Home

   Log in or Register

Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Black Knowl Caravan Club Site

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > UK > England > South East > New Forest & Hampshire > Site Reviews

Black Knowl Caravan Club Site
Aldridge Hill
(new Forest)
Brockenhurst
Hampshire   (Browse area)
SO42 7QD   See Map                                 Share Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook
Tel: 01590 623600

Facilities:  (Key)
       

Nearby:
5m  

Pitches: 127
Open: 21/03/2014 To 17/11/2014

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 35 Reviews
              9/10 from 35 Reviews


Units accepted:   No Tents  Caravans  Motorhomes 

This is a club member only site - you may be able to join on site - please check direct with the site

Reviews:  35 in total, now showing 1 to 6                 Previous 6          Next 6
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6  

Date of Visit: March 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Poppy77 4 reviews from this member

What a wonderful site, situated in the forest, very clean toilets and showers in cubicles together but very clean and well maintained, Wardens very helpful and friendly. Within easy reach of lots of places of interest, several shops in Brockenhurst, so many different walks to go on, will certainly go again but for longer, only slight disappointment was that we always like a grass pitch but it was too wet, will know to ring beforehand next time.

Date of Visit: July 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Mischka 21 reviews from this member

We had a great fortnight on this site. It was very hot so we were glad to get a pitch beside the hedge, so there was some shade, as opposed to the middle area which is very open. Small shop on site, where you can order newspapers.

Facilities a bit unusual, because there are cubicles each with a loo, sink and a shower which were very busy in the mornings, but there are also separate loos, so at least you could use those without waiting for folk to finish in the cubicles. All kept nice and clean with plenty of hot water.

There is no children’s playground or area so probably not as easy for kids to mingle as on other sites.

Once we arrived, we had no need to take the car out as we cycled everywhere, either on forest tracks or on the roads. The forest tracks are mainly good compacted ground and gravel, so OK for mountain bikes, probably not great for road bikes. There are lots of gates to open but they are all very nicely weighted so that they nearly always swing and latch shut without much effort. The roads are mainly 40mph because of the ponies, but they can be narrow at times. We cycled to all the surrounding picturesque villages and the seaside.

Date of Visit: July 2013 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Kernow Camper 104 reviews from this member

We love Black Knowl and will keep returning again and again!

Easy to find if you follow the CC instructions and not your sat nav! The road down to the site into the forest is OK apart from a few high speed bumps (careful not to catch your exhaust!).

Lovely, friendly wardens who book you in quickly and tell you to choose your own pitch. It's a very busy, popluar site but we had plenty of choice of either hardstanding (large) or grass pitches.

Love their quirky shower rooms, dated but always clean. Water, waste, bins and recycling pointed dotted all around the site and 3 sinks under cover for washing up.

The walks and biking from the site are just fabulous. We biked to Burley via the forest tracks and back (21. 5 miles all in) and were lucky enough to see (and photograph) baby deer deep in the forest! Brockenhurst was also a short bike ride from the site (or 40/50 minute walk) and has all you need. Plenty of pubs, restaurants, takeaways, etc. , etc.

We had fabulous weather and spent most of our time at Black Knowl outside enjoying the wildlife.

We cannot wait to go back!

Date of Visit: May 2013 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Simbacat_uk 7 reviews from this member

Follow the site directions carefully and you will find the site, sat nav would take you you down some unsuitable roads. The site is located well into the forest and gives some great opportunity to appreciate the stars at night and the sounds of the wildlife. The wardens are very friendly and approachable which makes this a site with a good welcome.

Pitch

The site is open plan and contains some good size hardstandings and many grass pitches. Some of the grass pitches were a little packed in for my liking(obviously the mandatory distance apart - this is a CC site after all!). We chose a well presented hardstanding, and as expected you cant really fault the quality of Caravan Club sites. Phone signal for O2 and 3 was fine and we didn't have a problem finding a TV signal.

Ablutions

There are 12 self contained cubicles (toilet, shower and sink) accessed via a key lock which has its pros and cons. Generally it was a good idea so you could share/help your kids with enough space and privacy. However first thing in the morning they were often all busy with people showering etc - not so good if you only required the toilet. They were not the newest but were freshly painted, warm and well maintained - so I would say that they do what's required nicely.

