpful and nothing seemed to much trouble. The site is kept clean and tidy from grass cutting to bins being emptied OH was more than happy with the fishing lakes. We took a trip on a steam train and day out to Exeter so easy to get about by train as the station is 5 minutes in the car £1 for the car park for the day or bus stop outside the site entrance. Sainsbury is also only 5 minutes drive away. All in all a brilliant week and we will be back.

Date of Visit: August 2014 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Helen564 1 review from this member

This was our 2nd stay at Cofton. We enjoyed it so much last year that we went back.

The location -

Getting to the site is complicated by getting through Starcross. There is part of the road that is single file which makes it difficult on days when there's a lot of coming and going. Also your SATNAV will send you down the first left to the site, my advice is take the 2nd left. Then if you meet a caravan coming out there's room to pass.

The pitches -

Our foot print is 10m x 5m with our awning and we fit on their standard electric pitches.

There's plenty of variety of pitches close to or further away from the central facilities. We camp between the 10 acre and 12 acre fields up on the top terrace. The pitches are a little sloping in places but overall quite flat.

The facilities -

There are plenty of showers. They're always hot and clean, sometimes at peak times there is a short queue.

The above is also true of washing up facilities.

The central area with pools, shop, restaurants and bars is very good. There are charges for the indoor pool but the outdoor pool is free. My only gripe with the pools is that they charge 16 year olds adult price to get in but you have to be 18 to supervise an under 14 year old.

The sauna and steam room are excellent as is the gym.

The food in Amelia's cafe is good but I found that when they were quiet it wasn't as good a standard or as fast a service, not sure how they manage to do so much better when very busy.

If you like ice cream please visit The Orange Elephant in Kenford, about 20 minutes away. Well worth the trip!

If it wasn't for the pool supervision and the odd problem with food in Amelia's it would definitely be a 10/10!

Date of Visit: August 2014 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Blueinternet 5 reviews from this member

We (Two adults and an 8 year old boy) stopped for 10 nights camping on a standard electric pitch. The pitches are great and we were in a very quiet area of the park (if a little distance from the facilities). Level pitches with ample room for our Outwell Montana 6 and porch extension. Tin tops and tents mix in these pitches (although all the super pitches seemed to be for vans). A low hedge backs the pitches allowing some shelter but not interrupting the view of the surroundings.

The site is set in Starcross but closer to Dawlish. Handy beaches nearby and the railway line for handy day trips to Teignmouth, Torquey or Paignton etc. You can bus it towards Exeter or Dawlish from the site entrance. Nearest supermarket is Sainsburys (it's a big one) less than 5 mins drive towards Dawlish, and there are pubs off site nearby (although we didm;t bother with any I hear the Smugglers Retreat is nice).

We were welcomed, and hastily shown to our pitch by a chap in a buggy, with no messing or nonsense setting up (such as other sites where we were asked to move the tent 1 foot to the left, half way through setting up in a high wind – needless to say – I “said I moved it” when he came back the next day).

There are a mix of slightly older and more modern facilities on site. A free outdoor pool (great and slightly heated), a pub (serves food in recyclable boxes) and the new (2 years old) complex, complete with the obligatory arcade, two restaurants (same menu), entertainment centre and the indoor pool. Well kept, tidy and staffed by very friendly young staff the complex was most welcoming

The Indoor pool is nice, not massive but me and the lad managed to throw a ball around without upsetting anyone. There is a charge for the indoor pool, which I'd didn't mind as the whole holiday was £90 less than similar sites where there are free pools. I didn't spend that on swimming as we only ever go a couple of times, and in any case once you have paid you can come and go all day (handy for a campsite day).

There is an adventure playground and donkeys on site – and they have regular events throughout the week (free falconry display for example). They have a number of other playgrounds too but all down at the bottom near the complex. Another minor criticism is the lack of anywhere to chuck a ball up on the top pitches. It's ok if there is an empty pitch but when it's full you have to walk down to the park areas to throw a rugby ball!

The food we sampled was great, tasty and fairly reasonably priced. There is a carvery most days with a reasonable (if a little unoriginal) menu. There's also a chippy (not tried but I'm sure it's great). Finally an on site shop which is as you would expect, you can get most basics and newspapers etc. Not over priced but not Asda price.

One slight criticism of the restaurant eating areas is they can get very noisy, especially if they are showing films (as they where on our rainy last day). It's a little like a canteen yet they serve restaurant quality food –which you want to enjoy. An odd atmosphere to create. That said, they’re clean, service is quick and with a smile and there is proper Heinz ketchup!

