Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Rocks East Woodland

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > UK > England > South West > Somerset > Site Reviews

Rocks East Woodland
Ashwicke
Bath
Somerset   (Browse area)
SN14 8AP   See Map                                 Share Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook
Tel: 01225 852518

Facilities:  (Key)
     

Nearby: (within x miles)
10m  10m  10m 

Pitches: 30
Open: February To November

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 31 Reviews
              8/10 from 31 Reviews


Units accepted:    Tents  Caravans  Motorhomes 

Reviews:  31 in total, now showing 1 to 6                 Previous 6          Next 6
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6  

Write your own Review for a chance to Win 300 of Prizes!
Sponsored by Ordnance SurveyWin a 300 Prize Package including 100 of Amazon vouchers, courtesy of our sponsor Ordnance Survey If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Further info and prize details here

Date of Visit: August 2016 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Magnusspuss 10 reviews from this member

We stayed here 2 nights with 2 other families with our children aged 2 to 7.

The woods were lovely for the kids and they were safe enough to explore a little around from where we camped. Tree rope swings were high on the agenda, exploring the woods, making bow and arrows and a fire with toasted marshmallow. All great stuff.

The campsite was very small which meant we were very close to the other tents. Unfortunately therefore sound travelled more easily between tents.

Toilets/ showers just fine, no complaints.

Date of Visit: August 2015 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: WestonDave 3 reviews from this member

We live in Bath so this site is a local one to us which we've heard about but never yet managed to find a vacant pitch when we've wanted one. So having had to miss our usual summer camping trip due to building work at home we figured we'd grab a couple of nights here just to get our camping 'fix'.

The site itself is about 10 minutes drive outside Bath with everything there you'd expect from a small city including a large Morrison's store on the main A4 into the city. Nearer is the small village of Colerne which itself has some facilities like a shop, post office and newsagent - plus at least one pub. Colerne still has an active airfield which is used by a number of RAF training corps so there is some flying.

The site consists of two main camping fields linked by a short stretch of road which runs past the office and toilet block. We were shown to a pitch on the second field and it looked to us like most of the pitches were occupied on the first two nights (Friday and Saturday). Both camping fields are level and sheltered by surrounding trees. We didn't have any notable difficulty with pegs but I suspect some of the pitches opposite that were nearer bigger trees may have been affected by roots etc.

Each pitch has the use of a raised fire tray for which logs are obtained from reception at 4 per bag (including a small bag of kindling). Taking logs from the woods is not allowed for woodland management reasons although taking smaller sticks for kindling and fire lighting is fine. We made two bags last 3 nights but were fairly cautious the first two nights.

The site facilities are limited - two toilet cubicles and one shower per gender plus a single outdoor washing up area (double sink and drainer). However these were clean enough (odd cobwebs high up etc but the sanitary ware and floors looked clean) despite the site being full. Mud did get tracked in a bit on the last day when it began to rain. Shower was nice and hot with a decent water pressure - does fluctuate a bit when people use other water but not too badly. Washing up water was hot. There was one morning when it would appear the boiler pilot light had failed overnight but this was quickly rectified once the owners were notified.

Behind the camping area is an area of woodland which has a number of walks in it including one with sculptures on it which is nice for the kids.

We had a really nice relaxed time although being local we stayed on site for the two days (we were there 3 nights) rather than visiting sights as such. The fire tray and ability to use my fire stoves (Kelly Kettle and wood gas stove) was fantastic - there is nothing quite like sitting watching the flames of a real fire to relax.

For those coming from further afield Bath has many attractions - the Roman Baths, Abbey, Costume Museum etc. Whilst you probably wouldn't want to cycle up to the campsite, if you were bringing a bike and wanted a nice ride, the Two Tunnels circuit could easily be picked up in Bathampton near the bottom of the hill. If you have children and want to give them a run around the children's play area in Victoria Park is huge and pretty spectacular. If you like walking there are a number of nice walks in St Catherine's valley behind the site or a little further away Solsbury Hill (of Peter Gabriel fame) is worth a walk to the top.

Overall we enjoyed our trip and would be happy to return for another relaxing weekend.

Date of Visit: August 2013 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Team Williams 1 review from this member

This was our first camping trip as a family of 6. We chose this campsite as they allowed campfires & we thought we thought this would add to the children's first experience of sleeping under canvas! Booked via email and person was friendly and efficient.

