Log in or Register
Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Beddgelert Camping In The Forest Site

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > UK > Wales > Gwynedd > Site Reviews

Beddgelert Camping In The Forest Site
Heart Of Snowdonia
Gwynedd   (Browse area)
LL55 4UU   See Map                                 Share Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook
Tel: 0845 137 633  or  024 7642 3008

Facilities:  (Key)

Nearby: (within x miles)
1m  1m  
Featured Site

Pitches: 240
Open: Open All Year

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 174 Reviews
              8/10 from 174 Reviews

Units accepted:    Tents  Caravans  Motorhomes 

Special Offer available to UKCampsite.co.uk visitors - see here.

Photos (4)

Reviews:  174 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14   15   16   17   18  

Submit your own Review for a chance to Win 100 of Amazon Vouchers
Win 100 of Amazon vouchersSubmit a review of this site for a chance to win. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win 100 of Amazon vouchers!

Date of Visit: September 2015 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: Dave 418 17 reviews from this member

A great site for visiting this part of North Wales. I forgot about the timings for booking in, but just made it before they closed. The warden made us very welcome and explained were everything was and left us to decide were we would like to pitch.

We found a spot at the back near the station, backing onto the railway. We always need wedges with our van but the pitch seemed flat. Due to the area being in a forest and having very heavy rain one night we had to remember to take our footwear off before getting in the van.

The facilities were clean and tidy, free showers. The drive over service point was a bonus and big enough for us to fill up whilst another van was using the drain point.

There is a small shop that doubles as reception offering fresh bread to order every morning.

The walk through the forest to Bedgelert was well signed and easy. The village is a bit tourist orientated, lots of tea rooms and one small shop/post office.

We didn't use the train this time but it would be a good day out without using the van the site having its own station.

Date of Visit: July 2015 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Heath63 11 reviews from this member

I spent 4 nights here, for an over due revisit. I do love this site. The office was closed on arrival. I pitched up, settled in and went back to the reception, which was open by this time.

Staff were chatty, friendly and helpful per usual. I paid for 3 nights, they said if I decided to stay another night, just let them know.

The reception is the shop as well. From last time I was here, they have rearranged it, now it has a couple of tables, which you could drink coffee, have your breakfast, bread croissants can be ordered the day before. It sells the basics, in case anything has been forgotten or needed.

Books, DVDs can be borrowed.

There is an area where you can sit indoors, if the weather is bad, new from last time, it has comfortable leather settee and chairs, tourist information, leaflets about local attractions, things to do and see, there is loads to do, the site is in a fab location and easy to get around, a Sherpa bus and the bus stop, which is right outside the site.

The toilet and shower facilities are looking a bit tired. They are cleaned for a couple hours a day. The facilities could be kept cleaner longer, if people cleaned up after themselves. Camping etiquette seems to have been eroded.

Such a shame, leaving the showers dirty, by not cleaning the shower tray after use because people are wearing flip flops to walk from their units, leaving mud, leaves, so on for others to clean and not binning dirty knickers.

This is not the staffs fault, but campers themselves.

There seems a few more additions such as drying lockers 2 to use for outdoor gear, located in the laundry room.

Picnic tables have been placed undercover outside the facilities. These were well used by those in smaller tents to cook meals.

The pitches are unregimented, which I love. I pitched in the River field in a fab spot next to the river, bliss. Great to put your bottles of drinks and milk, to help keep cool.

The site being unregimented consideration and careful pitching is needed from fellow campers. The site being in a forest, the area is mountainous, there is going to be loads of water courses and damp at times. Wales wouldn't be Wales without the rain. Rock pegs are needed, because of the terrain. Walks are fab, straight from the site, especially for the four legged type. With the relocation of the bike hire into the village, a new path has be laid, which is a beautiful walk. The village has a dog friendly pub, they don't mind mucky boots either.

For those steam train enthusiasts, there is a station at the site, which will take you to Canaervon or portMadoc.

Why o why did I leave it for a couple of years, before camping there again, after going for years 2 or 3 times a year, as my son loved this site as he was growing up, he used the play area many a time.

Hopefully I won't be waiting so long before returning.

Date of Visit: July 2015 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Hlw7226 2 reviews from this member

This was our first camping experience in quite a few years and what a great start! This camp site is just beautiful. On arrival we were welcomed and given a map of where we could pitch. We decided to pitch in the wrong place (our own inexperience) but still really enjoyed the experience.

