Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Beddgelert Camping In The Forest Site

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > UK > Wales > Gwynedd > Site Reviews

Beddgelert Camping In The Forest Site
Heart Of Snowdonia
Beddgelert
Gwynedd   (Browse area)
LL55 4UU   See Map                                 Share Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook
Tel: 024 7642 3008  or  01766 890288

Facilities:  (Key)
          

Nearby: (within x miles)
1m  1m  
Featured Site

Pitches: 240
Open: Open All Year

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 185 Reviews
              8/10 from 185 Reviews


Units accepted:    Tents  Caravans  Motorhomes 

Special Offer available to UKCampsite.co.uk visitors - see here.

Photos (14)

Reviews:  185 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14   15   16   17   18   19  

Submit your own Review for a chance to Win £100!
Win £100Submit a review of this site for your chance to win £100 of Caravan Club vouchers or £100 of Amazon vouchers, courtesy of this month's sponsor, The Caravan Club. Join The Club from just £48 per year to enjoy access to over 2,700 sites, exclusive member benefits and site special offers.

Date of Visit: September 2016 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Scrambling Goth 1 review from this member

I suspect people will either love or loathe this site. This band of three middle-aged hillwalkers loved it and hope to return. So to more detail.

Echoing other reviews, bring rock pegs/langdale spikes or anything else resembling a hardened six-inch nail. Even pegging down a groundsheet needed rock pegs. And tent-occupants are advised to bring a strong supplementary groundsheet/footprint: we missed one flake of rock which almost punctured the bathtub groundsheet even through a heavy footprint.

Another essential: a head-torch or similar. There are lighting bollards throughout the site, but when we were there quite a few were out of action, and on the odd occasion I ventured lampless towards the toilet block in dead of night I encountered 'navigational problems'.

I feel that caravanners would find most of their pitches are tree-shaded (though not Forestry Commission Telegraph-pole trees) and some might not like this. The tent pitches were more varied, with two fields in the open being available for non-hook-up campers. There were pitches for tents with hook-up both under trees and in more open situations. The pitches we were among are a good size, with easy car access - no lugging of gear over more than a few yards, though they were a bit denuded of grass by that point in the season.

The shop's useful, the staff friendly and the bread excellent. Gas refills are available on site, something I didn't notice until after trekking off elsewhere. The curse of the midges was no worse than other places we've been, even for our highly midge-attracting member. Access roads on site are fine, with just the one pothole I managed to find, fortunately after the car had been unloaded.

The shower/loo/washing up block was clean and adequate, though perhaps some attention might be given to some tired fittings: taps in the washing up room might be a little cantankerous and it wasn't until our last day that I found that two of the (free) showers were considerably hotter and wetter than the others. Our female member said that the roof skylights over some of the showers were leaking in the heavy rain and made using them less than ideal. We didn't use the laundry, but it looked OK.

Very pleasant, easy half-hour stroll into Beddgelert itself (good local Spar, pubs, the steak pudding at one was wonderful). The obvious route up Moel Hebog runs off from here. Equally pleasant stroll up to Rhyd Ddu (jumping off point for one of the Snowdon paths), accompanied by the Welsh Highland Railway. The Caernarfon road is slow, serpentine and narrow, by the way. Good outdoor shops, especially round Bettws-y-Coed. Worth acquiring a smattering of Welsh in this part of the Principality, even if only to understand the instructions on some parking meters and the meaning of 'Dim Parcio'!

We were there late season, and a little wash-and-brush-up might be due over the winter, as outlined above. If manicured lawn pitches are your thing, or if you want a more vibrant set of facilities, then this isn't the place for you. It's quiet, very dark at night and pitching may need a little thought. But for anyone who has a love of the outdoors without a huge overlay of tourist facilities this is about as good as it gets.

Date of Visit: September 2016 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Exelby 1 review from this member

Just came back from this camp site. It was the first time we have visited this site. The atmosphere was very relaxed. The staff were friendly and informative. The facilities were great (lovely hot showers ). Clean. A great base plenty to see and do. Will definitely be going back and can highly recommend.

Date of Visit: May 2016 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: PilgrimPhil 60 reviews from this member

We used the Camping in the Forest site at Beddgelert in May 2016 to support the first part of our own 2016 National Three Peaks Challenge.

The site is in a typical forest location; it is very non-regimented with lots of different areas to pitch up. We chose the area the furthest away from reception but even then we had a toilet block close by. Good hardstanding with EHU at each pitch.

The Welsh Highland Railway runs right by the site. In fact the site has itís own station, Meillionen, and runs from Porthmadog to Caernarfon.

In order to commence our preferred Snowdon ascent, it was necessary to catch the bus [the Snowdon Sherpa] from the site entrance, change in Beddgelert and then onto Pen-y-Pass to start the Pyg Track route.

Once at the summit and having the de rigueur photos taken at the trig point, we descended down the Rhydd-Ddu path. Unfortunately the connecting bus was missed which meant a 2 hour wait for the next one whilst refreshments were taken at The Cwellyn Arms [the sign saying that it was open 9 days a week!]. So it is possible to do a linear route up & over Snowdon using public transport.

So, in summary, the site is superbly located to access all of Snowdonia.

Date of Visit: June 2016 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: Auraura 4 reviews from this member

This is a very pleasant site set in the Snowdon area, if you take the walk up into the adjoining hills over the steam railway line you have grand views of the mountain. The site facilities are good, plenty of showers and toilets to go round and a nice on site shop. Within easy walking distance of nearby village.

