Home

   Log in or Register

Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Kielder Water Caravan Club Site

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > UK > England > North East > Northumberland > Site Reviews

Kielder Water Caravan Club Site
Leaplish Waterside Park
Falstone
Hexham
Northumberland   (Browse area)
NE48 1BT   See Map                                 Share Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook
Tel: 01434 250278

Facilities:  (Key)
               

Nearby:
1m  5m  5m  5m  
Featured Site

Pitches: 99
Open: 01/02/2014 To 19/12/2014

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 39 Reviews
              8/10 from 39 Reviews


Units accepted:   No Tents  Caravans  Motorhomes 

Photos (6)

Reviews:  39 in total, now showing 1 to 6                 Previous 6          Next 6
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7  

Date of Visit: June 2014 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Chris and Eric 6 reviews from this member

Just had a wonderful 5days on this site. The owners work very hard to keep site up to standard, but have an uphill battle between them as they are the only 2 looking after the whole site, unlike CC wardens who have assistants for days off and grass-cutting. We cannot fault the friendliness or facilities, toilets and showers could do with an upgrade but always hot water proper hairdriers and never a wait. We will definitely go back only wish we could have stayed longer, but had to leave early due to family illness. Midges were not a problem, maybe people who live in towns should stay there or come prepared with smoke sticks and repellent just in case, you do get insects in the countryside along with all the pleasurable things too. They say there is no such thing as bad weather, just the wrong clothing, no such thing a problem with midges just unprepared people. Big thankyou for all your help.

Date of Visit: June 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Jimmy1980 25 reviews from this member

We stayed for 2 nights on this lovely site. The roads to it are bendy and remote so you do feel like you drive a long way with nothing around but they are wide enough and we managed without problems. On arrival there's a phone to call reception where I spoke to a friendly gentleman who advised us to select any free pitch. When we arrived we turned right and pitched up there but on reflection these pitches are probably more suited to the seasonal vans - they're very sloping. You are actually better turning left going past the lakeside pitches (if there are none available!) and heading to the pitches down there - they're a lot flatter! Our vans front legs only just touched the ground - I used to carry blocks but have never used them since I started caravanning so got rid of them but would have come in handy here. Alternatively if you do pitch up there, lengthways would be better. The toilet/shower block is lovely. Clean, warm and even has music playing - I was impressed. There's a small shop on site stocking the basics. A short walk takes you to the lakeside, where there's a pool, bar and little craft/basic food shop. We didn't use the pool but it looked very nice. The boat inn restaurant is a lovely bar and offers free wifi (handy to catch up on your phone as there's no phone signal here (for O2) and I believe is limited for other networks also. We only had a drink in the bar but any food that came out looked delicious and prices were very reasonable. Midges are a known issue - so do take spray but expect to be bitten! We are still itching from the visit even though we used very strong repellent! We would definitely return here for a relaxing break, the views and walks from the site are brilliant - but would avoid the midge season!

Date of Visit: April 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Mim Clark 7 reviews from this member

Large site in Pine forest, few open sunny pitches. We found the pitches quite dark, cold and unpleasant. Moved on the second day to one of the few open ones with a view of the water. Unfortunately the warden charged us £10 for the privilege.

The location is very remote, shops, pubs etc a long drive away although the holiday village is close.

The observatory is well worth a visit.

Local walking is good.

The site is not up to the usual caravan club standards.

Toilets are few and unclean whilst we were there. Rubbish bins and dog waste bins were over flowing.

Date of Visit: October 2013 Unit:  Other Rating:
Reviewer: Basichendo 7 reviews from this member

This is an excellent site.

The views are amazing. There is tons to do on site and at multiple other places around kielder water - such as

Water skiing

Birds of prey centre (excellent for kids)

Play parks galore

Amazing walks

Amazing cycle paths

Observatory

Outward bound centre

Good pubs / cafés

There isn't phone signal all over but who cares, there is wifi and what do you want when booking a country break in the woods!

Buy some smidge = midges sorted. People make such a fuss. Just be prepared.