The toilets were very clean and closed for an hour and 30 mins a day to clean them (this was a bit inconvenient as my young son had to hold on!) But we appreciated the clean toilets and showers afterwards.

It was so peaceful and relaxing with the rivers and streams right by us - our only issue was the rain but it is snowdonia national park so it is expected. The playground was a little disappointing as the swings had been removed so it was just the frame and a slide but there was more than enough to keep our 2 year old entertained.

We didn't have any issue with people pitching too close - probably as they realised we pitched in the wrong place!

Looking forward to going back and go cycling around this Truely stunning location! Definitely we will go back!

Date of Visit: July 2015 Unit:  Other Rating:
Reviewer: Big Rig 15 reviews from this member

It is certainly a great site which retains many of the attractions of wild camping but with the luxury of power and water but it may be a little too basic for the oldies rather than young campers.

The setting is glorious with a river and a narrow gauge railway running through it and the facilities are basic but clean. The pitches are covered in a sharp gravel which is less than user friendly and many (including ours) slope to the point that even our electrically adjust legs couldn't cope without chocks.

Good staff who are helpful and courteous - and sensible about fees when we had to cut short our stay because of the one major drawback -MIDGES. We were eaten alive (and so was the family pooch) and whilst you expect these beasties in the forest you do not expect a plague of the pests which left us looking like victims of the black death.

Take plenty of repellent (the ones at the site are hugely expensive and largely useless) - we were told that there is an Avon cream which although not sold as a repellent is very effective and used to combat similar pests in the Highlands.

Finally, if you have a large unit do not try to approach the site from any direction other than from the direction of the Caernarvon road - that route is narrow but passable for a fifth wheel, the others are certainly not.

Date of Visit: June 2015 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: Infinity31 6 reviews from this member

Initially booked only one night but stayed for 3. We found this to be a lovely forest site. I asked for a sunny position and the very friendly warden who checked us in directed us to a particular area but left it up to us to choose a pitch (not a Select pitch which could be identified as those with picnic benches). We chose one near the railway crossing on the outer perimeter road but there were also plenty further into the forest as well.

We did use some levelling blocks as we backed into a space which did slope down toward the river which ran though the site. We also saw many pitches which were perfectly flat as well.

The large main shower/laundry and dish washing facility was very well kept and the shower cubicles had a neat area to store your stuff in and kept it totally dry- wish more were like this!

The steam train (Welsh Highland Railways Porthmadog to Caernarvon) went through a few times a day and made for an interesting photo opportunity and a friendly wave between passengers and campers. There was a station for the site itself.

There was also a lovely walk through the forest with great views of the Snowdon ranges about 30 minutes to Beddgelert - or a quicker route along the road about 15mins. The village had a good range of bistros, pubs and cafes and a few gift shops.

The campsite also had its own on site bakery and we ordered a couple of pizzas one night - 8 each ( one would have probably done for two of us!) and croissants for breakfast one morning. Bread and rolls etc also available. The shop was quite well stocked and due to the time of year we needed to buy some 'Skin so Soft' as there were a few midges about.

We would certainly use this forest site again.

Date of Visit: June 2015 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: B20pjg 5 reviews from this member

Booked unfortunately without reading the reviews since we had been to the site some years ago. The reception area was excellent and the staff were extremely friendly which gave us high hopes. We had requested a hardstanding with electric for a motohome. Taking into account the motorhome weighs over three tons and is 7.00 metres in length leaving us to find our own pitch was not really adequate.

We drove twice around the designated area extremely cautiously in view of the overhanging branches and did not see any pitches where the ground was anything like suitable. The vast majority were churned up and soft. My personal view was that if I managed to extricate myself from the site without damage to the motorhome we had done well.

In the event we left the site and went to a another site in Beddgelert.

Date of Visit: May 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: John+judy 80 reviews from this member

As others have said, this is a site with potential to be a lot better. We did find a reasonably level pitch, but I would say this was a rarity. Hardstandings are just patches of roughly spread slate chippings, giving the impression that not much care has been made to make the site tidy. But maybe this rustic approach is a refreshing change from the regimented car park sites run by the big clubs (and others). Toilet/shower facilities were adequate, without being luxurious.

Unfortunately the weather wasn't suitable for high level walking during our stay, so we stayed low, and went underground at the copper mine near Beddgelert. We thought this was interesting but a litlle bit pricy. We also visited Portmeirion, which we thought was wonderful, especially as we are old enough the remember The Prisoner!

