Home

   Log in or Register
   
Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Trewan Hall Camping And Caravanning

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > UK > England > South West > Cornwall (East) > Site Reviews

Trewan Hall Camping And Caravanning
Trewan Hall
St Columb
Cornwall (East)   (Browse area)
TR9 6DB   See Map                                 Share Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook
Tel: 01637 880 261

Facilities:  (Key)
                  

Nearby:
1m   5m   1m  1m 
Featured Site

Pitches: 200
Open: 2nd May To 15th September 2014

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 37 Reviews
              9/10 from 37 Reviews


Units accepted:    Tents  Caravans  Motorhomes 

This site has chosen to use the availability calendar. You can check for availability here.

Photos (6)

Reviews:  37 in total, now showing 1 to 6                 Previous 6          Next 6
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7  

Date of Visit: August 2014 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: S11Steve 4 reviews from this member

We spent 10 days at this wonderful location, and couldn't ask for more. The site was easy to find of the A30, in a wooded area with good pitching ground and excellent facilities.

The toilet and shower block was cleaned regularly throughout the day, the shop was well stocked and all at very reasonable prices. There was plenty of activities to entertain kids of all ages, from playgrounds, to video games room, and secluded barn areas for the older kids.

It is a short drive from Newquay, or a 15 minute walk into the village. We also took the time to visit a lot of the attractions in the Cornwall area.

We did have some rain over the 2 weeks, but the ground was well drained, and the driveways around the site ensured that the grass was not churned up.

The pool area was well kept, and when the dome was up it almost felt tropical underneath it.

Criticisms, I'm genuinely struggling to find anything significant. The shop may benefit if it sold a small selection of wine/beer and cigarettes, but I appreciate there is a cost to do this with licencing etc. Maybe also a supply of logs for campfires wouldn't go amiss, but this was more down to our lack of organisation!

It is quite close to the airport, but it is mainly light aircraft and pleasure flights and not really obtrusive at all.

We were not surprised to find many returning visitors, some who have been coming back for over a decade, and indeed we have already booked again for next year.

Date of Visit: August 2014 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: MrWilsonsbetterhalf 3 reviews from this member

Just got home after 10 night stay at this campsite and it was the best trip ever.

I camped with two children 11 and 6 and my other half and this site exceeded all expectations. It has it all.

Beautiful and easily accessible site, the beach was only a few miles away and near all of the main attractions. (Jamie Oliverís restaurant was only ten mins away)

The site itself is set over two fields with a great shop selling fresh baked pastries and bread as well as all other bits you could possibly need. They have washing machines and dryers, great shower blocks and washing facilities with endless hot water, beautiful heated pool with indoor Bubble for the not so warm days. Kids computer room table tennis and games room as well as the entertainment in the barn (the story teller was brilliant)

The only thing that I could find that was not perfect was that they didnít sell wine or logs! but that really was the only thing. Brilliantly run and maintained the staff work endlessly and we will be returning next year

Canít wait!

Date of Visit: July 2014 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Jayneludford 1 review from this member

Trewan Hall is definitely the best campsite we have ever been to (and we've been to lots!). Every year when we look to book a holiday we have a check list of things we are hoping for and basically trewan hall had the lot:

Great location with beautiful, clean, spacious, sandy, dog friendly beaches only a few miles a way.

Lovely part of Cornwall with both north and south coasts accessible.

Exceptionally attractive site. Beautiful buildings and gardens.

A large heated pool that actually felt heated!

Friendly, helpful staff.

Great shop, fresh food and lots of useful bits and pieces with reasonable prices.

Clean, smart and practical toilet and shower block. Hot water always and even baths!

The site although clearly very popular with people coming back year after year, decades even, never felt crowded and queuing wasn't an issue.

Quiet site after 11pm and never especially noisy.

Everything was efficient. Everything worked.

Facilities for kids of all ages were great. Even teenagers are well served.

Great entertainment in beautiful barn. To be honest we normally avoid entertainment at campsites, fearing the worse, but we really enjoyed the performances we saw. The St Dennis brass band was a revelation! I thought I didn't like that sort of music but they were fantastic and we are now converts.

We will definitely be returning and I suspect we will be joining the many people who return year after year.

