Home

   Log in or Register
   
Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Beddgelert Camping In The Forest Site

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > UK > Wales > Gwynedd > Site Reviews

Beddgelert Camping In The Forest Site
Heart Of Snowdonia
Beddgelert
Gwynedd   (Browse area)
LL55 4UU   See Map                                 Share Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook
Tel: 0845 137 633  or  024 7642 3008

Facilities:  (Key)
          

Nearby:
1m  1m  
Featured Site

Pitches: 240
Open: Open All Year

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 163 Reviews
              8/10 from 163 Reviews


Units accepted:    Tents  Caravans  Motorhomes 

Special Offer available to UKCampsite.co.uk visitors - see here.

Photos (4)

Reviews:  163 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14   15   16   17  

Date of Visit: February 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Fragle27 2 reviews from this member

Just back from 4 nights in the forest and have to say, this site is good but could be wonderful. We were made welcome at reception and the on site facilities are great (nothing a maintenance crew with a week to spare couldn't fix- Hint!) Showers with hot water are expected, but in a building warm enough to be like home, is a bonus.

Roads around site are potholed and our pitch was a bit swampy, select and seasonal pitch area looked much cleaner and tidier, I know its still officially winter but a year round site needs year round pitches.

Grumbles over we would go back, as the views, the walks through the forest and relaxed atmosphere are too good to miss.

Echoing previous review, wouldn't take much to make this a flagship site.

Date of Visit: February 2015 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: Fonant 4 reviews from this member

Pleasant wooded site which was quite busy even in February. Very handy location close to Snowden.

Large purpose-built block with showers, indoor dish washing, and all the usual facilities with central heating and hot water. All functional but a little 'tired' and needing some minor repairs in places. Also a warm 'lounge' block and a useful campsite shop. This site is designed to cater for large numbers of campers!

The West Highland railway wasn't operational when we were there, sadly.

No mobile phone signal or WiFi on site, this is proper wild camping!

Drove into Beddgelert village for a reasonable evening meal at the Prince Llewelyn Hotel, opposite the bridge.

Date of Visit: February 2015 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: LesleyandPeter 22 reviews from this member

This site could be really amazing. Its situation and surrounding countryside are its real bonus.

We initially booked one of their select pitches, however upon arrival we found the select extra large pitches to be more suited to our needs. We expected to pay around 7. 00 extra per night, certainly not the 12. 50 charged, we thought this excessive, this doubled the total cost of our four night stay.

The whole site is in need of a tidy up and the pitches need clear signage. The roads around the site are narrow and potholed.

It is very natural and in keeping with its surroundings but I am sure this could be maintained even with a good re-vamp. The facilities are lovely and clean but in need of updating.

The walk into Beddgelert is lovely, and the site shop sells a really good guide of local walks which is worth investing in.

The whole area is superb, plentiful walks right from the site and with Snowdonia as its back drop it is really picturesque. This site is very well suited to serious walkers, wildlife/landscape photographers, dog owners, Mountain bike enthusiast and with an abundance of attractions within easy reach its a great site for families.

The caravan and camping club have a real gem of a site here, its such a pity its not quite up to standard. With investment it could be a 'flagship' site. The location couldn't be better, which is fortunate for the club as the site is a let down in terms of facilities and whole appearance. Get this place in order and the club have an absolute winner.

Date of Visit: September 2014 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Poulton camper 2 reviews from this member

Well we have just spent a week on this excellent site in the forest. There is no Phone Signal and no TY Reception either which we knew before booking as we wanted a complete 'Get away from it all break' There are loads of walks that go all through the forest, the on site facilities are all excellent and I cannot fault the people in the shop they were very obliging, And as a bonus the Welsh Highland Railway runs across the top of the site in fact the site has its own station too, you can ride to Porthmadog and Caernarfon having said that we felt that Caernarfon itself was a bit of a let down, there are too many shops boarded up. This is a great get away from it all site and is very peaceful and tranquil.

Date of Visit: June 2014 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: Oddfellow23 4 reviews from this member

A lovely stay was had at this lovely welcoming site. Helpful staff, so much wildlife and to top it all, a narrow gauge railway station at the campsite. Home baked bread and pizzas made to order. Clean facilities. Would definitely book this site in the future. A good central location for visiting north wales with steam trains running to porthmadog and Caernarfon from the station on the campsite

Date of Visit: April 2014 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Nedsram 17 reviews from this member

A superb, peaceful site in the forest, with its own station on the Welsh Highland Railway. The place to get away from it all, especially as there is no phone signal and no TV reception (although a satellite dish will get a signal in most locations). An excellent base for walking, with forest tracks going in all directions direct from the site, and access to paths to Snowdon from various stations on the line. The village of Beddgelert is a 30 minute walk away, and has several pubs and cafes, as well as an award winning ice cream parlour. Or you can order pizzas and light snacks on the site, and also bread in the morning. The shop has other essentials such as milk.

