Home

   Log in or Register
   
Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Cofton Country Holidays

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > UK > England > South West > Devon (South) > Site Reviews

Cofton Country Holidays
Starcross
Dawlish
Devon (South)   (Browse area)
EX6 8RP   See Map                                 Share Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook
Tel: 0800 0858649  or  01626 890111

Facilities:  (Key)
                         

Nearby: (within x miles)
5m  5m  5m  5m  1m   10m  1m  5m 
Featured Site

Pitches: 450
Open: All Year Round

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 204 Reviews
              9/10 from 204 Reviews


Units accepted:    Tents  Caravans  Motorhomes Caravan Storage Storage  Statics for Hire  Statics on Sale 

This site has chosen to use the availability calendar. You can check for availability here.

Special Offer available to UKCampsite.co.uk visitors - see here.

Photos (19)

Reviews:  204 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14   15   16   17   18   19   20   21  

Submit your own Review for a chance to Win 100 of Amazon Vouchers
Win 100 of Amazon vouchersSubmit a review of this site for a chance to win. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win 100 of Amazon vouchers!

Date of Visit: June 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Rodney s goth 1 review from this member

Excellent site, and able to use camping cheques, out of high season

Toilet facilities immaculate and plenty of them,

Very large pitches and well kept.

Very good shop and pub etc,

Free outdoor pool, slight disappointment having to pay extra for indoor pool.

Nice an quiet at night.

Great play area for kids and a lot for them to do

Free shuttle bus into Dawlish.

Very helpful staff

Date of Visit: July 2015 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Dawney09 2 reviews from this member

This was our 3rd year coming to this site, every year we have been we have always had a fantastic time.

The pitches are large and majority are very flat, the electric hook up has always been great, we lost power on ours one morning on this visit, it was pouring down with rain! One quick call to reception and power was restored within half an hour.

The children's play areas look amazing, the outdoor pool isn't very big and can feel quite busy in peak season. The fishing lakes are beautiful and well maintained although the fishing can be slow.

Indoor pool is really lovely and there is a gym.

The on site shop is always stocked and staff helpful. The pub on site is lovely and you can sit outside in a lovely garden area where dogs are allowed. There is a fish and chip shop on site and the local Chinese down the road will deliver to reception for you.

There is a kiddies soft play area which is always in use and an arcade with bowling and pool tables.

Amelias pantry serves meals all day which are very reasonable and they do an amazing Sunday lunch!

There is a bus stop right outside the campsite which will take you to Exeter, Dawlish, Teignmouth and there are lots of nice walks down to Dawlish Warren.

The toilets and shower blocks are maintained everyday twice a day and I have always found them to be clean whenever I've used them, water is always hot and I've never had to wait even in peak time.

My only criticism is I wish they did bike hire, then it would be a perfect place for my family 😀

Date of Visit: August 2015 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Jasethebass 1 review from this member

Cofton Country Holidays Park is an excellent site, with great staff and facilities, and gets about an 8/10 for us, but we probably won't be going back.

The facilities are among the best we've seen- the usual washing up areas, chemical disposal etc. , but the showers are better than any others, and the toilets are very regularly cleaned. The reception is well staffed by nice people who know what is going on, the shop is the best stocked we've seen and has everything to repair a caravan or tent with.

There's a big play area for children, a forest play area, fishing ponds, and lots of forestry to explore. There' a few easy bike rides too.

The two pools outside are pretty big, but they were crowded when we were there with lots of kids having a ton of fun, and families sunbathing around the pool or relaxing in the pub. With a couple of cooler days and a baby in-tow, we opted to pay for the indoor pool, which is very well priced and is brilliant. Sauna, steam, a really warm pool with a splash and play area for little ones, and bubble/jaccuzi that comes on at various points. The food in the restaurants is pretty good and at the right price for what they are offering too.

There's different entertainment each night, but for those who aren't interested, from our pitch 200 yards away, it couldn't be heard, and it ends pretty early in the evening.

Being near Dawlish and not too far from Exeter and Exmouth, there's places that you can go and explore. Dawlish Warren beach and adventure park isn't our cup of tea, but it's nearby. Starcross and Cockermouth are more our style- quaint harbours, pretty scenery.

Two negatives.

First, the campsite only expects things to go quiet after 11pm. There's kids running around making a racket right up til then, so if you go to bed at normal camping hours (ie, before it goes perishing cold at 10) then expect some noise.