Date of Visit: July 2014 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: MrsCamper2 2 reviews from this member

Trewan Hall is quite simply the BEST campsite in Britain!

We have been bringing our family here for a number of years and the children always love coming back.

The site is very efficiently run, but without all the rules and petty restrictions of so many sites. There is plenty of space for each tent/van as well as incredibly spacious communal areas for games, walking, playing. There is a great swimming pool, table tennis, table football, an outdoor children's' play area and the most fantastic evening entertainment. The children like local band, SpitRoast; the older members of the family like the brass band.

The facilities are modern and scrupulously clean. Plenty of showers/toilets, a family bathroom etc - rarely do you have to wait even when the site is full. Excellent washing-up facilities. Reliable electric hook-up.

This site is superb value-for-money and I would recommend it to anyone wanting to camp in Cornwall.

Date of Visit: July 2014 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: James Scotts Clarke 4 reviews from this member

This is a wonderful site. I have been back year after year for at least five years and never been disappointed. It really is friendly, the staff are so helpful. There are no officious rules that you sometimes encounter on campsites. You can pitch more or less how and where you like on the two camping fields, limited by ehus of course. Facilities are always clean and have been updated for 2014. The shop is incredible as it is modest but sells everything you need, including croissants fresh each morning and hot pasties. In the evening you can get fresh, hot popcorn -lovely! In high season there is entertainment most evenings which is just great. The kids love being able to go to the shop and entertainment on their own. The site is safe for little ones and that is a big part of the attraction. When you arrive the kids can disappear and occupy themselves whilst you feel confident they are safe. Beaches are 10 minutes away in the car, 20 minutes to Padstow. However some of the best days are just chilling at the campsite. The swimming pool is great.

The only downers are that it is a bit more expensive than the average and its a long way from Chester!

Date of Visit: July 2013 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: James Scotts Clarke 4 reviews from this member

I have stayed at Trewan Hall over 10 times and every year for the last 3. This site is a find if you like to have sufficient facilities in a beautiful, safe setting. The sum of the parts is greater than their individual merit. It just has everything you need for a restful family holiday which is why we return every year. The owners are very friendly and accomodating. The shop provides all you need for a few days and there is a Coop in St Columb, about a mile away. The swimming pool is lovely and as there is always a lifeguard, children over 8 can swim without Mum or Dad supervising. They play equipment is unique. The children simply love it. Each year our children just disappear and make new friends on the site. They cannot wait for the next visit.

Showers and toilets are always clean and perfectly adequate.

We like the beach at Harlyn bay which is about 15-20 minutes drive away. It has loads of beachside parking, most in a grass field which overlooks the beach where many a picnic has been taken.

The evening entertainment is free. It varies but again, the children love to be able to go and see whatever is on with their friends. It is such a safe feeling site that we have no qualms about them trotting about on their own til bedtime. To be fair, I enjoy the entertainment and it adds a little extra something.

A large field in the middle of the site is reserved for just clean open space where you can join in some organised footy or perhaps throw a frisbee. There are 3 indoor ping pong tables for some light exercise and even a large room reserved for teenagers.

Overall the site provides a relaxed feel for a family holiday.

Children were 4, 7, 9 and 11 at time of this visit.

Previous     37 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 6      Next

Save to Virtual Brochure  Add this Site to your Virtual Brochure                                Share  Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Submit your Review for a chance to Win Prizes!
Sponsored by the Caravan ClubSubmit a review to UKCampsite.co.uk of any caravan park or campsite, for a chance to win a caravan towing course or motorhome manoeuvring course worth up to £145, or £100 of Amazon vouchers, courtesy of The Caravan Club. Join the Club for just £44 per year to enjoy access to a great range of caravan sites, benefits and special offers.

If you've visited this site, then please submit a review for a chance to win.

Try our town listings   -   Other Sites in Cornwall (East)   -   Search for a site

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a Sleepy - The Wearable Sleeping Bag! Visit the UKCS shop for exclusive discounts and offers

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Manchester Caravan & Motorhome Show 15 to 18/01/15
Start the season with a trip to the Northís biggest outdoor leisure show. Win 10 pairs of tickets or claim discount entry

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


4516 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend  -  Pensions Auto-enrolment

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2014






0.0996