Home

   Log in or Register

Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Looe Caravan Club Site

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > UK > England > South West > Cornwall (East) > Site Reviews

Looe Caravan Club Site
St Martin
Looe
Cornwall (East)   (Browse area)
PL13 1PB   See Map                                 Share Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook
Tel: 01503 264006

Facilities:  (Key)
                 

Nearby:
5m  5m 5m  5m   10m  1m 
Featured Site

Pitches: 217
Open: 28/03/2014 To 02/01/2015

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 41 Reviews
              8/10 from 41 Reviews


Units accepted:   No Tents  Caravans  Motorhomes Caravan Storage Storage 

Photos (6)

Reviews:  41 in total, now showing 1 to 6                 Previous 6          Next 6
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7  

Date of Visit: July 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Pwhitty 1 review from this member

We found this site to be of a very high standard.

Friendly, helpful wardens, available until 8pm.

The toilet/shower blocks, again to a very high standard, always clean. Although, more than one 'hand drier' would have been welcome at times.

The site is split into 3 areas, hard standing pitches, looked as if most were level (ish), grass pitches, mostly on a slope and serviced pitches, mostly level. All with electric hook ups.

It also has a children's play area, climbing frames etc. Only noticed this from a distance though. Situated within the serviced pitches.

Dogs allowed, on a lead only, of course, and there is a smallish dog walking area.

A perfect location for touring this end of Cornwall and the other if you like driving. Takes about an hour and a half to Lands End, mostly on dual carrigeways.

Looe is only one and a half miles walk away, down hill, so get the bus back.

All in all a very nice site, we will probably visit again in the future. Definately recommended.

Date of Visit: July 2014 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Landauman 9 reviews from this member

Great site, but make sure you take chocks as it is mostly slightly sloping, good for kids as theirs lots to do, facilities great, their is also a bus stop right outside, however on the return journey from Looe it sometimes stops at the site next door so you have to walk a few hundred yards up the hill to get back to the site.

Date of Visit: April 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Tparkes 4 reviews from this member

Fantastic site! From arriving to a very friendly welcome right up to leaving we have had a great time at Looe Bay Caravan Club site. Fantastic sea views from many of the hardstanding pitches. The usual immaculate toilet block. There is also a very good play park for the children, as well as pitch and putt and a tennis court. There is a very good dog walk which is enclosed. This site is very close to Looe itself, but because of very necessary road stabilisation works, there is a bit of a diversion for the next few months, but this only adds a few minutes on to your journey into Looe. There are several carparks in Looe itself, obviously the harbour is the closest to the town and there is quite a large one over the bridge, but if you can get in try and park in the carpark right next to the Texaco garage (make sure you don't go into the surgery or the private car park). The one next to Texaco is quite cheap. Loads to see and a very special quaint town. Taking the kids crabbing is a very popular pastime! Nice beach in the town also. For a quieter beach, try Seaton, which is just a few miles down the road from Looe Bay Caravan Park. This little village has also been quite badly affected by the winter storms of 2014 and the roads are undergoing considerable safety works, but the beach is just lovely. Plenty of rock pools to keep kids and adults interested. Nice pub (I think the Smugglers Arms) does nice lunches and is dog and kid friendly. Can highly recommend the Sail Loft Restaurant and also Ocean and Earth Thai restaurant in Looe itself. Can highly recommend Coddy Shack for fish and chips (just up the road from campsite) some of the best I have ever had. I would certainly return to this lovely caravan site.

Date of Visit: August 2013 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: CREAKY 7 reviews from this member

Just had another excellent stay here, only a long weekend as the site was full but the welcome was second to none, the wardens guiding us to a suitable pitch for our large motorhome with views across the valley. We've been to several club sites this year but this one sets the benchmark for friendliness and courtesy. I really can't agree with previous review as nothing seemed too much trouble for the wardens, the man with the big moustache even stopped mowing his grass to help us pitch our van and get level, and he was more than helpful in giving us walking routes into Looe and suggesting places to eat etc. I also think that the lovely blonde lady in reception was so lovely and professional it made our break very enjoyable.

The site was really full but the two toilet blocks were never that busy with no queues at peak times. Unfortunately some parents do not supervise their kids which resulted in regular disturbance in and around the toilet blocks. There was even a toilet that was completely vandalised, not what you expect from a club site at all!?

We're still coming back in September for the Looe music festival, cheaper than any local campsite, quality facilities, and only a 6 taxi ride into town. See ya there??

Date of Visit: July 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Debz19 3 reviews from this member

We spent 10 days at this site with our three kids and I can honestly say it was one of our best holidays yet. We had a lovely welcome from the wardens after our long drive. The reception area is attractive with lovely flowers and fresh herbs you can help yourself to. Our pitch was a good size with plenty of room and space between our neighbours.

The facilities on site are great. The toilet blocks are clean and warm with loads of showers and loos. They even have music piped into them which is a nice touch.

The swimming pool is immaculate and the lifeguards are friendly and keep the pool clean. There is also tennis court and mini golf course. You can hire equipment for these at the site office. The play areas for kids are good with a park and a fenced hard court for football or basketball. A word of warning though, if you have to drive past this area make sure you crawl as there are kids everywhere and they don't always pay attention to traffic going past.

The main drawback with the site is you can't walk into Looe from the site. The road outside is busy and there isn't an adequate footpath so you do need to drive or bus.

For food shopping there is a Morrisons and Aldi in Liskard and a Coop in Looe

Looe itself is great for families. We spent days on the beach, went crabbing and played in the sea. There are lots of touristy shops and restaurants to look round.

The Eden Project was great and a must. Loads of hands on stuff for kids and the gardens are lovely. We also went to Padstow which is charming and the beaches there are lovely. Tintagel was good but beware there are loads of steep steps but it is worth the effort.

We would definitely return and can't wait to do so.

Date of Visit: July 2013 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Misswaddy1 1 review from this member

A lovely campsite with excellent facilities. Super toilets/shower block, good laundry facilities but no irons on site so get used to creased clothes if you wash them! A friendly welcome would have been nice. We found the wardens to be a little rude and not very helpful - they seemed more concerned with everyone following the many rules and regulations, and tending to the grounds rather than offering good customer service.

Previous     41 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 6      Next

Save to Virtual Brochure  Add this Site to your Virtual Brochure                                Share  Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Submit your Review for a chance to Win Prizes!
Sponsored by the Caravan ClubSubmit a review to UKCampsite.co.uk of any caravan park or campsite, for a chance to win a caravan towing course or motorhome manoeuvring course worth up to 145, or 100 of Amazon vouchers, courtesy of The Caravan Club. Join the Club for just 44 per year to enjoy access to a great range of caravan sites, benefits and special offers.

If you've visited this site, then please submit a review for a chance to win.

Try our town listings   -   Other Sites in Cornwall (East)   -   Search for a site

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a Dining Package, worth 124.98 from Yeomans Visit the UKCS shop for exclusive discounts and offers

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Somerset Motorhome Show 12/09 to 14/09 Shepton Mallet
All the latest Motorhomes and a host of accessories. Win Tickets or buy Discounted Day Ticket Offer!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


5422 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend  -  Pensions Auto-enrolment

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews]  [Facebook]

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2014






0.0469