Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Wood Farm Caravan & Camping Park

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > UK > England > South West > Dorset > Site Reviews

Wood Farm Caravan & Camping Park
Axminster Road
Charmouth
Dorset   (Browse area)
DT6 6BT   See Map                                 Share Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook
Tel: 01297 560697

Facilities:  (Key)
                  

Nearby: (within x miles)
1m  1m  1m  5m  1m   5m 
Featured Site

Pitches: 212
Open: March To October

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 83 Reviews
              8/10 from 83 Reviews


Units accepted:    Tents  Caravans  Motorhomes Caravan Storage Storage  Statics for Hire  Statics on Sale 

Photos (6)

Reviews:  83 in total, now showing 1 to 6                 Previous 6          Next 6
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14  

Submit your own Review for a chance to Win £100!
Win £100Submit a review of this site for your chance to win £100 of Caravan Club vouchers or £100 of Amazon vouchers, courtesy of this month's sponsor, The Caravan Club. Join The Club from just £48 per year to enjoy access to over 2,700 sites, exclusive member benefits and site special offers.

Date of Visit: August 2015 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Carlsenior 14 reviews from this member

We've recently spent six nights at Wood Farm and really enjoyed this site, The staff are great and on arrival we were shown to our pitch which was very helpful. The pitches (ours was a fully serviced pitch) are quite small and some due to the hilly nature of the site look very difficult to get in to.

The facilities on site are very good especially the cafe & pool area everything is always immaculate, there are plenty of things to keep you occupied and there are great walks on site as well as from the site. The only real issue we had was the road noise, we were pitches at the top of the site directly under the road and on Sunday the noise from speeding motorcycles was very loud. The site is perfectly positioned to explore the fantastic counties of Dorset & Devon, Charmouth is only a short but very hilly walk from the site.

If you need provisions we would advise a short drive into Axminster as the local shops are very expensive (especially the Butcher in Charmouth nearly £10 for 4 sausages, burger and kebabs which although advertised as home made were really poor wholesale quality) Great site, great location, great staff well worth a visit!

Date of Visit: July 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: MsGemini 3 reviews from this member

First time staying here in our caravan. The site is easy to find and is situated in a very scenic area. Lovely views from our 'van. Staff at check in very helpful and accommodating & showed us to our pitch straight away. The site is set up into several different areas each with its own different shower/toilet blocks and prep/pot wash areas. There's also a choice of tent pitching areas too. Other facilities include swimming pool & cafe which doubles as a pop up restaurant in the evening, visiting fish & chip van once a week, games room for the youngsters, info room, fishing lakes situated just a short walk away and laundry room. These facilities are very clean and well kept. The site is well maintained and cared for generally by the staff. We found the site quiet in the evening and overnight which we liked. There is a main road nearby but we weren't bothered by the noise at night, and during the day we were out anyway.

One difficulty to mention that we had was due to the fact the whole of the site is on different levels - some very steep. This meant that with our section already being full of closely parked 'vans at the time we arrived it was very awkward to manoeuvre our 'van into its pitch - took lots of attempts to place it correctly. So you need to be aware of this when you book.

On our section both the individual shower/toilet rooms and the other block of separate showers/toilets/wash basins were closed for cleaning starting about 10. 15 each morning. We found this inconvenient on more than one occasion and we weren't the only ones grumbling either. Given that most people like to use them during the morning and have to take turns along with fellow guests the use time of the facilities can be over several hours. Closing them at such a busy time led to frustration. We suspect that a later cleaning time (afternoon maybe when most guests are off the site or busy doing other things on site) would be much better for most guests.

Date of Visit: June 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Sos2301 17 reviews from this member

My husband and I arrived and the reception staff were very helpful, they assist you in helping to choose a pitch when you arrive, we were recommended the first pitch on the highest tier, which in hindsight was not the best pitch for us as later in the afternoon when we were in the caravan the lower pitches had the sun and we were in the shade, yes you are near the main road, we were told that the road noise settled down after 5, but it was more like 7 however it never really bothered us until the road was closed due to a fatal accident, then you really noticed how noisy the road was.

We found the site lovely, the showers were very clean every time we used them, my husband fished and caught, we used the pool and had this to ourselves both times. The site is quite steep in places so be mindful where you are pitched if you have mobility issues, we are now fitter that we were!

We would highly recommend this site, as our visit was out of school holiday time we only saw 2 children and the site do try and pitch according to your outfit / person putting families near the play area and couples higher up.

We did not eat in the cafe but the food looked lovely and other guests said it was good value.

The information room and children's play room are well equipped along with the outdoor play area and dog walks.

Charmouth beach is great but a steep walk back, Lyme Regis is beautiful, we would recommend the sea food restaurant in Beer! and the Ferleigh Wine tour.

This site is an ideal base to visit Beaulie, Monkey World and Beer Caves.

Date of Visit: May 2015 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Bosty 1 review from this member

We spent 4 nights at Wood Farm in the Hillside field. It is a lovely site that is kept spotless. The site is easy to find straight off the A35.

The Hillside field is free camping rather than allotted pitches. The field is very hilly so there are only a limited number of areas you would want to pitch to avoid camping on a slope.

