Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Beddgelert Campsite

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > UK > Wales > Gwynedd > Site Reviews

Beddgelert Campsite
Snowdonia
Beddgelert
Gwynedd   (Browse area)
LL55 4UU   See Map                                 Share Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook
Tel: 01283 228616

Facilities:  (Key)
          

Nearby: (within x miles)
1m  1m 1m  1m   1m  1m 

Pitches: 85
Open: 01/06/18 To 31/10/18

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 191 Reviews
              8/10 from 191 Reviews


Units accepted:    Tents  Caravans  Motorhomes 

Reviews:  191 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14   15   16   17   18   19   20  

Write your own Review for a chance to Win £300 of Prizes!
Sponsored by Ordnance SurveyWin a £300 Prize Package including £100 of Amazon vouchers, courtesy of our sponsor Ordnance Survey If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Further info and prize details here

Date of Visit: October 2017 Unit:  Other
Reviewer: Webmaster 30 reviews from this member

Please note, as from 31 October 2017 Camping in the Forest will cease to operate this campsite, and Forest Holidays will take over operation of the site. From June 2018 there will be a reduced number (85) of camping and caravanning pitches - the rest of the site is being developed into luxury cabins which can also be booked through the Forest Holidays website.

Date of Visit: September 2017 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Pudster 1 review from this member

This is a picturesque site with a river that runs through a lot of it. I booked in with Dave Gorman who was very informative and friendly. The ground were we where was good, I just pushed the pegs in with the heel of my boot. It's quite a large site with a play area for the kids and a steam train that runs on the edge of it, you can get the train from a small covered station within the sites grounds. There are large bins everywhere and the facilities are the best that I've seen. Plenty of showers, sinks and toilets that are very clean and hot water was in an instant. We heard no noise except for odd car passing. (we pitched close to the road) but it didn't bother us and after about 7pm I didn't hear any cars. Beddgelert is just over a mile away with great pubs and a few shops. I've heard from a good source that in the summer there will still be camping but the site will be about half the size due to the log cabins. I really hope that this is the case because I would definitely go again.

Date of Visit: April 2017 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Theangrybudgie 4 reviews from this member

MY wife and I have just returned from a long bank holiday weekend camping at this site near Beddgelert. If I only had one word to describe the site. Stunning!

We booked a tent pitch with electric hook up, reception were excellent and showed us where the EHU tent area was and, we could choose any available pitch. From memory I think there were 7 or 8 EHU tent pitches in total. Each pitch was large and had a wood chipping base surrounded by grass. As a previous review said, rock pegs are a must and, a strong arm!

We chose our pitch at the top of the section, which meant we were closest to the forest and, the level crossing for the Welsh Highland Railway. A real highlight was watching the Steam Trains pass from mere meters from our tent! The tpilet/shower block was a short walk away and always clean. Showers were easy to use, they were the push the button for 45sec etc. Then press again variety. Good washing up facilities and laundry room.

Over by the reception was the bakery, when you arrive, along with the shower/toilet block code, the staff give you a short order form for you to take and pre-order any baked items. Like bread, pastries etc. Next to that was another hut with lots of leaflets/maps etc. Inside. Reception also had a decent sized shop too.

The site is large and, I really liked how the pitches were fitted in/around the trees not in a regimented style!

Important things to note, these are no way meant to be taken as negatives. There is little light around the site, taking a torch is an absolute must. That being said, because of the near non existent light pollution, the skies at night were epic! Second, depending on your network, there is no mobile phone signal. I am on O2, my wife EE and the family we were travelling with Vodafone, none of us had coverage on site. I (o2) only have signal when we traveled to Porthmadog or back towards Caernarfon. Again, not a bad thing, it meant we had a good weekend away, disconnected from the outside world!

The site is on the foothills of Mt Snowdon and, the Rdyd Ddu path to the summit of Snowdon is only a short drive away.

Date of Visit: April 2017 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Jimmyzen21 1 review from this member

Went for a weekend break. Upon arrival we were directed by a member of staff who was very helpful and told us where we could pitch, gave us a map and gave us the toilet block codes. The pitches where very clean and dry and we could pull our car (Mini Cooper) right up to the pitching location.