Second, being so very good, it was very popular, and of course popular means busy and crowded. For me, just slightly more crowded than I am happy with, and so we find ourselves thinking we could put up with fewer facilities for the sake of a more relaxed atmosphere.

Finally, this is quite a crowded campsite. Our Kampa Polzeath 8, trailer and car did not easily fit on their standard pitch (8mx10m), and they do not offer us tentists the ability to choose our pitch when booking ahead. The staff did manage to find us another pitch that worked better for us, but it was still tight.

If you are a caravanist, then you're in luck- you can book the superpitch of your choice ahead of time, and those pitches are great. Tentists, though, aren't allowed to, and are stuck with random selections of varying slopishness and size. For many regular tents, that will be fine. For some of the big 8-10 man tunnel tents, you will struggle. You will also struggle if trying to camp together with multiple tents- a number of folk had to chance their luck with what the staff could achieve within the constraints of the campsite policy. I think most were satisfied, but it's not guaranteed.

For those reasons, though we really liked the site (and very much liked the pool), chances are we won't be able to go back. Big family=big tent=big pitch.

Date of Visit: July 2015 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: DentonCampers 2 reviews from this member

First visit to Cofton, and first visit to this part of the country. We are a family of 4, one 13 year old and one 3 year old staying in a tent on a standard pitch with hook up on a very reasonably priced Monday to Friday break, What a gem this site is, excellent facilities, well thought out tiered pitches and all very well kept. We were shown to our pitch by a warden who drove us round to a couple of options as we arrived late afternoon and the site was busy. It was peak season and I queued once for a shower, I could have tried another block but was quite happy to wait listening to the radio with my 3 year old. The showers do not click off and stay on as long as you want them which is great. I found both the showers and the toilets to be clean at all times, the men's was closed once early afternoon for cleaning but I didn't struggle with the ladies. The site is patrolled by the friendly wardens during the night which we found comforting, we also saw them dropping kids off from the park back to the further out pitches whilst on their travels which was a nice touch. There is a real friendly vibe to this site despite its size, tents, caravans, motor homes and trailers all mixed together. We only used the 'main park' and the woodland park, both of which were well maintained, we also dropped by to say hello to the donkeys and the pony. The outdoor pool was a hit with everyone, we fell really lucky with the weather so had no need to try the indoor pool. We didn't sample any of the entertainment as the main act comes on at 10pm which is too late for our little one, the site really quitens down at this time so she went to sleep in the tent no problems. The arcade with pool tables and bowling lanes is great, the staff are really attentive and any issues with the machines were quickly dealt with.

There's a Sainsburys with petrol station just 5 minutes down the road, the site shop is well stocked and not overpriced, they freeze ice packs for a small charge and sell bags of ice cubes.

Dawlish and Dawlish Warren are very nearby, and can be walked to, both are lovely days out, Torquay and the rest of the Riveria are within easy reach.

We didn't want to leave and were very tempted to take advantage of the option to 'check out later', this is the first time I've seen this available at such a busy site.

All in all a great place, we can't wait to go back and have already recommended Cofton to all our camping friends.

Date of Visit: August 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Smc33 4 reviews from this member

Nice clean site, with fantastic facilities, especially for the kids. Everyone very friendly.

Had a couple of issues, heavy rain turned our pitch into a mud bath as water from higher areas appeared to be flowing naturally out the banking behind us.

Also 3 nights out of 4 we, along with others around us, had no power, reported to reception after second night and they stated it would be our kettle! Not at 2am its not! Others also complained to them!

3rd night was fine, however the 4rth night was again without power, reported to reception when we left and said about the other nights to be told we should have reported it earlier, they were advised we had reported it, but again didn't seem bothered.

Ive since emailed several times asking for a discount as 45 a night is expensive when you don't have power and they have not responded.

Customer Care department is somewhat lacking!

Date of Visit: August 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Honeymoon2001 3 reviews from this member

Where to start?! Arrived at tea time. Warm welcome from reception. Waited 10 mins to be escorted to a pitch (no one else was waiting). Shown to a large, sloping grass pitch at the bottom of the terraces and told there was nothing higher up, only to see other caravans being taken up to the top for the rest of that day and day after. Literally abandoned at the pitch, no mention of toilet blocks, water points, disposal etc. Pitch was so muddy at the back we pulled the van a good caravans length forward.

Next morning we were disgusted to find burrows of mud throughout the back half of the awning. This looked like sand worms had pushed through the ground sheet and the smell was disgusting. The next day one of our dogs started with diarrhoea.