The restaurant is excellent, the people below that moan regarding not getting change from £50. 00 for 4 main courses are living on another planet, it's par for the course! The food is good and fresh and huge portions too!

A really lovely family place?

Date of Visit: October 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Clears 1 review from this member

Just had a week at Leaplish and it was superb. Arrived 4pm and no-one to greet us but there is a phone down to main reception and we were advised how to proceed. However, being told to just go find a pitch on a wooded and twisty site you have never visited before, in the rain, was not ideal, though all worked out well enough. The area is stunning, with huge pines and amazing views. There is loads to do and excellent facilities both on site and in the neighbouring areas to Kielder Water. The insects, even at the end of October, found their way into our caravan at night via the ventilation grills for the fridge! Must be a nightmare in warmer times.

A couple of minor grumbles; the toilet closures for cleaning between 11 and 1 are awkward, and there is only one block for a large, well spread park; this can be 'uncomfortable' if you have a need in the night! Also, I was unimpressed that parking is pay&display at the waterside park; surely a pass could be issued for people staying on site, given it is immediately adjoining it and must supply a majority of the customers for its pub, shop, pool etc.

Be warned, fuel stations are few and far between and are involved in nothing short of profiteering; diesel was 11p a litre more than I paid at home!

No TV signal, no radio signal, no mobile signal for miles around. Some people would find that problematic

Nevertheless, a brilliant place if you choose the right time of year and we will be back

Date of Visit: July 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Frankies family 12 reviews from this member

Family of 4 (kids aged 10 and 7 yrs) in a touring caravan and small awning.

We have just left this site after 2 nights on the first stop of our tour around Scotland from the Midlands.

I must admit we were getting slightly concerned on the roads once you've left the main a68 or the B road as they go for some miles and you are literally in the middle of nowhere, but we just followed the brown tourist signs and my it was certainly worth the trip once you see kielder water for the first time.

The site itself is well situated and we were lucky enough to get one of the open pitches overlooking the lake. Many are secluded woodland plots which could feel pretty isolated?

Staff at site office and the leapish centre were friendly and helpful.

We knew about the midges before we came as had researched the area thoroughly so came well prepared with repellent, raid aerosol and a plug in mosquito killer! That said we did get a few bites when first arrived but after that were well sorted and did fumigate regularly.

Facilities at the centre include small swimming pool, park, crazy golf, nice pub with good food and small shop. Didn't have time to do the bird of prey centre or observatory further up the road but would have done so given more time.

We took the ferry to tower knowle ( pretty pricy) and then cycled the 18. 5 mile ride from tower to kielder castle / village and back to leapish: this was an amazing ride staying close to the water on good ground with excellent views. Rather up and down but the downs are well worth the push uphill. Take time to stop at the chairs sculpture for a well earned rest!

If you love cycling defo the place for you but go prepared there's nothing the far side of the lake. It's a get away from everything place, no phone signal or tv or traffic in a beautiful location (free wifi at pub). Would have been great to sit out in the eve though but for the pesky midges.

We loved the place and wish we had booked / time on our tour for at least another day.

Ps; clean loos and good showers too and use the cut through the lodge park to get to the facilities.

Previous     39 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 6      Next

Save to Virtual Brochure  Add this Site to your Virtual Brochure                                Share  Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Submit your Review for a chance to Win Prizes!
Sponsored by the Caravan ClubSubmit a review to UKCampsite.co.uk of any caravan park or campsite, for a chance to win a caravan towing course or motorhome manoeuvring course worth up to £145, or £100 of Amazon vouchers, courtesy of The Caravan Club. Join the Club for just £44 per year to enjoy access to a great range of caravan sites, benefits and special offers.

If you've visited this site, then please submit a review for a chance to win.

Try our town listings   -   Other Sites in Northumberland   -   Search for a site

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a Wisport SilverFox 30L Rucksack Visit the UKCS shop for exclusive discounts and offers

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Tribfest Music Festival 14/08 to 17/08 East Yorkshire
An affordable, fantastic weekend away listening to some great live Top tribute bands. Claim discounted entry!!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


8339 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend  -  Pensions Auto-enrolment

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews]  [Facebook]

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2014






0.0703