Be advised that rock pegs are essential and to find a level patch of ground.

Very quiet and and scenic. Even had a gentle stream flowing behind us.

The toilet blocks were pristine with plenty of toilets showers and sinks all with instant hot water!

Although the didn't make use of them, there was a laundry room and a dish washing room.

Our highlight was beddgelert forest 2 minutes from site. Amazing forest walks, steam railway and crystal clear pebble bottom streams.

20 minutes drive to the nearest 'town' where there was a tesco, camping shops and other stores. 25 minutes of driving took us to criccieth beach which boasts an accident castle and stunning clear seas.

The camp also allowed out husky and all dogs there were friendly.

I will be returning in a few weeks. Instantly hooked. Not a bad word to say for this campsite. If you want the wild camp with the modern facilities. This is for you!

Date of Visit: December 2016 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Dawnyowl2905 9 reviews from this member

Chose this site for New Year -mainly because our usual 'favourite' sites were closed.

We were welcomed on our arrival by friendly helpful staff and allowed to choose our own pitch. As said it's a forest site so no tv signal, no internet or phone signal either but we didn't mind this for a few nights and we found ourselves playing cards and listening to the radio.

The site is quite muddy and uneven and you definitely need a torch at night. The showers were acceptable but not outstanding. I too - like another reviewer took a day or two to realise that one set of showers you could turn up the temperature but the other set was fixed and a little too cold for me with it being winter.

There is a lovely walk into Beddgellert which has shops, cafes and pubs etc and of course a visit to Gellerts grave is a must. We also ventured into Porth Madoc in the Motorhome but have to say I was glad I wasn't driving on the narrow windy roads.

We didn't get the train which runs through the camp site as it wasn't running all the way on New Year's Day but it was lovely to see it trundling through.

As said the site is acceptable but not outstanding. It could do with a facelift especially the toilet and shower block.

Date of Visit: December 2016 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: Ian Julie 6 reviews from this member

Having stayed at this site before we chose to give it another try.

Our first stay was enjoyed so return we did.

Great staff on arrival and more than forthcoming with information of the local area.

You choose your own pitch on arrival which can be a struggle when busy and some of the pitches are not very defined. Both of our visits we have had a good pitch and the site was almost full on second visit.

Set in woodland and can be very wet and slightly muddy.

Great location for walking and site seeing alike and also has the Welsh Highland railway station on site.

Overall this is a good site but shower blocks could do with modernization as they are looking tired but they are adequate.

Would I stay here again the answer is yes.

TAKE A TORCH

Date of Visit: September 2016 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Scrambling Goth 2 reviews from this member

I suspect people will either love or loathe this site. This band of three middle-aged hillwalkers loved it and hope to return. So to more detail.

Echoing other reviews, bring rock pegs/langdale spikes or anything else resembling a hardened six-inch nail. Even pegging down a groundsheet needed rock pegs. And tent-occupants are advised to bring a strong supplementary groundsheet/footprint: we missed one flake of rock which almost punctured the bathtub groundsheet even through a heavy footprint.

Another essential: a head-torch or similar. There are lighting bollards throughout the site, but when we were there quite a few were out of action, and on the odd occasion I ventured lampless towards the toilet block in dead of night I encountered 'navigational problems'.

I feel that caravanners would find most of their pitches are tree-shaded (though not Forestry Commission Telegraph-pole trees) and some might not like this. The tent pitches were more varied, with two fields in the open being available for non-hook-up campers. There were pitches for tents with hook-up both under trees and in more open situations. The pitches we were among are a good size, with easy car access - no lugging of gear over more than a few yards, though they were a bit denuded of grass by that point in the season.

The shop's useful, the staff friendly and the bread excellent. Gas refills are available on site, something I didn't notice until after trekking off elsewhere. The curse of the midges was no worse than other places we've been, even for our highly midge-attracting member. Access roads on site are fine, with just the one pothole I managed to find, fortunately after the car had been unloaded.

