Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Cofton Country Holidays

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > UK > England > South West > Devon (South) > Site Reviews

Cofton Country Holidays
Starcross
Dawlish
Devon (South)   (Browse area)
EX6 8RP   See Map                                 Share Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook
Tel: 0800 0858649  or  01626 890111

Facilities:  (Key)
                         

Nearby: (within x miles)
5m  5m  5m  5m  1m   10m  1m  5m 
Featured Site

Pitches: 450
Open: Open All Year

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 214 Reviews
              9/10 from 214 Reviews


Units accepted:    Tents  Caravans  Motorhomes Caravan Storage Storage  Statics for Hire  Statics on Sale 

Special Offer available to UKCampsite.co.uk visitors - see here.

Photos (19)

Reviews:  214 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14   15   16   17   18   19   20   21   22  

Submit your own Review for a chance to Win £100!
Win £100Submit a review of this site for your chance to win £100 of Caravan Club vouchers or £100 of Amazon vouchers, courtesy of this month's sponsor, The Caravan Club. Join The Club from just £48 per year to enjoy access to over 2,700 sites, exclusive member benefits and site special offers.

Date of Visit: November 2016 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: Janey47 10 reviews from this member

I recently stayed here for 2 nights. Firstly I'd say this isn't the sort of site I'd usually choose due to its size. But I was pleasantly surprised all round. Pitches were very large and all the grounds were very tidy and well kept. The showers and toilet blocks were spotless. The restaurant was also a pleasant surprise as all the food was freshly cooked to order. I can recommend the full English breakfasts. There is an outdoor as well as an indoor pool. There are play areas for the children dotted around the site.

There is a lovely easy walk to Starcross with a cycle path to Exmouth. I intend to return with my bike sometime.

I was pitched by the fishing lakes which seemed very popular. I imagine a keen fisherman's paradise.

The reception staff were particularly helpful and welcoming. I didn't use the on site shop so I can't comment.

I will return to this site but only out of season as my children are grown up and I prefer a quieter stay. But for me out of season it's definitely on my list.

Date of Visit: August 2016 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: Bluevw 4 reviews from this member

Just returned from a weekend at Cofton, had resavations about the site as we normally do not stay at a site so big, but was pleasantly surprised, the place is fantastic if you have young children, very good facilities and the staff are very friendly and welcoming. The housekeeping and cleaning staff work incredibly hard to keep high cleanliness standards but sadly a few of the visitors do little to help with this or even clean up behind themselves. A lot of children and this makes this a vibrant fun atmosphere, really pleased we stayed and will definitely do it again before the end of the summer.

Date of Visit: July 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Margaretann 4 reviews from this member

What a lovely site, have seen this site advertised for several years but had never chosen to stay, so glad we decided to for this holiday. Very friendly and accommodating people on reception. Were able to choose pitch, which was a good size and very near to water tap and toilet block, also Fish and Chip take away (lovely chips), laundry and dish washing area, short grass and level. The shower and toilet block were excellent, individual washing cubicles and very good showers, used the large ones which incorporated a sink, always kept very clean and tidy. This is a large site, but it doesn't feel it as there are separate areas, we noticed a very nice camping area set within an orchard.

We didn't use the swimming pool or gym, but will do I'm sure when we next visit! Excellent stocked shop. Visited the five lakes and enjoyed this amenity for a lovely walk.

Excellent bus service from right outside the site.

Cannot praise this site enough, especially as we were able to use our acsi card offering special rate for mid season.

Date of Visit: June 2016 Unit:  Other Rating:
Reviewer: Thewhickers 6 reviews from this member

Well, what a marvellous holiday park! It is HUGE yet feels small as it is divided into smaller areas.

We were pitched on one of the hard standings down by the fishing lakes. The pitch was a good size for our Pennine Folding Camper with the awning. Our car fitted by the side of it very nicely.

Most of the other people on the hard standings were either in caravans or motor homes (although another Folding Camper arrived a few days before we left).

We walked around the rest of the site and couldn’t believe quite how big it is! They have statics too, which looked nice.

I think the camping fields were a bit closely packed (for our liking anyway) so we were pleased with the pitch we had chosen.

The toilet and shower blocks were spotless. They are cleaned twice each day (I know one of the times was approx. 5. 30am as I had cause to use the facilities one morning!). I liked the showers at each end of the shower block best – they have a sink in with them and a bit more room so easier to keep clothing etc away from the lovely warm water. It has been said before, the showers are hot rather than warm so be careful!

There is a good shop on site which sells just about anything you can think of at the usual prices for these shops.

We didn’t eat at any of the restaurants or cafes as we were out most days and the other days we did our own barbeque.

Fishing wasn’t brilliant the week we visited – they were too busy spawning so nobody caught much.

