Home

   Log in or Register
   
Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Richmond Hargill House Caravan Club Site

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > UK > England > North East > North Yorkshire > Site Reviews

Richmond Hargill House Caravan Club Site
Gilling West
Richmond
North Yorkshire   (Browse area)
DL10 5LJ   See Map                                 Share Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook
Tel: 01748 822734

Facilities:  (Key)
              

Nearby:
5m  5m 5m  5m   1m 
Featured Site

Pitches: 66
Open: 21/03/2014 To 03/11/2014

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 22 Reviews
              8/10 from 22 Reviews


Units accepted:   No Tents  Caravans  Motorhomes 

Photos (7) and Video

Reviews:  22 in total, now showing 1 to 6                 Previous 6          Next 6
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4  

Date of Visit: June 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: TheRibbiteers 6 reviews from this member

A very friendly and informative greeting, yes there will be some road noise here as close to A66 but we chose a lovely grass pitch, slightly sloping but it didn't pose us any problems. An attractive site with lovely views, excellent facilities and lots of rabbits. Well placed for visiting Richmond and N. Yorkshire. We were given a map with a local 3 mile walk which was a nice touch and very enjoyable.

Date of Visit: October 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Jed and Mag Morg 12 reviews from this member

We have just returned from this site after a 3 night stay. This is a lovely area and Richmond is amazing - beautiful riverside walks and views - fabulous northern town with massive central parking market area with original stone setts. The fish and chip shop in the central square serves first class fish and chips. The site itself was clean and the views from our caravan window were to die for ! Yes there was road noise but the views from our south facing pitch made up adequately. We visited the local pub in Gilling west and were told of local history stories including ghosts of royalty from the past and Roman vases washed up from the river. We had brought our cycles with us but the experience of crossing over the A66 would instantly tell you to head in the other direction!

Overall a site worth more than a stop over - spacious pitches and fabulous north Yorkshire views.

Date of Visit: April 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Santa cruz 11 reviews from this member

Have to say I tend to agree with the more positive reports here, for instance; a site just 80 yards off a main arterial trunk road (A66 Scotch Corner to Penrith) is bound to have some road noise.

Site was less than 30% full in April despite being midweek immediately before Easter Bank Holiday. We took advantage of the choice and pitched on the lowest level a good 300 yards below the A66 and therefore had no road noise and I sleep really quite lightly. Access onto and off the A66 is excellent, even with a van on the back there is adequate room in the wide centre reservation.

Single toilet block, but more than adequate given the relatively small number of (well spaced)pitches. Toilet block quite adequate and clean, use of disabled toilets for all during the hour when the main body of the block is closed for cleaning. Most useful. Bins emptied regulalry and generally found the warden pleasant. TV reception good using van aerial only.

Out and about plenty to do, not far to Richmond which is a nice market town, not a run down as many with boarded up shops etc. Couple of decent pubs and an excellent chippie, non of which are in the market square, rather just off it. Also the falls are quite something, not as big or famous as Aysgarth's but very nice in their own right.

Finally there is the old railway station, beautifully renovated into primarily a cafe and from which starts a nice walk which can be (a flat) there and back or a super anticlockwise circle of about 3-4 miles via Easby Abbey.

Date of Visit: August 2012 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Elc13 7 reviews from this member

We used this site for one night as a stop over on the way to the east coast. To be fair it was a very well maintained site and the facilities were clean but we found it to be quite soul-less for want of a better phrase. The pitches were hard standing but everything was a little bit too regimented for us and I think the site was lacking a little of the character that we thought it should have considering its location and views. That said, there really wasn't anything we could complain about although we probably would try a different site in the area if we were going that way again.

There really wasn't anything to occupy children and in fact we ended up in the minor injuries unit as our then 6 year old fell over and shredded his knee on the gravel! I would say this site is probably much more geared towards a more mature couple rather than a young family.

Date of Visit: July 2012 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Ben and co 2 reviews from this member

We stayed for 4 nights as a stop-over on our way up to the North East coast. Due to heavy rainfall we opted to pitch on higher ground at the top end of the site.

The warden had not warned us about the traffic noise as this backs on to the busy A66. We were quite relieved to hear rain hammering down at 7am to drown out the noise!

The dog walk was totally inadequate for our active Labrador and also dangerous, as the fencing was broken in places and a small dog could escape onto the busy road if not kept on a lead.

The toilet block was clean but is in need of modernisation.

A visit to the lovely and picturesque town of Richmond was a welcome escape, with a cycle ride along a disused railway and a chance for our lab to stretch his legs.

We will not return to this site as we don't consider it to be up to CC standards.

Date of Visit: June 2012 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Badgercat 1 review from this member

A potentially good site with breathtaking views of the Yorkshire Dales - although only a short distance from the A1. Mixed hard standing and grass pitches

Unfortunately some of the grass pitches are very sloping, the bins need emptying more than once a day as they were overflowing No guidance is given as to where the vacant pitches are leaving large caravans driving round and round the site.

The toilet block was only cleaned once a day and there was only one block for the site - so needs checking in the evening. Disappointing for a Caravan Club Site.

Previous     22 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 6      Next

Save to Virtual Brochure  Add this Site to your Virtual Brochure                                Share  Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Submit your Review for a chance to Win Prizes!
Sponsored by the Caravan ClubSubmit a review to UKCampsite.co.uk of any caravan park or campsite, for a chance to win a caravan towing course or motorhome manoeuvring course worth up to £145, or £100 of Amazon vouchers, courtesy of The Caravan Club. Join the Club for just £44 per year to enjoy access to a great range of caravan sites, benefits and special offers.

If you've visited this site, then please submit a review for a chance to win.

Try our town listings   -   Other Sites in North Yorkshire   -   Search for a site

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a Nemesis Ultra Wheel Clamp! from Towsure.com Visit the UKCS shop for exclusive discounts and offers

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Manchester Caravan & Motorhome Show 15 to 18/01/15
Start the season with a trip to the North’s biggest outdoor leisure show. Win 10 pairs of tickets or claim discount entry

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


2743 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend  -  Pensions Auto-enrolment

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2014






0.0449