The shower/loo/washing up block was clean and adequate, though perhaps some attention might be given to some tired fittings: taps in the washing up room might be a little cantankerous and it wasn't until our last day that I found that two of the (free) showers were considerably hotter and wetter than the others. Our female member said that the roof skylights over some of the showers were leaking in the heavy rain and made using them less than ideal. We didn't use the laundry, but it looked OK.

Very pleasant, easy half-hour stroll into Beddgelert itself (good local Spar, pubs, the steak pudding at one was wonderful). The obvious route up Moel Hebog runs off from here. Equally pleasant stroll up to Rhyd Ddu (jumping off point for one of the Snowdon paths), accompanied by the Welsh Highland Railway. The Caernarfon road is slow, serpentine and narrow, by the way. Good outdoor shops, especially round Bettws-y-Coed. Worth acquiring a smattering of Welsh in this part of the Principality, even if only to understand the instructions on some parking meters and the meaning of 'Dim Parcio'!

We were there late season, and a little wash-and-brush-up might be due over the winter, as outlined above. If manicured lawn pitches are your thing, or if you want a more vibrant set of facilities, then this isn't the place for you. It's quiet, very dark at night and pitching may need a little thought. But for anyone who has a love of the outdoors without a huge overlay of tourist facilities this is about as good as it gets.

Date of Visit: September 2016 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Exelby 1 review from this member

Just came back from this camp site. It was the first time we have visited this site. The atmosphere was very relaxed. The staff were friendly and informative. The facilities were great (lovely hot showers ). Clean. A great base plenty to see and do. Will definitely be going back and can highly recommend.

Date of Visit: May 2016 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: PilgrimPhil 68 reviews from this member

We used the Camping in the Forest site at Beddgelert in May 2016 to support the first part of our own 2016 National Three Peaks Challenge.

The site is in a typical forest location; it is very non-regimented with lots of different areas to pitch up. We chose the area the furthest away from reception but even then we had a toilet block close by. Good hardstanding with EHU at each pitch.

The Welsh Highland Railway runs right by the site. In fact the site has itís own station, Meillionen, and runs from Porthmadog to Caernarfon.

In order to commence our preferred Snowdon ascent, it was necessary to catch the bus [the Snowdon Sherpa] from the site entrance, change in Beddgelert and then onto Pen-y-Pass to start the Pyg Track route.

Once at the summit and having the de rigueur photos taken at the trig point, we descended down the Rhydd-Ddu path. Unfortunately the connecting bus was missed which meant a 2 hour wait for the next one whilst refreshments were taken at The Cwellyn Arms [the sign saying that it was open 9 days a week!]. So it is possible to do a linear route up & over Snowdon using public transport.

So, in summary, the site is superbly located to access all of Snowdonia.

Date of Visit: June 2016 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: Auraura 6 reviews from this member

This is a very pleasant site set in the Snowdon area, if you take the walk up into the adjoining hills over the steam railway line you have grand views of the mountain. The site facilities are good, plenty of showers and toilets to go round and a nice on site shop. Within easy walking distance of nearby village.

Previous     191 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Save to Virtual Brochure  Add this Site to your Virtual Brochure                                Share  Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write your own Review for a chance to Win £300 of Prizes!
Sponsored by Ordnance SurveyWin a £300 Prize Package including £100 of Amazon vouchers, courtesy of our sponsor Ordnance Survey If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Further info and prize details here

Try our town listings   -   Other Sites in Gwynedd   -   Search for a site

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win 3 AutoSock car snowsock sets worth £49.95+ each Win an OLPRO Caravan Cover in your size

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Manchester Caravan & Motorhome Show 18 to 21 January 2018
Advanced booking discount plus we have 15 pairs of tickets to give away ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


5077 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend  -  Pensions Auto-enrolment

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2017






0.0986
UKCampsite.co.uk
Advent Calendar

Coming Soon!
Advent Calendar

24 Daily Prizes worth up to £100 and a Christmas Day Star Prize worth £500!
Get an Email
Reminder on 1st Dec