Home

   Log in or Register
   
Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Coed Y Llwyn Caravan Club Site

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > UK > Wales > Gwynedd > Site Reviews

Coed Y Llwyn Caravan Club Site
Gellilydan
Ffestiniog
Gwynedd   (Browse area)
LL41 4EN   See Map                                 Share Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook
Tel: 01766 590254

Facilities:  (Key)
          

Nearby:
5m  5m  5m 5m  5m   1m 
Featured Site

Pitches: 96
Open: 28/03/2014 To 27/10/2014

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 29 Reviews
              9/10 from 29 Reviews


Units accepted:   No Tents  Caravans  Motorhomes 

Photos (7) and Video

Reviews:  29 in total, now showing 1 to 6                 Previous 6          Next 6
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5  

Date of Visit: August 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Median 10 reviews from this member

A really good site which is well placed for the mountains of Snowdonia and the coast. Usual high standards you would expect from the CC. There is only one facilities block but it is a good size and well placed so that nobody has to walk too far, it also has a drying room which is useful for the Welsh weather!

The approach to the site is interesting as it feels like you're going the wrong way down a residential street however it's well signposted and quiet. If, like us, you missed the turning off the A487 to Gellylidan approaching from the East, don't panic, just continue towards Porthmadog and in a few miles there is a pub & bus stop on the right which can be used as an easy turning point. The pub opposite the entrance serves good food and is welcoming however the decor is a bit dated and it can be noisy (not really for families) some evenings.

Overall we really liked this site and would definitely go back. The CC has detailed instructions of the best way to get to the site which we followed, much to the Sat Nav's annoyance, but it meant the drive was very easy and we'd follow them again.

Date of Visit: August 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: DianeDavey 4 reviews from this member

We visited this site at the end of August and over the bank holiday.

The journey there was uneventful and we followed the Caravan Clubs instructions on how to find the site. Access was good although there is a lack of signs from the road so make sure you are aware of the turn off prior to arrival. Easy check in with helpful wardens advising which pitches may still be available. We chose a hard standing pitch near to the play area for our 2 children (6&8). Pitches are lovely and big with plenty of space for car, awning and caravan with additional space around.

Washblocks were to the usual caravan club standard but I did find the shower cubicles a little small, however I was usually showering with a child as well. There were plenty of showers with a main block and an annex as overspill.

The playground was lovely for our 2 children, climbing frame, balance area, swings slide and some space for ball games, however it is set in a hill (as is the whole site) so ball games were made difficult. The dog walk was adequate to exercise the dog and well used, there is a small stream to one side, fenced off to stop humans but if you have a dog that likes water (as ours does) be aware that they can paddle!

The site is in a beautiful area. Not far from either beaches or mountains. We enjoyed the Blaneau Festiniog railway (there is less to do in Blaneau than Porthmadog so best to start at Blaneau and head towards Porthmadog). The Llanberis slate mine (Free) and the drive there was stunning, We travelled to the Llewyn Peninsular and their beautiful beaches, Anglesey, Caernarfon and many other places in the area. In a 2 week holiday we didn't run out of things to do and will return in the future. If you are a caravan club member donít forget your Great Days Out vouchers and your membership cards as there are many places with discounts for members.

Date of Visit: August 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Bestieboy 17 reviews from this member

Very nice site and we really enjoyed the area. In comparison to the last CC site we had just left in Buxton the whole atmosphere seemed far more welcoming to families with children, sonething we have become wary of on CC sites.

The site and facilities were very clean, the planting of the borders was very nice and the whole aspect was very peaceful. By following CC instructions for route to site we had no problems.

Location was good for the Southern side of the Snowdonia park and the coast and beaches near Porthmadog and Barmouth. As a family we enjoyed the Blaenau Ffestiniog to Porthmadog railway, spending the afternoon in Porthmadog. We also visited the White water rafting centre near Bala and the kids and I paddled all the way to Bala with an instructor, really good fun. Otherwise we also did a couple of walks out of our Pathfinder walking guide of the area; I can't recommend these gidebooks enough, they never fail to deliver, the Precipe walk near Llanfachreth was really pretty and for once nice and easy.

We hadn't been to Snowdonia for a good few years and had forgotten how lovely it was - the weather was good which always helps in Wales. The site was perfect for a really nice holiday and we will be back.

Date of Visit: July 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: ChrisandKay 3 reviews from this member

This a fantastic site - although we did pick a good week weather wise! Big pitches, well maintained, toilets and showers spotless - usual Caravan Club standard. Well placed for hiking, cycling or site seeing. The only problem was we had no TV signal and were unable to watch Andy Murray win Wimbledon.

If you need to stock up on supplies there is a large Tesco 10 miles away. We are definitely planning to return.

Date of Visit: June 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: CPMiller 7 reviews from this member

Just back from this cracking little C/Club site set in a fantastic location for touring around Nth Wales & Snowdonia National Park. The site is typical C/Club standard, have a good drive around when you arrive though, lots of trees that stop the sun from getting through on those lovely summer evenings (we were lucky).

A little tricky to get to through the village, thought I was driving onto a housing estate. There is a pub opposite the entrance, we found it very friendly and the food was great (dogs welcome) which was a bonus.

All the usual tourist areas were within easy reach although not many like dogs (try a sheep)we did find a wonderful beach if you like a good walk, drive down the A496 to Harlech the beach is beautiful and you can walk dogs to the left (signposted) the Castle is worth a look round too. The site office has some information on local walks for a small donation to the Air Ambulance, well worth it, Will we go back ? Yes

Date of Visit: April 2013 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: Dot P 284 reviews from this member

Site is actually 6 miles from Blaenau Ffestiniog in the village of Maentwrog. The pub in the village is now open on Saturday and Wednesday only and we were told they no longer serve food. The shop in the village is closed so the nearest is back up in Ffestiniog or a corner shop for newspapers etc in Trawsfynydd.

The site itself is typical CC standards, everything kept very well, toilets and showers immaculate and wardens very friendly and helpful.

The walk to Trawsfynydd is well worth it, good tracks and well signposted. The cafe at the Nuclear Power Station is currently closed down though so you can't break the walk with a coffee stop. The power station is decommissioned but there is still a visitor centre. You can see the power station from most pitches as it looms over the area.

All in all the site is excellent and there is plenty to do and see in the area. The site was very quiet when we stayed - a bonus for us. We will visit again and recommend if you want Snowdonia with less of the crowds.

Previous     29 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 6      Next

Save to Virtual Brochure  Add this Site to your Virtual Brochure                                Share  Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Submit your Review for a chance to Win Prizes!
Sponsored by the Caravan ClubSubmit a review to UKCampsite.co.uk of any caravan park or campsite, for a chance to win a caravan towing course or motorhome manoeuvring course worth up to £145, or £100 of Amazon vouchers, courtesy of The Caravan Club. Join the Club for just £44 per year to enjoy access to a great range of caravan sites, benefits and special offers.

If you've visited this site, then please submit a review for a chance to win.

Try our town listings   -   Other Sites in Gwynedd   -   Search for a site

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a Sleepy - The Wearable Sleeping Bag! Visit the UKCS shop for exclusive discounts and offers

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Manchester Caravan & Motorhome Show 15 to 18/01/15
Start the season with a trip to the Northís biggest outdoor leisure show. Win 10 pairs of tickets or claim discount entry

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3263 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend  -  Pensions Auto-enrolment

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2014






0.1191