Home

   Log in or Register
   
Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Longleat Caravan Club Site

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > UK > England > South West > Wiltshire > Site Reviews

Longleat Caravan Club Site
Longleat
Warminster
Wiltshire   (Browse area)
BA12 7NL   See Map                                 Share Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook
Tel: 01985 844663

Facilities:  (Key)
             

Nearby:
1m  1m 5m  5m   5m 
Featured Site

Pitches: 164
Open: 21/03/2014 To 04/01/2015

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 113 Reviews
              9/10 from 113 Reviews


Units accepted:   No Tents  Caravans  Motorhomes 

Special Offer available to UKCampsite.co.uk visitors - see here.

Photos (6) and Video

Reviews:  113 in total, now showing 1 to 6                 Previous 6          Next 6
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14   15   16   17   18   19  

Date of Visit: July 2014 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Snoopysmum 16 reviews from this member

Good points

The wardens are the friendliest ones I have ever met on a CC site, they are usually like Commandants with their pedantic rules!

Love the flowers at the entrance and the big assortment of herbs which you may pick!

Shower blocks immaculate

Horse and Groom pub, 40 min walk, is in a lovely setting, serve good food at a reasonable price.

Poor points

Pitches decent size but too close together, when site is full it is very busy and noisy.

Dog walk is a joke! I it is through dank undergrowth which will be muddy most of the time. Now you are not allowed dogs in the park there are no decent walks for a dog.

We came to this site to look at the surrounding area and were not particularly interested in the safari park. The cost of tickets is expensive even with discounts. We walked in late one day and were surprised how small it was!

Sorry but we won't be coming back!

Date of Visit: July 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Bob the Builder 9 reviews from this member

This site is fairly well signposted. After looking at the website, they recommended following the sat nav to the White Hart pub (BA12 7PH) then following signs from there. That worked very well although the road after the pub seems a bit narrow and windy at times.

First impressions are of a beautiful flat site with lots of space set amongst many trees. The usual ‘find any pitch you like’ rules apply. For my 8 year old son, we selected one near the play area. It was a big hardstanding pitch with plenty of gap to the adjacent pitches. The washrooms are spotless, even better than the usual good Caravan Club standard.

Of course, many people come to visit Longleat Safari Park. There is an entrance to this a very short walk (about 2 minutes) from the site. It couldn't be more convenient! A good tip is to make use of the Caravan Club 20% off vouchers which give discount on food and shop merchandise at the Park. These can be borrowed from the site reception and returned for others when you leave.

There is plenty for children on the site with a good play area, indoor play room and games field. Also, there is a quiz and tasks given out from reception with ticks for things like ‘helping wind the stays down on the caravan’ and ‘spotting a 5mph’ sign - just to get the children involved. There was also a ‘geocache’ style hunt with a riddle leading to a hidden tupperware box containing badges and a book to sign. This proved popular.

The site is very quiet with no main roads nearby. There is occasional animal noise from the park, the sea lions being regular culprits. However, this is far from intrusive and always brings a smile to people’s faces. On our final night several new people arrived with small camper vans, huge awnings and lots of people. I don’t know if this is characteristic of the site but they made a lot of noise, which is unusual for a Caravan Club Site.

We spent only 2 nights here to spend 1 day at the Safari Park but wish we had stayed for longer. We would definitely return.

Date of Visit: July 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Dumplings 3 reviews from this member

Fantastic site, plenty space between vans, loads outdoor space for the kids including play parks and outdoor games. Very quiet and peaceful apart from the occasional bark from 'buster' the sea lion at the nearby safari park it doesn't bother you its just different from the normal ducks and crow sounds. Staff great very friendly, cheerful and helpful. Shower block spotless and plenty of hot water and 'hooks'. Good location safari park on the doorstep(discount tickets when you show site receipt at park) Stonehenge, Bath and Cheddar Gorge not far away. One of the best sites visited, superb.

Date of Visit: June 2014 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: Riji 2 reviews from this member

We stayed at Longleat 20/21 June.

The staff were very helpful.

Site very clean at all times.

Nice and relaxing, even though there were many small children but as the site is well spread out & pitches very accommodating you didn't notice them.

We stayed as we were going into safari park on Sat, & this was a 2 min walk.

The only down side is that it is all UP hill to the nearest pub! And a good wobble back downhill back.

We could recommend The Royal Oak for its food, good pint & very good staff.

Date of Visit: October 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Hoofers 4 reviews from this member

Like previous reviewer we found this I site spotless, lots of room, brilliant staff and super for free access to the Longleat grounds, shops (costa has wifi so don't forget your coupon for 20percent off!) and the little zoo is also free with the meerkats, penguins, anteaters, snakes etc. So all in all excellent. Yes it is a drive to anywhere else and please please respect the earliest arrival time as the lane is very long and narrow. Definitely recommend for families and folk who love animals. Best option is by far using the bus in the safari park first time and judging whether to take your car later but the monkeys absolutely wreck cars - we saw lots waiting for their pieces back. The garage just on the main road is good for repairs and he says he has a steady trade of parts for vehicles driven through so be warned! If you buy the one day ticket using your caravan club receipt and card at the ticket office really early in the morning when they open(confirms when they actually open as we got ours 45mins before official 'Park Open' time you can upgrade to a 2day pass in the afternoon if you haven't done all the ticket-required bits. Don't miss the bird of prey show it's the best we've seen and different from all the others. Great tip from the site staff.

Date of Visit: November 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Robert821 5 reviews from this member

Lovely stay during longleat a Christmas wonderland. Facilities spotless, wardens splendid, what more can one ask for. The lions dawn alarm clock was brilliant!

Remember to use the caravan club vouchers giving money off entry, food and gifts whilst in the park. The tour bus for those scared of taking their own car into the park, costs 4 quid and the bus stop is just outside if the park.

Access road was tight but easy if you take it slowly.

All in all, highly recommended.

Previous     113 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 6      Next

Save to Virtual Brochure  Add this Site to your Virtual Brochure                                Share  Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Submit your Review for a chance to Win Prizes!
Sponsored by the Caravan ClubSubmit a review to UKCampsite.co.uk of any caravan park or campsite, for a chance to win a caravan towing course or motorhome manoeuvring course worth up to £145, or £100 of Amazon vouchers, courtesy of The Caravan Club. Join the Club for just £44 per year to enjoy access to a great range of caravan sites, benefits and special offers.

If you've visited this site, then please submit a review for a chance to win.

Try our town listings   -   Other Sites in Wiltshire   -   Search for a site

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a Nemesis Ultra Wheel Clamp! from Towsure.com Visit the UKCS shop for exclusive discounts and offers

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Manchester Caravan & Motorhome Show 15 to 18/01/15
Start the season with a trip to the North’s biggest outdoor leisure show. Win 10 pairs of tickets or claim discount entry

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3783 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend  -  Pensions Auto-enrolment

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2014






0.0508