Home

   Log in or Register

Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Longleat Caravan Club Site

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > UK > England > South West > Wiltshire > Site Reviews

Longleat Caravan Club Site
Longleat
Warminster
Wiltshire   (Browse area)
BA12 7NL   See Map                                 Share Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook
Tel: 01985 844663

Facilities:  (Key)
             

Nearby:
1m  1m 5m  5m   5m 
Featured Site

Pitches: 164
Open: 21/03/2014 To 04/01/2015

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 108 Reviews
              9/10 from 108 Reviews


Units accepted:   No Tents  Caravans  Motorhomes 

Special Offer available to UKCampsite.co.uk visitors - see here.

Photos (6) and Video

Reviews:  108 in total, now showing 1 to 6                 Previous 6          Next 6
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14   15   16   17   18  

Date of Visit: October 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Hoofers 4 reviews from this member

Like previous reviewer we found this I site spotless, lots of room, brilliant staff and super for free access to the Longleat grounds, shops (costa has wifi so don't forget your coupon for 20percent off!) and the little zoo is also free with the meerkats, penguins, anteaters, snakes etc. So all in all excellent. Yes it is a drive to anywhere else and please please respect the earliest arrival time as the lane is very long and narrow. Definitely recommend for families and folk who love animals. Best option is by far using the bus in the safari park first time and judging whether to take your car later but the monkeys absolutely wreck cars - we saw lots waiting for their pieces back. The garage just on the main road is good for repairs and he says he has a steady trade of parts for vehicles driven through so be warned! If you buy the one day ticket using your caravan club receipt and card at the ticket office really early in the morning when they open(confirms when they actually open as we got ours 45mins before official 'Park Open' time you can upgrade to a 2day pass in the afternoon if you haven't done all the ticket-required bits. Don't miss the bird of prey show it's the best we've seen and different from all the others. Great tip from the site staff.

Date of Visit: November 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Robert821 5 reviews from this member

Lovely stay during longleat a Christmas wonderland. Facilities spotless, wardens splendid, what more can one ask for. The lions dawn alarm clock was brilliant!

Remember to use the caravan club vouchers giving money off entry, food and gifts whilst in the park. The tour bus for those scared of taking their own car into the park, costs 4 quid and the bus stop is just outside if the park.

Access road was tight but easy if you take it slowly.

All in all, highly recommended.

Date of Visit: July 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Familysmiths 6 reviews from this member

This is clearly one of the best sites I have ever had the pleasure of staying at. I cant fault anything.

The staff were really friendly and helpful

All the pitches were of a really big size and flat with a good choice of grass or hard standing

It sits right out the back of longleat and you can wander round (no access to the main areas) the shops, grounds of the house, and feed the deer, which is all 200 yards round the corner. And listen out for the lions when it gets dark!

Nice little play area and the site is safe for them to run round anyway

Facilities were really clean and neat and tidy with brilliant little baby room.

I think you really need a car if your staying for more than a couple of days as not much else close to walk to. Nearest pub is a bit of a hike! However as a stop off on the way down to Devon or Cornwall this cant be beaten.

I would also reinforce the STRICT arrival time. The road in is narrow and single lane. It cause chaos when one idiot arrived early and locked the whole road up!

Date of Visit: April 2013 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: McLiability 2 reviews from this member

This is an outstanding Caravan Site. The Facilities are in superb condition and plentiful. The pitches are generous and well-spaced, with an abundance of power points. The three large toilet blocks are in pristine condition with an endless supply of hot water. If you have young children or toddlers you can sign out a toddler bathroom key that allows you to utilise that facility. It is a large lockable bathroom with a half bath with integrated shallow platform, a mini toilet and sink, and a changing table. All of the aforementioned facilities are wonderfully warm and clean. The childrenís play park is in great working order and the entire site enforces a 5 mph limit so young children on bicycles are always safe. The crowning quality of this site is the fact that it is 200m from the Longleat house attractions. Most of the activities were free e. G. The train ride, mini zoo, bat cave and mirror maze and there is now an Italian Pizzeria on the site, along with other food outlets. At 1700 when the attractions close down, you are free to walk around the grounds of Longleat house which makes for a great distraction for the kids. If you are taking your motorhome through the Safari, you are braver than me if you go into the Monkey enclosure, but be aware you will be advised to take the bikes off the back of the motorhome before going into the big cat enclosures as the lions have been known to attack them destroying bikes and racks! Donít forget your Caravan Club discount for the tickets. I showed the assistant on the gate the coupon on the laptop and she discounted all tickets without question. I saved £25. This site is a must for young families.

Date of Visit: October 2012 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: CorkyBrit 5 reviews from this member

This is one of the best C. C. Sites we have visited, very well laid out with woodland trees on the Longleat estate. Longleat House, its grounds and adventure park are only a few minutes walk along the road, and the safari park is right next door to them. We spent two full days seeing the attractions at Longleat. It's best to take the tour bus around the safari park. Do not take your car through the monkey enclosure. We saw parts of cars being broken off.

As other reviewers have mentioned, you can hear the sea lions and other animals from the caravan site. The location is good for a trip to Bath that is a very popular city for tourists. We liked the Roman baths, the abbey nearby, and No. 1 Royal Crescent is worth a visit, but will be even better when they have completed renovation of further rooms that will be added from the adjoining No. 1A. We had lunch at Jamie Oliver's restaurant in Bath called Jamie's Italian - excellent food.

Stourhead, a National Trust property only about 10 miles away is definitely worth a day out. It has a magnificent house and delightful grounds. We also enjoyed Stonehenge and Salisbury Cathedral. A fish and chip van 'Mr. Chips' calls every Tuesday and Friday, and the quality is excellent. We had fresh tasting fish with crispy batter, and good chips that are not too greasy. The toilet blocks are very good.

The electric hook ups also have TV connections and you can buy a cable from reception which also stocks food essentials. The wardens are friendly and helpful, and we will certainly be going to the Longleat site again.

Date of Visit: September 2012 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Webby1 1 review from this member

What a fantastic site this is. 100 yards from the entrance and you are in Longleat Safari Park. Lovely house and gardens to stroll around. Listen to the sea lions from the campsite. Well laid out pitches and spotless. Up to the standards you would expect from Caravan Club. Just a bit disappointed that the earliest arrival time was 13. 00 hrs. The lane was a bit narrow and about a mile and a half so I guess this was the reason. Mobile phone signal not great there either.

Previous     108 Review in total, now showing 1 to 6      Next

Save to Virtual Brochure  Add this Site to your Virtual Brochure                                Share  Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Submit your Review for a chance to Win Prizes!
Sponsored by the Caravan ClubSubmit a review to UKCampsite.co.uk of any caravan park or campsite, for a chance to win a caravan towing course or motorhome manoeuvring course worth up to £145, or £100 of Amazon vouchers, courtesy of The Caravan Club. Join the Club for just £44 per year to enjoy access to a great range of caravan sites, benefits and special offers.

If you've visited this site, then please submit a review for a chance to win.

Try our town listings   -   Other Sites in Wiltshire   -   Search for a site

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a Clarke IG22000 2.2kW Generator worth £467.98! Visit the UKCS shop for exclusive discounts and offers

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Truckfest Peterborough
Exciting family entertainment, and you can make a full long weekend of them, by camping on site!Plus win tickets!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


5036 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend  -  Pensions Auto-enrolment

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews]  [Facebook]

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2014




0.0859