Log in or Register
Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Beddgelert Camping In The Forest Site

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > UK > Wales > Gwynedd > Site Reviews

Beddgelert Camping In The Forest Site
Heart Of Snowdonia
Gwynedd   (Browse area)
LL55 4UU   See Map                                 Share Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook
Tel: 0845 137 633  or  024 7642 3008

Facilities:  (Key)

Nearby: (within x miles)
1m  1m  
Featured Site

Pitches: 240
Open: Open All Year

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 177 Reviews
              8/10 from 177 Reviews

Units accepted:    Tents  Caravans  Motorhomes 

Special Offer available to UKCampsite.co.uk visitors - see here.

Photos (14)

Reviews:  177 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14   15   16   17   18  

Submit your own Review for a chance to Win 100 of Amazon Vouchers
Win 100 of Amazon vouchersSubmit a review of this site for a chance to win. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win 100 of Amazon vouchers!

Date of Visit: October 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Judorob2802 4 reviews from this member

We have had our Van on this site since April (season pitch)

We chose a Select pitch with a Picnic Bench

Site itself is amazing - clean tidy spacious - the railway and river are nice - the birds and animals make it tranquil

We stayed in the farthest spot which this weekend was Very quiet

We had no tv reception but who cares? dvds to borrow in the shop

The trees mean the site isn't windy and is nicely sheltered

The walk behind the site leads into Beddgelert which you can cycle or walk and at night is beautiful with clear views of Snowdon and the moon and stars!

The showers are tired but tbh this is a minor thing on the whole

The shop is adequate for the site

Pizzas etc available

Staff wonderful! very relaxed

We will miss it! Can wait for April next year!

Date of Visit: October 2015 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Ewen c 4 reviews from this member

A lovely and deceptively large site set amidst woodland teeming with rabbits and squirrels. We went for a select pitch opting to use the hard standing for the car and pitching the tent on the grass. They also have premium pitches and 2 lovely tent fields but without EHU.

The site was easy to find. On arrival, reception was closed but the managers turned up just as we had taken a map to find a pitch. They were very helpful cheerful people and made us feel at home. It took some time to find a pitch we liked but we soon had the tent up. The rock pegs were needed and being October, in a forest the pitch was a bit spongy but nothing we hadn't encountered before and what we expected anyway.

The facilities were spotless. A keycode gets you in to the toilets/shower and I found the gents showers were warm and had good pressure. My wife said that there were a few in the ladies that were not so good but she was very impressed with the cleanliness. Pot washing was next door in the same block along with a laundry. The washing up water was very hot and though we didn't use the laundry, I was impressed by the heated lockers. Invaluable for drying gear after a day on the hill.

Bread and croissants can be ordered at reception and there is also a sitting room with reading material and tv. The biggest attraction was the steam train station which we took advantage of on our only full day there. That afternoon we had an easy 2. 5km walk into Beddgelert along a forestry road and new path behind the campsite. We did take headtorches in case night fell on the way back.

This isn't an immaculately pruned site. It is in a forest. The roads are a bit potholed in places but that was all part of the charm. Highly impressed.

Date of Visit: October 2015 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: Arnoldbongo 4 reviews from this member

Well what can I say. This is my favourite campsite ever. Set in a forest with lovely breathtaking walks accessed from site. Squirrels, rabbits and a beautiful stream. And a steam train that goes along side and has a station on the campsite. There is also a bakery on site. Lovely pretty, clean campsite. Will definitely be returning soon. We (including our two doggies) loved it. Child facilities look nice too although we don't have any, I'm tempted to take my nephew and nieces

Date of Visit: September 2015 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: Dave 418 20 reviews from this member

A great site for visiting this part of North Wales. I forgot about the timings for booking in, but just made it before they closed. The warden made us very welcome and explained were everything was and left us to decide were we would like to pitch.

We found a spot at the back near the station, backing onto the railway. We always need wedges with our van but the pitch seemed flat. Due to the area being in a forest and having very heavy rain one night we had to remember to take our footwear off before getting in the van.

The facilities were clean and tidy, free showers. The drive over service point was a bonus and big enough for us to fill up whilst another van was using the drain point.

