Home

   Log in or Register

Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Coed Y Llwyn Caravan Club Site

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > UK > Wales > Gwynedd > Site Reviews

Coed Y Llwyn Caravan Club Site
Gellilydan
Ffestiniog
Gwynedd   (Browse area)
LL41 4EN   See Map                                 Share Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook
Tel: 01766 590254

Facilities:  (Key)
          

Nearby:
5m  5m  5m 5m  5m   1m 
Featured Site

Pitches: 96
Open: 28/03/2014 To 27/10/2014

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 27 Reviews
              8/10 from 27 Reviews


Units accepted:   No Tents  Caravans  Motorhomes 

Photos (7) and Video

Reviews:  27 in total, now showing 1 to 6                 Previous 6          Next 6
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5  

Date of Visit: August 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Bestieboy 14 reviews from this member

Very nice site and we really enjoyed the area. In comparison to the last CC site we had just left in Buxton the whole atmosphere seemed far more welcoming to families with children, sonething we have become wary of on CC sites.

The site and facilities were very clean, the planting of the borders was very nice and the whole aspect was very peaceful. By following CC instructions for route to site we had no problems.

Location was good for the Southern side of the Snowdonia park and the coast and beaches near Porthmadog and Barmouth. As a family we enjoyed the Blaenau Ffestiniog to Porthmadog railway, spending the afternoon in Porthmadog. We also visited the White water rafting centre near Bala and the kids and I paddled all the way to Bala with an instructor, really good fun. Otherwise we also did a couple of walks out of our Pathfinder walking guide of the area; I can't recommend these gidebooks enough, they never fail to deliver, the Precipe walk near Llanfachreth was really pretty and for once nice and easy.

We hadn't been to Snowdonia for a good few years and had forgotten how lovely it was - the weather was good which always helps in Wales. The site was perfect for a really nice holiday and we will be back.

Date of Visit: July 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: ChrisandKay 3 reviews from this member

This a fantastic site - although we did pick a good week weather wise! Big pitches, well maintained, toilets and showers spotless - usual Caravan Club standard. Well placed for hiking, cycling or site seeing. The only problem was we had no TV signal and were unable to watch Andy Murray win Wimbledon.

If you need to stock up on supplies there is a large Tesco 10 miles away. We are definitely planning to return.

Date of Visit: June 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: CPMiller 7 reviews from this member

Just back from this cracking little C/Club site set in a fantastic location for touring around Nth Wales & Snowdonia National Park. The site is typical C/Club standard, have a good drive around when you arrive though, lots of trees that stop the sun from getting through on those lovely summer evenings (we were lucky).

A little tricky to get to through the village, thought I was driving onto a housing estate. There is a pub opposite the entrance, we found it very friendly and the food was great (dogs welcome) which was a bonus.

All the usual tourist areas were within easy reach although not many like dogs (try a sheep)we did find a wonderful beach if you like a good walk, drive down the A496 to Harlech the beach is beautiful and you can walk dogs to the left (signposted) the Castle is worth a look round too. The site office has some information on local walks for a small donation to the Air Ambulance, well worth it, Will we go back ? Yes

Date of Visit: April 2013 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: Dot P 257 reviews from this member

Site is actually 6 miles from Blaenau Ffestiniog in the village of Maentwrog. The pub in the village is now open on Saturday and Wednesday only and we were told they no longer serve food. The shop in the village is closed so the nearest is back up in Ffestiniog or a corner shop for newspapers etc in Trawsfynydd.

The site itself is typical CC standards, everything kept very well, toilets and showers immaculate and wardens very friendly and helpful.

The walk to Trawsfynydd is well worth it, good tracks and well signposted. The cafe at the Nuclear Power Station is currently closed down though so you can't break the walk with a coffee stop. The power station is decommissioned but there is still a visitor centre. You can see the power station from most pitches as it looms over the area.

All in all the site is excellent and there is plenty to do and see in the area. The site was very quiet when we stayed - a bonus for us. We will visit again and recommend if you want Snowdonia with less of the crowds.

Date of Visit: July 2012 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: JANE14 10 reviews from this member

We have just returned from a fantastic 2 week holiday here, the site is in on the edge of the village and is lovely and quiet.

The wardens were always friendly and kept the toilet block very clean and there was always loads of hot water.

We found loads to do in the area and we did two wonderful walks from the site, which took in the fantastic welsh countryside.

There isn't a shop in the village but a short drive into Portmadog you find a few large supermarkets and any other shops you might need.

We will be back again

Date of Visit: June 2012 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Wilbar 7 reviews from this member

It has been a while since we visited Wales and had forgotten the almost constant drizzle. The scenery is stunning but unfortunately we saw little of it due to the horrendous weather throughout our weeks stay.

On arrival, friendly greeting, of course the pitches without trees were either taken or closed. There were at least 6 pitches closed all week. Apparently work was starting imminently on them! Still hadn't started when we left.

The site is set out on several levels and as usual we picked (although not much choice) the wrong area. We pitched in the bottom section; it was near to the dog walk, service points and not to far from the toilet block. No view, loads of trees, and the walk to the toilet block although not far was to much for my disabled husband because of the steep hill up to it. The site has excellent drainage, our awning only got flooded once

Toilet block dated, small, cleaned to the usual excellent CC standard and a small one round the back to use when main one is closed.

Dog walk, an accident waiting to happen especially in this wet weather. Uneven, slippy and no lighting! We only visited it once. It was closed on our last day, to be refurbished!

Amongst our trips out we visited Harlech beach, Festiniog power station, by accident we were trying to get to Betsy y Coed but the clouds closed in. The beach was vast and deserted. There was a café at the power station and the steam trains passed by, this was also deserted. The wardens have printed instructions for local walks. I decided to do the one to the BNFL Magnox power station, it wasn't to far but I ended up with very wet shoes and filthy dogs and guess what the place was deserted.

I am sure by now you have got the picture, we had absolutely horrible weather throughout the week. I am sure if we had visited when the sun was shining our view of the area would have been totally different, we came away not wanting to visit ever again. It was depressing, unfriendly and miserable.

Previous     27 Review in total, now showing 1 to 6      Next

Save to Virtual Brochure  Add this Site to your Virtual Brochure                                Share  Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Submit your Review for a chance to Win Prizes!
Sponsored by the Caravan ClubSubmit a review to UKCampsite.co.uk of any caravan park or campsite, for a chance to win a caravan towing course or motorhome manoeuvring course worth up to £145, or £100 of Amazon vouchers, courtesy of The Caravan Club. Join the Club for just £44 per year to enjoy access to a great range of caravan sites, benefits and special offers.

If you've visited this site, then please submit a review for a chance to win.

Try our town listings   -   Other Sites in Gwynedd   -   Search for a site

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a Clarke IG22000 2.2kW Generator worth £467.98! Visit the UKCS shop for exclusive discounts and offers

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Truckfest Peterborough
Exciting family entertainment, and you can make a full long weekend of them, by camping on site!Plus win tickets!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


7926 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend  -  Pensions Auto-enrolment

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews]  [Facebook]

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2014




0.0469