Home

   Log in or Register

Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Beddgelert Camping In The Forest Site

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > UK > Wales > Gwynedd > Site Reviews

Beddgelert Camping In The Forest Site
Heart Of Snowdonia
Beddgelert
Gwynedd   (Browse area)
LL55 4UU   See Map                                 Share Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook
Tel: 0845 137 633  or  024 7642 3008

Facilities:  (Key)
          

Nearby:
1m  1m  
Featured Site

Pitches: 240
Open: Open All Year

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 159 Reviews
              8/10 from 159 Reviews


Units accepted:    Tents  Caravans  Motorhomes 

Special Offer available to UKCampsite.co.uk visitors - see here.

Photos (4)

Reviews:  159 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14   15   16  

Date of Visit: June 2014 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: Oddfellow23 4 reviews from this member

A lovely stay was had at this lovely welcoming site. Helpful staff, so much wildlife and to top it all, a narrow gauge railway station at the campsite. Home baked bread and pizzas made to order. Clean facilities. Would definitely book this site in the future. A good central location for visiting north wales with steam trains running to porthmadog and Caernarfon from the station on the campsite

Date of Visit: April 2014 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Nedsram 13 reviews from this member

A superb, peaceful site in the forest, with its own station on the Welsh Highland Railway. The place to get away from it all, especially as there is no phone signal and no TV reception (although a satellite dish will get a signal in most locations). An excellent base for walking, with forest tracks going in all directions direct from the site, and access to paths to Snowdon from various stations on the line. The village of Beddgelert is a 30 minute walk away, and has several pubs and cafes, as well as an award winning ice cream parlour. Or you can order pizzas and light snacks on the site, and also bread in the morning. The shop has other essentials such as milk.

Whilst it's very laid back, this does have its problems. In our case mainly that no specific pitch was allocated, and we had difficulty finding one, and also that there were issues with the toilet block, such as the hand cream running out and not being replaced after two days. Minor issues really though, and we would wholeheartedly recommend the site, and would definitely return. Generally the facilities are excellent, including a very good motorhome service point. Very children friendly - although ours have long since flown the nest.

Date of Visit: October 2013 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Ricsi 2 reviews from this member

Stayed in our Motorhome for two nights, friendly and helpful staff, the site was quiet as to be expected off season. The railway, river and new path adjacent to the site are pleasant with an easy walk to Beddgelert or Rhy Du. Pitch was fine and as expected with a forest site a lot of tree cover, dripping trees after rain and lots of shade. Good facilities, shower and toilet blocks a bit tired and look like they have had a long hard season. Reasonable fees, slightly higher at weekends. Good Motorhome service point with chem toilet, grey waste and fresh water and easy to use. One negative would be waste disposal and recycling separation is not so easy to find or signed and judging by the contents most people give up and sling all their rubbish in the general waste red skips. No mobile or TV but we knew this, not a problem.

Date of Visit: October 2013 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Olliesmum 2 reviews from this member

Arrived on an out of season Thursday to this very friendly and trusting site - no warden there but they arrived just as we were taking a map to site ourselves. Very friendly and accommodating ensuring we had all the information we needed to make our stay pleasant. Site is just outside the village with a half hour walk across the signposted footpaths as the road is too narrow to walk safely. Village is touristy and has some basic facilities as well as tea shops/pubs etc. Very much suited for walkers with good supply shop.

Site has all usual camping in forest facilities including toilets showers and hookups and in season the shop does takeaway food and drinks as well as groceries. We were outside of the season and there were basics, as expected.

Facilities as clean as possible in a forest setting. And warm enough to shower in.

Steam train calls at edge of site.

Wild river runs through the site and this would be great for supervised children.

Friendly and laid back we would definitely come again, probably out of season. Very easy to find, exactly where it was expected to be.