I think we would go back, now that we know what to expect, and without our views being spoiled by the more luxurious sites to be found.

Date of Visit: May 2015 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Lmcelwee 7 reviews from this member

Stayed here for the May bank holiday weekend.

The site is a great location with a lovely family (2 children age 2 and 5) friendly walk into Bedgelert. We walked into Bedgelert on a very wet mizzley day but it was not unpleasant at all. We rewarded ourselves with a lush ice cream and then caught the steam train back to the campsite that has it's own station.

The Welsh Mountain Railway was a massive hit with our sons who adored catching the train from Porthmadog home to the campsite.

Porthmadog about 25-30min drive away with 2 great camping shops (Millets and Gelert) and shops for food supplies (Lidl & Aldi situated next door to the camping shops).

The site itself is very clean with plenty of clean toilets and showers. Not sure how it copes in high season but it was fine when we were there. Laundry. Washing up room had 4 sinks I think from memory and was a large room so plenty of space.

We were pitched on the green opposite the playground which suited us. We couldn't park the car next to the tent and it was a bit of a struggle to get the trailer full gear onto the grass - which I actually think after the event is not allowed but would have made pitching very difficult due to us having a Wolf Lake 7 and I wouldn't want to lug that too far. The groudn is hard with lots of rocks so rock pegs a must. Deltas went in no problem after a bit of repositioning in places.

After a good 12 hours of rain some of the pitches around the site had a few muddy puddle issues and the grass we were on had channels of waterlogging (fortunately I pitched between these) but it soon drained away probably due to the rocky ground.

Site has a great shop that offers fresh breads and pastries all ordered the night before and a fresh pizza service in the evenings.

If you want pitch together as a group there was a little resistance to accomodating this prior to our arrival but once there it was clear there wasn't going to be a problem. However it's something to consider if you chose to go in high season.

All in all a good family site. Clean.

Date of Visit: April 2015 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Familycampfunsters 6 reviews from this member

We went to this site in April with friends and stayed on the electric hard standing pitches with a tent. Had read previous reviews regarding taking rock pegs. Told my mate to get some and he turned up with six - idiot! We had to go the shop and buy some - 80p each. Thought that was a bit excessive when you have to buy twenty of them but hey ho - it was our own fault.

We had a wonderful time, the camp site was beautiful, the staff were amazing and friendly. Had a lovely walk into Bedgelert (about 1. 5 miles). Facilities were great

Would definitely go back - No complaints whatsoever.

Date of Visit: April 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: HellsBells2805 3 reviews from this member

This was our first experience of 'camping in the forest' so we were unsure what to expect. The setting was idyllic and the nature of it obviously leads to it being laid out a lot less formally and somewhat haphazard. We had booked a super pitch and requested a pitch nearer to the children's playground. We were advised to look for pitch 105 and were given a map and left to find our way and basically pitch where we wanted. However, the pitches were badly marked and it was very hard to find the right pitch relating to the type we had booked. My one big gripe was the state of the pitches. Obviously it is in a natural settting, which was beautiful, but the pitches were impossibly uneven and in the end, in the rain, we gave up and lived with a lopsided van for the duration. If that could be addressed, the site would be perfect! From the stream running through the heart of the campsite, to the children's playground, to the on site train stop, to the freshly baked bread and pizzas you could order - amazing. Toilets/showers were cold, but spotlessly clean, as were the pot washing and laundry facilities. Wonderfully placed for access to so many areas of interest and beauty. Just sort the pitches out and this would be the perfect site. As previous reviews have said, this site has the potential to be a flagship site, but it does feel a bit neglected. Would recommend to anyone, but take plenty of chocks and even then expect to be lopsided!

Previous     174 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Save to Virtual Brochure  Add this Site to your Virtual Brochure                                Share  Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Submit a Review for a chance to Win 100 of Amazon Vouchers
Win 100 of Amazon vouchersSubmit a review of any caravan park or campsite, for a chance to win. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win 100 of Amazon vouchers!

If you've visited this site, then please submit a review for a chance to win.

Try our town listings   -   Other Sites in Gwynedd   -   Search for a site

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a Champion 3100 Watt Inverter Petrol Generator Win a Win a One Week Stay at Vauxhall Holiday Park!

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Motorhome & Caravan Show 13 18 October
Occupying eleven huge halls of the NEC, it is guaranteed to be an unmissable event. Win tickets!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions

4492 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend  -  Pensions Auto-enrolment

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2015