Home

   Log in or Register
   
Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Beddgelert Camping In The Forest Site

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > UK > Wales > Gwynedd > Site Reviews

Beddgelert Camping In The Forest Site
Heart Of Snowdonia
Beddgelert
Gwynedd   (Browse area)
LL55 4UU   See Map                                 Share Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook
Tel: 0845 137 633  or  024 7642 3008

Facilities:  (Key)
          

Nearby: (within x miles)
1m  1m  
Featured Site

Pitches: 240
Open: Open All Year

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 168 Reviews
              8/10 from 168 Reviews


Units accepted:    Tents  Caravans  Motorhomes 

Special Offer available to UKCampsite.co.uk visitors - see here.

Photos (4)

Reviews:  168 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14   15   16   17  

Submit your own Review for a chance to Win 100 of Amazon Vouchers
Win 100 of Amazon vouchersSubmit a review of this site for a chance to win. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win 100 of Amazon vouchers!

Date of Visit: June 2015 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: Infinity31 6 reviews from this member

Initially booked only one night but stayed for 3. We found this to be a lovely forest site. I asked for a sunny position and the very friendly warden who checked us in directed us to a particular area but left it up to us to choose a pitch (not a Select pitch which could be identified as those with picnic benches). We chose one near the railway crossing on the outer perimeter road but there were also plenty further into the forest as well.

We did use some levelling blocks as we backed into a space which did slope down toward the river which ran though the site. We also saw many pitches which were perfectly flat as well.

The large main shower/laundry and dish washing facility was very well kept and the shower cubicles had a neat area to store your stuff in and kept it totally dry- wish more were like this!

The steam train (Welsh Highland Railways Porthmadog to Caernarvon) went through a few times a day and made for an interesting photo opportunity and a friendly wave between passengers and campers. There was a station for the site itself.

There was also a lovely walk through the forest with great views of the Snowdon ranges about 30 minutes to Beddgelert - or a quicker route along the road about 15mins. The village had a good range of bistros, pubs and cafes and a few gift shops.

The campsite also had its own on site bakery and we ordered a couple of pizzas one night - 8 each ( one would have probably done for two of us!) and croissants for breakfast one morning. Bread and rolls etc also available. The shop was quite well stocked and due to the time of year we needed to buy some 'Skin so Soft' as there were a few midges about.

We would certainly use this forest site again.

Date of Visit: June 2015 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: B20pjg 5 reviews from this member

Booked unfortunately without reading the reviews since we had been to the site some years ago. The reception area was excellent and the staff were extremely friendly which gave us high hopes. We had requested a hardstanding with electric for a motohome. Taking into account the motorhome weighs over three tons and is 7.00 metres in length leaving us to find our own pitch was not really adequate.

We drove twice around the designated area extremely cautiously in view of the overhanging branches and did not see any pitches where the ground was anything like suitable. The vast majority were churned up and soft. My personal view was that if I managed to extricate myself from the site without damage to the motorhome we had done well.

In the event we left the site and went to a another site in Beddgelert.

Date of Visit: May 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: John+judy 74 reviews from this member

As others have said, this is a site with potential to be a lot better. We did find a reasonably level pitch, but I would say this was a rarity. Hardstandings are just patches of roughly spread slate chippings, giving the impression that not much care has been made to make the site tidy. But maybe this rustic approach is a refreshing change from the regimented car park sites run by the big clubs (and others). Toilet/shower facilities were adequate, without being luxurious.

Unfortunately the weather wasn't suitable for high level walking during our stay, so we stayed low, and went underground at the copper mine near Beddgelert. We thought this was interesting but a litlle bit pricy. We also visited Portmeirion, which we thought was wonderful, especially as we are old enough the remember The Prisoner!

I think we would go back, now that we know what to expect, and without our views being spoiled by the more luxurious sites to be found.

Date of Visit: April 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: HellsBells2805 3 reviews from this member

This was our first experience of 'camping in the forest' so we were unsure what to expect. The setting was idyllic and the nature of it obviously leads to it being laid out a lot less formally and somewhat haphazard. We had booked a super pitch and requested a pitch nearer to the children's playground. We were advised to look for pitch 105 and were given a map and left to find our way and basically pitch where we wanted. However, the pitches were badly marked and it was very hard to find the right pitch relating to the type we had booked. My one big gripe was the state of the pitches. Obviously it is in a natural settting, which was beautiful, but the pitches were impossibly uneven and in the end, in the rain, we gave up and lived with a lopsided van for the duration. If that could be addressed, the site would be perfect! From the stream running through the heart of the campsite, to the children's playground, to the on site train stop, to the freshly baked bread and pizzas you could order - amazing. Toilets/showers were cold, but spotlessly clean, as were the pot washing and laundry facilities. Wonderfully placed for access to so many areas of interest and beauty. Just sort the pitches out and this would be the perfect site. As previous reviews have said, this site has the potential to be a flagship site, but it does feel a bit neglected. Would recommend to anyone, but take plenty of chocks and even then expect to be lopsided!

Date of Visit: April 2015 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Guinny 2 reviews from this member

Awful place avoid like the plague if you have a tent with hook up!

We were directed to an area for premium grass with hook up.

Not a blade of grass in site, it was mud and when it rained it was dangerous, muddy and waterlogged after only one rain shower. Our tent is so covered in mud were going to have to send it away to be cleaned, as its a large 8 berth.

It was also like camping in a huge dog kennels, dogs yapping all night from caravans everyone seemed to have up to 3 dogs, and most were off leads. The staff member blamed farm dogs ! not unless the farm dogs sleep in caravans feet from you lol !.

