Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Trailer Tent Sale

Visitor Reviews - Cofton Country Holidays

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > UK > England > South West > Devon (South) > Site Reviews

Cofton Country Holidays
Starcross
Dawlish
Devon (South)   (Browse area)
EX6 8RP   See Map                                 Share Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook
Tel: 0800 0858649  or  01626 890111

Facilities:  (Key)
                         

Nearby: (within x miles)
5m  5m  5m  5m  1m   10m  1m  5m 
Featured Site

Pitches: 450
Open: Open all year

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 210 Reviews
              9/10 from 210 Reviews


Units accepted:    Tents  Caravans  Motorhomes Caravan Storage Storage  Statics for Hire  Statics on Sale 

This site has chosen to use the availability calendar. You can check for availability here.

Special Offer available to UKCampsite.co.uk visitors - see here.

Photos (19)

Reviews:  210 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14   15   16   17   18   19   20   21  

Submit your own Review for a chance to Win 100!
Win 100Submit a review of this site for your chance to win 100 of Caravan Club vouchers or 100 of Amazon vouchers, courtesy of this month's sponsor, The Caravan Club. Join The Club from just 48 per year to enjoy access to over 2,700 sites, exclusive member benefits and site special offers.

Date of Visit: May 2016 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: Chrisandsandra 23 reviews from this member

We took advantage of a nice weekend, weatherwise, to visit this area again. We'd never been to Cofton so thought we would give it a go as it was in the ACSI scheme so cheaper than the CSs we normally stay on. We were pleasantly surprised.

We were warmly greeted and given the choice of 2 areas to stay in. Although a big site it doesn't feel it due to the zoning and we choose the Front Field for it's proximity to the amenities. Although the site was busier than we anticipated we found a good, open, generous size pitch that we liked and did not feel at all crowded, although some of the other areas were a lot more regimented in rows. We did suffer from a bit of road noise from the A379 when sitting outside but it was OK otherwise.

As has been said in other reviews the facilities are excellent with good clean showers and WCs. The showers were hot (too hot for me if the truth be told, and not adjustable so you might have to take care with children). The WCs were spotless.

We didn't eat at any of the on site cafes etc but chose to use the local pubs that we know and enjoy but we did have a few drinks in the on site pub which was fine but nothing to write home about and the on site shop was handy for basics like milk etc. And we didn't think it overpriced.

We primarily chose the site for it's access to the local cycle path and found the access to it via Chapel Lane and Cockwood great, though you need to take caution when exiting Chapel Lane and joining the main road.

We will return but not in peak season when I think the site will be too busy for our taste.

Date of Visit: March 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Jdawg44 1 review from this member

We have stayed at this camp several times over the last few years as its only 40mins away from us. You can't fault the facilities or the staff for helpfulness. Just come back from our Easter break and must say it has gone down slightly in our estimation. Although it was raining and you expect a bit of mud etc here and there, this time round the rain had turned it into a absolute mudbath! We had to cut our holiday short by one night due to the fact yet more rain was on its way and our caravan was already stuck in the mud. The warden did very kindly help us get our caravan off of the pitch. We weren't the only ones that had trouble with the mud over the weekend. The showers were nice and hot as usual and the walk from the campsite to Dawlish Warren through the woods is definitely worth doing. We had food from the chip shop and it was very nice and good value for money too. One other thing we noticed was that the price for dogs has gone up to 3 per dog per night. We have 2 dogs so in comparison to other sites this is very expensive considering they take up no extra room on site. There is a lot to do on this site especially for the kids. It has a well stocked shop on site for all your essentials and also a restaurant, an indoor pool and outdoor pool. There is also a bus stop right by the campsite so you can catch the bus into Dawlish and the surrounding areas. All in all its still a nice site but next time if we stayed again it would definitely be on a hardstanding pitch.

Date of Visit: October 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Subo 8 reviews from this member

We visited this site during 'out of holiday' time and were delighted by it. Mainly level pitches with electricity within a few yards. The grounds are large and well kept with excellent dog walking through woodlands and fields (but the fields are steep). The toilets were cleaned several times a day which was just as well as some of the campers were not very clean in their toilet habits, and the showers had continuous hot water without the need to keep pressing buttons. When we were there the site was less than 25% full and although there were plenty of toilets and shower in several different blocks, I'm not sure if these would cope with a full compliment of people. Two small downsides to the camping; the water taps were at the bottom of steep slopes which meant a long slog up-hill with a full bowser, and the black water emptying facility is a walk away.