Arrived for our 2 night stay and we were greeted by a friendly couple who showed us options of where we could pitch. We choose one on the second field under the trees. A little tricky to bang in tent pegs with either rocks or roots all over the place but were quite impressed with our timings for only our second attempt (first in the back garden!) at erecting it!

Toilet and shower facilities were quite basic with only 2 toilets each in the ladies/men's and 1 shower. Not sure how this would work if campsite was fully booked!

A double sink for washing up with intermittent hot water!

A very 'musty' smelling shop selling a small amount of snacks and gifts. Some dodgy display of stuffed (dead) animals in the corner which freaked out my 3 yr-old! We were able to purchase a bag of logs and kindling here for 4.

There were fire trays/pits dotted around the field for use and children enjoyed toasting marshmallows around it!

We quickly realised that there were wasps resident nearby and these became a real menace. I think we must have zapped / swotted / flicked / stamped on about 40 over our 2 night stay. One family in the other field were considering leaving after 1 night as they had 3 young children and were being plagued by the wasps (1child being stung). The other plus side of the fire tray was that the smoke from it kept the wasps at a distance for short periods!

The site is positioned near a road which had a light amount of traffic during the evening/night/early morning and late at night there was music /cheering to be heard in the distance not sure if this was a festival/rave going on. Only slightly detracted from our peaceful time around the campfire chatting with a glass of red!

We visited Weston-Super-Mare for the day which was about a 50 min drive. Great family day out and recommended! Bath is only 10-15 mins away. A lovely place to visit with the Royal baths, river, Cathedral and plenty of shops.

This site was fine for our first camping trip with all the simple facilities. Plus points - friendly owners, fire trays/pits, location. Minus points - wasps! Not enough toilets/showers for size of site.

May visit again if wasps not a problem but not sure there's much the owners could do.

Date of Visit: June 2012 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Four Under Canvas 2 reviews from this member

There are 2 fields, about half an acre each, with the office / toilet block in the middle, and the woodland area to the side. There is free, 24 hour access to the woodland, including a sculpture trail, so older kids can go off and explore, but younger ones would need to be kept in the field area unless accompanied.

The fields themselves are fairly flat, but very stony, so heavy duty tent pegs are required. On arrival, if the site is not busy, you are given a pretty free choice of where to pitch; we had about 10 metres between us and the neighbours, although on various night smaller tents / camper vans were slotted into that space. During the week there were about 15-20 people in our field, and about 5-10 in the other; over the wet bank holiday weekend, numbers rose to 80-ish. People in groups were able to pitch with their tents facing each other around a campfire, and it didn't feel overly crowded, although the meagre toilet and shower facilities struggled to cope with such numbers. (More later).

As the tents were pitched around the edges of the field, the kids had a good space to play together in the middle, and there was a small copse of trees on the edge of the field, which to very young child sufficed as a woodland in itself. They definitely felt they had a bit more freedom than usual, and as the traffic on the site was minimal and moved very slowly, we felt relaxed about them wandering around.

For an extra 3.50 you can have a bag of logs brought to the pitch, along with a fire tray on stilts, which keeps the grass from being destroyed and makes it marginally safer for toddlers. There were a few grills lying about, but at busy times, we would recommend bring your own grill upon which to lay your sausages. The woodlands are full of smaller logs and branches, and the kids definitely enjoyed going to collect kindling for the fire.

Our main gripe would be with the toilet and shower facilities. There was one shower and 2 toilets for the gents, and same for the ladies, with 2 sinks and a mirror in each. Outside there are 2 sinks, with one draining board to the side and a very old cracked drying rack (which needed replacing), which is covered so it can be used when raining. At peak periods, these facilities were inadequate, and you had to queue to use showers and washing up sinks over the weekend.

Regarding the bathrooms, there was no door mat, so the floors were filthy during the wet weather, and when they were cleaned it was with a dirty looking mop and bucket - there was no olfactory evidence that any cleaning products were actually used. For the first 2 days, it didn't seem that the loos were actually cleaned, although toilet rolls were brought in. When your kids are at an age where a visit to the loo includes touching most surfaces, it would be nicer if the cleaning was done more regularly and thoroughly, especially when 4 toilets are serving up to 100 visitors.