Date of Visit: September 2013 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Meganannie 3 reviews from this member

We used this site in September 2013 for 12 nights. The staff were very friendly and helpful. Showers and toilets were clean. Dish washing area under cover. Tent pitches are large with a picnic table which is handy. You need to take rock pegs as the ground is very hard. Lovely walks up the mountains and to Beddgelert, which has a lovely ice cream shop, a small shop, which is dear better to go into Porthmadog where there is a tesco and lidl. The steam train stops at the site and if you show your camping and caravan card you will get a discount on the fare. The fresh bread and croissants in the mornings is lovely, but you need to order it the night before. Well worth a first

Date of Visit: August 2013 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Andymac2003 2 reviews from this member

Awesome weekend had at this site in beddgelert. The location was amazing, the toilet block amazing and spotless, the site shop had everything you need even fresh bread in the morning. Staff were extremely helpful offering help or advice on any camping issue. They also had a swing park in the middle of the site which the children loved.

Personally I feel this site is one of the best ones I have stayed at and recommend anyone to stay here if you are planning a trip in beddgelert

Date of Visit: August 2013 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: Campermaid 3 reviews from this member

This site is set in a beautiful location, for that reason I would recommend it. Also, of course, the fact that a steam train comes directly to the site. This is a must do, even though it is a tad expensive. You must have cash also to go on the train, as there is no ticket office, just a station. From site to Porthmadog was almost £40 for 2 adults (one a pensioner). We couldn't afford to go in the other direction because its a longer journey.

The only complaint I have is about the toilets/ shower. Though we were given a code to use these, the ones down our end of the site did NOT have a lock. They were very basic. Think back to formica school toilet cubicles, and you'll get the picture. Not very clean I'm afraid either. Also the shower room had no mirrors or hair dryer. The hair dryer was in the toilet block next door. So after showering you had to take yourself next door to dry your hair ! I must say though that I didn't let this spoil my stay. The showers though a bit grubby were very powerful and hot, which is all you need really. So don't let that put you off. Also, I'm guessing, by other peoples reviews, that the other shower/toilets on the site might have been a bit better. Oh and I did think £24 a night was a bit steep as the showers weren't kept clean. But I suppose you're paying for the location.

Date of Visit: August 2013 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Ems1976 14 reviews from this member

My husband, our 4 year old son and I have just spent a weekend at Camping in the Forest in Beddgelert. It is a Forestry Commission site and it probably one of the most idyllic and peaceful sites Iíve every stayed at. The pitches are well laid out for a site in a forest and the trees provide fantastic shelter. We found the site to be very peaceful, considering itís the school holidays there was little noise and I heard no loud music. It really is a very pretty site. It is situated on the Welsh Highland Railway between Rhu Du and Beddgelert and the steams trains pass by literally 10 metres away from the pitches about 6 times a day (in the summer months, less frequent during off peak times) but they are in no way intrusive and they add to the charm of this site. My son and the friends he made loved waving to them as they went past. The site also has its own request stop so you can jump on board and head towards Carmarthen (£22. 20 per adult return kids free) or Portmadog (£20. 20 per adult return kids free), which we did on a very wet and rainy Saturday. We headed to Portmadog which I have to admit, wish we hadnít. The train was wonderful and the views although cloudy were stunning but Portmadog has little or nothing to do if itís raining, youíre on foot and have had your fill of steam trains. We struggled to keep a 4 year old entertained for 3. 5 hours.

Our time in Portmadog was the only disappointment of our break and we are in no hurry to go back there. There is a 1. 5 mile well sign posted walk through the forest and along a hill into Beddgelert which is a beautiful village and well worth the visit. Itís very small but has an award winning ice cream shop and enough picture postcard pubs to keep most happy, itís also a great place to start other walks in the area, yet never seemed overrun with tourists. Although we did the forest walk into Beddgelert we wondered back to the site along the country road as this was only 1 mile and our son was started to get tired. Iím glad we did this because there were lots of blackberry bushes along the way so we were able to do a spot of blackberry picking too.

Anyhow, I digress Ė back to the site. The shower/toilets were a bit dated and dirty (cobwebs webs etc. ) but they were the most practical weíve ever used. They have the holy grail of camping showers that is adjustable water temperature so us grown ups were able to get a hot show and out son could get a cooler one. We loved this! Also they have little cupboards inside the cubicle to hang your clothes/towels which means your clothes donít end up as wet as you do - brilliant. There was also a more than adequate kids play area but with so much to climb in the forest your kids can have their choice of what to play on ( our soon took to a particular large boulder near our tent).