The toilet block is awful, tepid showers, half of ladies loos didn't flush unless you nearly broke your arm forcing them.

The toilet blocks weren't cleaned in 6 days, my hubby left toothpaste on 2 sinks and I left scrunched up tissue in plan view they were still there when we left.

The premium tent area is next to chemical toilet waste, on one side and on the other a road into the forest that's open to public and was used like a main road feet from our tent! The farmers banged over cattle grid at all hours with trailers etc.

So not a very secure site either.

The tent next to us had a teen girl in who giggled all night, she sounded like a donkey in pain.

We left early, was appalling, probably great if you like noisy kids, traffic, and yapping dogs, and no hygiene.

We use forest holidays a lot and this is certainly well below standard.

There's never any staff around so we couldn't complain, shop always closed, too.

I only by chance saw a staff member when we were leaving told her our woes, and she was indifferent and nasty, probably as she has dogs that yapp all the time, we drove past her permanent caravan and 2 black dogs left to own devices,

We were warned about no phone reception which we didn't mind, but nobody either at site or on forest holiday site did it say no TV reception!

Date of Visit: February 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Fragle27 2 reviews from this member

Just back from 4 nights in the forest and have to say, this site is good but could be wonderful. We were made welcome at reception and the on site facilities are great (nothing a maintenance crew with a week to spare couldn't fix- Hint!) Showers with hot water are expected, but in a building warm enough to be like home, is a bonus.

Roads around site are potholed and our pitch was a bit swampy, select and seasonal pitch area looked much cleaner and tidier, I know its still officially winter but a year round site needs year round pitches.

Grumbles over we would go back, as the views, the walks through the forest and relaxed atmosphere are too good to miss.

Echoing previous review, wouldn't take much to make this a flagship site.

Date of Visit: February 2015 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: Fonant 4 reviews from this member

Pleasant wooded site which was quite busy even in February. Very handy location close to Snowden.

Large purpose-built block with showers, indoor dish washing, and all the usual facilities with central heating and hot water. All functional but a little 'tired' and needing some minor repairs in places. Also a warm 'lounge' block and a useful campsite shop. This site is designed to cater for large numbers of campers!

The West Highland railway wasn't operational when we were there, sadly.

No mobile phone signal or WiFi on site, this is proper wild camping!

Drove into Beddgelert village for a reasonable evening meal at the Prince Llewelyn Hotel, opposite the bridge.

Date of Visit: February 2015 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: LesleyandPeter 23 reviews from this member

This site could be really amazing. Its situation and surrounding countryside are its real bonus.

We initially booked one of their select pitches, however upon arrival we found the select extra large pitches to be more suited to our needs. We expected to pay around 7. 00 extra per night, certainly not the 12. 50 charged, we thought this excessive, this doubled the total cost of our four night stay.

The whole site is in need of a tidy up and the pitches need clear signage. The roads around the site are narrow and potholed.

It is very natural and in keeping with its surroundings but I am sure this could be maintained even with a good re-vamp. The facilities are lovely and clean but in need of updating.

The walk into Beddgelert is lovely, and the site shop sells a really good guide of local walks which is worth investing in.

The whole area is superb, plentiful walks right from the site and with Snowdonia as its back drop it is really picturesque. This site is very well suited to serious walkers, wildlife/landscape photographers, dog owners, Mountain bike enthusiast and with an abundance of attractions within easy reach its a great site for families.

The caravan and camping club have a real gem of a site here, its such a pity its not quite up to standard. With investment it could be a 'flagship' site. The location couldn't be better, which is fortunate for the club as the site is a let down in terms of facilities and whole appearance. Get this place in order and the club have an absolute winner.

Date of Visit: September 2014 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Poulton camper 2 reviews from this member

Well we have just spent a week on this excellent site in the forest. There is no Phone Signal and no TY Reception either which we knew before booking as we wanted a complete 'Get away from it all break' There are loads of walks that go all through the forest, the on site facilities are all excellent and I cannot fault the people in the shop they were very obliging, And as a bonus the Welsh Highland Railway runs across the top of the site in fact the site has its own station too, you can ride to Porthmadog and Caernarfon having said that we felt that Caernarfon itself was a bit of a let down, there are too many shops boarded up. This is a great get away from it all site and is very peaceful and tranquil.

Date of Visit: June 2014 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: Oddfellow23 6 reviews from this member

A lovely stay was had at this lovely welcoming site. Helpful staff, so much wildlife and to top it all, a narrow gauge railway station at the campsite. Home baked bread and pizzas made to order. Clean facilities. Would definitely book this site in the future. A good central location for visiting north wales with steam trains running to porthmadog and Caernarfon from the station on the campsite

Previous     168 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Save to Virtual Brochure  Add this Site to your Virtual Brochure                                Share  Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Submit a Review for a chance to Win 100 of Amazon Vouchers
Win 100 of Amazon vouchersSubmit a review of any caravan park or campsite, for a chance to win. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win 100 of Amazon vouchers!

If you've visited this site, then please submit a review for a chance to win.

Try our town listings   -   Other Sites in Gwynedd   -   Search for a site

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a Highlander Aeolus 4 Air Frame Tent Visit the UKCS shop for exclusive discounts and offers

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Elvaston Steam Rally and Camping Weekend 4th to 5th July
HURRY Advanced booking now open - 3 nights camping in any unit, and admission to rally all weekend

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


6244 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend  -  Pensions Auto-enrolment

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2015






0.0625