Date of Visit: March 2016 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Pjkxpjkx 2 reviews from this member

Great place to visit if you like any of cycling, forests, pubs, steam railways, walking, and Snowdonia. Fortunately we like all of these.

The site is a little tired but everything is clean and works.

Most of the potholes have been filled in and the new wardens are working on it.

You can still order bread and cakes and borrow DVDs every day but pizzas are off at the moment.

Doggie pubs are the Prince Llewelyn Hotel which does pub food and the Saracens Head Hotel which is finer. The Tanronnen Inn does not allow dogs so not visited.

The Welsh Highland Railway is an outstanding achievement which you must have a go on despite the eye watering fare price. If you don't want to go far, we suggest that you go to Rhyd-Ddu, visit the Cwellyn Arms for lunch and then you can always work it off by going up the path towards Snowdon.

Pete & Pat

Date of Visit: March 2016 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Freecamper 6 reviews from this member

Dirty site it needs a good tidy up roads full of potholes that could damage your car or outfit. Grass pitches with no grass on them very muddy hardstanding covered in leaves and moss on them I wouldn't mine but the leaves fell off months ago. Overhanging trees on the roads that need cutting back it needs a revamp and took up to date rubbish skips full no plugs in the washing up sinks water running from toilet block gutting blocked by leaves. Toilets not cleaned for 4 days no bread in the shop and they bake on site this was at Easter no lights work on the site at night so pitch black. I did not see the wardens do a thing in 5 days. For the price of this site and part of the caravan & camping club I would expect a better standard also no tv or phone but apart from that the site is in a very nice place and some very nice walks and the west highland train comes in to the site

Date of Visit: December 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Campalots 16 reviews from this member

Great site with friendly wardens, there if you need them but not intrusive. Not a lot going on as it was New Year but lovely walks into the village. Pitches well drained even with the rain we had. Facilities are good, closed for cleaning throughout the day and keycode to get in. This is our second visit to the site and we cant wait to return in Spring.

Date of Visit: October 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Judorob2802 4 reviews from this member

We have had our Van on this site since April (season pitch)

We chose a Select pitch with a Picnic Bench

Site itself is amazing - clean tidy spacious - the railway and river are nice - the birds and animals make it tranquil

We stayed in the farthest spot which this weekend was Very quiet

We had no tv reception but who cares? dvds to borrow in the shop

The trees mean the site isn't windy and is nicely sheltered

The walk behind the site leads into Beddgelert which you can cycle or walk and at night is beautiful with clear views of Snowdon and the moon and stars!

The showers are tired but tbh this is a minor thing on the whole

The shop is adequate for the site

Pizzas etc available

Staff wonderful! very relaxed

We will miss it! Can wait for April next year!

Date of Visit: October 2015 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Ewen c 6 reviews from this member

A lovely and deceptively large site set amidst woodland teeming with rabbits and squirrels. We went for a select pitch opting to use the hard standing for the car and pitching the tent on the grass. They also have premium pitches and 2 lovely tent fields but without EHU.

The site was easy to find. On arrival, reception was closed but the managers turned up just as we had taken a map to find a pitch. They were very helpful cheerful people and made us feel at home. It took some time to find a pitch we liked but we soon had the tent up. The rock pegs were needed and being October, in a forest the pitch was a bit spongy but nothing we hadn't encountered before and what we expected anyway.

The facilities were spotless. A keycode gets you in to the toilets/shower and I found the gents showers were warm and had good pressure. My wife said that there were a few in the ladies that were not so good but she was very impressed with the cleanliness. Pot washing was next door in the same block along with a laundry. The washing up water was very hot and though we didn't use the laundry, I was impressed by the heated lockers. Invaluable for drying gear after a day on the hill.

Bread and croissants can be ordered at reception and there is also a sitting room with reading material and tv. The biggest attraction was the steam train station which we took advantage of on our only full day there. That afternoon we had an easy 2. 5km walk into Beddgelert along a forestry road and new path behind the campsite. We did take headtorches in case night fell on the way back.

This isn't an immaculately pruned site. It is in a forest. The roads are a bit potholed in places but that was all part of the charm. Highly impressed.

Date of Visit: October 2015 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: Arnoldbongo 4 reviews from this member

Well what can I say. This is my favourite campsite ever. Set in a forest with lovely breathtaking walks accessed from site. Squirrels, rabbits and a beautiful stream. And a steam train that goes along side and has a station on the campsite. There is also a bakery on site. Lovely pretty, clean campsite. Will definitely be returning soon. We (including our two doggies) loved it. Child facilities look nice too although we don't have any, I'm tempted to take my nephew and nieces

Previous     185 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Save to Virtual Brochure  Add this Site to your Virtual Brochure                                Share  Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Submit a Review for a chance to Win £100!
Sponsored by the Caravan ClubSubmit a review to UKCampsite.co.uk of any caravan park or campsite for your chance to win your choice of £100 of Caravan Club vouchers or £100 of Amazon vouchers, courtesy of this month's sponsor, The Caravan Club

If you've visited this site, then please submit a review for a chance to win.

Try our town listings   -   Other Sites in Gwynedd   -   Search for a site

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a OLPRO Caravan Cover 3 sets of AutoSock car snow socks to be won

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Manchester Caravan & Motorhome Show 2017 - 19th to 22nd January
A huge choice of the latest model caravans, motorhomes and holiday homes on display from over 200 exhibitors ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3747 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend  -  Pensions Auto-enrolment

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2016




UKCampsite.co.uk
Advent Calendar
Advent Calendar
24 Daily Prizes and a Christmas Day Star Prize worth £289.99!
Open Today's Window!





0.1250