The Swan Pub we had issues with (see Trip Advisor) and Amelia's Kitchen was so slow in service they should have provided beds for us to sleep in while we were waiting. (2 cups of tea and 1 cake took 12 minutes to arrive when the place was nearly empty!)

Date of Visit: August 2015 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Alis Gang 1 review from this member

Had a lovely week here at the beginning of August. Four adults, two teenagers. This was the second time here for us. Although it was busy, the toilet and shower blocks were modern and clean. Only queued a few mornings for a shower and never for the toilet. They were also nearby. The diswashing areas were clean and undercover. The Electric Hook Up point was lite up at night which was a great help. We had a four man tent and a three man pup tent. These did fit onthe pitch, but didn't give us much room to sit outside with a bbq of an evening. We had two cars between us, but had to park them up on the hill because of the lack of room. Considering we paid extra for the pup tent and extra car, we were a bit disappointed. The outside pool was busy and we used it a couple of times. It was freezing until you got used to it! Didn't try the inside pool as you had to pay extra and we were ok with the outside one. Was nice sitting outside the 'pub' watching the teens in the pool having a cold one! The shop was well stocked and prices not too bad. We had to buy a gas refil during our stay. There is a large Sainsbury's just a short drive away which we used a lot. The evening entertainment was okay although tge club house was always packed out and drinks expensive. We only went a couple of times. Didn't use restaurants or laundry room. The play parks are great and dotted around the site, even one in the woodland with zip wire. There's a few donkeys in there paddock which were a bit noisy some mornings, but it didn't worry us. Nice for small children to visit. We did use the on site Fish & Chip Shop twice. Very nice, good prices and did jacket spuds, burgers, chicken as well as the usual. We visited Exeter, Paignton and Dawlish and also Dawlish Warren, which is only a short drive away. All in all a good holiday. The only criticism is that you are very crammed in. Pitches are small and ours was a little uneven and sloping.

Date of Visit: August 2015 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: ITooley 2 reviews from this member

Just returned from Eleven nights on this site, I will start the review in saying, this is not our normal type of site (Deers Glade) would be our usual type of site, but choose this as it advertised a lot of different things for our son to do, including a selection of swimming pools.

On arrival and throughout our stay, the staff were very helpful, polite and very cheerful, we were shown to a selection of pitches for us to choose where to pitch, we choose the Barn field as it was fairly level and dry (ish), following the previous day's downpour.

The site has plenty of facilities, the shop on site is reasonably priced and stocks most items that you might need. The facilities for eating include a pub, Two restaurants and a fish and chips takeaway, we ate in the restaurant, food was good but a bit pricy, same with the take away.

The site is placed in a good area, plenty to see (on dry days), we were lucky to visit the Dawlish air show, which was a good day out in brilliant sunshine. As already stated in other reviews, there is a Sainsburys about five mins drive, but found it to be smallish and didn't offer larger sized items and the price was a little dear, but it provides everything you would need. Asda & Tesco's are all within a Twenty min drive away.

Unfortunately the weather was the downfall, we were due to stay the fortnight, but we had heavy rain, then half day of sunshine over most days, then followed some fourteen hours of continuous heavy downpour, at this point, the tent was leaking at numerous locations, we purchased Two tubes of seam sealant and a couple of tarpaulins, and set about trying to proof the tent. The result was, we had a dry tent, then the weather forecast was for gale force winds (force 8), followed by the next three days of heavy downpours, at this point we decided to pack up, some others had left on the same day as arriving due to the weather. We were very disappointed to have had to leave earlier than was planned.

The only real downside of the site was the amount of inconsiderate people at times that didn't seem to adhere to the noise rules, numerous parties was going on until very early in the morning, in fact one ended in a stand up row with another camper who was trying to quieten a party down at gone one in the morning and he was met with excessive verbal abuse that could be heard over our field, but to be honest, these were not the same individuals, which makes me feel that the wardens asked the disruptive groups to vacate the sites.

