Home

   Log in or Register

Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Skye Camping And Caravanning Club Site

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > UK > Scotland > Isle Of Skye > Site Reviews

Skye Camping And Caravanning Club Site
Loch Greshornish
Arnisort
Edinbane
Portree
Isle Of Skye   (Browse area)
IV51 9PS   See Map                                 Share Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook
Tel: 01470 582230

Facilities:  (Key)
                  

Nearby:
1m  1m 5m   5m  1m 
Featured Site

Pitches: 105
Open: 01 Apr 2014 - 10 Oct 2014

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 60 Reviews
              8/10 from 60 Reviews


Units accepted:    Tents  Caravans  Motorhomes Caravan Storage Storage  Glamping 

Photos (5)

Reviews:  60 in total, now showing 1 to 6                 Previous 6          Next 6
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10  

Date of Visit: July 2014 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Mleonard 7 reviews from this member

Location: Lovely location with stunning views of the tidal loch and surrounding areas

Pitches: Spacious and all have views with separate area for tents.

Facilities: Excellent and very clean the only down side is that they are closed for cleaning between 10:30 and 12:00 which is the most popular time they would be needed (better to be closed PM for clearning etc. )

Comments: Owners very friendly and helpful and even though it was heavy rain/wind when we arrived still took us to our pitch and explained the site. (noticed them helping new arrivals errecting tents in the pouring rain)

Little shop (at reception) sells basics which is handy as nearest shops are 10-15 mins drive away.

All in all a great site, lovely location and very peaceful.

Date of Visit: May 2014 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Ron657 3 reviews from this member

Beautiful island, 40 Years since I was there last.

Lovely site, plenty hard standing, & stunning views over the loch simply stunning.

Extremely helpful staff, thanks Hazel for a great stand.

Great mixture of folk, tents, campers. & motor homes.

Did not use the facilities as I have my own, so cannot comment.

Toured the island extensively, then at times, bits of single track roads with passing places, but no problem for a motor home.

The road to Staffin from Uig has stunning views, well worth taking.

The island goes from mountains to huge areas of green, so many photos taken.

Only one negative, & that's because I am single & have a heart condition, there is not a mobile signal at all. So no way of contacting emergency services, apart from calling at the house, which would not be possible.

But as I say, that's my health problem.

It's a stunning island, beautiful site with very helpful staff, could really not ask for more.

Small shop on site selling the necessaries, if you forget.

Unfair to single out any area of the island, it's all beautiful.

Although the small heritage museum & Flora McDonalds grave take a bit of beating. , for me at least

Date of Visit: April 2014 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: HayLee 11 reviews from this member

We stayed at this site for 2 nights whilst visiting the Isle of Skye.

The site wardens were very welcoming and helpful and we could pick our preferred pitch which had lovely views of the Loch. We found the location of the site very well placed for touring the island. The site itself was very well kept and the facilities were always clean. Well equipped laundry to which was useful. The site also has a well stocked little shop which is open for a while in the morning and again in the afternoon.

The dog walk at this site is really good. 3/4 of a mile down the side of the Loch.

Not really any negatives on this site and would happily stay again if visiting Skye.

Date of Visit: April 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: ENOCH 20 reviews from this member

The site is located on the shores of the loch with most pitches enjoying excellent views of the loch and the surrounding countryside. The facilities on site are maintained to a very high standard and the staff are constantly working around the site to ensure that these high standards are maintained. Local shops are available within a mile of the site, although the main town of Portree is 12 miles away. Portree has various local shops and Co-op supermarkets, cheaper fuel is available to the south of the town, a lot cheaper than other garages on the island or on the road towards Fort William. Boat trips can be taken from Portree to see some of the wildlife in the area, sea eagles, and dolphins being regular sightings. Loch Greshornish club site is a quiet location and is an ideal base for travelling around the Isle of Skye, there are many local areas to visit including the Old Man of Storr and the Quiraing.

Date of Visit: October 2013 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: Dot P 269 reviews from this member

The site was quiet when we arrived mid afternoon, but by early evening there were 10-12 other units pitched so plenty of space for all. The site is really well kept by the owners, toilets and showers were spotless, grass around pitches well mown etc. The site is part of a working croft with plenty of sheep, goats, chickens etc around but all kept away from the pitching areas.

The information huts have plenty of leaflets but to be honest we found that by driving round the island we came across pretty much everything. Our favourite was Waternish amazing views over to the Outer Hebrides and an amazing pub at the hamlet of Stein.

As previous reviews have said the views are spectacular and worth the visit alone. A lovely path along the loch is well trodden and is a pleasant couple of hours walk. There isnt anywhere close by to walk to for food / drinks but the little shop on site does sell essential provisions.

At this time of year most of the toilets and showers were closed off (as most sites do) however this caused queues in the morning with only 2 showers open - could maybe do with opening more based on number of pitches being used.

This is a brilliant site, even by C&CC standards. We will not hesitate to use again or to recommend others to do so.

Date of Visit: August 2013 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Ktvn 5 reviews from this member

Lovely site, managed to get a tent pitch at short notice, lovely flat pitch plenty of space and easy ground to put pegs in.

On the loch side with fabulous views and a gentle breeze so the midges were not as bad as some places at the same time of year. Lovely walk along the loch with the dog (bags and bin provided!).

Excellent shower, dishwashing and toilet facilities, a well stocked shop and a visiting takeaway van for 2 hours most evenings. Even has a dog wash area outside the toilet block.

I would highly recommend this site good position for seeing the north and west of skye, not too far from portree yet beautifully remote in it's feeling.

Unfortunately though you do pay excessively for these facilities which would maybe stop me from staying for more than a night or two.

Previous     60 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 6      Next

Save to Virtual Brochure  Add this Site to your Virtual Brochure                                Share  Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Submit your Review for a chance to Win Prizes!
Sponsored by the Caravan ClubSubmit a review to UKCampsite.co.uk of any caravan park or campsite, for a chance to win a caravan towing course or motorhome manoeuvring course worth up to 145, or 100 of Amazon vouchers, courtesy of The Caravan Club. Join the Club for just 44 per year to enjoy access to a great range of caravan sites, benefits and special offers.

If you've visited this site, then please submit a review for a chance to win.

Try our town listings   -   Other Sites in Isle Of Skye   -   Search for a site

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a Wisport SilverFox 30L Rucksack Visit the UKCS shop for exclusive discounts and offers

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Tribfest Music Festival 14/08 to 17/08 East Yorkshire
An affordable, fantastic weekend away listening to some great live Top tribute bands. Claim discounted entry!!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


6120 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend  -  Pensions Auto-enrolment

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews]  [Facebook]

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2014






0.0480