Home

   Log in or Register
   
Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Heligan Woods

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > UK > England > South West > Cornwall (East) > Site Reviews

Heligan Woods
St Ewe
Mevagissey
Mevagissey
Cornwall (East)   (Browse area)
PL26 6EZ   See Map                                 Share Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook
Tel: 01726 842714

Facilities:  (Key)
              

Nearby:
1m  1m  1m  1m  1m  1m  1m  5m   1m  5m  5m  1m  1m 
Featured Site

Pitches: 81
Open: From 10th Jan 2014

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 56 Reviews
              9/10 from 56 Reviews


Units accepted:    Tents  Caravans  Motorhomes  Statics for Hire  Statics on Sale 

Special Offer available to UKCampsite.co.uk visitors - see here.

Photos (6)

Reviews:  56 in total, now showing 1 to 6                 Previous 6          Next 6
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10  

Date of Visit: October 2014 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: Freyasmum 14 reviews from this member

Really enjoyed the stay here. Went as part of the camping and caravanning group rally so it was at a much reduced rate; £9. 50 with EHU. Flat pitches, beautifully kept site, heated and clean wash and shower facilities. Sea views. Small shop on-site, but adjacent to an excellent and well stocked farm shop. 2 mins walk from Lost Garden of Heligan entrance and directly on cycle trails and walks to Mevaggisey, Pentewan Sands, St Austell and the Clay trails off-road routes over to the Eden project, Wheal Martyn and beyond.

Very quiet. No wifi available, but I think that recent storms had blitzed it.

Date of Visit: August 2014 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Jandg1976 2 reviews from this member

We stayed here for a week at the beginning of August. We found the site to be clean, tidy and the facilities good. On arrival we were shown to our pitch which was grass with an electric hook up. There was a drinking water point nearby. During our stay we used the toilet and shower facilities at different times of the day and never had to queue. This was a bonus as the site was almost full. The toilet and showers were always clean and have been maintained well. We found the site to be peaceful, even though it was almost full. The facility to book online and choose your pitch was useful too. The surrounding area is lovely. Just a short drive to beaches and visitor attractions e. G the Eden Project. There are a few pubs within a couple of miles. We can highly recommended the Polgooth which served lovely food. There is a small shop on site or an Asda close by in St Austell. We would definitely return to the site.

Date of Visit: July 2014 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Mellowcamper 1 review from this member

A pleasant site with a nice atmosphere. Roughly 50% of pitches were sheltered by hedges or trees. The map on their website gives a good idea of which are which. The pitches around the children's' play area were quite sloped, as well as tending to be less sheltered.

Reception was typically, er, closed. We arrived at 6. 30pm after a long journey and would have appreciated a bit of a welcome, being able to buy something for dinner, and getting some tips on what to see. But unfortunately reception and therefore the shop were already closed. Similarly when we went of in search of breakfast at 8. 30am the next morning, still closed.

I'm slightly concerned about the security of the site. Without someone checking arrivals and departures during at least daylight hours, children are at more risk.

Other than that, there are some good days out to be had nearby - Mevagissy, Eden Project, etc

Toilets always clean and showers hot with spacious cubicles and benches. Playground looked good, at least from a distance.

There didn't appear to be anywhere to freeze freezer blocks which was a nuisance.

Date of Visit: April 2014 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: UXO8 18 reviews from this member

Yet again another lovely stay at Heligan, this time we had sunshine which made it even better and the cherry tree's and Azaleas were in full bloom

Nice peaceful site, good for walking or cycling with Mevagissey just over 1 mile on a traffic free track. Had lunch in our favourite cafe 'Number 5' well worth a visit also a nice walk in to Pentewan and a visit to the pub. Handy being right on the doorstep of The Lost Gardens of Heligan also Lobbs Farm shop which has such a great variety of fresh produce with a great Butchers shop, well stocked for BBQ. The toilet block is a little dated but always clean and has hot showers the only thing I would criticise is the smallness of the loo's ( not much elbow room)but it wouldn't stop us from coming

Date of Visit: March 2014 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Taffymotorhome 12 reviews from this member

This was our second vist to this site, and we were both very disappointed this time round. The gents toilet block was out of order due to a refurbishment, so we had to share the ladies for all our ablutions. ( Not nice for both sexes), And even then there were workmen doing some maintenance in the ladies. We were NOT told this when we booked it up OR When we arrived. Why couldn't they have done the work during their closed season. Having said that, the site is brilliantly situated for the ' Lost gardens of Heligan'.

We have marked it down due to the toilet blocks, and not being told.

Date of Visit: August 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Matt4666 7 reviews from this member

We stayed here for 1 week, and whilst the site is well maintained it does have a 1980's feel about it, which meant our 1987 caravan felt right at home. Access to the water and grey water disposal was ok; what confused us was that the electric outlets are right next to the on site roads, which does make getting a large unit onto the plot a difficult task as we had to assist another camper in getting his on to his plot. The play area is very popular with the kids, however a cautionary note the sand in the fall off areas when wet will stain their clothes so if it has recently rained expect grubby little urchins to return.

Whilst visually the plots look reasonably level take lots of extra blocks to level your van as our front was nearly waist high once leveled, and ours was one of the better more level plots

The site is very well located to the Lost Gardens of Heligan, and other attractions in the area so there is plenty to do.

Another note to bear in mind is that whilst you can use all the facilities at the sister site Pentewan Sands, there is a charge for using the pool at £4. 75 per adult/day and £3. 75 per child/day.

The staff were friendly and very helpful, and are available to deal with life's little emergencies as they arose on the site.

Would we return, No! the site wasn't for us and we have booked into Pentewan Sands next year as it has more to offer for a family.

Previous     56 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 6      Next

Save to Virtual Brochure  Add this Site to your Virtual Brochure                                Share  Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Submit your Review for a chance to Win Prizes!
Sponsored by the Caravan ClubSubmit a review to UKCampsite.co.uk of any caravan park or campsite, for a chance to win a caravan towing course or motorhome manoeuvring course worth up to £145, or £100 of Amazon vouchers, courtesy of The Caravan Club. Join the Club for just £44 per year to enjoy access to a great range of caravan sites, benefits and special offers.

If you've visited this site, then please submit a review for a chance to win.

Try our town listings   -   Other Sites in Cornwall (East)   -   Search for a site

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a Nemesis Ultra Wheel Clamp! from Towsure.com Visit the UKCS shop for exclusive discounts and offers

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Manchester Caravan & Motorhome Show 15 to 18/01/15
Start the season with a trip to the North’s biggest outdoor leisure show. Win 10 pairs of tickets or claim discount entry

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3287 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend  -  Pensions Auto-enrolment

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2014






0.0449