Many of the reviews point out the road noise as a negative of the site. We werenít bothered by it at all possibly because the Hillside field is the furthest point on the site from the road.

The facilities were great. There are four toilet blocks which are cleaned daily (mid morning) and we found them spotless throughout our stay. The showers are push button and of a good warm temperature. The washing up area was also clean with washing up cloths provided in case you had forgotten one. The distance from the Hillside field to the nearest toilets was the biggest negative to us. Although only approx 300metres this was uphill on the way back because we camped at the top of the hill, and it felt quite a trek at night.

There is a combined shop & reception selling basics but it isnít the cheapest. The swimming pool is a good size and temperature, and open most of the day. There is also a games room (table tennis, pool, air hockey and soft play section), a cafe and an outdoor play area although we didnít use these.

There is WiFi available to purchase on site. £10 for 4 days on 2 devices but the signal is very weak on the Hillside field so we had to walk down to the toilet block if we wanted to use it.

They donít allow the use of bicycles, scooters, skate boards on site for Health and Safety reasons which seemed harsh.

Wood farm is a mile from Charmouth. A pretty place but limited in facilities. You could walk it but beware it would be a steep climb on the way back!

Lyme Regis is about 2 miles (also a hilly walk) and is more substantial than Charmouth with some lovely little shops, cafes, pubs and ice cream stalls! The walk along the sea front is really nice although it gets really busy in good weather it seems. There is also a Tesco express and Co-op for any food essentials although if you want a bigger supermarket youíll need to go to Axminster which is 5 miles from the site.

Wood Farm is a beautiful site that is well maintained with friendly helpful staff.

Date of Visit: May 2015 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: SomersetSid 1 review from this member

Stayed in the hillside camping field, nice and quiet, great view. Longer walk to great facilities but nothing too far. Yes there is a little road noise but it's not too distracting over the noise of the birds and cows. All in all a great site.

Tesco's in axminster 10 mins away for supplies. Lyme regis 5 mins way, charmouth walkable (but not much there!)

Date of Visit: April 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Alpinestomper 4 reviews from this member

Write UP for Wood Farm 11 - 24 April 2015

Wood Farm Caravan and Camping Park, Charmouth, Dorset DT6 6BT

This was our annual U3A Rally which was organised by Jim who unfortunately was unable to come along owing to his wife Shirley being too poorly.

Access is by doing a very sharp left hander off the A35 (at the roundabout just before Charmouth) onto a side road and then into the site. All the roads are fully metalled and all the pitches are Hard standings with gravel for the Awnings. Although sited on a rather steep hill, the pitches had been levelled with terracing. Basically the higher up on the site - the better your views, all lovely.

The Toilet Block was first class, immaculately clean with good disability access and laundry facilities. The whole site was disability friendly/aware.

This was a very large park with static caravans, fishing lakes, games rooms, large indoor swimming pool, restaurant, large dog walks and loads of pitches for touring caravans.

The Fish and Chip van is in attendance on Monday nights and we rated it as very good. The restaurant has specific nights for curries, steaks and pies. There is also a fish and chip shop in Charmouth which is very good too.

The staff were all helpful and friendly. There are local walks chitties available from reception all free (donation to the lifeboat).

There is a caravan shop/retailer in Charmouth for any caravan/motorhome necessities.

The bus stop is outside the site entrance, over the A35 and is on the Charmouth Road. Busses go to Exeter/Bridport/Dorset/Poole.

Television reception fine on DVT and Sky.

All of Dorset is lovely and the Charmouth locals are extreamly friendly offering advice on how to find Fossils from the beach which is a mixture of sand and pebbles. At the time of writing no one was in the sea owing to the temperature in mid April. I did manage to find some Fossils, but if you come here and do not find any, donít worry - the Fossil Shop on the beach sells them. They are between 65 and 400 million years old. There is also a museum by the Fossil shop which is free and you can update yourself on all things Fossilish.

We paid 110 pounds for seven nights then extended for a further 4 nights at 18 pounds per night.

For further info/prices just put Wood Farm Caravan and Camping Park into your browser.

We saw this site at its best - lovely sunny weather throughout our stay.

Highly recommended, no problems to report and will certainly visit again i. D. C.

Alpinestomper 21/04/2015

Previous     83 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 6      Next

Save to Virtual Brochure  Add this Site to your Virtual Brochure                                Share  Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Submit a Review for a chance to Win £100!
Sponsored by the Caravan ClubSubmit a review to UKCampsite.co.uk of any caravan park or campsite for your chance to win your choice of £100 of Caravan Club vouchers or £100 of Amazon vouchers, courtesy of this month's sponsor, The Caravan Club. Join The Club from just £48 per year to enjoy access to over 2,700 sites, exclusive member benefits and site special offers.

If you've visited this site, then please submit a review for a chance to win.

Try our town listings   -   Other Sites in Dorset   -   Search for a site

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a Festival Starter Package Win a BioLite CampStove and USB Charger!

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Tribfest Festival, East Yorkshire - 18th to 21st August
The worldís biggest tribute band music festival and an amazing fun weekend for all the family. Find out more, claim 10% discount or win tickets

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


7542 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend  -  Pensions Auto-enrolment

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2016






0.1172