Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Kielder Water Caravan and Motorhome Club Site

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > UK > England > North East > Northumberland > Site Reviews

Kielder Water Caravan and Motorhome Club Site
Leaplish Waterside Park
Falstone
Hexham
Northumberland   (Browse area)
NE48 1BT   See Map                                 Share Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook
Tel: 01434 250278

Facilities:  (Key)
               

Nearby: (within x miles)
1m  5m  5m  5m  
Featured Site

Pitches: 99
Open: 15/02 To 16/12

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 49 Reviews
              8/10 from 49 Reviews


Units accepted:   No Tents  Caravans  Motorhomes 

Photos (6)

Reviews:  49 in total, now showing 1 to 6                 Previous 6          Next 6
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9  

Write your own Review for a chance to Win 300 of Prizes!
Sponsored by Ordnance SurveyWin 200 Walkers Camping Kit and Tent AND 100 of Amazon vouchers, courtesy of our sponsor Ordnance Survey If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Further info and prize details here

Date of Visit: June 2017 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Shortlegs 3 reviews from this member

Stayed here for 3 nights June 24-26 site is lovely and showers were really nice. Only down side was the lack of space to put stuff so wrapped up in a towel and headed to the toilets to finish drying etc. Showers and toilets were lovely and clean. Warden, forgotten his name was very friendly and warned us re the midges and he was not wrong they were horrid! The site is in a perfect spot for touring the area and we walked everywhere. The pub is really close by and the food was lovely and again folks were really friendly. Would stop there again but out of midgy season.

Date of Visit: July 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Simpsons22 1 review from this member

We went to this site for our 1st time and cannot recommend this site highly enough. The toilet block was very clean and the showers very powerful and hot. The play area and restaurant area were very clean and ideal for our 4 children ranging from 2 - 14. The site is set in some fantastic scenery with beautiful views and the bike/walks from site around the lake are truly outstanding. This is like an unknown Lake District type gem of a place. If you want to be pernichty the only things that may bother some people would be the midges (which do bite!), no internet connection or signal and the nearest shop is 20mins drive (although the shop on site is ok for basic items). We did not have chance to make use of all the facilities but there is plenty to do for everyone and all ages. We will definitely be back but more prepared for the beastly midges. Oh and the site wardens were exceptionally helpful and friendly.

Date of Visit: June 2016 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: Noak 1 review from this member

We've just spent 2 nights at Leaplish camp site. (We knew there'd be midges so we were prepared with room and body spray, plus mesh mossie head cover!)

The site and facilities were well kept and clean with fast flowing hot water in the shower block. What did disappoint me was that there was only a wall fixed folding seat within the shower tray. Fine to use if you needed to sit whilst showering but no good to sit on to assist dressing! There was no handrail to hang on to either. I guess there were disabled facilities which I didn't investigate as I generally don't need them but did need a bit of support on this occasion.

Recommend campers read the notice board in the lodge reception area. We went for a walk round the lakeshore expecting to take the shorter route only to find it was closed for logging. We found the notice once we got back.

Swimming pool and sauna made up for long walk. It was like having our own spa. Worth the extra cost which we had thought was included in the camp fees.

Centre Bar and restaurant staff very friendly and good choice of food.

Date of Visit: May 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Browntechjrb 1 review from this member

Go to this site every year for long weekend around may time and could not have said enough good things about the place. Sad to hear after phoning this morning to sort out 2017 booking that it is only accepting seasonal pitches this year ??? Which seems a strange decision but hey ho. Hopefully the management will consider touring pitch provision again for 2018. Still a great place though and seasonal pitch price for end of May till beginning of Oct 2017 was very reasonable but not for us

Date of Visit: September 2015 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Milestone 5 reviews from this member

Warden Wayne was very helpful and suggested the pitch that suited us as most pitches are shaded beneath the pine trees.

The views of the lake are amazing.

We had a meal at the Leaplish bar and restaurant, just a short stroll through the site. Dogs are allowed in part of the bar.

Dog walking was not as we expected as they have to be kept on a lead around the lake.

Hot water and high pressure made showering a treat.

Date of Visit: August 2015 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Etherbeliever 5 reviews from this member

We very much enjoyed our stay at Kielder. Wayne who runs the site is very helpful and accommodating.

The facilities are clean and plentiful with powerful showers, the pitches are large enough and nicely spaced out so you don't feel like you're on top of fellow guests.

The site itself is set up on a hillside in the forest above the lake. There are some beautiful views from the pitches in the open area.

What we really liked about the site is the fact that you can do a lot from the site like cycling, swimming, hiring boats to go out on the lake, walking around the lake, you can easily ride over to the MTB trails that lead out from Kielder Castle. There are also bird of prey displays each day and the excellent Kielder Observatory is just down the road but book ahead to avoid disappointment!

If I were to warn you of anything, it would be that midges descended in the evenings and early mornings when we were there. There's not a lot anyone can do, just pack the insect repellent.

Previous     49 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 6      Next

Save to Virtual Brochure  Add this Site to your Virtual Brochure                                Share  Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write your own Review for a chance to Win 300 of Prizes!
Sponsored by Ordnance SurveyWin 200 Walkers Camping Kit and Tent AND 100 of Amazon vouchers, courtesy of our sponsor Ordnance Survey If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Further info and prize details here

Try our town listings   -   Other Sites in Northumberland   -   Search for a site

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a Inflatable HandiRack Roof Rack and Waterproof HandiHoldall Win a Superb Outwell Picnic Package

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Truckfest Original15 - 16 July 2017
Newark & Notts Showground - exciting family entertainment with weekend camping ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


5714 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend  -  Pensions Auto-enrolment

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2017




0.0859