Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Cofton Country Holidays

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > UK > England > South West > Devon (South) > Site Reviews

Cofton Country Holidays
Starcross
Dawlish
Devon (South)   (Browse area)
EX6 8RP   See Map                                 Share Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook
Tel: 0800 0858649  or  01626 890111

Facilities:  (Key)
                         

Nearby: (within x miles)
5m  5m  5m  5m  1m   1m  5m 
Featured Site

Pitches: 450
Open: Open All Year

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 217 Reviews
              9/10 from 217 Reviews


Units accepted:    Tents  Caravans  Motorhomes Caravan Storage Storage  Statics for Hire  Statics on Sale 

Special Offer available to UKCampsite.co.uk visitors - see here.

Photos (19)

Reviews:  217 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14   15   16   17   18   19   20   21   22  

Write your own Review for a chance to Win £300 of Prizes!
Sponsored by Ordnance SurveyWin £200 Walkers Camping Kit and Tent AND £100 of Amazon vouchers, courtesy of our sponsor Ordnance Survey If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Further info and prize details here

Date of Visit: August 2017 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Conmor98 3 reviews from this member

Stopped here for 10 days and well where to start. The pitch was at the far end of the campsite in the barn field and getting there through the campsite was a job in itself. There is no speed limit well not what I could see and no pedestrian only route so the roads through the site doubled up as footpaths kids everywhere running wild so you will need to be extra vigilant. The chemical waste outlets are a joke only being 3 on the whole site and they were no where near enough. The shower/toilet blocks are excellent and modern shame you have to walk a good distance to get to them as the toilet block on the field we were at was an old prefab hut (not nice). The pitches should better divided as a small line barely visible is whats there, this enabling groups to pitch together resulting in one case 10 parties taking over one part of the field parking where they wanted so on. Security was called on numerous occasion due to the noise and after 3 days of loud music and shouting they finally quietened down staff did not seemed too bothered which was a shame.

The shop on site was probably the best I've seen well stocked and not too expensive however the bars made up for that though. The food typical pub grub was far expensive for what it was. We were charged £8. 99 for a bowl of tortilla chips with some melted cheese on it and literally a spoonful of chilli. When complained I was told basically tough. £4 for a pint of coke just a joke but I suppose you have to finance the new indoor pool somehow. This was okay but the changing rooms and lockers are just as you go in so there is always a back log of people going in, coming out and fetching the cloths to get changed.

You can see how the park has expanded over the years but the basic infrastructure needs updating before someone either crashes or gets run over because it will happen organised chaos springs to mind.

Good points are new shower/toilet blocks, good size pitches, 16 amp hook ups, good shop, ample water points

Bad points are no one way system (needs addressing), only 3 chemical waste points. Poor lighting at night especially if you need the toilet take a torch, not enough toilet/shower blocks, to many groups allowed and not policed to a good standard. Site is massive far too big for the amenities they offer and it is literally first come first served. Entertainment venue would have been ideal 5 years ago but far too small. This is a fair campsite but it could be amazing if more attention to basic rules were applied

Date of Visit: July 2017 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Bigbessie 17 reviews from this member

We visited here before children's holidays and were really surprised at how busy the site is. It is some time since we had been before but it was just a mass of vans and so many were seasonal ones. Because the site is well landscaped it helps a lot but it is nothing like it used to be.

Standard of toilet cleaning which used to be amazing had lapsed and there was food in the showers in the evening and just not well serviced. What was quite worrying was that we only saw a couple of very small signs for 5mph on the Site and the worst culprits were the site staff wizzing around on their golf buggies and 4x4's etc and the bin collectors. This with so many young children on their bikes.

Very upset that we couldn't get TV where we were - it would have been nice to have been told this could happen - maybe we would be selected a serviced pitch. Staff not interested - just said it was luck of the draw.

Also only 3 chemical toilet disposal points on the 30acres of site.

The new restaurant and bar is very impressive but prices are more than local pubs.

Date of Visit: November 2016 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: Janey47 13 reviews from this member

I recently stayed here for 2 nights. Firstly I'd say this isn't the sort of site I'd usually choose due to its size. But I was pleasantly surprised all round. Pitches were very large and all the grounds were very tidy and well kept. The showers and toilet blocks were spotless. The restaurant was also a pleasant surprise as all the food was freshly cooked to order. I can recommend the full English breakfasts. There is an outdoor as well as an indoor pool. There are play areas for the children dotted around the site.