There is a small shop that doubles as reception offering fresh bread to order every morning.

The walk through the forest to Bedgelert was well signed and easy. The village is a bit tourist orientated, lots of tea rooms and one small shop/post office.

We didn't use the train this time but it would be a good day out without using the van the site having its own station.

Date of Visit: July 2015 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Heath63 11 reviews from this member

I spent 4 nights here, for an over due revisit. I do love this site. The office was closed on arrival. I pitched up, settled in and went back to the reception, which was open by this time.

Staff were chatty, friendly and helpful per usual. I paid for 3 nights, they said if I decided to stay another night, just let them know.

The reception is the shop as well. From last time I was here, they have rearranged it, now it has a couple of tables, which you could drink coffee, have your breakfast, bread croissants can be ordered the day before. It sells the basics, in case anything has been forgotten or needed.

Books, DVDs can be borrowed.

There is an area where you can sit indoors, if the weather is bad, new from last time, it has comfortable leather settee and chairs, tourist information, leaflets about local attractions, things to do and see, there is loads to do, the site is in a fab location and easy to get around, a Sherpa bus and the bus stop, which is right outside the site.

The toilet and shower facilities are looking a bit tired. They are cleaned for a couple hours a day. The facilities could be kept cleaner longer, if people cleaned up after themselves. Camping etiquette seems to have been eroded.

Such a shame, leaving the showers dirty, by not cleaning the shower tray after use because people are wearing flip flops to walk from their units, leaving mud, leaves, so on for others to clean and not binning dirty knickers.

This is not the staffs fault, but campers themselves.

There seems a few more additions such as drying lockers 2 to use for outdoor gear, located in the laundry room.

Picnic tables have been placed undercover outside the facilities. These were well used by those in smaller tents to cook meals.

The pitches are unregimented, which I love. I pitched in the River field in a fab spot next to the river, bliss. Great to put your bottles of drinks and milk, to help keep cool.

The site being unregimented consideration and careful pitching is needed from fellow campers. The site being in a forest, the area is mountainous, there is going to be loads of water courses and damp at times. Wales wouldn't be Wales without the rain. Rock pegs are needed, because of the terrain. Walks are fab, straight from the site, especially for the four legged type. With the relocation of the bike hire into the village, a new path has be laid, which is a beautiful walk. The village has a dog friendly pub, they don't mind mucky boots either.

For those steam train enthusiasts, there is a station at the site, which will take you to Canaervon or portMadoc.

Why o why did I leave it for a couple of years, before camping there again, after going for years 2 or 3 times a year, as my son loved this site as he was growing up, he used the play area many a time.

Hopefully I won't be waiting so long before returning.

Date of Visit: July 2015 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Hlw7226 2 reviews from this member

This was our first camping experience in quite a few years and what a great start! This camp site is just beautiful. On arrival we were welcomed and given a map of where we could pitch. We decided to pitch in the wrong place (our own inexperience) but still really enjoyed the experience.

The toilets were very clean and closed for an hour and 30 mins a day to clean them (this was a bit inconvenient as my young son had to hold on!) But we appreciated the clean toilets and showers afterwards.

It was so peaceful and relaxing with the rivers and streams right by us - our only issue was the rain but it is snowdonia national park so it is expected. The playground was a little disappointing as the swings had been removed so it was just the frame and a slide but there was more than enough to keep our 2 year old entertained.

We didn't have any issue with people pitching too close - probably as they realised we pitched in the wrong place!

Looking forward to going back and go cycling around this Truely stunning location! Definitely we will go back!

Date of Visit: July 2015 Unit:  Other Rating:
Reviewer: Big Rig 15 reviews from this member

It is certainly a great site which retains many of the attractions of wild camping but with the luxury of power and water but it may be a little too basic for the oldies rather than young campers.

The setting is glorious with a river and a narrow gauge railway running through it and the facilities are basic but clean. The pitches are covered in a sharp gravel which is less than user friendly and many (including ours) slope to the point that even our electrically adjust legs couldn't cope without chocks.

Good staff who are helpful and courteous - and sensible about fees when we had to cut short our stay because of the one major drawback -MIDGES. We were eaten alive (and so was the family pooch) and whilst you expect these beasties in the forest you do not expect a plague of the pests which left us looking like victims of the black death.