The site is very kid friendly. And we found lots of younger kids around (2 -6). There were some teenagers but not masses and by no means spoiling anyone's fun by forming gangs etc.

Toilets and showers not the best, but by no means the worst. It's clear some blocks are more modern than others. The ones we had I would describe as adequate – and there are enough so as not to be waiting for showers or toilets unless you go at obvious peak times (8-9 or 4-6). All very clean though – another slight downside they seemed to clean our block at those peak times and on occasion there were female cleaners in the male block, which can be a little odd when trying to shower, shave etc. I'd suggest they clean during the off peak times?

All in all though a great, welcoming and friendly site which I would visit again.

Date of Visit: July 2014 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Argies 1 review from this member

Wow! We have just returned from our first camp here and it was perfect! We were allocated the overflow field with no EHU which suited us perfectly. Close enough to all the great facilities but far enough to feel like 'real' camping!

The shower/toilets by us where not the best, think portable cabin! The main showers and toilets were spotless! Lovely hot water and a private sink and mirror facing each shower cubicle. We also said £10 deposit for family bathroom key which was worth it.

The outdoor pool was great, very clean. Indoor was also great, especially the steam room.

We met some great friends and plan to meet up here next year. Beautiful site if you are debating about going here. Just do it.

Date of Visit: July 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Matthewjb 6 reviews from this member

Good pitch by the lake-only down side was noise from the people fishing early which was to be expected. When full down there pitches were tight to get the vans and cars out as some people decided to park their cars side ways on along the path-and wondered why they got scratches from the kids on the car???? Site was very clean along with the toilets and good showers. The pool is smaller than I thought it would be and with a rammed site was at times too busy. The food was very expensive, beer prices ok (except the Peroni £4. 50!) however all very flat. What spoiled the two weeks was the dire evening entertainment. I have seen better at a child's party and because if this we ate and drank out the comes must evenings-such a Shame as they are making most if their money during this period. Because of this I won't be coming back again-supermarkets very close and the Harvester overlooking the harbour in Torquay was lovely!

Date of Visit: July 2014 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Dawney09 1 review from this member

This is our 2nd year we have come to this site and can honestly say we love it here, the site is easy to get to and there is a bus service right out the front that will take you to torquay one way or exeter the other.

The staff are very friendly and helpful. The site is kept very clean and the surroundings are beautiful.

Each of the main tent pitches are sectioned off by bushes and trees and have electric hook up points, there are a number of different play areas for children including a climbing area up in the wooded area at the top.

There are a number of fishing lakes with a number of different varieties of fish.

The showers and toilets are always kept clean and over a 10 night stay in peak season, only once did we have a problem with hot water for the showers which was quickly rectified! There is a shop on site which sells all necessary items and there is a lovely pub with a nice outside area to sit in. There is a club downstairs for the entertainment and there is a games room with an arcade and bowling in.

When you go upstairs there is a restaurant with outside dining too overlooking the site and the outdoor pool. There is a small ballpark for toddlers and a couple of pool tables. There is a gym and an indoor pool which you pay for to use, the pool is lovely with a sauna too. The outdoor pool and surrounding area is kept very clean and is a good size, although in peak season it probably could do with being bigger, there is a small toddler pool next to it.

We have booked to go back again next year.

Date of Visit: July 2014 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Benstuart 3 reviews from this member

Following a 4 night stay at Cofton in 2010 we were always keen to go back. Having visited many of Devons' many lovely tourist attractions we decided to have a more relaxing holiday and stay more on site. This time we stayed for 6 nights.

We already knew that Coftons facilities are excellent so no need to worry about the basics such as showering and washing up. They were kept as clean as ever and there was often good friendly banter at the washing up area.

We were given a generous pitch on the 10 acre field which is built on a terrace. I, like many others had not planned for the ground being so hard. About an inch under the ground it almost felt like rock, so would advise any camper to learn from my mistake and bring good quality steel rock pegs (these were available in the site shop and also in the good nearby camping shop).

We had excellent weather so were all able to make the most of the facilities on site; the outdoor pool, the numerous playgrounds and trails. We were also able to give our daughters a little independence.

There were lots of things organised throughout the week and many were free and these are the type of thing that set places like Cofton apart from others. These included a reptile display, small animals from Pennywell Farm, inflatables on the sports field and an excellent pond dipping session which was very informative and well organised by the enthusiastic staff.

