Home

   Log in or Register

Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Looe Caravan Club Site

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > UK > England > South West > Cornwall (East) > Site Reviews

Looe Caravan Club Site
St Martin
Looe
Cornwall (East)   (Browse area)
PL13 1PB   See Map                                 Share Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook
Tel: 01503 264006

Facilities:  (Key)
                 

Nearby:
5m  5m 5m  5m   10m  1m 
Featured Site

Pitches: 217
Open: 28/03/2014 To 02/01/2015

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 38 Reviews
              8/10 from 38 Reviews


Units accepted:   No Tents  Caravans  Motorhomes Caravan Storage Storage 

This site has chosen to use the availability calendar. You can check for availability here.

Photos (6)

Reviews:  38 in total, now showing 1 to 6                 Previous 6          Next 6
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7  

Date of Visit: August 2013 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: CREAKY 6 reviews from this member

Just had another excellent stay here, only a long weekend as the site was full but the welcome was second to none, the wardens guiding us to a suitable pitch for our large motorhome with views across the valley. We've been to several club sites this year but this one sets the benchmark for friendliness and courtesy. I really can't agree with previous review as nothing seemed too much trouble for the wardens, the man with the big moustache even stopped mowing his grass to help us pitch our van and get level, and he was more than helpful in giving us walking routes into Looe and suggesting places to eat etc. I also think that the lovely blonde lady in reception was so lovely and professional it made our break very enjoyable.

The site was really full but the two toilet blocks were never that busy with no queues at peak times. Unfortunately some parents do not supervise their kids which resulted in regular disturbance in and around the toilet blocks. There was even a toilet that was completely vandalised, not what you expect from a club site at all!?

We're still coming back in September for the Looe music festival, cheaper than any local campsite, quality facilities, and only a 6 taxi ride into town. See ya there??

Date of Visit: July 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Debz19 3 reviews from this member

We spent 10 days at this site with our three kids and I can honestly say it was one of our best holidays yet. We had a lovely welcome from the wardens after our long drive. The reception area is attractive with lovely flowers and fresh herbs you can help yourself to. Our pitch was a good size with plenty of room and space between our neighbours.

The facilities on site are great. The toilet blocks are clean and warm with loads of showers and loos. They even have music piped into them which is a nice touch.

The swimming pool is immaculate and the lifeguards are friendly and keep the pool clean. There is also tennis court and mini golf course. You can hire equipment for these at the site office. The play areas for kids are good with a park and a fenced hard court for football or basketball. A word of warning though, if you have to drive past this area make sure you crawl as there are kids everywhere and they don't always pay attention to traffic going past.

The main drawback with the site is you can't walk into Looe from the site. The road outside is busy and there isn't an adequate footpath so you do need to drive or bus.

For food shopping there is a Morrisons and Aldi in Liskard and a Coop in Looe

Looe itself is great for families. We spent days on the beach, went crabbing and played in the sea. There are lots of touristy shops and restaurants to look round.

The Eden Project was great and a must. Loads of hands on stuff for kids and the gardens are lovely. We also went to Padstow which is charming and the beaches there are lovely. Tintagel was good but beware there are loads of steep steps but it is worth the effort.

We would definitely return and can't wait to do so.

Date of Visit: July 2013 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Misswaddy1 1 review from this member

A lovely campsite with excellent facilities. Super toilets/shower block, good laundry facilities but no irons on site so get used to creased clothes if you wash them! A friendly welcome would have been nice. We found the wardens to be a little rude and not very helpful - they seemed more concerned with everyone following the many rules and regulations, and tending to the grounds rather than offering good customer service.

Date of Visit: May 2013 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: CREAKY 6 reviews from this member

We stayed here again for a week at whitsun and what can I say, such a fantastic and friendly welcome from the wardens. It's a big site with an equal number of grass and hardstanding pitches and to top it all a pristine heated swimming pool. The facilities are fab, with 2 toilet blocks complete with piped music and even hand cream supplied free. We have stayed here several times before, but this year there is a different team of people who seem to go well beyond the extra mile. There's quite a few wardens work here but they all seem so happy in their work, always willing to chat, or offer advice on the local scene.

We are definitely returning here to this site in September to attend the Looe music festival, it is much cheaper than the surrounding campsites and you know you're getting proper customer service. A seven seater taxi is only a fiver into Looe so you can be assured of a great weekend.

In my opinion this is by far the best caravan site in east Cornwall.

Date of Visit: May 2013 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Billy whizz 2 reviews from this member

Just returned from a great stay at Looe. The wardens are very friendly and efficient and work tirelessly to keep. The site immaculate.

The facilities are stunning. Music in the loos, heated swimming pool, great library. Great local pubs. We will return for the Looe music festival in September 65 bands in town and on the beach. Can't wait. There are great views of the sea from lots of pitches and others have scenic countryside views. A good mix of hardstanding and grass pitches and some serviced pitches are available. The kids play area is second to none complete with crazy golf, basketball and a tennis court.

Date of Visit: July 2012 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Itsyum 25 reviews from this member

Just returned from a great week at Looe Caravan Club site and have got nothing but praise for the site !

Just a shame it poured with rain all week !

Its a very large site, very well maintained with two toilet blocks which were on par with the best we've come across large and immaculately clean ! there are plenty of facilities for families (swimming pool, kids play area, tennis courts etc etc. ) the Wardens were all very helpful always touring around the site on their 'lawnmowers & tennis buggy's'

During our stay most of the grass pitches were out of use due to the past 2 months of torrential rain and the wardens worked really hard to accommodate everyone on a hardstanding - well done to them !

The site is situated in a very quiet location on a hill about 2 miles from Looe with some pitches overlooking the distant sea and most looking onto the lovely Cornish countryside - if you get chance head for the bottom pitches !

There is a regular bus service into Looe (2 single) & Plymouth - the road past the site is busy & fast so not really a walking or cycling option into Looe

There are a couple of Co-op Mini supermarkets in Looe and a Morrisons in Liskard (about 7 miles away) and for fish & chips you must try Kelly's in Looe (yum)

Previous     38 Review in total, now showing 1 to 6      Next

Save to Virtual Brochure  Add this Site to your Virtual Brochure                                Share  Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Submit your Review for a chance to Win Prizes!
Sponsored by the Caravan ClubSubmit a review to UKCampsite.co.uk of any caravan park or campsite, for a chance to win a caravan towing course or motorhome manoeuvring course worth up to 145, or 100 of Amazon vouchers, courtesy of The Caravan Club. Join the Club for just 44 per year to enjoy access to a great range of caravan sites, benefits and special offers.

If you've visited this site, then please submit a review for a chance to win.

Try our town listings   -   Other Sites in Cornwall (East)   -   Search for a site

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a Clarke IG22000 2.2kW Generator worth 467.98! Visit the UKCS shop for exclusive discounts and offers

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Truckfest Peterborough
Exciting family entertainment, and you can make a full long weekend of them, by camping on site!Plus win tickets!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


5311 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend  -  Pensions Auto-enrolment

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews]  [Facebook]

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2014




1.0703