If we were back in the area, we would give this site some serious consideration for another stay. Staff really couldn't do enough for you, including the welcome guy singing in the rain to newcomers, the facilities were outstanding, just the weather let it down.

Date of Visit: June 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Rodney s goth 1 review from this member

Excellent site, and able to use camping cheques, out of high season

Toilet facilities immaculate and plenty of them,

Very large pitches and well kept.

Very good shop and pub etc,

Free outdoor pool, slight disappointment having to pay extra for indoor pool.

Nice an quiet at night.

Great play area for kids and a lot for them to do

Free shuttle bus into Dawlish.

Very helpful staff

Date of Visit: July 2015 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Dawney09 2 reviews from this member

This was our 3rd year coming to this site, every year we have been we have always had a fantastic time.

The pitches are large and majority are very flat, the electric hook up has always been great, we lost power on ours one morning on this visit, it was pouring down with rain! One quick call to reception and power was restored within half an hour.

The children's play areas look amazing, the outdoor pool isn't very big and can feel quite busy in peak season. The fishing lakes are beautiful and well maintained although the fishing can be slow.

Indoor pool is really lovely and there is a gym.

The on site shop is always stocked and staff helpful. The pub on site is lovely and you can sit outside in a lovely garden area where dogs are allowed. There is a fish and chip shop on site and the local Chinese down the road will deliver to reception for you.

There is a kiddies soft play area which is always in use and an arcade with bowling and pool tables.

Amelias pantry serves meals all day which are very reasonable and they do an amazing Sunday lunch!

There is a bus stop right outside the campsite which will take you to Exeter, Dawlish, Teignmouth and there are lots of nice walks down to Dawlish Warren.

The toilets and shower blocks are maintained everyday twice a day and I have always found them to be clean whenever I've used them, water is always hot and I've never had to wait even in peak time.

My only criticism is I wish they did bike hire, then it would be a perfect place for my family 😀

Date of Visit: August 2015 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Jasethebass 1 review from this member

Cofton Country Holidays Park is an excellent site, with great staff and facilities, and gets about an 8/10 for us, but we probably won't be going back.

The facilities are among the best we've seen- the usual washing up areas, chemical disposal etc. , but the showers are better than any others, and the toilets are very regularly cleaned. The reception is well staffed by nice people who know what is going on, the shop is the best stocked we've seen and has everything to repair a caravan or tent with.

There's a big play area for children, a forest play area, fishing ponds, and lots of forestry to explore. There' a few easy bike rides too.

The two pools outside are pretty big, but they were crowded when we were there with lots of kids having a ton of fun, and families sunbathing around the pool or relaxing in the pub. With a couple of cooler days and a baby in-tow, we opted to pay for the indoor pool, which is very well priced and is brilliant. Sauna, steam, a really warm pool with a splash and play area for little ones, and bubble/jaccuzi that comes on at various points. The food in the restaurants is pretty good and at the right price for what they are offering too.

There's different entertainment each night, but for those who aren't interested, from our pitch 200 yards away, it couldn't be heard, and it ends pretty early in the evening.

Being near Dawlish and not too far from Exeter and Exmouth, there's places that you can go and explore. Dawlish Warren beach and adventure park isn't our cup of tea, but it's nearby. Starcross and Cockermouth are more our style- quaint harbours, pretty scenery.

Two negatives.

First, the campsite only expects things to go quiet after 11pm. There's kids running around making a racket right up til then, so if you go to bed at normal camping hours (ie, before it goes perishing cold at 10) then expect some noise.

Second, being so very good, it was very popular, and of course popular means busy and crowded. For me, just slightly more crowded than I am happy with, and so we find ourselves thinking we could put up with fewer facilities for the sake of a more relaxed atmosphere.

Finally, this is quite a crowded campsite. Our Kampa Polzeath 8, trailer and car did not easily fit on their standard pitch (8mx10m), and they do not offer us tentists the ability to choose our pitch when booking ahead. The staff did manage to find us another pitch that worked better for us, but it was still tight.