We only left the site by car once and the new local Sainsburys was only about 3 minutes away. For everything else the site shop was as good as ever and included some excellent local produce - the sausages being particularly nice.

We enjoyed walks to Dawlish Warren Beach and also to Cockwood Harbour, both within a 30 minute walk. I would have loved to have taken my bike and done some of the rides in the excellent leaflets in reception. It was nice to discover the immediate local area more.

We made sure that we visited the new complex and whilst the bingo, arcades and cabaret aren't our cup of tea, we did visit briefly. At night the main complex does get busy but the old Swan pub sells the same things and serves up a good pint of Doom Bar!

The new indoor pool is excellent, especially when one of your aims is to help the children learn to swim again. It was a good temperature, not too deep, had a lovely soft floor and an area for children to splash about in. We bought a 3 day pass which happily saw us through a day of bad weather.

The food is not the cheapest but it is very good. We had a nice meal in the pantry.

We were a little unlucky to be near a group of inconsiderate people for a couple of nights and this did take a small amount of shine off an otherwise fantastic holiday. The people who camped next to us for the last couple of nights were lovely.

Overall, I would rate it very highly again and I think we will go again at some point.

Date of Visit: July 2014 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Youlbury 14 reviews from this member

We liked Cofton overall, this took a few days adjusting after arriving from a quiet site Golden Cap on a tour of Dorset and Devon.

We arrived on a Friday and site was very busy as expected at the beginning of the school holidays, we had to find our own pitch and after some time we found quite a large wide pitch with some good fortune.

Once pitched you really did notice how busy the site was particularly the field nearest to the shower block, it did look more like a refugee camp than a campsite.

On site the swimming pool was extremely popular and was packed over the weekend, the entertainment was pretty poor and we avoided it, the restaurant upstairs served decent food and the outside decked area was pleasant.

For a short stroll from the site you can find two pubs The Ship Inn and Anchor Inn, both decent and worth visiting. The surrounding area was nice and there is plenty to do.

Some of the clientèle were poorly mannered and some to appear to have skipped evolution, the fact my wife and my friends wife’s handbags had to be checked by security every time we went to the restaurant was not only intrusive but may summarise the customer base Cofton get.

This site was a bridge too far for own personal camping tastes and needs, it is popular because everything is done well, but for us it was a little too much and too busy.

Date of Visit: May 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Taylor56 1 review from this member

Stayed at Cofton many times and loved our stay again this year. The new pool and bar area is fantastic and a credit to the owners, would be nice if dog owners could use the balcony though as we had to stay down in the pub patio when our girls were eating and swimming upstairs.

We also feel that the season pitches are looking very tatty compared to the rest of the site which is kept immaculate.

Toilets very clean and tidy with hot showers every time, some of the children may want to learn to respect them though as I caught some trying to break a door.

We always do the walk through the forest to Dawlish Warren but I am sure the hill coming back gets higher, the clothes shop on the sea front has gone more up market and relieved us of £90 while we were there, only supposed to be taking the dog for a swim in the sea!

Overall a lovely site though on the expensive side especially if you have a dog, nice staff and good facilities, they have even made our favourite pitch bigger which confused me a little when I arrived.

Date of Visit: May 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Sandy167 2 reviews from this member

We stayed here in May 2014. It really is an excellent site. The facilities are first class. The toilets were spotless, the bar area really nice and the pool area superb. It is a great location - we did the river Exe cycle way from the site all the way up to Exeter and then down to Exmouth and then the ferry across back to Dawlish. Would recommend and will go back again one day!

Previous     190 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Save to Virtual Brochure  Add this Site to your Virtual Brochure                                Share  Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Submit your Review for a chance to Win Prizes!
Sponsored by the Caravan ClubSubmit a review to UKCampsite.co.uk of any caravan park or campsite, for a chance to win a caravan towing course or motorhome manoeuvring course worth up to £145, or £100 of Amazon vouchers, courtesy of The Caravan Club. Join the Club for just £44 per year to enjoy access to a great range of caravan sites, benefits and special offers.

If you've visited this site, then please submit a review for a chance to win.

Try our town listings   -   Other Sites in Devon (South)   -   Search for a site

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a Nemesis Ultra Wheel Clamp! from Towsure.com Visit the UKCS shop for exclusive discounts and offers

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Manchester Caravan & Motorhome Show 15 to 18/01/15
Start the season with a trip to the North’s biggest outdoor leisure show. Win 10 pairs of tickets or claim discount entry

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3266 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend  -  Pensions Auto-enrolment

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2014






0.0562