Home

   Log in or Register
   
Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Wharfedale Caravan Club Site

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > UK > England > North East > North Yorkshire > Site Reviews

Wharfedale Caravan Club Site
Long Ashes
Threshfield
Skipton
North Yorkshire   (Browse area)
BD23 5PN   See Map                                 Share Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook
Tel: 01756 753340

Facilities:  (Key)
            

Nearby:
5m  1m 5m   10m  1m 
Featured Site

Pitches: 118
Open: 28/02/2014 To 04/01/2015

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 43 Reviews
              9/10 from 43 Reviews


Units accepted:   No Tents  Caravans  Motorhomes 

Special Offer available to UKCampsite.co.uk visitors - see here.

Photos (6) and Video

Reviews:  43 in total, now showing 1 to 6                 Previous 6          Next 6
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8  

Date of Visit: July 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Alk47 11 reviews from this member

The usual very high standards found at Caravan Club sites. Excellent location surrounded by beautiful countryside. Friendly wardens. We were able to walk into Grassington village from the site. Good pub and restaurant on the site serving good food at reasonable prices. The only downside was too many dogs with some owners that allowed them to urinate on the pitches and some who seemed to think we all enjoyed listening to their barking.

Date of Visit: August 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Kinza123 28 reviews from this member

Returned from a 4 night break here, and I am sadly very disappointed.

The site is like a car park, there is nothing to make it outstanding apart from the area making it easy to get into the beautiful Yorkshire countryside.

The wardens were hardly ever seen, and didn't seem to want to make eye contact or even say hello.

There are children constantly riding round on bikes, can't blame them as there is nowhere else for them to go. We were kept awake by two families laughing and drinking until half 12 one night, their children still zipping round and shouting. I feel an evening walk round by the wardens might help.

The toilet block was the normal high CC standard but the rest of the time there was uninspiring.

I don't normally feel so negative but this site left me cold.

Date of Visit: March 2014 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Atkinbrown 6 reviews from this member

Just spent 4 nights here and what a gem of a site. Well laid out with brilliant showers and spotlessly clean facilities. Wardens ( I hate that name) were very friendly and helpful and nothing was to much trouble. Really good walks around from gentle strolls to energetic hikes. Public footpaths everywhere. Caught the bus into Skipton ( £6. 50 return) which is a very busy market town. Would recommend for a quiet break.

Date of Visit: March 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Nigetop 1 review from this member

Stayed here for the weekend and was a top site! Very well organised and spotless in every way! New play are is great for kids!location is great too and is only a short distance from grassington! It is clearly a popular site and think advance booking at peak times will be a must!w Would highly recommend!

Date of Visit: March 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Median 9 reviews from this member

Spent a night here just to try out our new caravan. The wardens were welcoming and friendly, in fact we couldn't have asked for more. I felt that if I had any issues setting up they would have been only to happy to help (and I was right).

The site has good sized hardstanding pitches with lots of squirrels and rabbits (which our daughter loved watching). The toilet block was warm and clean with all the facilities you could need, the site is well laid out so you don't have to go far for water/waste/bins etc. There is a new children's play area which was perfect for our little one (even though it was quite a cold and wet weekend).

A short walk away is the Gamekeepers Inn which although it was fully booked for food when we arrived did take away fish and chips and rather good ale. Grassington is a slightly longer walk away and there is a lot to do in the surrounding area.

Overall a nice site, I'd happily go back.

Date of Visit: September 2013 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Tuftyhead 4 reviews from this member

Situated in wonderful countryside and ideal for walkers but close enough to lovely towns and villages for drivers. A very busy site all year round and unfortunately no views of the countryside as it is screened by high trees and you'll be looking at other caravans, etc. Very clean site and toilet block but the grounds are overrun with rabbits, hundreds of them, which dig holes everywhere and nibbled our leads and even had a go at the motorhome! Being from the country, I think their numbers should be reduced.

Top tips: Walk part of the Dales Way which passes through Grassington. Catch the bus to Burnsell or Appletreewick and walk back or go the other way to Kettlewell and walk back (getting bus first means you're not rushing to catch it for a lift back).

Visit Skipton: it's great for shopping, eating and just walking around.

Try to avoid parking in the centre of Grassington, it may be free for a few hours but it gets VERY congested and you'll annoy the locals, go to the large Dales National car park a few minutes walk away which doesn't cost much.

Previous     43 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 6      Next

Save to Virtual Brochure  Add this Site to your Virtual Brochure                                Share  Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Submit your Review for a chance to Win Prizes!
Sponsored by the Caravan ClubSubmit a review to UKCampsite.co.uk of any caravan park or campsite, for a chance to win a caravan towing course or motorhome manoeuvring course worth up to £145, or £100 of Amazon vouchers, courtesy of The Caravan Club. Join the Club for just £44 per year to enjoy access to a great range of caravan sites, benefits and special offers.

If you've visited this site, then please submit a review for a chance to win.

Try our town listings   -   Other Sites in North Yorkshire   -   Search for a site

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a Nemesis Ultra Wheel Clamp! from Towsure.com Visit the UKCS shop for exclusive discounts and offers

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Manchester Caravan & Motorhome Show 15 to 18/01/15
Start the season with a trip to the North’s biggest outdoor leisure show. Win 10 pairs of tickets or claim discount entry

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


1443 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend  -  Pensions Auto-enrolment

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2014






0.0469