Take plenty of repellent (the ones at the site are hugely expensive and largely useless) - we were told that there is an Avon cream which although not sold as a repellent is very effective and used to combat similar pests in the Highlands.

Finally, if you have a large unit do not try to approach the site from any direction other than from the direction of the Caernarvon road - that route is narrow but passable for a fifth wheel, the others are certainly not.

Date of Visit: June 2015 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: Infinity31 6 reviews from this member

Initially booked only one night but stayed for 3. We found this to be a lovely forest site. I asked for a sunny position and the very friendly warden who checked us in directed us to a particular area but left it up to us to choose a pitch (not a Select pitch which could be identified as those with picnic benches). We chose one near the railway crossing on the outer perimeter road but there were also plenty further into the forest as well.

We did use some levelling blocks as we backed into a space which did slope down toward the river which ran though the site. We also saw many pitches which were perfectly flat as well.

The large main shower/laundry and dish washing facility was very well kept and the shower cubicles had a neat area to store your stuff in and kept it totally dry- wish more were like this!

The steam train (Welsh Highland Railways Porthmadog to Caernarvon) went through a few times a day and made for an interesting photo opportunity and a friendly wave between passengers and campers. There was a station for the site itself.

There was also a lovely walk through the forest with great views of the Snowdon ranges about 30 minutes to Beddgelert - or a quicker route along the road about 15mins. The village had a good range of bistros, pubs and cafes and a few gift shops.

The campsite also had its own on site bakery and we ordered a couple of pizzas one night - 8 each ( one would have probably done for two of us!) and croissants for breakfast one morning. Bread and rolls etc also available. The shop was quite well stocked and due to the time of year we needed to buy some 'Skin so Soft' as there were a few midges about.

We would certainly use this forest site again.

Date of Visit: June 2015 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: B20pjg 5 reviews from this member

Booked unfortunately without reading the reviews since we had been to the site some years ago. The reception area was excellent and the staff were extremely friendly which gave us high hopes. We had requested a hardstanding with electric for a motohome. Taking into account the motorhome weighs over three tons and is 7.00 metres in length leaving us to find our own pitch was not really adequate.

We drove twice around the designated area extremely cautiously in view of the overhanging branches and did not see any pitches where the ground was anything like suitable. The vast majority were churned up and soft. My personal view was that if I managed to extricate myself from the site without damage to the motorhome we had done well.

In the event we left the site and went to a another site in Beddgelert.

Date of Visit: May 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: John+judy 81 reviews from this member

As others have said, this is a site with potential to be a lot better. We did find a reasonably level pitch, but I would say this was a rarity. Hardstandings are just patches of roughly spread slate chippings, giving the impression that not much care has been made to make the site tidy. But maybe this rustic approach is a refreshing change from the regimented car park sites run by the big clubs (and others). Toilet/shower facilities were adequate, without being luxurious.

Unfortunately the weather wasn't suitable for high level walking during our stay, so we stayed low, and went underground at the copper mine near Beddgelert. We thought this was interesting but a litlle bit pricy. We also visited Portmeirion, which we thought was wonderful, especially as we are old enough the remember The Prisoner!

I think we would go back, now that we know what to expect, and without our views being spoiled by the more luxurious sites to be found.

Previous     177 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Save to Virtual Brochure  Add this Site to your Virtual Brochure                                Share  Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Submit a Review for a chance to Win 100 of Amazon Vouchers
Win 100 of Amazon vouchersSubmit a review of any caravan park or campsite, for a chance to win. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win 100 of Amazon vouchers!

If you've visited this site, then please submit a review for a chance to win.

Try our town listings   -   Other Sites in Gwynedd   -   Search for a site

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a Buzz Rack Scorpion 2 Bike Carrier Win a CUBO Breeze Inflatable Campervan Awning!

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Camperex 2016 - Liverpool Exhibition Centre 8 - 10th January
Brand new leisure show for touring caravans, motorhomes, campers and park homes. Win tickets!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions

3402 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend  -  Pensions Auto-enrolment

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2015

Advent Calendar
Advent Calendar
Coming Soon!
Sign up for an email reminder