On the downside, the ground is extremely hard so rock pegs is a must. Thankfully weíd read that before we went and took some, I canít imagine how anyone camping without them would keep a tent up. Also there were lots of mosquitoes (well it is in the woods) so donít forget youíre insect repellent, citronella candles didnít seem to work all that well, I still managed a records number of bites on my legs! Another thing that we didnít like so much was that the superior tent pitches seem to be on a combination of grass and woodchip, although it was more woodchip. This was very uncomfortable when sitting or kneeling inside the tent. Finally there is no bar on the site, while this isnít necessarily a bad thing; if it had one Iíd almost call it the perfect campsite. Overall we loved it here and would back again in a shot. Itís perfect for walkers, couples and families who like the outdoors.

Date of Visit: August 2013 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Paddington_Bear 2 reviews from this member

We have just had two weeks at is campsite. We were on a premium tent pitch which was nice and large though it was very rough with a mix of grass slate and old wood chip. As advised in other reviews, rock pegs are a must. I'd also recommend a footprint to avoid damage to your groundsheet.

The site was lovely and peaceful and the steam train running alongside was enjoyed by the kids a lot.

The toilets and showers are very old and run down. The hand dryer in the gents was broken for several days and a single old towel was used as a replacement. They are are only cleaned once a day, which in high season is insufficient, leaving the place feeling very unhygienic.

The shop on site, provides a bakery service which allows you to order bread the night before. This aside, the shop is near useless for things other than ice-cream and sweets. On several occasions, even essentials like milk and bread (not preordered) were unavailable. There is a small convenience store in the local village which helps, but the shop could be so much more. The nearest supermarket is 20 minutes drive in Porthmadog.

The play park is great and well used by kids from about 5 to 12 or 13 and with a number of small streams and bridges running through the campsite, the kids really enjoyed the stay,

While we were there, the main refuse ins filled up causing people to leave rubbish alongside. I'm sure this was due to extra load over the bank holiday weekend, however I'd have expected the issue to be resolved faster than it was. We left at the end of the week and the bins were still full.

The site has a great location for both general tourists and for walkers with good access across the region to both mountains and places of interest. Overall, we had a good holiday but felt the site let itself down a lot.

Date of Visit: July 2013 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Rob ashcroft 11 reviews from this member

Worth staying here to see the most revolting thing ever. They capture midges in special 'midge magnets' and to demonstrate their efforts in catching the little blighters, the staff placed a month's worth from one device into a pretty large glass specimen jar in the reception area. Not for the faint-hearted.

That aside. The site is brilliant. Staff are great (especially the one that makes the pizzas to order). The location is about the best available for climbing the major peaks. There is a very nice tranquil feel with all the trees around. Loved having the steam railway stopping at the site.

There is a mixture of ground for camping - grass, gravel, or in our case, wood chippings. I found the bark good, but as we were there in 'that' week (the one with the really hot dry weather, I got a bit concerned about fire risk.

There is a new path of excellent quality that goes from the site to Beddgelert about 1 mile away, and takes in fine views of Moel Hebog which is behind the site.

9/10 for the site, and 20/10 for the midges! I might try Easter next time. I can recommend the Gelert Mosquito hat/net that they sell in the shop.

Previous     159 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Save to Virtual Brochure  Add this Site to your Virtual Brochure                                Share  Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Submit your Review for a chance to Win Prizes!
Sponsored by the Caravan ClubSubmit a review to UKCampsite.co.uk of any caravan park or campsite, for a chance to win a caravan towing course or motorhome manoeuvring course worth up to £145, or £100 of Amazon vouchers, courtesy of The Caravan Club. Join the Club for just £44 per year to enjoy access to a great range of caravan sites, benefits and special offers.

If you've visited this site, then please submit a review for a chance to win.

Try our town listings   -   Other Sites in Gwynedd   -   Search for a site

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a Wisport SilverFox 30L Rucksack Visit the UKCS shop for exclusive discounts and offers

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Tribfest Music Festival 14/08 to 17/08 East Yorkshire
An affordable, fantastic weekend away listening to some great live Top tribute bands. Claim discounted entry!!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


4178 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend  -  Pensions Auto-enrolment

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews]  [Facebook]

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2014






0.0576