There is a lovely easy walk to Starcross with a cycle path to Exmouth. I intend to return with my bike sometime.

I was pitched by the fishing lakes which seemed very popular. I imagine a keen fisherman's paradise.

The reception staff were particularly helpful and welcoming. I didn't use the on site shop so I can't comment.

I will return to this site but only out of season as my children are grown up and I prefer a quieter stay. But for me out of season it's definitely on my list.

Date of Visit: September 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Helen19 2 reviews from this member

Been back now 4 times deserves it 5 star rating

An amazing site with fabulous facilities for all to enjoy. Showers and family bathroom always clean and smell of bleach. Fab fish and chip shop on site too will look forward to returning time and time again

Date of Visit: August 2016 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: Bluevw 4 reviews from this member

Just returned from a weekend at Cofton, had resavations about the site as we normally do not stay at a site so big, but was pleasantly surprised, the place is fantastic if you have young children, very good facilities and the staff are very friendly and welcoming. The housekeeping and cleaning staff work incredibly hard to keep high cleanliness standards but sadly a few of the visitors do little to help with this or even clean up behind themselves. A lot of children and this makes this a vibrant fun atmosphere, really pleased we stayed and will definitely do it again before the end of the summer.

Date of Visit: July 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Margaretann 4 reviews from this member

What a lovely site, have seen this site advertised for several years but had never chosen to stay, so glad we decided to for this holiday. Very friendly and accommodating people on reception. Were able to choose pitch, which was a good size and very near to water tap and toilet block, also Fish and Chip take away (lovely chips), laundry and dish washing area, short grass and level. The shower and toilet block were excellent, individual washing cubicles and very good showers, used the large ones which incorporated a sink, always kept very clean and tidy. This is a large site, but it doesn't feel it as there are separate areas, we noticed a very nice camping area set within an orchard.

We didn't use the swimming pool or gym, but will do I'm sure when we next visit! Excellent stocked shop. Visited the five lakes and enjoyed this amenity for a lovely walk.

Excellent bus service from right outside the site.

Cannot praise this site enough, especially as we were able to use our acsi card offering special rate for mid season.

Date of Visit: June 2016 Unit:  Other Rating:
Reviewer: Thewhickers 7 reviews from this member

Well, what a marvellous holiday park! It is HUGE yet feels small as it is divided into smaller areas.

We were pitched on one of the hard standings down by the fishing lakes. The pitch was a good size for our Pennine Folding Camper with the awning. Our car fitted by the side of it very nicely.

Most of the other people on the hard standings were either in caravans or motor homes (although another Folding Camper arrived a few days before we left).

We walked around the rest of the site and couldn’t believe quite how big it is! They have statics too, which looked nice.

I think the camping fields were a bit closely packed (for our liking anyway) so we were pleased with the pitch we had chosen.

The toilet and shower blocks were spotless. They are cleaned twice each day (I know one of the times was approx. 5. 30am as I had cause to use the facilities one morning!). I liked the showers at each end of the shower block best – they have a sink in with them and a bit more room so easier to keep clothing etc away from the lovely warm water. It has been said before, the showers are hot rather than warm so be careful!

There is a good shop on site which sells just about anything you can think of at the usual prices for these shops.

We didn’t eat at any of the restaurants or cafes as we were out most days and the other days we did our own barbeque.

Fishing wasn’t brilliant the week we visited – they were too busy spawning so nobody caught much.

The only downside that we found was the night lighting – it was sooo bright we didn’t use a torch once! Also, we thought one bright light on every other pitch seemed a bit excessive. Maybe they should think of dimming them a bit (a lot!) as the lights shone straight through the canvas on our camper and the motor home people near us said they had lights shining in every window (they were on the corner so had one right behind them and one to their right too). I think they should look into PIR lighting, especially for the toilet and shower block – and the one by the water taps! This would improve light pollution and their ‘green’ credentials.

We would return again but maybe on one of the grass pitches down by the lake (not so much light at night there!).

