Home

   Log in or Register

Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Skye Camping And Caravanning Club Site

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > UK > Scotland > Isle Of Skye > Site Reviews

Skye Camping And Caravanning Club Site
Loch Greshornish
Arnisort
Edinbane
Portree
Isle Of Skye   (Browse area)
IV51 9PS   See Map                                 Share Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook
Tel: 01470 582230

Facilities:  (Key)
                  

Nearby:
1m  1m 5m   5m  1m 
Featured Site

Pitches: 105
Open: 01 Apr 2014 - 25 Oct 2014

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 56 Reviews
              8/10 from 56 Reviews


Units accepted:    Tents  Caravans  Motorhomes Caravan Storage Storage  Glamping 

Photos (5)

Reviews:  56 in total, now showing 1 to 6                 Previous 6          Next 6
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10  

Date of Visit: October 2013 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: Dot P 255 reviews from this member

The site was quiet when we arrived mid afternoon, but by early evening there were 10-12 other units pitched so plenty of space for all. The site is really well kept by the owners, toilets and showers were spotless, grass around pitches well mown etc. The site is part of a working croft with plenty of sheep, goats, chickens etc around but all kept away from the pitching areas.

The information huts have plenty of leaflets but to be honest we found that by driving round the island we came across pretty much everything. Our favourite was Waternish amazing views over to the Outer Hebrides and an amazing pub at the hamlet of Stein.

As previous reviews have said the views are spectacular and worth the visit alone. A lovely path along the loch is well trodden and is a pleasant couple of hours walk. There isnt anywhere close by to walk to for food / drinks but the little shop on site does sell essential provisions.

At this time of year most of the toilets and showers were closed off (as most sites do) however this caused queues in the morning with only 2 showers open - could maybe do with opening more based on number of pitches being used.

This is a brilliant site, even by C&CC standards. We will not hesitate to use again or to recommend others to do so.

Date of Visit: August 2013 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Ktvn 5 reviews from this member

Lovely site, managed to get a tent pitch at short notice, lovely flat pitch plenty of space and easy ground to put pegs in.

On the loch side with fabulous views and a gentle breeze so the midges were not as bad as some places at the same time of year. Lovely walk along the loch with the dog (bags and bin provided!).

Excellent shower, dishwashing and toilet facilities, a well stocked shop and a visiting takeaway van for 2 hours most evenings. Even has a dog wash area outside the toilet block.

I would highly recommend this site good position for seeing the north and west of skye, not too far from portree yet beautifully remote in it's feeling.

Unfortunately though you do pay excessively for these facilities which would maybe stop me from staying for more than a night or two.

Date of Visit: July 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Caro48 4 reviews from this member

A first class site, ideal for touring Skye, which has so much to offer. We were able to extend by a further night with no trouble, even though the site was very popular. We had pitch 32 which is right by the loch side and the views were wonderful, especially in the morning with the reflected opposite loch side. Everything about the site, facilities and the management was exceptional.

Don't bother to drink in the local hotel, go to the Inn instead so you avoid the smell of dogs, although the Guinness was very good.

As we didn't have any children with us, we have not rated the child friendliness box.

So much to see and do on Skye, we loved it.

Date of Visit: June 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Highlander09 10 reviews from this member

One of the best sites we've been to if not the best. This site is everything positive that others have commented and more. Very helpful managers/owners/?, extremely clean showers etc (checked at least 3 times a day by the managers) very quiet with no speeding traffic on the site road, great scenery on the loch side, off the lead dog walk with poop bags provided.

We stayed 6 nights and will definitely be back again.

Date of Visit: May 2013 Unit:  Trailer Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Jillysunchyme 3 reviews from this member

Lovely site over looking a loch. Level pitches. The toilet and shower block was exceptionally clean and personal touches such as flowers. The site owners very helpful. The site was very dog friendly. Nearest pub was walking distance, it served real ale and good food, also dog friendly. Bit surprised the site charged 50p per ice pack. The site was a good location for exploring North Syke and Portree. Would definitely go back.

Date of Visit: May 2013 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: Vanterrier 22 reviews from this member

Simply brilliant. Wardens could not be more helpful and despite being full they accomodated us (C&CC members) just outside the gate with a trailing EHU. Weather was awful but the facilities are spot on. Always a please coming here.

Also just down the road in Edinblane there's the Edinblane Inn which does fantastic restaurant quality food - very worth a visit if yoiu are feeling a bit plush.

Look out for the otters in the Loch but if that fails take the kids to watch the pigs on the farm - they are always entertaining.

Previous     56 Review in total, now showing 1 to 6      Next

Save to Virtual Brochure  Add this Site to your Virtual Brochure                                Share  Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Submit your Review for a chance to Win Prizes!
Sponsored by the Caravan ClubSubmit a review to UKCampsite.co.uk of any caravan park or campsite, for a chance to win a caravan towing course or motorhome manoeuvring course worth up to 145, or 100 of Amazon vouchers, courtesy of The Caravan Club. Join the Club for just 44 per year to enjoy access to a great range of caravan sites, benefits and special offers.

If you've visited this site, then please submit a review for a chance to win.

Try our town listings   -   Other Sites in Isle Of Skye   -   Search for a site

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a Clarke IG22000 2.2kW Generator worth 467.98! Visit the UKCS shop for exclusive discounts and offers

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Truckfest Peterborough
Exciting family entertainment, and you can make a full long weekend of them, by camping on site!Plus win tickets!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


4165 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend  -  Pensions Auto-enrolment

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews]  [Facebook]

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2014




0.0547