Home

   Log in or Register

Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Black Knowl Caravan Club Site

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > UK > England > South East > New Forest & Hampshire > Site Reviews

Black Knowl Caravan Club Site
Aldridge Hill
(new Forest)
Brockenhurst
Hampshire   (Browse area)
SO42 7QD   See Map                                 Share Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook
Tel: 01590 623600

Facilities:  (Key)
       

Nearby:
5m  

Pitches: 127
Open: 21/03/2014 To 17/11/2014

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 36 Reviews
              9/10 from 36 Reviews


Units accepted:   No Tents  Caravans  Motorhomes 

This is a club member only site - you may be able to join on site - please check direct with the site

Reviews:  36 in total, now showing 1 to 6                 Previous 6          Next 6
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6  

Date of Visit: May 2014 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: UXO8 17 reviews from this member

Easy check in from lovely staff, although as there were only a handful of pitches left it would have been easier for them to tell us what was available, save us driving around several times. Toilet block dated but clean, 1st shower I had was just a trickle (cubicle #1) tried number 10 the next day which was better. I hear they will be getting new facilities ??, very much needed. We did find it off putting by how many campers just sat outside watching people visit the facilities ! These pitches are on grass bank around loo's. Great for cycling, many routes to try from short to 20+ miles, great walks too. We cycled to Burley on old train track had lunch in The Burley Inn, didn't go much on it, Breaded Haddock was like something you'd buy cheap from Icelands store!. Cycled to Lyndhurst, lovely town not much changed since we visited many years ago. Took our bird feeder which was very popular, especially with the family of Greenfinches, lots of birds around and dawn chorus was lovely but that resident cuckoo never stopped ! The glorious weather made our 3 night stay even better and it was nice to see such jolly wardens, would like to go back

Date of Visit: March 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Poppy77 4 reviews from this member

What a wonderful site, situated in the forest, very clean toilets and showers in cubicles together but very clean and well maintained, Wardens very helpful and friendly. Within easy reach of lots of places of interest, several shops in Brockenhurst, so many different walks to go on, will certainly go again but for longer, only slight disappointment was that we always like a grass pitch but it was too wet, will know to ring beforehand next time.

Date of Visit: July 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Mischka 26 reviews from this member

We had a great fortnight on this site. It was very hot so we were glad to get a pitch beside the hedge, so there was some shade, as opposed to the middle area which is very open. Small shop on site, where you can order newspapers.

Facilities a bit unusual, because there are cubicles each with a loo, sink and a shower which were very busy in the mornings, but there are also separate loos, so at least you could use those without waiting for folk to finish in the cubicles. All kept nice and clean with plenty of hot water.

There is no children’s playground or area so probably not as easy for kids to mingle as on other sites.

Once we arrived, we had no need to take the car out as we cycled everywhere, either on forest tracks or on the roads. The forest tracks are mainly good compacted ground and gravel, so OK for mountain bikes, probably not great for road bikes. There are lots of gates to open but they are all very nicely weighted so that they nearly always swing and latch shut without much effort. The roads are mainly 40mph because of the ponies, but they can be narrow at times. We cycled to all the surrounding picturesque villages and the seaside.

Date of Visit: July 2013 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Kernow Camper 116 reviews from this member

We love Black Knowl and will keep returning again and again!

Easy to find if you follow the CC instructions and not your sat nav! The road down to the site into the forest is OK apart from a few high speed bumps (careful not to catch your exhaust!).

Lovely, friendly wardens who book you in quickly and tell you to choose your own pitch. It's a very busy, popluar site but we had plenty of choice of either hardstanding (large) or grass pitches.

Love their quirky shower rooms, dated but always clean. Water, waste, bins and recycling pointed dotted all around the site and 3 sinks under cover for washing up.

The walks and biking from the site are just fabulous. We biked to Burley via the forest tracks and back (21. 5 miles all in) and were lucky enough to see (and photograph) baby deer deep in the forest! Brockenhurst was also a short bike ride from the site (or 40/50 minute walk) and has all you need. Plenty of pubs, restaurants, takeaways, etc. , etc.