We had a dry week, weather wise, and with the help of a small heater, managed to dry out the mud and brush it away. Following a night of rain we awoke later in the holiday to our awning squelching with mud and the ground sheet a muddy, slippery mess. Other pitches around us had similar problems. One of the guests had persuaded a grounds man to lay some gravel under his ground sheet, so I took the opportunity to ask for the same. They left us a sprinkling but complained they would have to lift it when we left! They wouldn't lay it under the awning sides as 'that wasn't where we might walk and slip'. After a day of emptying the awning, buying extra cleaning products, cleaning it's contents and awning and reassembling we were sorted, or so we thought. Again after rain the mud got worse but never dried, even by 3. 00pm on the day we left despite no awning and full, blazing sun. We had less than 2 days rain our whole stay.

The outdoor pool was freezing (it is claimed to be heated!), we only went in once. The indoor amusements and shop had water leaking through the ceilings, possibly from the indoor pool above which is alarming.

During our 2 weeks stay we never saw anyone cleaning the shower blocks. The spatter of someone's berry coloured shower gel remained on one of the panels the whole of our final week. There was no door mat inside the blocks and the cleaning mops were filthy and covered in hair. The shower cubicles were just big enough for myself and 2 children but I took some over door hooks as there's only 1 quite high up per cubicle. Water pressure low and water temp too cold, particularly in the mornings. No push buttons a bonus.

The entrance and exit from the site are dangerous, cars cutting corners, vehicles everywhere and the security guard doing nothing about it, or the children doing 30 mph on scooters down hill. Dodged a few during our stay.

The quad bikes were the same with the staff not slowing despite children playing. This is an accident waiting to happen.

WiFi abysmal. Do not pay for it as there are no hotspots!

Shop quite expensive. Too many sweets and toys. Small aisle of food but not much choice, little fresh or frozen food. Spar at Starcross great and much cheaper. Sainsburys a little further towards Dawlish.

Noise on the site wasn't great. Families regularly carrying on until gone 1am. Noise from club kick out every night.

Kids using pitches to cut through from upper terraces and footballs rolling down hill.

Being woken up before 8am on the 2nd day of your holiday by a lorry tipping gravel and machinery on the upper side of the site with the constant clattering of skip/ bins being rammed on and off quad bike trailers all day was not great either.

Walk through woods to Dawlish downhill there, takes about 20 mins. Same time to walk to Starcross ferry.

Reception staff on the whole very good (blonde lady brilliant). Management sat in office could not be bothered to come and respond to my complaint about the mud, twice.

Would rate it 3/10 overall based on kids play areas and ease from M5, but drainage a sham (drain covers should not be lifted after dark in anticipation of rain) and being unable to use the awning for half the holiday with 2 children and 2 dogs was unacceptable, particularly with the great weather we had. Should have been offered compensation for this as wasted over a day and 20 in cleaning products on 2 of the hottest days of our holiday.

Cannot recommend this site and would not return. We weren't the only ones who said this either. Several unhappy campers/ caravanners around us. One family had moved pitches 3 times. Have paid nearly half the cost and stayed at better sites.

Date of Visit: June 2015 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Kevin Fear 11 reviews from this member

Excellent. Very large site but very private too. Layout in different fields is well planned. Our RV pitch was easy to access with good connections and level. The pub, restaurant, pool, forest walks, kids playground all highly rated. Very helpful and polite staff of all ages. Will certainly return and probably for longer.

Date of Visit: June 2015 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Love-camping 2 reviews from this member

This was our first visit to Cotton, I doubt it will be our last.

Upon arrival, we were told we could pick our pitch, after driving around we decided upon the front fields. Yes as other reviers have said there is traffic noise from the A379, but to be honest it became 'white' noise where we didn't really notice it. I think the local birds were noisier, we choose this area as there was space for our rather large tent, it was not packed (out of school holidays) and there was plenty of space.

We didn't choose the terrace options as I couldn't cope with being looked upon ( just my personal preference), we were happy with pitch although being close to hedges we had visitors of the mice variety at night. We made sure no food was left out and plates and cutlery were covered and every morning we disinfected prepping areas and tables. It didn't ruin the holiday, we just thought if we bunk up next to wildlife, its a possibility to happen, first time in over 25 years though.