If you are a caravanist, then you're in luck- you can book the superpitch of your choice ahead of time, and those pitches are great. Tentists, though, aren't allowed to, and are stuck with random selections of varying slopishness and size. For many regular tents, that will be fine. For some of the big 8-10 man tunnel tents, you will struggle. You will also struggle if trying to camp together with multiple tents- a number of folk had to chance their luck with what the staff could achieve within the constraints of the campsite policy. I think most were satisfied, but it's not guaranteed.

For those reasons, though we really liked the site (and very much liked the pool), chances are we won't be able to go back. Big family=big tent=big pitch.

Date of Visit: July 2015 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: DentonCampers 2 reviews from this member

First visit to Cofton, and first visit to this part of the country. We are a family of 4, one 13 year old and one 3 year old staying in a tent on a standard pitch with hook up on a very reasonably priced Monday to Friday break, What a gem this site is, excellent facilities, well thought out tiered pitches and all very well kept. We were shown to our pitch by a warden who drove us round to a couple of options as we arrived late afternoon and the site was busy. It was peak season and I queued once for a shower, I could have tried another block but was quite happy to wait listening to the radio with my 3 year old. The showers do not click off and stay on as long as you want them which is great. I found both the showers and the toilets to be clean at all times, the men's was closed once early afternoon for cleaning but I didn't struggle with the ladies. The site is patrolled by the friendly wardens during the night which we found comforting, we also saw them dropping kids off from the park back to the further out pitches whilst on their travels which was a nice touch. There is a real friendly vibe to this site despite its size, tents, caravans, motor homes and trailers all mixed together. We only used the 'main park' and the woodland park, both of which were well maintained, we also dropped by to say hello to the donkeys and the pony. The outdoor pool was a hit with everyone, we fell really lucky with the weather so had no need to try the indoor pool. We didn't sample any of the entertainment as the main act comes on at 10pm which is too late for our little one, the site really quitens down at this time so she went to sleep in the tent no problems. The arcade with pool tables and bowling lanes is great, the staff are really attentive and any issues with the machines were quickly dealt with.

There's a Sainsburys with petrol station just 5 minutes down the road, the site shop is well stocked and not overpriced, they freeze ice packs for a small charge and sell bags of ice cubes.

Dawlish and Dawlish Warren are very nearby, and can be walked to, both are lovely days out, Torquay and the rest of the Riveria are within easy reach.

We didn't want to leave and were very tempted to take advantage of the option to 'check out later', this is the first time I've seen this available at such a busy site.

All in all a great place, we can't wait to go back and have already recommended Cofton to all our camping friends.

Date of Visit: August 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Smc33 5 reviews from this member

Nice clean site, with fantastic facilities, especially for the kids. Everyone very friendly.

Had a couple of issues, heavy rain turned our pitch into a mud bath as water from higher areas appeared to be flowing naturally out the banking behind us.

Also 3 nights out of 4 we, along with others around us, had no power, reported to reception after second night and they stated it would be our kettle! Not at 2am its not! Others also complained to them!

3rd night was fine, however the 4rth night was again without power, reported to reception when we left and said about the other nights to be told we should have reported it earlier, they were advised we had reported it, but again didn't seem bothered.

Ive since emailed several times asking for a discount as 45 a night is expensive when you don't have power and they have not responded.

Customer Care department is somewhat lacking!

Previous     210 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Save to Virtual Brochure  Add this Site to your Virtual Brochure                                Share  Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Submit a Review for a chance to Win 100!
Sponsored by the Caravan ClubSubmit a review to UKCampsite.co.uk of any caravan park or campsite for your chance to win your choice of 100 of Caravan Club vouchers or 100 of Amazon vouchers, courtesy of this month's sponsor, The Caravan Club. Join The Club from just 48 per year to enjoy access to over 2,700 sites, exclusive member benefits and site special offers.

If you've visited this site, then please submit a review for a chance to win.

Try our town listings   -   Other Sites in Devon (South)   -   Search for a site

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a Week Camping Holiday at Woolacombe Bay Holiday Parks! Win a pair of Outwell Chairs and Table

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet UK Summer Motorhome & Caravan Show 4-5th June
The summer spectacular takes place at the Kent Event Centre. Buy discounted weekend tickets, or enter our competition to win some!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


12128 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend  -  Pensions Auto-enrolment

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2016






0.1328