We had fabulous weather and spent most of our time at Black Knowl outside enjoying the wildlife.

We cannot wait to go back!

Date of Visit: May 2013 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Simbacat_uk 7 reviews from this member

Follow the site directions carefully and you will find the site, sat nav would take you you down some unsuitable roads. The site is located well into the forest and gives some great opportunity to appreciate the stars at night and the sounds of the wildlife. The wardens are very friendly and approachable which makes this a site with a good welcome.

Pitch

The site is open plan and contains some good size hardstandings and many grass pitches. Some of the grass pitches were a little packed in for my liking(obviously the mandatory distance apart - this is a CC site after all!). We chose a well presented hardstanding, and as expected you cant really fault the quality of Caravan Club sites. Phone signal for O2 and 3 was fine and we didn't have a problem finding a TV signal.

Ablutions

There are 12 self contained cubicles (toilet, shower and sink) accessed via a key lock which has its pros and cons. Generally it was a good idea so you could share/help your kids with enough space and privacy. However first thing in the morning they were often all busy with people showering etc - not so good if you only required the toilet. They were not the newest but were freshly painted, warm and well maintained - so I would say that they do what's required nicely.

General Site

We were there over the early May bank holiday so the site did get quite busy, but again this did not cause any issues. The site does not have a children's play area, or anywhere on site where ball games are allowed. The common outside the main gate could be used for this but there is quite a lot of animal droppings (they do roam the forest after all!) so this is not ideal. I would suggest that for this reason kids have nowhere to meet or hang out and make new friends so this is best for only short visits if you have kids that like to mingle with their own peers. There is ample space outside for dog walks.

Location

Situated right in the forest makes it ideal for long dog walks and a nice stream/river for the mutt to splash around. Cycling is also well catered for throughout the forest. You can cycle into Brokenhurst in about 20 minutes, although some of it is on the road, but the road is not that busy so it is OK for competent cyclists. There are some small shops and convenience stores (including a small Tesco) if you need to top up your supplies.

Summary

This is a great site for a short visit to the forest and gives you the chance to get up close to the wildlife (horses, cattle, deer, owls, birds etc) if you are patient and quiet. The dog loved it and the kids thought it was great for a long weekend but if the weather was not so good I think they would have lost interest a bit. The roads in and out of the New Forest are very busy on weekends when the sun shines so it can be a challenge using your car to visit anywhere.

Date of Visit: October 2012 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: CK+B 27 reviews from this member

Our first visit to this site and we really liked it. Lovely position right in the forest, large hard standing pitches. Good facilities with separate shower, sink & loo!

Friendly and helpful wardens. Good mobile phone signal (O2 & 3Mobile), TV signal patchy!

Excellent site for dogs, straight out the gate and a huge forest dog walk!

Only negative for us - no pub within walking distance for the evenings!

Definitely a site to return to.

Previous     36 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 6      Next

Save to Virtual Brochure  Add this Site to your Virtual Brochure                                Share  Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Submit your Review for a chance to Win Prizes!
Sponsored by the Caravan ClubSubmit a review to UKCampsite.co.uk of any caravan park or campsite, for a chance to win a caravan towing course or motorhome manoeuvring course worth up to £145, or £100 of Amazon vouchers, courtesy of The Caravan Club. Join the Club for just £44 per year to enjoy access to a great range of caravan sites, benefits and special offers.

If you've visited this site, then please submit a review for a chance to win.

Try our town listings   -   Other Sites in Hampshire   -   Search for a site

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a Wisport SilverFox 30L Rucksack Visit the UKCS shop for exclusive discounts and offers

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Tribfest Music Festival 14/08 to 17/08 East Yorkshire
An affordable, fantastic weekend away listening to some great live Top tribute bands. Claim discounted entry!!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


6963 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend  -  Pensions Auto-enrolment

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews]  [Facebook]

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2014






0.0488