Date of Visit: May 2016 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: Chrisandsandra 27 reviews from this member

We took advantage of a nice weekend, weatherwise, to visit this area again. We'd never been to Cofton so thought we would give it a go as it was in the ACSI scheme so cheaper than the CSs we normally stay on. We were pleasantly surprised.

We were warmly greeted and given the choice of 2 areas to stay in. Although a big site it doesn't feel it due to the zoning and we choose the Front Field for it's proximity to the amenities. Although the site was busier than we anticipated we found a good, open, generous size pitch that we liked and did not feel at all crowded, although some of the other areas were a lot more regimented in rows. We did suffer from a bit of road noise from the A379 when sitting outside but it was OK otherwise.

As has been said in other reviews the facilities are excellent with good clean showers and WCs. The showers were hot (too hot for me if the truth be told, and not adjustable so you might have to take care with children). The WCs were spotless.

We didn't eat at any of the on site cafes etc but chose to use the local pubs that we know and enjoy but we did have a few drinks in the on site pub which was fine but nothing to write home about and the on site shop was handy for basics like milk etc. And we didn't think it overpriced.

We primarily chose the site for it's access to the local cycle path and found the access to it via Chapel Lane and Cockwood great, though you need to take caution when exiting Chapel Lane and joining the main road.

We will return but not in peak season when I think the site will be too busy for our taste.

Date of Visit: March 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Jdawg44 1 review from this member

We have stayed at this camp several times over the last few years as its only 40mins away from us. You can't fault the facilities or the staff for helpfulness. Just come back from our Easter break and must say it has gone down slightly in our estimation. Although it was raining and you expect a bit of mud etc here and there, this time round the rain had turned it into a absolute mudbath! We had to cut our holiday short by one night due to the fact yet more rain was on its way and our caravan was already stuck in the mud. The warden did very kindly help us get our caravan off of the pitch. We weren't the only ones that had trouble with the mud over the weekend. The showers were nice and hot as usual and the walk from the campsite to Dawlish Warren through the woods is definitely worth doing. We had food from the chip shop and it was very nice and good value for money too. One other thing we noticed was that the price for dogs has gone up to £3 per dog per night. We have 2 dogs so in comparison to other sites this is very expensive considering they take up no extra room on site. There is a lot to do on this site especially for the kids. It has a well stocked shop on site for all your essentials and also a restaurant, an indoor pool and outdoor pool. There is also a bus stop right by the campsite so you can catch the bus into Dawlish and the surrounding areas. All in all its still a nice site but next time if we stayed again it would definitely be on a hardstanding pitch.

Date of Visit: October 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Subo 8 reviews from this member

We visited this site during 'out of holiday' time and were delighted by it. Mainly level pitches with electricity within a few yards. The grounds are large and well kept with excellent dog walking through woodlands and fields (but the fields are steep). The toilets were cleaned several times a day which was just as well as some of the campers were not very clean in their toilet habits, and the showers had continuous hot water without the need to keep pressing buttons. When we were there the site was less than 25% full and although there were plenty of toilets and shower in several different blocks, I'm not sure if these would cope with a full compliment of people. Two small downsides to the camping; the water taps were at the bottom of steep slopes which meant a long slog up-hill with a full bowser, and the black water emptying facility is a walk away.

The Swan Pub we had issues with (see Trip Advisor) and Amelia's Kitchen was so slow in service they should have provided beds for us to sleep in while we were waiting. (2 cups of tea and 1 cake took 12 minutes to arrive when the place was nearly empty!)

Previous     217 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Save to Virtual Brochure  Add this Site to your Virtual Brochure                                Share  Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write your own Review for a chance to Win £300 of Prizes!
Sponsored by Ordnance SurveyWin £200 Walkers Camping Kit and Tent AND £100 of Amazon vouchers, courtesy of our sponsor Ordnance Survey If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Further info and prize details here

Try our town listings   -   Other Sites in Devon (South)   -   Search for a site

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a HandiRack and HandiHoldall Combo Pack Win an OLPRO Abberley XL 4 Berth Tent

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet NEC Motorhome and Caravan Show 17th to 22nd October
See all the new-for 2018 products, including caravans, motorhomes, trailer tents and folding caravans – plus 1000s of accessories ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


4505 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend  -  Pensions Auto-enrolment

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2017




0.1377