Home

   Log in or Register
   
Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Trewan Hall Camping And Caravanning

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > UK > England > South West > Cornwall (East) > Site Reviews

Trewan Hall Camping And Caravanning
Trewan Hall
St Columb
Cornwall (East)   (Browse area)
TR9 6DB   See Map                                 Share Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook
Tel: 01637 880 261

Facilities:  (Key)
                  

Nearby: (within x miles)
1m   5m   1m  1m 
Featured Site

Pitches: 200
Open: 1st May To 14th September 2015

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 39 Reviews
              9/10 from 39 Reviews


Units accepted:    Tents  Caravans  Motorhomes 

This site has chosen to use the availability calendar. You can check for availability here.

Photos (12)

Reviews:  39 in total, now showing 1 to 6                 Previous 6          Next 6
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7  

Submit your own Review for a chance to Win £100 of Amazon Vouchers
Win £100 of Amazon vouchersSubmit a review of this site for a chance to win. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win £100 of Amazon vouchers!

Date of Visit: July 2015 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Jim1977 5 reviews from this member

Spent a week here in July 2015, the first week of the school holidays. We were pitched in Calves Close, the electric hook up field. The field is generally flat at the top and slopes further down. The site has free pitching, so you pitch where you want, as long as you are 6 metres from any neighbours (and can reach the hook up post). The site was fairly quiet and we had a huge amount of space around us, and no one to one side or in front until our last day. The 6 metre rule was enforced by the warden, someone was made to move their van and awning further round the field, although the warden kindly helped them move.

The new toilet block was superb.

Trewan Hall is quite unique in that it has a heated pool and evening entertainment, but remains a quiet family site. There is no bar and the shop does not sell alcohol. The atmosphere is very relaxed, with a quirky, old fashioned feel. The entertainment takes place in an old barn, and is advertised each day by funny cartoon posters that the owners put up. The entertainment was quality, not tacky. St Dennis brass band etc.

The pool is life guarded and thanks to the dome was lovely and warm in what was a mixed weather week. Most of the time we had the pool to ourselves, or just 2 or 3 other families. The changing rooms are pretty tired but are functional. Much of it has not changed since I last visited 25 years ago, but that's not a bad thing as such, just adds to the sites usual charm. The playground is made up of boats, cars, tractor, train, all made of wood, very unusual. As with the pool, I remember some of them from 25 years ago, but they are well kept and safe.

The site is family run and the warden was helpful and friendly, and took the time to come and chat.

Our kids also enjoyed the new slot car track that has been rebuilt in the round room. In typical Trewan Hall style this is a bespoke wooden set up which must have taken hours of love to build.

Negatives? The shop is expensive, but there are several big supermarkets nearby. The entrances are not on barriers, so maybe not as secure as some sites, but the site itself is not signed from any main roads. You would not know it was there.

This site provided me with many happy memories over many visits as a child. It has lost none of its charm and has improved with the new toilet block. This site remains the site against which I judge all others, and to which so far none have matched. Superb and unique.

Date of Visit: July 2015 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Youlbury 16 reviews from this member

We stayed for 2 weeks the staff are great, the grounds are lovely.

I am not fond of the free pitching when it comes to EHU as it is a lottery on what pitch you get and some will end up with an expansive and large area free from other units and some will look cramped; however there is a 6m limit in place.

We found there was some inconsiderate pitching but it didnít spoil our stay. The site was at capacity and now and again it showed in the modern showers mainly down to lots of grass been trudged in. Some people will clean up after themselves some don't!

Great place to tour and nothing is too far away, St Columb has some interesting pubs with some interesting locals worth the 15mins walk up and downhill.

Pool was nice but had the cover over with the hit and miss weather, entertainment was fine when ventured down.

We were in the middle calvesí field and was exposed to some very high speed gusts.

This campsite is celebrating its 50th anniversary and you can understand why people return generation after generation.

We will return next year.

Date of Visit: August 2014 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: S11Steve 4 reviews from this member

We spent 10 days at this wonderful location, and couldn't ask for more. The site was easy to find of the A30, in a wooded area with good pitching ground and excellent facilities.

The toilet and shower block was cleaned regularly throughout the day, the shop was well stocked and all at very reasonable prices. There was plenty of activities to entertain kids of all ages, from playgrounds, to video games room, and secluded barn areas for the older kids.

It is a short drive from Newquay, or a 15 minute walk into the village. We also took the time to visit a lot of the attractions in the Cornwall area.