The only downside that we found was the night lighting – it was sooo bright we didn’t use a torch once! Also, we thought one bright light on every other pitch seemed a bit excessive. Maybe they should think of dimming them a bit (a lot!) as the lights shone straight through the canvas on our camper and the motor home people near us said they had lights shining in every window (they were on the corner so had one right behind them and one to their right too). I think they should look into PIR lighting, especially for the toilet and shower block – and the one by the water taps! This would improve light pollution and their ‘green’ credentials.

We would return again but maybe on one of the grass pitches down by the lake (not so much light at night there!).

Date of Visit: May 2016 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: Chrisandsandra 27 reviews from this member

We took advantage of a nice weekend, weatherwise, to visit this area again. We'd never been to Cofton so thought we would give it a go as it was in the ACSI scheme so cheaper than the CSs we normally stay on. We were pleasantly surprised.

We were warmly greeted and given the choice of 2 areas to stay in. Although a big site it doesn't feel it due to the zoning and we choose the Front Field for it's proximity to the amenities. Although the site was busier than we anticipated we found a good, open, generous size pitch that we liked and did not feel at all crowded, although some of the other areas were a lot more regimented in rows. We did suffer from a bit of road noise from the A379 when sitting outside but it was OK otherwise.

As has been said in other reviews the facilities are excellent with good clean showers and WCs. The showers were hot (too hot for me if the truth be told, and not adjustable so you might have to take care with children). The WCs were spotless.

We didn't eat at any of the on site cafes etc but chose to use the local pubs that we know and enjoy but we did have a few drinks in the on site pub which was fine but nothing to write home about and the on site shop was handy for basics like milk etc. And we didn't think it overpriced.

We primarily chose the site for it's access to the local cycle path and found the access to it via Chapel Lane and Cockwood great, though you need to take caution when exiting Chapel Lane and joining the main road.

We will return but not in peak season when I think the site will be too busy for our taste.

Date of Visit: March 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Jdawg44 1 review from this member

We have stayed at this camp several times over the last few years as its only 40mins away from us. You can't fault the facilities or the staff for helpfulness. Just come back from our Easter break and must say it has gone down slightly in our estimation. Although it was raining and you expect a bit of mud etc here and there, this time round the rain had turned it into a absolute mudbath! We had to cut our holiday short by one night due to the fact yet more rain was on its way and our caravan was already stuck in the mud. The warden did very kindly help us get our caravan off of the pitch. We weren't the only ones that had trouble with the mud over the weekend. The showers were nice and hot as usual and the walk from the campsite to Dawlish Warren through the woods is definitely worth doing. We had food from the chip shop and it was very nice and good value for money too. One other thing we noticed was that the price for dogs has gone up to £3 per dog per night. We have 2 dogs so in comparison to other sites this is very expensive considering they take up no extra room on site. There is a lot to do on this site especially for the kids. It has a well stocked shop on site for all your essentials and also a restaurant, an indoor pool and outdoor pool. There is also a bus stop right by the campsite so you can catch the bus into Dawlish and the surrounding areas. All in all its still a nice site but next time if we stayed again it would definitely be on a hardstanding pitch.

Date of Visit: October 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Subo 8 reviews from this member

We visited this site during 'out of holiday' time and were delighted by it. Mainly level pitches with electricity within a few yards. The grounds are large and well kept with excellent dog walking through woodlands and fields (but the fields are steep). The toilets were cleaned several times a day which was just as well as some of the campers were not very clean in their toilet habits, and the showers had continuous hot water without the need to keep pressing buttons. When we were there the site was less than 25% full and although there were plenty of toilets and shower in several different blocks, I'm not sure if these would cope with a full compliment of people. Two small downsides to the camping; the water taps were at the bottom of steep slopes which meant a long slog up-hill with a full bowser, and the black water emptying facility is a walk away.

The Swan Pub we had issues with (see Trip Advisor) and Amelia's Kitchen was so slow in service they should have provided beds for us to sleep in while we were waiting. (2 cups of tea and 1 cake took 12 minutes to arrive when the place was nearly empty!)