The toilets were spotless while we were there, although not in high season, reception staff, well actually all staff were helpful and chatty. The park has so many features, from the fishing lakes, walks through the woods with zip wire. We were very impressed, we didn't go to any entertainment so can't comment, but used both pools inside and out (outside freezing, but very hot day so refreshing)

I'm giving the site a 10 rating for our experience there, being mindful it was out of school holidays, and we like quiet, it would possibly be a different vibe with it being full and busy, we were fortunate with the weather too, that always makes a holiday.

Just a note to say, had we gone in school holidays we probably would not have fit on a pitch of our choice (due to huge size of tent) I'm sure they would have found us somewhere, but just something to think about and mention when booking.

Date of Visit: May 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Blackwolf1000 5 reviews from this member

We stayed here over the early May bank holiday for 3 nights as we are trying to visit different sites with the kids so that they don't feel tied to the same place. We booked one of the hardstanding pitches and upon arrival were directed to the Oak field down towards the fishing lakes. The only hiccup on arrival was the lack of space for more than 2 vehicles to pull up which on a bank holiday weekend did cause a little confusion. After a brief wait one of the staff came around on a golf buggy and led us to our pitch. The pitch was very clean and fairly newly prepared and a decent enough size although with a large van and no motormovers it could be a little awkward to position the van.

The toilet facilities and showers were very clean and the water was easily hot enough.

We didn't use the washing up facilities or laundry so can't comment on those but they looked to be ok.

As far as amenities go there are 4 restaurant ares to choose from varying from a pub style to a carvery. We chose the upstairs area as it was a little quieter due to the entertainment going on downstairs.

The indoor pool was lovely having a soft liner so pleasant on the feet. A daily charge is in place for the pool but bearing in mind the relatively cheap pricing we did not complain.

Overall the site was very clean and well looked after. Considering the size of the site we felt it was more like staying on a smaller site because of the way it was broken up into separate areas and not just one big open field.

Access was a little tight through Dawlish Warren but no real problem.

My only real concern is that if the kids wanted to go to the pool or shop they had to cross the road that splits the site. I do hasten to add that this road wasn't too busy and we were not overly worried but parents with younger children might wish to supervise.

Overall we would definitely stay there again and would recommend to families wanting a base to explore this part of Devon.

Date of Visit: December 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: CoolCurly 1 review from this member

First review, only a small one for now.

New Year Week break with Friends and the site was chosen by them. What a great pick!

Pitches - really well laid out and serviced (we had hard standing deluxe pitch - getting the water is half the fun of vanning).

Clubhouse and Swimming Pools are amazing. Nearly new, very large and although being well out of season some of the facilities were closed we still had the bar, pool tables and kids play rooms to keep big kids and small kids entertained. Good stocked bar, and very well priced. Indoor pool was very warm, clean and my two boys loved it to the point we had to fight them to get them out! Outdoor pool was obviously closed (it was freezing outside), but in the summer I can see this being a massive bonus to the site.

We ate on one evening in the restaurant and the Cofton Burger was a great choice (and I'm a fussy Burger person!).

Staff - all extremely friendly and polite. You can see they enjoy working here and the team should be praised for their can do attitude.

Location - amazing! Two minutes towards Dawlish is a large Sainsburys (with Petrol Station), and two minutes further Dawlish and Dawlish Warren. Both worth a visit for sure.

Dog Walking Field keep the wife busy and the ever young Labby nicely worn out.

A small walk from the site along Church Lane are two very nice pubs (the Anchor Inn) and the Ship Inn. The Anchor I can recommend if you like your fish - great (if not a little overwhelming) menu and the Gumbo was Awesome. The Ship is a little more dated (not in a good way) and staff attitude needs sorting however Id still go back if not only to wind the locals back up!

This site was amazing for out of season trip with two small kids. We have already said we would love to get back when its a bit warmer and the rest of the facilities are open (specially the Chippy!).

Great site - will definitely be back.

Previous     204 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Save to Virtual Brochure  Add this Site to your Virtual Brochure                                Share  Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Submit a Review for a chance to Win 100 of Amazon Vouchers
Win 100 of Amazon vouchersSubmit a review of any caravan park or campsite, for a chance to win. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win 100 of Amazon vouchers!

If you've visited this site, then please submit a review for a chance to win.

Try our town listings   -   Other Sites in Devon (South)   -   Search for a site

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a BUZZ RACK Buffalo 4 Bike Tilting Carrier Win a HandiMoova Off-road Foldable Hand Trolley

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Benington Chilli Festival, Hertfordshire 29 31st August
Celebrate all things chilli in the hidden gem of a garden at historic Benington Lordship.

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


5414 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend  -  Pensions Auto-enrolment

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2015






0.0547