We did have some rain over the 2 weeks, but the ground was well drained, and the driveways around the site ensured that the grass was not churned up.

The pool area was well kept, and when the dome was up it almost felt tropical underneath it.

Criticisms, I'm genuinely struggling to find anything significant. The shop may benefit if it sold a small selection of wine/beer and cigarettes, but I appreciate there is a cost to do this with licencing etc. Maybe also a supply of logs for campfires wouldn't go amiss, but this was more down to our lack of organisation!

It is quite close to the airport, but it is mainly light aircraft and pleasure flights and not really obtrusive at all.

We were not surprised to find many returning visitors, some who have been coming back for over a decade, and indeed we have already booked again for next year.

Date of Visit: August 2014 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: MrWilsonsbetterhalf 3 reviews from this member

Just got home after 10 night stay at this campsite and it was the best trip ever.

I camped with two children 11 and 6 and my other half and this site exceeded all expectations. It has it all.

Beautiful and easily accessible site, the beach was only a few miles away and near all of the main attractions. (Jamie Oliverís restaurant was only ten mins away)

The site itself is set over two fields with a great shop selling fresh baked pastries and bread as well as all other bits you could possibly need. They have washing machines and dryers, great shower blocks and washing facilities with endless hot water, beautiful heated pool with indoor Bubble for the not so warm days. Kids computer room table tennis and games room as well as the entertainment in the barn (the story teller was brilliant)

The only thing that I could find that was not perfect was that they didnít sell wine or logs! but that really was the only thing. Brilliantly run and maintained the staff work endlessly and we will be returning next year

Canít wait!

Date of Visit: July 2014 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Jayneludford 2 reviews from this member

Trewan Hall is definitely the best campsite we have ever been to (and we've been to lots!). Every year when we look to book a holiday we have a check list of things we are hoping for and basically trewan hall had the lot:

Great location with beautiful, clean, spacious, sandy, dog friendly beaches only a few miles a way.

Lovely part of Cornwall with both north and south coasts accessible.

Exceptionally attractive site. Beautiful buildings and gardens.

A large heated pool that actually felt heated!

Friendly, helpful staff.

Great shop, fresh food and lots of useful bits and pieces with reasonable prices.

Clean, smart and practical toilet and shower block. Hot water always and even baths!

The site although clearly very popular with people coming back year after year, decades even, never felt crowded and queuing wasn't an issue.

Quiet site after 11pm and never especially noisy.

Everything was efficient. Everything worked.

Facilities for kids of all ages were great. Even teenagers are well served.

Great entertainment in beautiful barn. To be honest we normally avoid entertainment at campsites, fearing the worse, but we really enjoyed the performances we saw. The St Dennis brass band was a revelation! I thought I didn't like that sort of music but they were fantastic and we are now converts.

We will definitely be returning and I suspect we will be joining the many people who return year after year.

Date of Visit: July 2014 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: MrsCamper2 2 reviews from this member

Trewan Hall is quite simply the BEST campsite in Britain!

We have been bringing our family here for a number of years and the children always love coming back.

The site is very efficiently run, but without all the rules and petty restrictions of so many sites. There is plenty of space for each tent/van as well as incredibly spacious communal areas for games, walking, playing. There is a great swimming pool, table tennis, table football, an outdoor children's' play area and the most fantastic evening entertainment. The children like local band, SpitRoast; the older members of the family like the brass band.

The facilities are modern and scrupulously clean. Plenty of showers/toilets, a family bathroom etc - rarely do you have to wait even when the site is full. Excellent washing-up facilities. Reliable electric hook-up.

This site is superb value-for-money and I would recommend it to anyone wanting to camp in Cornwall.

Previous     39 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 6      Next

Save to Virtual Brochure  Add this Site to your Virtual Brochure                                Share  Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Submit a Review for a chance to Win £100 of Amazon Vouchers
Win £100 of Amazon vouchersSubmit a review of any caravan park or campsite, for a chance to win. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win £100 of Amazon vouchers!

If you've visited this site, then please submit a review for a chance to win.

Try our town listings   -   Other Sites in Cornwall (East)   -   Search for a site

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a Champion 3100 Watt Inverter Petrol Generator Win a Win a One Week Stay at Vauxhall Holiday Park!

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Motorhome & Caravan Show 13 Ė 18 October
Occupying eleven huge halls of the NEC, it is guaranteed to be an unmissable event. Win tickets!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


11649 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend  -  Pensions Auto-enrolment

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2015






0.0410