General Site

We were there over the early May bank holiday so the site did get quite busy, but again this did not cause any issues. The site does not have a children's play area, or anywhere on site where ball games are allowed. The common outside the main gate could be used for this but there is quite a lot of animal droppings (they do roam the forest after all!) so this is not ideal. I would suggest that for this reason kids have nowhere to meet or hang out and make new friends so this is best for only short visits if you have kids that like to mingle with their own peers. There is ample space outside for dog walks.

Location

Situated right in the forest makes it ideal for long dog walks and a nice stream/river for the mutt to splash around. Cycling is also well catered for throughout the forest. You can cycle into Brokenhurst in about 20 minutes, although some of it is on the road, but the road is not that busy so it is OK for competent cyclists. There are some small shops and convenience stores (including a small Tesco) if you need to top up your supplies.

Summary

This is a great site for a short visit to the forest and gives you the chance to get up close to the wildlife (horses, cattle, deer, owls, birds etc) if you are patient and quiet. The dog loved it and the kids thought it was great for a long weekend but if the weather was not so good I think they would have lost interest a bit. The roads in and out of the New Forest are very busy on weekends when the sun shines so it can be a challenge using your car to visit anywhere.

Date of Visit: October 2012 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: CK+B 24 reviews from this member

Our first visit to this site and we really liked it. Lovely position right in the forest, large hard standing pitches. Good facilities with separate shower, sink & loo!

Friendly and helpful wardens. Good mobile phone signal (O2 & 3Mobile), TV signal patchy!

Excellent site for dogs, straight out the gate and a huge forest dog walk!

Only negative for us - no pub within walking distance for the evenings!

Definitely a site to return to.

Date of Visit: June 2012 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Mr Muffin 3 reviews from this member

Lovely site in a wonderful setting, large open common just outside the gate has to be the best dog walk ever with a stream in the trees for a dip.

The showers/toilets were unusual for a CC site but have been re-decorated and were clean and all worked very well, there were some queuing in the mornings but after tea they were empty and found it much better to have lots of room.

The wardens were friendly and did their usual good job, a fish and chip van was on site a couple of times in the week and was quite popular.

Good places we found to visit were Hythe to watch the liners over in Southampton, Beaulieu for the museum although a little expensive and we had a trip to Poole harbour on a wet and windy day that dried up in time for a walk around the quayside shops, it was so bad that night some boats we saw were damaged in the storm.

Downsides we found were there are speed bumps on the last part of the approach to the site and are not good towing a caravan and in our opinion are not needed, there is a 5mph limit on site which is totally ignored by the children and as there is quite a slope on either side of the site they were travelling far too fast on the down side which we were at the bottom of and we subsequently had to pick up quite a few injured children on bikes and skateboards who had lost control. The wardens seemed powerless to stop this even though we were all told about the limit and about a child killed on a CC site previously.

We had some fairly heavy rain and as we were at the bottom of the slope even though we were on a hard standing our awning was flooded and the people behind us on the grass had to leave early with all the contents of their awning soaked, more drainage required.

The road system in the New Forest cannot cope with holiday traffic and a couple of small by- pass roads would make things much easier especially around Lyndhurst which we did not visit because of the queues on all the roads in and out.

Would we go back? YES

Previous     35 Review in total, now showing 1 to 6      Next

Save to Virtual Brochure  Add this Site to your Virtual Brochure                                Share  Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Submit your Review for a chance to Win Prizes!
Sponsored by the Caravan ClubSubmit a review to UKCampsite.co.uk of any caravan park or campsite, for a chance to win a caravan towing course or motorhome manoeuvring course worth up to £145, or £100 of Amazon vouchers, courtesy of The Caravan Club. Join the Club for just £44 per year to enjoy access to a great range of caravan sites, benefits and special offers.

If you've visited this site, then please submit a review for a chance to win.

Try our town listings   -   Other Sites in Hampshire   -   Search for a site

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a Clarke IG22000 2.2kW Generator worth £467.98! Visit the UKCS shop for exclusive discounts and offers

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Truckfest Peterborough
Exciting family entertainment, and you can make a full long weekend of them, by camping on site!Plus win tickets!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


4948 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend  -  Pensions Auto-enrolment

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews]  [Facebook]

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2014




0.0488