Date of Visit: August 2015 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Alis Gang 1 review from this member

Had a lovely week here at the beginning of August. Four adults, two teenagers. This was the second time here for us. Although it was busy, the toilet and shower blocks were modern and clean. Only queued a few mornings for a shower and never for the toilet. They were also nearby. The diswashing areas were clean and undercover. The Electric Hook Up point was lite up at night which was a great help. We had a four man tent and a three man pup tent. These did fit onthe pitch, but didn't give us much room to sit outside with a bbq of an evening. We had two cars between us, but had to park them up on the hill because of the lack of room. Considering we paid extra for the pup tent and extra car, we were a bit disappointed. The outside pool was busy and we used it a couple of times. It was freezing until you got used to it! Didn't try the inside pool as you had to pay extra and we were ok with the outside one. Was nice sitting outside the 'pub' watching the teens in the pool having a cold one! The shop was well stocked and prices not too bad. We had to buy a gas refil during our stay. There is a large Sainsbury's just a short drive away which we used a lot. The evening entertainment was okay although tge club house was always packed out and drinks expensive. We only went a couple of times. Didn't use restaurants or laundry room. The play parks are great and dotted around the site, even one in the woodland with zip wire. There's a few donkeys in there paddock which were a bit noisy some mornings, but it didn't worry us. Nice for small children to visit. We did use the on site Fish & Chip Shop twice. Very nice, good prices and did jacket spuds, burgers, chicken as well as the usual. We visited Exeter, Paignton and Dawlish and also Dawlish Warren, which is only a short drive away. All in all a good holiday. The only criticism is that you are very crammed in. Pitches are small and ours was a little uneven and sloping.

Date of Visit: August 2015 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: ITooley 3 reviews from this member

Just returned from Eleven nights on this site, I will start the review in saying, this is not our normal type of site (Deers Glade) would be our usual type of site, but choose this as it advertised a lot of different things for our son to do, including a selection of swimming pools.

On arrival and throughout our stay, the staff were very helpful, polite and very cheerful, we were shown to a selection of pitches for us to choose where to pitch, we choose the Barn field as it was fairly level and dry (ish), following the previous day's downpour.

The site has plenty of facilities, the shop on site is reasonably priced and stocks most items that you might need. The facilities for eating include a pub, Two restaurants and a fish and chips takeaway, we ate in the restaurant, food was good but a bit pricy, same with the take away.

The site is placed in a good area, plenty to see (on dry days), we were lucky to visit the Dawlish air show, which was a good day out in brilliant sunshine. As already stated in other reviews, there is a Sainsburys about five mins drive, but found it to be smallish and didn't offer larger sized items and the price was a little dear, but it provides everything you would need. Asda & Tesco's are all within a Twenty min drive away.

Unfortunately the weather was the downfall, we were due to stay the fortnight, but we had heavy rain, then half day of sunshine over most days, then followed some fourteen hours of continuous heavy downpour, at this point, the tent was leaking at numerous locations, we purchased Two tubes of seam sealant and a couple of tarpaulins, and set about trying to proof the tent. The result was, we had a dry tent, then the weather forecast was for gale force winds (force 8), followed by the next three days of heavy downpours, at this point we decided to pack up, some others had left on the same day as arriving due to the weather. We were very disappointed to have had to leave earlier than was planned.

The only real downside of the site was the amount of inconsiderate people at times that didn't seem to adhere to the noise rules, numerous parties was going on until very early in the morning, in fact one ended in a stand up row with another camper who was trying to quieten a party down at gone one in the morning and he was met with excessive verbal abuse that could be heard over our field, but to be honest, these were not the same individuals, which makes me feel that the wardens asked the disruptive groups to vacate the sites.

If we were back in the area, we would give this site some serious consideration for another stay. Staff really couldn't do enough for you, including the welcome guy singing in the rain to newcomers, the facilities were outstanding, just the weather let it down.

Date of Visit: June 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Rodney s goth 1 review from this member

Excellent site, and able to use camping cheques, out of high season

Toilet facilities immaculate and plenty of them,

Very large pitches and well kept.

Very good shop and pub etc,

Free outdoor pool, slight disappointment having to pay extra for indoor pool.

Nice an quiet at night.

Great play area for kids and a lot for them to do

Free shuttle bus into Dawlish.

Very helpful staff

Previous     214 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Save to Virtual Brochure  Add this Site to your Virtual Brochure                                Share  Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Submit a Review for a chance to Win £100!
Sponsored by the Caravan ClubSubmit a review to UKCampsite.co.uk of any caravan park or campsite for your chance to win your choice of £100 of Caravan Club vouchers or £100 of Amazon vouchers, courtesy of this month's sponsor, The Caravan Club

If you've visited this site, then please submit a review for a chance to win.

Try our town listings   -   Other Sites in Devon (South)   -   Search for a site

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win tickets to the Manchester Caravan & Motorhome Show 2017 3 sets of AutoSock car snow socks to be won

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Manchester Caravan & Motorhome Show 2017 - 19th to 22nd January
A huge choice of the latest model caravans, motorhomes and holiday homes on display from over 200 exhibitors ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


4848 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend  -  Pensions Auto-enrolment

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2016




UKCampsite.co.uk
Advent Calendar
Advent Calendar
24 Daily Prizes and a Christmas Day Star Prize worth £289.99!
Open Today's Window!





0.1445