Also, there is was no drain / tap down which to empty potties /camping toilets, so one imagines that this is done in one of the normal sinks, not nice.

The 2 people in the office however were very nice, welcoming and helpful. We had booked for a week, but they were very flexible with regard to actual leaving dates, meaning that we could play it by ear because of the weather and not lose out financially when rained home. The shop sells marshmallows and various little toys etc. , but I don't think it had milk / bread - might be worth having a pre-ordering service, as the nearest minimarket is the Costcutter in Colerne (about 4 miles away), although Bath and Chippenham (about 20mins drive) have big branches of Morrisons and Sainsburys.

The position of the site is OK for trips to Bath, bit further for Longleat / Cheddar etc. Nice pub in Ford (about 10mn drive) which does average pub grub at reasonable prices and with very good service. A road runs alongside the camping fields, and there is a small airfield close by, but we were not disturbed by noise from those sources. Unfortunately one morning, we did hear some rave music floating in from somewhere else, and there was one group of fellow campers who were noisy from about 6am, but to be fair to the campsite owners, there is not much they can do about that except deal with complaints afterwards (which they did).

Price wise, I didn't think the site was overly expensive, but some other campers thought that it was on the pricey side (18 per night for 4, mid season), and I think given the facilities, they may have a point.

Date of Visit: April 2012 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Clairetwoboys 8 reviews from this member

Just got back from a wonderful weekend camping at this site. The owners are friendly and welcoming and gave us a choice of where to pitch. Pitches were not marked out but we had plenty of room, and the ground was flat and well drained. Firepits are available and were very welcome on the cold nights, and the children made friends and absolutely loved the sculpture trail and rope swing, and had great fun making dens in the woods.

The only downside is the showering and toilet facilities, which were sufficient as the camp was fairly quiet (never had to queue) but with only one shower and two loos, I can imagine it would get pretty busy in high season. Also, they were not cleaned over the weekend, which meant that by day three, they were pretty grotty. A mop and bucket for people to give it a mop-over after use would be better than nothing.

This is my only slight gripe, however, and wouldn't put us off going back there - a wonderful site, especially for families with children, we had a fabulous time.

Date of Visit: March 2012 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Hill_billy 3 reviews from this member

Visited the site over the weekend of 24th/25th March 2012 with my 6 year old daughter. 18 for us 2 in our tent and 3. 50 for a bag of logs for the campfire.

Lovely daytime weather - felt like June. However - soon got quite chilly at night.

We were pitched in the lower field fairly close to the toilet block. Pitched the little tent and sorted out the fire tray for the evening campfire (owners bring it to you).

The ground looks fine but is actually quite stoney under the surface. Bring a mallet.

We collected some sticks and kindling from the woods and lit a fire with charcoal briquettes for a Dutch oven bolognaise. After that - pancakes and then toasted marshmallows.

Pleased to see the toilets are in a much better state than previous years. Mens had 2 cubicles and a shower. All looked clean and new-ish. However I don't think they will cope too well in the height of Summer when it gets rammed with people on site.

The logs they provide are pretty rubbish. Damp softwood and they do not burn too well. Bring your own.

We only live down the road (2 miles away!) and it was a nice overnight break. Would definitely return. Pick your weekend though if you don't want it too busy.

Owners friendly and helpful. It's a basic site but very nice.

Previous     31 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 6      Next

Save to Virtual Brochure  Add this Site to your Virtual Brochure                                Share  Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write your own Review for a chance to Win 300 of Prizes!
Sponsored by Ordnance SurveyWin a 300 Prize Package including 100 of Amazon vouchers, courtesy of our sponsor Ordnance Survey If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Further info and prize details here

Try our town listings   -   Other Sites in Somerset   -   Search for a site

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win 3 AutoSock car snowsock sets worth 49.95+ each Win an OLPRO Caravan Cover in your size

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Manchester Caravan & Motorhome Show 18 to 21 January 2018
Advanced booking discount plus we have 15 pairs of tickets to give away ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3559 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend  -  Pensions Auto-enrolment

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2017






0.0879
UKCampsite.co.uk
Advent Calendar

Advent Calendar

24 Daily Prizes worth up to 120 and a Christmas Day Star Prize worth 500!
Open Today's Window