Whilst it's very laid back, this does have its problems. In our case mainly that no specific pitch was allocated, and we had difficulty finding one, and also that there were issues with the toilet block, such as the hand cream running out and not being replaced after two days. Minor issues really though, and we would wholeheartedly recommend the site, and would definitely return. Generally the facilities are excellent, including a very good motorhome service point. Very children friendly - although ours have long since flown the nest.

Date of Visit: October 2013 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Ricsi 2 reviews from this member

Stayed in our Motorhome for two nights, friendly and helpful staff, the site was quiet as to be expected off season. The railway, river and new path adjacent to the site are pleasant with an easy walk to Beddgelert or Rhy Du. Pitch was fine and as expected with a forest site a lot of tree cover, dripping trees after rain and lots of shade. Good facilities, shower and toilet blocks a bit tired and look like they have had a long hard season. Reasonable fees, slightly higher at weekends. Good Motorhome service point with chem toilet, grey waste and fresh water and easy to use. One negative would be waste disposal and recycling separation is not so easy to find or signed and judging by the contents most people give up and sling all their rubbish in the general waste red skips. No mobile or TV but we knew this, not a problem.

Date of Visit: October 2013 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Olliesmum 2 reviews from this member

Arrived on an out of season Thursday to this very friendly and trusting site - no warden there but they arrived just as we were taking a map to site ourselves. Very friendly and accommodating ensuring we had all the information we needed to make our stay pleasant. Site is just outside the village with a half hour walk across the signposted footpaths as the road is too narrow to walk safely. Village is touristy and has some basic facilities as well as tea shops/pubs etc. Very much suited for walkers with good supply shop.

Site has all usual camping in forest facilities including toilets showers and hookups and in season the shop does takeaway food and drinks as well as groceries. We were outside of the season and there were basics, as expected.

Facilities as clean as possible in a forest setting. And warm enough to shower in.

Steam train calls at edge of site.

Wild river runs through the site and this would be great for supervised children.

Friendly and laid back we would definitely come again, probably out of season. Very easy to find, exactly where it was expected to be.

Date of Visit: September 2013 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Meganannie 3 reviews from this member

We used this site in September 2013 for 12 nights. The staff were very friendly and helpful. Showers and toilets were clean. Dish washing area under cover. Tent pitches are large with a picnic table which is handy. You need to take rock pegs as the ground is very hard. Lovely walks up the mountains and to Beddgelert, which has a lovely ice cream shop, a small shop, which is dear better to go into Porthmadog where there is a tesco and lidl. The steam train stops at the site and if you show your camping and caravan card you will get a discount on the fare. The fresh bread and croissants in the mornings is lovely, but you need to order it the night before. Well worth a first

Date of Visit: August 2013 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Andymac2003 2 reviews from this member

Awesome weekend had at this site in beddgelert. The location was amazing, the toilet block amazing and spotless, the site shop had everything you need even fresh bread in the morning. Staff were extremely helpful offering help or advice on any camping issue. They also had a swing park in the middle of the site which the children loved.

Personally I feel this site is one of the best ones I have stayed at and recommend anyone to stay here if you are planning a trip in beddgelert

Previous     163 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Save to Virtual Brochure  Add this Site to your Virtual Brochure                                Share  Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Submit your Review for a chance to Win Prizes!
Sponsored by the Caravan ClubSubmit a review to UKCampsite.co.uk of any caravan park or campsite, for a chance to win a caravan towing course or motorhome manoeuvring course worth up to 145, or 100 of Amazon vouchers, courtesy of The Caravan Club. Join the Club for just 44 per year to enjoy access to a great range of caravan sites, benefits and special offers.

If you've visited this site, then please submit a review for a chance to win.

Try our town listings   -   Other Sites in Gwynedd   -   Search for a site

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win an Outwell Smart Air Caravan Awning Visit the UKCS shop for exclusive discounts and offers

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Somerset Motorhome Show 10/04 to 12/04
Features all the latest Motorhomes from leading manufacturers and a host of accessories. Weekend Camping or day tickets

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


4638 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend  -  Pensions Auto-enrolment

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2014






0.0566